Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Sparkle and Shine Dress

$32 rental
$510 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The ultimate birthday girl dress! Rent this sequin sensation by Diane von Furstenberg for your big celebration.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon with sequins. Strapless neckline. Pleated bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 28'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

80 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 50
Large 2
Photos 14
Issa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 23, 2011

Loved dancing in this dress! DvF makes amazing clothes.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I rented it for my birthday and wore it with a tiara and it was just perfect. I was originally looking for a colorful dress, but the sequins were festive enough that I didn't mind the black at all. I felt sophisticated and pretty and had a great time.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 26, 2011

Being able to meet my best friend in the whole world's wardrobe requirements for her wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was really pretty and I'm sure for more slender girls would work great. It looked fine on me, but was incredibly tight on my lower half (which to be honest, is my larger half) - I think the word I would use to describe it would be "bootylicious". But, all in all it is a beautiful dress. I also ordered the 10 just in case the 8 didn't work and the 10 didn't look as good as the 8 and really didn't give any additional space in the lower half. I am a 34 B and the top fit OK, but I would recommend fashion tape to avoid having the top fold over.
Michelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

I think just about everyone asked about the dress and thought it was beautiful. I felt like a million bucks without having to spend it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the first time I'd tried RTR. I rented this dress for a banquet event and was a little leery about size and whether it would get there to my house on time. I was more than impressed! The dress arrived on the exact day it was supposed to and was in great condition. I'd actually ordered it in two sizes afraid that it might run small or fit wrong, but it fit true to the size I usually wear and was even more beautiful in-person. It was actually comfortable, too! I would definitely recommend this dress and renting from RTR in the future.
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Fast shipping, and thanks for the garment bag & fabric tape.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a 00P/XXS, so the dress was loose and a bit too long. I'm not voluptuous either so it just looked straight (LOL). The belt area was weird. It looked okay, but the construction was actually flimsy and so-so at best. It did do its purpose though--not a bad LBD for the price.
KR
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

The dress fit perfectly.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The experience was easy and will continue to use for all formal events, etc.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Fun, Classy, Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my school's homecoming dance.. it stayed comfortable all night, no itchiness or falling down. It was the perfect length, not slutty short but not awkwardly long. It wasn't tight but it is form-fitting in some areas, like one side of the butt. Pictures do not do this dress justice! I tried including some full length pictures so you could see the sparkle, but it just didn't capture on film. I also included a picture of me sitting down so you could see how badly it rides up.. it gets pretty short! It was comfortable to dance in and I even bowled in it afterwards with no riding up or feeling uncomfortable! Overall I loved the experience and revieved many compliments and I will definately be renting again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Perfect LBD with a little pizzaz

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly & looked great on! Rented it for 2 separate occasions (a NYE party & a fancy dinner out in LA). The dressed was perfect or both occasions! Use double sided tape to prevent the dress from shifting. I am the curviest on my hips, the dress fits small around that area so take that into consideration when choosing a size!
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2012

I loved the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It wouldn't be a bad idea to go 2 sizes up especially if you have a full bust. I wore a size 8 and it was almost too small.
Hae Sol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Dec 12, 2012

HOT!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks really cute and almost sweet on the model on the website but don't let it deceive you!! It is a HOT dress!! I don't think I eve looked so good. The dress is pretty short and hugs your body to make you look great!! It's a really great dress and I would rent it again for something else I want to look drop dead gorgeous in.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

I loved the material & sequins- it looked great

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable material, dress stayed in place!
Kennedy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Your customer service is exceptional! I was skeptical about this concept but now I love it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had no problems at all with this dress. It fits me perfectly! Someone said I was Mrs. Cosmopolitan. LOL! That was a great compliment.
Em
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 29, 2013

Awesome Dress! So many compliments all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
You can dress it up with awesome accessories, but you don'tt need to because the dress is enough!
Bea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 1, 2013

It was a great dress , just the right amount of sparkle. Looked a bit worn though.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I really liked this dress. Wore it for my birthday dinner. However, the material was very thin. And it did feel tight at the bottom. However, I would recommend this for a dinner. Not for dancing. The RTR customer service was great.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

I felt great wearing this in Vegas!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this last spring break in Vegas for a night out. I loved it, but it did fit a bit small, and the top kept slipping down. Fashion tape helped a bit, but not much. The only downside was that the dress I received was a bit worn. Overall, I'd recommend it and would probably rent again.
marni
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

The dress was pretty but didn't work well with my body!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The length of the dress was good for my height, but the material made me look heavy. We had to tape the layers of fabric down and we went up a size. I would recommend this dress for someone who has a sleeker body type. But i did get a lot of compliments on the dress because it was one of a kind! This was my second time renting form RRW and i will do it again, i love it!! I would post a picture but its not letting me right now.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

I loved the intricate, subtle detail!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a back up for a formal wedding and ended up going with my first pick, but could have easily worn this one. Thankfully I got a back-up size one size larger than I normally wear, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to give this dress four stars. But the larger size fit perfectly. I loved how it hugged my legs, but had draping that was forgiving in my mid-section. Because the details are so subtle, it can almost seem too plain - but I still loved it!
Elby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Expected incredible, but ended up disappointed...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had high hopes for this dress. As someone with a straight and narrow body type, I thought the middle would cinch in more and create an hourglass figure. This wasn't the case. It was still hot because of the mini length, but it wasn't a WOW dress on me. I imagine if you're a little curvier, you'll look great though!
Stunna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

