Elie Tahari

Colorful Canvas Sheath

$52 to buy
$298 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stand out at the cocktail party by wearing this fab Elie Tahari brushstroke sheath. A colorful and flirty style to turn heads. Go with classic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolor brushstroke printed stretch cotton. Crew neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 1, 2013
work fete
Rented this for a work semi-fancy event. Got many compliments. It is not form fitting, especially at the waist so I went a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 12, 2013
Classy and Colorful... just what I was looking for!
Beautiful dress! This dress was perfect for my 4mo old's Christening ceremony! I had been searching for a colorful, classy dress that would POP in pictures, but still be suitable for church. My normal size 10 was not available, so I was amazed that the 12 fit. I paired it with my own gold circle earrings and blue suede heels. I felt like a million bucks! P.S. This dress is NOT WHITE! Definitely a cream/off-white dress...This may be due to all the dry cleaning that it's gone through, but that should be noted somewhere in the dress description. The colors are also a bit dull, but you can't tell in the pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 9, 2013
i didn't wear this.
it ran large in the hips (i am narrow) and overall i thought was 'meh.'
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2016
Gorgeous, but way too big.
Gorgeous, but way too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
beautiful!
This dress was fantastic! It runs true to size everywhere except up top. The material does not stretch and although I was able to zip it up, it was just a little too snug for my comfort (I'm muscular in my shoulders and chest). If I had gotten a size up, I'm sure it would have fit perfectly. Otherwise, it hugged all my curves PERFECTLY, I will definitely be renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 21, 2012
Gorgeous but snug on hips
I am a curvy size 12 and this dress didn't have enough give for me in the hips. The dress is positively GORGEOUS, and I loved it, but if you need any give in the hips, size up!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 9, 2012
Love it!
i normally wear 0. but this size-2 fits my like it is made for me. got great compliments from people. definitely a beautiful dress. I wish I could buy it off...but i guess they won't let me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
First time renter
I absolutely loved this dress! I normally wear either a size 8 or 10 depending on the cut of the dress. I wound up wearing a size 10 which fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Classy!
It was a little tight in the bust but still fit. I would go up a size next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, didn't fit
Lovely dress, would certainly receive many compliments but I didn't find the fabric all that forgiving. Also, I'm quite short waisted and this didn't seem to cinch me in the right place. Perhaps because I'm larger busted? Overall, lovely dress but it didn't fit my body style well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I wore this for my husband's client appreciation dinner and felt like a million bucks!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2012
Perfect for a wedding
The dress was beautiful. It was tight around my hips and thighs, but I have big hips and thighs. I wish I would have gotten a size 10 due to this. The tags on the back of the dress kept coming up out of the dress as well, which was annoying. Other than that, the dress was beautiful and worked out great for the occasion.
RTR CustomerNovember 20, 2012
where did it reach you in length?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 14, 2012
the dress is great quality and a perfect fit, if i were just a little skinnier. i couldn't breathe
i'm probably about 5 lbs heavier right now, and i could get it zipped but i felt too uncomfortable in it to wear it around Las Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Colorful
Wore to a family Christmas party. The waist band snaps in the back over the dress zipper and if you eat too much, you might have to keep re-fastening it if you inhale too deeply. ;) Fits great; the fabric is like a stiffer luxury cotton blend, which I really liked. Love w orange heels but we were traveling and I was trying to limit my shoe packing to only a few pairs. I think I need to stop rolling my shoulders down in pictures bc it makes me look top heavy, which I am very much not.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 28, 2013
Nice dress for professional evening event. The colors were a bit faded than in picture.
Waist is small so make sure to go up a size if you are in between.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2013
NICE DRESS BUT EVERYBODY LOVED MY SHOES INSTEAD!
TOP FITS NICE,BUT IN THE AREA OF THE BELLY DOESN'T LOOK THAT GOOD SINCE I HAVE SOME HIPS AND BEING WHITE COLOR LOOKS WIDER THAN EXPECTED, ALSO WHEN I RECEIVED THE DRESS IMMEDIATELY I NOTICED IN THE AREA WHERE THE BELT SNAPS IT HAD SOME TREADS THAT WHERE LOOSE AND I FOUND OUT WHY, WHEN I TRIED ON IN THAT PARTICULAR AREA IS VERY TIGHT TO ZIP THE DRESS , FINALLY AFTER I GOT IT, THE BELT WAS CONSTANTLY UNSNAPPING SO I HAD TO USE SOME SMALL SAFETY PINS TO AVOID THAT BELT CAME UNLOOSE, I GUESS I WAS NOT SO HAPPY WITH THAT SITUATION AND PROBABLY I REFLECTED, SO EVERYBODY NOTICED MY SHOES INSTEAD OF THE DRESS , IN GENERAL GOOD and PRETTY DRESS BUT I WOULD NOT RENT IT AGAIN.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
wearing a comfortable but attractive dress.
it appears the dress may have gotten smaller with a wash, the lining was showing at the hem and pulling at the neckline. I recommend getting two sizes just in case you don't get a brand new dress. Added a belt - doesn't come with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 23, 2013
Loved, but had to send back
I rented this dress for my daugher's Communion. Although I loved it - quality construction, beautiful colors- I had to send it back and unfortunetly weren't able to get an alternate size when I placed the order. The issue was with the sewn on belted empire waistband (snaps in back) which made it difficult to breathe although the rest of the dress fit fine. I could have made it work, but decided to forgo it because I didn't want to be uncomfortable for the day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
July 24, 2013
Negative turned POSITIVE
Unfortunately, the dress that I chose for my daughter's bridal shower arrived in perfect time but the sizing was smaller than I expected. I contacted RTR and was offered an OVERNIGHT dress of my choice to replace this one. Unfortunately, I was traveling the day before the event so I could not accept the offer. I returned the dress the day after I received it and accepted a credit for my next rental The staff of RTR went above and beyond to remedy my situation. I will continue to use RTR for my special occasion dressing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Way too small for me :( I loved the print in person- absolutely gorgeous! If you have a chest, it does not offer much stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Freaking gorgeous dress!! Like a work of art.
I put "runs small" only because it's definitely form-fitting. I didn't get to wear this dress to my occasion (it arrived late due to hurricane), but I have a feeling it would have been too uncomfortable for hours of wear. I don't want to suck everything in all night. BUT the dress is unique, gorgeous -- I loved it so much. Hoping to have the chance to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 10, 2012
Could not zip. #defeated
I usually wear an 8, but went larger on this dress because of my chest. I didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't zip it up past my chest. I think the fit would be have been perf in terms of snug-ness (is that a word?), but I couldn't (even with spanx) get the zipper over my 36D's. It was a great length and cut, but just didn't zip. And I'm not an enormous woman-- I am athletic (run marathons) and have a chest. I was really looking forward to this one, too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 25, 2014
Wore to a gala dinner
This dress fit well, and I received several compliments about the colorful pattern. There is not much give in the hips, so may not be a great choice for women with more of an hourglass shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2012
I rented it to attend a taping of ABC's The Chew,in New York City:) It was the perfect dress for the start of Spring!
Beautiful dress..even prettier on.It does run true to size,I ordered one size up,and it was too big for me.Next time I will order a size 6!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 1, 2012
Just the fact that I felt comfortable while feeling beautiful really made my night!
I received so many compliments at the wedding while wearing this beautiful piece of art. I normally wear a size 2, but since most designer dresses run a little small, I decided to order a size 4. It was a little roomy, but it gave me some extra cushion around the waist for the reception so that I didn't have to worry about a pooch showing through. The cut is perfect for any shape or size. The dress does run true to size.
KristenAugust 3, 2012
I am also planning on wearing this to a wedding. I'm worried that it will be too "white" though and don't want to compete with the bride. Did you feel comfortable in it? Thanks!
RTRAugust 7, 2012
Hi Kristen, this dress is definitely a printed style so you can easily wear it to a wedding. It's supper fun for a summer event.
KristenAugust 8, 2012
Thank you!
BurnetteDecember 14, 2012
You will not compete with the bride :) It's just a fun outfit that allows your personality to shine through.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2012
The beautiful evening overlooking the New York Skyline in the perfect dress!!
I rented this for my brother's rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect dress for the occasion!! Very comfortable and elegant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Sadly I didn't! I think its expected of me to wear something nice. People cared more about my workout routine. LOL But the dress was great!!!
RTR is so incredibly easy and as a first timer, a great experience! This dress was delivered in two sizes. I am 5'9, 130lbs and muscular. The size four was perfect for my broad back. However, the skirt of the dress could have been altered to fit me better since it was rather loose. But not noticably enough to not be worn. The size two was too short in the body and rode under my arms too much. Overall, I was happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2012
I LOVE RTR!!!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore this dress for my aunts 80th Birthday Party and received so many compliments that I felt like a star!! RTR is the best!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2012
Not Your Typical Fit
I wore this to my brother's graduation. It fits a little strange; not as tight fitting around the waist/hips as I thought from looking at the picture. But I felt good in it. It is tight in the bust, so if you are larger than an A you may want to get a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Elegant Conservative Dress
This dress is elegant and simply classic. If you need a conservative dress for a function, this is it. The waist sits high and does not give so be sure to accurately pick out your size. The skirt had a comfortable amount of room and reaches your knees (I'm 5'7") and the top is of average size--as in, if you are really busty, consider going one size up.
RTR CustomerNovember 7, 2012
Love this on you! Great bag.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Fabulous dress
Rented this for a Rehearsal Dinner. It is prettier on than in the photo or even in the hangar. Great fit -- I have a straight shape. I don't thinnk it would work well on someone with curves/hips. Very striking and unusual -- received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
September 10, 2012
Formal Wedding - church part
Rented it for the church ceremony of the wedding and I was very pleased with the fit. I am 5'10" and it cut me off at the knee similarly to the picture. I wish it came an inch or so longer but oh well. Also I have a very small waist as compared to my hips and I had some room. There is no way to adjust the belt as it is sown on. It wasn't obvious to anybody though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Beautiful
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the colors. In the picture it looks very vibrant, but in person it's not quite as bright. It is still very gorgeous though. It fit like a glove and I got a lot of compliments. I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 11, 2012
An understated statement
Beautiful colors and a nice fit and classic shape, with an appropriate length for a family engagement dinner with my boyfriend's parents. The one thing I will say is the bust ran tight on me as the fabric doesn't have any give. I am an hourglass and typically wear a 6 in Tahari dresses, but I had to wear the 8 to comfortably clasp the attached "belt" (it's hook and eye in the back) and so I didn't completely flatten my chest.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
September 23, 2012
Felt like a million bucks!
As soon as I first touched the fabric, I appreciated that this is a fine piece of clothing. The satin lining also felt very luxurious. The brushstroke design worked well for September, as summer transitions to fall. I wore this to a business networking cocktail party and received several sincere compliments. It felt a big snug in the bust when I first tried it on, but with a thinner bra, it was perfect. The dress was cut in such a way as to discreetly hide the bit of tummy bump that still has stayed with me since my last child was born, hooray!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
November 25, 2012
I was best dressed at the party!
A little snug but overall fit very nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Stands out in a sea of LBDs!
This was a really lovely dress. It was classy and conservative for a professional Christmas party, and definitely stood out in all the black and grey most people were wearing. The fabric feels very high quality, and the fit was pretty standard. The top may have been a bit tighter than other size 6s, but it fit perfectly on me with a thin bra (no padding). The lining of the dress was hanging down a bit, but tape was an easy fix. As usual, I got lots of compliments and questions about where I found the dress. Very fun!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Kept getting complements
It fit like a dream & the cut was very flattering. The only con I had is the belt detail has snaps on the back, and my Husband kept accidentally unsnapping them while we were dancing- not that big of a deal, but something to be aware of :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2013
Conservative yet modern, perfect for a daytime event!
I'm nursing, and at the time of this review was 5'6", 128 pounds, and wore a 30F. I loved this dress--it was perfect for the daytime bridal shower I hosted for a dear friend. I loved the modern print, and the conservative, extremely flattering cut of the dress. I received so many compliments! I wish I had ordered a 2 and a 4 rather than a 4 and a 6; I am not sure a 2 would have fit my chest, but the dress was too large on bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 27, 2013
Feels like you are wearing a watercolor painting!
This dress was incredibly comfortable, classy, and unique. The detail on the neck and waist make the dress very flattering. I got lots of compliments and did not want to return the dress! The stylists helped me pick the perfect size and backup size for my body shape since the size measurements did not match me perfectly. I ordered a 10 and 12 and ended up with the 12 because it fit better in the bust. It was great flying to a destination wedding without having to worry about transporting a nice dress. I have rented several times and this dress remains one of my favorite rentals.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×