Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
272 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(232)
Small
(31)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2011
Beautiful dress! I am a bigger size (ordered a 12) and felt a little shapeless since the bottom goes straight down instead of a more fitted look below the hips. If I would have been a couple sizes smaller, I would have loved it! Waist is very flattering if that is your problem area.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Pear
March 28, 2011
Very flattering. Hung very nicely. Love the detail around the waist. The zipper was very hard to zip up on both sizes I ordered, actually impossible on the size 4. I ended up wearing the 6 which I believe fit me better anyway. And the slip was a little long in the front on the 6.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 1, 2011
This dress is beautiful! In person, it is much darker and looks very sexy! The slip looked more like a rich gold underneath black and was stunning. When I tried it on it did not make me look much older, but looked like anyone, oung or older, could wear it and looked sexy. I ordered this as my backup prom dress but ended up wearing the Silver Lining gown instead.The zipper was almost impossible to zip though because all the fabric gathers at the seam of the zipper so it would get stuck A LOT! Definitely need someone to help you get it on and off. Overall, I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2011
This gown is stunning in person, but sadly I didn't get to wear it because the zipper was sticking and I couldn't get it to zip all the way. It fit beautifully everywhere, but would not zip. Only complaint besides the zipper was that the armholes are rather small. They fit, but would have been more comfortable if they were a little looser. Sad that I didn't get to wear this gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2011
This was my first first experience with RTR and I will definitely be using it again!
Great dress! Depending on the occasion that you are renting this dress for, it's a little heavy and there's extra material where that little waterfall-looking-thing on the side is. Also, the arm hole is a bit tight and you may be adjusting yourself throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 6, 2011
This was my 2nd option for prom and I ended up wearing the other dress. I am smaller on top with some hips and this dress did not flatter! I really wanted it to work and it looked like it would work nicely but the fit was strange on my body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
June 16, 2011
I love this dress! I fit into the 4L, but it was very snug under the arm. The 2L was too small and I couldn't zip it up for anything.. even with my husband helping. I think it was more a design flaw them me after looking at the other reviews. I put pear shaped b/c I have very little in the boob department and this dress looked very nice on. I loved that it was very forgiving for any belly, butt and leg flaws. I didn't wear this dress b/c I went for the Robert Rodriguez Bejeweled Beauty Gown. The decision was based on my very dramatic makeup.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
June 28, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. According to the size chart I am a two in the waist, a two in the hips and a six in the chest so I thought for sure the dress would fit funny. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and they, surprisingly, both fit. I went with the four because it was shorter but- as expected- I had to wear jumbo heels with the dress in order to not look stout. When I took the shoes off at prom, the length actually wasn't a hassle- th dress was comfortable and flatterring. Love the dress, fit was okay, zipper was sort of difficult but no big deal for me (I could even zip it on my own). One last thing- the color underneath is a champaign-meets-ivory, not gold as someone else explained.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2011
I thought that the dress fit very nicely and was extremely comfortable to wear. My only complaint was that the color was black lace over a nude underlay and didnt look as gunmetal in person
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it as a bridesmaid for my friend's wedding and it was stunning. It was very light and comfortable (this zipper is tricky), but overall comfortable, fun, and elegant.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2011
I ordered the 2R & 4R. The 2 was too tight, and the length on both too short. The 4R zipper would not zip up, so when I called the girl I spoke to was so helpful and they overnighted another dress to me in the morning. I was very impressed with the helpfulness. I am exactly 5'6" and definitely needed the long length. The dress itself is beautiful, much prettier in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 3, 2011
I got this dress for a "black tie optional" wedding and it was foras perfect. The fit was overall very flattering and was just the right amount of fancy. I wanted to wear this dress with flat sandals and the long was the perfect length for me
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2011
Really pretty dress. I did not wear it but I would rent again for an event. I am 5' 5" and usually wear a 4 in evening dresses. The 4 fit but the zipper issues mentioned earlier made it too hard to zip. The 6 fit fine as well and was a little easier to zip so I took that to the event with me. I loved that this dress was a little on the edgy side and you could make it look really current. It was very comfortable. I will rent this dress for my next formal occassion.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2011
I rented this dress for a recent black tie wedding. True to size, I'm 5'6" and length was perfect in 3" heels with the "long" length. Received many compliments on the dress, would recommend to anyone!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 24, 2011
Great dress, very glamorous. My date's first words upon seeing me were, "wow. wow." I usually wear an 8 and the 8L fit like a glove. I'm broad-shouldered and this style looked just right. In 2" heels the dress skimmed the floor without dragging. With my fair complexion, this black-on-pink was more flattering than a pure black dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2011
This dress was sexy and sophisticated! It fit me perfectly and I danced the night away! It was our first night out on the town since my husband returned from a one year deployment to Afghanistan...thank you for making my night perfect!!
