Diane von Furstenberg

Pebble Illusion Dress

$100 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

So runway chic! This Diane von Furstenberg pebble print sheath is beyond words. Earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops are the final piece to this fashion puzzle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Lace (51% Viscose, 49% Polyamide lining, 97% Polyester, 3% Spandex). Long Sleeves. Mock neck. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 42” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 67
Large 7
Photos 41
Annie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Gorgeous dress. Fabric lived up to the hype created by the RTR model pictures.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits true to size, except for the shoulders. By no means do I have "swimmers shoulders", however, I tend to ebb on the side of "slightly muscular", and without a doubt, this dress was far to small in the shoulders. I couldn't wear it, in fact. If you have small shoulders, go get this dress. It's hot in every way. But, unfortunately, anyone with slightly developed shoulders will find this to be a miss...
Teri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Wonderfully unusual dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unusual lace pattern makes it like no other dress. This was a gala where women were wearing long and short gowns. It was nice to wear a dress that wasn't revealing yet was form fitting and sexy. It was very comfortable. Knee length so it needs a high shoe. I added a silver belt and wore silver/platinum glitter shoes. The only issue is that to me it looked worn because the lace was slightly pulled in a couple of places and the butt seemed to be a little stretched out, but not awful and I was probably the only one to notice it.
ElizabethD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Its a very nice special occasion dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
make sure to order two sizes, as sleeves are rather narrow. upper shell is lace, therefore its rather an evening dress.
Pat
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Many compliments, slimming!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got both a 10 and 12 because I tend to be in between, but with my Spanx slip was able to wear the 10. It looked great on. It looked to me like a print in the photo, but it is actually kind of a mesh layer of lace with an under layer. Very light weight and comfortable to wear. Only complaint is that the sleeves were too long...like 2 inches! Its not a sleeve that easily pushes up, so I just turned the excess under. If it were my own dress, I would have had the sleeves shortened. If I'd had to wear the size 12, those sleeves were even longer, that would have been a hassle. Overall, this was a great dress that everyone I know saw, so I wouldn't be wearing it again. I'm glad I didn't pay the $595 for it to sit in my closet. RTR made it really easy. It came right away and was very easy to return. I will use RTR again!~
katharine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Very elegant dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this and a Nicole Miller to wear to a NYC wedding and loved this dress. I got a 10 and 12, and the 10 was perfect, very true to size. I got the 12 in case because of the previous comments about the sleeves being tight. I have larger more muscled arms and that is sometimes an issue for me with dresses. The sleeves on the 10 were snug but in an ok "just right" kind of way. The 12 actually fit fine too and was just a little roomy, but I could have worn it. The 10 was more form fitting in a very nice way. Great for an elegant formal affair!
Mara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very nice dress, especially if you are looking for something that shows your body, but is classy and conservative at the same time. It was great for a semiformal occasion. Keep in mind that sleeves are very narrow, so it's not a dress for dancing.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Love RTR, dresses always arrive in a timely manor, and exactly as I expect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a work cocktail event. It was a beautiful dress, super sophisticated and a fabulous fit. It ran a bit large - I think due to being a bit stretched out from multiple wears - but still in good shape, and it photographed fabulously! As a publisher of a local luxury lifestyle magazine, I love that RTR gives me the chance to diversify my wardrobe, try new fabulous styles, and has wonderful customer service to boot!
Shani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Don't let the high neck and low hem fool you - this dress is deceptively sexy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 6 and the 8, and the 6 fit like a glove. There was extra room in the waist, but I fixed that with a small jeweled belt. I didn't find the sleeves to be tight. The dress hit right below my knee, so a beautiful high heel made the dress flattering and sexy without revealing much skin. My husband absolutely loved it! I felt totally appropriate for his company holiday party, where dress is always a mixed bag (suits to cocktail dress). Can't go wrong with DVF - many compliments. Thanks RTR!
Jacquie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Unfortunately, I could not wear the dress although it is very elegant and well made

