David Meister

Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 1, 2015
Perfect amount of glitz for a NYE wedding
Originally I reserved a different gown for a black tie, New Years Eve wedding. Unfortunately the dress I wanted was returned damaged. RTR helped me find two other options in the size I needed which was a 4P. I chose this David Meister gown because the fit was absolutely perfect and it was the perfect amount of glitz for a New Year's Eve wedding. I didn't want to go with sequins, because I thought it would be too flashy. This dress has a beautiful gold shimmer to it. The fit and length were perfect too, as I am only 5ft tall. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments throughout the night. Very happy with this dress! Hated to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2015
I did not like this dress at all
It was a frumpy look and I did not wear it at all
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 5, 2015
Very happy with this dress
This was a very pretty dress and comfortable for an all evening event! With heels it was just a tad too short but was not a big deal for me because I am very short although for anyone even a little taller the length would become a problem if you plan on wearing heels. The dress is flattering with a very subtle shimmer to it and not too over the top. I felt very pretty in it and received many compliments on the dress!!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 23, 2011
This dress was not as pretty as it looked to me in the picture. It also was not as fitted as I had hoped it would be. It didn't cling to me anywhere-very big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
fantastic!
this dress runs a bit large, I could have gone with a 4 but the 6 worked fine- wearing it to a film festival award ceremony and love the earrings I got to go with it!! A gold and black pearl mesh pair. my first rtr rental deff not my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 22, 2012
The service from Rent the Runway was exactly as easy and flawless as they described. I will certainly rent again. Thank you!
I am 5'6'', and ordered a 6L. The length was perfect with heels. The color of the dress is slightly different than it appears on the website. It is black and gold, not olive. However, the dress was stunning and flattering. The draped detail is beautiful, and the picture shown on the website does not do it justice. I received endless compliments all night. Thank you!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 11, 2012
In the restroom, lots of other women said I looked hot.
I ordered the 4 as a backup, but that's what I wore. This dress is pretty flattering for all body types. I'm fairly flat chested, but the dress looked fine. A full-chested woman would look good in it too. I have a big butt for my body, but the 4 wasn't tight at all. It looks better if you go smaller.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 27, 2013
Did not wear the dress, definitely a little to mature looking.
Order a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 6, 2014
Meh.
I got this as a backup after I found out another dress I meant to rent was ruined by the previous customer (the customer service during this process was great, by the way. A rep contacted me immediately and was very helpful, so 5 stars for that part). I was a little iffy about this dress, but saw the great reviews and decided to give it a shot. When I got it, though, both the design and color were underwhelming. As other reviewers have said, it definitely has a green tint to it. Personally I was not a fan. It was also large and was not very flattering. I would recommend this dress for somebody with a fuller chest, and even then going down a size (or 2).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
May 31, 2014
Great idea but not for me
This was one of the dresses that I ordered with customer service after my first options were too small. This was too big. I have a muffin top and DD's and I thought this would fit my frame which it did but way too big. My usual dress size is a 10. B/c I ordered a 10 in the first few dresses with no luck in fit I went with a 12 in this one to be safe. It was not flattering on me at all. I had too much space on the chest area and just made me look like I had 2 giant blobs but not the attractive kind. I really wanted this dress to work but it didn't. This dress would work more for small frames up top. It also brought attention to the areas I wanted to hide. What I did like about this is that I would not have needed 5 inch heels to wear it since I was shoeless when I took the picture and the dress was just touching the floor with my 5'2 frame. This dress unfortunately, wasn't for me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2014
Way too short!
I should have heeded the warnings on the reviews. I ordered the 2L (I normally wear a 0 or 2) and it was a little loose in the waist which was fine but the length way too short with 3-4 inch heels. You could see my feet which is a pet peeve of mine. Luckily I called RTR and they overnighted a backup dress that worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Not The Best
This dress was not a great color for me, and I did not think it sat well on my body. It felt alot tighter than it looked in the picture, especially over the hips. However, if you are a shorter girl and need an unaltered formal dress quick - the length is perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 26, 2016
Not for me
This dress was a backup dress that I didn't end up wearing. It really didn't fit me right at all- very baggy, did nothing for my figure, and overall just not my style. Oh well! I'm sure it's beautiful on others. As always, RTR was great to deal with :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 9, 2013
Easiest dress for a formal event!
Loved this dress- the color works on everyone, the cut is flattering (manages the curves), it's a comfortable and low-maintenance fabric to handle for a night of dancing. I wore a regular bra, which is obviously a plus too. To note, I am 5'4'' and originally ordered the regular length... almost 4 inches too short, so thankfully the goddesses at RTR were able to overnight the long length, which I ended up wearing. Would recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2012
Striking gown
I rented this gown to wear for a formal portrait sitting. It photographed exquisitely, the detail is lovely. I found the sequins incredibly uncomfortable under the arms, maybe this was worse because the dress was a bit large for me so it had extra fabric to rub my skin. I found it to be very forgiving and flattering. I rented this size because I feared my bust would be too big for the 8, but the 8 would have been better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 29, 2012
not as exciting as i hoped
I ended up wearing the other dress in my order. This dress was heavy and not as sparkly as I expected from the pictures. It sort of hung on my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Just Itchy
I ended up wearing my back-up dress because both sizes were TOO small. I would have still worn my back up dress since the sequins and fabric on this dress were so itchy. I know this dress would have rubbed my armpits raw if it had fit.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2012
Eh. Not great.
I ordered this as my back up dress and didn't wear it. I'm 5'10 and wear a 8/10 in street clothes, and the 8L in this dress was too small and too short. The waistband was too high on me, accentuating my ribacage and not my waist, and the chest cups sat above my chest. I wasn't a huge fan of the fabric either. I think it might work better on someone who is shorter than I am. I wore the Badgely Mischka Screen Siren gown which was way more impressive than this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2012
Color different from photo (it's black with a black & gold overlay) under arms itchy, VERY short
I received this, tried it on, and returned it. I am disappointed with the length; it doesn't touch the ground (definitely can't wear heels with it). I am now hoping to get a new dress in time for my wedding tomorrow
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2012
Cheap fabric and cartoonishly short. If this was the only dress I had, I would have been sunk.
As you can see from the photo, the underlay stopped half way down my calf. I'm 5' 9", but still (the long wasn't available), it was extremely short. The overlay was very cheap-feeling and didn't look at all like it did in the photos. I wish I'd gotten a close-up. In the photos it looked textured and bronze, in person it was a scratchy sparkle layer. Also, the bust made a uni-boob.
RTR CustomerDecember 27, 2012
Hi Gavel! So sorry to hear that the dress wasn't in pristine condition and you weren't satisfied with your rental. That is definitely not our intention so please make sure to contact a stylist so we can make sure to right this experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2013
WAY TOO SHORT!!!!
Beautiful gown but, way too short. I am 5'3" and it didn't even hit the floor when I tried it on barefoot. I could not wear it as I refuse to wear flats to a black tie event. I put that it runs small because honestly....I don't know who could wear this dress due to the length unless they are under 4' tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Looks cheap
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, and didn't end of wearing it. The material looked very cheap and the worst part was it ran super short. I am tall, but the dress barely made it to my ankle (and I rented a tall!). Resulted in a not so fun last minute shopping trip....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2013
I tried this for a formal event
I should have read the comments before ordering this dress - it was much shorter than I was expecting. I am 5'7'', and I usually don't need to order a long. This dress did not quite reach the floor, meaning I couldn't have worn heels, and the lining came to about my ankles. I would have ordered a long if I'd known. I wound up wearing the back-up dress I ordered instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
Pretty dress ordered as backup dress (I wore the other dress)..
Nice dress...nice color and styling...but I couldn't have worn this dress due to the length. I am 5'10" and even barefoot...the dress was 3 inches off the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 27, 2012
Great evening gown for a shorter person.
This was a stunning dress in real life that I wore to a black tie gala, however, I couldn't wear my sky high heels with it because it runs on the short side, even though I ordered a Long and wore a 12 instead of a 10 to get some extra length. Still was very comfortable and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2013
Lovely dress but far too short - should have ordered the long
I liked the understated glam of this dress. It was good quality material, however, it was too short for me. I'm only 5'6. The long wasn't available, and that is what I really needed.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 16, 2013
Beautiful gown that fit perfectly!
This dress was *perfect* for my office's black tie holiday party! It fit like a glove, which seemed lucky as I ended up going up a size. The dress was super flattering and comfortable! The regular length was shorter than I expected, but I still wore 3-inch heels without a problem.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2011
I'm a size 6, 34C on the top. Dress fit on the top and drapes. The length was way short once I put on heals. The color is very unappealing. Almost greenish tint. Looks better in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2011
I was disappointed with this dress. The material was not as nice as it looked on the website. Also, I am 5'9 and planned to wear 4" heels, but the dress was still a little short and I rented the "Long".
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2011
This dress looks very elegant and classy. Fabrics feel a little bit scratchy. You should consider shoes and accesories 'cause it looks like something between gold and copper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 19, 2011
Hourglass figure? Recommend!
This is a beautiful dress. Actually, it wasn't my first pick. The dress I had rented didn't show and this was one of the dresses they sent as a replacement (which went better than I expected - they really do take care of you). The dress was perfect for my hourglass figure. I used a little body tape to keep the shoulder straps in place. The color is unusual, but I put it with a stunning pearl shell necklace. The long worked well with my heels. I received lots of complements. I would recommend!
AmyJanuary 25, 2012
How would you describe the color? It looks almost green in the picture, but I see someone else said it was more like copper. Thoughts?
AlissaJanuary 25, 2012
Hi Amy! The color is definitely a metallic copper tone and looks great on any complexion.
LindaJanuary 30, 2014
I thought it would be copper but it was black when I received it.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Not my favorite
I didn't love this dress. It looked much more sophisticated on the model than it did in person. The fabric was not as nice as I had expected and I wasn't crazy about the cut. It did fit true to size, although it was a little on the short size. (I'm just under 5'5" and would have need very short heels.) Luckly, I ordered another dress that was amazing.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
Very pretty, fit well
This dress made me feel great all night long. Even though the sequins were a bit scratchy around the arms, the overall look was very old hollywood glam. The dress was true to size, and the material was a bit stretchy and forgiving, so probably would have accommodated a range of sizes. The draping across the stomach hid the tummy, which was something I was a bit concerned about from the picture. I'm 5'9 and the dress was exactly long enough when I was barefoot, so I just wore flat sandals instead of heels. The slip underneath is about 2 inches shorter than the overlay, which was a bit weird, but it was fine. Overall, was very pleased with how this dress turned out.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Pear
December 21, 2011
Great dress, but not best
This was a beautiful dress and it fit nicely. I ordered two dresses for this event though and the other one (the Nicole Miller) was more stunning. The fabric on this one was a bit scratchier, though the dress looked great and would have worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 21, 2012
Perfect
I wore this to a fundraiser gala and felt great all night. The color was perfect for February and the dress fit well too. The draping is beautiful. The color is definitely coppery with some black (not brown or olive as it looks in the picture). I had to wear flats, otherwise it would have been too short, but I was ok with that. Also, the dress is not quite as open on top as it appears in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 3, 2012
Gold dress
The dress fit and looked great. This dress is actually gold. Also, pictures taken in the dress does not show the detailed draping in the front.
OliviaJuly 3, 2012
Any chance you can tell me what height heels worked for you while wearing this dress? We are the same measurements so any help would be greatly appreciated!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 12, 2012
Black Tie Wedding
I really loved wearing this dress--felt elegant but different enough that I wasn't just wearing black. It fit really well, and I am quite busty. My only small complaint is that the length for the regular is a bit short. I am 5'3" and wore 3 inch heels which were definitely too tall. If you are tall or like heels, I would think about trying both lengths when you order.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
The dress and the amazing wedding!
Such a gorgeous dress. I loved the unique color and the dress was extremely flattering. I am 5'0 and was able to wear this dress with small wedges. It was pefect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
Dress color not at all like photo- gold/sparkly.
Fit was dumpy, breasts looked weird.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
It was such a comfortable and forgiving dress!
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night for a black tie wedding I went to - I was happy to be in something so nice that allowed me to wear a regular bra, but was still so formal. I am pretty short and did also run a long dress, and it was perfect with my heels- the regular would have been too short for sure.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×