David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
272 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(232)
Small
(31)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
May 2, 2013
Great Dress
This was my first time using RTR and I was very impressed. I am 5'7 128 lbs and the 4L fit perfectly. I wore 3 inch heels. The first 4L sent actually had a hole in it-- I 'chatted' with a RTR person online and they over nighted another 4L by 12noon the next day! The dress is actually prettier in person, the photos dont' really do it justice. Only thing I would like to mention is that the arm hole is somewhat small and by the end of night was bothering me..and I don't have particularly large arms/shoulders.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2013
Belle of the Ball
Its a very comfortable and amazing dress. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because the dress I received had a hole in. Luckily, I was able to tape it so it didn't look so obvious. But, otherwise, it was an amazing dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 18, 2013
It fit like a glove, and made me feel absolutely stunning!
It was super comfortable and easy to move in. I needed to wear about 4" heels so the bottom didn't drag, but that wasn't really a problem. It fit my waistline nicely without being too form-fitting. It was perfect for my body.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Amazing Dress!!
This dress fit perfectly and it was super comfortable, I got a lot of compliments on it when I wore it for my cousin's engagement party. I definitely would recommend this dress to my friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
May 23, 2013
wonderful to have a back up dress ...never pass on that
such a comfortable dress... wore it to a black tie auto show charity... more nude unlerlay shows than pic... felt classy and sexy in this. ran small around rib cage... i have a 32 DD bust..... so had to go up to 6.... normally would wear a 4.. super light and comfy.... just fun earrings .... bracelets and a great clutch... loved it
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
Most comfortable gown I've ever worn in my life!
This dress was awesome! I tried it on when I was feeling bloated two days earlier so I actually went with the size 8L. I could have definitely worn the 6L though on the day of the wedding because it was super roomy so I would say it's true to size. If you have a bigger chest than C/small D though, definitely size up. I could ALMOST get away without wearing a bra with this too although it hid a strapless quite nicely. It also gave the illusion of a slight curve around my waist even though I have absolutely NO hips to speak of. I'm 5'7 and was wearing 3 inch heels and the dress was hitting the ground perfectly. I got literally millions of compliments with this dress and I'd wear it again in a heartbeat! The one negative I'd say was after a while my arm started to get a little red underneath hitting the fabric on the side with the strap but it wasn't a big deal. Dress was clean and came on time. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2013
fit and travelled well
I had to take the dress on a plane, and it travelled great! No wrinkles and the fabric is so comfortable. Plus, I got tons of complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2013
I felt perfect in this dress
This dress is gorgeous. I was worried about the length as I am 6'0". In flats, it was about 1/2 an inch off the floor so I did have to run out and buy shoes that matched the dress better as they were visible. It was completely worth it, this dress was so elegant and figure flattering. I received compliments throughout the evening. It felt wonderful to wear, and I had fun dancing on all night in it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
June 20, 2013
Loved the cut!! Beautiful dress :)
The dress is pretty fitting across the chest and around the waist but is roomy starting at the hips. Enjoy the single shoulder strap :)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 26, 2013
I got the best complaints on this dress. Wore it to a marine core ball, the dress was perfect!
I did wear spanx with the dress because it was form fitting, but the fit was great! It was also really comfortable dress, nothing was poking me and I did not need to pull the dress up cause it was falling down, cause it wasnt. I highly recommend this dress, its great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 23, 2013
This dress saved me from having to spend big $$$ to get the quality :) Thanks so mush for saving me
I wore this dress to a black tie affair on the water. It was very pretty, very snug on the top. Im big chested and this dress said it was good for large chest and still thought it was snug. But overall it was super pretty and flowing. I had three inch heals on and it was dragging a bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2013
Sexy and comfortable dress for formal wedding
Loved this dress! Very flattering fit because of the rouching. It fit over my bust (30F) but still hugged my waist and hips. Felt very sexy but still appropriate to wear to a wedding or other formal event. It's very lightweight so it was comfortable to dance in all night! By the end of the night the shoulder was starting to feel a little tight and I kept tugging on it, but not enough to really bother me.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2013
I wore this for the Marine Formal Ball. Great dress. Appropriate.
