Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Sparkle and Shine Dress

$32 to buy
$510 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The ultimate birthday girl dress! Rent this sequin sensation by Diane von Furstenberg for your big celebration.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon with sequins. Strapless neckline. Pleated bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 28'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

80 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 50
Large 2
Photos 14
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
For me it was a little snug in the hips so I wore the larger of the two sizes I ordered even though the top was a little loose. I think the fabric with the sequins is alot more flowy and loose than what it looks like in the picture. I expected it to be more form fitting but still it was a nice dress.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
Apr 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the dress, fit was snug in lower half compared to chest but it worked fine. I normally wear size 4 dress and that is what I wore in this dress. Beautiful, fun party dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am a size 4 fit great! Very sexy! Perfect length for my height!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is stunning! I wore it to (a big) dinner and then dancing until after 5am and had no concerns about moving and shaking. The draping made me a bit nervous at first, esp the horizontal draping around the hips, but was incredibly flattering and extremely sexy. The length was great, it hit my legs at just the right spot. This dress is the perfect combination of sexy, sophisticated, and glamorous without being fussy or constricted.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Really pretty and flattering! I am 5'5", 120 lbs, 34B. The size 4 was a little too loose in the bust so I wore the size 2, but it kept riding up all night because it was tight over the hips. Was kind of uncomfortable b/c of that but it prob would have been better if I had worn the 4.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my prom. I wanted something cute but not to over the top. This dress was perfect but, the zipper poped mid-night! It wasnt too tight, I dont know how it happend! But overall this was a great dress! It came above my knee (just like the models) and made my small bust look really good!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The bottom is snug. I would suggest ordering a size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Jun 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is one of my favorites! It is very comfortable and easy to wear - hides the tummy. The sparkles add just enough fun to it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I ordered a size 4 and 6, and the 4 fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding and received many compliments. It's a great dress! I normally wear between size 8 and 10 and the 10 was a little snug, but still looks great. The draping hides your 'flaws' if you're an apple shape like me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED THIS DRESS!!! I rented it for the Horrible Bosses movie premier and it fit like a glove. I rented the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I received so many compliments on the dress. It is the prefect LBD. I will be renting this dress again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Aug 11, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The dress is really cute, but unfortunately did not work for my pear shape. The top fit great, but the bottom was too small. I had to send it back and wear an old stand-by to my event. It really is elegant for a cocktail dress and I recommend it for those of you non-pear shapes!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I normally wear a size 8 but needed a size 10 in this dress to accommodate my hips. The top was therefore a little loose but still wearable being that my chest is bigger than it used to be from breastfeeding :) I suggest a good padded strapless bra under this dress if you are a pear shape like me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Aug 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very cute dress... runs true to size. The 4 fit perfectly and the length was above the knee. Very forgiving if you have some belly to cover up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Order a size up if curvy in hips. I am usually a 6 or 8 and ended up wearing the 8 as the 6 was way too narrow in the hips. Dress was very pretty and comfy and on the shorter side. I felt confident and loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 27, 2011

Classy black dress w/ sparkle

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was pretty and paired well with a black blazer for a cover up. The bottom half is pretty fitted and doesn't allow for a whole lot of movement compared to an A line fit. I do think it looks prettier in real life, does not photograph as well. I am 110 lbs and 5 foot 4 inches and the 2 fit very well, the zero was too small.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the feel of this dress. I wore it to a black tie event and thought it would be too casual but the sequins, ruching and blingy accessories made this dress perfect for the occasion. I thought the dress was gorgeous. It fit well and sparkled in all the right areas.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very elegant dress and very easy to wear!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
typically wear a size 6 and the 6 was a big snug, so i would order backup a size up (5'2" 130#). the sequins material over the front covers and front bulges you may not want seen, so flattering in that sense. and though i am short, the dress was on the shorter side for me. overall great dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I fell in love with this dress on the site, and though it was lovely in person, it just didn't work on my (very) full bust, despite the size and fit recommendations. The chiffon draping hung oddly at my chest and changed the entire shape of the dress. Luckily, my backup dress fit me perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is so adorable and chic! It came down to about the mid-thigh and was a bit short but if you have shorter legs and wear sky high heels it will make your legs look great! I'm sad that I couldn't wear this dress, but I am definitely going to try to rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Very cute dress... but doesn't not fit well on my hour glass figure. I'm inbetween a 4 and 6 right now, and the only difference between sizes was the bust area. The 4 fit fine for the bust (34B) but the 6 was big. The waist and skirt part of the dress were very tight while the "flowing" part of the dress, where the sequins are, was big and very unflattering! Couldn't wear neither dress. Glad it was my backup and my first pick dress looked great!
RTR Customer
Age: 19
Nov 9, 2011

