Elie Tahari

Gold Infused Lace Sheath

$30 – $35 rental ?
$798 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Elegance is bliss in this simple Elie Tahari look. Gold infusions on the side pump up the drama and give you a defined waist while still staying comfortable! Throw on some chunky gold jewelry for a trendier look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with gold metallic applique. Crew neckline. Scalloped lace hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

62 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 49
Large 6
Photos 13
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2012

Everyone kept complimenting my awesome dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I had listened to the other reviews and sized down - I'm in between sizes (10 and 12), but wasn't sure how this would fit, so went a bit bigger (as I didn't want to try to squeeze myself into a dress)! But alas, when it came I found it to be a bit baggy and big on me. But no worries, the gold detailing on the sides made it look like it was fitter on me than it was! Everyone kept complimenting my dress all night, and couldn't believe I had rented it! Paired with gold accessories it looked amazing! I was also able to wear my regular black bra with it (as I haaaaate strapless bras) and you couldn't tell due to the lace detailing. It was also the perfect length for me, and just looked super elegant and beautiful. Loved my first rental!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2012

I wish I never had to send this dress back, it was beautiful! I loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this beautiful dress to a wedding. I normally wear a 10, it fit perfectly and it was soo incredibly comfortable. The design on the side is so much more amazing in person! Stunning dress that made a big impression, so glad I rented this!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect dress for a wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, and so so comfortable. It definitely runs on the larger side -- I'm usually a 4 or a 6, and went with the 6 on this one and could have really used the 4. It's especially roomy around the middle. The gold lace on the side helped give me some shape and made it look not so big. It was the perfect dress for an evening wedding. Classy, elegant, and a little bit edgy with the sheer lace on the top (it come down a little lower than pictured on the model). The pictures I have of the dress aren't the greatest, but you get the idea :-) Highly recommended. The dress my sister ordered (pictures) is very similar and super pretty as well (Sachin + Babi - Chrome Lace Sheath)
Cortney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Beautiful dress, but lace had pulls from past wears

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an elegant dress, but the lace was tattered at the bottom. And one of the hooks that connect the camisole straps in the shoulders was broken.
Atom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Didn't get this dress. I was notified the day before my ship date pick an alternative.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Will try to rent this one for my next corp event in Vegas in a few months.
kait
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 6, 2013

Classy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
got lots of compliments on this classy lace number. the gold sequins on the side really add a slimming effect. great length for wedding or dressy event.
Claudia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Perfect cocktail dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was the perfect length and a perfect fit. It wasn't in perfect condition anymore (beads under the arms showed a bit of wear, therefor not 5 stars), but I got great complements and felt great in it.
Mia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Jan 10, 2013

Perfect for a semi-formal Christmas party! Beautiful detail.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a company Christmas party and I thought it was lovely. The gold detailing on the dress was really pretty and more beaded than it appears online. It did look like it had definitely been worn more than a few times, and I feel like it was a little over priced for a rental... but overall a very classy and beautiful! dress
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 30, 2013

The dress felt sophisticated for my finace's office Christmas party, but still sexy and chic!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the look of the dress. The lace was slightly tattered and wore out in spots, but nothing major that would keep you from wearing it. The fit was true to size , I usually wear a 12, but liked the sleeker fit of the 10 and it looked really nice in either size on me. I loved the dress and got several compliments from others. Very modest and appropriate, yet still very flattering and a hint of sexy with the lace overlay and gold details.
Susan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Perfect LBD with subtle gold detailing that helps create the illusion of curve.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well and true to size. The gold details add a great dimension to the LBD. Wore this to my rehearsal dinner but appropriate for many occasions.
Rose
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Looked great, fit well, lots of comments and compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and the look was unique. I enjoyed wearing this dress and received many comments and compliments about it.
Therese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Unusual and very lovely

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was sent as a backup. Had the weather been warmer, I would have worn it. Since it was chilly and windy, I wore the Elie Tahair Loolu Lace Sheath instead. I'll order this one for another occasion.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 4, 2013

I got a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually an 8 so I was surprised the 10 fit better, but it fit me like a glove. I felt very old-hollywood and glamorous!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2013

Loved this dress. Wore it to a black tie optional wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would suggest ordering down for your backup size. I usually wear a 4-6. I wore the 4 and it was still a little loose. Also, I'm only 5'3" and found it came just past my mid-thigh, so not sure how it would be on a taller girl. But I loved this dress. Would absolutely rent again.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 15, 2013

The dress was beautiful, very comfortable and fit perfectly. Perfect for the holiday ball I went to.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a size 6 (my usual size) and size 8 to be safe. The 6 fit absolutely perfectly - completely comfortable, fitted in the right spots and hid the not-so-desirable spots! However, upon looking closely at the dress's black lace overlay, there were several rips, pulls and tears in the lace and the applique. I was very surprised that it would be sent to me, a first-time customer, with so much damage so I called customer service right away to see if they could send another size 6 overnight, since the 8 turned out to be way too big. They couldn't, and because my event was the next day and was taking place in a darker ballroom, I decided to try and get away with it. No one noticed the damage other than me and from afar the dress looked beautiful, but I was very surprised that it arrived as damaged as it was. I'll use Rent the Runaway again, but hope it doesn't happen again!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Disappointed - I did not wear it. Sorry.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Too tight everywhere, not forgiving.
LA fun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 31, 2013

