Rent the Runway

David Meister

Patriotic Wonder Gown

$51 to buy
$575 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 70
Large 0
Photos 31
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2011

The strap detailing was beautiful

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this gown. It was a great fit, I did need someone else to zip me in, but it was perfect otherwise. the detail on the strap is an eye catcher, I received compliments all night long.
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Within the span of five minutes, a teenager and an older woman separately complimented this dress - everyone is a fan!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a New Year's wedding and received lots of compliments. The front is lovely, but the back is truly spectacular. Plan to wear your hair up to highlight the detail in the back.
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 4, 2012

My husband got a lot of "You definitely married up!" all night!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great! I wish I had a smaller size, but I got another dress for another event and used my 2nd size with that one. I can see where everyone says they had issues with the length. I'm 5' and wore it with 3" heels, and it was the perfect length. The dress was comfortable and, with the weight of the material, it fell perfectly. Definitely recommend the right undergarments though because it will show everything if you don't. Got tons of compliments all night, and have yet to be disappointed with a dress from RTR!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 1, 2012

I made it through the day!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress at 34 weeks pregnant and felt fabulous. I'm usually a 4 but due to my bump I wore a 10L. An 8L would have fit better but the 8L was unavailable. I ordered the 8R as my backup and it fit great, except it was way too short! The 10L was just a hair long on me with kitten heels but overall I was happy with the fit and received lots of compliments. Best of all I was comfortable and I felt like the dark color helped me look smaller than I felt. The stretchy fabric was also a plus.
Ashleigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Wonderful 1st RTR experience!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit! Got tons of compliments. I ordered the 4R but it was too tight in the bust (I'm a 32F) and too short. If I was any taller than 5'6" the 6R length might have been too short. The 6R was slightly snug in the bust. Material felt good- heavy and not cheap.
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

More amazing than all of the compliments during the night was how glamorous I felt. I couldn't believe that it was me in the pictures!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I had tried it on in a store and fell in love with the fit. It is snug, but in a comfortable and flattering way. But the price was not something I could ever afford for a one night work event. Then I found RTR! I was so excited to get to order this dress. I ordered and 2 and a 4 because I wasn't sure what would fit best after a few months. The 4 was perfect and I am typically a size 4. The length was just right for average heels. I am only 5'4". I got so many compliments on the dress. I am excited to start planning for next years Gala and picking my RTR dress.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 24, 2012

I wore it for prom and got so many compliments!! The fit was great and the fabric was comfortable.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was loose around the waist so their was no bulking up whenever I sat down. The dress was light and breathable which came in handy when I was standing for long periods of time for photos. I loved it overall!!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Elegant & Beautiful

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up gown and was too snug in the chest area for me to wear even though I liked the cut & beading of this dress better than the Badgley Mischka Miss Mysterious that I ended up wearing. The jersey knit fabric of this dress was not as thick as the other, so it was less forgiving and it was a bit longer. The top part would probably fit for someone with a smaller bust. I loved having the option of choosing a second dress for $25, just for comparison, which makes it a lot easier to make your final choice. This is the best service ever! RTR is SO easy & efficient. They email you the shipping confirmation so you can track your package when it's on its way to you. If you log into your RTR account, it already includes the tracking link for your package on the way so you can check when RTR receives it. They've thought of everything!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Beautiful dress, beautiful fit.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully and was true to size. I rented a 6R, and the hem was about an inch and a half off the floor with my heels on, so it was ok. Anymore than that, the R size wouldn't have worked. Worked well for my smaller bust size as well. Very happy with my experience with RTR, it was my first time!
Bettie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Received many compliments

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is true to size. I wear a size 4, and the size 4 fit like a glove. The dress was very comfortable. The only thing wrong with the dress was that it was too short. I'm 5'7", so anyone who is 5'6" or taller should get a L instead of a R.
Jane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Husband's company party--didn't know anyone but my dress looked good.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress. The strap splits in the back and helps hold it up very well for those of us who have small chests. Shorter than shown in the picture. I wore the 4R and it was ankle length, not floor length. Looked great at ankle, but the image shows a floor length dress. Loved RTR--couldn't have been easier.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is very fluid, and the skirt has a very slight flair. This is a great dress to have a small amount of "bling" on your formal shoes peeking out from underneath the dress and dusting the tops of your feet. I wore this with 2.5 inch heels, and it was perfect. I could not see large-busted women wearing this. There's not enough room up top. I was complimented all night long on the elegance of the dress, and I will definitely be back to RtR!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

So classy and flattering! I hated to take it off!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a gorgeous dress. The beading detail was just enough sparkle, I just needed to add some understated earrings and the look was perfect. The dress is fully lined, which gives it nice structure (and doesn't show the outlines of your SPANX!). I ordered both regular and long lengths--I highly recommend ordering the long length. I am 5'3" and I could've worn the regular with flats. With a pair of stilettos, the long was perfect. The fabric feels great--a good weight but still comfortable and just the slightest bit of stretch. Overall, I was very happy with this dress and given the right event would definitely rent it again.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

I received a ton of compliments on the dress and how I looked in it!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would have liked for it to be a little longer since I wore it with 4" heels, but otherwise, I loved the dress.
Jenn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Comfortable dress, simple and elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really beautiful dress with nice material and beautiful detail. I wore this for the 2013 Inaugural ball and received many compliments. I possibly could have gone with a 6L - it wasn't really floor length and I'm only 5'3. Overall though really comfortable and elegant and very nice fit. Only issue I had was the side with the zipper at times dug into the area under my arm. If I had a little bit of Hollywood tape it probably would have prevented that.
sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 8, 2013

Wicked short

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as a second dress for my winter dance.I rented it in a two regular and the dress was far to short on me. The beading was nice but I did not wind up wearing this dress.
Sanaa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Mar 4, 2013

skip it!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
while the jewel detail is pretty, this dress was VERY short- i am 5'8 and the dress came above my ankels. also the material is a stretch jersey- looks cheap.
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 8, 2013

Gorgeous, classic dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a lot of compliments, the eye catching detail really makes the dress shine. A bit unforgiving of a fit, but still beautiful.
Melanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Body type: Pear
Mar 15, 2013

Felt like a queen in this dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress hangs beautifully, and the embellishments on the shoulder add just the right pizzazz without being over the top. Felt very comfortable without a bra, due to inside support. Was warm enough to wear in March in NY. Also hid well a small tummy bulge, with a spandex, of course. Would give it a 5 were it not quite a puzzle to figure out how to put it on. I will never forget what it feels like to wear a dress of this caliber.
Cecilia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Classic and elegant

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress worked out perfectly for the Navy ball I attended. It's a simple dress, but the jeweled shoulder really makes it special. I was lucky the 2R fit nicely because there weren't any other sizes availble for the date. Also, the length was just right with 3in heels.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

love the shoulder detail

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very comfortable. fits true to size.
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Loved it- looked great- stretchy comfy fabric- Great to dance in!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress: Great fabric that was stretchy and not sheer at all. The once shoulder allowed me to not worry about the dress falling, while still showing back. It was a great dress to dance in, with the only issue being that it runs a little long so you have to pay attention to holding up the dress on stairs. Jewel detail wasn't my favorite (not really my style) but it was completely fine. Due to the slivering in the jewel color I had to avoid my typical gold jewelry which was slightly annoying. The dress highlights arms/shoulder, upper back, and flatters the stomach- especially if you have a big chest! Doesn't do much for the backside- so if you want to flaunt that- consider another choice! Fit: This dress made me look very thin as it does not hug my body too tight at all- lots of breathing room in the stomach area which I loved. The top area is obviously tighter and fit me well. Honestly with the stretch in the fabric I think it could fit anyone well! Like I said above, doesn't hug the backside area as much as it could- which is the typical trade off when stomach area isn't as close fitting.
Alison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Fantastic dress for a Derby formal

