David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
273 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(233)
Small
(31)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
November 23, 2014
Loved every moment in it!!!
Rented for a masquerade gala, got so many compliments. The dress fit perfectly, perfect length, perfect everything! I've become a complete fan of RTR...thank you!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
December 15, 2014
Fit like a glove! Lots of people loved the gown!
Great fit & the material feels great. Perfect for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 16, 2015
I looked like a million bucks!
This dress fit perfectly. It was a little long, but the heels I had made it so that I didn't have to hold it all night. It hugged in all the right places. It was not too showy, so I felt like a princess, but not a showgirl.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
This dress made me feel gorgeous!!!
I LOVED wearing this dress! I wore it to my best friends wedding, where I did the ceremony. I wore Spanx underneath, and combined with the dress having a tight waist, it hugged my curves, and made me feel, and look, amazing!!! I highly recommend renting this dress!! I wore 4 inch heels, and it fell perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2015
Really comfy and fabulous dress... But doesn't photograph well!
This dress fit so well and was comfortable and great to dance in. The problem I has was looking at the pics afterward! The black sheer material bunched over the natural fabric underneath makes for a not so flattering appearance of rolls, unfortunately!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress. it was my back up.
The part that covers your chest is wider than i imagined so it covered my chest completely. this made me look matronly and i did not like it,
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2012
Loved this dress, compliments gallore!
Went one size smaller for my second choice and was glad I did. The 4 fit perfectly. Loved wearing it to the company Christmas party.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2015
Fabulous dress! Great fit!!!
Absolutely beautiful dress! Very slimming. Material is very comfortable.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 151lbs
October 20, 2012
Many compliments on dress
I ordered a long but probably could do with regular . The dress was comfortable and fun to wear. Forgiving for all body shapes
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 7, 2011
Beautiful style, but small
I should have gone a size up on this, because this did not fit. Drape on the dress was very nice, however, and perhaps I'll give it a try again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2012
Back up dress
Rented this dress as my backup dress to another David Meister gown...good thing I didn't need it since both the 6L and 8L were too short for me with heels on...this dress also runs a bit small, especially through the chest. Pretty dress, but just not up to par.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2012
This dress is elegant and makes people do a double-take!
I received so many compliments, and a few curious looks from people who couldn't tell if the dress was sheer or not. It was the perfect dress for a black tie event. The material underneath is pretty heavy but I loved it overall. It seemed to run small and I had to wear the extra size I ordered.
AdrienneSeptember 3, 2012
At 5'7 125, with 3 inch heals would you recommend Long or regular?
RTRSeptember 4, 2012
Hi Adrienne! We recommend getting the long length if you are 5'7 and plan to wear 3 inch heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2012
Loved the dress!
I got so many compliments in this dress! I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was too tight...glad I also got the 6. I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Tight in chest
I wear a 34D bra and couldn't zip the 4 over my chest even without a strapless bra, but the 6 was huge in the waist/in general and looked like a bag on me. I immediately returned the dresses for the "neither fits" refund and was very happy with that aspect of the RTR service even if I was disappointed the dress didn't work out. The black overlay is beautiful in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes
Beautiful dress, and flattering for straighter body shapes. I wore to a black tie event and it was just the right level of formal. I have a smaller chest, but the top was tight - I would suggest a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2012
Gorgeous dress, but didn't fit:(
Unfortunately, the dress was just too tight, and since I didn't order an extra size (I won't make THAT mistake again!) I couldn't wear it for the wedding I'd rented it for. But that's ok, because I have two more dresses coming for my boyfriend's graduation!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2013
Lovely dress
I typically wear a size 10 or 12. In this dress, the 12 was the one that fit, which led to my fit rating above. Despite the ruching, the midsection on this dress is pretty unforgiving, so apple figures -- beware! I'm tall at 5'10", and the long size was just barely long enough, grazing the floor in bare feet. I ended up wearing my alternate sequined dress rather than this one since I was going for a little more bling, but this one would definitely have worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 4, 2013
I did not wear this dress, but I did love the one I rented and wore
I did not wear this dress, it was too tight and just did not fit my proportions well at all - I returned it unworn (luckily I also ordered another dress as back up)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2013
Great dress for a great night
I wore this to the Gala event for my job for which I was Mistress of Ceremonies. I got tons of compliments and felt like a star. Dress was very comfortable to wear. The size 4 fit but given all I had to do for the evening (including a sprint back to the car a few blocks away) I'm glad I went with he backup dress a size up. Length was perfect! Thanks RTR!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2013
Not for "Busty" types
I ordered this dress in a 4 and 6, the 6 fit but just was not flattering. The zipper was sticky hard to zip up. I'm 5'5 120lbs 34D and had a hard time fitting my chest into the 4 so went with the 6. Then the rest of the dress didn't hug right. Ended up not wearing this dress and went with my back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 9, 2013
It gave the evening a sense of classic Hollywood glamor. Here's my close up!
Love the black lace and the fit. This gown reveals all, so Pilates (or Spanx) is my friend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
May 23, 2013
wonderful to have a back up dress ...never pass on that
such a comfortable dress... wore it to a black tie auto show charity... more nude unlerlay shows than pic... felt classy and sexy in this. ran small around rib cage... i have a 32 DD bust..... so had to go up to 6.... normally would wear a 4.. super light and comfy.... just fun earrings .... bracelets and a great clutch... loved it
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 23, 2013
This dress saved me from having to spend big $$$ to get the quality :) Thanks so mush for saving me
I wore this dress to a black tie affair on the water. It was very pretty, very snug on the top. Im big chested and this dress said it was good for large chest and still thought it was snug. But overall it was super pretty and flowing. I had three inch heals on and it was dragging a bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2013
Very pretty in person
I liked this dress a lot in person. In photos, I didn't find it as flattering. But a very nice, quality dress. Was pretty tight in the chest.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2013
Beautiful dress, runs small and a bit short
I wore this dress to a military ball, and it was gorgeous. I ordered the 2R and the 4R, and I could have worn either one because the 2R was tight-fitting and the 4R skimmed my body in a very flattering way. Like other reviews have said, it is a bit short, I had to wear very low heels and the dress barely touched the ground. If you're about my height and are comfortable wearing taller heels, I would recommend the long sizes so you have more options.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
Beautiful dress...and this was the backup!
I got this dress because the one that I wanted wasn't available in my back up size. So I chose this as my alternative and glad that did. The dress fit well. I am very curvy. It wasn't too short which is a problem for me especially once I put on heels. It's a formal dress but very comfortable. Love this service!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 9, 2014
Pretty Dress - - But Others Fit Better
I did not end up wearing this dress. It was my first choice, and I had it delivered in two sizes - 12R and 14L. The 14L would have worked perfectly with spanx - - I felt like it really emphasized my lower belly due to the gathering. It was a gorgeous dress, but I just didn't feel comfortable highlighting that area. I will add that the neckline was exquisite… loved that.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 14, 2014
I thought it ran small. It was very tight around my rib cage, but a beautiful dress.
small around rib cage, fabric not forgiving or stretchy at all - this was my back up dress which I didnt wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 24, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it - wore my backup
I was so focused on finding a dress that other larger chested women had reviewed highly, I didn't look for how it fit on the butt! It was VERY tight through my butt!! It showed everything - so I ended up wearing the back up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183lbs
July 5, 2014
Too formal for my event
Rent the runway sent this dress to me as a backup to another dress I had ordered that wasn't available. Amazing customer service! However, not a flattering dress for the curvy gal. This also was too tight around my bust. Ended up not fitting and being too formal for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 2, 2015
Very pretty and very comfortable dress
I ordered a 12L and 14L for backup size. The 12L fit OK but was tight over my bust (size 40 F). The 14L felt like it had been made for me. The bodice was fitted and very supportive. My 3 inch heels brought my height to 5'9" and the length was perfect, with the hem just barely grazing the ground. I walked around all night without any fear of either myself or someone else stepping on the dress. This was my first RTR experience, and I highly recommend it. Everything arrived in great condition.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2012
Fab dress! Got tons of compliments and I felt so pretty all night long.
I am 5'10". This dress runs small in the bust. I wear a 10 but couldn't get the 10L to zip with or without the bra on so had to wear the 12L. Other than that it was the most comfortable dress I have ever worn and it was so soft to the touch. I recommend this one 100%.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 15, 2013
Very Elegant Dress
Very elegant dress, it was a few inches too short so I would get it a little longer than you might need. Its better to tape it if its too long than it be too short. Overall it was very easy to walk in and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
May 16, 2014
Very comfortable and forgiving! Runs short though - 5'6" and taller get the long!
Wore it to gala, was the perfect amount of class. Very easy to pair jewelry with because of the nude tones. Just careful on the length, check other reviews and compare - I'm 5'6" and wore three inch heals and needed the long. Otherwise loved the dress. Also RTR's customer service was fantastic, very accommodating!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2012
Everyone else had on short dresses and I felt that this was a ball gown for the black tie wedding!
I loved this dress and it wasn't too sheer which was nice for a formal black tie wedding.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 67
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress was my first choice. Count not wear it (12R); runs very small.
Beautifu dress, but not suited for my body frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 18, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it.
It was a great dress, but not for those of us with a short torso. I ended up not wearing it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
Great service when I needed to return the dress.
Beautiful dress but it was much too tight around my chest (34C) and the ruching around the stomach makes you look larger than you are. I am 5'9" and it was borderline too short with 2.5 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
Looked like a star
Loved the fit of the dress - flatters any figure. Only problem is that with the lace overlay - it can photograph a little too sexy where the nude part underneath shows quite a bit. Other than that it's one of my favorite RTR dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2013
Backup dress, but it didn't fit.
I usually wear an 8 for David Meister, but this one was just too small. I don't think it's for us ladies who are have a bit more on the bottom. In the picture of the model the draping of the fabric adds a bit more hip than I cared to have. It's a beautiful dress, just not for me.
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×