Sparkle and Shine Dress

$32 to buy
$510 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The ultimate birthday girl dress! Rent this sequin sensation by Diane von Furstenberg for your big celebration.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - if sizing up due to narrow skirt, use fashion tape to secure bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - dress runs slightly small at waist so size up in back-up size; waist band and pleated bodice are flattering on midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - may be worn with dark hosiery for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black chiffon with sequins. Strapless neckline. Pleated bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 28'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size51
Small28
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
So many compliments!
This dress is beautiful - the picture does not do it justice. It runs true to size but has absolutely no stretch so be careful. If you're bigger on the bottom and smaller on the top, like me, your true size should work it's just a little snug in the derriere but not immobilizing. I wore this to a friends wedding last October w/ black tights. It was so chic and fun, I got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
No way hips!
Loved the dress but it just didn't fit my body correctly. Snug around the hips and loose around my 36D chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 28, 2012
so much fun!
I wore this to an NYC charity gala, and it was perfect! Just enough sparkle to stand out from the other LBDs, and the length was very flattering for my short stature.
LauraOctober 9, 2012
Katie, did you order another size in this dress and chose to go with the size 2? I'm trying to figure out if I should order down or up on my extra dress and we seem to be about the same size. Thanks in advance!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 21, 2012
LBD
True to size and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Great party dress
It was a flattering dress. No stretch and true to size to order a back-up in a larger size just in case! The dress was a hit and it had just enough sparkle to make it stand out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 30, 2012
Not Very Flattering
I liked the idea of the dress but it wasn't very flattering. Im somewhere between and hour glass and pear shape and the dress gave me no waist, I looked a bit like a box. Actually now looking at it again the model looks a little boxy too. Also the dress material seemed to have shrunk from multiple drycleaning so the hem was unevern. Im pretty consistantly a four and the dress was tight. The 6 felt better but was even more unflattering because of being to big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2012
Eh
The dress is mediocre. I'm 5'6 with an athletic build and slightly on the skinnier side. The dress isn't the form-fitting dress that I was looking for. The sizes I also received were the appropriate but were a bit stretched.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 2, 2012
Beautiful dress
I absolutely loved this dress. I am a pretty curvy girl with a small waist so I found that I had plenty of room in the waist area but it was really tight around my butt so size up with your second size if you're curvy would be my best suggestion.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 17, 2012
Lovely!
I rented this dress in a size 0 (I'm 5'3" 100 lbs) and it fit perfectly! It's really fun and was perfect for my party on new years eve. If I were to have one complaint, though, it would be that the front piece of the dress that wraps around the hips was a little looser than the rest of the dress, presumably from wear. However, it was still really flattering and I would recommend it to petite girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2012
Cute and Fun Dress for Parties
I wore this on NYE and it was perfect - sexy and fun without showing too much skin. I wore it with black tights as it was a colder night and it is fairly short (I'm 5'9"). It defines the waist nicely and the draping was flattering. I'm glad RTR included tape because the top would flop over a bit to reveal the clear rubber-like material that helped keep it up. Overall, very cute and would recommend this dress to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
January 3, 2012
Fast shipping, and thanks for the garment bag & fabric tape.
I'm usually a 00P/XXS, so the dress was loose and a bit too long. I'm not voluptuous either so it just looked straight (LOL). The belt area was weird. It looked okay, but the construction was actually flimsy and so-so at best. It did do its purpose though--not a bad LBD for the price.
View photos (0)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 5, 2011
Snug in all the right places!
I was overall very pleased with this dress. It fit like a glove, which is to say I did a bit of hip manuvering but in the end I was pleased with how it fit. I did also rent a size larger, however the larger size made the top appear too big and was not as flattering as the smaller size. The pleating and sequins gives the dress a unique look but also made it initially appear almost wrinkled. I think it was supposed to look like that and when it was on seemed to fall into place.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 1, 2011
I think just about everyone asked about the dress and thought it was beautiful. I felt like a million bucks without having to spend it!
This was the first time I'd tried RTR. I rented this dress for a banquet event and was a little leery about size and whether it would get there to my house on time. I was more than impressed! The dress arrived on the exact day it was supposed to and was in great condition. I'd actually ordered it in two sizes afraid that it might run small or fit wrong, but it fit true to the size I usually wear and was even more beautiful in-person. It was actually comfortable, too! I would definitely recommend this dress and renting from RTR in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2011
Beautiful Dress
I loved this dress but it runs very small. I normally wear a six but I have a very curvy hourglass figure. I ordered and 8 and 10 because I read that this runs small, I ended up wearing the 10! I wore it to a black-tie function and did not want to wear a long dress there. It was perfect! I dressed it up with sparkly heels and sheer black stockings and I got a lot of compliments. It is however, fairly short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 11, 2011
great dress
I wore this dress to homecoming and it was amazing ! it was comfortable, and other than being a little snug on my hips it fit great.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 11, 2011
chiquito vestido
este vestido se mira bien detallado en la foto pero cuando lo sacas de la bolsa para mi se me hizo sencillo, no lo use porque ordene un vestido talla 4 y no me quedo parecia talla 2 :(
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
November 9, 2011
Think twice.
When i first ordered this dress i was really excited, it looked great online. But when i recieved it in the mail the following week i wasnt that excited. The over lay looked cheap and streched out. But with fashion tape every thing was fine. All my friends thought i looked great and i had a great night! Consider it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Very cute dress... but doesn't not fit well on my hour glass figure. I'm inbetween a 4 and 6 right now, and the only difference between sizes was the bust area. The 4 fit fine for the bust (34B) but the 6 was big. The waist and skirt part of the dress were very tight while the "flowing" part of the dress, where the sequins are, was big and very unflattering! Couldn't wear neither dress. Glad it was my backup and my first pick dress looked great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
This dress is so adorable and chic! It came down to about the mid-thigh and was a bit short but if you have shorter legs and wear sky high heels it will make your legs look great! I'm sad that I couldn't wear this dress, but I am definitely going to try to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 12, 2011
I fell in love with this dress on the site, and though it was lovely in person, it just didn't work on my (very) full bust, despite the size and fit recommendations. The chiffon draping hung oddly at my chest and changed the entire shape of the dress. Luckily, my backup dress fit me perfectly.
LorianneNovember 28, 2011
I meant to give the dress three stars. OOPS! - Lola
LorianneNovember 28, 2011
I'm also 5'2" Wtf!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
October 3, 2011
typically wear a size 6 and the 6 was a big snug, so i would order backup a size up (5'2" 130#). the sequins material over the front covers and front bulges you may not want seen, so flattering in that sense. and though i am short, the dress was on the shorter side for me. overall great dress
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2011
Very elegant dress and very easy to wear!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2011
I loved the feel of this dress. I wore it to a black tie event and thought it would be too casual but the sequins, ruching and blingy accessories made this dress perfect for the occasion. I thought the dress was gorgeous. It fit well and sparkled in all the right areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2011
Classy black dress w/ sparkle
This dress was pretty and paired well with a black blazer for a cover up. The bottom half is pretty fitted and doesn't allow for a whole lot of movement compared to an A line fit. I do think it looks prettier in real life, does not photograph as well. I am 110 lbs and 5 foot 4 inches and the 2 fit very well, the zero was too small.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2011
Being able to meet my best friend in the whole world's wardrobe requirements for her wedding.
The dress was really pretty and I'm sure for more slender girls would work great. It looked fine on me, but was incredibly tight on my lower half (which to be honest, is my larger half) - I think the word I would use to describe it would be "bootylicious". But, all in all it is a beautiful dress. I also ordered the 10 just in case the 8 didn't work and the 10 didn't look as good as the 8 and really didn't give any additional space in the lower half. I am a 34 B and the top fit OK, but I would recommend fashion tape to avoid having the top fold over.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2011
Order a size up if curvy in hips. I am usually a 6 or 8 and ended up wearing the 8 as the 6 was way too narrow in the hips. Dress was very pretty and comfy and on the shorter side. I felt confident and loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
August 26, 2011
Very cute dress... runs true to size. The 4 fit perfectly and the length was above the knee. Very forgiving if you have some belly to cover up.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2011
I normally wear a size 8 but needed a size 10 in this dress to accommodate my hips. The top was therefore a little loose but still wearable being that my chest is bigger than it used to be from breastfeeding :) I suggest a good padded strapless bra under this dress if you are a pear shape like me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2011
Loved dancing in this dress! DvF makes amazing clothes.
I loved this dress. I rented it for my birthday and wore it with a tiara and it was just perfect. I was originally looking for a colorful dress, but the sequins were festive enough that I didn't mind the black at all. I felt sophisticated and pretty and had a great time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
August 11, 2011
The dress is really cute, but unfortunately did not work for my pear shape. The top fit great, but the bottom was too small. I had to send it back and wear an old stand-by to my event. It really is elegant for a cocktail dress and I recommend it for those of you non-pear shapes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2011
LOVED THIS DRESS!!! I rented it for the Horrible Bosses movie premier and it fit like a glove. I rented the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I received so many compliments on the dress. It is the prefect LBD. I will be renting this dress again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
July 5, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and received many compliments. It's a great dress! I normally wear between size 8 and 10 and the 10 was a little snug, but still looks great. The draping hides your 'flaws' if you're an apple shape like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I ordered a size 4 and 6, and the 4 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
June 21, 2011
This dress is one of my favorites! It is very comfortable and easy to wear - hides the tummy. The sparkles add just enough fun to it!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
The bottom is snug. I would suggest ordering a size up.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011
I wore this dress to my prom. I wanted something cute but not to over the top. This dress was perfect but, the zipper poped mid-night! It wasnt too tight, I dont know how it happend! But overall this was a great dress! It came above my knee (just like the models) and made my small bust look really good!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2011
Really pretty and flattering! I am 5'5", 120 lbs, 34B. The size 4 was a little too loose in the bust so I wore the size 2, but it kept riding up all night because it was tight over the hips. Was kind of uncomfortable b/c of that but it prob would have been better if I had worn the 4.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011
This dress is stunning! I wore it to (a big) dinner and then dancing until after 5am and had no concerns about moving and shaking. The draping made me a bit nervous at first, esp the horizontal draping around the hips, but was incredibly flattering and extremely sexy. The length was great, it hit my legs at just the right spot. This dress is the perfect combination of sexy, sophisticated, and glamorous without being fussy or constricted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2011
I am a size 4 fit great! Very sexy! Perfect length for my height!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2011
I loved the dress, fit was snug in lower half compared to chest but it worked fine. I normally wear size 4 dress and that is what I wore in this dress. Beautiful, fun party dress!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×