David Meister

Navy Sequin Sultry Gown

$78 to buy
$620 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stunning! Rent this navy sequin David Meister gown. You will knock all the other gowns out of the park at the black tie event! Accessorize with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, except shorter in length. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knotted detail
HIPS: Fitted - sequin material enhances hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy sequins( 95% viscose 5% elastane). One shoulder neckline. Twist detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
186 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(158)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
October 23, 2012
Perfect for black tie event!
I ordered an 8L and 10L thinking I would need the larger size. However, the 8L fit perfectly. The dress was beautiful and very comfortable which is a hard combination to find. The heals I wore were 2 inches high to make the dress the perfect length for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
beautiful classy gown, was a hit with everyone
I wore this dress for a black tie auction party
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2012
Beautiful dress but a little short
I could have worn the 2R but the length was a little short after I put on my 3 1/2 " heels, so I went a size up. Ultimately I think I would have been happiest with the 2L but it worked and I got a lot of compliments on the style. Very slimming!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
November 12, 2012
Love it!
I am in love with this dress! Everyone was giving me compliments about how beautiful it was at the event I was at! It was so hard for me to ship the dress back! I wish that I could buy it! I would definitely recommend this dress and would definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2012
Very classy and it looked great!!
This dress definitly is a little short in length and I ordered a regular in length. I'm 5'3" and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was off the floor about 3 inches.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2012
Nice, but nicer on the model
A really pretty dress - sequins are subtle but not quite as subtle as they look in the picture. The model is VERY curvy and fits her like a glove - I work a 2 and found it for fitting but not va-va-voom like I would have liked. Would have worn a 0 if they had it. All in all, comfortable and pretty, but not a show stopper on me. Long worked well on me (5'7" with 3.5 inch heels)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2012
Fabulous!
Was so worried that the dress would not show up in time during the Thanksgiving holiday. Instead of arriving on Friday it arrived on Wednesday which really helped in relieving my stress. This was for my daughter's Debutante Ball in Beverly Hills. I loved the dress and would definitely recommend it. The fit and length were perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Gorgeous Dress!
This dress is absolutely stunning in person! It pretty much runs true to size, but I was a little surprised at the length. I'm 5'4" and the 2R only came to my ankles, but the 2L was perfect with 3" heels. The sequins lay perfectly flat, so the dress is actually very comfortable to wear. I would recommend this dress to anyone, but definitely order the long length if you're my height or above.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Having a few dresses in case!
I am 5'10'' and this was very short on me, without any heel. I ended up wearing the dress I was hoping to. Otherwise, fit was good. This was my backup dress as it was.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
The process worked just as they said- I ordered it to arrive on Thursday and it was there!
I got the 4R and the 6R- thank god the 4R fit absolutely perfect because the armpit on the 6R had had the navy color worn off and it was silver making it look like there was deodorant all over it but the 4R was absolutely stunning and in perfect shape for this black tie wedding. I wore 3.5 inch BCBG 'Pamee' heels with the dress which were two tone (navy/royal blue) pumps and I got compliments on the combo all night from both young and old men AND women! This dress is one of the classiest I've ever worn and for being sequin, was light and flexible when I was dancing on the dance floor. Overall I WILL rent this dress again in the future! It looks better if you're a bit tan (I spray tanned) and I just glowed! I also have a bit of a pouch tummy and it completely hid it, you couldn't even tell- it actually made me feel really skinny!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
First experience with RTR will not be my last. Loved this dress!
I rented this dress for my companies annual holiday party which is black tie optional. I always like to dress up for it. The dress was stunning and I felt like a star. The fit was perfect and comfortable. I did have to go with a lower heeled shoe because the dress was not as long as I thought it would be..which in the long run was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2012
Great choice!
This was my first formal affair and the first time I got to dress up like this. The gown made me feel amazing! Ok, here are my critiques: the sequins are so small and fine, they didn't scratch me at all. The gown was heavy when I took it out of the bag but felt good while I was wearing it. It was a little difficult to walk in at first until I learned how to walk in it..haha! I am 5'3" and wore 4" heels which were good, but 5" might have been better. If you have a bit of a tummy don't let that stop you from choosing this gown!! The embellishment and the way the dress fit hid all of that and I didn't feel self-conscious at all. My -one- complaint: the zipper! The zipper was a nightmare!!! I don't know if it was just this particular zipper on this gown but I had the most terrible time with it. Every time I zipped and unzipped it I was afraid I was going to break it. Fortunately, it didn't break and everything was fine, but I sure had a difficult time with it. Other than that, the gown was the perfect choice for my evening. Thank you RTR! You did everything you said you would and I appreciate that :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2012
It fits like a glove! Also, surprisingly comfortable which made for a great night of dancing.
I was surprised that I actually had to take the dress length "L". I'm only about 5'6 and usually wear "Regular" length for clothes items. Overall, fantastic find for a formal / black-tie event. Highly Recommend. Also, check out my co-worker in her hot RTR Badgley Mischka strapless number!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2012
I felt so pretty in this dress!
I seriously love this dress so much! It was a little short, I got the long but since I'm 5'9.5 you could see my feet but that's ok. I felt so pretty and got so many compliments on it! It shines and is eye catching and it hugs your curves nicely. I got the 2L and 4L and the 2 fit and I wear a 4...and no worrying about pulling the dress up while I was dancing like I would have to with a strapless. It's very comfortable and flexible
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 17, 2012
I was complimented all through the night!
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball and it was very comfortable and the length was fine for me. Normally, I would need a petite size and I was hesitant about ordering the regular size but it was actually perfect. I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2013
Perfect!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. It was perfect for a black-tie affair. I received so many compliments--even the bartender at the event said it was the best dress she had seen in a long time! The one little problem was that the beading was slightly irritating near the armpits.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2013
I got so many compliments all night long! I loved this dress!
I got a 6R and 8R because I am 5'6 and wanted to wear short heels, and I saw in the comments that this dress ran long so I ordered regular. The dress was actually almost too short. I was wearing 2" heels, and if the heels had been any higher it would have been too short. The 6 fit, but I wore the 8 to get a little bit more length. I needed about an inch more to touch the floor, so if you are taller than me, make sure you get the long! I loved how the knot/ruching hid my stomach so I did not have to worry about it being tight and uncomfortable after eating. It was flattering and comfortable and this is a great pick!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
This dress stole the show! I got so many stares and compliments when I wore this to Military Ball!
I have a smaller bust and larger hips & thighs, but the 2L was just stretchy enough on bottom to hug my curves while being tight enough on top!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
It was a beautiful dress!
The color is a deep blue, somewhere between navy and royal blue. Others had flagged that it runs short, but I had to walk a lot that night and planned to wear low heels. I ordered the regular length and it was just right. I felt great in the dress. The sole, quite minor complaint was that the sequins under the arms were a little scratchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and LOVED it! It is stunning in person!
The dress fits true to size. The color is also true to the picture. The quality is outstanding; when you wear the dress you can feel how heavy it is because it is well made and worth every penny. The sequins are not scratchy and they don't catch on other clothes. The zipper didn't even get caught! I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
I got tons of compliments even from people in similar dresses!
I needed a dress for to attend an inauguration gala and a friend suggested RTR. I ordered a 4R & 2L and wore the 2L. It was still a tad long with 3 inch heals but the 4R would have been too short. The color is also much more beautiful in person. It has purple tones from the sequins which I loved. Overall I loved the dress and the stylist surprise earrings made the outfit. I felt glamourous and had an unforgettable night. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
I rented this dress for the Marine Corps Ball. Great thing about renting, only I had this dress!
This dress fit amazing. I wore super high heels because I'm short (5'3") and did not want to spend the night stepping on the dress. I chose a size 6 & 8. I miss judged how much weight I had lost, and might have been able to go with a 4 because the chest was made for a bit more than I have now. But this was so easy, and the dress looked great, I'm going to do RTR from now on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Great look for any time of year! Wore it to a military ball and it was perfect.
Only con to share is that I am 5'8" and got the long and I wish it was a little longer. Not terrible, but I definitely could not have worn more than a kitten heel under it without showing too much shoe for my liking. Luckily my husband is my height, so I was able to rock flats without anyone noticing. Other than that wonderful cut and look. My husband loved it!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2013
Loved it!
I loved this dress. It looked like blue lisuid in the pictures. I wear between and 10 and a 12 but the 10 fit me very well and was even a little large on top, perhaps a size down may have fit the bust perfectly. But I got compliments all night. Dress photogaphs beautifully. It was also my first experience using RTR and so efficient and everything worked beautifully in terms of getting to me and returns. There was even a complimentary bag of handy dress adjustment goodies like seamtape and body tape. thank you RTR for the great service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2013
Elegant color, fantastic fit!
I got this dress originally but picked another due to the type of event. The dress was gorgeous though and just the right royal blue to be elegant but not flashy. Fit was phenomenal. My husband was speechless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 24, 2013
Affordable elegance meets old Hollywood glamour
Wow! My fist RTR experience was a hit! I got a 4R as backup to a 6R. The 4R fit like a glove and with 3 inch heels hit the floor! So the length was good which worried me at first since I am short. I felt like a Hollywood starlet! Perfect for Oscar weekend an my Husband's TN National Guard Ball! He said I was smoking hot in the dress and I got many complements. It's a big difference in quality compared with what others were wearing. It was comfortable too. And I am back into my pre-baby size! I loved this gown! Thanks RTR. Will be renting from you from now on!,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Loved everything about my RTR experience. I am hooked.I will use RTR for everything!
Fit perfect, nice stretch to it and made my "B"s look like big "C"s!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 10, 2013
Best Dress Ever!
From the moment I put this dress on I felt amazing! It is such a beautiful color, very comfortable to wear and very flattering. I am 5'2" and the dress was the perfect length with 4" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
Poise, grace, and a perfect fit.
My second time renting from RTR and once again I was beyond impressed. Based on the reviews I went with the long length. At 5'4 I think either the long OR the regular length would have been fine, but I threw on some extra high heels so that I wouldn't trip. Based on photos I thought the dress would be heavy and scratchy, but it was neither. The dress gave me the confidence and poise I needed to get through a very emotional and powerful evening.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Stunning but not too Flattering
I ordered this as my back up and thank goodness my first pick was perfect. The dress looked amazing but the knot/twist of fabric over the stomach area made me look wider than I really am. However the dress was in amazing shape - usually sequin dresses like this can have missing patches or "backwards" sequins. You can tell RTR takes great care of their dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Perfect fit!
Long dresses don't usually fit me well, but this one was great. Comfortable too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
April 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Loved the fit and ease of RTR transaction.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I ordered the 10L and the 12R and ended up wearing the 10L. I would have been a little more comfortable in the 12, but I had to go with the 10L for the length. I am 5'7" and the long length was barely long enough for me, even wearing very short heels. But I wore this dress to an Air Force Military Ball and it was beautiful!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Amazing dress for a Navy ball!!
The pictures don't do this dress justice! The sequins are gorgeous and it has such a flattering fit and classy style. I went with the 4L and it was the perfect length. I really didn't want to return it!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Wonderful!
This dress was simply amazing looking. I loved everything about it, but it sadly did not like me. It was a little snug all over, but nothing Spanx couldn't have fixed. Except for my chest area.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
May 9, 2013
I wore this dress to my junior/senior prom and I received compliment after compliment all night!
Okay so I'm a I-need-the-smallest-size-you've-got kinda girl. I ordered the 2R and the 2L since 2 was the smallest size available. Neither of them fit right. I should have known that though. The problem was the length of the shoulder strap. They were both too long. I made it work though- my sister and I pinned it up and it fit perfectly and no one knew the difference! Since the pinning made it a little shorter, The 2L was the perfect length with my 5 inch heels. The dress was absolutely stunning! The color was so rich and the sequins were perfect! It wasn't too flashy but very elegant. I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on a dress before! The return process was so easy as well! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 12, 2013
The customer service Emily provided was amazing. This gown was sent to me as a back up because my or
The dress fit nicely. I am athletic (with zero hips), the dress looked nice on me. My only complaint is that the zipper was worn so it made it very difficult to get on and off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2013
Nice dress - not for me though!
I would have liked this dress to be tighter, as a usual size 0 I felt that it overtook my body and didn't really suit my body shape. Otherwise, the sequin detail is pretty and the material is substantial - you feel like you are wearing something sturdy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved it! Great choice.
I wore the dress for my first Army Ball. I knew I needed a gown that was conservative, but not boring. This dress fit the bill as sexy and classy. You can easily wear a strapless bra and not worry about tugging it up all night. The dress is roomie in the mid-section so you can eat and breathe easy. I thought it would have been more fitted, but it was better for me that it wasn't. The dress did not chafe under my arms, and I felt quite lovely. From a side silhouette it does not make you look thin, but the front give a great shape and that's what you see in photographs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 23, 2013
All the compliments!
I got the 10R and the 12R-- ended up in the 12R, my normal size. I wish I had gotten the long though!!! It was long enough, but the long would have looked better. IF YOU'RE TALL, GET THE LONG!! Even though I was a little self conscious about the length, I received TONS of compliments on the dress.
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×