Jenn's Jaguar Dress

$47 to buy
$535 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this insane hot little black dress by D&G by Dolce and Gabbana, with a bold bracelet for a great going out look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up - built in underwire at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - flattering fabric cinches in waist - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips; bust has built-in underwire
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black silk satin. Square neckline. Black satin inset. Adjustable straps. Exposed back zipper. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
Curve-hugging stunner

This dress is simple and elegant with a clean silhouette and perfectly constructed shape. My boyfriend couldn't take his hands off the satin....

View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
Loved it! Made all the guys at the reunion turn their heads!

I definitely had the curves for this dress, when I put it on, it was like it was made for me. It hit a little longer than the picture, but I'm much shorter than the model (5'1), but it didn't matter. My husband loved this dress on me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 20, 2012
Beautiful Party Dress with one little downside!

The dress was gorgeous and perfect for my birthday party. The only downside was that the zipper did not have a hook on the top which meant that when sitting the zipper would slide down a bit. Minor annoyance on an otherwise gorgeous dress.

Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 30, 2012
I rented this for New Year's Eve. Amazing fit and incredibly well-made. Total show-stopper.

As soon as I slipped into this dress, I realized why designer dresses cost what they do. Everything about the fit was perfect. The bust has a wire bra built-in so your 'ladies' are well-supported and lifted. The fit is perfectly snug, but with enough 'give' to let you move comfortably. I will absolutely rent this one again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
New Years Eve in Dolce Gabbana :)

Gorgeous, classic, great length. I will definetly rent this one again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
November 16, 2012
Sexy & Fab!

Great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 18, 2012
Perfect for a Rat Pack themed charity event!

I wore this to a charity event and it was really pretty. I was concerned about renting because I'm petite (5'1", and about 97lbs) and usually have to have size 0's altered. I know D&G runs small so I took a chance and rented it. I got the 36 and the 38 and ended up wearing the 36, which fit great. It has an underwire bra built in, but that didn't hit me in the right place and wasn't enough support (it also flattened me out a little). Fortunately, my strapless bra fit still fit in the dress and it did the trick. The built in underwire actually seemed to help keep my strapless bra in place. I didn't have to keep tugging at it all night like I usually do. The dress was very comfortable. I didn't wear spanx with it, because of the theme of the event, I wore hose with a black back seam and that kept everything smooth and without panty lines. To go with the theme, I also wore leopard platform pumps, red lipstick and did my hair a la' Veronica Lake. Unfortunately, by the time we got around to taking pictures we had all had a few too many martinis, so I don't have any ;) Very fun to wear and super comfy! Perfect if you are petite and having a hard time finding smaller dresses!

Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
LOVE IT !

only thing i had a problem with was the zipper, it kept running down. amazing dress wish i could own it ! def renting it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Movie Star Dress!

This dress always makes me feel like a movie star! I have rented it before and had lost weight so this time around it was the 44. The dress does stretch, so order a size smaller because this dress should be form fitting! Very comfortable, too! Probably be renting this dress for NYE !!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 1, 2013
Great for all occasions! Classy and Comfortable!

Loved the material. One of the most comfortable dresses I've ever worn. The only con is that the zipper came down repeatedly during the evening, however that could've been fixed if I had a safety pin=) Interested in buying. Great for all occasions!

Ashly MichelleJanuary 1, 2013
You and I are about the same weight and cup size, so I wanted to ask how you felt about the bust area. Are the straps comfortable, and are they removable? Did you need to wear any shaping accessories?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
It was a beautiful dress that I felt great in!

The dress is very slimming and is really great for curves. The only thing I didn't like it about it was that there was a built in shelf bra that would stick out and you have to keep pulling up the top of the dress to cover it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
everyone was obsessed with this dress!

This dress fit super snug, just like it's supposed to. It made all my curves stand out even more in a good way! I wore it for NYE to a black tie affair and everyone was seriously obsessed with it. I loved it so much I would totally rent it again for another event. You really can't go wrong with this dress.

Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2013
Perfect

Unfortunately I have no picture because I had a stomach virus hit me hard just as I was getting ready for a NYE party. So before I mailed it back, my boyfriend insisted that he still get to see me in it. Words can't describe his reaction other than OMG and WOW! I will be seeing this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Classic and flattering

I wore this dress to a NYE masquerade ball and it couldn't have been more perfect! The silhouette is flattering and sexy, and the classic color and shape let me wear really over the top accessories. The top bralette, as described by others on here, is pretty weird. I was afraid that the bust would be too small, but its actually a bit minimizing which I liked. The fabric lays nicely and the construction is beautiful but it doesn't leave much to the imagination.

Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2013
Perfect dress for the TREME Gala.

In a last ditch effort I decided to rent a dress when I hadn't found the time to shop for one. It was the best decision I'd made. The size 40 fit like a glove. The material kinda pulled you in where I needed it to (was +10lbs over my normal weight, (Production Life))

View photos (1)
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
January 28, 2013
Super easy and fast loved the packaging!!! Was skeptical but now a true customer for life!

Def. true to size I have a large bust and did not need a bra LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS DRESS!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Fit amazing. I wish I could own this.

Wore it to a black tie event. There is a strip of fabric at the bust line which I couldn't see in the other pictures. It's a little weird and wouldn't lay flat but I'm not sure anyone else noticed it.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2013
Wedding

Very pretty. True to size. Only issue was the top has a built in bra that crept up. Otherwise awesome dress.

Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
February 26, 2013
Fabulous sexy dress!

What a great night it was wearing this amazing dress. I received a lot of compliments and felt on top of the world. One warning - if you're very full busted the zipper might decide to slip a bit when you're on the dance floor. I would suggest putting a safety pin inside to keep it up, just in case. Other than that, sheer perfection!

RTR CustomerFebruary 26, 2013
I wanted to say you look great! I was wondering...did you wear a strapless bra under the dress?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2013
great dress!!!

fits small around bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
36
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 12, 2013
STUNNING DRESS!

Fit like a glove! Definatly a VERY figure flattering dress. Got soo many compliments, will ABSOLUTLY rent this dress agaiN! Felt like a million bucks! :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 25, 2013
Felt great!

When I opened the garment bag I said "uh oh" to myself because it looked really small but it ended up fitting like a glove. I can imagine it being pretty small in the chest area for those larger in that area so i'd suggest they go one size up. Great time. Great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2013
I got lots of compliments wearing this beautiful dress.

flattering fit, beautiful neckline and nice fabric

Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2013
Sex Goddess much?

Oh.My.God. First of all, I want to buy this dress. I really, really, really want to own this. The way my boyfriend's eyes lit up and slid over me when I came out wearing this....Let's just say this baby did the trick. I love how wide-set the straps are, I love the slinky, yet substantial material... I love all of it. Oh my God. I felt like Bettie Page. I wore this for our two year anniversary and his 30th birthday weekend to dinner and the casinos. More than once, I felt how proud my man was of how good I looked next to him. The best money I've EVER spent.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2013
Great dress, loved wearing it!

I'm normally a dress size 8. I think the 46 would have been perfect, but it was not available, so I made the 48 work. 48 was a little big on me, but it still looked realy nice. I loved wearing the dress, and had a great time in it. Would have given five stars, but the zipper was problematic at times.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
AH-MAZING

I've never felt as sexy as I did in this dress. My husband took me to Alinea (Chicago, IL) for my birthday dinner. The dress was perfect for such an amazing dinner. I felt comfortable and sexy. The dress fit wonderfully, with lots of stretch for a flattering, form-fitting look. I really didn't want to return it. <3

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 21, 2013
If I could give it 50 stars, I would

Seriously, oh my god, greatest dress EVER. I want to should from the rooftops how much I freakin loooooved this dress!! This was my second dress (secretly my first choice) for my friend's bachelorette, but when the first dress was a little too tight and binding, I was excited I had this as an alternate. The funny part is that the bride ended up wearing the same dress but in the leopard print so we were twins, haha. The material is stretchy so it hugs all your curves like a glove, but it isn't binding so you're still free to move. The black color slims you, while the cut flatters your figure. There's also a build in under-wire bra to perks the girls up. When I put it on for my boyfriend he didn't want to let me leave the house -or return the dress! I had to promise to rent it again for date night with him ;) I have honestly never received so many compliments about a dress I was wearing ever, and I've honestly never felt so stunning in a dress...I'm just bummed the only picture I remembered to get was at the end of the night, but I guess that's just one more reason to have to re-rent!

Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 11, 2013
The Dress was perfect!

Fit perfectly! Amazing dress- I wish I could have kept it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32H
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2013
Top runs small

I had to return this dress because the built-in bra was too small and wanted to warn any girls with big boobs renting... be careful. The dress comes with an underwire bra that is probably a B maybe C cup. If you have anything bigger than that you're going to be spilling out. I'm a 32G (natural) and couldn't even zip the top of the 38. I will say that everywhere else it runs true to size as I am normally a 2 or 4 and the 38 fit great. This dress is stunning (if it fits up top) and I'd recommend it to anyone with a smaller chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2013
Dress shows every curve!

I loved this dress, the dress fit perfectly, it is the perfect little black dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
Nothing makes you feel better on your birthday than compliments on how chic you look.

