You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Navy Sequin Sultry Gown
Rental $90 Retail $620
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos120

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Abi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 7, 2013
Catching people checking me out from the back as I walked by...
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First thing, this dress arrived 2 days earlier than scheduled, much to my surprise. I paid for 3 days, but actually had the dress in my possession for 5 days. My friends said "you've got to find some other event to wear it to before you return it" Wore this to this year's Christmas party for the Medical Staff at our hospital. Being a younger female physician, I wanted a dress that was hip and edgy and would stand out from a crowd, but I also wanted it to be classy and elegant. It was supposed to make a statement, after all. Also, I had a baby 2 years ago and haven't worked out a single time since then, so I needed something that showcased the best parts of me and concealed the not so desirable ones. This dress fit that bill perfectly-- classic lines/great silhouette, awesome shade of blue, just the right amount of shimmer (the sequins were tiny, so the dress did NOT look cheap AT ALL). The fabric moved really well too, so I can imagine it would be comfortable moving and dancing in it. Got a lot of compliments from everybody. More recently I have been wearing a size 4, but I got a size 2 for backup. The 2 was a better fit. I would not be quick to say that the dress runs large though, because of all the changes with my body post pregnancy, I'm never quite certain what dress size I am. The length though runs on the short side (I'm 5'6" and even barefoot the R length dress was a good inch off the floor). Had to wear different shoes that what I intended, which was a bummer. Overall, I would highly recommend this dress as a much less predictable alternative to the typical long black dress. Thanks for a great experience, RTR!
E
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Apr 18, 2014
Simple: The dress makes you feel and look amazing
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore 4R, did not even tried 6R that i got complimentary. It was a perfect fit, i danced, i walked, i floated! Hair up do it is a most for a perfect look in my opinion if you have long hair. First time with this designer. Wont be my last!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Apr 13, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress and felt fabulous!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little nervous because the next size up wasn't available and I didn't pick a back up dress so I was thrilled that the dress fit true to size with the exception of being a little tight in the chest.... But once the zipper was up, it looked and felt great. This was my first time renting and I will never buy a gown again! This was a great first time experience. I'll be renting again in October for another Gala!!
Jenny
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Mar 1, 2014
I felt Amazing in the dress, many compliments all night, & the process was so easy
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked & fit great. With heels the length was perfect. I was complimented all night long by men & women. It definitely helped me stand out at the formal ball I attended.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Feb 10, 2014
Needed a dress for a formal dance and I was tired of recycling the same old dresses!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran true to size. I also had the 6L to try but it was a little large through the bust but the 4L fit perfectly. It was almost too short for me, being 5'9, but I opted for a 2" heel and it worked out perfectly. Dress was extremely comfortable for the most part...I danced the night away in it without a problem...it did rub a little around the arm hold because of sequins, but nothing terrible. Lot's of compliments on color and fit. This was my first rental with RTR and it will not be my last! Great service!
Dori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Jan 29, 2014
LOVED this dress!!! Fit great and got tons of compliments on it. It was very comfortable!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I worn this dress to a formal affair for my husbands realestate company...it was a huge hit!!! Fit great, did not 'chew' up my underarm like I thought it may due to the sequens, and was very flattering. I totally recommend it to anyone. The light shimmered off the dress in all the pics that I saw...would definatly rent this dress again.
Dateless on New Years
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8624
Jan 3, 2014
I received so many compliments from men and women on how classy and elegant I look.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 12 but I am short so I was worried. I wanted to order a 10L and a 10R after reading the reviews but the 10L was unavailable. I am so glad that I at least able to get the 10R because the 12R would have been too big. I have a small waist and the dress accentuated that asset. I am a 34DD which made me nervous but the dress fit like a glove. It was amazing. Being 5'2'' I really didnt want my shoes to show but it was ok. I think the 10L would have been too long because my heels were only about 3''.
Ks617
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Nov 23, 2013
I had people doing double-takes and received compliments all night!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my boyfriend's military ball last year. We work together so we both knew everyone at the ball, and I can't tell you how many people just stopped and stared, jaws open, when they saw me come in with this dress on. It is a true stunner!! It fit very true to size and I felt like a million bucks, like the absolute most beautiful girl in the room. The sequins catch the light just right that makes it sparkle beautifully. The other great thing is that it photographs so well! It was comfortable and I honestly would wear it again this year if I wasn't going to the same ball with the same people,haha :)
Adriana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Nov 19, 2013
I felt AMAZING in this dress!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I tried on the 10R and it was too big and a bit short.The 8L fit like a glove! The prefect length. Was a little tight in the bust but not too bad.
Alice
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Oct 31, 2013
Awesome dress, perfect for a black tie function, felt like a million bucks!!,
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for a black tie affair for work. I was better dressed than most of the senior executives. Got a ton of compliments and lots of head turning. Had my hair done in a curly up do, some nice bling jewelry to complete the look. I'm almost 5'4" and had 3" heels on, the dress length was just right. My toes peaked out and the back of the heels did get snagged a couple of times so just be careful as you walk. The dress is well made, great quality, and I like the small sequins which gave it a smooth look. All in all, it's a beautiful and elegant dress without showing too much skin.
LISA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Oct 21, 2013
Dress was very flattering and forgiving for a momma-to-be!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress ran true to size through bust and waist but had enough room to give to allow a 5-month pregnant belly to squeeze into the dress. I felt very glamorous without having to feel maternity frumpy. Fabric was a little scratchy on the outside but was fine on the inside. Had to be careful I didn't catch my jewelry. Loved the deep blue color (while a few other women also were in similar blue, this dress did stand apart). Got lots of compliments.
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3542
Oct 15, 2013
Perfect for FLAT chest!!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually the alternate dress that my stylist sent because my back-up dress was too damaged to send in time for my event. So, great service!! This dress accentuated all my curves and was actually comfortable to wear. It is a beautiful, shimmering color. I am 5'7 1/2" and wore 3" heels, so I probably could've gone with a 2R and wore less heel. Overall, great dress!! Would rent it again.
Jayme
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 14, 2013
"That dress really stands out in a crowd!"
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unusually a size 4 and the 2 long fit perfectly. Photos do not do it justice, it is stunning in person and turns heads. Was the perfect choice for an Air Force ball. I received compliment after compliment from men and women, but the best was a gentleman who went out of his way because he just had to tell me that I really stood out in a crowd, in a good way. My husband standing right next to me agreed. I have never seen a man so genuinely overwhelmed by a dress! The sequins give it a very expensive look, but don't add weight. I was surprised how light and comfortable it was. It managed to be sexy yet classy - a winning combination!
Tavia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 13, 2013
A diamond in the rough!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first, I did not like the dress. I was so upset. However, I had no choice but to wear it. The night of the event, I FELL IN LOVE! The dress was the PERFECT length, very comfortable, and matched the event and my husband's uniform perfectly. I LOVED THIS DRESS!!!! The only draw back is the shoulder sequins dug into my skin all night and left a fairly large red mark around my entire arm the next day!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7533
Aug 12, 2013
Sure to get noticed in a good way!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly true to size. The sequin gave it a great sparkle without being over the top.
Tanya
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Aug 1, 2013
Worth it for the endless stream of compliments alone
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress at first sight on Rent the Runway and it disappoint. It was comfortable and so glamorous. Perfect strangers said "You look beautiful" when I walked by and women were ooh-ing and aah-ing at the dress. The fit was smooth and flattering without being cheap or clingy. I wore the 6 long, which was just long enough in my 3 1/2" heels. I'm 5'9". Highly recommended!
Aileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jul 22, 2013
Loved it! Great choice.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress for my first Army Ball. I knew I needed a gown that was conservative, but not boring. This dress fit the bill as sexy and classy. You can easily wear a strapless bra and not worry about tugging it up all night. The dress is roomie in the mid-section so you can eat and breathe easy. I thought it would have been more fitted, but it was better for me that it wasn't. The dress did not chafe under my arms, and I felt quite lovely. From a side silhouette it does not make you look thin, but the front give a great shape and that's what you see in photographs.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jun 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely a standout dress and everyone loved it! The color was perfect, the fit was flattering and the length worked for me
Carmen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Sep 6, 2012
Smashing!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress, but it flattered my shape more than my first choice. Wore the 2R to a gala (with pointy flats, shh!) so I could dance all night.
AW
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
May 21, 2013
Looks great on
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried about renting a dress since my event was out of town but the back up size eased my mind a bit. This dress is much prettier in person and has a great sparkle to it. I did read reviews ahead of time so I bought 2in heels to go with it and they worked great. I wore this dress for about 5hrs and it did get a bit itchy in the arm area at the end of the night but not enough to make it unbearable.
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
May 9, 2013
I wore this dress to my junior/senior prom and I received compliment after compliment all night!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Okay so I'm a I-need-the-smallest-size-you've-got kinda girl. I ordered the 2R and the 2L since 2 was the smallest size available. Neither of them fit right. I should have known that though. The problem was the length of the shoulder strap. They were both too long. I made it work though- my sister and I pinned it up and it fit perfectly and no one knew the difference! Since the pinning made it a little shorter, The 2L was the perfect length with my 5 inch heels. The dress was absolutely stunning! The color was so rich and the sequins were perfect! It wasn't too flashy but very elegant. I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on a dress before! The return process was so easy as well! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5642
Apr 21, 2013
Not your basic black dress!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4L and the 6L, there really wasn't much difference between the sizes. I went with the 4L because it fit better up top. As the other reviews mentioned, this dress runs short. The length for me was perfect. I wore 2-3" heels and the dress was not dragging on the floor - which I loved. Makes it much easier when you hit the dance floor!!! Tons of compliments. Form fitting but not revealing. The picture of the dress really doesn't do it justice. It is really beautiful!
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4334
Apr 15, 2013
Amazing dress for a Navy ball!!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The pictures don't do this dress justice! The sequins are gorgeous and it has such a flattering fit and classy style. I went with the 4L and it was the perfect length. I really didn't want to return it!!!
Kay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4633
Apr 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit and ease of RTR transaction.
Ari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3331
Mar 27, 2013
Perfect fit!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Long dresses don't usually fit me well, but this one was great. Comfortable too!
Shana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 12, 2013
Poise, grace, and a perfect fit.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My second time renting from RTR and once again I was beyond impressed. Based on the reviews I went with the long length. At 5'4 I think either the long OR the regular length would have been fine, but I threw on some extra high heels so that I wouldn't trip. Based on photos I thought the dress would be heavy and scratchy, but it was neither. The dress gave me the confidence and poise I needed to get through a very emotional and powerful evening.
Jan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Mar 11, 2012
Heard over & over "it's the most gorgeous dress at the ball" 2nd from R next to daughter.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore 6L - perfect length for 3" heels. Tried on at Saks a few weeks ago, almost purchased!
Keshni
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Feb 13, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It looked like blue lisuid in the pictures. I wear between and 10 and a 12 but the 10 fit me very well and was even a little large on top, perhaps a size down may have fit the bust perfectly. But I got compliments all night. Dress photogaphs beautifully. It was also my first experience using RTR and so efficient and everything worked beautifully in terms of getting to me and returns. There was even a complimentary bag of handy dress adjustment goodies like seamtape and body tape. thank you RTR for the great service.
Tammy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Feb 4, 2013
I rented this dress for the Marine Corps Ball. Great thing about renting, only I had this dress!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit amazing. I wore super high heels because I'm short (5'3") and did not want to spend the night stepping on the dress. I chose a size 6 & 8. I miss judged how much weight I had lost, and might have been able to go with a 4 because the chest was made for a bit more than I have now. But this was so easy, and the dress looked great, I'm going to do RTR from now on!
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 27, 2013
I got tons of compliments even from people in similar dresses!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress for to attend an inauguration gala and a friend suggested RTR. I ordered a 4R & 2L and wore the 2L. It was still a tad long with 3 inch heals but the 4R would have been too short. The color is also much more beautiful in person. It has purple tones from the sequins which I loved. Overall I loved the dress and the stylist surprise earrings made the outfit. I felt glamourous and had an unforgettable night. Thanks RTR!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3323
Jan 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and LOVED it! It is stunning in person!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits true to size. The color is also true to the picture. The quality is outstanding; when you wear the dress you can feel how heavy it is because it is well made and worth every penny. The sequins are not scratchy and they don't catch on other clothes. The zipper didn't even get caught! I highly recommend this dress for any event!
Kathy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jan 22, 2013
It was a beautiful dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is a deep blue, somewhere between navy and royal blue. Others had flagged that it runs short, but I had to walk a lot that night and planned to wear low heels. I ordered the regular length and it was just right. I felt great in the dress. The sole, quite minor complaint was that the sequins under the arms were a little scratchy.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jan 21, 2013
This dress stole the show! I got so many stares and compliments when I wore this to Military Ball!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a smaller bust and larger hips & thighs, but the 2L was just stretchy enough on bottom to hug my curves while being tight enough on top!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 21, 2013
Perfect dress for an inaugural celebration.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits like a dream and is wonderfully comfortable as well as beautiful. It's a very classic fit - figure flattering and sexy without revealing too much. As others have noted, the long is the best bet if you're 5'4" or taller, plan to wear heels and prefer a gown that hits the floor rather than your ankles.
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 18, 2013
Overall it was a nice dress.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball.I ordered the larger size which was a size 8 since I was worried about the weight I gained over the holidays.I didn't need the size 8 I wore the size 6.It was very comfortable and classy.
Cady
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Jan 15, 2013
tons of compliments!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress immediately! I wore it to my senior prom, the theme of which was "under the sea", so I thought this dress worked perfectly because it really ripples like water when you walk. It was very heavy when I took it out of the bag so I assumed it would be a pain to wear, but it wasn't at all. It's very durable (my boyfriend and I rode a tandem bicycle to prom and this held up magnificently! Not a sequin out of place, haha). It does run a bit large. I ordered the size 4R and 6R as my backup, but I think the 2R would have fit me a bit better, as it was a bit baggy on the top. Anyways, like I said: compliment after compliment! A very beautiful dress :o) The rental and return process was super simple and worked well, so I'll be renting again for sure!
Seana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Jan 10, 2013
I got so many compliments all night long! I loved this dress!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a 6R and 8R because I am 5'6 and wanted to wear short heels, and I saw in the comments that this dress ran long so I ordered regular. The dress was actually almost too short. I was wearing 2" heels, and if the heels had been any higher it would have been too short. The 6 fit, but I wore the 8 to get a little bit more length. I needed about an inch more to touch the floor, so if you are taller than me, make sure you get the long! I loved how the knot/ruching hid my stomach so I did not have to worry about it being tight and uncomfortable after eating. It was flattering and comfortable and this is a great pick!
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Dec 28, 2012
Gorgeous!!!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is even prettier in person than it looks it the picture. I was worried about the fit because my back up size wasn't available, but it fit perfect. I'm a classic pear shape and on the short side, 5'2", and the 6R was just right if you want your shoes to show. I recieved tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!!! As soon as I walked in the room someone said how beautiful the dress was. Thanks RTR...the experience was perfect. Can't wait for my next occasion.
Melanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3531
Dec 23, 2012
It fits like a glove! Also, surprisingly comfortable which made for a great night of dancing.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was surprised that I actually had to take the dress length "L". I'm only about 5'6 and usually wear "Regular" length for clothes items. Overall, fantastic find for a formal / black-tie event. Highly Recommend. Also, check out my co-worker in her hot RTR Badgley Mischka strapless number!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7523
Dec 13, 2012
Great choice!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first formal affair and the first time I got to dress up like this. The gown made me feel amazing! Ok, here are my critiques: the sequins are so small and fine, they didn't scratch me at all. The gown was heavy when I took it out of the bag but felt good while I was wearing it. It was a little difficult to walk in at first until I learned how to walk in it..haha! I am 5'3" and wore 4" heels which were good, but 5" might have been better. If you have a bit of a tummy don't let that stop you from choosing this gown!! The embellishment and the way the dress fit hid all of that and I didn't feel self-conscious at all. My -one- complaint: the zipper! The zipper was a nightmare!!! I don't know if it was just this particular zipper on this gown but I had the most terrible time with it. Every time I zipped and unzipped it I was afraid I was going to break it. Fortunately, it didn't break and everything was fine, but I sure had a difficult time with it. Other than that, the gown was the perfect choice for my evening. Thank you RTR! You did everything you said you would and I appreciate that :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress