David Meister

Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
186 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(158)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect dress for an inaugural celebration.
The dress fits like a dream and is wonderfully comfortable as well as beautiful. It's a very classic fit - figure flattering and sexy without revealing too much. As others have noted, the long is the best bet if you're 5'4" or taller, plan to wear heels and prefer a gown that hits the floor rather than your ankles.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
This dress stole the show! I got so many stares and compliments when I wore this to Military Ball!
I have a smaller bust and larger hips & thighs, but the 2L was just stretchy enough on bottom to hug my curves while being tight enough on top!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
It was a beautiful dress!
The color is a deep blue, somewhere between navy and royal blue. Others had flagged that it runs short, but I had to walk a lot that night and planned to wear low heels. I ordered the regular length and it was just right. I felt great in the dress. The sole, quite minor complaint was that the sequins under the arms were a little scratchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and LOVED it! It is stunning in person!
The dress fits true to size. The color is also true to the picture. The quality is outstanding; when you wear the dress you can feel how heavy it is because it is well made and worth every penny. The sequins are not scratchy and they don't catch on other clothes. The zipper didn't even get caught! I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
I got tons of compliments even from people in similar dresses!
I needed a dress for to attend an inauguration gala and a friend suggested RTR. I ordered a 4R & 2L and wore the 2L. It was still a tad long with 3 inch heals but the 4R would have been too short. The color is also much more beautiful in person. It has purple tones from the sequins which I loved. Overall I loved the dress and the stylist surprise earrings made the outfit. I felt glamourous and had an unforgettable night. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
I rented this dress for the Marine Corps Ball. Great thing about renting, only I had this dress!
This dress fit amazing. I wore super high heels because I'm short (5'3") and did not want to spend the night stepping on the dress. I chose a size 6 & 8. I miss judged how much weight I had lost, and might have been able to go with a 4 because the chest was made for a bit more than I have now. But this was so easy, and the dress looked great, I'm going to do RTR from now on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Great look for any time of year! Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect.
Only con to share is that I am 5'8" and got the long and I wish it was a little longer. Not terrible, but I definitely could not have worn more than a kitten heel under it without showing too much shoe for my liking. Luckily my husband is my height, so I was able to rock flats without anyone noticing. Other than that wonderful cut and look. My husband loved it!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2013
Loved it!
I loved this dress. It looked like blue lisuid in the pictures. I wear between and 10 and a 12 but the 10 fit me very well and was even a little large on top, perhaps a size down may have fit the bust perfectly. But I got compliments all night. Dress photogaphs beautifully. It was also my first experience using RTR and so efficient and everything worked beautifully in terms of getting to me and returns. There was even a complimentary bag of handy dress adjustment goodies like seamtape and body tape. thank you RTR for the great service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2013
Elegant color, fantastic fit!
I got this dress originally but picked another due to the type of event. The dress was gorgeous though and just the right royal blue to be elegant but not flashy. Fit was phenomenal. My husband was speechless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 24, 2013
Affordable elegance meets old Hollywood glamour
Wow! My fist RTR experience was a hit! I got a 4R as backup to a 6R. The 4R fit like a glove and with 3 inch heels hit the floor! So the length was good which worried me at first since I am short. I felt like a Hollywood starlet! Perfect for Oscar weekend an my Husband's TN National Guard Ball! He said I was smoking hot in the dress and I got many complements. It's a big difference in quality compared with what others were wearing. It was comfortable too. And I am back into my pre-baby size! I loved this gown! Thanks RTR. Will be renting from you from now on!,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Loved everything about my RTR experience. I am hooked.I will use RTR for everything!
Fit perfect, nice stretch to it and made my "B"s look like big "C"s!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 10, 2013
Best Dress Ever!
From the moment I put this dress on I felt amazing! It is such a beautiful color, very comfortable to wear and very flattering. I am 5'2" and the dress was the perfect length with 4" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
Poise, grace, and a perfect fit.
My second time renting from RTR and once again I was beyond impressed. Based on the reviews I went with the long length. At 5'4 I think either the long OR the regular length would have been fine, but I threw on some extra high heels so that I wouldn't trip. Based on photos I thought the dress would be heavy and scratchy, but it was neither. The dress gave me the confidence and poise I needed to get through a very emotional and powerful evening.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Stunning but not too Flattering
I ordered this as my back up and thank goodness my first pick was perfect. The dress looked amazing but the knot/twist of fabric over the stomach area made me look wider than I really am. However the dress was in amazing shape - usually sequin dresses like this can have missing patches or "backwards" sequins. You can tell RTR takes great care of their dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Perfect fit!
Long dresses don't usually fit me well, but this one was great. Comfortable too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
April 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Loved the fit and ease of RTR transaction.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I ordered the 10L and the 12R and ended up wearing the 10L. I would have been a little more comfortable in the 12, but I had to go with the 10L for the length. I am 5'7" and the long length was barely long enough for me, even wearing very short heels. But I wore this dress to an Air Force Military Ball and it was beautiful!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Amazing dress for a Navy ball!!
The pictures don't do this dress justice! The sequins are gorgeous and it has such a flattering fit and classy style. I went with the 4L and it was the perfect length. I really didn't want to return it!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Wonderful!
This dress was simply amazing looking. I loved everything about it, but it sadly did not like me. It was a little snug all over, but nothing Spanx couldn't have fixed. Except for my chest area.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
May 9, 2013
I wore this dress to my junior/senior prom and I received compliment after compliment all night!
Okay so I'm a I-need-the-smallest-size-you've-got kinda girl. I ordered the 2R and the 2L since 2 was the smallest size available. Neither of them fit right. I should have known that though. The problem was the length of the shoulder strap. They were both too long. I made it work though- my sister and I pinned it up and it fit perfectly and no one knew the difference! Since the pinning made it a little shorter, The 2L was the perfect length with my 5 inch heels. The dress was absolutely stunning! The color was so rich and the sequins were perfect! It wasn't too flashy but very elegant. I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on a dress before! The return process was so easy as well! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 12, 2013
The customer service Emily provided was amazing. This gown was sent to me as a back up because my or
The dress fit nicely. I am athletic (with zero hips), the dress looked nice on me. My only complaint is that the zipper was worn so it made it very difficult to get on and off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 16, 2013
Beautiful color, but unflattering fit.
The deep midnight blue was breathtaking; it shimmered and changed shades in the light. However the fit was rather loose and overall rather baggy in places that shouldn't be loose (like the backside). This was my backup dress, so I ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
A colorful alternative to the black dress.
This dress is a much brighter blue than the picture shows. It was a little to large on the top, chest area, for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2013
Nice dress - not for me though!
I would have liked this dress to be tighter, as a usual size 0 I felt that it overtook my body and didn't really suit my body shape. Otherwise, the sequin detail is pretty and the material is substantial - you feel like you are wearing something sturdy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved it! Great choice.
I wore the dress for my first Army Ball. I knew I needed a gown that was conservative, but not boring. This dress fit the bill as sexy and classy. You can easily wear a strapless bra and not worry about tugging it up all night. The dress is roomie in the mid-section so you can eat and breathe easy. I thought it would have been more fitted, but it was better for me that it wasn't. The dress did not chafe under my arms, and I felt quite lovely. From a side silhouette it does not make you look thin, but the front give a great shape and that's what you see in photographs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 23, 2013
All the compliments!
I got the 10R and the 12R-- ended up in the 12R, my normal size. I wish I had gotten the long though!!! It was long enough, but the long would have looked better. IF YOU'RE TALL, GET THE LONG!! Even though I was a little self conscious about the length, I received TONS of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 5, 2013
This dress made me the talk of my husband's 30th year high school reunion with many compliments!
I was scared that the top of the dress was not going to fit because I have a small bust and large hips. If I wore my normal bra, then it would not have fit. Using my add 2 cups size bra worked like magic. I could even get away with 3 inch heels if I wanted it to brush the ground, but I opted for 4 inch heels only to give me height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2013
Sure to get noticed in a good way!
This dress fit perfectly true to size. The sequin gave it a great sparkle without being over the top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
"That dress really stands out in a crowd!"
Unusually a size 4 and the 2 long fit perfectly. Photos do not do it justice, it is stunning in person and turns heads. Was the perfect choice for an Air Force ball. I received compliment after compliment from men and women, but the best was a gentleman who went out of his way because he just had to tell me that I really stood out in a crowd, in a good way. My husband standing right next to me agreed. I have never seen a man so genuinely overwhelmed by a dress! The sequins give it a very expensive look, but don't add weight. I was surprised how light and comfortable it was. It managed to be sexy yet classy - a winning combination!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2013
Very Nice dress for someone with shorter torso!
I am 5'9" and 155 lb athletic built with 34D bust. I liked the quality of the dress. It was a backup dress and I decided to wear my original dress because it made me look heavier in the waist! Overall very nice dress!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2013
Perfect for FLAT chest!!
This was actually the alternate dress that my stylist sent because my back-up dress was too damaged to send in time for my event. So, great service!! This dress accentuated all my curves and was actually comfortable to wear. It is a beautiful, shimmering color. I am 5'7 1/2" and wore 3" heels, so I probably could've gone with a 2R and wore less heel. Overall, great dress!! Would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 22, 2013
I was unable to wear this dress because it ran too large, by far.
This was probably my most disappointing RTR experience. I called a stylist to talk about the fit of the dress and make sure that there was a good chance it would fit me. I was assured that it ran small and that it'd be great. Well, as it turned out, the top of the dress was so baggy that the neckline hit below the girls. Unbelievable. The next morning, a scramble to find a mailbox to drop off this dress (the only way to not get charged for a rental is to return it right away--and they mean RIGHT away). If you are very petite, don't chance it with the long dresses here. I still gave the dress three stars because it was pretty, and I don't want to blame the dress for the bad advice I got over the phone. I gave my measurements and everything, and it was like the MO was just to reassure me that it would work--instead of actually thinking about it critically.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2013
I like being able to wear something a little expensive and not pay the price.
Fit was great, it moved great for dancing. I received lots of compliments and felt wonderful.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 31, 2013
Awesome dress, perfect for a black tie function, felt like a million bucks!!,
Rented this for a black tie affair for work. I was better dressed than most of the senior executives. Got a ton of compliments and lots of head turning. Had my hair done in a curly up do, some nice bling jewelry to complete the look. I'm almost 5'4" and had 3" heels on, the dress length was just right. My toes peaked out and the back of the heels did get snagged a couple of times so just be careful as you walk. The dress is well made, great quality, and I like the small sequins which gave it a smooth look. All in all, it's a beautiful and elegant dress without showing too much skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
I felt AMAZING in this dress!
I tried on the 10R and it was too big and a bit short.The 8L fit like a glove! The prefect length. Was a little tight in the bust but not too bad.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2013
I had people doing double-takes and received compliments all night!
I wore this for my boyfriend's military ball last year. We work together so we both knew everyone at the ball, and I can't tell you how many people just stopped and stared, jaws open, when they saw me come in with this dress on. It is a true stunner!! It fit very true to size and I felt like a million bucks, like the absolute most beautiful girl in the room. The sequins catch the light just right that makes it sparkle beautifully. The other great thing is that it photographs so well! It was comfortable and I honestly would wear it again this year if I wasn't going to the same ball with the same people,haha :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
December 1, 2013
Classy AND Sexy!
This dress fit perfectly - even on my petite frame - and was forgiving enough to allow a big dinner and dancing afterward. I was worried about length and wore 4" heels, but I definitely could have gone shorter. I was also thinking the all-over sequins may be too much for the conservative ball I was attending, but it was fine. The navy color and sophisticated style of the dress balanced the sparkle!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 7, 2013
Catching people checking me out from the back as I walked by...
First thing, this dress arrived 2 days earlier than scheduled, much to my surprise. I paid for 3 days, but actually had the dress in my possession for 5 days. My friends said "you've got to find some other event to wear it to before you return it" Wore this to this year's Christmas party for the Medical Staff at our hospital. Being a younger female physician, I wanted a dress that was hip and edgy and would stand out from a crowd, but I also wanted it to be classy and elegant. It was supposed to make a statement, after all. Also, I had a baby 2 years ago and haven't worked out a single time since then, so I needed something that showcased the best parts of me and concealed the not so desirable ones. This dress fit that bill perfectly-- classic lines/great silhouette, awesome shade of blue, just the right amount of shimmer (the sequins were tiny, so the dress did NOT look cheap AT ALL). The fabric moved really well too, so I can imagine it would be comfortable moving and dancing in it. Got a lot of compliments from everybody. More recently I have been wearing a size 4, but I got a size 2 for backup. The 2 was a better fit. I would not be quick to say that the dress runs large though, because of all the changes with my body post pregnancy, I'm never quite certain what dress size I am. The length though runs on the short side (I'm 5'6" and even barefoot the R length dress was a good inch off the floor). Had to wear different shoes that what I intended, which was a bummer. Overall, I would highly recommend this dress as a much less predictable alternative to the typical long black dress. Thanks for a great experience, RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2013
Nice at night
A little loose
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2014
I received so many compliments from men and women on how classy and elegant I look.
I usually wear a size 12 but I am short so I was worried. I wanted to order a 10L and a 10R after reading the reviews but the 10L was unavailable. I am so glad that I at least able to get the 10R because the 12R would have been too big. I have a small waist and the dress accentuated that asset. I am a 34DD which made me nervous but the dress fit like a glove. It was amazing. Being 5'2'' I really didnt want my shoes to show but it was ok. I think the 10L would have been too long because my heels were only about 3''.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×