David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
248 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(152)
Small
(71)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 35
October 7, 2015
Formal rehearsal dinner
Runs a little small but there's lots of give in the fabric. The arms are definitely a little tight so I had to go up a size to wear it. Hands down one of my favorite dresses and I wish I had it permanently in my closet!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 64
December 8, 2015
no one else had one like it ! off the shoulders was an added touch.
tight fitting but shows your curves
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 123lbs
June 14, 2016
Wore to hubby's company awards dinner!
I tried this on for the hubby after I got it, and got the "sexy momma" compliment so I was sold. It honesty wasn't my first choice, but I'm glad I wore it b/c I got lots of compliments. It was fitted, but comfy. I liked how it was a little gathered across the tummy and how it fit across the shoulders. I wore this with gold strappy shoes and navy nail polish on my finger nails (nude polish on my toes)!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 24, 2016
Well made fabric
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in a wedding. I am very curvy. It is very form fitting. Hugs all curves but in a flattering way. Loved that it went off the shoulder. Easy to move/dance in it. I am a 36DD and I have bigger arms and am therefore usually nervous about longer sleeves. The sleeves fit fine. The subtle sparkle of gold was the perfect touch and my favorite part. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 24, 2016
Weird in the arms!
I couldn't wear this dress. I'm thin and have very small arms, but this dress was horribly unflattering. It was so tight in the arms and shoulders that it was impossible to move in, and the material did nothing but irritate my skin. I ended up exchanging it for something a little freer. I loved the style of this dress because I wanted something a little more conservative for my boss' wedding but was supremely disappointed. Not for me!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 25, 2016
Gorgeous dress that is made for curves!
This dress is gorgeous. The color is so sophisticated (navy with gold fabric running through in a very tasteful way) and perfect for a wedding. The fabric around the body is stretchy, the fabric around the arms is less forgiving but still has some slack to it. I could have worn a 10 if I wanted it to be more close to the body to really hug my curves but this ended up being perfect and comfortable. The zipper is on the side and is hidden, so be careful when pulling down and up as the fabric tends to get a bit stuck. I am 5'5" and the dress went down to my knees exactly. The rouching on the waist gives more of the illusion of curves. The boat neckline is a little annoying for those with larger breasts (I am a 38DD). I do not wear strapless bra so I opted for my regular strapped bra and used tiny pins to keep the strap to the dress near the edges of my shoulders.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2016
Great dress, form fitting that flatters a hourglass shape.
I was super excited about trying this dress out but when it came in I was a little hesitant because it had gold thread embellished throughout the dress. However, the dress worked perfectly for a wedding I attended and the gold wasn't over powering. Definitely a great fit for a evening fall wedding. It is form fitting so SPANX would be highly recommended. The dress is a little worn on the the right side but overall it was in good condition. I was very pleased with the whole experience.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 27, 2016
Beautiful dress. Just not made for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2016
Special dress for a special occasion
Rented this dress for a coworkers black tie optional wedding and really liked the overall look. I ended up wearing the larger back up size to be a bit more comfortable and to have some more room to dance. Received a bunch of compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 12, 2016
So many compliments!
The dress was gorgeous but definitely runs small. I was grateful for the backup size. There is gold threading that runs through the dress so plan on gold jewelry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2016
Tight fitting dress
I love this dress but it does run small. I normally wear a 6 but luckily got the back up size of 8. It was still tight. It was a gorgeous dress I would have ordered another size up for backup though since it is stretchy it would have been more comfortable. It was a very pretty dress though!