22nd Birthday!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so pretty and comfortable! It made me feel super confident and special. I will definitely be renting this dress again
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

The gathering was pretty, but ended up making me look chunky around the middle.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was pretty, and I didn't hate it, but because I have a short torso, I felt like I looked too busty/hippy in it.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2013

Simple but flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sparkles in this dress don't show as much in person as in the photo, and it definitely runs on the tight side, but it felt and looked great nonetheless.
Karina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Was told I was the most stunning girl in the room

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress was great for the formal affair. I loved how it made my boobs looked, but the bottom was a bit worn out on my dress looking loose and not fit to my body like it did on the picture.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Pretty, simple dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a less conservative holiday work party. My company is huge and strapless/sparkly dresses are fine to wear without feeling inappropriate. However, this dress was underwhelming to me. Usually, if I do RTR I like to rent dresses that stand out and are out of my price range to buy normally e.g. Herve Leger. However this dress, was dare I say, a bit boring? Other than that, it was in great condition. Fit well, and overall looked nice. I suggest wearing if you don't to "stand out". Oh and be careful, this dress seems to be popular as another guest was wearing it as well. It looked good on her too!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 20, 2013

Dress arrived on time, like always

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a winter wedding with black tights. Wasn't my favorite RTR dress - it didn't give me much shape and sort of fell flat. Might have been better to add a metallic belt of some kind. Feel like it's better for more petite girls.
Autumn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Pretty LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit for petite women. Beautiful dress with just enough sparkle to make it stand out without being overdone. The dress did look very worn out though. It was obvious the people who had worn the dress in the past had been tugging downward on the skirt a little...the fabric on the bottom looked pulled and the bottom of the dress was distorted in shape.
strawberryjams
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

Classy and Fun

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a professional photo shoot. I ordered a sizes 2 and 0; the size 2 fit the best. It worked out very well for the photos. It was exactly what I was looking for; something fun yet dressy. Photo by the amazing Bradford Rogne. :) rognephoto.com
courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

I met this the night I met my fiancé!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The length is very short but made it fun and flirty!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Gorgeous dress but runs small

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Did not end up wearing the dress since it was a little too tight around the dress. Dress is really pretty maybe in a bigger size it would have worked out. Would recommend for someone who is not very hippy though.
Lorianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Awkward fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a really pretty dress, but the fit was completely awkward on me. The ruching didn't hang in flattering way, it sort of bunched and puffed, sagging in places. It looked nothing on me like it did on the model, but for what it's worth I've got a difficult body to properly fit - I wear a G/H cup bra and I'm petite at 5'3."
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Beautiful dress, not for my body type

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think this dress is so beautiful, however, I have no curves, and it made me look like a box. I have a larger chest, and it managed to make it look smaller. THe material was great, though, and I can see this looking really good on someone curvy.
Samantha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented the size 0 and 2 for a work Christmas party. It came a few days after the event, but even if it had come on time I still wouldn't have worn it. The overlay was loose and didn't lay right on the dress, the size 0 was way too small on my bust and a little large in the waist. The 2 was way too large on my waist.
Margaret
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely order a size up!! I'm normally a size 2 or 4, so I got the 4 and 6 but I wish I had gotten 6 and 8. 6 was snug, especially in the bust (I'm actually 32DDD or 34DD), so I wish I could've tried on the 8. That being said, I LOVE this dress and it was super flattering! More than your typical little black dress, the waistline defined shape without being super form fitting and the sequins were a nice detail. Would highly suggest this dress for a formal or semi formal occasion, just don't be afraid to size up!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

This dress was very cute and fit very well. I loved the sequin detail.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very petite but the 0 fit me perfectly and looked great on!
U'nek
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

If you have any kind of shape do not rent.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I order a size up from my usual and it was a no go. Im a bit hippy and this dress was not a good look. Its a very pretty dress though.
kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Never got to wear it...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a beautiful dress but it didn't fit because of a tight inner lining. Being busty and having a booty didn't help. There was no give at all with this dress unfortunately.
Holly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 5, 2014

Could not get the dress zipped. Not a good dress for larger chested person.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was very beautiful but I could not get it zipped.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
May 21, 2014

cute dress - great for a festive evening wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit great - a little big in the under arm area - but not noticeable
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Didn't end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress! Runs so small though- couldn't wear it unfortunately.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect for holiday party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my company's holiday party. It stayed up pretty well while dancing and I liked that I could hike it up to make it shorter. the sparkles really showed up well in person. I would rent this again!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 201 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

True to size, just not mine!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect, but I under estimated my bust size. It was too small for me to wear. :)
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

The earrings I rented to go with the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This is a really cute dress, but hard to fit if your hips are even slightly bigger than your bust. The top fit beautifully, but the bottom was too tight over my hips. I didn't end up wearing it to the event.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×