Rent the Runway

Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

107 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 72
Large 29
Photos 39
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2011

Classic Little Black Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a work cocktail party; it is stunning. Think Mad Men. It fell below my knees (I am 5'5") and I would recommend a high heel 3 to 5 inches to go with this. The neckline goes to high for a short necklace, but a bracelet would be perfect. I was worried it might not fit given I was 17 weeks pregnant at the time, but the lower abdomen was actually unfitted.
Maddy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 17, 2011

I am in love!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely love this dress. It is a timeless look. I got tons of compliments! I am 5'8" and I have a big booty and small chest. The dress was slightly large in the stomach area but it fit great everywhere else. Love love love! Rent it!
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 23, 2011

The fit in the main picture is

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
NOT the fit of the dress. The model here is wearing a different size than the designer meant to be true. It is a very boxy fit, if you don't order a size (or two down). It is NOT cinched in the middle. I strongly recommend ordering a size down.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Christmas Party Success!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was AMAZING!!! The first time I saw it I knew I wanted to wear it, but I finally got the first chance to wear it. The top with its see through lace was just the right touch to look gorgeous without baring it. I attended a rather Conservative party that required, as a new part of the family, that I look great but still not stand out too much. It was the perfect choice, and now having worn it once, I wish I owned it! It would just be a perfect choice with so many options.
S
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Dec 14, 2011

Sooo beautifuL!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fit of this dress! it fit like a glove but it still was not too tight. I received soooo many compliments! loved it!
Virginia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

business formal affair

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie business awards dinner. It was perfect for the Friday night event. Conservative enough to be appropriate, yet classy and a bit flirty. I am 5'8" 125 lbs. This hit just below my knees. I would have liked it to be slightly above the knee as shown in the model photo. Still, really beautiful. You can't go wrong with this, but its not a sexy dress if that's what your looking for.
julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

pretty black lace dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was very comfortable and elegant. It was worn to a Phantom Gala and I felt very comfortable all night - even dancing. I don't know why I didn't listen to the other reviews, though, some of which said that the dress runs large. I usually wear size 4, sometimes 2, sometimes larger depending on designer. I ordered this in a 4 and 6 and the 4 was a little loose around the middle, the 2 probably would have been perfect.
Anon77
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is terrific. It fits well, maybe a tiny bit large for the size, but that was a good thing for me. What the pictures on the site don't do justice to is the quality of this dress and the effect of the lace at the neckline. I had 2 other alternate dresses and this one was hands down the best looking - because of the quality of the work; the lace looks 'real' - it is not cheap polyester. Also: the contrast between the black lace and my (pale) skin at the neckline added a lot of drama/visual interest, making this more interesting than just another black dress. I got a lot of compliments on this.
janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 27, 2012

Gorgeous!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my twin daughters' communion party. It was gorgeous, but I wish I had added the size 0 to my order. It fit well but the crochet stretches, so I wish it was a little but tighter. But still I got comliments all night
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

totally awesome

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
wore this for my cousin's super swanky wedding (harvard club NYC) with nude heels... perfect. i got a ton of compliments and someone came and asked me where i got the dress (naturally i referred them here!). it was really comfortable. the cotton lace does have a fair amount of stretch, and i think i might have been able to wear a 4. because it was a bit big, the lace bunched a bit around the waist, but you could hardly tell, since it was all black. surprisingly, it was fairly cool, too... we had to run a couple blocks and half an avenue to get to the venue because the cab got stuck in traffic, and i wasn't burning up afterwards, which was a concern before we started running!
EKC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 10, 2012

Classy, sexy, perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing. For a LBD I got quite a few compliments! This was actually my back-up dress for a June wedding in CT. It fit perfectly! I have large shoulders and chest (34DD), a long torso, small waist and hips, but muscular thighs. The dress fit perfectly, and not too tight. It wasn't loose in the stomach as another reviewer said; it fit like a well- made sheath dress. The material of the lace is rather thick, but the slip underneath is not too bad. I usually get hot at weddings, and this was perfect and didn't show sweat :) I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this elegant and versatile dress!!
Kittenheelz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Jul 11, 2012

