David Meister

Patriotic Wonder Gown

$51 to buy
$575 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this classic, embellished shoulder dress by David Meister to your black tie event! You'll look breathtaking!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline. Beaded embellishment on shoulder and on double back strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 70
Large 0
Photos 31
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Should have gotten my normal size

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great top, great fit, didn't end up wearing it b/c of the hem at the bottom. The two layers are two different lengths. I couldn't tell from the photos.
Tida
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 29, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My husband and I loved this beautiful dress. I felt amazing all night, not only in appearance but in comfort as will. I had so many wonderful comments about how beautiful I looked. The dress was longer than I thought it would be, but the image does show a floor length gown with some on the floor. I had to wear 6inch heeled sandal with 2 inch platform so the gown would not be pool of fabric on the floor.
lucy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

This dress was absolutely stunning. I got compliments all night long!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4R and 6R and ended up wearing the 4. I would have been fine with the 4L but actually enjoyed getting to show off my pretty shoes :)
PA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Sep 24, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable and looked very sleek and sophisticated on. Length was fine with 3.5 inch heels.
sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 13, 2012

Simple and elegant.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a ball. Definitely classier than most of the other dresses girls were wearing. It fit great but it is very form fitting so be sure to wear some spanx underneath!
CL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

too short

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress, but really short on me before I put heels on.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Clam Digging

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this with hopes to wear it to a wedding. I am 5'10" and I was excited to try this dress knowing it came in long. Even in the longer length, it didn't even make it to my ankles. The dress is beautifully made and fit me nicely aside of the length. All in all, a beautiful dress, just not long enough.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Length was too short

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9" and should have gotten the longer length! It hit me above my ankles. Overall beautiful color and stone work details. Too bad it was short!
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 25, 2012

Very pretty and flattering

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Due to a recent back injury, I wore small black patent leather wedge heels and the "regular" length was perfect. This is a great dress - unique but not super flashy. Perfect for a black tie wedding. Flattering even for those who are not stick thin (though, as others have said, definitely wear the right undergarments)! The placement of the strap actually allowed me to wear a convertible bra in the one-shoulder configuration, which added to the overall comfort immensely! The bust area is definitely the "limiting factor" for size considerations. Great dress - it's staying on my favorites list!
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
May 4, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress. I didn't end up wearing it although it is very beautiful. I'm a 10/12 (more 12) and I ordered it only in the 10. It was just a little tight on my arm / shoulder and too short. I should have ordered the long. Although I didn't wear it, I would order a size up and try again.
HKA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 2, 2012

Gorgeous Color

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an awards banquet and it was exquisite!! The color was a very pretty navy and the beading made the dress so beautiful. The dress does run true to size, HOWEVER, it is somewhat loose fitting in the bodice because of the type of fabric. So if you like things a little more form fitting I would recommend sizing down for your backup dress. If I do not wear something form fitting, I look large because I have large hips but a small waist. I rented the 4L and the length was great with 3 1/2" heels. Overall, I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
stephanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 20, 2012

Awesome dress

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i loved, loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it to a recent gala and received many compliments. My experience with rtr was flawless. The dress arrived exactly as promised. This was the easiest event to plan for and I had the best dress by far. Thank you.
EJ
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall great dress - very comfortable and easy to wear. Agree though with all comments about the length. I am 5'4", and the R touched the floor with no shoes on. As soon as I tried to wear any of my heels, the dress become too short. I ended up purchasing a dressy pair of flats, and then the length was fine. I'm wondering though if the long would be too long (without really high heels) though? Only other problem is the popularity of RTR - there was another woman wearing my dress at the event, and I saw another woman there in my backup dress!
Allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

Looks great and very comfy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit very nicely, although it was a little shorter than I normally wear. The dress was comfortable to wear all night and was great for dancing. The only problem I had was someone at the event had on the exact same dress from RTR...
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2012

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress ran true to size, but was really clingy. You need to wear the appropriate undergarments, because it shows every curve of your body. The material is heavy, and I kept having to pull it up (even though it had a strap). The sparkles are blue and clear, so silver shoes and jewelry would go well.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2012

Debutante Ball

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Debutante Ball and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments on the dress and fit. David Meister is one of my favorite designers and his dresses run true to size and fit well. I am 5'7" tall and on the slim side. Dress fit perfectly. Would rent again.
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

Perfect for a Military Ball

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is classy and beautiful. It fit true to size, and the length was just right in three inch heels for me (5'4)
Callie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 11, 2011

Amazing Dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to prom and loved it. It looked really great, I also wore the Badgley Mischka Falling Leaf earrings and the Chamak Balinese Bliss Bangle Set.
that girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 5, 2011

Just enough bling ...

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Wore it to a very formal black tie event. It was very comfortable -- the fabric has enough give to it and the arms were cut neither too low nor too high. I wish I had worn my hair up to give the beautiful beading on the shoulder the full effect. As other reviews have noted it is short. I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels, and the dress was easily 4" off the floor. I wish I had ordered the LONG version, but it was not so short as too be awkward. I am fairly large in the chest, and it fit perfectly.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 25, 2011

Too short!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress that I wasn't able to wear because it was too short! I am 5' 5" and when I put on 3 inch heels, the bottom of the dress only fell at my ankles. Maybe it's just my own preference, but a floor-length gown should hit the floor! Good thing I ordered a second dress for $25!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Nov 21, 2011

Even better in person

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had second thoughts after I ordered this dress, thinking it might not be nice enough for my event. It was stunning in person! Great dark blue color, which I paired with pewter/dark silver 3" heels. Wore the 2R as the 4R was a little loose and notably longer. Fabric is slinky, so choose undergarments carefully, and tape down the garment straps. Will likely rent this again.
Kimberly333
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Oct 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved wearing this dress! It's gorgeous, flattering, and very comfortable. I didn't realize the dress is navy, not black, which turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Recevied many complements from people I didn't even know. I ordered both the regular and the longer length and could have worn either with my 4 in heels.
Maya
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Runs true to size, size six fit like a glove but comfortably stretched and moved. But still too short! I am just shy of 5'8'' and the size long was several inches off of the ground in my two inch heels, this was very disappointing. If you're my height, I would ask if they could do an even longer size? Or wear kitten heels.
LC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Sep 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my senior prom and so many people were complimenting me that night! As simple as this dress it, it goes a long way. I wore 5 inch heels with this dress, so I got the long size according to my fit and it fit perfectly!
Pat
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is spectacular! Looks better than the picture. I got it in a regular size and wished it was just a little bit longer. I am 5'6 and wore 2 inch heels and I could see my heels. I actually had gotten this dress as my backup and ended up wearing this instead. Got alot of compliments and the dress is very dark. Overal= great!:)
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was beautiful but TOO short for anyone who is 5'8" and taller. I ordered the 8L and it fit perfectly except in height. I only wore two inch heels and you could almost see my ankles!
G
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress as my 'back up' dress and truly loved it! The picture online doesn't give this dress any justice. I have an hour glass figure in a size 12 and this dress looked gorgeous on me and the fit was amazing! I can't say enough about this gown, the jewel details are stunning. I was complimented all night on the gown. I wish that more engagements to attend because I would have bought this gown outright. I wore it with simple earrings and silver shoes. For anyone looking for an evening gown, this dress is it!
aLEX
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I can wear anything from a size 4 to a size 8 depending on the designer. The 6 just fit. The dress although I ordered the long came to my ankle. I was able to wear it with really high heels and it just looked like I had the dress shortened so I could dance. It is a very beautiful dress
karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I had the privilege of walking my daughter down the aisle on her wedding day. This dress looked amazing. Everone said I looked gorgeous in the dress. It was true to size, comfortable and the length was perfect. I don't think I could have found a better dress for me. The ease of renting and the help from their staff will make me a long time customer.
Phoebe
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is really pretty, but very short! I ordered a 4L and a 2L- the 2L fit great in everything but length. I'm just under 5'8" and the dress barely grazed the ground with NO shoes. By the time I put on two inch heels it was a good 2-3 inches off the ground- too awkward to wear, so I'm sending it back.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a black tie wedding and received a ton of compliments! This is true to size, but I would rent the longer dress if you're 5'5" and up and plan to wear heels.
tb
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Jun 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this in the regular size and it just hit the floor without heels, long would have been way too long! loved the color and one shoulder. easy to move in. i wore it to prom and everyone had big poofy dresses so i could move easily in it. lightweight. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!
Sagentus
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
Jun 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this one for my daughter's senior prom. Jaws dropped - it is such a sophisticated and gorgeous dress! It clings in all the right places. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. My daughter is 5'7" and wore a 3" heel and the 2L was perfect!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got this dress as a back-up to a slinkier option. I ended up wearing it as it is a forgiving dress and that day I needed one. It is still a stunner, and I still got many many compliments even though technically it was my fail-safe. It isn't the most stand-outish dress there is but it does the job. I would get it as a back up again.
Juno
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is great - it's fabulously comfortable, draped beautifully, and runs true to size. I'm of medium height (5'6'') and I wore this with big heels (4'') and I rented a long version, so I'd recommend doing this if you're tall or of medium height and planning to wear big shoes. The hook closure below the arm does scratch a little, so it may be worth using a little tape underneath the closure to make it more comfy.
RTRlove
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Apr 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing. It's really comfortable and the jewel detail is beautiful. I actually found this dress on RTR's "bump friendly" page and wore it when I was 34 weeks pregnant to a wedding. Since this dress is made out of a jersey material I rented one size up from my regular size. The dress clung in all the right places and I received a lot of compliments. Made me feel stunning even in my super-rotund state of being. Oh, and I'm 5'2", so I loved that RTR had a petite size option to rent... the length was perfect with my 2" heels.
New York Aussie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a black-tie Broadway opening and it couldn't have been more perfect. Several guests at the after party commented on how "elegant" and "stunning" the dress is and they were complete strangers! I loved it and would definitely rent it again. Worth noting too that I am the same coloring as the model wearing in the photo. A great color for pale-skinned blonds.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my backup and i'm so glad it was. Its perfect true to size. You wont be sorry if you rent this dress
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×