You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Gold Infused Lace Sheath
Rental $60 Retail $798
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Elegance is bliss in this simple Elie Tahari look. Gold infusions on the side pump up the drama and give you a defined waist while still staying comfortable! Throw on some chunky gold jewelry for a trendier look.
Chat with a Stylist
Black lace with gold metallic applique. Crew neckline. Scalloped lace hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos8

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
May 4, 2013
I got a lot of compliments!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually an 8 so I was surprised the 10 fit better, but it fit me like a glove. I felt very old-hollywood and glamorous!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7433
Jan 30, 2013
The dress felt sophisticated for my finace's office Christmas party, but still sexy and chic!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the look of the dress. The lace was slightly tattered and wore out in spots, but nothing major that would keep you from wearing it. The fit was true to size , I usually wear a 12, but liked the sleeker fit of the 10 and it looked really nice in either size on me. I loved the dress and got several compliments from others. Very modest and appropriate, yet still very flattering and a hint of sexy with the lace overlay and gold details.
Mia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5444
Jan 10, 2013
Perfect for a semi-formal Christmas party! Beautiful detail.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a company Christmas party and I thought it was lovely. The gold detailing on the dress was really pretty and more beaded than it appears online. It did look like it had definitely been worn more than a few times, and I feel like it was a little over priced for a rental... but overall a very classy and beautiful! dress
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5423
Sep 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a wedding
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, and so so comfortable. It definitely runs on the larger side -- I'm usually a 4 or a 6, and went with the 6 on this one and could have really used the 4. It's especially roomy around the middle. The gold lace on the side helped give me some shape and made it look not so big. It was the perfect dress for an evening wedding. Classy, elegant, and a little bit edgy with the sheer lace on the top (it come down a little lower than pictured on the model). The pictures I have of the dress aren't the greatest, but you get the idea :-) Highly recommended. The dress my sister ordered (pictures) is very similar and super pretty as well (Sachin + Babi - Chrome Lace Sheath)
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7433
Jul 9, 2012
I wish I never had to send this dress back, it was beautiful! I loved it!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this beautiful dress to a wedding. I normally wear a 10, it fit perfectly and it was soo incredibly comfortable. The design on the side is so much more amazing in person! Stunning dress that made a big impression, so glad I rented this!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8543
Jan 23, 2012
Everyone kept complimenting my awesome dress!!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I had listened to the other reviews and sized down - I'm in between sizes (10 and 12), but wasn't sure how this would fit, so went a bit bigger (as I didn't want to try to squeeze myself into a dress)! But alas, when it came I found it to be a bit baggy and big on me. But no worries, the gold detailing on the sides made it look like it was fitter on me than it was! Everyone kept complimenting my dress all night, and couldn't believe I had rented it! Paired with gold accessories it looked amazing! I was also able to wear my regular black bra with it (as I haaaaate strapless bras) and you couldn't tell due to the lace detailing. It was also the perfect length for me, and just looked super elegant and beautiful. Loved my first rental!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Apr 16, 2014
Beautiful dress with great detail!! Very comfortable!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear an 8, and while the 8 fit, it had a small hole and looked more worn. The 10 also fit, and was a little more comfortable, especially for a formal networking event. The dress was adorable and very comfortable all night. I got several compliments!
Claire
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8434
Apr 6, 2014
Great, comfortable dress for dancing the night away in style!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress really flatters curves -- the gold detail defines your waist well and the lace top shows cleavage tastefully. The dress is a very comfortable to wear if you're going to be dancing a lot. The one downside is that the zipper is tough to manage because the lace fabric on the back doesn't hold its shape that well when you're pulling up the zipper. Have a friend available to help you get it closed up!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Mar 26, 2014
Nice but not for me
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the dress to wear to a formal graduation event. The layers of the dress did not lay well and the decor on the sides was not made well. The dress looks beautiful on the website, but I was underwhelmed when I received it. I ended up wearing an oldie but goodie in the closet. RTR returns handled the return very well, I was very impressed with the customer service.
CP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Feb 12, 2014
Simple but kind of worn out looking
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material (worn out and cheap looking) was not what I had expected. Other than that, it was cute and simple.
anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 13, 2014
Amazing detail - perfect conservative cocktail dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. The photos don't do the detailing justice. The gold beading on the sides makes the dress.
Dar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Sep 6, 2013
RTR needs to retire this one. A bit worn out.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both a size 2 and 4 and could not tell the difference between them. Being as there were not any noticeable size indicators in the dress, I would assume that I got two size 4 dresses. The dress very well and is great for a mature woman without being frumpy. My only complaint is that the dress has been worn too many times and it shows. The lace was frayed and the gold detail is starting to fall off and discolor as a result of being cleaned beyond what a normal person would do if it were there own. The event that I went to started in the late afternoon and went into the evening, so in the daylight the "tiredness" of the dress did show.
DB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 1, 2013
Loved this dress! So elegant!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a wonderful dress. It looked classy and elegant but with interesting details. The gold part gives the illusion of a fitted waist and adds some flair. It's perfectly comfortable and easy to wear. I loved this dress - one of my favorite rentals from RTR!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2442
Aug 9, 2013
I received SO many compliments on this dress! The gold detailing is stunning!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove!
LA fun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6443
Jul 31, 2013
Pretty details, but wish the waist was more form fitting.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
In between sizes. If the waist was a little smaller I would have loved it. Looked to much like a potato sack. The smaller size was too tight in the butt and hips...
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Jun 26, 2013
Disappointed - I did not wear it. Sorry.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Too tight everywhere, not forgiving.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
May 15, 2013
The dress was beautiful, very comfortable and fit perfectly. Perfect for the holiday ball I went to.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a size 6 (my usual size) and size 8 to be safe. The 6 fit absolutely perfectly - completely comfortable, fitted in the right spots and hid the not-so-desirable spots! However, upon looking closely at the dress's black lace overlay, there were several rips, pulls and tears in the lace and the applique. I was very surprised that it would be sent to me, a first-time customer, with so much damage so I called customer service right away to see if they could send another size 6 overnight, since the 8 turned out to be way too big. They couldn't, and because my event was the next day and was taking place in a darker ballroom, I decided to try and get away with it. No one noticed the damage other than me and from afar the dress looked beautiful, but I was very surprised that it arrived as damaged as it was. I'll use Rent the Runaway again, but hope it doesn't happen again!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4421
May 13, 2013
Loved this dress. Wore it to a black tie optional wedding.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would suggest ordering down for your backup size. I usually wear a 4-6. I wore the 4 and it was still a little loose. Also, I'm only 5'3" and found it came just past my mid-thigh, so not sure how it would be on a taller girl. But I loved this dress. Would absolutely rent again.
Therese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Apr 2, 2013
Unusual and very lovely
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was sent as a backup. Had the weather been warmer, I would have worn it. Since it was chilly and windy, I wore the Elie Tahair Loolu Lace Sheath instead. I'll order this one for another occasion.
Rose
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Mar 18, 2013
Looked great, fit well, lots of comments and compliments
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and the look was unique. I enjoyed wearing this dress and received many comments and compliments about it.
Susan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Feb 20, 2013
Perfect LBD with subtle gold detailing that helps create the illusion of curve.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well and true to size. The gold details add a great dimension to the LBD. Wore this to my rehearsal dinner but appropriate for many occasions.
Claudia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Jan 10, 2013
Perfect cocktail dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was the perfect length and a perfect fit. It wasn't in perfect condition anymore (beads under the arms showed a bit of wear, therefor not 5 stars), but I got great complements and felt great in it.
kait
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8533
Jan 6, 2013
Classy!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
got lots of compliments on this classy lace number. the gold sequins on the side really add a slimming effect. great length for wedding or dressy event.
