Dark Roses Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Want the perfect prom dress? Rent this adorable Diane von Furstenberg dress. .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - dress is very fitted in bust and bodice so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice however pleated detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with fashion tape to secure at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Black pleated chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with rosette detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 26'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
November 25, 2016
Doesn't stay up
Had a really hard time keeping this strapless dress up. Aside from that it was beautiful and fun.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 2, 2011
I felt gorgeous and who doesn't in a perfect little black dress?!
This dress was beautiful, cute, and classy for the prom I was attending. I thought the size ran a little big as the top was loose and tended to fall a lot so I would suggest getting a size smaller than what you think you may need IN ADDITION to the size you believe you are. I would also suggest dressing this outfit up with some accessories as the dress is simple! Great dress I would suggest for even a formal event despite the length as well as a more casual occasion.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
February 20, 2012
RTR had great customer service that answered any question I had!
I rented this dress for a formal date party and loved it!! It was super flattering! My only complaint - the size 2 was stretched out in the bust. My best advice for small busted girls like me would be to use a stick-on bra (because the dress rides low and you would be able see the strap across the back) and then pin/tape the dress to the bra.
KarleyAugust 28, 2012
Love the shoes! So Cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 4, 2012
Loved!
This was the first time I ordered from RTR and I was really excited to get the dresses. I got the shipment on time so that was great. I ordered a 0 and a 2 but got 2 0's. I usually wear a 4 for DVF so I will say it runs a little large. Luckily, I was able to fit the 0 and since I am not heavy on top, the fit was actually quite great! It's a beautiful, fun dress! Got lots of compliments all night. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
September 24, 2012
I loved this dress!
This is a great party dress. The volume of the skirt was fantastic and I loved the texture of the fabric. I found the length to be perfect. It ran a little big, however and I needed to use fashion tape to make sure the top didn't slip on me. The 0 probably would have fit better, but wasn't available. I added my own belt to tighten the fit around my waist a little and I was happy with the fit for a night. Overall, the dress was fun enough to make these modifications worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this dress for my best friend's rehearsal dinner
The dress ran a little bit big, but still looked great. I got compliments on my look all night long! The best part about this dress is the short but full skirt - SO much fun to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
Cute dress, but runs very large
I wanted to wear this dress for my bachelorette party, but ended up wearing my backup dress. I usually wear a 6, but the 6 on me was definitely falling down. It's a shame, because it's a really cute dress. Definitely go down a size or two when renting
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip, it was perfect!
PROS: I wore this to a wedding after flying in the morning of from an international trip. I wanted something that was comfortable and cute. This dress was both! The top line is super cute and the length was wedding appropriate!!! CONS: Fit too big. I am usually between a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have fit much better and I think I would have loved the dress rather then thinking it was just ok. By the end of the night it stretched out a little and kept falling down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2014
Cute dress
I rented this for a wedding but when I got it--it was way too short to wear to a wedding (regardless of the season). If you have a butt--it will make it even shorter! This would be a really cute dress for a different type of party (birthday party, bachelorette party...) just not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 7, 2014
Was a great dress
Loved this dress but the top was a little big and needed double stick tape so it didn't pucker out. Dress was shorter than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Great dress, lots of compliments!
I wore it for a wedding that I was in this past weekend. It's a darling dress. Runs a little big...normally DVF runs small, so I ordered a 6, with an 8 as a backup and it was pretty lose up top. The bust area wouldn't stay up without Hollywood tape, but all in all a fun dress to wear to a wedding. The organza material was a little worn out and wouldn't stay down along the waistline. You can see it in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2012
Best Dressed Girl at Formal
This dress was a huge hit at my boyfriend's fraternity formal. I am usually a 6, but I had to go with the 8 because the bust was so tiny. It still was a little tight, but the compliments were worth it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2012
Bust was wayy to small
I ordered a 4 and 6 for this dress, and the 6 fit better. All night I was pulling up my dress because the bust kept falling down. I do not have a very big bust so I was surprise it didn't fit.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2012
I loved how fun and flirty this dress was...it was so much more than a little black dress!
Diane Von Furstenberg's dresses tend to run on the smaller side, especially if you have a larger bust like myself. I had to size up for this dress. I normally wear an 8/10 in dresses and the size 10 would not zip up the bust. Other than that, the dress was great and I got a lot of compliments on it! I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
December 12, 2012
Wore this to a formal
Fit a little small on the top, but it was amazing and so flattering I LOVED it, I would buy it if I could afford it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Rent This Dress With Caution
The dress itself was lovely, but it simply did not fit. I have a 34D chest so I was cautious with reading others' reviews before deciding to go with this particular strapless. I normally wear a 4 but rented a 6 and 8, assuming I would need a little more fabric up top. After a new strapless bra and countless pieces of fashion tap, the 6 still exposed waaaayyy too much boob! As in, if it was literally 1/8th of an inch lower, it would have been a disaster. The 8 was WAY too big on my back/ribs so I had to stick with the 6. Also, tugging the top up all night shifted the hem line up too high and thus added a solid 10lbs on to my waistline. If you have a large chest, I'd definitely recommend a different style- not worth feeling self conscious on a special occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2013
Great Dress!
This was a perfect dress! It fit perfectly and was flirty and fun! I didn't end up wearing this dress since I rented two for one event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2013
I was so glad I decided to go dressy to a hotel's 25th anniversary party!
This dress fit perfectly except for in the top. Runs very small in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
Not Wedding Appropriate
I did not end up wearing this dress. The fit is very small. I fit in to a 10 from all other styles fine and this I could not zip all the way. It is also VERY SHORT. Would be great for a party, but not enough coverage on top or bottom for a wedding! It is a pretty dress though and would work for other events.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2013
I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress! Like a princess.