Think twice.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When i first ordered this dress i was really excited, it looked great online. But when i recieved it in the mail the following week i wasnt that excited. The over lay looked cheap and streched out. But with fashion tape every thing was fine. All my friends thought i looked great and i had a great night! Consider it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 11, 2011

chiquito vestido

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
este vestido se mira bien detallado en la foto pero cuando lo sacas de la bolsa para mi se me hizo sencillo, no lo use porque ordene un vestido talla 4 y no me quedo parecia talla 2 :(
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 11, 2011

great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to homecoming and it was amazing ! it was comfortable, and other than being a little snug on my hips it fit great.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress but it runs very small. I normally wear a six but I have a very curvy hourglass figure. I ordered and 8 and 10 because I read that this runs small, I ended up wearing the 10! I wore it to a black-tie function and did not want to wear a long dress there. It was perfect! I dressed it up with sparkly heels and sheer black stockings and I got a lot of compliments. It is however, fairly short.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Dec 5, 2011

Snug in all the right places!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was overall very pleased with this dress. It fit like a glove, which is to say I did a bit of hip manuvering but in the end I was pleased with how it fit. I did also rent a size larger, however the larger size made the top appear too big and was not as flattering as the smaller size. The pleating and sequins gives the dress a unique look but also made it initially appear almost wrinkled. I think it was supposed to look like that and when it was on seemed to fall into place.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Cute and Fun Dress for Parties

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this on NYE and it was perfect - sexy and fun without showing too much skin. I wore it with black tights as it was a colder night and it is fairly short (I'm 5'9"). It defines the waist nicely and the draping was flattering. I'm glad RTR included tape because the top would flop over a bit to reveal the clear rubber-like material that helped keep it up. Overall, very cute and would recommend this dress to a friend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 17, 2012

Lovely!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in a size 0 (I'm 5'3" 100 lbs) and it fit perfectly! It's really fun and was perfect for my party on new years eve. If I were to have one complaint, though, it would be that the front piece of the dress that wraps around the hips was a little looser than the rest of the dress, presumably from wear. However, it was still really flattering and I would recommend it to petite girls!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. I am a pretty curvy girl with a small waist so I found that I had plenty of room in the waist area but it was really tight around my butt so size up with your second size if you're curvy would be my best suggestion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2012

Eh

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is mediocre. I'm 5'6 with an athletic build and slightly on the skinnier side. The dress isn't the form-fitting dress that I was looking for. The sizes I also received were the appropriate but were a bit stretched.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
May 30, 2012

Not Very Flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I liked the idea of the dress but it wasn't very flattering. Im somewhere between and hour glass and pear shape and the dress gave me no waist, I looked a bit like a box. Actually now looking at it again the model looks a little boxy too. Also the dress material seemed to have shrunk from multiple drycleaning so the hem was unevern. Im pretty consistantly a four and the dress was tight. The 6 felt better but was even more unflattering because of being to big.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Great party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a flattering dress. No stretch and true to size to order a back-up in a larger size just in case! The dress was a hit and it had just enough sparkle to make it stand out.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 21, 2012

LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size and flattering!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

so much fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to an NYC charity gala, and it was perfect! Just enough sparkle to stand out from the other LBDs, and the length was very flattering for my short stature.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

No way hips!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress but it just didn't fit my body correctly. Snug around the hips and loose around my 36D chest.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

So many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful - the picture does not do it justice. It runs true to size but has absolutely no stretch so be careful. If you're bigger on the bottom and smaller on the top, like me, your true size should work it's just a little snug in the derriere but not immobilizing. I wore this to a friends wedding last October w/ black tights. It was so chic and fun, I got a ton of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Thanks RTR for your fabulous customer service!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, the hotel I had this beautiful dress shipped to ended up misplacing it. While the dress wasn't found until after my event was over, RTR's fabulous customer service gave me credit for it even though they weren't at fault.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

I did not wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't end up wearing this dress for New Years Eve last year. It was lovely, but just didn't look good on my body. There was no give or stretch in the fabric at all, and for a pear-shaped woman like me, it just didn't work.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×