Metallic Twisted Gown

$54 to buy
$600 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this insanely chic metallic David Meister gown to the event of the year.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black and gold metallic knit(88% nylon;12% gold yarn). V neckline with twisted bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large12
True to Size73
Small11
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 22, 2013
Lovely and comfortable, too
I chose this dress for my very first RTR, and it was a good choice. I have a large chest (36DD) and needed something I could wear with a regular bra. This gown looked great; the gathered front is flattering and the gold-flecked material is a nice change of pace from a straight black dress. I ordered the 8R with a 10R as a backup, and wound up wearing the 10R because I couldn't get the 8R to zip up in the back. I was grateful for the small package of fashion tape that RTR sent, because I needed it to secure the dress to my bra in the front and to the straps in the back to keep them from peeping out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2013
On the verge of too short
I loved this dress, I got the 6L as a back up size and it fit great, but it was too short! And the 8L was really a little too short too, but I wore 1inch heels and got away with it. This dress is super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 2, 2013
Really pretty but too short and very rough fabric
Was way too short for me and I don't consider myself very tall
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 9, 2013
Easiest dress for a formal event!
Loved this dress- the color works on everyone, the cut is flattering (manages the curves), it's a comfortable and low-maintenance fabric to handle for a night of dancing. I wore a regular bra, which is obviously a plus too. To note, I am 5'4'' and originally ordered the regular length... almost 4 inches too short, so thankfully the goddesses at RTR were able to overnight the long length, which I ended up wearing. Would recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Looks cheap
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, and didn't end of wearing it. The material looked very cheap and the worst part was it ran super short. I am tall, but the dress barely made it to my ankle (and I rented a tall!). Resulted in a not so fun last minute shopping trip....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2013
So flattering post baby!
I was disappointed when I first received it because I thought the material looked really cheap - definitely not $600 worth as is the actual retail price of the dress. However, the dress was so, so flattering that it almost entirely made up for it. I just had two kids back to back and am really self conscience about my baby weight in the middle, this relieved me from spending a lot of money on what I hope is a temporary size, the agony of going store to store looking for a tummy hiding dress, and the time involved. I looked very different from everyone and that made me feel pretty good, too. I wore with shiny gold shoes and black earrings, although shiny gold earring would go also. I ordered both the 8R and 8L because I heard it ran short with heels. I am 5'2" and I was able to wear 4 inch heels with the regular dress, BUT the dress hung about 1/2 inch above the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2013
Great shine, glam dress perfect for a wedding or fancy night out
Dress is very comfortable (which isn't common with sequin dresses) and has great coverage for still wearing a bra with straps. Lightweight shimmery material looks better and photographs better than it looks on the website.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 25, 2013
this dress was super comfortable and very flattering! I absolutely loved it :)
it runs true to size, it hides well, I did not need to wear spanx. it worked well with a 3 inch heel and I am 5'6
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
February 7, 2013
Great silhouette!
I wore this dress to a law school formal and it was perfect for the event. I got tricked by all the reviews saying this dress was too short and I wanted to ensure that it would still be floor length even with heals, so I ordered the long rather than the regular. However the long was a little too long for me, I had to hold it up anytime I was walking. Other than that, I was really happy with the silhouette and the style of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2013
Beautiful and a little different than most gowns at the ball!
I wore this dress for an inaugural ball and could not have been happier! The fabric has some stretch so it was quite comfortable. I ordered a size up for my back up but wore my normal size. I was able to wear a regular bra which is always a plus with a bigger bust! I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect, it just skimmed the floor, however, if you are tall this dress would be much too short.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 22, 2013
Cheap material and way too short!!
I ordered a size 4R because the size guide said that the regular length should be fine for someone my height but the dress was bizarrely short! Fell right below my ankles and certainly would have looked awkward with any type of heel. Though the fit was otherwise nice, the material of the dress feels rather cheap. I wouldn't recommend it for a truly formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 22, 2013
WAY TOO SHORT!!!!
Beautiful gown but, way too short. I am 5'3" and it didn't even hit the floor when I tried it on barefoot. I could not wear it as I refuse to wear flats to a black tie event. I put that it runs small because honestly....I don't know who could wear this dress due to the length unless they are under 4' tall.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 27, 2012
Frumpy...
I returned this dress because it was too short and made me look frumpy. I am 5'5 and the regular hit me above the ankle. The top looked very frumpy... I wouldn't recommend this dress for the athletic figure without a waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2012
Cheap fabric and cartoonishly short. If this was the only dress I had, I would have been sunk.
As you can see from the photo, the underlay stopped half way down my calf. I'm 5' 9", but still (the long wasn't available), it was extremely short. The overlay was very cheap-feeling and didn't look at all like it did in the photos. I wish I'd gotten a close-up. In the photos it looked textured and bronze, in person it was a scratchy sparkle layer. Also, the bust made a uni-boob.
RTR CustomerDecember 27, 2012
Hi Gavel! So sorry to hear that the dress wasn't in pristine condition and you weren't satisfied with your rental. That is definitely not our intention so please make sure to contact a stylist so we can make sure to right this experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2012
Comfortable and perfect for the occasion
Loved the look of the dress and got lots of compliments on it. Overall it was comfortable and as a full chested gal, the straps were very supportive, which is always a positive. That said, the draping made me look like my chest was even bigger and since it's a little higher cut than in the picture, I thought it made me look a little dowdy. As others have mentioned, it runs on the short side so if you're any taller than 5'3" and planning to wear heels, I would order a L instead of a R.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 14, 2012
Pretty dress, but SHORT!
This dress worked perfectly for my occasion; a slightly formal work Christmas party. It worked because: it's less sparkly than I thought it would be (sort of a let-down), it did not show a lot of chest (neckline was higher on me than on model), I could eat in it! (flattering fit), I HAD to wear flats so I could dance (good or bad, depending on how you look at it). Overall I felt very pretty and glamorous in the dress, and I tried to pull a 'grecian' look with my hair since I had to basically wear sandals! BUT, I think the rental price for this should be $75; it just wasn't ass fabulous as I expected! Though everyone loved it and I got lots of compliments and I'm really mad I didn't take more pictures. Oh well. Thank you RTR as usual, it always works out since you get two sizes.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 11, 2012
In the restroom, lots of other women said I looked hot.
I ordered the 4 as a backup, but that's what I wore. This dress is pretty flattering for all body types. I'm fairly flat chested, but the dress looked fine. A full-chested woman would look good in it too. I have a big butt for my body, but the 4 wasn't tight at all. It looks better if you go smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2012
Even in a long... it was too short
I am 5'8", and even barefoot in a 8L this dress was too short. It fit well every where else, and is a pretty black with a gold and sheer black overlay.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2012
The fit was perfect!
This dress was very comfortable! I usually wear a 6, but tried on the 4 just in case and it fit just a little better. So I wore the 4L. This was the perfect Holiday party dress!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
November 27, 2012
Mostly Fab!
This dress definitely fit true to size and was very comfortable. It has a greenish tint to it with gold sparkles. The only thing I didn't like about the dress is the draping on the bust area was a little off on one side and did not match the draping on the other side. Also, I wore copper gold really short heels and still this dress was not long enough (I even ordered the long, and I'm 5'7'') and my feet were showing, which annoyed me. Other than the length and the draping, it was a great dress that I was able to move and dance around in for hours. My friend pictured on the left is wearing the Nicole Miller Such A Knockout Gown and she looked great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2012
Rented this as a back up and so glad my other dress worked out.
It was really weird in the chest. And it made me look larger than I am. Not flattering.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2012
Feeling like a model in this dress!
This dress fit true to size. The regular length was perfect with my 3 inch heels. Any higher and I might have needed the long. The dress was flowy in the right places and made me feel like a princess. I got so many compliments and can't wait to rent the runway again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2012
Great dress for a high end, black tie wedding.
It fit perfectly as it was custom made to my body and was comfortable all night. I was never tripping over the length, with my heels its was just fine.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I wore this dress to a sorority formal and I could not have picked a better gown! It fit perfectly.
It was true to size and looked even better in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Pretty - Good for a winter or fall event
I ended up wearing my other dress option but this was a nice dress. It would have been fine for a black tie wedding - but the other dress felt a little more unique.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2012
Great dress - runs short.
This is a great dress. Black and gold metallic fabric...not the olive color that it looks on the website. A little ill-fitting on the top because of the way it is draped, but nothing that some fashion tape couldn't fix. I am short (5'2) and the 6R barely hit the floor with 3 inch heels on. I would go with the long size if you are taller than 5'3 and planning on wearing heels. I would also order a smaller size as your back-up (in the long, though). I had plenty of room in the 6. The dress does not cling at all and is well made. A little scratchy but modern and elegant.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Not again
I rented this as my primary choice and thank goodness I got a backup. At 5'1" this made me look short and frumpy and awful. The material was also very scratchy on my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2012
Color different from photo (it's black with a black & gold overlay) under arms itchy, VERY short
I received this, tried it on, and returned it. I am disappointed with the length; it doesn't touch the ground (definitely can't wear heels with it). I am now hoping to get a new dress in time for my wedding tomorrow
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
September 27, 2012
Great evening gown for a shorter person.
This was a stunning dress in real life that I wore to a black tie gala, however, I couldn't wear my sky high heels with it because it runs on the short side, even though I ordered a Long and wore a 12 instead of a 10 to get some extra length. Still was very comfortable and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 26, 2012
First ever RTR experience!
I am usually a 0 so as expected it ran a TINY bit big on me, but not big enough that I couldnt wear it. I was worried it would be WAY too long, but the 2R was short enough that I didn't feel like I was tripping even in 3.5 inch heals
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 25, 2012
could have been better...
I'm fairly certain that the specific dress I received had been altered (perhaps it had stretched out over time?)... the left chest area was SUPER wonky... the dress itself fit perfectly and was really quite beautiful when I put it on. The problem with the left boob area unfortunately was so disastrous that even my boyfriend pointed it out (and he's not the most detail oriented person) I safety pinned the extra fabric back so it didn't look like I had one disformed saggy boob and wore it anyway since I paid for it! I think it would have been an amazing dress if it wasn't for that, and like I said I think it was something that was specific to the dress they sent me...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect rental for the Symphony Opening Gala
Loved this dress and the gold undertone. Great fit and great rental for a black tie affair!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
I liked this dress a lot, got a lot of compliments.
I am 5'6 and 120# and the two fit well, could have used a smaller size. If you usually wear a zero the 2 will be too big for you. I also thought the dress was ways too short for someone my height. The length is not for anyone 5'6 and over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 141lbs
September 17, 2012
Feeling glowing and elegant in a gorgeous dress.
This dress was beautiful, glamourous but not ostentatious. It was very comfortable. Though I am not all that tall (5'5") I felt the vertical pleats made me look longer. The waistline offers helpful definition. I loved the grecian draping of this dress, but in a warm gold/brown color that didn't make me look like I should be holding up a pillar somewhere on a temple in Greece. I fit into both the Size 6 and Size 8, but wore the larger size just because it was a little more comfortable. The length worked with a low heel, so the hemline was just above the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
It was such a comfortable and forgiving dress!
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night for a black tie wedding I went to - I was happy to be in something so nice that allowed me to wear a regular bra, but was still so formal. I am pretty short and did also run a long dress, and it was perfect with my heels- the regular would have been too short for sure.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
Dress color not at all like photo- gold/sparkly.
Fit was dumpy, breasts looked weird.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2012
Eh. Not great.
I ordered this as my back up dress and didn't wear it. I'm 5'10 and wear a 8/10 in street clothes, and the 8L in this dress was too small and too short. The waistband was too high on me, accentuating my ribacage and not my waist, and the chest cups sat above my chest. I wasn't a huge fan of the fabric either. I think it might work better on someone who is shorter than I am. I wore the Badgely Mischka Screen Siren gown which was way more impressive than this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 29, 2012
not as exciting as i hoped
I ended up wearing the other dress in my order. This dress was heavy and not as sparkly as I expected from the pictures. It sort of hung on my body.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
The dress and the amazing wedding!
Such a gorgeous dress. I loved the unique color and the dress was extremely flattering. I am 5'0 and was able to wear this dress with small wedges. It was pefect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Just Itchy
I ended up wearing my back-up dress because both sizes were TOO small. I would have still worn my back up dress since the sequins and fabric on this dress were so itchy. I know this dress would have rubbed my armpits raw if it had fit.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×