Jenn's Jaguar Dress

$47 to buy
$535 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this insane hot little black dress by D&G by Dolce and Gabbana, with a bold bracelet for a great going out look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black silk satin. Square neckline. Black satin inset. Adjustable straps. Exposed back zipper. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(43)
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Party
December 28, 2014
My husband couldn't stop staring at me!
Clinched in all the right places and was very comfortable to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2013
Holy grail LBD. I want to keep it!
Best dress I've ever tried from RTR. Got the 38 with a 40 as my backup size. As a bit of background, I already have a similar dress from D&G in pink in size 38 and it's very, very tight. I put on the 38 in this dress and was shocked how comfortable and not tight the dress was. Sure, the waist bunches up when you walk, and the bra is a bit odd fitting since there's no strap to adjust. All that considered, it's still the BEST DRESS EVER! It creates and accentuates a sexy hourglass shape. Everyone will be staring at how hot you look all night. The fabric, length and color are just subtle enough to keep it event appropriate and not over the top sexy. I've seriously been looking forever for a dress that makes me look like a better version of me, but that's still appropriate enough to have dinner with parents and coworkers. It's the holy grail LBD.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 12, 2011
This dress was AWESOME! The bust is pretty small though- I had a size 6 (which is one size up from what I usually am) and am a C- I should have gone one more size up. It was ok, but I felt pretty self concious about the boobs. The good thing about this dress is that it hugs nicely and the material is such that I think it would still fit great in a larger size. So flattering- made me look like I had hips!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2011
Loved it! I have a very small chest and this gave me a little lift :)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2011
Amazign fit and wowed the crowd. The built-in bra is small which is why I noted the dress runs small. I was unable to fit a strapless bra underneath though it fit like a glove everywhere else. You will feel like a pin-up girl!
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2011
Fabulous!!
This dress is fabulous! I wore it to an evening wedding, and it was a hit! I received so many compliments! (And a few hater looks, lol) I was concerned about the dress being too long on me, but it hit right below the knee. The dress is classy and sophisticated, yet very sexy and revealing -- perfect combination! I loved it so much that I am trying to find it at retail to buy (no luck, yet). This was my first RTW experience, and I will definitely be back to rent again! Btw, being able to order a second size is a life saver!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 115
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2012
I felt amazing wearing a dress so luxuriously constructed! This satin, sleek number made me feel like my best.
My best friend saw this dress hanging next to the others I packed and said, "Hmmm, I wonder if this can fit ME...maybe I can wear it." Once she saw it on me she said, "Who makes that dress?!? I have to buy it!" I felt like the belle of the ball as we danced the night away on New Year's Eve. Many thanks to Rent The Runway! Fit Note: I have a small frame and large natural breasts. It can be very difficult to find dresses that fit. With the right strapless bra, the dress was fitting enough that it acted as a corset. Yet, it had enough stretch to fit my friend who is almost a foot taller than me and has a slightly wider frame.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 10, 2012
Almost Fantastic
This was my backup dress and I'm glad I got 2 sizes in the first dress. Although this dress is sleek and feels great, the built-in bra is impossible. I went a size up and my 36Ds were still spilling over the side. The bra part of the dress is not ideal, I wish they had left the cups out. If your breasts are small or medium, this will probably be a great dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 13, 2012
Knowing that no where else in Iowa, did anyone else have this dress!
I rented this for my cousin's wedding. I was a little intimidated when picking a size because I'm usually a 0 or 2 and and the sizes it recommended were 38 and 40. I actually had to go with the 40 because I couldn't even zip the other one up. It had some type of built in slip/ bralette so I had to wear a non padded strapless in order to fit my chest into the dress. It was tight around my hips as well. It was probably a little tighter than what should be worn to a wedding, but I felt so sexy in it. It is definatly a bit naughty so be prepared to turn heads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Hot dress looks great!
