Rent the Runway

David Meister

You See Me I See You Dress

$49 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let everyone stare at you in this beautiful David Meister embellished one shoulder dress. It shine and sparkle will light up the room! Add a hint of color with a great bracelet to pull your look together.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - ruched detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - ruched detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Metallic knit matelasse(100 % polyester). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

55 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 40
Large 10
Photos 24
Kelli
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jul 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, I got lots of compliments! I ordered an 8 and a 10, ended up wearing the 10 because I thought the 8 was just a touch too snug to wear to a church wedding. I liked it because it was different than what everyone else was wearing.
WG
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first time ordering from RTR. This dress is absolutely beautiful. I got numerous compliments at my friend's wedding. Many people said it was simple, sexy, elegant, and very classy. I would highly recommend this dress.
Kim T.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I have a 32 E bust which makes it difficult to find dresses that fit without alterations. I had picked this as my backup dress to wear to a wedding & ended up liking it better. I received a lot of complements & it was very comfortable. The only thing was that the hem came out halfway through the wedding, luckily I doubt anyone noticed but me.
Sloan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109 lbs
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. Fit perfectly and was comfortable. Wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments on it. I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6 (I fit into both sizes but went with the 6 because I wanted a little extra breathing room.)
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, wish I could have bought it. I rented this one and another and it was so cute, I have a 7 year old son that is brutally honest with how I look and when I tried this on for he and my husband my son said WOW! It is striking on. I had so many compliments that day and even had a lady run out of a restaurant as I walked by asking me who made it, she and her husband loved it so much. I was so proud. Thanks RTR I will definitely rent again!
sjt
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Between running true to size and large, I'd say. I normally wear a 4 or 6, and wore the 4. Very nice dress. Accurately depicted in the photo. Very flattering, forgiving fabric.
Franny
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I wore this dress to a wedding and got tons of compliments. It is a flattering style and was very comfortable. I usually wear a size 6 but was more comfortable in the 8 in this style (tried both sizes--I'm 5'2" and 130 lbs). It came to just below my knees. I had tried this dress on in person and really liked it but didn't think I'd wear it often enough to justify purchasing it. I'm now sold on the option of renting as is everyone I told that is how I got the dress!
BHart
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress! I rented it for a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments - I felt great in it! I'm a steady size 6, but I ended up not even trying on the 6 after the 4 fit well. I would purchase this for future events!
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 9, 2011

Gorgeous and Comfortable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my best friend's wedding. I had seen it at Neiman Marcus and tried it on, and loved it, except for the price tag. Then I came home and checked out RTR and was thrilled. The dress was super comfortable. I wore it with shapewear (I just had a baby) and a strapless bra and some sparkly shoes. It was so comfortable, even with the shapewear on underneath. The fabric was beautiful and soft, not itchy as you might think because it is metallic. If I wasn't still losing the baby weight, I would have bought this dress, but I thank RTR for offering it. It's a GREAT dress! I even saw it in Breaking Dawn (one of the guests was wearing it) and she rocked it too. Love it.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 19, 2012

Unique and Classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful and comfortable and I received lots of compliments, however, even in a 2 this dress was just a little bit too big for me. I am 5' 0" and would have put up the hem with fashion tape but the ruching on the side of the dress made that impossible; the dress fell below my knees. Overall, I was happy with this dress, but I would not recommend it for a petite frame.
Valarie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

100 compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7", 128 pounds. The size 4 fit perfectly, not too tight either/had a little room to spare and feel comfortable. I got a million compliments on this dress all night long! I wore it to a black tie Oscar party. I also felt very comfortable in it as it is not too skimpy or revealing but definitely sexy!
CLD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jun 26, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding that I ended up not being able to make and was so disappointed because I really wanted to wear the dress! The fabric of the dress was gorgeous, but felt much different than it looked and was actually stretchy and very comfortable. Using spanx provided a good base because otherwise it might be a bit clingy and show all imperfections. Overall, a great experience with RTR!
Carley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very figure flattering. It hugs and stretches in the right places for an hour glass figure. Material is not stiff at all. I wore it to a white party and the subtle color worked very well for me. It is a little more gold than pictured.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Instant Bombshell

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is one of the most amazing dresses I've ever worn! Its just gorgeous - the ruching and sparkle makes it extremely flattering in person and in pictures!! I am 5'8, 165lbs, in shape but with curves - and I'm not super tan and wore it in February and it just makes you glow!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Anjali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

Beautiful dress. Shinier than in the pictures!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an outdoor garden wedding. It was very shimmery in the sunlight and fit great! The dress is sturdy and heavier than a jersey, but still comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×