David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$40 – $55 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(156)
Small
(78)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
unique and elegant

I rented this dress for an evening wedding. I got alot of compliments. The color is very bold, more so than it looks in the picture. The fabric is also nice, but easy to get caught on jewelry so be careful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Look great without spending a lot

The dress is wonderful but form fitting so I would suggest going-up a size. I usually wear 8-10 but they sent the dress in a 12...fit great with room to move.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Elegant, sophisticated dress

This dress looks tiny on the hanger, but has some stretch and looks great on. I thought the sleeves were a bit tight, and I had slender arms so I've never had an issue with sleeves before. Beautiful color and fit, and I got tons of compliments. I usually wear a 6, but wore an 8 in this dress. Maybe it's the all the Christmas cookies? ;-)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 9, 2013
Perfect dress for formal events!

I wore this dress to my husband's political inauguration. It was elegant and conservative enough and truly perfect in every way. I was afraid the dress would be too short as I am 5 '8 but it was fine...touched the top of my knee. This dress is very flattering and has gathered fabric across the stomach for a slimming effect. I'm 42 and have two small children and absolutely needed something forgiving and comfortable....this dress was both of these. My only complaint is the side zipper got stuck on some of the lace a couple of times throughout the event.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments! Perfect for the formal work holiday party!

I agree with other reviewers on the arms being so small! I went up to the size 14 as my arms couldn't fit into the size 12. Overall just gorgeous, curve hugging, yet flattering with the side ruching. I paired it with the necklace shown on the model..and really fit the bill.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2017
I had planned to wear this dress to the rehearsal dinner but both sizes ran small and did wear.

The dress ran quite small. I normally wear a size 6 or 8 dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect dress for a cocktail attire event - comfortable too!

I usually wear a 4, but the 4 was tight, so I was grateful to have the 6 as a backup. Beautiful color - received lots of compliments. Very comfortable and the gold threading is a nice touch. Would have looked much better with a pushup strapless bra and Spanx (I didn't wear either). I also rented the earrings shown on the model. They were a perfect match, but VERY heavy. Worked out great and the return process was so easy. Glad I decided to rent.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 17, 2013
What a beautiful dress! I wore it to a corporate Christmas party - conservative, yet unique!

The color was a beautiful royal blue with gold thread woven through. It was a tight fit, but not uncomfortable. Reminded me of a "first lady" dress... I can't wait for my next rental!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
The service is amazing.

This is a very classy and beautiful dress. Also extremely comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2013
Too Tight in Sleeves, A Bit Matronly

The sleeves were too tight and it just made me feel a bit matronly. My husband was not a fan of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
First RTR experience and I got so many compliments on my dress, including the wedding photographer

The dress does run a tad small, spanx do help, I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the size 6. You can't tell from the picture but there is gold threading throughout the lace, good to know for planning your jewelry, shoes and purse.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2013
looked elegant and stunning

looked beautiful. received many compliments. runs a touch small. rouching across the abdomen makes it look more flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 10, 2013
lady like length, elegant dress, easy to wear!

This event called for "snappy business" which could mean something other than this. I wore it with simple gold jewelry, earrings and a ring. Wearing it was a statement but not over the top. Dress was snug in the bust but not obviously so. I would definitely rent again, but maybe size up so I could eat dessert!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
Not a fan

I rented this for my bridal shower, but I was unable to wear the dress because it was too small. This dress runs very small & unfortunatly I took the chance on the dress because they did not have the next size up available for me to get as a second rental. Also there was a small hole in the dress. Disappointed with this rental :(

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 30, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering

I usually wear a 6 and had this dress as a back-up in size 8. It felt more like a 6. Regardless, it's a very comfortable dress to wear. It drapes nicely around the body. Loved the texture of this dress. The boat-neck is very flattering. Sleeves are super comfortable and good in spring while it's still cool out. Overall I recommend it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 26, 2013
Lots of complements and really comfortable!

I wore this dress b/c of the side zip since I didn't have anyone to help me zip the other dress I rented, but it worked out great and I really felt beautiful and comfortable! It was a long night... wedding at 7, but trolley to the church started at 6... dinner reception, dancing and midnight snack. Needless to say I felt great even at 2 in the morning. I got lots of complements all night and my hubby loved the dress. Sorry about the picture. This is the only one I taken of me that night! (Crazy, it's with our university mascot!) But the hubby was in the wedding so it was more about the bridal party than me, which is how it should be.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 14, 2013
That I was not able to wear this dress

I rented both a size 12 & a 14 and the size 14 was extremely uncomfortable and tight. I was unable to wear the dress for the special occasion that I had rented it for; instead I wore a dress that I had recently purchased. The dress was rather disappointing in its appearance; it did not appear to be made of a high quality material. The entire process was a waste of time. RTR has changed the return mailing process and I had to go to the nearest post office which is 7 miles away in order to return the items. The previous process was so much better

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2013
This is classy

The lace outer layer came close to mid-calf, but the under-layer hit at the knee, so it had a nice 40's-style length, which was slimming, but wasn't dowdy since the under layer hit at the knee. I wore a size 14 and I'm 5' 3". Very flattering, but it does run small.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
Great dress, classy

This dress was perfect for a weekday wedding and would work for any formal affair. I had ordered two sizes, 4 and 6. My husband preferred me in the size 4 because it hugged my curves and made the dress look a little sexy. The size 6 would've worked as well if a I wanted a bit of a looser fit.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2013
Didn't get to wear dress

Fit small for size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Cocktail Party

This dress was my third rental from RTR and as usual they do not disappoint! This dress is a gorgeous navy with stunning gold detail. I also went with the necklace displayed on the model and It really made the dress complete. I received tons of compliments on both the dress and the jewelry. I was thankful for the advice in the comments of the dress running on the small side. My previous rentals have all been size 4 so I rented a size 6 with a backup size 8. Although the size 6 fit, the 8 gave a little more breathing room. This dress definitely hugs the curves . Another bit of advice...Make sure you have a strapless bra. This dress is more of a "Boat Neck" so a regular bra won't work.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2013
This dress was gorgeous! Got tons of compliments, very figure flattering.

Fit was great, sleeves were a bit tight but not uncomfortable at all. Dress is gorgeous, lots of detail that you don't realize until you wear it.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
really cute dress

First time with RTR, fun experience. Glad I ordered up on the 2nd dress, definitely runs small! I have pretty thin arms and they were snug, even in the larger size. Word of caution though-the underlining in the skirt is only tacked down in one place (I checked in the other size as well) so it tends to move around a lot. I only found that out while walking into the ballroom and my husband commented that he liked the nude colored liner, how the lace stood out. Ack!! the liner is blue, and had ridden up to about hip level! Glad I was wearing Spanx or I would have flashed the room. Other than that, great dress, lots of compliments. Like the fine gold thread, nice accent. Be careful with jewelry though as it snags easily.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 74
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
Wasn't able to wear.

Too tight. Did not wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2014
classy, runs very small

This was a nice dress. Not fabulous, but very classy and pretty. I usually get a "wow" from my husband when I use RTR, and this time he just said "it's very nice" in a not so convincing voice! I wore it to a dinner party for my husband's work, and it was just right for that occasion. It does run very small, especially in the arms. I usually wear a 2 or even a 0, but I needed a 4 in this dress, and though my arms are fairly thin, the sleeves were a bit tight. It wasn't a problem though, and overall it was comfortable. I actually think it photographs better than it looked in person. I do recommend it for a more classic, conservative look, and the color is very pretty. Size up!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2014
SLEEVES ARE SUPER TIGHT!!!!

I read reviews before renting this dress and most of them said that the sleeves fit very tight! WELL THEY WERENT LYING!!! The dress runs small. the sleeves run even smaller! I normally wear a small/xsmall between a 2-4 in size. I ordered a 2. It was very fitted and I could have gotten away with it if the sleeves were so tight. I was afraid to order a size up because i'm small busted and usually have problems with the dresses fitting in the bust. LOVED the dress otherwise. just be sure to rent up a size or TWO.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 22, 2014
A pretty simple dress with enough lace detail to still make it a head turner

This dress fit a lot more snugly than I was expecting. Even with the larger size, I still had a hard time fitting into it. There really isn't a lot of give, and the cut is for a woman who is, ahem, much less curvy than I am. Still, the dress was beautiful and was a wonderful accent to my date night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2014
It was a great night with lots and lots of compliments

Definitely a spanx dress. I went with the larger size because of the length in the arms as well as the hemline.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
February 23, 2014
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. It wasn't too flashy, but made me feel awesome.

It's very fitted, but the length is great. The lining is a couple inches shorter than the overlay, but it's long enough that it doesn't matter. The color is a beautiful dark navy with gold detailing that doesn't always come through well in pictures.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
March 15, 2014
Comfy pretty and photographs well.

Definitely ran small.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
March 16, 2014
loved the dress had to go the size up for me because the arms run a little tight

awesome dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 23, 2014
It was such a vibrant blue color and a beautifully made dress!

The sleeves were tight even in the 4 but not so tight that I was uncomfortable. Great dress! I would definitely wear it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 24, 2014
Great

Great

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2014
Beautiful and elegant!

The dress fit a little small but the size 6 was perfect. I got plenty of compliments and felt so comfortable in the dress. It was perfect for the wedding as it was at a very elegant venue.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable!

This dress is awesome because it's very beautiful and classy. It's not too short, so it's great for an event that you don't want to wear a super short dress to! It does run a little small. I could have worn the 4, but the design on the right side of the dress works better when the dress isn't too snug. Awesome dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 11, 2014
Wanted to love this dress...

This dress photographs beautifully however, I feel like it runs really small. It created a muffin top on me and I felt self conscious in it all night. I tried wearing spanx but it actually looked worse. The sleeves of the dress are lace and delicate.. I think the dress also looked a little "worn" because I saw some nags in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 28, 2014
Super comfy, sleeves are very slim and I have thin arms

Size up! I wore two sizes larger than I normally am because the sleeves were so tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 4, 2014
Didn't fit...

Very narrow arms, little to no stretch. Not suitable for big busted ladies, as described. Dark color/gold shimmer thread makes it suitable for fall/winter events.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
June 5, 2014
Poor suggestion from a stylist.

A dress I had ordered for a wedding was "destroyed by the previous renter" and this was suggested because it was "an upgrade" from the dress I wanted. Though I appreciate the service the stylist tried to provide, it was a major flop. This dress was way too tight on me, and NOT cute. The sleeves have no stretch, so I'd size up if you have arm issues. It was a pretty navy blue (sorry the hotel lighting is crappy.) It is super sexy and would be good for a hot date, or non-work holiday party. However, this was for my sister-in-law's wedding, and not appropriate even if I did order a size up. It was short, and tight everywhere. I'd have rather them send me another option from my "wish list" for the date in question than send me an "upgrade" of dress. This was just not appropriate for what I needed it for. A pleasant surprise was that it had a pretty shimmery gold throughout the fabric, which I could not tell from the image online. Pretty dress, just NOT for me.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2015
I did not wear this dress, even a size up was too small to be comfortable or flattering.

Unfortunately too tight/clingy to wear for a work function.

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×