David Meister

Patriotic Wonder Gown

$51 to buy
$575 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2012
Simple and elegant.
Wore this dress to a ball. Definitely classier than most of the other dresses girls were wearing. It fit great but it is very form fitting so be sure to wear some spanx underneath!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2012
Beautiful dress
Super comfortable and looked very sleek and sophisticated on. Length was fine with 3.5 inch heels.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 24, 2012
I wore it for prom and got so many compliments!! The fit was great and the fabric was comfortable.
The fabric was loose around the waist so their was no bulking up whenever I sat down. The dress was light and breathable which came in handy when I was standing for long periods of time for photos. I loved it overall!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 31, 2012
Elegant & Beautiful
This was my back-up gown and was too snug in the chest area for me to wear even though I liked the cut & beading of this dress better than the Badgley Mischka Miss Mysterious that I ended up wearing. The jersey knit fabric of this dress was not as thick as the other, so it was less forgiving and it was a bit longer. The top part would probably fit for someone with a smaller bust. I loved having the option of choosing a second dress for $25, just for comparison, which makes it a lot easier to make your final choice. This is the best service ever! RTR is SO easy & efficient. They email you the shipping confirmation so you can track your package when it's on its way to you. If you log into your RTR account, it already includes the tracking link for your package on the way so you can check when RTR receives it. They've thought of everything!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning. I got compliments all night long!
I ordered the 4R and 6R and ended up wearing the 4. I would have been fine with the 4L but actually enjoyed getting to show off my pretty shoes :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit.
The dress fit beautifully and was true to size. I rented a 6R, and the hem was about an inch and a half off the floor with my heels on, so it was ok. Anymore than that, the R size wouldn't have worked. Worked well for my smaller bust size as well. Very happy with my experience with RTR, it was my first time!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2012
Beautiful dress
My husband and I loved this beautiful dress. I felt amazing all night, not only in appearance but in comfort as will. I had so many wonderful comments about how beautiful I looked. The dress was longer than I thought it would be, but the image does show a floor length gown with some on the floor. I had to wear 6inch heeled sandal with 2 inch platform so the gown would not be pool of fabric on the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2012
Received many compliments
This dress is true to size. I wear a size 4, and the size 4 fit like a glove. The dress was very comfortable. The only thing wrong with the dress was that it was too short. I'm 5'7", so anyone who is 5'6" or taller should get a L instead of a R.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
Elegant
The fabric is very fluid, and the skirt has a very slight flair. This is a great dress to have a small amount of "bling" on your formal shoes peeking out from underneath the dress and dusting the tops of your feet. I wore this with 2.5 inch heels, and it was perfect. I could not see large-busted women wearing this. There's not enough room up top. I was complimented all night long on the elegance of the dress, and I will definitely be back to RtR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2013
So classy and flattering! I hated to take it off!
This was a gorgeous dress. The beading detail was just enough sparkle, I just needed to add some understated earrings and the look was perfect. The dress is fully lined, which gives it nice structure (and doesn't show the outlines of your SPANX!). I ordered both regular and long lengths--I highly recommend ordering the long length. I am 5'3" and I could've worn the regular with flats. With a pair of stilettos, the long was perfect. The fabric feels great--a good weight but still comfortable and just the slightest bit of stretch. Overall, I was very happy with this dress and given the right event would definitely rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2013
Comfortable dress, simple and elegant
Really beautiful dress with nice material and beautiful detail. I wore this for the 2013 Inaugural ball and received many compliments. I possibly could have gone with a 6L - it wasn't really floor length and I'm only 5'3. Overall though really comfortable and elegant and very nice fit. Only issue I had was the side with the zipper at times dug into the area under my arm. If I had a little bit of Hollywood tape it probably would have prevented that.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
skip it!
while the jewel detail is pretty, this dress was VERY short- i am 5'8 and the dress came above my ankels. also the material is a stretch jersey- looks cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
Gorgeous, classic dress
Got a lot of compliments, the eye catching detail really makes the dress shine. A bit unforgiving of a fit, but still beautiful.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Body type: Pear
March 15, 2013
Felt like a queen in this dress!
The dress hangs beautifully, and the embellishments on the shoulder add just the right pizzazz without being over the top. Felt very comfortable without a bra, due to inside support. Was warm enough to wear in March in NY. Also hid well a small tummy bulge, with a spandex, of course. Would give it a 5 were it not quite a puzzle to figure out how to put it on. I will never forget what it feels like to wear a dress of this caliber.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2011
I wore this to a black-tie Broadway opening and it couldn't have been more perfect. Several guests at the after party commented on how "elegant" and "stunning" the dress is and they were complete strangers! I loved it and would definitely rent it again. Worth noting too that I am the same coloring as the model wearing in the photo. A great color for pale-skinned blonds.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2011
I got this dress as a back-up to a slinkier option. I ended up wearing it as it is a forgiving dress and that day I needed one. It is still a stunner, and I still got many many compliments even though technically it was my fail-safe. It isn't the most stand-outish dress there is but it does the job. I would get it as a back up again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
I rented this one for my daughter's senior prom. Jaws dropped - it is such a sophisticated and gorgeous dress! It clings in all the right places. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. My daughter is 5'7" and wore a 3" heel and the 2L was perfect!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
June 8, 2011
I rented this in the regular size and it just hit the floor without heels, long would have been way too long! loved the color and one shoulder. easy to move in. i wore it to prom and everyone had big poofy dresses so i could move easily in it. lightweight. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2011
The dress is really pretty, but very short! I ordered a 4L and a 2L- the 2L fit great in everything but length. I'm just under 5'8" and the dress barely grazed the ground with NO shoes. By the time I put on two inch heels it was a good 2-3 inches off the ground- too awkward to wear, so I'm sending it back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 23, 2011
I can wear anything from a size 4 to a size 8 depending on the designer. The 6 just fit. The dress although I ordered the long came to my ankle. I was able to wear it with really high heels and it just looked like I had the dress shortened so I could dance. It is a very beautiful dress
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2011
I rented this dress as my 'back up' dress and truly loved it! The picture online doesn't give this dress any justice. I have an hour glass figure in a size 12 and this dress looked gorgeous on me and the fit was amazing! I can't say enough about this gown, the jewel details are stunning. I was complimented all night on the gown. I wish that more engagements to attend because I would have bought this gown outright. I wore it with simple earrings and silver shoes. For anyone looking for an evening gown, this dress is it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2011
This dress was beautiful but TOO short for anyone who is 5'8" and taller. I ordered the 8L and it fit perfectly except in height. I only wore two inch heels and you could almost see my ankles!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2011
This dress is spectacular! Looks better than the picture. I got it in a regular size and wished it was just a little bit longer. I am 5'6 and wore 2 inch heels and I could see my heels. I actually had gotten this dress as my backup and ended up wearing this instead. Got alot of compliments and the dress is very dark. Overal= great!:)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2011
Runs true to size, size six fit like a glove but comfortably stretched and moved. But still too short! I am just shy of 5'8'' and the size long was several inches off of the ground in my two inch heels, this was very disappointing. If you're my height, I would ask if they could do an even longer size? Or wear kitten heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 11, 2011
Loved wearing this dress! It's gorgeous, flattering, and very comfortable. I didn't realize the dress is navy, not black, which turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Recevied many complements from people I didn't even know. I ordered both the regular and the longer length and could have worn either with my 4 in heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 21, 2011
Even better in person
Had second thoughts after I ordered this dress, thinking it might not be nice enough for my event. It was stunning in person! Great dark blue color, which I paired with pewter/dark silver 3" heels. Wore the 2R as the 4R was a little loose and notably longer. Fabric is slinky, so choose undergarments carefully, and tape down the garment straps. Will likely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2011
The strap detailing was beautiful
Loved this gown. It was a great fit, I did need someone else to zip me in, but it was perfect otherwise. the detail on the strap is an eye catcher, I received compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 11, 2011
Amazing Dress
I wore this to prom and loved it. It looked really great, I also wore the Badgley Mischka Falling Leaf earrings and the Chamak Balinese Bliss Bangle Set.
mariaFebruary 5, 2012
so this dress was comfortable to dance in? I think i might wear this one to my prom also.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
December 19, 2011
Perfect for a Military Ball
This dress is classy and beautiful. It fit true to size, and the length was just right in three inch heels for me (5'4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
Within the span of five minutes, a teenager and an older woman separately complimented this dress - everyone is a fan!
I wore this to a New Year's wedding and received lots of compliments. The front is lovely, but the back is truly spectacular. Plan to wear your hair up to highlight the detail in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2012
Lots of compliments!
This dress ran true to size, but was really clingy. You need to wear the appropriate undergarments, because it shows every curve of your body. The material is heavy, and I kept having to pull it up (even though it had a strap). The sparkles are blue and clear, so silver shoes and jewelry would go well.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2012
Looks great and very comfy!
This dress fit very nicely, although it was a little shorter than I normally wear. The dress was comfortable to wear all night and was great for dancing. The only problem I had was someone at the event had on the exact same dress from RTR...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2012
My husband got a lot of "You definitely married up!" all night!
The dress fit great! I wish I had a smaller size, but I got another dress for another event and used my 2nd size with that one. I can see where everyone says they had issues with the length. I'm 5' and wore it with 3" heels, and it was the perfect length. The dress was comfortable and, with the weight of the material, it fell perfectly. Definitely recommend the right undergarments though because it will show everything if you don't. Got tons of compliments all night, and have yet to be disappointed with a dress from RTR!
KatherineApril 4, 2012
Love the photo! I'm on here trying to find a dress that will complement my husband's dress blues and this looks great. Thank you for posting the great photo and your review -- it really helps.
RTR CustomerNovember 10, 2012
I am also trying to find a dress for my husband's Battalion Ball, and want something that will look good but not be too fancy. You are about my size, and I love that you have a picture with him in his dress blues, as that is what my husband will be wearing. Thanks so much!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Overall great dress - very comfortable and easy to wear. Agree though with all comments about the length. I am 5'4", and the R touched the floor with no shoes on. As soon as I tried to wear any of my heels, the dress become too short. I ended up purchasing a dressy pair of flats, and then the length was fine. I'm wondering though if the long would be too long (without really high heels) though? Only other problem is the popularity of RTR - there was another woman wearing my dress at the event, and I saw another woman there in my backup dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 20, 2012
Awesome dress
i loved, loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it to a recent gala and received many compliments. My experience with rtr was flawless. The dress arrived exactly as promised. This was the easiest event to plan for and I had the best dress by far. Thank you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
April 1, 2012
I made it through the day!
I wore this dress at 34 weeks pregnant and felt fabulous. I'm usually a 4 but due to my bump I wore a 10L. An 8L would have fit better but the 8L was unavailable. I ordered the 8R as my backup and it fit great, except it was way too short! The 10L was just a hair long on me with kitten heels but overall I was happy with the fit and received lots of compliments. Best of all I was comfortable and I felt like the dark color helped me look smaller than I felt. The stretchy fabric was also a plus.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 2, 2012
Gorgeous Color
I rented this dress for an awards banquet and it was exquisite!! The color was a very pretty navy and the beading made the dress so beautiful. The dress does run true to size, HOWEVER, it is somewhat loose fitting in the bodice because of the type of fabric. So if you like things a little more form fitting I would recommend sizing down for your backup dress. If I do not wear something form fitting, I look large because I have large hips but a small waist. I rented the 4L and the length was great with 3 1/2" heels. Overall, I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2012
Wonderful 1st RTR experience!
Perfect fit! Got tons of compliments. I ordered the 4R but it was too tight in the bust (I'm a 32F) and too short. If I was any taller than 5'6" the 6R length might have been too short. The 6R was slightly snug in the bust. Material felt good- heavy and not cheap.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 4, 2012
Beautiful dress
This was my back up dress. I didn't end up wearing it although it is very beautiful. I'm a 10/12 (more 12) and I ordered it only in the 10. It was just a little tight on my arm / shoulder and too short. I should have ordered the long. Although I didn't wear it, I would order a size up and try again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2012
Very pretty and flattering
Due to a recent back injury, I wore small black patent leather wedge heels and the "regular" length was perfect. This is a great dress - unique but not super flashy. Perfect for a black tie wedding. Flattering even for those who are not stick thin (though, as others have said, definitely wear the right undergarments)! The placement of the strap actually allowed me to wear a convertible bra in the one-shoulder configuration, which added to the overall comfort immensely! The bust area is definitely the "limiting factor" for size considerations. Great dress - it's staying on my favorites list!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×