David Meister

Sass Meets Class Dress

$40 – $55 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline at the rehearsal dinner wearing this body slimming David Meister style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra due to boat neckline
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue knit (45% rayon, 45% nylon, 10% metallic). Three quarter length sleeve. Square neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
251 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(72)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Makes you feel like a princess!
Perfect for tea with the Queen, this dress is the epitome of class. Would be a great fit for a formal wedding (or an event where you are hanging with the guy's parents), or an outside soiree in the winter, you will feel both classic and sexy in this dress. Two thumbs way up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
Worn for my birthday dinner, this dress let me be the "It" girl for the evening.
Worn for my birthday dinner in Vegas, the wide neck and length of this dress made me feel like Joan from Mad Men. The zipper was tricky and had to be coaxed up, but the lace was beautiful. Perfect for an evening of indulgence.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 5, 2012
this last minute rental was not only a lifesaver but also a great choice for a late fall wedding!
the color and fabric detail were much prettier in real life than in the photos and the look was elegant without being too sexy or standout. i felt comfortable due to the stretchy fabric and felt like i held my own at a celeb-studded LA wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Look great without spending a lot
The dress is wonderful but form fitting so I would suggest going-up a size. I usually wear 8-10 but they sent the dress in a 12...fit great with room to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
Even better in person
Excellent length and fit, looks very high-quality; wore to a conservative holiday party, but not conservative in a stuffy way. Got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Elegant, sophisticated dress
This dress looks tiny on the hanger, but has some stretch and looks great on. I thought the sleeves were a bit tight, and I had slender arms so I've never had an issue with sleeves before. Beautiful color and fit, and I got tons of compliments. I usually wear a 6, but wore an 8 in this dress. Maybe it's the all the Christmas cookies? ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 17, 2012
Very flattering and very comfortable as well. Hugs in all the right places. Its a beautiful dress.
You can get by without a strapless bra-- just choose your bra carefully and pin your bra strap to the stop of each sleeve. Threads in dress are gold, not silver-- so accessorize accordingly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
I loved this dress & got so many complements on it!
It fit perfectly! I wore it with the necklace shown on the model and gold glitter pumps! One thing I didn't realize till my sleeve got a little caught on it was that there is a side zipper, I shimmied into it without using the zipper, which would have made it easier to get on. Overall i loved my first Rent the Runway experience! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
I wore this dress to a very nice dinner, and it was perfect. Very classy and polished.
It is very form fitting and snug, especially in the sleeves. I normally am in between a size 4 and 6, and this size 4 fit perfectly. It's very flattering, and my boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2013
Felt and looked fabulous!
This dress was soft, comfortable, had a good shape and was true to size. I did wear a Flexees waist cincher, and think proper undergarments are must for this dress for anyone who isn't a model. Had a great time dancing, and didn't want the night to end because I'd have to take the dress off! Color is a true navy like online dress shown, but with flash photography it showed up a brighter blue in one of my shared photo. It is navy though. Paired with champagne gold pearl necklace, bracelet and earrings, and champagne gold sparkly evening flats.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 9, 2013
Perfect dress for formal events!
I wore this dress to my husband's political inauguration. It was elegant and conservative enough and truly perfect in every way. I was afraid the dress would be too short as I am 5 '8 but it was fine...touched the top of my knee. This dress is very flattering and has gathered fabric across the stomach for a slimming effect. I'm 42 and have two small children and absolutely needed something forgiving and comfortable....this dress was both of these. My only complaint is the side zipper got stuck on some of the lace a couple of times throughout the event.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments! Perfect for the formal work holiday party!
I agree with other reviewers on the arms being so small! I went up to the size 14 as my arms couldn't fit into the size 12. Overall just gorgeous, curve hugging, yet flattering with the side ruching. I paired it with the necklace shown on the model..and really fit the bill.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
It fit great, looked great, tons of compliments!
I wore this dress to my company's Christmas Party. I wore it with nude heels and some simple gold jewelry. I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'9", it came just above my knees so appropriate for a work event. It was fitted but not too tight. If you have a little extra to love in the mid section, it will show, may want to consider gettings spanks. l
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 1, 2013
GORGEOUS and so COMFORTABLE!
This dress fit like a glove. I LOVE IT!!! I wore it to a mardi gras ball with gold heels and some rented bangles from RTR. I got compliments all night! It as a gold shimmery thread running through the fabric that adds a hint of glamour. Such a classy and sexy look all in one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
Good for a holiday party
Cute dress but may be better for a holiday party. Just wasn't the style I wanted for a wedding and didn't quite look the same as on the model. It was my back-up dress, so it worked out ok.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect dress for a cocktail attire event - comfortable too!
I usually wear a 4, but the 4 was tight, so I was grateful to have the 6 as a backup. Beautiful color - received lots of compliments. Very comfortable and the gold threading is a nice touch. Would have looked much better with a pushup strapless bra and Spanx (I didn't wear either). I also rented the earrings shown on the model. They were a perfect match, but VERY heavy. Worked out great and the return process was so easy. Glad I decided to rent.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
I went to a theater opening, tons of complements on my dress.
This is a snug fit. I usually wear a 4 and got a 6 for backup. I didn't realize there was a hidden side zipper (duh) at first and found the 4 almost impossible to get into, so wore the 6. Then, the next evening, had another event to go to and wore the 4. As with any lace dress, you have to be careful about snagging the material on your jewelry, which I was. I found Spanx were a must. Once you're in it, very comfortable. Like the length very much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 11, 2013
Unique color combination
The dress fit pretty true to size and the ruching along the side was great for accenting my waist. I would say to be careful with the zipper snagging on the sleeve. I ran into that issue a few times.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 17, 2013
What a beautiful dress! I wore it to a corporate Christmas party - conservative, yet unique!
The color was a beautiful royal blue with gold thread woven through. It was a tight fit, but not uncomfortable. Reminded me of a "first lady" dress... I can't wait for my next rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2013
Great dress!
Perfect fit... literally had people commenting all night that the dress fit perfectly. Loved it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
The service is amazing.
This is a very classy and beautiful dress. Also extremely comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2013
Too Tight in Sleeves, A Bit Matronly
The sleeves were too tight and it just made me feel a bit matronly. My husband was not a fan of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 26, 2013
My first RTR experience. Loved this dress. Very flattering, I got soooo many compliments on it!!
I wore nude pumps with gold and pearl accessories. The dress is very form fitting, I planned on wearing a girdle but changed my mind last minute bc it didn't make that much of a difference and the lace pattern on the dress helped hide some unwanted curves. The length was perfect for me, it looks really long on the model, which is why I liked it because dresses are usually way too short for me. This was definately shorter in person, but stil very appropriate. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
First RTR experience and I got so many compliments on my dress, including the wedding photographer
The dress does run a tad small, spanx do help, I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the size 6. You can't tell from the picture but there is gold threading throughout the lace, good to know for planning your jewelry, shoes and purse.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2013
looked elegant and stunning
looked beautiful. received many compliments. runs a touch small. rouching across the abdomen makes it look more flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 10, 2013
lady like length, elegant dress, easy to wear!
This event called for "snappy business" which could mean something other than this. I wore it with simple gold jewelry, earrings and a ring. Wearing it was a statement but not over the top. Dress was snug in the bust but not obviously so. I would definitely rent again, but maybe size up so I could eat dessert!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 14, 2013
beautiful! i got compliments all day!
I'm short, curvy and busty so its usually hard to find a dress that fits my chest while also showing my waist. This dress has just the right amount of elasticity so the fit was perfect! I would definitely get it again - it was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
Figure flattering without being too flashy
I wore this to my husband's holiday office party. It was festive but modest and the lace had just the right amount of gold. I'd definitely rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 16, 2013
Proper and elegant
Fit very well; the little bit of shine woven in against the navy was the perfect touch
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
March 19, 2013
Loved this beautiful elegant dress!
Wore this dress for engagement photos and it was perfect..great length, color, detail, and photographed well! Love!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
Not a fan
I rented this for my bridal shower, but I was unable to wear the dress because it was too small. This dress runs very small & unfortunatly I took the chance on the dress because they did not have the next size up available for me to get as a second rental. Also there was a small hole in the dress. Disappointed with this rental :(
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 30, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering
I usually wear a 6 and had this dress as a back-up in size 8. It felt more like a 6. Regardless, it's a very comfortable dress to wear. It drapes nicely around the body. Loved the texture of this dress. The boat-neck is very flattering. Sleeves are super comfortable and good in spring while it's still cool out. Overall I recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2013
Classy and unique!
A bit longer than it looks on the model, but still a very pretty dress! Minimal stretch to the fabric, so not for those who are trying to hide any "body issues!" I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 8, 2013
Perfect dress for an engagement party!!
This dress was awesome! I wore it for my brother's engagement party and it was perfect. I got so many compliments on the dress and felt amazing! I ended up wearing my normal size, but it did run on the smaller end, so I recommend ordering your backup size a size up just in case. Highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2013
Easy comfortable dress for your next cocktail attire event.
Dress was a beautiful deep cobalt, hit knee length and was appropriately bodycon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2013
Gorgeous dress, beautiful color and fit. And comfortable too!
I received so many compliments on this dress, which I wore to a New Year's Eve wedding. The lace on the arms was a bit itchy, but overall it was comfortable, flattering, and appropriate for the event. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 26, 2013
Lots of complements and really comfortable!
I wore this dress b/c of the side zip since I didn't have anyone to help me zip the other dress I rented, but it worked out great and I really felt beautiful and comfortable! It was a long night... wedding at 7, but trolley to the church started at 6... dinner reception, dancing and midnight snack. Needless to say I felt great even at 2 in the morning. I got lots of complements all night and my hubby loved the dress. Sorry about the picture. This is the only one I taken of me that night! (Crazy, it's with our university mascot!) But the hubby was in the wedding so it was more about the bridal party than me, which is how it should be.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 29, 2013
Awesome First Experience!!
The dresses came on time, clean and on hangers. There was a few frays on the thread, but that comes with the territory being that they were rentals. I tried the 4 on but it was way too tight on my bust (I am a size G) and the arms were really tight as well. Thankfully, the size 6 was perfect!! I look forward to renting again, great experience and concept! For some reason, I can't upload a photo...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
Great modest dress with a bit of sex appeal
This dress was easy to pair with accessories. Its a pretty navy blue but the surprise is the gold underlay of the dress. I was able to pair it with champaign heels with a few crystals. Worked perfectly. Dress meets right at the knee. I ordered a 10 and a 12, and depending on the brand I usually fall between the 2. I ended up wearing the 12 because its a stretch material and hugs your curves. Has side pickups which are slimming and helps the pattern. Fantastic choice for events where you want to look modest yet give off a bit of bombshell.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress!!
I LOVED wearing this dress! I ordered a 4 and a 6 because some of the reviews said it ran big. The 4 was WAY too small but the 6 fit like a GLOVE. The sleeves were snug but not overly tight. I wore it with nude pumps and jewelry similar to what I saw on the model on the website. I received compliments on it all night and it held up through hours of dancing. Can't wait to rent another dress!
StephaneSeptember 27, 2013
Hello Shauna! I love the way this dress looks on you specially because were almost the same weigh and height! I'm thinking of renting the dress for a church related event, and it's very important that the dress is bellow the knee. How did you feel about the length of the dress? Did it slide up when sitting down? Thank you in advance!
ShaunaOctober 1, 2013
No the dress didn't ride up at all. It was incredibly comfortable and stretchier than it looked. Stayed put and didn't lose shape all night. I would suggest it to anyone.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×