Beautiful and classic!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric on this dress is whatbmakes it so special. The lace is very thick, fine quality, and the tailoring is first rate. Even if you have several LBDs in your closet, this one is very special when you neednsomething classic. In wore it two times on an opera weekend in San Francisco. To the evening performance I added the RTR multiple-strand pearls with my own Stuart Weitzman red patent high heel pumps, super sheer stockings, and a Chinese red and black silk evening bag (The opera was Nixon in China!). The next afternoon I wore the same dress to the matinee (Attila) with Alexis Bittar hoops, no necklace, bare legs, and black open toe sling back high-heeled sandals plus an edgy wristlet purse. I got several compliments from strangers about how flattering the dress was as to cut and style for someone who is curvy, but well-proportioned. I will definitely rent again, if not try to find & buy the dress!
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

Elegant LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my birthday in Las Vegas and received lots of compliments. The dress is fully lined with hints of skin showing through the lace at the neck, sleeves and hem. I paired the dress with a dazzling pair of statement earrings (also from RTR). This is a sexy and sophisticated dress for any occasion.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Too Long

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a wedding and ended up having to wear my back-up dress. This one was too long/hot/mature looking on me. It is a very heavy dress and would be wonderful for a winter wedding or office Christmas party.
Candace P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented a 6 and 4, and both sizes would have worked. But I wore the size 6 because it was a little more comfortable through the chest and shoulders, although a little too long. With very high platform heels that didn't matter. The dress is beautiful with a heavy (looks crocheted) lace over a black slip. Yet it wasn't too warm to wear to a June wedding.
Susanna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Fantastic dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was classy and sexy and edgy all in one. It fit well but a little on the long side if you are 5'5" like me. Bring your big girl heels and rock it out because it is worth it. So many compliments! My fiance was in heaven!
DCGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2012

Sophisticated!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding, and received many compliments. It definitely sticks out from the "typical black dress." The detailing of this dress is lovely. I would recommend this dress to a wedding, or a work event!
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 114
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Love at First Wear

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company's Christmas party, and I loved it as much as everyone else did. The length and the lace looked so classy and sexy. I could not have been happier! Perfect dress for the wow factor, and people who bought new dresses wished they had listened to me and used RTR! -D
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 30, 2012

Loved it, but didn't work.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress, but it didn't fit my body quite right. It flattened my boobs, so hubby wasn't happy with it. It's a beautifully made, heavy dress, and I was bummed it wasn't as flattering as I was hoping.
AnyoneButJordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Elegant Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a fancy dinner out. The restaurant was a little conservative so the cutouts were the perfect amount of skin. The material was heavy and fell right -- dress felt expensive. A pearl and gold necklace really fished off this look.
Monica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was amazing!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it made me feel like a million dollars. This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged all my curves but still kept me looking classy and beautiful. I was recieving complimentes all day from everyone!
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This was a fabulous, classic dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size six fit me perfectly. It fell just below my knees. It was very comfortable and elegant. A great dress for a wedding or an evening out.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Beautiful Mad Men style dress for black tie wedding.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie wedding in DC that was featured in Martha Stewart Weddings. Wore with magenta J.Crew dress shoes and a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch. Truly fantastic dress and incredibly slimming. Loved the tea length (below knee) even though I am fairly tall. Would rent again.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Longer than pictured, fabric is thick.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric is really lovely, but thicker than I thought. It's less like lace and more like heavy embroidery. I'm as tall as the model pictured, and this dress hit below my knees. I ended up returning it because the length just didn't look right and was much longer than I expected. I felt it ran large.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

classic dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the dress is very flattering (and comfortable) - received many, many compliments
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

A Lovely Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and the weather turned very cold so I wore my back up dress (long sleeved) instead. This dress fit like a glove. It is very well made and comfortable. I wll rent it again.
bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Lacy Luxe party dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for my back-up for a wedding, so I didn't end up wearing it as it didn't look quite as good on me as the Badgley Mischka I chose in a sequin pink. This dress was much longer on me than what is shown on the model. It hit me below the knee. It is a much heavier lace than I anticipated, but that would not have kept me from wearing it. It didn't fit me in the bodice as well as it appears on the model also. It was a little bit lower exposing my strapless bra. It is very pretty and well constructed.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×