Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 22, 2012
Sophisticated!
Wore this dress to a wedding, and received many compliments. It definitely sticks out from the "typical black dress." The detailing of this dress is lovely. I would recommend this dress to a wedding, or a work event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Elegant Dress
This dress was perfect for a fancy dinner out. The restaurant was a little conservative so the cutouts were the perfect amount of skin. The material was heavy and fell right -- dress felt expensive. A pearl and gold necklace really fished off this look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 19, 2013
A great classic, elegant dress.
I wore this to a work "gala" -- it was the perfect miss of style, class, femininity and sophistication. I wore it with a chunky JCrew crystal bracelet and C Wonder earing and received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Great dress for a reunion
I wore this for my 5 year law school reunion and it was perfect - sexy and modest at the same time. I got a lot of compliments. The dress itself is true to size, and was comfortable all evening. The lace pattern is really lovely, and overall it is a very flattering dress. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 29, 2013
Absolutely beautiful dress
It fits great, although a little long. I'm 5'11 and this dress was almost to my knees! But otherwise the lace detail was beautiful and this dress definitely appeared new. I'm including the second picture to show the up close detail by my neck. I loved it. Another great rental from RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 1, 2013
Perfect for the evening!
I wore this for the opening performance of Don Giovanni at Opera Colorado. The weather was cool and windy, so the dress was perfect as it is a heavier lace. I'd rent it again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Conservative and classy
Great dress if you're looking for something a little more conservative. I wore it to a family wedding. I'm generally a 12 in Tahari but went down a size in this. Also, I'm 5'9" and it hit right below my knee. Looked great in photos and the lace hides any imprefections! The dress was damaged when it arrived but RTR's customer service was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
Very classy, elegant dress!
Very nice fabric, quite heavy so not recommended for an "outside in the summer" type of event. A little long but still very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 9, 2013
Did not get to wear it,yet the 4 fit quite well and was in beautiful condition.
Fit well. will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Classic LBD silhouette with a crocheted knit feel.
Very comfortable dress. It has a crocheted knit overlay so it has a bit of stretch to it. Would rent again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2013
I rented this dress for my 10 year reunion and loved it! I got a lot of compliments.
The dress was very figure flattering. However, the straps of the under garment were a little big so I had to pin it which was fine and no one noticed. Definitely a good choice if you want a sure thing! I am usually an 8 but got a 10. I could have gone with an 8, but the 10 was fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2013
A conservative option.
I think this dress would be great for smaller girls who don't have many curves (and want to create some) and still want a classy yet sexy option. My issue with this dress is the bulk factor, it is season-less but is so heavy I think it would be better for cooler months. A very high neckline for busty girls, felt like I was being choked (but that happens with all high collar dresses) I would note that there is a giant rose right where the cleavage hits naturally. The dress is lined and that is always a plus for me. Tahari is a great designer in general. High quality.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2013
Rocked out my quarterly client meeting with sophistication and flawless NYC style!
This dress was a showstopper! I was heading to my client meeting in the the rain but this dress still turned so many heads, men and women alike. It's black, it's long enough to wear in a business setting and it's very elegant which added up to an absolutely timeless look. I never want to give it back! One note is that this definitely runs large so keep that in mind when ordering your backup size. I'm usually a 6 but the 4 hugged my curves a lot better with this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2013
Great for cooler weather!
Rented this for Valentine's Day and was glad I wasn't cold! It almost feels like a carpet but looks beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2013
Beautiful dress
I would definitely recommend this dress for someone tall because it fell exactly on my knees where it should have. The material is also very thick and a bit heavy so be prepared for that. The dress fit me perfectly and I enjoyed wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
September 30, 2013
It was heavier than I thought it would be. but was very comfortable.
The dress came with the shoulder lining strap broke off, so I had to pin it. Did not have time to tack it, and was not sure if that would be considered altering the dress. I did put a note on my return of the problem that should be fixed before sending out to the next person. I wore it with larger pearl accessories for an elegant look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 9, 2013
A perfect classy dress for taller ladies
The moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I received my first of many complements on this dress. It was classy but the lace kept it on trend. Normally I would have rented an 8 and 10, but since the 8 was out for the weekend I ordered the 10 without a backup size. It was perfect. I struggle with dresses being inappropriately short for formal weddings since I am 6'0''. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee. The dress was so comfortable. I would love to rent this again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2013
Fit perfectly (10), was completely right for the event - a formal dinner for our son's wedding.
The dress is a tad long - falls below the knee, but sometimes that's just the perfect length, as it was for our son's post- wedding dinner - beautiful, very small, formal dinner. Elegant and perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
October 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, great quality, order a size down
Great dress for an event or wedding-- well made. Great experience
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
October 28, 2013
Love how easy it was to have a dress ready for the wedding and an easy return process.
This dress is true to size. I am petite so the dress hit right at the knees but I got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2013
Easy, great, fit, comfortable dress - made for a fun night!
Beautiful, classic look but with enough detail to make it special. Fabric is quite heavy but great to hide flaws, very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 11, 2013
Great dress! Looked fancy without having to spend a lot of money!!
Wore this to my boyfriend sister's wedding. It was comfortable, and looked great. the black slip underneath was a little too large and I had to tug it up to where my bra wouldn't show. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2013
A really beautiful and flattering dress!
I went with my second choice dress for my event, but wore this the next day for a baptism and luncheon and got so many compliments on how beautiful the dress was. I love the neckline and detail. Fit was a little loose in the top but the bottom fit perfectly. Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 22, 2013
Wore for firm holiday dinner. Good length and style for work party.
Fit was especially good through the waist and hip (I am long waisted).Length was almost to the knee. Dress was of a heavy material, but not hot. Good for November in Florida.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2013
Loved this dress!! Comfortable and classy... Perfect for the Christmas party I attended!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's work Christmas party, and it was perfect! I am tall, so I wanted to make sure that the dress I picked was long enough so that it would still be appropriate to meet coworkers. It ended up hitting about 1-2 inches above my knee, which was perfect. There is a slit in the back that went higher, but was still classy. The other reviews that I had read said that the dress runs big, but my normal size fit perfectly. The detail in the material is really pretty, and you couldn't see the nude-colored bra that I wore at all. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
December 24, 2013
This dress was a perfect mix of classy and feminine!
I wore this dress to my work holiday party and to a friend's engagement party. In both instances, this dress was a stylish pick. The lace is beautiful and the fabric is heavy enough that it was a great choice for the winter months. I'm 5'11" and this dress fell about mid-thigh on me. Overall, I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Everyone loved it!
I must say I didn't love this dress simply because it isn't my style. However, I was with my whole family for my Dad's wedding and his bride picked this for me and they all loved it! Which made me feel very good. The dress fit well and did look pretty, not my style. Very grown up and perfect for my family.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 4, 2014
Cute but very thick
I wore this for a bridal shower. The dress fit true to size but with the liner and thick lAce, it felt a little bulky.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2014
Perfect dress, great party!
I'm usually an 8 and the 10 fit perfectly. I wore this for my husband's office's Christmas party and got so many compliments! The neckline and lace are so beautiful you really don't need to do much with it - I wore my hair up and sparkly earrings and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 10, 2014
Rented for Honor Society Induction, Great Dress!!
I rented this dress for my induction into a school honor society, which involved a formal cocktail hour and dinner. I'd had my eye on the dress for a while and it lived up to expectations! The dress is really beautiful with very thick lace (just be careful putting it on because the lace is held together with very thin strands!). Required minimal accessories but made a big impact. I felt really beautiful in it. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Very comfortable. Perfect LBD
I rented this dress for my best friends bridal shower. I was very happy with the dress. The only down side was that the slip kept ridding up, so occasionally I would have to reach under and pull it down. Otherwise I found the dress to be very comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great classy dress!
I wore this for graduation and it was perfectly classy and elegant! It hits at the knees and the top layer is a bit longer than the lining. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2014
Beautiful lace.
This dress is beautiful! I was surprised at how comfortable it was. The lace fabric had some stretch to it. I wore my normal size 0 and it fit perfectly. An ideal length for tall girls :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 15, 2014
Super comfortable - sad to see this one go!
I was nervous about the fit, as my backup size wasn't available but I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this dress! I have broader shoulders and did not feel restricted by the armholes on this dress (as opposed to other lace dresses). The material was a little thicker, so I was happy the weather was a bit cooler. Felt amazing and got many complements..if you're thinking about renting this one - do it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
June 25, 2014
Classic Dress!
I loved the neckline and the cap sleeves, I only wished that the lace wasn't so thick. It was more of a crochet. I wore a size 2 which was fitted at the chest.. I'm a 34B. The fit would have been perfect if the dress wasn't so loose around the hips and thighs. This could be because so many people have rented the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
July 14, 2014
Understated yet flattering
I rented this for a work function gala. I wanted to look classy and sophisticated without drawing too much attention to myself. This was form fitting in an appropriate way. It felt really good on and was comfortable. I have larger bust and hips but this fit perfect in all areas. The lining is low cut in the chest area but the lace offers good coverage. I was able to zip and unzip this dress by myself. I got instant compliments and they continued throughout the evening. Another RTR dress that did not disappoint! LOVE IT!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
July 17, 2014
..
Fit is great, the crochet is heavier than it looks in pictures
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
October 3, 2014
Not only was it a beautiful dress but actually really comfortable!
This dress was gorgeous but a tad bit heavy for dancing! The slit was a little too high in the back and I kept having to tank it down! Other than that, I received a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
October 8, 2014
Elegent but fun!
This dress was absolutely stunning. I recieved so many compliments about the uniquness and style. It was very elegent but with the crocheted layer it was still super fun because it allowed for skin to peek through in all the right places. When my daughter first saw me in the dress, her exact words were "You look like a commercial!"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 19, 2014
Great Dress, Beware of Slit in back
This dress was beautiful, flattering, and classy. It was perfect for a wedding in which I was a bridesmaid bc it was very flattering but not distracting. One thing I noticed after i tried it on and had walked around for a while is that there was a huge slit down the middle, my butt was showing and I had to pin the upper part, big con for me personally. But it is a fabulous dress. Def worked for my occasion.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×