David Meister

Night in Barcelona Gown

$53 to buy
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a daring and trendy look for your black tie affair. People will be starring if you rent this David Meister gown. Accessorize with insane jewelry like Lulu Frost's Crystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted through bodice; ruching is flattering on midsection though slightly augments lower abdomen; wear with SPANX to cinch waist
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black burnout over nude silk. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleating at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

265 reviews

Fit
Small 31
True to Size 227
Large 4
Photos 141
Michelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 4, 2013

fit and travelled well

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to take the dress on a plane, and it travelled great! No wrinkles and the fabric is so comfortable. Plus, I got tons of complements.
Anya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 8, 2013

I felt perfect in this dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous. I was worried about the length as I am 6'0". In flats, it was about 1/2 an inch off the floor so I did have to run out and buy shoes that matched the dress better as they were visible. It was completely worth it, this dress was so elegant and figure flattering. I received compliments throughout the evening. It felt wonderful to wear, and I had fun dancing on all night in it!
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Jun 20, 2013

Loved the cut!! Beautiful dress :)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is pretty fitting across the chest and around the waist but is roomy starting at the hips. Enjoy the single shoulder strap :)
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Elegant Comfort

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit comfortably though it was snug and was very flattering. Easy to wear a strapless bra. You need a second person to help you hook the clasp and zip it up on the size. Do not attempt to do on your own or run the risk of straining your wrists! There was a slight rip at the base of the zipper which is to be expected given what it takes to zip up the dress.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 10, 2013

It was incredibly comfy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore well, was durable, draped nicely with a good weight to it, and definitely set me apart.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2013

Sexy and comfortable dress for formal wedding

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Very flattering fit because of the rouching. It fit over my bust (30F) but still hugged my waist and hips. Felt very sexy but still appropriate to wear to a wedding or other formal event. It's very lightweight so it was comfortable to dance in all night! By the end of the night the shoulder was starting to feel a little tight and I kept tugging on it, but not enough to really bother me.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 24, 2013

I wore this for the Marine Formal Ball. Great dress. Appropriate.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super comfortable. It was true to size though I think I could have gone one size smaller since it fit just perfectly but it could have been a bit more snug. The length was great- I'm about 5'7"- though when I walked up stairs, I did have to pick it up. The bustle on the right side of the dress fell in the exact right spot. I am curvy so I didn't want something that would accentuate my hips but would hug them in the right places- this dress did that beautifully. The color was wonderful- I got a lot of compliments that night. And it was very appropriate for the event since many women there were not appropriately attired, All in all, the dress was functional, comfortable, and looked great on! Very happy.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Made me feel so skinny!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful, understated, elegant - perfect for the concert I was performing at
Aileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2013

Looks better in person than in the picture!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. It was perfect for the formal wedding i went to. It hides any and every imperfection. Loved the dress and fit. Very comfortable.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

This was a solid rental.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There's no need to wear a bra if you're a C or smaller, but keep in mind that it does really flatten you out. I wore padded bra cups and it made me look like I wasn't completely flat. The length was perfect with 2" heels.
michelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

The dress was way too long, so I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited to get my dress, and read all the reviews from other women my height. No one said anything about the dress being too long, but it was for me. Even with 4 inch heels, it dragged on the floor and I was afraid I'd trip on it. Because of the lace overlay, I couldn't even tape the hem and make do. Doubling up the lace was too obvious! Oh well. I didn't get to wear the dress but at least had a back up option in my closet. I will try again in the future, but with a cocktail length dress, never again with a floor length one.
Monica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Oct 22, 2013

Perfection!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a charity gala. The dress fit perfectly and very true to size. I usually have issues with the bust area of dresses but I did not have that issue with this dress. It was very comfortable and elegant. I would definitely rent again.
Jami
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Very pretty in person

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot in person. In photos, I didn't find it as flattering. But a very nice, quality dress. Was pretty tight in the chest.
swlinz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great! With heels, the dress was the perfect length, I didn't trip and was able to walk around with no issues! I was getting compliments all night about how gorgeous and flattering the dress was. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Softball42
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect fit and length - this dress made me feel pretty!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was nervous, since this was the first time that I'd used RTR, but they didn't disappoint! I didn't have to even open the back up dress, as the dress fit perfect. I received many compliments and will definitely use RTR for my work holiday party!
Dianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Subtle, gorgeous dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was wonderful. It was perfect for a slightly conservative, formal event- drew lots of flattering attention without being too bling. Subtle, but gorgeous. I felt very comfortable- the fabric is really stretchy. The zipper was a bit hard to do. I had to have my roommate help me both times I put it on, so heads up you might just want a hand.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

It fit great perfect lenght and very light weight.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size hug you curves and very forgiving looks amazing !
sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

beautiful gown

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit , very comfortable & extremely elegant.
cwilson
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

Beautiful dress...and this was the backup!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress because the one that I wanted wasn't available in my back up size. So I chose this as my alternative and glad that did. The dress fit well. I am very curvy. It wasn't too short which is a problem for me especially once I put on heels. It's a formal dress but very comfortable. Love this service!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Didn't wear the dress as it was a backup, but nice dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was my back up to another dress I rented. The material wasn't as high quality as some of the other dresses I have rented previously. Also, I rented the regular length and for this dress I should have rented long. Either way it was a nice dress and i still rent from RTR!
Buffie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2013

Beautiful gown.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful gown. Fits true to size. If you are shapely it will show all so think about that in the sixes you select. I received great compliments.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

This dress was beautiful.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect for the curvy, athletic lady. Understated, yet secretly sexy.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Comfortable, good fit!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a dress I received after my first choice didn't work out. I like the dress, but didn't love it. That said, it fit really well and was very comfortable, just not necessarily my usual style. I received TONS of compliments!
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Unique gown for a formal event!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Although I normally wear a 0 or 2, this 4 actually fit me well. The only thing, of course, was the length. I am short and this dress was dragging on the ground while dancing so I had to lift it up more than a few times. I wore 2 inch heels and I should have worn taller ones. Overall a great dress for me and I still had an amazing night!
Chandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

great dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. It fits true to size- and is very snug in the bust area. Also, I'm 5'4 and thought the R length would be sufficient, but the tallest heels I could wear were 1". I would recommend going with the L if you want to wear taller heels. I wish I would have gotten the 6, I could barely squeeze my bust in the dress!
Shannon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2014

Fit perfect. Didn't wear it. Was my second choice dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable. fit perfectly. However, this was my second choice dress. So I didn't not wear it to the event. My first choice fit and looked great.
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Meh.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a second dress that I ordered as back-up, but thought I might choose instead. I clicked that this dress runs true to size and it did fit me everywhere but in my ribcage. But, that is probably because I am very wide across the ribs. So anyone who has a broad upper torso or larger chest might want to steer clear of this dress. On that same note, the style of the upper part and the way it swags from right shoulder to under left armpit made my chest look really broad - too much fabric running too high across my collar bones, I think.
christina
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

The fabric is fabulous!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a very comfortable dress.
Love to Run
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Feb 3, 2014

RTR experience was excellent! Dress arrived well packaged and was ready to wear!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was extremely comfortable! Fit perfectly! I don't enjoy high heels...so, 6R was great length for me (I wore 2 inch heels).
Jeanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Great dress, stand out from the crowd while looking classy.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good. Body conscious but fabric slightly shirred to be a bit forgiving.
Vicky
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Even better in person!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress. Would be a great one to have in my closet. The fit was perfect and very flattering. I have a large chest so it was snug on top but not uncomfortable. The length was only slightly long but I am 5'4" and life to wear 5 inch heels so I always pick the longs. The dress is even nicer in person that it looks in some photos. Another great experience from RTR.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Mar 9, 2014

Pretty Dress - - But Others Fit Better

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this dress. It was my first choice, and I had it delivered in two sizes - 12R and 14L. The 14L would have worked perfectly with spanx - - I felt like it really emphasized my lower belly due to the gathering. It was a gorgeous dress, but I just didn't feel comfortable highlighting that area. I will add that the neckline was exquisite… loved that.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Beautiful formal gown!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress - great for a curvy figure, and forgiving for my postpartum belly.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Must like metallic

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I enjoyed wearing this dress, although it might have been a tad more fancy than the wedding warranted. Fabric was very giving and soft and the 'burnout' look is edgy. I felt very good that night, but then I wasn't so pleased with the photos. The fabric comes off VERY metallic in flash photos, and might accentuate things you don't want accentuated (what the ruching is supposed to prevent, but does not in this dress). Also I got the Long as my backup size and it was reallllly long.
Tierra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2014

I wore this dress to the BET Honors and I must say This dress was an Honoree

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered a 10L, but I received a 10 & 12L. I tried on both the 12L was too big, put the perfect length. The 10 was a little too big in the waist, but the fit was great just tad too short with out heels. I received soooooo many compliments that night, I thought I was being Honored. I highly recommend a long dress if you are tall. The dress fits true to size. Will rent again for another occasion.
Holly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

I thought it ran small. It was very tight around my rib cage, but a beautiful dress.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
small around rib cage, fabric not forgiving or stretchy at all - this was my back up dress which I didnt wear.
CATHY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it - wore my backup

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so focused on finding a dress that other larger chested women had reviewed highly, I didn't look for how it fit on the butt! It was VERY tight through my butt!! It showed everything - so I ended up wearing the back up!
Maryanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2014

I wore this for a school charity fundraiser.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very comfortable and you can wear it with a convertible one shoulder bra which I really liked. It was flattering in all the right spots. Good to show off a waist and it sits nicely across the lower back so it shows that you have a curve to your back which I find to be a drawback of so many dresses!
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 17, 2014

Great dress for an elegant affair

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on the reviews, I rented the long size (I'm 5'7") and it was a wee bit too long in 3 inch heels. I wore a 10L because the 8L was too tight in the bust. Maybe the length of the 8L would have been better. It was a beautiful gown though and I was pleased with how it looked and fit. Definitely a spanx type of dress though. This was my first rental and definitely a positive experience.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Easily the best dress I've ever worn

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the asymmetrical style. I was getting compliments all night on the lacey look.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×