You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Patriotic Wonder Gown
Rental $90 Retail $575
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!
Chat with a Stylist
Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos29

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Alissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6324
Mar 25, 2014
I needed a really nice formal dress for the Marine Corps Ball! Loved the fit and color
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I definitely thought the dress was perfect for an event like this because it's classy but still equal sexy without showing TOO much skin. The dress is fitting but in all the right places.
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Mar 29, 2013
Loved it- looked great- stretchy comfy fabric- Great to dance in!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress: Great fabric that was stretchy and not sheer at all. The once shoulder allowed me to not worry about the dress falling, while still showing back. It was a great dress to dance in, with the only issue being that it runs a little long so you have to pay attention to holding up the dress on stairs. Jewel detail wasn't my favorite (not really my style) but it was completely fine. Due to the slivering in the jewel color I had to avoid my typical gold jewelry which was slightly annoying. The dress highlights arms/shoulder, upper back, and flatters the stomach- especially if you have a big chest! Doesn't do much for the backside- so if you want to flaunt that- consider another choice! Fit: This dress made me look very thin as it does not hug my body too tight at all- lots of breathing room in the stomach area which I loved. The top area is obviously tighter and fit me well. Honestly with the stretch in the fabric I think it could fit anyone well! Like I said above, doesn't hug the backside area as much as it could- which is the typical trade off when stomach area isn't as close fitting.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6443
Jun 25, 2013
I felt amazing in this dress and loved that there was a very small chance someone else would have it
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect. I am fairly tall and I could have used it in a long, but unfortunately it wasn't available in that size when I needed it. It still worked though - just wore shorter heels! I got a ton of compliments!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
May 1, 2013
GORGEOUS DRESS
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a backup dress for an Inaugural Ball and absolutely loved it. It's feminine, clingy in just the right places and is perfectly true to size. All that said, I was devastated when I realized the hem was completely messed up. It looked like it had been rented by someone who did at at-home hem job - the lining was longer than the dress and the dress was ankle length on one side and dragging the floor on the other. SUCH a bummer. But the RTR customer service was incredible - sending me another option overnight for no charge. I would definitely rent this dress again for another event!
Alison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6524
Apr 22, 2013
Fantastic dress for a Derby formal
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit me well in just the right places. The dress laid nicely without hugging my flaws. I was able to wear a strapless bra without it showing.
Cecilia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Mar 15, 2013
Classic and elegant
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress worked out perfectly for the Navy ball I attended. It's a simple dress, but the jeweled shoulder really makes it special. I was lucky the 2R fit nicely because there weren't any other sizes availble for the date. Also, the length was just right with 3in heels.
Jenn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Jan 24, 2013
Comfortable dress, simple and elegant
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really beautiful dress with nice material and beautiful detail. I wore this for the 2013 Inaugural ball and received many compliments. I possibly could have gone with a 6L - it wasn't really floor length and I'm only 5'3. Overall though really comfortable and elegant and very nice fit. Only issue I had was the side with the zipper at times dug into the area under my arm. If I had a little bit of Hollywood tape it probably would have prevented that.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jan 3, 2013
So classy and flattering! I hated to take it off!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a gorgeous dress. The beading detail was just enough sparkle, I just needed to add some understated earrings and the look was perfect. The dress is fully lined, which gives it nice structure (and doesn't show the outlines of your SPANX!). I ordered both regular and long lengths--I highly recommend ordering the long length. I am 5'3" and I could've worn the regular with flats. With a pair of stilettos, the long was perfect. The fabric feels great--a good weight but still comfortable and just the slightest bit of stretch. Overall, I was very happy with this dress and given the right event would definitely rent it again.
Jane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Dec 5, 2012
Husband's company party--didn't know anyone but my dress looked good.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress. The strap splits in the back and helps hold it up very well for those of us who have small chests. Shorter than shown in the picture. I wore the 4R and it was ankle length, not floor length. Looked great at ankle, but the image shows a floor length dress. Loved RTR--couldn't have been easier.
Bettie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 4, 2012
Received many compliments
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is true to size. I wear a size 4, and the size 4 fit like a glove. The dress was very comfortable. The only thing wrong with the dress was that it was too short. I'm 5'7", so anyone who is 5'6" or taller should get a L instead of a R.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Nov 13, 2012
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully and was true to size. I rented a 6R, and the hem was about an inch and a half off the floor with my heels on, so it was ok. Anymore than that, the R size wouldn't have worked. Worked well for my smaller bust size as well. Very happy with my experience with RTR, it was my first time!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Oct 31, 2012
Elegant & Beautiful
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up gown and was too snug in the chest area for me to wear even though I liked the cut & beading of this dress better than the Badgley Mischka Miss Mysterious that I ended up wearing. The jersey knit fabric of this dress was not as thick as the other, so it was less forgiving and it was a bit longer. The top part would probably fit for someone with a smaller bust. I loved having the option of choosing a second dress for $25, just for comparison, which makes it a lot easier to make your final choice. This is the best service ever! RTR is SO easy & efficient. They email you the shipping confirmation so you can track your package when it's on its way to you. If you log into your RTR account, it already includes the tracking link for your package on the way so you can check when RTR receives it. They've thought of everything!
Alexandria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6343
Oct 24, 2012
I wore it for prom and got so many compliments!! The fit was great and the fabric was comfortable.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was loose around the waist so their was no bulking up whenever I sat down. The dress was light and breathable which came in handy when I was standing for long periods of time for photos. I loved it overall!!
Jana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 21, 2012
More amazing than all of the compliments during the night was how glamorous I felt. I couldn't believe that it was me in the pictures!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I had tried it on in a store and fell in love with the fit. It is snug, but in a comfortable and flattering way. But the price was not something I could ever afford for a one night work event. Then I found RTR! I was so excited to get to order this dress. I ordered and 2 and a 4 because I wasn't sure what would fit best after a few months. The 4 was perfect and I am typically a size 4. The length was just right for average heels. I am only 5'4". I got so many compliments on the dress. I am excited to start planning for next years Gala and picking my RTR dress.
Ashleigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Apr 30, 2012
Wonderful 1st RTR experience!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit! Got tons of compliments. I ordered the 4R but it was too tight in the bust (I'm a 32F) and too short. If I was any taller than 5'6" the 6R length might have been too short. The 6R was slightly snug in the bust. Material felt good- heavy and not cheap.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4431
Apr 1, 2012
I made it through the day!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress at 34 weeks pregnant and felt fabulous. I'm usually a 4 but due to my bump I wore a 10L. An 8L would have fit better but the 8L was unavailable. I ordered the 8R as my backup and it fit great, except it was way too short! The 10L was just a hair long on me with kitten heels but overall I was happy with the fit and received lots of compliments. Best of all I was comfortable and I felt like the dark color helped me look smaller than I felt. The stretchy fabric was also a plus.
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6523
Feb 4, 2012
My husband got a lot of "You definitely married up!" all night!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great! I wish I had a smaller size, but I got another dress for another event and used my 2nd size with that one. I can see where everyone says they had issues with the length. I'm 5' and wore it with 3" heels, and it was the perfect length. The dress was comfortable and, with the weight of the material, it fell perfectly. Definitely recommend the right undergarments though because it will show everything if you don't. Got tons of compliments all night, and have yet to be disappointed with a dress from RTR!
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jan 3, 2012
Within the span of five minutes, a teenager and an older woman separately complimented this dress - everyone is a fan!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a New Year's wedding and received lots of compliments. The front is lovely, but the back is truly spectacular. Plan to wear your hair up to highlight the detail in the back.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Dec 9, 2011
The strap detailing was beautiful
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this gown. It was a great fit, I did need someone else to zip me in, but it was perfect otherwise. the detail on the strap is an eye catcher, I received compliments all night long.
Brenda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4421
Mar 20, 2014
It was a great classy wear!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was form fitting but comfortable.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 3, 2014
I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras ball.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit for this perfect dress on this perfect night!
Monique
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Jan 9, 2014
it as just so easy . i didnt have to do a lot of shopping.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
my size is up and down and this was a perfect fit.
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Dec 29, 2013
Elegant and Comfortable!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect - color, good fabric weight (not paper thin) and skimming fit made this a figure flattering choice. I had it on from about 4pm until 3am and was very comfy the whole night. The bling on the shoulder is just right - wore simple drop rhinestone earrings and a bracelet. I did need the longer size though. I'm 5'7.5" and wore heels about 3" high - the regular length was too short, so I was glad I grabbed the long as my backup size.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Oct 29, 2013
Loved the material
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, but way too short for me. I rented this as a back up dress and did not wear it.
barbara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8644
Aug 25, 2013
the dress fit!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit as described. could be considered a forgiving dress if you're not a "perfect" size.
Tamara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3323
Aug 18, 2013
It's such a beautiful dress!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought the dress would be too long but it fit perfectly. It was just wonderful!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Aug 6, 2013
Amazing dress! Classy, elegant, and with enough detail to add just the right amount of glamour.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really great! I rented it for a black tie wedding and it did not disappoint! The material is very comfortable, but I would recommend wearing a strapless bra and some version of Spanx or body contouring underwear because it is form fitting. I am 5'3 and the 4R length was perfect for a 3 inch heel, I didn't feel like I was going to trip over it at all. The asymetrical strap coupled with the way it splits in the back, left me feeling completely secure all night and I wasn't tugging at the top at all! Classy dress, would highly recommend!
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jul 1, 2013
Sadly, could not wear it
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, I had to send this back. Would have been perfect, if it wasn't for the length. I'm 5'4" and it was still too short!
F
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Apr 24, 2013
Looked great but runs a little short
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress looked beautiful and fit great except for length. I'm 5'5" and ordered a regular length but should have ordered long. I wore small heels and the dress still looked a bit too short
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 19, 2013
love the shoulder detail
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very comfortable. fits true to size.
Melanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6631
Mar 15, 2013
Felt like a queen in this dress!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress hangs beautifully, and the embellishments on the shoulder add just the right pizzazz without being over the top. Felt very comfortable without a bra, due to inside support. Was warm enough to wear in March in NY. Also hid well a small tummy bulge, with a spandex, of course. Would give it a 5 were it not quite a puzzle to figure out how to put it on. I will never forget what it feels like to wear a dress of this caliber.
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3324
Mar 8, 2013
Gorgeous, classic dress
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a lot of compliments, the eye catching detail really makes the dress shine. A bit unforgiving of a fit, but still beautiful.
Sanaa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5443
Mar 4, 2013
skip it!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
while the jewel detail is pretty, this dress was VERY short- i am 5'8 and the dress came above my ankels. also the material is a stretch jersey- looks cheap.
sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3222
Feb 8, 2013
Wicked short
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as a second dress for my winter dance.I rented it in a two regular and the dress was far to short on me. The beading was nice but I did not wind up wearing this dress.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5644
Jan 4, 2013
I received a ton of compliments on the dress and how I looked in it!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would have liked for it to be a little longer since I wore it with 4" heels, but otherwise, I loved the dress.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5622
Dec 16, 2012
Elegant
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is very fluid, and the skirt has a very slight flair. This is a great dress to have a small amount of "bling" on your formal shoes peeking out from underneath the dress and dusting the tops of your feet. I wore this with 2.5 inch heels, and it was perfect. I could not see large-busted women wearing this. There's not enough room up top. I was complimented all night long on the elegance of the dress, and I will definitely be back to RtR!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 9, 2012
Should have gotten my normal size
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great top, great fit, didn't end up wearing it b/c of the hem at the bottom. The two layers are two different lengths. I couldn't tell from the photos.
Tida
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6533
Nov 29, 2012
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My husband and I loved this beautiful dress. I felt amazing all night, not only in appearance but in comfort as will. I had so many wonderful comments about how beautiful I looked. The dress was longer than I thought it would be, but the image does show a floor length gown with some on the floor. I had to wear 6inch heeled sandal with 2 inch platform so the gown would not be pool of fabric on the floor.
lucy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 12, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning. I got compliments all night long!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4R and 6R and ended up wearing the 4. I would have been fine with the 4L but actually enjoyed getting to show off my pretty shoes :)
PA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 8524
Sep 24, 2012
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable and looked very sleek and sophisticated on. Length was fine with 3.5 inch heels.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress