Rent the Runway

Diane von Furstenberg

Magnetic Attraction Dress

$40 rental
$698 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shimmer and shine in this beaded bombshell dress by Diane Von Furstenberg. Add a clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this head turning mini.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with silver beading (90% cotton, 10% polyamide) Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

358 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 259
Large 26
Photos 215
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

DVF

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lining does show at times when sitting and the embellishment can snag very easily on things- but very very worth it.
Carla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Great holiday dress. Sparkles without being too shiny.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore for Christmas dinner on Eiffel Tower. Formal but fun. Comfortable, lightweight, perfect length, and with some stretch. Would rent again.
mls
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

Nice but ...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very pretty in person but not a knockout. It's short but the length wasn't a problem unless I was walking. Then it would inch up. Might have been better if I wasn't wearing stockings but it was too cold to go without. There was also something weird happening on the spot where the lining and the overlay came together at the bottom so the lining would roll out and show when I sat. Maybe if I sized up it would have been better but this was my back up dress so I only ordered the 2. It was a good back up.
Mimi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Everyone loved the dress including myself...I actually want to buy and keep... :-)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
N/a
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Customer Service is unbeatable!!! (See story)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I reserved a Nicole Miller dress (with a back-up size) plus a Tracey Reese dress for my Christmas Party. The day before my dresses were due to ship out I get a call from RTR notifying me the Nicole Miller in the 8 was damaged and unavailable. The solution? Send RTR a list in order of preference any dresses as a replacement, in any price range, and they'd send me what they had available. I ended up with this GORGEOUS Diane von Furstenberg. Guess what? The larger Nicole Miller didn't fit (which means the smaller wouldn't have either!) So blessing in disguise! As for the dress itself. BEAUTIFUL! I wore two dresses that night and both were beautiful but this was my favorite! I was complimented more times than I could even fathom! So comfortable, the fit was impeccable! I'm never buying a dress for an event again! RTR will always be my go to!
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

Great fit, super comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. It had just the right amount of sparkle and was easy to wear. I felt like I was wearing a cozy sweater dress. No complaints and unfortunately no great photos.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Such a beautiful dress and EASY process!! Compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a company Christmas party. The dress actually came 1 day before I requested it, which was two days before the event. I normally wear size 6. I ordered a 4 and a 6, hoping to work out and fit into the 4. Needless to say, I didn't work out and did end up going with the 4 and it fit perfectly. The six was big in the neck and didn't lay right. I got compliments all night long and told several about RTR. 2 days later, I am still getting comments on the pictures I uploaded to social media sites. I would love this dress for New Years Eve, but I have two ordered already and have already been photographed in this one!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Loved the dress!!!! Especially love the service of RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great! I ordered the size up just in case because I didn't want it to be too short but the 6 fit great. Really fit in all the right places! I really loved the way it looked! Comfortable and was a hit! BF loved it!
mer2188
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Great holiday dress, classy and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was easy to slip on, runs true to size. I went up to 8 to leave room for chest/back to fit. Boat neck so my bra straps peaked through a little bit if my hair was to the side, but not that bad.
nora
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

nice dress for my bday party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
true to size , perfect for winter holiday party , just enough sparkle, very classy
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Perfect holiday party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly and was festive for my husband's company holiday party! I received lots of compliments on the dress. I would definitely recommend this dress and will rent it again!
Liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 26, 2013

Great for a Rockstar Party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had a Rockstar party for my clients. The dress was fun for bouncing around from group to group. Such a wonderful night!
Noelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Beautiful, Classy, and Comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The Dress is beautiful. The body is black lace with a nude underlining and silver metallic beads sown on in "patches". The dress came down to just past my finger tips, but definitely hiked up a bit when i sat down. The dress is a statement on its own and doesn't need very many accessories. It looked nice pairing it with some booties. I highly recommend this dress for slimmer ladies. I would recommend getting an up size if you're unsure about which size to get.
LBC78
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Perfect winter party dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a fancy winter party. It was perfect! I wore it with black tights and black suede boots, which I thought looked great. The fit was true to size and the material is gorgeous with a nice stretch to it that is forgiving to curves. It was short for me, but wearing it with black tights helped mask that. My only complaint was that the lining seems to have been stretched out and peeked out from the bottom. I pinned it up all along the hem line and it worked perfectly.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect if you want a sexy, fun dress that isn't too form fitting. I just had a baby two months ago, and it did a fantastic job of hiding the extra weight I still have around my stomach. It was very comfortable and great for dancing! I decided to wear the 6 because I felt like the 4 was too short.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Looooooved this

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So I rented this for NYE and it was different but so fun. It fit me perfectly and I totally loved it. I would absolutely rent it again!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

BEST COMPLIMENTS ALL NIGHT

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my company holiday party and it was a huge hit! I felt fantastic in it and it looked amazing. I rented the size 6 and 4 and ended up wearing the 4. I'm in between sizes right now and it just hung a little better than the 6. It did have a small hole near the right armpit where one of the sparkles has been torn but it wasn't very noticeable. It didn't feel too short for a work function. I will absolutely rent this dress again. I loved it! I also rented the Kendra Scott Twisted Ivy Earrings, which matched perfectly with the dress. I kept my purse and shoes very simple.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Something different among a see of long ball gowns.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was excited about this LBD. I look best in short dresses, and finding the perfect short dress for a formal affair is difficult. It fit well, and was very comfortable - I wore a regular bra. The beading detail was so unique! I was disappointed, however, that the dress was a little worn. Many of the beading details were broken along the hemline and on the sleeves (even my hubby noticed). There were stray strings poking out everywhere, too. If this dress was in mint condition, I'd give it 4 stars. But it was not unfortunately.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Beautiful dress for a Girls night out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would give this dress 4 stars except that the lining underneath kept peeking out under the hemline so I constantly kept having to adjust the overlayer. It is such a unique dress, I would rent it again. I love the long sleeves. I styled it with black tights and black high heeled booties for a Broadway show and and after theatre dinner at STK in NYC. Then a girls night out followed with dancing. Definitely a dress that turns heads.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Eye catching

