David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$40 rental
$450 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
245 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(152)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2017
Runs extremely small.
I could not even try this dress on because the arms are so tight. It definitely runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2017
Pretty color, nice basic party dress
Wore this to a wedding. I danced & felt comfortable in it all night. I was at my heaviest weight though & a little self-conscious about my figure so I don't have any better pictures to share.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
February 26, 2017
Nice dress
Ordered the 4 and 6. The 6 was roomier on the sleeves, but it was too big in the chest so I opted for the 4 since there didn't seem to be much of a difference in the fit around the hips. Make sure to wear a pair of Spanx since the dress is very form fitting. The length was great too which is something I sometimes have an issue with at my height. Lots of compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
January 30, 2017
I wore this dress to my 40th birthday party and it was amazing! I got so many compliments on it!
This dress felt like it was made for me- the fit was perfect! It was very fitting, but I was comfortable in it. I did go without a bra because of the shoulders and strapless bras never fit me right.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Date
January 19, 2017
Very pretty
Very comfortable, very pretty. If you are at all tall go up one size so the curves hit in the right spot.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 17, 2017
The fit is amazing, the dress is super comfortable, and I got compliments all night!
I ordered an 8 and crossed my fingers because the 10 wasn't available as a safety size. I received it the night before my event and it fit perfectly! I was sad to send it back the next day!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2016
Classic Elegance
After reading other reviews, I was prepared to size up from my usual size 4 to a size 6, with a size 8 as a backup. Since both 4 and 6 were unavailable, I took a risk and ordered a size 8, and was glad I did. I think the 6 would have been fine, but the arms would have been snug, as other reviewers have mentioned. The 6 would have fit better in the bust and shoulder area, because when I lifted my arms, I could see a little bit of extra fabric, and the the neckline extended all the way to the edge of my shoulders. I liked this looser fit, but, it's worth noting that someone my size with a larger bust could fit in the size 8 even better. The right arm had a little hole in it, but I just turned it toward the inside and it really wasn't noticeable. I also noticed a snag on the back, but with the dark fabric, again, it really wasn't noticeable when pressed down onto the dress. I appreciated the camouflaging effect of the side-ruching fabric and the way the gold thread dressed it up, making it perfect for an evening event. Overall, I was happy with the size I chose, loved this classically elegant dress and had a positive first-experience with renttherunway.com.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 20, 2016
Confident & classy
I got so many compliments all night! It was very comfortable, I danced for hours, it is a nice soft material. The neck area is large and came off my shoulder quite a bit, I suggest using fashion tape. I tried safety pins but was worried it would ruin the nice lace. Other then that, loved it !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 12, 2016
So many compliments!
The dress was gorgeous but definitely runs small. I was grateful for the backup size. There is gold threading that runs through the dress so plan on gold jewelry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2016
Special dress for a special occasion
Rented this dress for a coworkers black tie optional wedding and really liked the overall look. I ended up wearing the larger back up size to be a bit more comfortable and to have some more room to dance. Received a bunch of compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 27, 2016
Beautiful dress. Just not made for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2016
Tight fitting dress
I love this dress but it does run small. I normally wear a 6 but luckily got the back up size of 8. It was still tight. It was a gorgeous dress I would have ordered another size up for backup though since it is stretchy it would have been more comfortable. It was a very pretty dress though!
RTR CustomerNovember 17, 2016
No way you are 40:). Looks gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2016
Great dress, form fitting that flatters a hourglass shape.
I was super excited about trying this dress out but when it came in I was a little hesitant because it had gold thread embellished throughout the dress. However, the dress worked perfectly for a wedding I attended and the gold wasn't over powering. Definitely a great fit for a evening fall wedding. It is form fitting so SPANX would be highly recommended. The dress is a little worn on the the right side but overall it was in good condition. I was very pleased with the whole experience.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 25, 2016
Gorgeous dress that is made for curves!
This dress is gorgeous. The color is so sophisticated (navy with gold fabric running through in a very tasteful way) and perfect for a wedding. The fabric around the body is stretchy, the fabric around the arms is less forgiving but still has some slack to it. I could have worn a 10 if I wanted it to be more close to the body to really hug my curves but this ended up being perfect and comfortable. The zipper is on the side and is hidden, so be careful when pulling down and up as the fabric tends to get a bit stuck. I am 5'5" and the dress went down to my knees exactly. The rouching on the waist gives more of the illusion of curves. The boat neckline is a little annoying for those with larger breasts (I am a 38DD). I do not wear strapless bra so I opted for my regular strapped bra and used tiny pins to keep the strap to the dress near the edges of my shoulders.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 24, 2016
Weird in the arms!
I couldn't wear this dress. I'm thin and have very small arms, but this dress was horribly unflattering. It was so tight in the arms and shoulders that it was impossible to move in, and the material did nothing but irritate my skin. I ended up exchanging it for something a little freer. I loved the style of this dress because I wanted something a little more conservative for my boss' wedding but was supremely disappointed. Not for me!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 24, 2016
Well made fabric
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in a wedding. I am very curvy. It is very form fitting. Hugs all curves but in a flattering way. Loved that it went off the shoulder. Easy to move/dance in it. I am a 36DD and I have bigger arms and am therefore usually nervous about longer sleeves. The sleeves fit fine. The subtle sparkle of gold was the perfect touch and my favorite part. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 123lbs
June 14, 2016
Wore to hubby's company awards dinner!
I tried this on for the hubby after I got it, and got the "sexy momma" compliment so I was sold. It honesty wasn't my first choice, but I'm glad I wore it b/c I got lots of compliments. It was fitted, but comfy. I liked how it was a little gathered across the tummy and how it fit across the shoulders. I wore this with gold strappy shoes and navy nail polish on my finger nails (nude polish on my toes)!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 45
April 14, 2016
Fit great! Wore to college graduation. So many compliments.
I thought from the lace it my itch but it was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 14, 2016
Beautiful Dress & Perfect for a Cocktail Party
This dress is beautiful. The fabric feels very luxurious. It is navy with gold accents that make the dress really stand out. The dress runs small - so thankful I ordered the backup. It drapes very nicely on the body, but recommend spanx for anyone who would feel self-conscious. The dress hit about my knee as it did in the picture of the model. I would recommend ordering one size larger than you normally wear for a better fit. You can't go wrong with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2016
Worn to school fundraiser/auction and was a big hit. Perfect for colder weather event!
This was actually a back up dress as the alternative size for the dress I wanted was not available - great customer service experience - and I was so glad to get this dress as I wound up wearing it instead of my original choice. Fit was good - could have gone up a size and I think would still have been good. Awesome first time rental experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
February 16, 2016
Sadly, did not wear it.
Loved this dress, but it ran small. Usually wear 6/8. 8 was too snug to be comfortable. Would have loved it in a 10, but unavailable. Will book earlier next time.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 56
January 26, 2016
This dress looks great! Sexy but classy and very comfortable to wear.
Fit was perfect, the lace was beautiful and the length just right. Got a lot of compliments on this dress at the Company Christmas Party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 70
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2015
Perfect dress for an evening wedding for an older woman
Nice material with gold threads throughout the dark navy fabric. The wide neckline may require a strapless bra. The close fitting dress is stretchy but I had to size up to a 6 from my usual size 4. Wearing Spanx was helpful. The length and 3/4 sleeves are nice for an older woman.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
December 15, 2015
Easy return
Fit well, very comfortable. Felt glamorous, received several compliments. I
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2015
I loved this dress, very comfortable and flattering!
I wore this to a winter wedding. The material is stretchy and was easy to move around in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 64
December 8, 2015
no one else had one like it ! off the shoulders was an added touch.
tight fitting but shows your curves
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 59
November 24, 2015
I received many compliments about the dress.
The dress fits tightly, I am a bit hippy. The slip that is part of the dress kept slipping upward.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
November 23, 2015
This was my back up dress and I did not wear it to the actual wedding but I LOVED it!
The fit was pretty true to size for me. Very comfortable and flattering. It was a difficult choice between the 2 dresses I rented. The navy is a beautiful shade with gold through the lace. I had gold shoes to go with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 12, 2015
The color and shimmer
While the color, shimmer, and flattering shape make it stand out, I would not recommend it for ladies who are a bit bigger in the arms, it is not flattering that way. The attached is the best picture of my arms, I would not share the other ones because they are unflattering. I ordered this dress with a 2-day notice so I had to pick from what was available, otherwise I would not have gone for laced sleeves (but they look wonderful on ladies with skinny arms). Also I forgot that this dress would require a special bra because of the open shoulders and had to just push the straps of a regular bra off my shoulders, which might be noticeable in this picture. This dress requires appropriate undergarments to cover imperfections because it is rather thin. Overall, if baring your shoulders is not a problem and you are not concerned about the size of your arms, it is a nice dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 2, 2015
Maybe not the best for hourglass shape
The dress fit true to size, but as everybody else mentions, the sleeves run small. It is a beautiful dress, but I felt the width of my shoulders and hips were accentuated.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 1, 2015
Beautiful dress, so comfortable!
This dress was absolutely perfect!! So comfortable, the fit was great and I loved the color! I wore this dress to an October wedding and received so many compliments! The gold detail was beautiful yet subtle. You could wear this dress all night at a wedding and dance comfortably. Arms are a bit snug in the beginning but they stretched out as the night went on. I wish I could own this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
October 19, 2015
October outdoor wedding
I thought this dress looked much prettier on the model. As the other reviews have mentioned, the sleeves are small and it takes some careful effort to put your arms through. It's especially harder because of the lace. My dress actually had a hole in the sleeve lace but it didn't matter because I pulled the sleeves up past my elbow. The dress is very form fitting so you must be comfortable with your body. I have wide hips and I actually felt really self-conscious about myself. I did receive compliments though. Also, this dress (in this size) was clearly worn many many times. The lace was lifting and was getting linty. My backup size 4 was in pretty mint condition, however, I didn't wear this one.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 34
October 7, 2015
Formal rehearsal dinner
Runs a little small but there's lots of give in the fabric. The arms are definitely a little tight so I had to go up a size to wear it. Hands down one of my favorite dresses and I wish I had it permanently in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
September 25, 2015
Beautiful wedding for family friends
This dress was a last minute replacement for a dress that didn't fit properly. It was very comfortable and fit true to size. The arms weren't too tight like they often are in other dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 8, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress!
The dress hugged my curves without being racy. I felt sexy and elegant the whole night and got lots of compliments on it! I ordered an 8 and a 10, but went with the 10 because my arms are a bit muscular and didn't want the sleeves to be too tight. I was really comfortable in it and didn't have any of that tugging and readjusting nonsense I worry about with other dresses. A perfect 10.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
August 28, 2015
Loved it! Received many compliments! Would rent this dress again!
Fits true to size and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
July 29, 2015
Great dress for a wedding!
I got this dress when my original dress wasn't available. I was worried that it would be too hot with the sleeves, but it was actually very comfortable. I wore the size 12 and with the dark color, it was very forgiving of my 2-month post-baby body. The gold accent looked great and I wore gold accessories to match. I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2015
I got so many good comments on this dress!
This dress was perfect for the party I was attending - cute, flattering, the right length, and just sexy enough to make me feel good. I loved the color, and I got tons of great comments from people about the dress! Maybe runs a BIT small - I'm glad I got the size 4 in addition to the 2 - it fit perfectly. (I do usually waffle between those two sizes.) This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I'll definitely use it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2015
Great dress and fits really well!
I am 5 months pregnant and this dress had just enough stretch to accommodate my baby bump. It was a great fit and I received a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2015
Was comfortable the whole night, really liked this dress.
Arms fit fairly tight, but otherwise was very flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×