Wore it to a bachelorette and then for a sexy engagement-shoot outfit! It's great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Nice!
sexy, but small on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
...
This was a beautiful dress and it did fit my torso, but did not accommodate my natural 32FF/G bust.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
I Love It!
I usually wear a 6, but can fit a 4. This dress is a stretch satin, so the 4 hugged me (REALLY! LOL). I would do a size 6 next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy, sexy, sexy
Runs small (VERY tight), so size up. And get ready for a fun night :)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2012
Love this dress!!
Wore this for a special event. The size 26 was not available so had to go with the 28. It ended up fitting perfectly. I would recommend going one size up. The material is very thick, stretchy satin that is form fitting. Top of dress is super tight. Was a little longer than I usually like but the length made it formal yet still sexy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
Amazing dress
This dress is a sure bet. I loved everything about it and would rent it again. I do, however, wish RTR had it available in a size bigger (they did not at the time). I rented a size 4/40 (I typically wear a US size 4) and rented another dress as a back up because a size 6/42 was not available. The reviews are true and you do need to go one size up for a comfortable fit and to not feel as if your top is spilling out of the bust area. I hope RTR has this dress available for a long time to come, it's timeless and quite sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
A Dress Everyone Should Have in Their Closet!
I felt so amazing in their dress! I got tons of compliments all night long! I rented a size 38 and 40 - I ended up wearing the 40 and I have to say it was pretty snug. The next size up probably would have been perfect just because I'm a little bigger in the hips and backside. All in all I will 100% be renting this dress again. It's understated, classy, and sexy and will definetly make you feel great!
ClaireMarch 7, 2014
love those shoes- where did you get them? i rented this dress too and was looking for some just like that to wear with it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2013
Once I put this dress on, I felt like I transformed into a model! I was instantly hooked to RTR!!!
The fit was so snug but without feeling like it was too tight and uncomfortable. It defined all the right areas I'd definitely choose this dress again if I could. The one piece of advice I'd give to bustier women like myself would be, make sure (if you wear a bra) that is does not have much padding. The dress itself provides a bit of a "boost".
shaniethaOctober 13, 2013
u look great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I'm not big busted, but the top of the dress was tight on me. Other than that, it was absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable! I loved it.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Looked an felt amazing!
Loved this dress. It looked great but it was slightly small in the bust and lacking in support for bustier women. I chose to wear the larger size and wore a strapless bra for extra support and it worked out great. Wish I owned the dress. Looked amazing.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful!!! Extremely flattering, would absolutely rent again!
I ordered the 38 and the 40. Could have gone with a 42 as my chest had trouble fitting! Couldn't wear a bra with it but the underwire in the cups did the job!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109lbs
February 21, 2013
Sexy, classic LBD
I liked this dress but it wasn't up there amongst my favorites. I would usually wear a 0 but this dress came up really small, especially in the bust area, so I went with the complimentary size up instead. Still found this to be a squeeze on my top and it took quite a lot of adjusting to get everything in the right place. Due to how form fitting it is, it can be a little awkward i.e. requires adjusting at regular intervals to straighten it out to prevent bunching etc. Other than that, it was great. Looked great. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 20, 2013
I got tons of compliments on this dress, and it fit like a glove!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I originally ordered a 42 and a 44 thinking that I would go with the 42, but I ended up wearing the 44. It fits really, really tightly around...everything. Generally those are the types of dresses that I like to wear, but it became something of a problem when I couldn't zip the 42 around my bust. That being said, if you have a large bust I suggest swallowing your pride and going with a larger size. The waist will stick to your skin anyway, so all you're doing is sacrificing comfort by going with a too-small size. I felt great in the dress, but looking at pictures later I thought that it hugged my tummy fat a little too much and made my arms look a little flubby. I was assured, though, that I looked amazing in it, so maybe that's just a little insecurity seeping in on my part. I wore this dress to my school's winter formal, so naturally there was a lot of dancing going on. If you're thinking about renting this dress for something where you're going to be doing a lot of moving, I highly suggest wearing a strapless bra underneath. I didn't because it has a bra built in and, well...it wasn't quite as supportive as I expected it to be. The length was good, though, and it didn't ride up too much. It's just long enough to be classy (instead of slutty) and just tight enough to be sexy. As soon as I find myself with some spare change (like a lot of spare change) I'd really like to make this a permanent part of my wardrobe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
fabulous dress, will rent again
form fittind, very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2013
Didn't get to wear it. Both sizes were too small.