The dress was super comfortable. It was true to size though I think I could have gone one size smaller since it fit just perfectly but it could have been a bit more snug. The length was great- I'm about 5'7"- though when I walked up stairs, I did have to pick it up. The bustle on the right side of the dress fell in the exact right spot. I am curvy so I didn't want something that would accentuate my hips but would hug them in the right places- this dress did that beautifully. The color was wonderful- I got a lot of compliments that night. And it was very appropriate for the event since many women there were not appropriately attired, All in all, the dress was functional, comfortable, and looked great on! Very happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress is very elegant, form-fitting yet comfortable. I felt very glamorous in it and received many compliments. The nude underlay adds a touch of sexy while maintaining a classy attitude. Just perfect. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2013
Made me feel so skinny!!
Beautiful, understated, elegant - perfect for the concert I was performing at
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
October 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, received so many compliments. I'm pretty tall, and wore heels, still long enough.
This dress was amazing. I'm 5'10 and wore 3 inch heels, and this dress was still long enough. It did get caught a few times on my stilettos though. The bust was a little loose, but i'm only a B cup. My poor boyfriend felt left behind with as many compliments as i received!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 11, 2013
The dress was way too long, so I didn't end up wearing it.
I was so excited to get my dress, and read all the reviews from other women my height. No one said anything about the dress being too long, but it was for me. Even with 4 inch heels, it dragged on the floor and I was afraid I'd trip on it. Because of the lace overlay, I couldn't even tape the hem and make do. Doubling up the lace was too obvious! Oh well. I didn't get to wear the dress but at least had a back up option in my closet. I will try again in the future, but with a cocktail length dress, never again with a floor length one.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
October 22, 2013
Perfection!
I wore this dress for a charity gala. The dress fit perfectly and very true to size. I usually have issues with the bust area of dresses but I did not have that issue with this dress. It was very comfortable and elegant. I would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2013
Very pretty in person
I liked this dress a lot in person. In photos, I didn't find it as flattering. But a very nice, quality dress. Was pretty tight in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
October 28, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress was great! With heels, the dress was the perfect length, I didn't trip and was able to walk around with no issues! I was getting compliments all night about how gorgeous and flattering the dress was. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2013
Perfect fit and length - this dress made me feel pretty!
I was nervous, since this was the first time that I'd used RTR, but they didn't disappoint! I didn't have to even open the back up dress, as the dress fit perfect. I received many compliments and will definitely use RTR for my work holiday party!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2013
Beautiful dress, runs small and a bit short
I wore this dress to a military ball, and it was gorgeous. I ordered the 2R and the 4R, and I could have worn either one because the 2R was tight-fitting and the 4R skimmed my body in a very flattering way. Like other reviews have said, it is a bit short, I had to wear very low heels and the dress barely touched the ground. If you're about my height and are comfortable wearing taller heels, I would recommend the long sizes so you have more options.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
Beautiful dress...and this was the backup!
I got this dress because the one that I wanted wasn't available in my back up size. So I chose this as my alternative and glad that did. The dress fit well. I am very curvy. It wasn't too short which is a problem for me especially once I put on heels. It's a formal dress but very comfortable. Love this service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2014
Amazing!
I was amazingly impressed with my first experience with RTR. I originally ordered a short dress but decided a few weeks before that I wanted a long dress. There wasn't an issue at all when I called to switch. When the dresses arrived they were clean and ready to go. Both the 2R and 4R fit. But, the 2 fit a bit tighter-which I liked. The arm holes are small! I was worried about it but my arms were unaffected. The dress was a bit shorter than I would have liked. I had 3 inch heels and you could see my toes. This is a very classic and beautiful dress. It was different and unique-but not over the top! I was worried I would stand out but the details were not obnoxious. Overall, I loved this dress. It made me feel like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2014
great dress!
Beautiful dress. It fits true to size- and is very snug in the bust area. Also, I'm 5'4 and thought the R length would be sufficient, but the tallest heels I could wear were 1". I would recommend going with the L if you want to wear taller heels. I wish I would have gotten the 6, I could barely squeeze my bust in the dress!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 8, 2014
Gorgeous dress Photo does no justice.
I wore a size 14 and I am hippy with thick thighs, I wear a spanx and it gave it just the right amount of smoothing in the tummy area that assist with the mid section runching OMG! I felt like a princess at the ball. Many complements danced all night. Will definitely rent again....Love This Dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2014
Fit perfect. Didn't wear it. Was my second choice dress.
Very comfortable. fit perfectly. However, this was my second choice dress. So I didn't not wear it to the event. My first choice fit and looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 27, 2014
Meh.
This was a second dress that I ordered as back-up, but thought I might choose instead. I clicked that this dress runs true to size and it did fit me everywhere but in my ribcage. But, that is probably because I am very wide across the ribs. So anyone who has a broad upper torso or larger chest might want to steer clear of this dress. On that same note, the style of the upper part and the way it swags from right shoulder to under left armpit made my chest look really broad - too much fabric running too high across my collar bones, I think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2014
Fit Perfectly, RTR Experience Half the Fun
This dress fit like it was made for me. The slip and lace-like sheath flowed beautifully. In three inch heels, the dress just fluttered on the floor which I thought was perfect. A simple strapless bra worked great, so no special equipment required. I have a closet full of formal wear and this is easily one of the most comfortable-yet-elegant gowns I've ever worn. Absolutely no little issues (hem, cleavage, slipping strap, etc.) to worry about. (I should note, I'm really a 30D but that's not an option to select). This was my first RTR experience and sharing it with my friends and colleagues (the suspense: will it fit etc?) was really fun. The back up dress system is awesome. I ordered a dress I planned to wear an event later in the month to see it, and it was a disaster -- well worth about $30 to find that out. Good thing I didn't need it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
February 3, 2014
RTR experience was excellent! Dress arrived well packaged and was ready to wear!
Dress was extremely comfortable! Fit perfectly! I don't enjoy high heels...so, 6R was great length for me (I wore 2 inch heels).
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 3, 2014
Great dress, stand out from the crowd while looking classy.
Fit was good. Body conscious but fabric slightly shirred to be a bit forgiving.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
February 25, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!!! The dress was GORGEOUS! A received compliments the WHOLE NIGHT.
I wore this gown for the New Age Barber's First Annual Ball. It was gorgeous and I felt like AMAZING. It was beautiful. Great dress for someone with the hourglass figure. Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2014
Even better in person!
I really loved this dress. Would be a great one to have in my closet. The fit was perfect and very flattering. I have a large chest so it was snug on top but not uncomfortable. The length was only slightly long but I am 5'4" and life to wear 5 inch heels so I always pick the longs. The dress is even nicer in person that it looks in some photos. Another great experience from RTR.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 8, 2014
This dress made me look awesome, even though I was heavier that I wanted to be. Nice and stretchy.
I don't have anything negative to say about this dress at all. It was lovely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 9, 2014
Pretty Dress - - But Others Fit Better
I did not end up wearing this dress. It was my first choice, and I had it delivered in two sizes - 12R and 14L. The 14L would have worked perfectly with spanx - - I felt like it really emphasized my lower belly due to the gathering. It was a gorgeous dress, but I just didn't feel comfortable highlighting that area. I will add that the neckline was exquisite… loved that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful formal gown!
Loved this dress - great for a curvy figure, and forgiving for my postpartum belly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 4, 2014
This was my first rental from RTW and it got me hooked!
The fit of this dress was very nice. It hugged in the right places without being scandalous. The rouching in the stomach area helped to hide any lumps and food babies. The way the dress is draped give it's a unique look. Very elegant and appropriate for a formal affair. Minus one star because if you look closely the material doesn't look super high quality, but for the price point I was not disappointed.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 14, 2014
I thought it ran small. It was very tight around my rib cage, but a beautiful dress.
small around rib cage, fabric not forgiving or stretchy at all - this was my back up dress which I didnt wear.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
RTR YOU ROCK!
I wore my dress to a Mardi Gras Ball. The dress was nice! Lots of compliments. Thank you RTR..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
April 24, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it - wore my backup
I was so focused on finding a dress that other larger chested women had reviewed highly, I didn't look for how it fit on the butt! It was VERY tight through my butt!! It showed everything - so I ended up wearing the back up!
See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×