Pretty details, but wish the waist was more form fitting.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
In between sizes. If the waist was a little smaller I would have loved it. Looked to much like a potato sack. The smaller size was too tight in the butt and hips...
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

I received SO many compliments on this dress! The gold detailing is stunning!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove!
DB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 1, 2013

Loved this dress! So elegant!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a wonderful dress. It looked classy and elegant but with interesting details. The gold part gives the illusion of a fitted waist and adds some flair. It's perfectly comfortable and easy to wear. I loved this dress - one of my favorite rentals from RTR!
Dar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 6, 2013

RTR needs to retire this one. A bit worn out.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both a size 2 and 4 and could not tell the difference between them. Being as there were not any noticeable size indicators in the dress, I would assume that I got two size 4 dresses. The dress very well and is great for a mature woman without being frumpy. My only complaint is that the dress has been worn too many times and it shows. The lace was frayed and the gold detail is starting to fall off and discolor as a result of being cleaned beyond what a normal person would do if it were there own. The event that I went to started in the late afternoon and went into the evening, so in the daylight the "tiredness" of the dress did show.
anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 13, 2014

Amazing detail - perfect conservative cocktail dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. The photos don't do the detailing justice. The gold beading on the sides makes the dress.
CP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

Simple but kind of worn out looking

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material (worn out and cheap looking) was not what I had expected. Other than that, it was cute and simple.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Nice but not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the dress to wear to a formal graduation event. The layers of the dress did not lay well and the decor on the sides was not made well. The dress looks beautiful on the website, but I was underwhelmed when I received it. I ended up wearing an oldie but goodie in the closet. RTR returns handled the return very well, I was very impressed with the customer service.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Apr 6, 2014

Great, comfortable dress for dancing the night away in style!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress really flatters curves -- the gold detail defines your waist well and the lace top shows cleavage tastefully. The dress is a very comfortable to wear if you're going to be dancing a lot. The one downside is that the zipper is tough to manage because the lace fabric on the back doesn't hold its shape that well when you're pulling up the zipper. Have a friend available to help you get it closed up!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Beautiful dress with great detail!! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear an 8, and while the 8 fit, it had a small hole and looked more worn. The 10 also fit, and was a little more comfortable, especially for a formal networking event. The dress was adorable and very comfortable all night. I got several compliments!
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Loved it from the minute I tried it on before my event! Very comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is perfect for curvy bodies! The metallic details on the sides accentuate your waist! It is a snug fit and not too short for middle aged women! Highly recommend!
Connie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
May 17, 2014

Simple yet elegant and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Garden Party (formal cocktail party attire) and was quite comfortable. It was a little loose, but not excessively so - and too loose is better than too tight at military functions! The fabric is definitely showing some signs of wear, but without looking at it pretty close up, I doubt if anyone else would really notice. It wasn't at all itchy and it seemed pretty forgiving so I would certainly recommend it for similar events.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 28, 2014

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a bit leary about the condition in which I would receive the dress, given some of the reviews, but it was in perfect condition. Fit beautifully! Elegant and very comfortable! No complaints, whatsoever!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

So sophisticated!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore for a work formal social. Great fit, beautiful details. Just the right amount of glam!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried about what quality the dress would be in when it arrived, however, the dress was in great condition and fit perfectly! I wore it to a tea party bridal shower and it was perfect! I never wanted to return it!
Renni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

feels cheaply made

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
material is too flimsy. didn't wear it
JessWils
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

I wore this dress for a black tie optional wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 fit snugly, and I probably could have gone up to the 10 for a more sheath look, but it was an evening wedding and the gold accents worked well with my shape. I felt it was a little short for my tastes, but I'm a bit conservative. The bottom of the dress was a little frayed, probably from use, but it was hardly noticeable. Would wear again!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

good friends, good times

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers have noted, this dress is showing its wear. The lace overlay is a little ragged in places and the metallic side details seem fragile. There was an area near the zipper where the lace had completely separated, leaving a hole, but I threw in a few quick stitches that solved the problem. All that being said, I liked the dress and thought I looked great in it. The side detail is hard to see in the photo, but I think it really makes the dress pop.
Silver
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Good dress from day to night. Easy to dress up and down!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good fit and comfortable though the dress appears a little worn (given that lace is easy to fray). The gold sequins and stitching really make the plain dress something special. I wore it for a church wedding and then the nighttime reception afterwards--very east transition.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really comfortable dress! The gold details at the waist and neckline make it really special. It doesn't have a lot of structure, so had to wear my body-shaper underneath, which wasn't a surprise to me, and actually made it easier while sitting, dancing, etc. I'm usually somewhere between a size 10 and 12, and the 10 fit just right, so I have a feeling that the dress runs a tad large, but nothing to extreme. I'm curvy and was able to fit into the 10 comfortably...not loose as in the model's picture, but definitely hugged my curves in the right places.
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 10, 2014

Beautiful beading and lace!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous. The lace and beading were both beautiful! I loved the sheer detailing as well, it was subtle and very beautiful. Unfortunately, it was really just straight up and down and didn't do anything for my body. It was tight on my hips and thighs, but really loose around my waist and bust. I'd say this was meant for a girl with either an athletic body or a thinner girl than me.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Beautiful dress, tight on top

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous, but the top was really tight and it caused the slip and lace overlay to not line up properly for me.
Lucy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. Not too tight, easy to move in!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. I got many compliments from wedding party guests - and the bride, on how gorgeous this dress was! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Fun night

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very thin dress, too short for a work-based event. I did not wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×