RTR CustomerNovember 17, 2016
No way you are 40:). Looks gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 20, 2016
Confident & classy
I got so many compliments all night! It was very comfortable, I danced for hours, it is a nice soft material. The neck area is large and came off my shoulder quite a bit, I suggest using fashion tape. I tried safety pins but was worried it would ruin the nice lace. Other then that, loved it !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2016
Classic Elegance
After reading other reviews, I was prepared to size up from my usual size 4 to a size 6, with a size 8 as a backup. Since both 4 and 6 were unavailable, I took a risk and ordered a size 8, and was glad I did. I think the 6 would have been fine, but the arms would have been snug, as other reviewers have mentioned. The 6 would have fit better in the bust and shoulder area, because when I lifted my arms, I could see a little bit of extra fabric, and the the neckline extended all the way to the edge of my shoulders. I liked this looser fit, but, it's worth noting that someone my size with a larger bust could fit in the size 8 even better. The right arm had a little hole in it, but I just turned it toward the inside and it really wasn't noticeable. I also noticed a snag on the back, but with the dark fabric, again, it really wasn't noticeable when pressed down onto the dress. I appreciated the camouflaging effect of the side-ruching fabric and the way the gold thread dressed it up, making it perfect for an evening event. Overall, I was happy with the size I chose, loved this classically elegant dress and had a positive first-experience with renttherunway.com.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
January 17, 2017
The fit is amazing, the dress is super comfortable, and I got compliments all night!
I ordered an 8 and crossed my fingers because the 10 wasn't available as a safety size. I received it the night before my event and it fit perfectly! I was sad to send it back the next day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Date
January 19, 2017
Very pretty
Very comfortable, very pretty. If you are at all tall go up one size so the curves hit in the right spot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
January 30, 2017
I wore this dress to my 40th birthday party and it was amazing! I got so many compliments on it!
This dress felt like it was made for me- the fit was perfect! It was very fitting, but I was comfortable in it. I did go without a bra because of the shoulders and strapless bras never fit me right.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
February 26, 2017
Nice dress
Ordered the 4 and 6. The 6 was roomier on the sleeves, but it was too big in the chest so I opted for the 4 since there didn't seem to be much of a difference in the fit around the hips. Make sure to wear a pair of Spanx since the dress is very form fitting. The length was great too which is something I sometimes have an issue with at my height. Lots of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2017
Pretty color, nice basic party dress
Wore this to a wedding. I danced & felt comfortable in it all night. I was at my heaviest weight though & a little self-conscious about my figure so I don't have any better pictures to share.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2012
I loved this dress and so did everyone else!
The fit is very true to size. Very comfortable and easy to move around in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
The perfect dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and received multiple compliments. This dress is just so ladylike and classic! The fabric has a bit of stretch to it. The sheerness of the sleeves is incredibly flattering. It was a comfortable, beautiful fit. Definitely true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
Timeless Dress
I could not imagine a more perfect dress. It is the culmination of classic style, timeless color, and a becoming fit. The lace and bit of sparkle make it very elegant and unique. Women of all ages complimented on what a classy, gorgeous dress it was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Beautiful!
Wore this dress for a September wedding. The 3/4 sleeves gave me just enough for the chillier evening and the navy with gold touches set me apart from the other black/dark colors. The dress was very comfortable. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Comfortable, not too dressy.
I ordered this dress as a backup to wear to an evening wedding. It is a nice dress, but I did not find it flattering on me. I wore the other very elegant dress that I received from RTR,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Classic dress for an afternoon wedding.
This was my backup dress for a wedding, but I ended up wearing this one bc it fit perfectly. Although the dress is a less dressy than I expected/hoped, it hugged every curve. Once I added a necklace and heels, it dressed it up for the occasion. Please note that this dress snags easily and there were a few snags on it already - but they weren't noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Another gorgeous dress and beautiful color!
Loved the cut and fit of this dress. Perfect for when the temperature gets a little cooler. Metallic stretch fabric hugs the body. Ruching on one side helps drape some fabric around tummy area. Dress fell by my knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 11, 2012
Wow! Stunning, elegant, and beautiful.
This dress was amazing. This was my 1st RTR experience now I'm addicted. I had so many compliments throughout the night and was told I was the best dressed from the girl who I thought was best dressed. Everyone was asking where I got the dress from and I felt amazing all night. The length was great for a wedding and the dress is so much prettier in person the details are amzing! Loved it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 15, 2012
Wanted a classy lace dress for a fall rustic wedding. Dress was exactly what I was looking for!
When the dress came, it looked teeny tiny on the hanger! But as other girls said, the dress stretched and ended up fitting perfectly. I wore nude pumps, simple jewelry and my spanx underneath to give it a seamless look. Got many compliments on this gorgeous dress!!! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 16, 2012
Watched my Mom knock 'em dead as Mother of the Groom!
I didn't actually wear the dress to the wedding. My MOM did!!! I received only the size 10 which was my backup size. Thank goodness, because the dress runs small in my opinion. It was very pretty and sparkly with a bit of silver or gold thread running through the lace. It hit just below my knee. I loved the neckline, so flattering for my broad shoulders! However, i have recently lost about 25 lbs, and this dress shows every single bump and flaw. Even with spanx, which didn't really fit either, i just felt very self conscious about my loose skin and not perfectly toned body. Not the results I was hoping for. :-( My mom tried the dress on, and she looked FABULOUS!! Definitely an unforgettable look for the mother of the groom. She knocked the place dead! (btw, Mom is an inch shorter and 10 lb lighter than i am. Smaller on top, and bigger on bottom.) i would recommend this dress for the more conservative types. It is classy, but not really fun and vivacious! If you are at all insecure about your body, this isn't the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Such a comfortable dress! Very flattering!
Great fit... but be prepared to show your curves!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
LOVED IT!! STUNNING DRESS & IT FIT AMAZING
Beautiful lace detail that hugged my body just right! I do suggest Spanx ~ the dress does not have a very thick/heavy lining therefore it shows any problem areas you may have. I think this dress is perfect for any evening occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 25, 2012
Great dress for a night out!
The dress is really comfortable, easy to wear and felt great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 25, 2012
Loved it, fit perfectly, and dressy enough for a formal affair. I'm 58 and it looked great.
Felt like a model, was very comfortable to wear and VERY flattering. Have a little belly but did not wear spanx and was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 28, 2012
Stunning Dress, beautiful color, extremely elegant and sophisticated
The dress is beautiful and clingy to every curve, so I wore the 12 instead of the intended size 10. The lace hemline came right below the knee and is a beautiful detail on the dress. I enjoyed the feel and look of this flattering dress and would rent it again.
MarthaNovember 6, 2012
Love to rent
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2012
Cute, comfortable, flattering and sexy!
This dress was a great choice for the occasion. It could be dressed up more with jewelry, but I wanted a simpler look. Paired it with black pumps for a great night out!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
It is beautiful dress.
It is fit nicely .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
Elegant
This was my back-up dress but I opted for this one over the first order. It looks much better on than in the photo. Wore it to a Sunday wedding and felt very class and elegant. It was also a nice break from the traditional black.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 14, 2012
Tons of compliments on the details; no one else had a dress like it!
I got tons of compliments on this dress at the early September wedding I wore it to. It was a little heavy and warm so I feel like it would be best for a fall/winter occasion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
unique and elegant
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. I got alot of compliments. The color is very bold, more so than it looks in the picture. The fabric is also nice, but easy to get caught on jewelry so be careful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2012
I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress before!
I wore this dress for an evening wedding the weekend before Thanksgiving; and it was absolutely perfect. It was form fitting but not uncomfortable,had just a little big of sparkle and the long sleeves kept me warm enough that I didn't need a coat. The neckline is wide. I thought about wearing a strapless bra, but I have bigger boobs and didn't want to deal with it, so I just pushed the straps of my normal bra off my shoulders and it was fine. The sleeves camouflaged the black straps and even when I was looking for them I couldn't see them. Heads up: there is a zipper underneath the left arm. I struggled to get in to the dress for about 5 minutes before realizing it was there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Knowing that I don't have to go shopping for a dress!
Out of all the dresses I've rented from the RTR, this has been my least favorite. It looked nice on and I received compliments all night but it was not my best choice. The dress is definitely true to size but if you have broader shoulders and muscular arms, it's a little tight but not to the point of being uncomfortable- just a little snug. Overall a gorgeous dress as usual.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×