I loved this dress! I think for the most part this dress runs "true to size". I rented this in 6R with the 4R as a backup. I went with the 4R mainly because the 6R was just too big through the hips and hung too low under the arm (you could see the strapless bra. That being said, the 4R fit perfectly with the exception of the bust area. I could not wear a strapless bra with it. I would also have to agree with an earlier comment about the dress being more of a gold underneath. If you look at the lining on its own, it's a champagne/taupe color, but seeing it with the black burnout definitely more of a gold. Also the black fabric has a little gold sparkel to it. The pics on here do not do this gown justice! I went with a low (2 inch) heel on the recommendation of the fit specialist and the dress swept the floor perfectly! I also agree with the previous comments regarding the tricky zipper. My husband had to help, but it was not impossible. Thank you RTR for making my first rental an amazing experience! I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2011
This was supposed to be my back up dress but I ended up wearing it instead of my original choice. It is very flattering and a good length. Looks good when you walk because it has the flow and extra material at the bottom. It is stretchy so it adjusts nicely to curves. I could have worn both the 4 or the 6, it is a very forgiving dress. Makes your waist took super tiny with your spanx on!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2011
This dress had me at hello...and I fell in love with RTR...
Fit pretty true to size, and I have a hard time finding dresses that are flattering for a curvy body type. A lot of reviews I have read complain about the zipper being tricky, catching on the overlayer. I don't think I could have zipped it while wearing it by myself, but if you have someone to help you, it works fine. It was beautiful! I am 5'8 and wore 3" heels, and still had to hold up one side while walking quickly, so the long size is definitely long.
AnneDecember 28, 2011
as a "gifted" woman in the bust myself, did you go up a size to accommodate them ?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 14, 2011
Felt like a movie star
Zipper is tricky and it looks MUCH better in person than in pictures. Fantastic fit and great if you have an athletic build.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2011
I loved getting all of the compliments on my dress. I was told I looked beautiful by people I didn't even know! Best night ever!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's Marine Corp's Ball and it was perfect. I got so many compliments on it. I have a small waist and somewhat curvier hips, and this fit like a glove. I'm also about 5'10, so the Long length was perfect for me. If you have a curvier tummy, I would definitely invest in some shapewear, but the rouching is very forgiving. Overall a beautiful dress and a perfect fit -- I couldn't be happier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 5, 2011
Best Dress Ever!!!
I actually switched my "backup" dress to this gown, and wow, the minute I put it on I felt like royalty. I wore it to a formal wedding in Chicago and got tons of compliments. More important, I felt like a million bucks wearing this gown - it hugs in all the right places without being too tight in the hip and bust area - and makes you look fab! One caveat, I would recommend wearing at least 3.5" heels with this if you are 5'4" or under. I am about 5'4" with 4" heels and it was just above touching the ground, perfect length, however with shorter heels I would have been stepping on the hem. Overall, loved this dress and I will hopefully ordering it again soon!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2011
lots of compliments!!!
I am 5'61/4" and have some curves. I ordered the 6 and the 8 for backup and the 6 fit perfectly! (If I was larger than a C in the bust, the top would have been too tight) However, I did order the LONG since I thought the reviews talked about it being short. The long was really long. However, I had some 4 1/2" heels so at least most of the dress didn't drag the floor. The extra material on the right side was pretty and I could hold it up while walking. I wore this for a black tie event and received many compliments on how beautiful it was. I was delighted with the quality of the material as it was heavy enough that I was never cold, but no too heavy so I didn't get hot while dancing. I wore black velvet gloves and a mink stole when I was outside and really enjoyed the experience. I willl be "renting the runway" again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 7, 2011
Beautiful style, but small
I should have gone a size up on this, because this did not fit. Drape on the dress was very nice, however, and perhaps I'll give it a try again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2011
Comfortable elegance
I am 5'4" and 120 lbs. ... slender waist, decent chest, short torso ... and I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses. This 4R fit wonderfully (over spanx), and with 2.5-inch heels, it was the perfect length. The lining is wonderfully comfortable, brushes your legs and just feels rich. I felt very elegant and got lots of compliments! I read some complaints about the zipper ... even if the dress isn't tight, it's just helpful to have another person hold the two sides together while you pull.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 173lbs
January 21, 2012
Pretty but unflattering
This dress fit perfectly (as a busty woman, I was concerned it wouldn't.) However, the ruching across the stomach highlighted the stomach instead of concealing it, which made me look frumpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2012
Back up dress
Rented this dress as my backup dress to another David Meister gown...good thing I didn't need it since both the 6L and 8L were too short for me with heels on...this dress also runs a bit small, especially through the chest. Pretty dress, but just not up to par.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2012
Subtly Beautiful
This dress was so pretty on! And it was brand new, as I got to cut the tags off! There's actually two layers to the dress: a nude layer, topped with a sheer black that has faint hints of metallic thread peeking out. It was very subtle but gorgeous. The material was soft and I was comfortable all night, but it was very long. (I am 5'5 and wore 4" heels and there was still a teensy bit of draping. It looked great, but I just had to pay attention and make sure I was lifting the skirt for walking or dancing.) I would recommend ordering a size up if you are hourglass or pear-shaped like me, since the larger size was much more flattering through the hips and thighs. I was sad to send this one back!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
February 15, 2012
Flattering.
It bunches up so nicely and is pretty flattering. It's a nice heavy dress of good quality. Did not end up wearing because it was a bit too short, but most dresses are too short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2012
Gorgeous and Comfy!
This was my first RTW experience and definitely won't be my last. I couldn't have been happier with the fit and I received many compliments throughout the night. I wore 3.5" heels and the length was perfect. Thank you for such a seamless rental experience!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. It arrived on time and fit me exactly as I had hoped. It looked so incredibly gorgeous on me and I received a great deal of compliments throughout the evening. Definitely worth renting.
WhitneyMarch 5, 2012
would you mind posting a picture? It sounds like we have the same body type, and i would love to see what it would look like!!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2012
Everything about rtr was amazing. It was such a cool experience to be able to wear gowns that most women only dream about!
This dress was not only stunning, it was comfortable! I feel like it fit perfectly and I got quite a few compliments. My husband's comment was that I was the "belle of the ball" and I sure felt like it. It was worn to a black tie charity event and it was perfect for my age and the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2012
All 3 of the women in our group told me they wished they had worn a full length dress after they saw mine!
I wore this dress to a black tie event and received compliments from all of the other women at our table. The gathering in the bodice and at the waist make the dress both flattering and interesting. I am 5'8" and the 8 regular in this dress fit me perfectly, possibly because I have a long torso and relatively short legs. This was my first experience with RtR, and I'll definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 19, 2012
Officiated wedding in style
I had a wardrobe change during event, this dress was fabulous. Comfortable, so pretty. Everyone commented on it. Accomodated my breasts.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
April 24, 2012
I loved RTR! I was a first timer- and it worked like a charm and I looked fabulous to boot! :)
I really enjoyed wearing this dress! I felt completely gorgeous and also very appropriate for the Military Ball I went to! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
April 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, fit perfectly
I wore this dress in the 6R and it was perfect. I ordered the 8R just in case and while it was a tad bigger, the 6 fit better in the top. Got tons of compliments and the pics were great. It was my first RTRW dress and I'll definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2012
This dress is elegant and makes people do a double-take!
I received so many compliments, and a few curious looks from people who couldn't tell if the dress was sheer or not. It was the perfect dress for a black tie event. The material underneath is pretty heavy but I loved it overall. It seemed to run small and I had to wear the extra size I ordered.
AdrienneSeptember 3, 2012
At 5'7 125, with 3 inch heals would you recommend Long or regular?
RTRSeptember 4, 2012
Hi Adrienne! We recommend getting the long length if you are 5'7 and plan to wear 3 inch heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2012
Great Dress!
Perfect dress for a black tie event. I was worried about the length being too short, but the long length was perfect with heels. Very comfortable. Received lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable dress
I agree with the other reviews that addressed bust size. I am a 32-34C, any larger and I would have had to size up in the dress. I was not uncomfortable though. Also, the dress does have plenty of give in the midsection. The way the fabric collects on the side of the dress hides any bulge/bump a woman may have. This was great for me since I was 4 1/2 months pregnant at my event. Overall, great classy dress. Length was also good for my height, and I wore 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 21, 2012
Amazing!
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved it!! I got a ton of compliments. It fit my body perfectly and the length was just right with my high heels. The arm hole was a little tight as others mentioned but it didn't bother me much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 22, 2012
My first time using RTR. The experience was so easy - a great solution!
The ruching on this dress makes it extremely flattering. I ordered up a size based on reviews of tight bust and hips, but found the material to be much more comfortable and accomodating than described - the nude lining has some stretch while the outer black burnout does not. This is an easy, classic, and flattering dress to wear. Order without worry!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×