You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Lady in Red Dress
Rental $30 Retail $460
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Lady in Red! Rent this classic twist David Meister dress for a special evening of fine dining out with friends. Pair with a gorgeous cuff for a great look!
Chat with a Stylist
Red stretch taffeta. Strapless neckline. Front over sized bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and larger - lots of room in bust so smaller busted women should consider sizing down - consider using fashion tape to secure top
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - stretch fabric great for cinching in waist - large bow conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos49

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

ALR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Mar 23, 2014
A real show stopper!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely a "notice me" dress. The material is very stretchy, but the cut is very straight. I toe the line between being pear and hourglass shape - basically I have a booty - and this dress was a little tighter than I would have liked on the bottom, but going up a size would have made the top too loose (and there wasn't a 10 available when I ordered). It was still a great, fun dress and I got a lot of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Canonical User Type: 1111
Mar 9, 2014
A beautiful dress, great fit!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits perfectly, exactly as described. My favorite dress ever!!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5431
Feb 20, 2014
Great dress for a NYC wedding --
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a downtown NYC wedding, and was so happy with this dress! I rented the 2 & 4 and ended up wearing the 4. I was a little worried about the fit, but the silhouette and bow was very flattering with my hourglass figure. I paired this with a Lauren Merken clutch from RTR and had the perfect outfit for a classy NYC evening!
Judy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Feb 10, 2014
The color was vibrant. The design is flattering. I received many compliments.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am 110 pounds, 5'4" and chose size 2. It fit perfectly. Dress length was right at the top of my knee. The material was great, very stretchy and comfortable. Only negative was the black straps showing from time to time.I used fashion tape to keep them in place but they still poked out.
Sp
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Feb 9, 2014
Very flattering dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, simple yet great details that make it stand out, and hide any figure flaws. Was totally freaked out when the dress was not available until the day before my event, and to make matters worse it arrived with what looked like burn marks (iron?) on the top of the 'bow'. Thankfully I was able to use the fashion tape sample to fold it over and cover the marks. Worked out perfectly. Was told many times during the evening how great the dress looked.
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7541
Feb 2, 2014
I felt sexy yet classy in this dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size and hugs your curves,
Nina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4643
Dec 16, 2013
Great Dress for a Holiday Party!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress. It's not satin which was good for my body type. The fabric gives and showed my shape. Very conformtable and I didn't have to tug to keep my chest covered. I would rent this dress again. I received a lot of compliements. Pefect color for a holiday party.
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2634
Dec 9, 2013
Great looking dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 0 and this dress didn't come in anything smaller than a 2. It was a bit loose in the bust. I'm a 32D. I think it runs true to size. It didn't feel tight anywhere and was very comfortable. I did tape down the straps as others said they kept coming out. This solved that problem. This was not the original dress I ordered, and when the other one didn't fit, RTR sent this out and I had it the next day. I love that!
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Oct 17, 2013
It was the perfect birthday dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The 2 fit great, and i love that i didn't have to worry about any tummy issues because the bow detail camouflaged that area.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Sep 9, 2013
This dress was great!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was extremely flattering and the length was just right. The size 2 was a bit big in the chest and butt, but still looked great. I used a little extra tape up top and the it turned out just fine!
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jul 22, 2013
The bow added that extra something
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental so I read tooonnss of reviews to get the sizing. I normally wear a 6, so I settled on the 6 with the 4 as my backup. I am so glad I went a size down. The 6 fit and it would have worked, but the bottom rode up as I walked around. The 4 fit perfectly. I did have to use the fashion tape to tape down the hanger straps, but that was no problem. The dress was so comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. I did not wear a strapless bra because mine showed in the back, but you easily could wear one.
Betty
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jun 27, 2013
Nice dress, however needs constant readjustments
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Because the dress is made out of stretchy polyester it fits great, however it rolls up as you walk. I would recommend it if you are going to be mostly sitting. I had to walk back and forth to the restroom with my children so I had to constantly pull it down.
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
May 5, 2013
Beautiful
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My first time using RTR and I can't believe how easy this was. This is a gorgeous dress, as it's simple but has a small bit of flair. Unfortunately, the hanger straps were dancing around every time I moved, and it made for a very uncomfortable experience. I was constantly wondering if the straps were showing, and 9 times out of 10, they were. Next time I will use the fashion tape included in the rental, but I didn't even realize there was any until I had already returned the dress! I also only ordered the size 2 because I knew a 4 would be too big, and the dress does not come in a 0. The dress is fairly long, as it comes right above the knee. However, this could also have been the case for me simply because the dress was too large. I paired this with the Kate Spade Heavenly Cluster neckace, and it was a perfect match.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Apr 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really beautiful. The color is much deeper than the picture. I actually did not end up wearing it because the other dress I ordered was too perfect. This dress hit me at my knee and I am quite tall, so keep that in mind if you want a shorter dress.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Apr 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! The red is killer and I received lots of compliments throughout the night!
A.H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Apr 6, 2013
Nice dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was comfortable, fit well, and the color was nice. The one thing I did notice is that the top flap of the bow had been repaired. It appeared to have torn away from the dress in the past and was sewn back on. The tip of the upper bow was also rounded while the lower tip was pointed. It seems kind of strange, and isn't that visible in the picture, but I just kept fussing wit it.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Apr 1, 2013
Wedding Reception Stand-Out!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my back-up rental for a wedding. I loved both rentals, but my boyfriend liked the other dress better, so I wore my main rental to the wedding. I changed into this for the evening reception - and we BOTH loved it! It is more flattering on than it looks on the hanger. (Wish I had pictures, but didn't take any - sorry!) The fit was perfect, the fabric feels great, and the bow detail is attention getting without being overwhelming. It might have been too much for the church ceremony, but it was perfect for the evening. I hated to return it!
