Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 30, 2014
Great dress for formal wedding.
Love the color and the material this dress is made of. Very comfortable to wear. I'm only 5'3" and the dress was the perfect length. It would definitely be too short for anyone taller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Great dress for an engagement shoot!
I am 5'4", 130 lbs, and wore the 4L-- although a 6L also would have worked as well. I got both sizes in Long once I read the reviews and I was glad that I did--- and it DEFINITELY needs the extra length if you are over about 5'2" and want to wear any size heel at all. The color is black with a gold shimmer to it, although it tends to read a more coppery color in photos. It is very comfortable, easy to move around in, and photographs beautifully; I loved it!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2014
Perfect for a formal evening event
I'm so glad I picked this dress for a fall black tie wedding! In person the material is black with gold threading, but photographs as a pretty bronze color. I was happy with more coverage in the straps/chest compared to the stock photo. I wish the band fell a bit lower to accentuate the waist, but maybe that's just my body type. The dress might run slightly large, I'm usually a 4-6 in fitted dresses, and the 2L was a tad snug on top but the 4L top was a tad large. The hips aren't fitted so I went with the 2L. The bottom of the 2L dress skimmed the floor when I wore flats, and I'm only 5'6.5, so, this dress might not work if you want to be any taller than that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
October 25, 2014
I looked and felt beautiful at the opera.
I rented this for the Metropolitan Opera on New Year's Eve. I am petite & the dress ran longer than expected, even with my three inch heels. I had to carry it whenever I walked. I received lots of compliments that night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2014
Way too short!
I should have heeded the warnings on the reviews. I ordered the 2L (I normally wear a 0 or 2) and it was a little loose in the waist which was fine but the length way too short with 3-4 inch heels. You could see my feet which is a pet peeve of mine. Luckily I called RTR and they overnighted a backup dress that worked out!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2014
The dress was beautiful!
The fit was good although I felt fat in it but that's my fault of course.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 1, 2015
Perfect amount of glitz for a NYE wedding
Originally I reserved a different gown for a black tie, New Years Eve wedding. Unfortunately the dress I wanted was returned damaged. RTR helped me find two other options in the size I needed which was a 4P. I chose this David Meister gown because the fit was absolutely perfect and it was the perfect amount of glitz for a New Year's Eve wedding. I didn't want to go with sequins, because I thought it would be too flashy. This dress has a beautiful gold shimmer to it. The fit and length were perfect too, as I am only 5ft tall. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments throughout the night. Very happy with this dress! Hated to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Not The Best
This dress was not a great color for me, and I did not think it sat well on my body. It felt alot tighter than it looked in the picture, especially over the hips. However, if you are a shorter girl and need an unaltered formal dress quick - the length is perfect!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2015
I felt great in the dress I'm so happy that I used this service
Others that rented the dress recommended getting the longer dress and they were correct! I'm 5' 1" and I wore 4 " heels-- the dress was the perfect length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2015
I did not like this dress at all
It was a frumpy look and I did not wear it at all
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for the black-tie 1920's theme wedding I attended!
After reading other reviews, I decided to order in my normal size, 4R, plus the 2L (4L was not available). The 2L worked perfectly; in terms of actual fit it was about the same as the 4, but the R was definitely too short. This dress was super comfortable and I didn't even have to wear a bra with it. The fabric is little scratchy around the sleeves; I woke up the next morning with red scratch marks around my shoulders and underarms. Overall, this is a great dress and I received many compliments. This was my first time "renting the runway" and I will definitely do it again!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 23, 2011
This dress was not as pretty as it looked to me in the picture. It also was not as fitted as I had hoped it would be. It didn't cling to me anywhere-very big.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2011
I'm a size 6, 34C on the top. Dress fit on the top and drapes. The length was way short once I put on heals. The color is very unappealing. Almost greenish tint. Looks better in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2011
I was disappointed with this dress. The material was not as nice as it looked on the website. Also, I am 5'9 and planned to wear 4" heels, but the dress was still a little short and I rented the "Long".
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2011
This dress looks very elegant and classy. Fabrics feel a little bit scratchy. You should consider shoes and accesories 'cause it looks like something between gold and copper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 19, 2011
Hourglass figure? Recommend!
This is a beautiful dress. Actually, it wasn't my first pick. The dress I had rented didn't show and this was one of the dresses they sent as a replacement (which went better than I expected - they really do take care of you). The dress was perfect for my hourglass figure. I used a little body tape to keep the shoulder straps in place. The color is unusual, but I put it with a stunning pearl shell necklace. The long worked well with my heels. I received lots of complements. I would recommend!
AmyJanuary 25, 2012
How would you describe the color? It looks almost green in the picture, but I see someone else said it was more like copper. Thoughts?
AlissaJanuary 25, 2012
Hi Amy! The color is definitely a metallic copper tone and looks great on any complexion.
LindaJanuary 30, 2014
I thought it would be copper but it was black when I received it.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Not my favorite
I didn't love this dress. It looked much more sophisticated on the model than it did in person. The fabric was not as nice as I had expected and I wasn't crazy about the cut. It did fit true to size, although it was a little on the short size. (I'm just under 5'5" and would have need very short heels.) Luckly, I ordered another dress that was amazing.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
Very pretty, fit well
This dress made me feel great all night long. Even though the sequins were a bit scratchy around the arms, the overall look was very old hollywood glam. The dress was true to size, and the material was a bit stretchy and forgiving, so probably would have accommodated a range of sizes. The draping across the stomach hid the tummy, which was something I was a bit concerned about from the picture. I'm 5'9 and the dress was exactly long enough when I was barefoot, so I just wore flat sandals instead of heels. The slip underneath is about 2 inches shorter than the overlay, which was a bit weird, but it was fine. Overall, was very pleased with how this dress turned out.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Pear
December 21, 2011
Great dress, but not best
This was a beautiful dress and it fit nicely. I ordered two dresses for this event though and the other one (the Nicole Miller) was more stunning. The fabric on this one was a bit scratchier, though the dress looked great and would have worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
fantastic!
this dress runs a bit large, I could have gone with a 4 but the 6 worked fine- wearing it to a film festival award ceremony and love the earrings I got to go with it!! A gold and black pearl mesh pair. my first rtr rental deff not my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 21, 2012
Perfect
I wore this to a fundraiser gala and felt great all night. The color was perfect for February and the dress fit well too. The draping is beautiful. The color is definitely coppery with some black (not brown or olive as it looks in the picture). I had to wear flats, otherwise it would have been too short, but I was ok with that. Also, the dress is not quite as open on top as it appears in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 3, 2012
Gold dress
The dress fit and looked great. This dress is actually gold. Also, pictures taken in the dress does not show the detailed draping in the front.
OliviaJuly 3, 2012
Any chance you can tell me what height heels worked for you while wearing this dress? We are the same measurements so any help would be greatly appreciated!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 22, 2012
The service from Rent the Runway was exactly as easy and flawless as they described. I will certainly rent again. Thank you!
I am 5'6'', and ordered a 6L. The length was perfect with heels. The color of the dress is slightly different than it appears on the website. It is black and gold, not olive. However, the dress was stunning and flattering. The draped detail is beautiful, and the picture shown on the website does not do it justice. I received endless compliments all night. Thank you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 12, 2012
Black Tie Wedding
I really loved wearing this dress--felt elegant but different enough that I wasn't just wearing black. It fit really well, and I am quite busty. My only small complaint is that the length for the regular is a bit short. I am 5'3" and wore 3 inch heels which were definitely too tall. If you are tall or like heels, I would think about trying both lengths when you order.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Just Itchy
I ended up wearing my back-up dress because both sizes were TOO small. I would have still worn my back up dress since the sequins and fabric on this dress were so itchy. I know this dress would have rubbed my armpits raw if it had fit.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
The dress and the amazing wedding!
Such a gorgeous dress. I loved the unique color and the dress was extremely flattering. I am 5'0 and was able to wear this dress with small wedges. It was pefect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2012
Eh. Not great.
I ordered this as my back up dress and didn't wear it. I'm 5'10 and wear a 8/10 in street clothes, and the 8L in this dress was too small and too short. The waistband was too high on me, accentuating my ribacage and not my waist, and the chest cups sat above my chest. I wasn't a huge fan of the fabric either. I think it might work better on someone who is shorter than I am. I wore the Badgely Mischka Screen Siren gown which was way more impressive than this dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
Dress color not at all like photo- gold/sparkly.
Fit was dumpy, breasts looked weird.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
It was such a comfortable and forgiving dress!
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night for a black tie wedding I went to - I was happy to be in something so nice that allowed me to wear a regular bra, but was still so formal. I am pretty short and did also run a long dress, and it was perfect with my heels- the regular would have been too short for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 141lbs
September 17, 2012
Feeling glowing and elegant in a gorgeous dress.
This dress was beautiful, glamourous but not ostentatious. It was very comfortable. Though I am not all that tall (5'5") I felt the vertical pleats made me look longer. The waistline offers helpful definition. I loved the grecian draping of this dress, but in a warm gold/brown color that didn't make me look like I should be holding up a pillar somewhere on a temple in Greece. I fit into both the Size 6 and Size 8, but wore the larger size just because it was a little more comfortable. The length worked with a low heel, so the hemline was just above the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
I liked this dress a lot, got a lot of compliments.
I am 5'6 and 120# and the two fit well, could have used a smaller size. If you usually wear a zero the 2 will be too big for you. I also thought the dress was ways too short for someone my height. The length is not for anyone 5'6 and over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect rental for the Symphony Opening Gala
Loved this dress and the gold undertone. Great fit and great rental for a black tie affair!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 25, 2012
could have been better...
I'm fairly certain that the specific dress I received had been altered (perhaps it had stretched out over time?)... the left chest area was SUPER wonky... the dress itself fit perfectly and was really quite beautiful when I put it on. The problem with the left boob area unfortunately was so disastrous that even my boyfriend pointed it out (and he's not the most detail oriented person) I safety pinned the extra fabric back so it didn't look like I had one disformed saggy boob and wore it anyway since I paid for it! I think it would have been an amazing dress if it wasn't for that, and like I said I think it was something that was specific to the dress they sent me...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2012
Color different from photo (it's black with a black & gold overlay) under arms itchy, VERY short
I received this, tried it on, and returned it. I am disappointed with the length; it doesn't touch the ground (definitely can't wear heels with it). I am now hoping to get a new dress in time for my wedding tomorrow
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Not again
I rented this as my primary choice and thank goodness I got a backup. At 5'1" this made me look short and frumpy and awful. The material was also very scratchy on my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2012
Great dress - runs short.
This is a great dress. Black and gold metallic fabric...not the olive color that it looks on the website. A little ill-fitting on the top because of the way it is draped, but nothing that some fashion tape couldn't fix. I am short (5'2) and the 6R barely hit the floor with 3 inch heels on. I would go with the long size if you are taller than 5'3 and planning on wearing heels. I would also order a smaller size as your back-up (in the long, though). I had plenty of room in the 6. The dress does not cling at all and is well made. A little scratchy but modern and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Pretty - Good for a winter or fall event
I ended up wearing my other dress option but this was a nice dress. It would have been fine for a black tie wedding - but the other dress felt a little more unique.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I wore this dress to a sorority formal and I could not have picked a better gown! It fit perfectly.
It was true to size and looked even better in person!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2012
Great dress for a high end, black tie wedding.
It fit perfectly as it was custom made to my body and was comfortable all night. I was never tripping over the length, with my heels its was just fine.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2012
Feeling like a model in this dress!
This dress fit true to size. The regular length was perfect with my 3 inch heels. Any higher and I might have needed the long. The dress was flowy in the right places and made me feel like a princess. I got so many compliments and can't wait to rent the runway again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×