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The con was that the lace netting arms were very very tight at the upper arm for someone who has very thin upper arms. I was very afraid that I was going to rip the dress if I opened and closed my arms. While maybe a larger size might have bigger arms the rest of the dress fit perfectly so it was disappointing. If your arms are not petite, thin, you may have trouble getting the lace on.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Nice dress but don't forget the double-sided tape

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress is beautiful and more comfortable than I thought it would be especially since I have very sensitive skin and I was afraid the lace sleeves will make me itch or sweat. The one thing that ruined the whole look was that the nude slip underneath was actually longer than the lace by a bit so it kept peeking on the front and the back the whole night! Additionally, the dress kept riding up which made it even worse. It is sewn to the lace on the sides so I couldn't just push it up underneath and I forgot the doublesided tape at home so I was really frustrated. Instead of looking well put together I ended up having to pull and push and tuck and adjust and fidget every few minutes.
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

VERY SEXY

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think this is my absolute favorite dress from RTR. I received tons of compliments on it. I will point out that the sleeves on this dress is super fitted and if your arms are on the bigger side it will be hard to get into.
Kristen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Beautiful dress, but size is hit-or-miss.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hate to give this dress a mediocre rating, because it was just as lovely on the hanger as in the pictures. However, DVF runs large and I should have kept this in mind. It was not form-fitting on the "small of my back" and it is supposed to be a fitting dress. If you are quite petite, I would keep this in mind-- it was tight on the butt, bust, and on the arms but simply too large on the waist. There is no stretch material so it either fits, or it doesn't. Unfortunately, I experienced the latter :(
Shelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2013

Fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is true to size and fits like a glove. The arms / sleeves felt a bit tight when I first put on the dress but within 15/20 minutes they were fine. The dress fell below the knee for me - I wore a size 6. Love this dress.
Ekaterina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Very nice dress, unusual and made with attention to details

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a NY Party. It was perfect: the fabric, the cut, the pattern, the fit. It's a very classic dress that everybody from the party still remembers.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 23, 2013

Great fit. But blah on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was edgy and fun and a bit tight on the arms. Be warned: the slip is longer than the dress. I returned the dress. Didn't do much for me.
Arps
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Overall - amazing dress!, very classy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my birthday and was SO glad with my choice!! Received a lot of compliments throughout the night! The dress definitely stood out. It is a bit large around the waist area..and the arms are slightly small, but overall was a decent fit.
Chris
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

...tons of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
...lovely dress - fit well but as others have stated the arms are VERY tight fitting - my arms are not huge but toned & I had some difficulty getting the sleeves on. Other than that the dress was great & fit like a glove...
DesignerMom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

disappointed :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sadly, I did not get to have my moment in this dress. It is a beautiful, unique look and a lovely dress overall, but the lace arms are not cut for an athletic build. I usually wear a 4, and the size 4 fit everywhere except for the upper arms. I also ordered a size up 6, and could not get into the arms of it either. Would have loved to wear this one but unfortunately, it won't work for me.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so elegent and so sexy at the same time. Like the other reviews said the arms are tight so if your arms are on the larger side i would say pick another dress, but the dress fit amazingly. I got so many compliments on how great my body looked in the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
Deborah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

The dress was spectacular.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally wear a size 8 or 10. The size 10 fit me but I chose to wear the size 12 so that I would have extra room. The size 10 was very form fitting and I normally like a little room in my clothes. This dress is awesome. I received many compliments. It really looked great. Thank you.
Holly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

Wore this to an elegant restaurant for dinner.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit is perfect. A great relatively conservative, yet very flattering dress.
NDS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
May 11, 2013