Atom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9634
Dec 16, 2012
Didn't get this dress. I was notified the day before my ship date pick an alternative.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Will try to rent this one for my next corp event in Vegas in a few months.
Cortney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Dec 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, but lace had pulls from past wears
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an elegant dress, but the lace was tattered at the bottom. And one of the hooks that connect the camisole straps in the shoulders was broken.
Jodi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Dec 14, 2012
Great dress, got lots of compliments. Up close could see the wear.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Could get caught on bigger hips
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4444
Dec 12, 2012
Great for a Holiday Event!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding and it was perfect. It is a great mix of classy and sexy with the gold features and black lace. The dress runs a little small, I wore an 8 and I am usually a 4-6.
Fitzlikeaglove
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4542
Dec 4, 2012
So beautiful!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my work awards banquet and received tons of compliments all night! The lace and gold detail is so on trend and the look was perfect for the event. It wasn't too short and showed just enough skin. I paired with gold accessories to complete my look. I would definitely rent this dress again and definitely rent from Elie Tahari again!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Nov 16, 2012
never was able to get other people's opinions :(
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, I never did get to wear this dress as I got sick and was unable to attend function. However, when I received it, I tried it on and it fit perfectly. The two things I was not super pleased with were I think the particular dress I received has been worn too many times, even though it is lace, it seemed frayed, the other thing was the under layer hung below the lace so the scalloping on the bottom was not like the picture.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9534
Nov 4, 2012
I rented this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I couldn't believe how many compliments I got!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was gorgeous on and I got a ton of compliments! It fit well, not too short for the church and just enough room to make it comfortable. I wore my own bra under it and you couldn't even tell. With a pair of gold shoes and the RTR earrings I got it made for the perfect outfit for my occasion!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Oct 19, 2012
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress, but it was a little worn on the sides by the beading. It was a pretty loose fit. It was really comfortable & not at all itchy!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7543
Oct 7, 2012
Beautiful gold details
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well and was comfortable. Beautiful lace with gold beading on the side waist, which gives a great slimming effect and enhances curves.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Sep 4, 2012
Great Dress and Experience
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was great! The whole experience was great for my first time. My only complaint is the USPS return envelope did not fit in any blue boxes near me so had to find a post office.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7341
Aug 28, 2012
Cute dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress. I had rented two dresses for this occasion and ended up wearing the other one. The gold on the side is a lot more than i expected -- I thought it was more like a gold lace applique, but it is metal beads, etc. The gold is really pretty though.
lulu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 17, 2012
baggy
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
not very form fitting as the fabric kinda hangs. great details and very sophisticated. most likely ideal if you have a difficult body to dress.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Aug 13, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Was very comfortable and I loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I thought it fit true to my size.
Beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6431
Aug 13, 2012
A little too old looking
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a formal work event, but I felt that it make me look too old. Plus, when I received it some of the lace stitching was damaged :( I chose a different dress to wear to the event.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8544
Jul 22, 2012
Simple but striking
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a night out with my husband to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. Following the advice of other reviewers, I ordered a size down for back up. I could have worn the 12, but I have a very large chest and the 14 was just more comfortable. The dress is beautiful, the lace is soft, and the beading adds interest without being over the top. As we left dinner, a woman called out to me, "I love your dress!" I had a baby about a year ago, and it was wonderful to have a dress that helped me feel so confident and beautiful on our special occasion.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6543
Jun 18, 2012
Liked, Didn't Love
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't loooove this dress as much as some of the reviewers on here, but it's definitely very beautiful and perfect for a more conservative wedding (which I wore it for) or other such event. The gold on the sides was a bit darker than I was expecting, and beaded (for some reason I thought the color came from the dress's lining) but it was definitely flattering and fit like a glove. I got lots of compliments, too!
Joanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jun 13, 2012
Awesome dress! Comfortable too
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for a "black-tie optional" wedding I attended. The gold is much more subtle in person and the lace is soft giving. I wore a strapless but you could easily wear a regular bra too and no one would notice. Great great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress