David Meister

Lady in Red Dress

$30 rental
$460 retail
Stylist Notes

Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
159 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(111)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
June 14, 2016
Perfect red dress!

This dress fit perfectly! My dress size is typically a 6 and I wore the 6. It has some stretch, but not much. I was able to dance and have it not fall down, which was great because I usually can't wear strapless dresses.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 58
June 30, 2016
Felt really good in this dress!

I wore this to my Nieces wedding! Loved it! The color is muted red not bright. I usually wear a 10 but wore the 12

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2016
Wrapped up like a present!!! Love this dress!!!!

I can't wait to rent this dress again! I wish I owned it! It is so comfortable, so fun, and so special! If you're considering renting this, rent it right away! You will not be disappointed, especially if you're curvy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 19, 2016
My favorite rental dress to date!

It fits beautifully, hides problem areas and is comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 26, 2016
Comfortable but frustrating

Either runs a little big or was stretched out. The bow kind of flopped down at top so I ended up just tucking it into the top. I am bigger in the chest yet still had to pull it up all night. Otherwise it was very cute, and I got a lot of great compliments. Boyfriend really liked it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
November 6, 2016
I was wrapped up like a present!

I have very wide hips and this dress stretched comfortably right over them!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 3, 2016
Great color and fit!

I wore this for a Christmas party. It was PERFECT! Fits pretty true to size and fabric has a nice stretch to it. Would def rent it again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 15, 2017
The color

The color is a beautiful red and the cut was comfortable. Not a fan of the material (definitely wear spanks to avoid any marks).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2014
I felt fabulous the whole night!

The fit was perfect. Fit like a glove. It was very comfortable even if I was jumping and dancing the whole night. It was the perfect holiday party dress. Loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
February 22, 2015
I love that The RTR is so sweet that also sent a little bag with gums and lotion in it.

I wore it to the Navy Spring ball, it's absolutely sexy and beautiful. Love the red!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
March 7, 2015
Very nice, fashion forward dress

The dress overall fit well, the fabric is flexible and I thought it made the dress look not as nice as I thought. I never wear red so I was kind of jaded but did end up loving the dress and the bow accent.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
May 18, 2015
Lots of compliments. Photographs well.

Stretchy material

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2015
Fits perfect, hugs all the curves

Thus was a last minute order, I could only get the size 6, I'm an 8 but looking at the reviews it looked like other girls around my height and weight were using the size 6 so gave it a try, I'm 5'4" 143lbs and the size 6 fits but it was a little tight, the size 8 would've probably be better, it stretches so that helps

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 25, 2015
I looked amazing ! Tons of compliments.

This is a gorgeous fun and classy dress. I am 5' 3 139 pounds, busty and with broad hips. This dress flattered my curves. I highly recommend this dress. Fits true to size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2015
I love the way the dress molded to my body it made me feel very sexy.

The dress fits amazing! I felt like a glamorous superstar! I've received a lot of compliments on the dress and my husband loved it. I would definitely wear again at a future event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2016
Wonderful complements on this dresses elegance and style all evening:)

The fit was if I had it tailored for me on the smaller size. The bow in the front added style as well as its perfect strategic placement :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2015
Perfect dress for a Valentine's Day dinner. Received so many compliments!

Dress is super stretchy and very comfortable! Instantly feel fabulous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2015
Great for this cocktail attire Casino Night. I felt super sassy!

I normally wear a 12, but it was a little large in the bust and perfect in the hips.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 20, 2015
Loved everything about it - got so many compliments -

Gorgeous dress

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
April 17, 2016
Full glam at my friend's wedding!

Fit true to size-was nervous after I reserved it when I read that it was best for someone larger busted than an A cup. I got tons of compliments and felt very sassy in it. Was great to dance in. Fit very well, but rode up (only a small amount and would then stop), and had these black straps that kept coming out no matter what I did. Overall a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 15, 2017
Fun little red dress

The material is stretchy but high quality and the bow covers your stomach so you sill get the form fitting look with out exposing a good baby after a nice meal. No issues with the dress falling down either.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
Runs Large

It was a gorgeous dress; however, it ran very large! I typically wear a size 2-4. I have a tiny waist but large hips. The dress fit well every where else except around my waist, wayy to much extra fabric. If you have a tiny waist i would def recommend sizing down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
Pretty with some sizing issues

I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was extremely figure flattering. However, it did have some size problems. The bust was loose, I am a 34C and found both the 4 and the 6 to be quite big. Most frustrating was the black hanger straps which spent half the evening annoying me, or just plain sticking out for the world to see. I recommend taping those down if possible, however, you will have to spring for fabric tape as regular didn't work. Other than that, the dress was really pretty - the red was vibrant and the bow was flattering. Lots of compliments, but I wouldn't recommend the dress for dancing, you would spend the whole night hiking it up and then pulling down at the hips.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
pretty great

I'm normally a size 4 or 6. The size 4 was too large. Size down in this dress. Other than that, loads of compliments and wore for a wedding!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
October 3, 2012
Stunning!

This dress was absolutely eye catching! It is a bright vibrant red with a great detailed bow. The dress makes you like your wrapped in a pretty package. The compliments kept coming the entire night. It was comfortable to dance and move in. The black hanger straps do need to be taped down or they will come out. I usually wear a 0 but this dress didnt come in a zero and wasnt as snug as I would prefer it to be at the top and slightly all over. It does run a little longer but I am short and runs a little bit below the knee. Perfect for a formal event. I wore this to a retro red event.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!!

This dress is beautiful! It runs a little big in size and the wiring that goes up and down your breast dug into my armpit area all night so it was more annoying and made the skin pugg out so it looked funny. But otherwise this dress was awesome! I got so many compliments and I even liked how I looked!! It is very very comfortable and I will Forsure rent it again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2013
Nice dress

The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful

My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
October 8, 2014
Backup dress for a graduation- I did not wear

I ordered the size 2 (I think the smallest option) and I usually wear a 0/2. This was a gorgeous dress and I loved the big bow in the front..... so feminine! I ordered this dress as a backup and did not choose this one because it was too big on me from the waist up. I would still consider renting this for a holiday party if I was prepared with better undergarments or dress tape.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
The bow added that extra something

This was my first RTR rental so I read tooonnss of reviews to get the sizing. I normally wear a 6, so I settled on the 6 with the 4 as my backup. I am so glad I went a size down. The 6 fit and it would have worked, but the bottom rode up as I walked around. The 4 fit perfectly. I did have to use the fashion tape to tape down the hanger straps, but that was no problem. The dress was so comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. I did not wear a strapless bra because mine showed in the back, but you easily could wear one.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
January 5, 2015
Sassy Red Dress!

I wore this dress for a formal NYE party and it was a total hit. My normal dress size is 8 however the 6 fit perfectly. The dress has some stretch in it so it was comfortable to wear for hours and the detail in the middle is great tummy concealer. I would highly recommend this dress for any type of cocktail or formal event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2016
I wore size 4 which was a bit large for me. But overall I loved it. It was perfect for wedding.

It was loose around the waist and ended up with wrinkles around that area. other parts were a good fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012

Wore this to a wedding and loved it! I wore my smaller backup size and even that was a little big - definitely had to pull the dress up a couple times while on the dance floor. The fabric was great but very stretchy. Received many compliments! Just order a size or two down!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 1, 2013
Lady in Red!!!!

Overall, this was a really great dress. I wish it came in a size "0" and that would have probably made it a perfect dress! I have a rather large bust in comparison to my smaller frame so I had to literally tape myself in the dress to keep it in place and keep it from sliding down. I received tons of compliments and felt very pretty in it all night long! This dress has the perfect amount of sass and class!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 1, 2015
Gorgeous Dress!

This dress was absolutely stunning. I got so many compliments on it. It runs a bit large as I usually wear a 0 in dresses and the 2 fit very well (makes sense I guess sense it isn't offered in a 0). I wore it to a gala and thought it really stood out as most women were wearing black. This was my first time using renttherunway and I will definitely be doing it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2015
Great dress! Runs large in bust.

This is a great dress for a wedding, very comfortable material, breathable and easy to dance in. The dress is well-lined and well-made. The fabric does stretch. The skirt and hip run true to size, if not a tad small, but the bust runs large. I used safety pins and fashion tape, but was still pulling the dress up while dancing. The color was lovely for a fall event, and I got a lot of compliments on the dress! The bow is sewn into the dress as part of the structure, so you do not need to tie it or worry about it. I would recommend this!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
Very flattering dress.

I loved this dress, simple yet great details that make it stand out, and hide any figure flaws. Was totally freaked out when the dress was not available until the day before my event, and to make matters worse it arrived with what looked like burn marks (iron?) on the top of the 'bow'. Thankfully I was able to use the fashion tape sample to fold it over and cover the marks. Worked out perfectly. Was told many times during the evening how great the dress looked.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
Lots of options for Red Dresses.

It's a very pretty dress but not a bright red like the image. I was expecting something brighter. I did enjoy the dress anyway.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
I got so many compliments on the fit and the color, the dress definitely made the night memorable.

Most reviews said the dress ran true to size, so I ordered a 4. Some comments said that the bust area was small and suggested ordering a size up so I wasn't sure what back-up size to get but I ended up going with the 2. The 4 ended up being too big, so I wore the 2 and if I hadn't been dancing all night, it would have been perfect. However, I did have to constantly pull it up. I don't know if the 0 would have been too tight, but I wish I had ordered a 2 and 0 instead of a 4 and 2. Also, the hanger straps were in awkward places, but I bought some fashion tape and that took care of those for the most part. The bow did a fantastic job of accentuating my curves. I would recommend Spanx or something similar, the fabric of the dress does not hide panty lines, at all. Overall, I was so pleased and it worked out beautifully. I would definitely recommend this dress, it's gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
-

The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.

See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×