Rent the Runway

Elie Tahari

Gold Infused Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$798 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Elegance is bliss in this simple Elie Tahari look. Gold infusions on the side pump up the drama and give you a defined waist while still staying comfortable! Throw on some chunky gold jewelry for a trendier look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with gold metallic applique. Crew neckline. Scalloped lace hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

64 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 50
Large 7
Photos 13
Stacy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 17, 2011

Madly in love

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a recent wedding. I was nervous about the sizing, but it fit like a glove! I received compliments from pretty much everyone about the dress and how beautiful it was. I didn't want to ship it back the next day! I'll definitely rent this dress again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2011

Unbelievably Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to Thanksgiving dinner with my family. It is gorgeous - the lace and gold detailing are truly one of a kind. It is an easy fit and is true to size. This dress was perfect for a family gathering - the length was great and I wore with a cropped sweater. I definitely recommend this!
JRD
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 29, 2011

Gorgeous and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie work event. It was absolutely perfect! I usually wear a 6 or sometimes 8 and the 6 looked great! (got a 4 and a 6) but chose to wear the 4 because it just gave a more sleeker look. The lac has some stretch to it. So comfortable and the beading on it is jewelry itself, just add earrings and a great clutch. Got so many compliments. Wish I had this in my closet because I would wear it to every single black tie affair!
susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

Very comfortable

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for a NYE dinner after RTR's warehouse had a mix up with my original order. I got the 14 but probably could've worn the 12. I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and even though the info says it has no stretch, it does have some stretch. The lace is so pretty in person. I would rent this one again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Elegant Lace

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a more conservative wedding and it was the perfect choice. It was a stand out, but for all the right reasons. It was comfortable to dance in all night and the gold lace/beading on the sides really sparkles and gives a little black dress something special.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 18, 2012

Gold beads!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is a bit more modest in person, and the gold beading detail on the sides is more prominent. It's a beautiful dress, but runs large - the 8 was huge on me. The gold sides helped create the illusion of a shape, but it was still too formless. I ended up wearing another dress to the party, but I would consider this in a smaller size.
Susan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2012

Nice Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 6 and 8. The 8 fit better due to larger rib cage and I liked the longer length. Was very comfortable and easy to move in. Did not need any special undergarments either could have easily worn the 6 but had a choice! Lots of complements was a very nice dress.
Joanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2012

Awesome dress! Comfortable too

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for a "black-tie optional" wedding I attended. The gold is much more subtle in person and the lace is soft giving. I wore a strapless but you could easily wear a regular bra too and no one would notice. Great great dress!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 18, 2012

Liked, Didn't Love

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't loooove this dress as much as some of the reviewers on here, but it's definitely very beautiful and perfect for a more conservative wedding (which I wore it for) or other such event. The gold on the sides was a bit darker than I was expecting, and beaded (for some reason I thought the color came from the dress's lining) but it was definitely flattering and fit like a glove. I got lots of compliments, too!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 22, 2012

Simple but striking

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a night out with my husband to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. Following the advice of other reviewers, I ordered a size down for back up. I could have worn the 12, but I have a very large chest and the 14 was just more comfortable. The dress is beautiful, the lace is soft, and the beading adds interest without being over the top. As we left dinner, a woman called out to me, "I love your dress!" I had a baby about a year ago, and it was wonderful to have a dress that helped me feel so confident and beautiful on our special occasion.
Beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 13, 2012

A little too old looking

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a formal work event, but I felt that it make me look too old. Plus, when I received it some of the lace stitching was damaged :( I chose a different dress to wear to the event.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Was very comfortable and I loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I thought it fit true to my size.
lulu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

baggy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
not very form fitting as the fabric kinda hangs. great details and very sophisticated. most likely ideal if you have a difficult body to dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Cute dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress. I had rented two dresses for this occasion and ended up wearing the other one. The gold on the side is a lot more than i expected -- I thought it was more like a gold lace applique, but it is metal beads, etc. The gold is really pretty though.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Great Dress and Experience

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was great! The whole experience was great for my first time. My only complaint is the USPS return envelope did not fit in any blue boxes near me so had to find a post office.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2012

Beautiful gold details

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well and was comfortable. Beautiful lace with gold beading on the side waist, which gives a great slimming effect and enhances curves.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress, but it was a little worn on the sides by the beading. It was a pretty loose fit. It was really comfortable & not at all itchy!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2012

I rented this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I couldn't believe how many compliments I got!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was gorgeous on and I got a ton of compliments! It fit well, not too short for the church and just enough room to make it comfortable. I wore my own bra under it and you couldn't even tell. With a pair of gold shoes and the RTR earrings I got it made for the perfect outfit for my occasion!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

never was able to get other people's opinions :(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, I never did get to wear this dress as I got sick and was unable to attend function. However, when I received it, I tried it on and it fit perfectly. The two things I was not super pleased with were I think the particular dress I received has been worn too many times, even though it is lace, it seemed frayed, the other thing was the under layer hung below the lace so the scalloping on the bottom was not like the picture.
Fitzlikeaglove
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

So beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my work awards banquet and received tons of compliments all night! The lace and gold detail is so on trend and the look was perfect for the event. It wasn't too short and showed just enough skin. I paired with gold accessories to complete my look. I would definitely rent this dress again and definitely rent from Elie Tahari again!
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 12, 2012

Great for a Holiday Event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding and it was perfect. It is a great mix of classy and sexy with the gold features and black lace. The dress runs a little small, I wore an 8 and I am usually a 4-6.
Jodi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Great dress, got lots of compliments. Up close could see the wear.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Could get caught on bigger hips
Cortney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Beautiful dress, but lace had pulls from past wears

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an elegant dress, but the lace was tattered at the bottom. And one of the hooks that connect the camisole straps in the shoulders was broken.
Atom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Didn't get this dress. I was notified the day before my ship date pick an alternative.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Will try to rent this one for my next corp event in Vegas in a few months.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×