Beautiful dress, made me feel like a diva, husband LOVED it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was perfect (size 4), the arms are a little snug getting into the dress and my arms are lean and long. But once you're in it, the dress looks great. Only item to watch out for is the hem for the under-bodice is a little long. Otherwise, you're covered up from neck to knee but in a very sexy-sophisticated-glam way. Perfect for my birthday dinner celebration at the #1 restaurant in the SF.
The_Empresz_Herself
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

everyone loved this dress on me!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress and people were looking like this is nice .. different and nice.... looks great on the bod!!!! fits true to size I think. I could have gone smaller to a 4. but the size 6 was ok!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
many compliments
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Sophisticated and elegant.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a large Ivy League event where most of the other women were in your basic LBD with pearls.....it was a great way to stand out from the crowd. Got lots of compliments. It is very form fitting and really hugs every curve. It hit me just above the knees, which was a great length for the event .
melissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Great dress and fit.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a gala and got a lot of compliments. Great fit in all the right places without looking too skimpy.
Audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

The dress is great quality and arrived in perfect condition.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, the shape of the dress just did not sit well on my body. The 4 was extremely fitted but there is not much give so any movement made me feel like I might bust out. The 6 fit more comfortably where the 4 was too tight - hips/bust - but was much too loose around my waist/lower back. The length was PERFECT for my height so it was disappointing that when I walked around a bit the dress rode up slightly (may have been because of the poor fit on me). Overall, the dress is great and I would recommend it for someone more inclined to be comfortable in a fitted dress with limited range of motion.
alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

First RTR experience was perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was well made. I thought it was more grey but it was a black lace over an ivory slip. The sleeves are tight unless you have pencil arms. The dress length and arm length was perfect and the cut was very flattering. I received the dress early, it was in perfect condition, and I will be using RTR for my next event!
amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Beautiful Dress - Great Fabric!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a gorgeous dress and I absolutely loved the fabric and illusion. It was a back up dress and unfortunately my first choice trumped this one.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

LOVED. Fit like a glove.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a TON of compliments on this dress. I loved everything about it for my Holiday party.
Melina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Unfortunately i did not have a chance to wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 was perfect on my body but i couldn't get the sleeves on and the size 4 was perfect on the sleeves but loose on my body.
Louisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

I looked fabulous...no one else had this dress....and three women stopped to say how stunning it was

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it is a form fitting dress...so no lumps or bumps...wear your spanx...the sleeves are tight, but I have thin toned arms so it was not an issue. if you have "plumper" arms...maybe not for you. the dress is comfortable and easy to move it...you don't feel like a stuffed sausage...I ordered the 6 and 8....I am 5' 8" and weigh 130 lbs. the 6 was perfect...the 8 was huge.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 22, 2014

I loved the dress, runs a little small and doesn't stretch, also a little too long for me.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Runs small, a little too long other than that very sexy dress
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

The look on my husband's face when he saw me in the dress was unforgettable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove. I was expecting a print fabric but the design is actually from the lace overlay. Still a lovely dress.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Sexy dress that hugs the curves

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Overall, amazing dress! I run between a size 10-12. Would have liked to have worn the 10, but it was in a little rough shape (some snags and underslip hem undone), but this way I was super comfy all evening. This dress shows off all the curves in all the best ways. Underslip could drop below hemline, but totally fixed with fashion tape affixing to "spanx slip". Would rent again!
Min
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

The dress is beautiful.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Arms were tight. Slip underneath kept showing but honestly i felt like a million bucks. Would rent again.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

LOVE this dress! Super simple, very flattering, super sexy with out being 'hootchie'.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a style that works best on tall, athletic shapes. The fabric is thin and the fit snug so unless you want to be sucking in your stomach all night - do your crunches before renting! The arms are also on the snug side so if you are VERY muscular or bigger in the arm this dress won't work. The fabric is a sort of pebble-lace design which adds interest but not overly patterned.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 28, 2014

Liked the dress but did not wear it. Fit not great on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a medium. But this dress I needed a large. It was tight in the shoulders and the zipper buckled in the back and would not lay down. I am hourglass and maybe if I did not have the curves it would have layed down properly.
Niederlander
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

Not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
In general a good conservative dress. Nothing to complain about, really, just not very exciting. Also did not like the way that the neck gaped in contrast to the tight rest of the dress. The sleeves were uncomfortably tight and I don't have very big arms. I would say just ok but comfort/look ratio was off. If I'm going to be uncomfortable I want to at least look great!
Butterkup1022
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2014

The pattern

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×