It runs way too small. NOT for girls with any hint of curves. For example, at bebe I'm an XS or a small. At BCBGMAXAZRIA I'm a xs or a small. At Banana Republic I can wear a 4P. Halston Heritage I have two dresses that I own that are both size 4. I have a Karen Millen that is a US size 6. I got both the US size 2 and the US size 4 in this dress -- neither fit. I don't know if its because I'm short or if its because while I'm petite I have a little bit of curves, but this was terrible. HOWEVER, on the bright side, the material was soft, zipper was excellent quality and the overall quality was the dress itself was superb. I sent BOTH sizes back to RTR for a refund, sadly. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 8, 2013
This dress looks and feels sexy!
Received lots of compliments and admiring looks throughout the night. I rented the size 40, with size 44 as a backup, for a wedding and as other reviews have stated, it definitely runs small. I ended up wearing the size 44 due to the chest being extremely tight in the 40. The body of the 40 fit perfectly, but the 44 was also wearable because of the thickness and stretch of the fabric (very thick satin). The little bit of extra room through the body of the size 44 made the fabric bunch up at the waist when walking or moving around, so there was a lot of adjusting. The bra part of the top was a little tricky at first because it didn't line up with my chest, but I wore an unlined underwire strapless bra underneath that held it in place. Great length, right to the knee as pictured. Overall the 44 worked, but it would be excellent if they had a size 42!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
December 19, 2013
This dress fits like a glove!
One word... Gorgeous!!!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
January 28, 2014
Overall I Loved it - a very-beautiful & simple dress! I received many compliments at the Gala!!!
I wore the size 2 which felt a little snug which usually isn't the case of me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
great dress.
i ordered the week of the event and the next size up was unavailable so i took a gamble and ordered only one size. the dress was a little tight but worked. i received a ton of compliments on the dress. the only downside was that the zipper on the dress would slide down throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
April 10, 2014
No for me
I've loved this dress and couldn't wait for the chance to rent it but it just didn't fit me right. I tend to have trouble with fitted dresses because I have a short torso and they always seem to bunch and not lay right on my lower back and butt. I end up pulling them down the whole night. So I should have known better than to try this one. As other reviews have mentioned its not for a busty girl either. This dress is hot on other ladies just not me!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 4, 2014
Best of Both Worlds: Sexy-Classy with a hint of mischief;)
The fit was a little tight but with spanks under it made my figure look flawless. It's perfect for you women with small breasts that want to extenuate your curves and flaunt your waist. Since the dress is knee length it's best suited for a formal affair followed by a night out. Cons: The zipper kept sliding down all night, as it has no hook or clasp. I had to safety pin it on top to ensure the zipper stayed in place and the dress didn't come undone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2014
Perfect sexy LBD for Black Tie event!