The dress itself is beautiful - the shape, the texture, everything. It was incredibly flattering. It made my waist look tiny. The main problem (which was my fault, not the dress's) is that I'm fairly full-chested and the dress was very low cut. I taped it and it stayed up for photos, for the most part, but as soon as it tried to dance it fell down and my boobs were falling out all night. Other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I felt incredible all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2013
Perfect "Little Black Dress"!
I rented this for my sister's Bachelorette Party in New York with the theme "Little Black Dress". It was great! The bust is definitely low cut but a gorgeous neck line. The body fit fine on the smaller sizes I originally tried, but only was too small in the bust. Even if it fits you well up top, I recommend fashion tape. Super cute and flattering over all... I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 31, 2013
Super cute, wish I could have worn it!
While this dress is super cute and looked great on a lot of the girls who rented it on the RTR site, unfortunately when I got it, it was just too short. I am 5'7" with long legs and a long torso and sad to say it was just not long enough to cover my butt and my chest at the same time, if I wanted to be able to sit down at all. Unfortunate because it is a really adorable dress, makes me wish I was a few inches shorter because I think this dress would look great on any body type just not any height...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Cute dress, fun skirt, bust fit weird.
Runs small in the waist and large in the bust--not the cups but the top seam of the dress was too loose, like maybe it had been stretched out. Also the side zipper puckered right below the waist, which was unflattering. But if it had fit better, it was a cute dress with a fun, swishy skirt. It wasn't nearly as short on me as on others, I'm 5'3" and it hit at the top of my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 6, 2014
This dress started my love affair with DVF
This was my first RTR dress and what a stunner! This dress has such a flattering fit! Only negative thing I can say is that I have a medium sized chest and I was busting out of the top a little. I would not recommend this dress to very busty ladies. However, if you want to look busty this one is for you! The material feels very luxurious and the detail (which unfortunately you can't see in the photo) is beautiful. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2012
I danced in this dress all night!
I loved wearing this dress. It was really comfortable and flattering. The top sits really low and you NEED Hollywood tape. One inch higher and that's the reason I gave it 4 stars. The sexy top is evened out by the flirty bottom of the skirt. The texture doesn't photograph well at all, but in person it is amazing. Size up because it is a bit tight like the other reviews mention.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress to dance in!
I usually vary between a 0 and 2 in DVF but for this dress I was absolutely a 2. So thankful that they give the option of sending a 2nd sizes or I would have been in big trouble. If you have a bigger chest and are debating between 2 sizes - go up to the next size. Dress was a lot of fun and received a lot of compliments. I usually wear fitted dresses but this was a nice change.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
small in bust
This dress was very cute but ran extremely small in the bust. We used double faced tape to hold it up but the cut and style of the bust line is just extremely small
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
September 13, 2012
Love this dress but unfortunately was way too small and didn't end up wearing it.
The bust area was too small.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was sooo cute! However, both sizes were too small.
I typically wear sizes 8 or 10 and I am a 34B cup however, I couldn't even finish zipping up the size 10. It's such a cute dress! I really wish it would have fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
if you want something fun, this is perfect.
I originally ordered a size 6 & 8 and both ended up being too tight. Luckily, RTR has great customer service and I was sent a size 10 the next day. The 10 was still hard to zip up, but doable. I wouldn't recommend this dress if you have a larger bust. I'm a 34 B and I felt like I was about to fall out of the top most of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 26, 2013
Too short
Too short for me to wear to the wedding. Top was stretched out
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2013
Hard to go wrong with a black dress
The style of the dress was nice and I enjoyed wearing it however there was a tear in the body of the dress and it clearly had been worn one too many times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Pretty dress but ended up not wearing it...
I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up receiving a 2 and 6. The 2 was too small and the 6 was too big. I ended up not wearing the dress since I didn't get the right sizes. I wrote to RTR and they immediately credited my account! Great customer service and will continue to use RTR!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 5, 2017
Great dress
Comfortable, Easy to wear
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
March 30, 2011
This dress ran a tad small thru the rib cage. The rest of the dress was true to size. This dress has to make anyone look fabulous. Received compliments all night and it was the perfect dress for an evening of dancing.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
October 19, 2011
LOVED LOVED this dress. Although I did not wear this to my event it is a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2011
I was too big :0(
I am a 36DD and My girls did not stay in... But it was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2012
fun and flirty
I rented this dress for NYE. It's fun, flirty and feminine. Received so many compliments. I have a small bust (34B) and I just fit into the top, the cups are small, but the a-line gives your body a nice shape. It's also a bit on the short side but I think that adds to the flirty quality of the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2012
flouncy skirt + major boobage
loved this dress - it was flouncy, fun to dance in and the overall fit was flattering. if you have big boobs (i'm a 34D), this gives you some major cleave! wowza, but that could be a good thing, right? great for you shotr ladies too - no hemming needed, i'm 5'1 and it was a good length for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2012
It gave me the opportunity to wear a gorgeous dress and bag for a fraction of the cost.
I felt super sexy in this dress, the layers don't read on camera but are delightful in person. My husband was beyond proud to have me on his arm. I have noticed I wear a size up in designer dresses, the curse of "vanity sizing." The size 2 was an exact fit, but the 4 allowed extra room for a strapless bra. I would not recommend this dress for anyone over a "B" cup. I wore a petty coat under the dress to amp up the volume, I would highly recommend the same for a cute party look.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×