Patriotic Wonder Gown

$51 to buy
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2013
So classy and flattering! I hated to take it off!
This was a gorgeous dress. The beading detail was just enough sparkle, I just needed to add some understated earrings and the look was perfect. The dress is fully lined, which gives it nice structure (and doesn't show the outlines of your SPANX!). I ordered both regular and long lengths--I highly recommend ordering the long length. I am 5'3" and I could've worn the regular with flats. With a pair of stilettos, the long was perfect. The fabric feels great--a good weight but still comfortable and just the slightest bit of stretch. Overall, I was very happy with this dress and given the right event would definitely rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2013
Comfortable dress, simple and elegant
Really beautiful dress with nice material and beautiful detail. I wore this for the 2013 Inaugural ball and received many compliments. I possibly could have gone with a 6L - it wasn't really floor length and I'm only 5'3. Overall though really comfortable and elegant and very nice fit. Only issue I had was the side with the zipper at times dug into the area under my arm. If I had a little bit of Hollywood tape it probably would have prevented that.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
skip it!
while the jewel detail is pretty, this dress was VERY short- i am 5'8 and the dress came above my ankels. also the material is a stretch jersey- looks cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
Gorgeous, classic dress
Got a lot of compliments, the eye catching detail really makes the dress shine. A bit unforgiving of a fit, but still beautiful.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Body type: Pear
March 15, 2013
Felt like a queen in this dress!
The dress hangs beautifully, and the embellishments on the shoulder add just the right pizzazz without being over the top. Felt very comfortable without a bra, due to inside support. Was warm enough to wear in March in NY. Also hid well a small tummy bulge, with a spandex, of course. Would give it a 5 were it not quite a puzzle to figure out how to put it on. I will never forget what it feels like to wear a dress of this caliber.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved it- looked great- stretchy comfy fabric- Great to dance in!
Dress: Great fabric that was stretchy and not sheer at all. The once shoulder allowed me to not worry about the dress falling, while still showing back. It was a great dress to dance in, with the only issue being that it runs a little long so you have to pay attention to holding up the dress on stairs. Jewel detail wasn't my favorite (not really my style) but it was completely fine. Due to the slivering in the jewel color I had to avoid my typical gold jewelry which was slightly annoying. The dress highlights arms/shoulder, upper back, and flatters the stomach- especially if you have a big chest! Doesn't do much for the backside- so if you want to flaunt that- consider another choice! Fit: This dress made me look very thin as it does not hug my body too tight at all- lots of breathing room in the stomach area which I loved. The top area is obviously tighter and fit me well. Honestly with the stretch in the fabric I think it could fit anyone well! Like I said above, doesn't hug the backside area as much as it could- which is the typical trade off when stomach area isn't as close fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
Fantastic dress for a Derby formal
Fit me well in just the right places. The dress laid nicely without hugging my flaws. I was able to wear a strapless bra without it showing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
Looked great but runs a little short
Dress looked beautiful and fit great except for length. I'm 5'5" and ordered a regular length but should have ordered long. I wore small heels and the dress still looked a bit too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
GORGEOUS DRESS
I rented this as a backup dress for an Inaugural Ball and absolutely loved it. It's feminine, clingy in just the right places and is perfectly true to size. All that said, I was devastated when I realized the hem was completely messed up. It looked like it had been rented by someone who did at at-home hem job - the lining was longer than the dress and the dress was ankle length on one side and dragging the floor on the other. SUCH a bummer. But the RTR customer service was incredible - sending me another option overnight for no charge. I would definitely rent this dress again for another event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2013
I felt amazing in this dress and loved that there was a very small chance someone else would have it
Fit was perfect. I am fairly tall and I could have used it in a long, but unfortunately it wasn't available in that size when I needed it. It still worked though - just wore shorter heels! I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
July 1, 2013
Sadly, could not wear it
Unfortunately, I had to send this back. Would have been perfect, if it wasn't for the length. I'm 5'4" and it was still too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
August 6, 2013
Amazing dress! Classy, elegant, and with enough detail to add just the right amount of glamour.
This dress was really great! I rented it for a black tie wedding and it did not disappoint! The material is very comfortable, but I would recommend wearing a strapless bra and some version of Spanx or body contouring underwear because it is form fitting. I am 5'3 and the 4R length was perfect for a 3 inch heel, I didn't feel like I was going to trip over it at all. The asymetrical strap coupled with the way it splits in the back, left me feeling completely secure all night and I wasn't tugging at the top at all! Classy dress, would highly recommend!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 18, 2013
It's such a beautiful dress!
I thought the dress would be too long but it fit perfectly. It was just wonderful!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
August 25, 2013
the dress fit!
fit as described. could be considered a forgiving dress if you're not a "perfect" size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2013
love the shoulder detail
very comfortable. fits true to size.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 9, 2014
it as just so easy . i didnt have to do a lot of shopping.
my size is up and down and this was a perfect fit.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2014
I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras ball.
Perfect fit for this perfect dress on this perfect night!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2014
It was a great classy wear!
It was form fitting but comfortable.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2014
I needed a really nice formal dress for the Marine Corps Ball! Loved the fit and color
I definitely thought the dress was perfect for an event like this because it's classy but still equal sexy without showing TOO much skin. The dress is fitting but in all the right places.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 17, 2014
it was too short for me - i let someone borrow it
this was my back up dress - it was too short for me and i didn't think it had enough "wow" factor but i loaned it to a friend who is 5'6" and between a size 4-6. she really liked it. the detailing at the shoulder was v pretty (plan to wear your hair up to show it off)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 21, 2011
This was my backup and i'm so glad it was. Its perfect true to size. You wont be sorry if you rent this dress
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 22, 2011
I wore this to a black tie wedding and received a ton of compliments! This is true to size, but I would rent the longer dress if you're 5'5" and up and plan to wear heels.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Husband's company party--didn't know anyone but my dress looked good.
Very comfortable dress. The strap splits in the back and helps hold it up very well for those of us who have small chests. Shorter than shown in the picture. I wore the 4R and it was ankle length, not floor length. Looked great at ankle, but the image shows a floor length dress. Loved RTR--couldn't have been easier.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Classic and elegant
This dress worked out perfectly for the Navy ball I attended. It's a simple dress, but the jeweled shoulder really makes it special. I was lucky the 2R fit nicely because there weren't any other sizes availble for the date. Also, the length was just right with 3in heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2011
This dress is amazing. It's really comfortable and the jewel detail is beautiful. I actually found this dress on RTR's "bump friendly" page and wore it when I was 34 weeks pregnant to a wedding. Since this dress is made out of a jersey material I rented one size up from my regular size. The dress clung in all the right places and I received a lot of compliments. Made me feel stunning even in my super-rotund state of being. Oh, and I'm 5'2", so I loved that RTR had a petite size option to rent... the length was perfect with my 2" heels.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2011
This dress is great - it's fabulously comfortable, draped beautifully, and runs true to size. I'm of medium height (5'6'') and I wore this with big heels (4'') and I rented a long version, so I'd recommend doing this if you're tall or of medium height and planning to wear big shoes. The hook closure below the arm does scratch a little, so it may be worth using a little tape underneath the closure to make it more comfy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2011
I had the privilege of walking my daughter down the aisle on her wedding day. This dress looked amazing. Everone said I looked gorgeous in the dress. It was true to size, comfortable and the length was perfect. I don't think I could have found a better dress for me. The ease of renting and the help from their staff will make me a long time customer.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2011
I wore this dress to my senior prom and so many people were complimenting me that night! As simple as this dress it, it goes a long way. I wore 5 inch heels with this dress, so I got the long size according to my fit and it fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2011
Too short!
This is a beautiful dress that I wasn't able to wear because it was too short! I am 5' 5" and when I put on 3 inch heels, the bottom of the dress only fell at my ankles. Maybe it's just my own preference, but a floor-length gown should hit the floor! Good thing I ordered a second dress for $25!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2011
Just enough bling ...
Loved this dress. Wore it to a very formal black tie event. It was very comfortable -- the fabric has enough give to it and the arms were cut neither too low nor too high. I wish I had worn my hair up to give the beautiful beading on the shoulder the full effect. As other reviews have noted it is short. I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels, and the dress was easily 4" off the floor. I wish I had ordered the LONG version, but it was not so short as too be awkward. I am fairly large in the chest, and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2012
Debutante Ball
I wore this dress to a Debutante Ball and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments on the dress and fit. David Meister is one of my favorite designers and his dresses run true to size and fit well. I am 5'7" tall and on the slim side. Dress fit perfectly. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Length was too short
I am 5'9" and should have gotten the longer length! It hit me above my ankles. Overall beautiful color and stone work details. Too bad it was short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 28, 2012
too short
This was a great dress, but really short on me before I put heels on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
Should have gotten my normal size
Great top, great fit, didn't end up wearing it b/c of the hem at the bottom. The two layers are two different lengths. I couldn't tell from the photos.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
I received a ton of compliments on the dress and how I looked in it!
I would have liked for it to be a little longer since I wore it with 4" heels, but otherwise, I loved the dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 8, 2013
Wicked short
I rented this dress as a second dress for my winter dance.I rented it in a two regular and the dress was far to short on me. The beading was nice but I did not wind up wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
October 29, 2013
Loved the material
Beautiful dress, but way too short for me. I rented this as a back up dress and did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 29, 2013
Elegant and Comfortable!
Wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect - color, good fabric weight (not paper thin) and skimming fit made this a figure flattering choice. I had it on from about 4pm until 3am and was very comfy the whole night. The bling on the shoulder is just right - wore simple drop rhinestone earrings and a bracelet. I did need the longer size though. I'm 5'7.5" and wore heels about 3" high - the regular length was too short, so I was glad I grabbed the long as my backup size.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×