I LOVE this dress! I have rented it twice only because I cannot find it anywhere online for purchase. If RTR ever puts this one on sale I snapping it up! I wore this to the Tony Awards and received so many compliments. The material is thick high quality satin, which I think makes the dress as the cut itself is fairly basic. There is a built in bra, but I still had to wear a strapless bra for support. Definitely would recommend this dress. Just wanted to add, although I rented this dress twice I only got to wear it once since the second time I ordered it (just last month) the delivery service (Urban Express) LOST the dress. I was stranded without a dress on the Friday before my out of town dress. Fortunately, the online team at RTR helped me out with a free credit to rent from the Bendel's show room -- which was another experience in itself. If you can avoid it, NEVER go to the Bendel's showroom; the selection is tiny and there was a lot of attitude from the girls who work there because I didn't have an appointment time even though I was there because of a delivery failure. The dress was finally "found" on the following Monday; the courier dropped it off at the wrong address and left it at the door of a closed-for-the-weekend office. Other than that total delivery snafu I have had good experiences with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 20, 2014
beautiful dress, small in the bust on me
small in the bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2014
Great Dress with One Issue
I was attending a friend’s wedding last weekend and had the hardest time finding a dress. After exhausting all other options, I decided two days before leaving for the wedding to try Rent the Runway, off a co-workers suggestion. I rented this dress because it was on the longer side but still very sexy and tight. I had picked out a few other dresses I liked, but those weren't available in my size the day before I needed it. This dress was only available in size 38, and after reading some of the other reviews, I decided to risk it and just get the 38, praying it would zip up. I got the dress the day before I was leaving and the dress was beautiful!!! Very form fitting and so soft. The dress fit, but it was a little tight. I was probably next size up. My one complaint is the built in bra would not stay down! The whole night, I was constantly trying to make sure that part wasn't sticking out. I noticed the bra wasn't sewn in all the way, it was just sewn down at a few random spots. Super annoying! It also meant that I couldn't wear a bra to give my girls a little boost. I would probably try this dress again in a size 40 and see if that would make a difference with the built in bra.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 9, 2011
This dress was beautiful, but I'm a 36D and the built in bra was way too small. I rented the 42 and 44. Everything else about the dress was awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 106lbs
June 28, 2015
Classy with a hint of sass
Liked this dress & was very flattering for my pear shape, but didn't fit quite as well as I had hoped. The size I thought I needed was not available, took a chance on the slightly smaller size despite feedback that it ran a bit small. Dress was a little tight in the hips, but the biggest problem was the top somehow kept slipping down so the inner lining of the bodice was poking out the top of the neckline, spent much of the night trying (discretely) to pull up the the outer fabric. Dancing was quite an adventure, to say the least. Not sure if a different size would have fixed this issue, seemed to be more of a design flaw. Looked great as long as I didn't move around much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2012
sucked me in!
very very very tight dress....i loved it but wished i got a size up. It sucks you in like a body glove and the material is GREAT. If you are short like me i wouldn't rent this it was below my knees which made it kind of hard to dance. Also, wouldn't recommend anyone with boobs renting this there is no way they would fit into the built in bra. I dressed it up with a gemstone belt to give it a little something more. Wish i owned this dress!
gloriaSeptember 12, 2013
love love love the belt!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2013
Classy and sexy!
This was originally meant to be my back-up dress, but it was so beautiful I ended up wearing it to a formal party. It got lots of compliments! The dress is form-fitting but with some stretch so it's quite comfortable. The material is shiny and sleek, and the exposed gold zipper on the back is a nice touch. This is a great dress to show off your arms and shoulders. You really don't need any supportive wear, as the dress has a hidden bra with underwire, and the bottom half is snug but stretchy so you don't need Spanx.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress, small bust
Loved this dress. Used it for a photo shoot. It ran rather small in the bust so definitely size up if you are a C or more. I ended up wearing my back up size 8 instead of the 6 for this reason. Also with the right undergarments it looks stellar, but without it is rather unforgiving. So plan accordingly. I really enjoyed this dress though and it was a good first experience with RTR. I will definitely use the site again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 25, 2012
Va va voom
This dress was amazing to wear, I felt very very sexy and got a lot of compliments. I have a larger chest but am a size 32 around. The 40 looked fine on me but I did have a few wrinkles in the torso section of the dress because it wasn't as skin tight there. I would say if you are under 5'5" this dress might be a little too long for you, it hit my lower knees.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×