I wore this dress for my 22nd birthday dinner. As many wearers have said before me, this dress is fantastic! It's a very sexy cut, slimming, in gorgeous condition, and the perfect length for a leggy girl like myself. However, I do have one warning. The built-in bra is absolutely tiny. If you are any larger than a C cup, I do not recommend this dress. I was spilling out of the top all night-- which is perfect for a birthday dinner out with your girlfriends, but definitely not the best fit for a more upscale event. However, the dress is still beautiful. Nothing beats a D&G!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
August 3, 2013
It has a sexy, classy old Hollywood vibe to it.

Dolce and Gabbana knows how to make a sleek sexy dress well. Fabric felt fantastic and has nice amount of stretch to it without feeling cheap or thin. It is extremely form fitting and you have to have a decent amount of confidence to wear it without being self conscious. If you're worried about a tummy/pooch this might not be the dress for you (and there are some days when I don't think this dress would've worked for me if I was feeling bloated). Spanx might help with that but they might've been difficult to hide underneath and all that material would become pretty balmy in warm weather (not to mention you might feel like a stuffed sausage). I am a small B cup and felt a little 'stuffed' up top but it did end up creating some nice cleavage. I loved that it hit just below the knee on me. If it was above the knee I don't think it would've been as appropriate for the evening wedding event. I styled the dress with a pair of strappy, shimmery gold Michael Kors heels, a gold cuff bracelet, and these RTR earrings http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/dramaticdropearrings It was a fantastic dress for an evening wedding in Chicago. I would definitely rent it again.

Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2013
The dress was gorgeous and I got compliments all night. Loved the material and the fit.

I had read other people's comments about the zipper being a problem, but just assumed it would have been fixed by time I rented it. It was not. :( Spent the whole night having people come up and compliment the dress, but also tell me it was halfway zipped down. Major bummer to what is otherwise a perfect dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2013
Beautiful dress!! The perfect LBD! Bust runs a little small.

I ordered this dress in a size 36 and a 38. The 36 fit best, except the bust was tight. The 38 was a little lose on my body but fit my bust perfect. I was very disappointed about the quility of the dress sent to me by RentTheRunway.com. Both dresses were missing one underwire each. The size 36 was missing the left side underwire and the size 38 was missing the right side underwire. Very usual! Very disappointing that RentTheRunWay.com would send me two damaged dresses. I will have to think long & hard before using RentTheRunway.com again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2013
AMAZING!!

I felt like a million dollars in this dress!! Hugged in all the right places, skimmed where it should have. This is such a well made, incredibly cut dress! Built in bra was great and no need for Spanx. The compliments didn't stop coming all night.

YuliyanSeptember 8, 2013
Hot Kiss and Heart.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 23, 2013
Amazing sexy and classy dress!

I have rented about six ore so dresses from RTR, and this was definitely my favorite. This dress made me feel like a million bucks. It fit like a glove. I got compliments throughout the evening from strangers. The fabric is amazing. It has a bit of stretch and it is soo smooth. My husband loved to touch it :) I like the knee length, and the fact that it didn't show very much cleavage. The dress was reasonably comfortable. I liked the fact that I didn't have to wear a bra. I wish I could buy this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
I have a pretty straight figure and the waist cinches in so beautifully! Such a classic dress

Fit like a GLOVE. I am a normal size 4 and this dress hugs in all the right places. The straps are adjustable for comfort, because the dress stands up on itself. Wore for 12 hours and felt like I had just put it on.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
October 6, 2013
If only my evening was as good as this dress

Great fit. super flattering and classic.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2013
Fit like a glove!

This dress was fantastic. I wore it to my sisters wedding where I was the Maid of Honor. It really fit just perfectly. I received so many compliments all night. The only complaint that I had was that the zipper in the back kept sliding down throughout the night. There was no hook and eye clasp to keep it together. I had guests throughout the night zipping me back up. So that was very annoying but the dress was so perfect that I didn't care too much, luckily I was surrounded by my family the majority of the night so they laughed with me about it. Other than that it was great, fit in all the right places and looked great with a pair of heels! Definitely recommend!

jeaumaireNovember 15, 2013
Hello! You look lovely in the dress! I am about the same size and build as you (maybe a bit bustier, 30F) I was wondering whether or not you wore a bra with the dress and if not what type of support does the dress offer?
AllisonNovember 15, 2013
Hi Jeaumaire! I did not wear a bra with this. There is a built in bra inside of the dress that is meant for a B cup but it kept "the girls" in place for me even though the cups were way too small. I did feel like there was enough support for me though. Hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2013
Gorgeous & slinky!

I rented this for the afterparty of my book party and it was very hot. I was a bit worried about the neckline since I have a small chest, but everything was fine. The placement of the straps is really flattering and the neckline doesn't pop out, even on a small chest. Overall, very simple and sexy.

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×