Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large31
True to Size74
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
A Lovely Dress!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and the weather turned very cold so I wore my back up dress (long sleeved) instead. This dress fit like a glove. It is very well made and comfortable. I wll rent it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
classic dress
the dress is very flattering (and comfortable) - received many, many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous lace
I wore this to a fall wedding and loved the lace- it has some stretch in it so its a pretty easy fit. I recommend it for someone going for a sophisticated look.
AlisonOctober 26, 2012
I think this is my favorite RTR rental for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
Longer than pictured, fabric is thick.
The fabric is really lovely, but thicker than I thought. It's less like lace and more like heavy embroidery. I'm as tall as the model pictured, and this dress hit below my knees. I ended up returning it because the length just didn't look right and was much longer than I expected. I felt it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2012
I felt like I was channeling Michelle Obama a little in this dress!
This dress is amazing. When I first tried it on, I was nervous it looked too long on me. I showed a few friends who insisted the below knee length was very chic, and once I put on a pair of nude Louboutins and the Kate Spade clutch I couldn't agree more. It runs a bit big, so the 0 worked well on me but could've use a smaller size if they made one. I received tons of compliments all night and enjoyed wearing something more sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 3, 2012
this is the perfect dress.
i got about two million compliments on this dress. the lace is gorgeous and not so delicate that i was worrying about getting caught on people all night. i liked that it was heavy enough that i didn't need to pull it down whenever i stood up. it fit well up top and in the waist although i'd prefer something with a little stretch to hug the booty more. as a tall girl i'm always worried about hemlines and this dress landed in the perfect spot. definitely will rent this one again, it looked awesome and i felt awesome in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
September 27, 2012
Beautiful Mad Men style dress for black tie wedding.
I wore this to a black tie wedding in DC that was featured in Martha Stewart Weddings. Wore with magenta J.Crew dress shoes and a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch. Truly fantastic dress and incredibly slimming. Loved the tea length (below knee) even though I am fairly tall. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Best. Dress. Ever.
Absolutely the most gorgeous, flattering, sophisticated dress I have ever had the pleasure of putting on my body. I got this dress as a back up and when I put it on, there was no way the other (also stunning) dress had a chance. The dress is beautifully detailed in a heavier than expected lace pattern with a thin lining inside so your skin peeks through in all the right places. It fell right below my knee and I am 5'8". I would suggest to getting the extra size smaller rather than larger since I wore a 10 and could have easily gone with the 8. Bottom line, if you need a sure thing, rent this dress. It's an A+ all the way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
This was a fabulous, classic dress.
The size six fit me perfectly. It fell just below my knees. It was very comfortable and elegant. A great dress for a wedding or an evening out.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was amazing!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it made me feel like a million dollars. This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged all my curves but still kept me looking classy and beautiful. I was recieving complimentes all day from everyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Elegant Dress
This dress was perfect for a fancy dinner out. The restaurant was a little conservative so the cutouts were the perfect amount of skin. The material was heavy and fell right -- dress felt expensive. A pearl and gold necklace really fished off this look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 30, 2012
Loved it, but didn't work.
I loved the dress, but it didn't fit my body quite right. It flattened my boobs, so hubby wasn't happy with it. It's a beautifully made, heavy dress, and I was bummed it wasn't as flattering as I was hoping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 115
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180lbs
August 25, 2012
Love at First Wear
I wore this to my company's Christmas party, and I loved it as much as everyone else did. The length and the lace looked so classy and sexy. I could not have been happier! Perfect dress for the wow factor, and people who bought new dresses wished they had listened to me and used RTR! -D
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Sophisticated!
Wore this dress to a wedding, and received many compliments. It definitely sticks out from the "typical black dress." The detailing of this dress is lovely. I would recommend this dress to a wedding, or a work event!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Fantastic dress
This dress was classy and sexy and edgy all in one. It fit well but a little on the long side if you are 5'5" like me. Bring your big girl heels and rock it out because it is worth it. So many compliments! My fiance was in heaven!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable
I rented a 6 and 4, and both sizes would have worked. But I wore the size 6 because it was a little more comfortable through the chest and shoulders, although a little too long. With very high platform heels that didn't matter. The dress is beautiful with a heavy (looks crocheted) lace over a black slip. Yet it wasn't too warm to wear to a June wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Too Long
I got this dress for a wedding and ended up having to wear my back-up dress. This one was too long/hot/mature looking on me. It is a very heavy dress and would be wonderful for a winter wedding or office Christmas party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 17, 2012
Elegant LBD
I wore this dress for my birthday in Las Vegas and received lots of compliments. The dress is fully lined with hints of skin showing through the lace at the neck, sleeves and hem. I paired the dress with a dazzling pair of statement earrings (also from RTR). This is a sexy and sophisticated dress for any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 11, 2012
Beautiful and classic!
The fabric on this dress is whatbmakes it so special. The lace is very thick, fine quality, and the tailoring is first rate. Even if you have several LBDs in your closet, this one is very special when you neednsomething classic. In wore it two times on an opera weekend in San Francisco. To the evening performance I added the RTR multiple-strand pearls with my own Stuart Weitzman red patent high heel pumps, super sheer stockings, and a Chinese red and black silk evening bag (The opera was Nixon in China!). The next afternoon I wore the same dress to the matinee (Attila) with Alexis Bittar hoops, no necklace, bare legs, and black open toe sling back high-heeled sandals plus an edgy wristlet purse. I got several compliments from strangers about how flattering the dress was as to cut and style for someone who is curvy, but well-proportioned. I will definitely rent again, if not try to find & buy the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 10, 2012
Classy, sexy, perfect!
This dress is amazing. For a LBD I got quite a few compliments! This was actually my back-up dress for a June wedding in CT. It fit perfectly! I have large shoulders and chest (34DD), a long torso, small waist and hips, but muscular thighs. The dress fit perfectly, and not too tight. It wasn't loose in the stomach as another reviewer said; it fit like a well- made sheath dress. The material of the lace is rather thick, but the slip underneath is not too bad. I usually get hot at weddings, and this was perfect and didn't show sweat :) I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this elegant and versatile dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 9, 2012
totally awesome
wore this for my cousin's super swanky wedding (harvard club NYC) with nude heels... perfect. i got a ton of compliments and someone came and asked me where i got the dress (naturally i referred them here!). it was really comfortable. the cotton lace does have a fair amount of stretch, and i think i might have been able to wear a 4. because it was a bit big, the lace bunched a bit around the waist, but you could hardly tell, since it was all black. surprisingly, it was fairly cool, too... we had to run a couple blocks and half an avenue to get to the venue because the cab got stuck in traffic, and i wasn't burning up afterwards, which was a concern before we started running!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2012
Gorgeous!!!!
I rented this dress for my twin daughters' communion party. It was gorgeous, but I wish I had added the size 0 to my order. It fit well but the crochet stretches, so I wish it was a little but tighter. But still I got comliments all night
ReneeSeptember 17, 2012
Thank you!!! I am 5'7 and 120, and was concerned about sizing. Your comments helped!!!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2012
Great dress
This dress is terrific. It fits well, maybe a tiny bit large for the size, but that was a good thing for me. What the pictures on the site don't do justice to is the quality of this dress and the effect of the lace at the neckline. I had 2 other alternate dresses and this one was hands down the best looking - because of the quality of the work; the lace looks 'real' - it is not cheap polyester. Also: the contrast between the black lace and my (pale) skin at the neckline added a lot of drama/visual interest, making this more interesting than just another black dress. I got a lot of compliments on this.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
March 16, 2012
A women in the middle of mass stopped me to tell me how gorgeous my dress was!
I rented this dress for my brother's confirmation and it was absolutely perfect. It was sophisticated but yet so sexy. There was a slit up the back that add that little wink to the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress for another occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2012
pretty black lace dress
This dress was very comfortable and elegant. It was worn to a Phantom Gala and I felt very comfortable all night - even dancing. I don't know why I didn't listen to the other reviews, though, some of which said that the dress runs large. I usually wear size 4, sometimes 2, sometimes larger depending on designer. I ordered this in a 4 and 6 and the 4 was a little loose around the middle, the 2 probably would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 30, 2012
business formal affair
I rented this for a black tie business awards dinner. It was perfect for the Friday night event. Conservative enough to be appropriate, yet classy and a bit flirty. I am 5'8" 125 lbs. This hit just below my knees. I would have liked it to be slightly above the knee as shown in the model photo. Still, really beautiful. You can't go wrong with this, but its not a sexy dress if that's what your looking for.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2011
Sooo beautifuL!
I loved the fit of this dress! it fit like a glove but it still was not too tight. I received soooo many compliments! loved it!
DebJanuary 8, 2012
How did it fit thru your chest? I'm a 32B & 5'1", how was the length?
ChristinaJune 27, 2012
Where did the hemline fall? I'm 5'4" as well and wondering if this dress will be too long.
RTRJune 27, 2012
Hi ladies, this dress is 38'' from shoulder to hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2011
Christmas Party Success!
This dress was AMAZING!!! The first time I saw it I knew I wanted to wear it, but I finally got the first chance to wear it. The top with its see through lace was just the right touch to look gorgeous without baring it. I attended a rather Conservative party that required, as a new part of the family, that I look great but still not stand out too much. It was the perfect choice, and now having worn it once, I wish I owned it! It would just be a perfect choice with so many options.
taraMarch 24, 2012
Can I ask what size you ordered? We are about the same size and I would like to rent the dress. Thank you for your review - very helpful!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2011
The fit in the main picture is
NOT the fit of the dress. The model here is wearing a different size than the designer meant to be true. It is a very boxy fit, if you don't order a size (or two down). It is NOT cinched in the middle. I strongly recommend ordering a size down.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2011
I am in love!
I absolutely love this dress. It is a timeless look. I got tons of compliments! I am 5'8" and I have a big booty and small chest. The dress was slightly large in the stomach area but it fit great everywhere else. Love love love! Rent it!
CatherineDecember 20, 2011
i have the same body shape (small chest/big booty). did you end up wearing your normal size?
CatherineDecember 22, 2011
Oops...just saw you did rent your normal size! Nevermind :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2011
Classic Little Black Dress
I wore this to a work cocktail party; it is stunning. Think Mad Men. It fell below my knees (I am 5'5") and I would recommend a high heel 3 to 5 inches to go with this. The neckline goes to high for a short necklace, but a bracelet would be perfect. I was worried it might not fit given I was 17 weeks pregnant at the time, but the lower abdomen was actually unfitted.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×