David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
273 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(233)
Small
(31)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2013
Loved this dress!!

Dress is true to size, I read the reviews and ordered a 6R and 6L for my two sizes. I did end up going with the 6L and it was the perfect length with 3" heels. I received so many complements all night. The dress is comfortable, but is very form fitting so if you don't like clothing that is tight around your waste/bust area then this is not the dress for you. I also rented the earrings that were recommended and wore a simple bracelet. Overall I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2013
great fit

perfect fit right out of the box.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
February 11, 2013
Perfect for the prom

Great fit. Looked amazing,

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 11, 2013
Loved the dress! Got great complements throughout the night.

So happy with this dress! I have a large ribcage and because there is some give to the fabric (and the strong zipper :-), I was able to fit into the gown. "Yea" for that, as the 12R wasn't available and my backup dress didn't fit. I did not need a bra, but I did breakout the Spanx to smooth the tummy area. The 10R length was perfect with my 4" heels. I was comfortable all evening and I received many complements. Would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 11, 2013
I actually didn't end up wearing this for my event (I ordered 2 dresses and went with the other)

Fit was great, the zipper was a little tricky but fit was ideal. Super light, soft and very comfortable. The gather at the waist did a great job of hiding my little tummy

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
Glamorous! Received a lot of compliments. Fit like a glove hugging & outlining all the right curves.

I am 5'2'' and wore 2 regular. I would recommend wearing 2 Short.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2013
My mom actually wore this to my wedding.It was very beautiful

Very good fit and very stunning dress.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
great dress,

comfortable and long enough... only concern was i am biggest in my stomach and the folds at the hip didnt flatter that section...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2013
Lovely elegant dress

I am 5'1" and 110 lbs and I wore the 2R. It was a little long on me with 3 inch heels (with a 1/2" platform). The dress is structured very well, and would hide your hips if you were trying to hide a pear shape. The only problem I had was that thie zipper (which runs up the side) was very stubborn and I had to work really hard to get it up, even though the dress was not tight on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
March 6, 2013
Made me feel beautiful!!!

This dress fit just like it should and hugged in all the right places. It was a little difficult to zip but not because it was tight. Overall this dress was gorgeous and my date loved it too!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 8, 2013
I loved this dress!!!

Other than the zipper sticking initially, the dress was AWESOME!! It was very comfortable and the perfect length. I received compliments from everyone and I felt beautiful.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
March 14, 2013
The perfect dress for any formal event!

I wore this dress to a fundraising ball. It was elegant, chic and VERY comfortable! I wish I could've kept it!!! I received tons of compliments all evening. I ordered both the 10L and 8L since I have a larger bust and don't have much of a waist after recently having a baby. I was worried the 8L might be too tight in the midsection. However, the 8L fit me perfectly, even in the waist. I was a little nervous about ordering a long length and tripping over the hem all night (I'm 5'6'') but the length was perfect with my 3 1/2" heels. The regular length would probably have worked with flats or very low kitten heels. This was my first time ordering from RTR and I will definitely do it again. I highly recommended the site to many of my friends. It was easy to find what I needed on the site and there was a huge selection, the stylists were EXTREMELY helpful in guiding me to the correct size, and returning the dress was a snap! I love that RTR recommends accessories to go with the dress. I wore my own accessories this time, but I'll definitely consider renting the recommended jewelry/clutches in the future.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
meh

Dress looks cheaper in person, the fabric doesn't come across that great. I thought it was ok, but if you have any front tummy this accentuates it A LOT. I ordered as a backup and did not wear it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
Pretty, but not my cup of tea

I rented this dress for a black tie charity gala I was attending for work. I ended up wearing my back up dress (which I loved!) because I thought the burn out pattern of this dress was not as elegant as I would have liked. The ruching also did not flatter the part of my torso I was hoping it would. It is a pretty dress, however just not my style. Length wise, the long was a better fit for the shoes I would have worn.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
Dress was beautiful and rental was so easy!

The dress fit me perfectly. I usually wear a size 4 in dresses, but I got the extra dress in a size 6R just in case. The 4 fit me great! I am 5'5" and the dress might have been too short if I was any taller (my heels were no more than 3" tall). The 6 actually fit me well also, but was just slightly lose in the chest area (I wear a size 34B bra). This dress was very flattering. It was not too snug, but showed my figure. I would definitely recommend this dress for any body type! I think it is one that would look great on anybody.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
Beautiful gown for any formal affair.

I loved this gown. Its comfortable and easy to wear. The style was very figure flattering. It was the perfect length with 3 inch heels. The color of the under part was a champagne color, and looked beautiful through the burnout black. Zipper is on the side under the arm so its hard to do by yourself. The whole RTR experience was so easy. I will definitely use RTR again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
March 26, 2013
I simply loved this dress! It was so comfortable and flowy.I felt like a start all night! Thanks RTR

The zipper was a little hard to pull up,but i managed. My shoes peeked out a little towards the front. I wore 3 1/2 inch heels. I also rented the Dress me up bracelet by Cara Accessories.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 28, 2013
The best dress I've ever worn!

A little short for me (I'm 5'7") so I should have gone for the long option BUT I have never in my life worn a more figure flattering or comfortable dress. I'm seriously considering ordering it again very soon. It was perfect for the ball type setting I was attending. Its so elegant and figure flattering

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2013
Perfect fit and very comfortable

Just as other reviews stated the zipper is a little difficult but overall the dress fit perfectly with 2 inch heels. Very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2013
Perfect! Comfortable.. Moved Well... So Happy with the Choice!

I wore it to The Outer Banks Hospital's Annual Charity Gala. This year's theme was Flights of Fancy- Tour of Tuscany. It went perfect with the theme. It was comfortable. The fabric flowed and moved so nicely. I didn't want to take it off!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 205lbs
April 15, 2013
Life saver

I gained some weight (not happy about that one bit), and so worried about this dress. But it is true to size and the ruching in the middle is VERY forgiving. I ordered a 12 and it was just perfect. I'm 5'10" and so the long size wasn't quite long enough for me personally, but other than that - I was complimented all night on the gown. And I felt very comfortable in it. Success all around.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous dress!

I rented this dress in November but unfortunately RTR did not have the L so I ordered the R. I'm only 5'6" and it hit around my ankles so I was very upset that I could not wear it because It was so flattering. Luckily I had another formal event in January and I was thrilled to see that the 8L was available! The dress photographs amazingly (the shimmery slip sort of shows through) and I got so many compliments. I wore the dress with the NIcole Miller leaf necklace and it worked well with the higher neckline. MAKE SURE to order the L if you are planning on wearing any type of heel!!! The boning helps to hold the dress up but it sort of poked into my armpit a little on the side of the dress with the strap but it was not that uncomfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2013
Goregeous in Person!!

I wore this dress for an Inaugural Ball back in January. This was my frist RTR rental and everything went smoothly. The dress was gorgeous in person. It also fit like a glove. My first choice was not available, but this dressed pleasantly surprised me! I had not wanted to wear black, but the goldish color underlay made this dress stand out! I got compliments all night and I felt great in it! I fluctuate between a size 2 and 4 and I ended up wearing the 4 just because the 2 was slightly tight in the chest area; I have a larger bust on a smaller frame so I sometimes have to go up a size for that reason, but the 4 fit perfectly! Also, the stylists were super helpful when I was deciding which sizes to go with. Thanks, RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2013
Nice gown

Dress fit well with ample room for a larger bust. It's about 1" shorter than I would have liked, but will be plenty long for an average height woman. You can easily wear a strapless bra without any wardrobe issues. My dress came with many snags in the lace overlay which took away from the overall experience for me. I did call to get a new dress and they DID have it in stock. They did mail it to my event which was 4/6 - but it did not arrive until 4/11. At that time I had long checked out of the hotel.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2013
Everyone complimented my dress and nobody knew it was a rental :) I would order from RTR again.

It fit great; very forgiving in the mid-section. I wore 3 inch heels and that was perfect. I did have to use double sided clothing tape to keep material in chest area in correct spot but that worked just fine.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2013
This dress was the quintessence of elegance!

I initially wanted a really elegant and classy dress and it definitely fit the bill! I am really tall and the dress went all the way to the ground so I am glad that I ordered a long size. I did not want to send it back because I loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
May 2, 2013
Great Dress

This was my first time using RTR and I was very impressed. I am 5'7 128 lbs and the 4L fit perfectly. I wore 3 inch heels. The first 4L sent actually had a hole in it-- I 'chatted' with a RTR person online and they over nighted another 4L by 12noon the next day! The dress is actually prettier in person, the photos dont' really do it justice. Only thing I would like to mention is that the arm hole is somewhat small and by the end of night was bothering me..and I don't have particularly large arms/shoulders.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2013
Belle of the Ball

Its a very comfortable and amazing dress. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because the dress I received had a hole in. Luckily, I was able to tape it so it didn't look so obvious. But, otherwise, it was an amazing dress.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 18, 2013
It fit like a glove, and made me feel absolutely stunning!

It was super comfortable and easy to move in. I needed to wear about 4" heels so the bottom didn't drag, but that wasn't really a problem. It fit my waistline nicely without being too form-fitting. It was perfect for my body.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Amazing Dress!!

This dress fit perfectly and it was super comfortable, I got a lot of compliments on it when I wore it for my cousin's engagement party. I definitely would recommend this dress to my friends.

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
Most comfortable gown I've ever worn in my life!

This dress was awesome! I tried it on when I was feeling bloated two days earlier so I actually went with the size 8L. I could have definitely worn the 6L though on the day of the wedding because it was super roomy so I would say it's true to size. If you have a bigger chest than C/small D though, definitely size up. I could ALMOST get away without wearing a bra with this too although it hid a strapless quite nicely. It also gave the illusion of a slight curve around my waist even though I have absolutely NO hips to speak of. I'm 5'7 and was wearing 3 inch heels and the dress was hitting the ground perfectly. I got literally millions of compliments with this dress and I'd wear it again in a heartbeat! The one negative I'd say was after a while my arm started to get a little red underneath hitting the fabric on the side with the strap but it wasn't a big deal. Dress was clean and came on time. Thanks, RTR!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2013
fit and travelled well

I had to take the dress on a plane, and it travelled great! No wrinkles and the fabric is so comfortable. Plus, I got tons of complements.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2013
I felt perfect in this dress

This dress is gorgeous. I was worried about the length as I am 6'0". In flats, it was about 1/2 an inch off the floor so I did have to run out and buy shoes that matched the dress better as they were visible. It was completely worth it, this dress was so elegant and figure flattering. I received compliments throughout the evening. It felt wonderful to wear, and I had fun dancing on all night in it!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
June 20, 2013
Loved the cut!! Beautiful dress :)

The dress is pretty fitting across the chest and around the waist but is roomy starting at the hips. Enjoy the single shoulder strap :)

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 26, 2013
I got the best complaints on this dress. Wore it to a marine core ball, the dress was perfect!

I did wear spanx with the dress because it was form fitting, but the fit was great! It was also really comfortable dress, nothing was poking me and I did not need to pull the dress up cause it was falling down, cause it wasnt. I highly recommend this dress, its great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2013
Sexy and comfortable dress for formal wedding

Loved this dress! Very flattering fit because of the rouching. It fit over my bust (30F) but still hugged my waist and hips. Felt very sexy but still appropriate to wear to a wedding or other formal event. It's very lightweight so it was comfortable to dance in all night! By the end of the night the shoulder was starting to feel a little tight and I kept tugging on it, but not enough to really bother me.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2013
I wore this for the Marine Formal Ball. Great dress. Appropriate.

The dress was super comfortable. It was true to size though I think I could have gone one size smaller since it fit just perfectly but it could have been a bit more snug. The length was great- I'm about 5'7"- though when I walked up stairs, I did have to pick it up. The bustle on the right side of the dress fell in the exact right spot. I am curvy so I didn't want something that would accentuate my hips but would hug them in the right places- this dress did that beautifully. The color was wonderful- I got a lot of compliments that night. And it was very appropriate for the event since many women there were not appropriately attired, All in all, the dress was functional, comfortable, and looked great on! Very happy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!

This dress is very elegant, form-fitting yet comfortable. I felt very glamorous in it and received many compliments. The nude underlay adds a touch of sexy while maintaining a classy attitude. Just perfect. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2013
Made me feel so skinny!!

Beautiful, understated, elegant - perfect for the concert I was performing at

Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
October 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, received so many compliments. I'm pretty tall, and wore heels, still long enough.

This dress was amazing. I'm 5'10 and wore 3 inch heels, and this dress was still long enough. It did get caught a few times on my stilettos though. The bust was a little loose, but i'm only a B cup. My poor boyfriend felt left behind with as many compliments as i received!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×