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Feb 2, 2013
I wore this dress to a cocktail affair at my college, I received loads of complements!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was fine, I ordered a 4 and a 6 but I honestly can't remember which one I went with. I think it was the 4 (my usual size), the fabric is stretchy so it was easy to get on and was very comfortable. I ended up using the sticky strips provided to keep my dress up since it would slide down against my bra. But it was perfect, I loved wearing it!
Lexy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Dec 9, 2012
I wore this dress for my companys end of the year party, a perfect color and style!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is fantatsic, the material has some give and was comfortable, and the bow lays really well. There is some boning in the top part, but no build in cups- a strapless bra worked well with this dress. I wore a size 4 and the top was close to perfect but it was more snug than I would have preferred at the hips and butt. I think becaue of this, the dress pulled down a little throughout the night. The black hanger straps didnt want to stay tucked in, but nothing a small safety pin couldnt take care of!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6431
Dec 4, 2012
I Love this dress. Wore it for a wedding and got so many compliments.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 28, 2012
"You look like a movie star"
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really this dress is just perfect. I was worried because I hadn't been keeping up my gym routine right before this event, but this dress was perfect! The giant bow does wonders for a few lumps and bumps and the color is so vibrant. The top was great, not too tight to give you the weird skin folds in your armpits some strapless dresses do. I took fellow RTR reviewers advice and taped the hanger straps inside the dress with double sided tape and had no problems.
HR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 19, 2012
-
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fabric was not as forgiving as I had hoped. I typically wear a size 4 and needed a size 8 or so to feel comfortable.
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Oct 26, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and it runs true to size, but unfortunately my waist is not
Liv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7641
Oct 17, 2012
Stunning You WILL make an entrance in this one Be prepared
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's body conscious - spanx and a good strapless!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8431
Oct 12, 2012
A dress that makes a statement.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is very fitted throughout hips.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4644
Oct 11, 2012
This dress fit very well.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to work at a formal gala. It was comfortable, and the red color was beautiful.
ser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Sep 25, 2012
My mother-in-law ran around the wedding telling everyone that I had rented the dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A standout in the sea of black cocktail dresses. I had at least 5 people comment on it.
O
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Sep 19, 2012
Love this dress!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits my curves perfectly, would definitely recommend. I felt very beautiful and elegant.
elaine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Sep 19, 2012
love the dress !!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i wear this dress for my bestfriends wedding and i loved the way it fit ...its a beautiful red not to bright love love the color ...i also have to say that everyone had to do with this dress all my friends were asking were did i get it ....i recommand this dress to every girl that wants all eyes on her
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Aug 30, 2012
pretty great
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a size 4 or 6. The size 4 was too large. Size down in this dress. Other than that, loads of compliments and wore for a wedding!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4543
Aug 14, 2012
Great Charity Event Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have a wide rib cage but smaller bust and this dress fit perfectly! I received many compliments and the rich red went well with my dark hair.
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
Mar 22, 2012
perfect for engagement party
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
best dress ever. i am a true size 6 and it fit like a glove for my engagement party. the company was great as far as shipping it on time and it was such an easy return. i am about to rent another dress for the 2nd time using the company and am 100% confident in the company and the dress that i will rent. great fit for a girl with an A size cup, true size 6 and a little more of a butt and thighs type of girl figure. 5 stars!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5421
Mar 5, 2012
great dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous dress on, nice fabric. classy
E.B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Feb 9, 2012
Nice dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a little stretchy with a silky lining. It fit perfectly in the hips but was a little big in the waist and way too big in the bust for me so I was worried about it falling down. Still wearable but I wouldn't recommend unless your bust and hip measurements are close together.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Dec 19, 2011
So sad didn't fit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a six and an eight in this dress and neither fit. The six fit up top, but a bit snug in the hips, the eight was too big up top but fine in the hips. Odd and I usually never have a "too big on top" situation. The dress was super cute though. I wore my other choice which was FAB!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Nov 17, 2011
Runs Large
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a gorgeous dress; however, it ran very large! I typically wear a size 2-4. I have a tiny waist but large hips. The dress fit well every where else except around my waist, wayy to much extra fabric. If you have a tiny waist i would def recommend sizing down.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8444
Nov 13, 2011
Amazing Dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my brothers wedding, in which I was an usher. I got so many compliments on it! The actual color is not quite as bright as it looks on the model but its still a very bold red. The form in side the dress that gives it the shape and holds the bow sideways is a bit uncomfortable. It was sort of like under-wire poking me in the side all night but other than that I loved the dress! I would definitely rent this dress again!
purrrrttyinpink
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this as my back up dress, and did not end up wearing it for my event. The material is rather thin and stretchy, which is great in that it is comfortable, but showed any imperfection I have. Definitely needed Spanx underneath! Pretty dress, I think I am just too hip-y for the material.
Kaitlin
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 1441
Oct 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! Beautifully made and fits wonderfully. Super comfortable.
Joan
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1631
Oct 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Fantastic dress! It's stretchy so it fits beautifully and you don't have to hold in your tummy all night. I got lots of compliments and it's very comfortable. The only problem was back hanger strap kept popping out. I'd suggest taping it down before you put the dress on.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress