Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large12
True to Size73
Small11
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 5, 2015
Very happy with this dress
This was a very pretty dress and comfortable for an all evening event! With heels it was just a tad too short but was not a big deal for me because I am very short although for anyone even a little taller the length would become a problem if you plan on wearing heels. The dress is flattering with a very subtle shimmer to it and not too over the top. I felt very pretty in it and received many compliments on the dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2015
Just the right amount of sparkle for a formal wedding
The dress is beautiful and elegant, with just the right amount of sparkle for a formal wedding. The fit was true to size and the dress was super comfortable all night long. The draping of the dress is beautiful and would be flattering on any figure. I'm 5'6" 140 lbs and wore a size 8L. As the other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs short. The photo is taken after I kicked off my heels. Even in flip flops, you could see a good bit of my feet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2015
Wore a different dress.
Ended up not wearing this dress. I am a size 6 and 5'5". The size six fit pretty well but only came to my ankles. it was VERY short. I couldn't even wear it with flats. If you are normal height like me, you will need the long.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for the black-tie 1920's theme wedding I attended!
After reading other reviews, I decided to order in my normal size, 4R, plus the 2L (4L was not available). The 2L worked perfectly; in terms of actual fit it was about the same as the 4, but the R was definitely too short. This dress was super comfortable and I didn't even have to wear a bra with it. The fabric is little scratchy around the sleeves; I woke up the next morning with red scratch marks around my shoulders and underarms. Overall, this is a great dress and I received many compliments. This was my first time "renting the runway" and I will definitely do it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2015
I did not like this dress at all
It was a frumpy look and I did not wear it at all
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2015
I felt great in the dress I'm so happy that I used this service
Others that rented the dress recommended getting the longer dress and they were correct! I'm 5' 1" and I wore 4 " heels-- the dress was the perfect length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Not The Best
This dress was not a great color for me, and I did not think it sat well on my body. It felt alot tighter than it looked in the picture, especially over the hips. However, if you are a shorter girl and need an unaltered formal dress quick - the length is perfect!
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 1, 2015
Perfect amount of glitz for a NYE wedding
Originally I reserved a different gown for a black tie, New Years Eve wedding. Unfortunately the dress I wanted was returned damaged. RTR helped me find two other options in the size I needed which was a 4P. I chose this David Meister gown because the fit was absolutely perfect and it was the perfect amount of glitz for a New Year's Eve wedding. I didn't want to go with sequins, because I thought it would be too flashy. This dress has a beautiful gold shimmer to it. The fit and length were perfect too, as I am only 5ft tall. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments throughout the night. Very happy with this dress! Hated to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2014
The dress was beautiful!
The fit was good although I felt fat in it but that's my fault of course.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2014
Way too short!
I should have heeded the warnings on the reviews. I ordered the 2L (I normally wear a 0 or 2) and it was a little loose in the waist which was fine but the length way too short with 3-4 inch heels. You could see my feet which is a pet peeve of mine. Luckily I called RTR and they overnighted a backup dress that worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
October 25, 2014
I looked and felt beautiful at the opera.
I rented this for the Metropolitan Opera on New Year's Eve. I am petite & the dress ran longer than expected, even with my three inch heels. I had to carry it whenever I walked. I received lots of compliments that night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2014
Perfect for a formal evening event
I'm so glad I picked this dress for a fall black tie wedding! In person the material is black with gold threading, but (more importantly? :) ) photographs awesomely as a pretty bronze color. I was happy with more coverage in the straps/chest compared to the stock photo. I wish the band fell a bit lower to accentuate the waist, but maybe that's just my body type. The dress might run sliiightly large, I'm usually a 4-6 in more fitted dresses, and the 2L was a tad snug on top but the 4L top was a tad large. Since the skirt flowed out the 2L fit great. As you can see, the bottom of the dress skimmed the floor when I wore flats, and I'm only 5'6.5! So, this dress might not work if you want to be any taller than that including heels, even in the long size. But flats worked for me and made dancing even more fun and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2014
I felt fabulous at this black tie wedding!
I turned to RTR for the first time to find a gown for a friend's black tie wedding after hearing great things from friends about their experience. I figured I'd rather spend under $100 on a rental than $300+ on a dress I'll only wear once. I picked this dress because it looked so good on so many different body types and I couldn't have been happier with the outcome! This dress was not only comfortable, but it fit in all the right places. I rented the 6L and 8L and was glad I listened to the other reviews and got the long, because any shorter would've been too short with heels. I probably could've gone with a bit taller shoes as the dress was a bit long with the 2" heel shoes I wore. The 8 was just a tad big in some places so I went with the 6, which is my usual size. The material and color is so unique, I got tons of compliments. I can't wait to try RTR again... wedding season's just begun!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Great dress for an engagement shoot!
I am 5'4", 130 lbs, and wore the 4L-- although a 6L also would have worked as well. I got both sizes in Long once I read the reviews and I was glad that I did--- and it DEFINITELY needs the extra length if you are over about 5'2" and want to wear any size heel at all. The color is black with a gold shimmer to it, although it tends to read a more coppery color in photos. It is very comfortable, easy to move around in, and photographs beautifully; I loved it!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 30, 2014
Great dress for formal wedding.
Love the color and the material this dress is made of. Very comfortable to wear. I'm only 5'3" and the dress was the perfect length. It would definitely be too short for anyone taller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 20, 2014
When I got the dress and tired it on
It fit very nicely and it was a bit long but I didn't mind picking up when needed.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2014
Compliments all night!
The dress was awesome since it allows for a regular bra! I wore the 8L and had a 10R (ran out of L) as a back up size. I usually have to size up for extra room in the bust but the 8L was fit perfect (minus needing someone to help zip it that final inch!). The 10R fit too loosely in the chest (twisted fabric detail) and was not as flattering. The regular length hit at a funny part at my foot and didn't feel right - shorter heels would have probably solved that. The long length was a bit long - I wore 4.5 in heels with the 8L.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2014
Perfect fit!
This was my first rental and it worked out perfectly. The dress fit like it was tailored and I received compliments all night. I gave it four stars because of the dress material. While it looked pretty, it was a little scratchy around the neckline and arms. Otherwise, everything was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 154lbs
May 31, 2014
Great idea but not for me
This was one of the dresses that I ordered with customer service after my first options were too small. This was too big. I have a muffin top and DD's and I thought this would fit my frame which it did but way too big. My usual dress size is a 10. B/c I ordered a 10 in the first few dresses with no luck in fit I went with a 12 in this one to be safe. It was not flattering on me at all. I had too much space on the chest area and just made me look like I had 2 giant blobs but not the attractive kind. I really wanted this dress to work but it didn't. This dress would work more for small frames up top. It also brought attention to the areas I wanted to hide. What I did like about this is that I would not have needed 5 inch heels to wear it since I was shoeless when I took the picture and the dress was just touching the floor with my 5'2 frame. This dress unfortunately, wasn't for me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 7, 2014
Flattering on curves, but runs short.
I am short (5'4") and after reading reviews ordered the long. It fit perfectly with 2 inch heels. Like other reviews say, the lining definitely stops at an oddly short spot, but the overlay falls perfectly. I have a large chest, so I loved that I could wear a regular bra and felt confident dancing all night. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and felt that it was perfect for a formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 6, 2014
Meh.
I got this as a backup after I found out another dress I meant to rent was ruined by the previous customer (the customer service during this process was great, by the way. A rep contacted me immediately and was very helpful, so 5 stars for that part). I was a little iffy about this dress, but saw the great reviews and decided to give it a shot. When I got it, though, both the design and color were underwhelming. As other reviewers have said, it definitely has a green tint to it. Personally I was not a fan. It was also large and was not very flattering. I would recommend this dress for somebody with a fuller chest, and even then going down a size (or 2).
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Body type: Petite
February 23, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable
No cons at all. The length and fit were perfect. The dress was beautiful and the most comfortable I've ever worn to a Mardi Gras ball.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
February 11, 2014
Beautiful but short!
This dress is a beautiful color and I thought the cut was very flattering. I would have loved to wear it, but it was way too short. I am 5' 7" and I rented the 0L. I only would have been able to wear it with flat sandals. I would definitely recommend this dress for someone who is shorter than me or who plans to wear flats!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
Unfortunately, I did not get to wear it :(
I was so sad that I had to return this dress! It was way too short to the point of being unwearable. Both sizes I got, 4R and 6R, were almost up to my ankles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 30, 2014
Very elegant dress, loved the style.
Very pretty dress. It looks more chocolate colored in the photo but the dress is black with gold threading. Waist hit higher than I expected but still worked. More lightweight fabric than I expected yet it wasn't inexpensive looking at all. I ordered an 8 Long and it was just right with heels, and I'm 5'7''. If you're over 5'8'' and wearing high heels, the long may still not be long enough. Very happy with the dress overall.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 16, 2013
Beautiful gown that fit perfectly!
This dress was *perfect* for my office's black tie holiday party! It fit like a glove, which seemed lucky as I ended up going up a size. The dress was super flattering and comfortable! The regular length was shorter than I expected, but I still wore 3-inch heels without a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2013
Loved it!! A very glamorous old Hollywood look with a shimmery overlay.
Extremely comfortable with strategic formfitting draping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 8, 2013
Dress falls nicely, looks way better on than in the picture.
Main downside is that it has these painful little spear-points (part of the sparkle?) that dig into your underarm and back... These drove me nuts until I had a few drinks and kind of forgot about them. Also wasn't a huge fan of the draping at the chest - made it a bit more of a "mom" dress than at 20-something dress. Ultimately I did wear this and got a bunch of compliments, but it wasn't the best dress out there. What I did love about this dress was the length - I'm 5'2" and finding a long dress that doesn't drag on the floor and trip me is a bit tough. No problem here - wore the "2 regular" and was was able to wear medium-to-low heels without any problems.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2013
NIce but not my style
I didn't wear this dress ended up because the color really didn't look good against my skin. The fit is beautiful, the fabric is nice but the color is just OK. The front wasn't flattering on me but I could see how it could be if you were larger chested and could create a sexier neckline. The 4P did fit perfectly though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2013
Lovely dress but far too short - should have ordered the long
I liked the understated glam of this dress. It was good quality material, however, it was too short for me. I'm only 5'6. The long wasn't available, and that is what I really needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2013
Pretty dress ordered as backup dress (I wore the other dress)..
Nice dress...nice color and styling...but I couldn't have worn this dress due to the length. I am 5'10" and even barefoot...the dress was 3 inches off the floor.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 27, 2013
Did not wear the dress, definitely a little to mature looking.
Order a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2013
I've rented better
While I was hopeful about this dress, the fabric was itchy and the draping was off. The left side of the draping at the bust differed from the draping on the right side. The draping at the waist was also not so flattering. While I thought it would be it actually ended up making me look a little poochy. It may look great on someone who is very straight but i have hips and so it didn't look as flattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 18, 2013
My mom looked great!!
I described the Renting program to my Mom and she was stoked to rent something for an upcoming wedding. She is 5'7" & 120 lbs.She looked great! The dress fit her like a glove!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 15, 2013
Dress was gorgeous! Fits perfect and was elegant.
I ended up not wearing it, but it was beautiful. The dress was so elegant that it made me feel a little older than I needed it to make me feel for the occasion. It would be perfect for a black tie cocktail party or some other event. Gorgeous style and fit was just my size. Ordered the 10 and that is what size I normally wear. I'm 5'6" and busty and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2013
I wore this to an art opening paired with vintage paste jewels, and it was perfect.
I am 5'9" and ordered the long. Even with the long length I was glad I wore flats (bejeweled sandals). Any more of a heel and I think it would have looked too short. The waist is high and the stomach/hip area is forgiving, which is nice. Felt like a goddess!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2013
Very flattering, although short!
I thought the dress was very pretty and fit well. It was short though. I ordered the regular and I should have ordered the long. I am 5'5ish...so I feel like I am pretty average and don't have to order long dresses...but if you are hesitant...go with the LONG! Otherwise, loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
June 5, 2013
Gorgeous choice for a formal event!
I wore this dress to a charity ball and felt comfortable and elegant. It photoraphs well and is very flattering! I am 5'7 and needed the long size.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 23, 2013
Bad angle on photo, but loved the dress!!!
I have large breasts and this one still fit me perfectly. The length was spot on and I liked how it wasn't skin tight on my stomach area, but still very classy and beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2013
I tried this for a formal event
I should have read the comments before ordering this dress - it was much shorter than I was expecting. I am 5'7'', and I usually don't need to order a long. This dress did not quite reach the floor, meaning I couldn't have worn heels, and the lining came to about my ankles. I would have ordered a long if I'd known. I wound up wearing the back-up dress I ordered instead.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×