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit me well in just the right places. The dress laid nicely without hugging my flaws. I was able to wear a strapless bra without it showing.
F
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Looked great but runs a little short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress looked beautiful and fit great except for length. I'm 5'5" and ordered a regular length but should have ordered long. I wore small heels and the dress still looked a bit too short
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 1, 2013

GORGEOUS DRESS

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a backup dress for an Inaugural Ball and absolutely loved it. It's feminine, clingy in just the right places and is perfectly true to size. All that said, I was devastated when I realized the hem was completely messed up. It looked like it had been rented by someone who did at at-home hem job - the lining was longer than the dress and the dress was ankle length on one side and dragging the floor on the other. SUCH a bummer. But the RTR customer service was incredible - sending me another option overnight for no charge. I would definitely rent this dress again for another event!
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 25, 2013

I felt amazing in this dress and loved that there was a very small chance someone else would have it

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect. I am fairly tall and I could have used it in a long, but unfortunately it wasn't available in that size when I needed it. It still worked though - just wore shorter heels! I got a ton of compliments!
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Sadly, could not wear it

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, I had to send this back. Would have been perfect, if it wasn't for the length. I'm 5'4" and it was still too short!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Amazing dress! Classy, elegant, and with enough detail to add just the right amount of glamour.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really great! I rented it for a black tie wedding and it did not disappoint! The material is very comfortable, but I would recommend wearing a strapless bra and some version of Spanx or body contouring underwear because it is form fitting. I am 5'3 and the 4R length was perfect for a 3 inch heel, I didn't feel like I was going to trip over it at all. The asymetrical strap coupled with the way it splits in the back, left me feeling completely secure all night and I wasn't tugging at the top at all! Classy dress, would highly recommend!
Tamara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Aug 18, 2013

It's such a beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought the dress would be too long but it fit perfectly. It was just wonderful!
barbara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Aug 25, 2013

the dress fit!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit as described. could be considered a forgiving dress if you're not a "perfect" size.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Loved the material

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, but way too short for me. I rented this as a back up dress and did not wear it.
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Elegant and Comfortable!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect - color, good fabric weight (not paper thin) and skimming fit made this a figure flattering choice. I had it on from about 4pm until 3am and was very comfy the whole night. The bling on the shoulder is just right - wore simple drop rhinestone earrings and a bracelet. I did need the longer size though. I'm 5'7.5" and wore heels about 3" high - the regular length was too short, so I was glad I grabbed the long as my backup size.
Monique
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

it as just so easy . i didnt have to do a lot of shopping.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
my size is up and down and this was a perfect fit.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras ball.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit for this perfect dress on this perfect night!
Brenda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 20, 2014

It was a great classy wear!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was form fitting but comfortable.
Alissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 25, 2014

I needed a really nice formal dress for the Marine Corps Ball! Loved the fit and color

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I definitely thought the dress was perfect for an event like this because it's classy but still equal sexy without showing TOO much skin. The dress is fitting but in all the right places.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 17, 2014

it was too short for me - i let someone borrow it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this was my back up dress - it was too short for me and i didn't think it had enough "wow" factor but i loaned it to a friend who is 5'6" and between a size 4-6. she really liked it. the detailing at the shoulder was v pretty (plan to wear your hair up to show it off)
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Wore it to the Tony's! Felt glamorous and classy.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great, thick/ish material. Beautiful detailing on the shoulder.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Stunning dress.. Got tons of compliments !

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a 4 dress but the 4 was too loose up top. The 2 fit perfectly. I am 5'2 and the length was perfect with 3 inch heels.
Celeste
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Fit was lovely and the dress was comfortable.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received lots of complements on the dress. The bead-work adds that little bit of flash on an otherwise simple dress. Loved that it was long enough to hit the ground but not sooo long as to need a really high heal. It made the night more enjoyable to have an easy 3.5" heel. I wore a simple strapless bra but if the event had included dancing I would have really wanted a strapless bustier to keep everything in place.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×