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a fun dress. Would recommend for a party or get together with friends. For some it might be a little short but I think the length made it more attractive.
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

So many compliments, so little time!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company Holiday Party this year. I was flooded with compliments and felt very comfortable. It did run a little smaller than I expected, but that's why you get a backup size, right? :)
Annah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Super comfortable and flattering dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable, warm and with a nice stretch to it. It's super flattering. I would highly recommend this dress!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
the 0 fit, but the sleeves were way too tight for comfort. size 2 was great! paired it with sheer black leggings- great for a wintery night out!
Rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

I rented this dress for our sorority's date event! It got the job done, because it was Gatsby themed

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall, I was very happy with the fit. I could have also worn the 12, but there wasn't a huge difference. My only complaint is that it would occasionally bunch up around my "pooch" and I felt like I'd need to pull it down a few times, but that could also be because I'm just curvy and the 12 may not have done that. Either way! It was a hit! :]
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

I wore this for my birthday celebration, just enough sparkle without being over the top. Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress runs true to size, hit me about mid thigh. The neckline is wide so regular bra straps are visible. Comfortable fit, I received many compliments!
alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

I felt sexy...confident...and comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was stretchy and comfortable! It was just overall perfect
Paige
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Gorgeous dress - perfect for my winter fundraiser. I got tons of compliments all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits well. It runs a little short, so I would not recommend it for a very formal event. It was fine with tights for mine.
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Sexy and chic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for the party we went to! I wanted something long sleeve that had a bit of pop, and this dress was perfect. I didn't have any problems with needing to adjust/pull down the bottom, and the fit was so comfortable. The 4 and 6 fit very similar, but I ended up going with the 4 since the 6 wasn't in great condition -- lots of little threads sticking out where the metallic detail is sewn in.
DeeDee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Pretty & Versatile

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Photos don't do justice to how much this dress sparkles in person!! Loved wearing this to my cousin's rehearsal dinner.
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Classic with a bit of different

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress. Classic with a bit a different. I wore it to a bachelorette party and received a ton of compliments. Only thing is it was a bit short, especially for my height. Because it was night in March I just paired it with really bright tights. Not sure if I would have been comfortable wearing it without the tights. The rest of the fit was great; not too tight or baggy, sleeves fit perfectly.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Theatre Award Ceremony

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
So overall I thought the dress was nice but it didn't blow me away like I wanted it to. And unfortunately it had a few issues. It's a popular dress so I imagine that it gets rented a lot and it showed. There were a few holes, some of the sequins were loose, and the lining of the dress was too long and it kept creeping down past the hem. I thought it looked nice on me but it was a little big and I probably should have rented the zero too instead of the four. I got a lot of compliments but it just wasn't perfect. This was my first RTR experience and while I will continue to use the service I was a little disappointed.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

Great cocktail dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a gala. It was perfect for the event because I was looking for something with a little flare, but nothing over the top. The 8 was a little short so I went with the 10. A few of the beads fell off while I was wearing it (when I bumped up against something) - they seem to not be secured very well, but this didn't really take away from the over all experience. I did get a lot of compliments. It's a great dress to wear in cold weather and I loved the neckline.
Monica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Elegant bling!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress! LOVED IT! I received so many compliments throughout the evening! Fits snug but flattering. The long sleeves were great for the weather. I would rent again!
RTR Customer
Mar 16, 2014

Finally all the hard work paid off! All pros no cons!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
After returning a strapless number that wouldn't zip up i searched and searched the photo reviews for a pic of a person that was my build/ height. I was lucky and this was perfect! I could have worn the 8 but due to my big booty i would have not been able to dance and spin the way i usually do, it felt like it was my go to dress, when i really got it hours before my dinner! Cant wait to rent again :D
Jenelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Different and Fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked the bead work and the long sleeves. The neckline was boat-neck so I needed to wear a strapless bra. The length was short, not inappropriate. I do wish it were a bit longer as it would have been more flattering.
tatyana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Comfortable and lovely dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, as other mentioned lining rises a little bit, not much, and only when you sit down, Overall it is a beautiful and comfortable dress. My size 4 and I wore 4.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Fun party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my law school prom and got so many compliments! I usually wear a size 4, but opted for the 6 because I thought I don't like when things are really tight. I was really happy I wore the dress, but the hem and lining do roll up a little, which is why I did not give the dress 5 stars.
Katharine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress - perfect balance of sexy and classic with a tad bit of trendy detailing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit is decently snug. I usually wear a two, but have broader shoulders and longer legs and arms. So, in an effort to not have everything hanging out, and split the back of the material, I went up a size. So many compliments on this dress! I loved it so much, I was tempted to splurge, and keep it!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Perfect holiday dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Conservative, yet sexy. Love the shimmery detail on dress. Wore it to my office Christmas party and received many compliments. The long sleeves make it perfect for a winter event.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Loved the fit! Perfect for the evening dinner/bday party we went to! Received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a larger bust , but had NO problem with the fit. Was perfect! Agree with other renters that the attached lining does slide into view, and continually tugged at it all night. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×