David Meister

Gold Lela Lace Dress

$30 – $45 rental?
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine at the gala wearing this stunning David Meister gold lace sheath. Stack bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed slits in back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold metallic lace. Bateau neckline. Double cut-out back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
329 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(210)
Small
(78)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2012
Elegant Sparkle!
The fabric has a little stretch to it so it's a bit forgiving. Perfect for a warm evening. This dress would work for girls with a more ample bosom as I had a little extra room on top, but the dress was not baggy at all. It hugged my curves in a flattering way. The length was great, I'm 5'2" and it hit just above the knee for me. Received MANY compliments on my dress. I tried on this dress in Nordstrom after I had already rented it online and was very pleased so I knew what to expect. In the future, I will try the dress on at a department store first if possible.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 24, 2012
I was able to wear a great dress to a wedding and not have to buy it.
I thought this dress was fantastic. It was the perfect choice for a black tie wedding. I usually wear a size 4 but was four months pregnant at the time if the wedding and went up to a size six. The dress gives and flatters your curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
June 26, 2012
Loved this dress and danced the night away!
This is a great dress! It is super sparkly and flattering. It isn’t too short and it was a little stretchy which ended up being helpful. I ordered this dress as a back up since there was a heat warning put out for the evening of my event and the dress was definitely more comfortable to wear than a floor length gown. The dress is a lot sparklier in person as compared to the picture but I received so many complements on it regardless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
July 3, 2012
love this dress!!
This dress was incredible! I wore it to a wedding and received many compliments. I usually wear a 6, but this dress looks a little better if its loose through the stomach and hips. The 6 was a little short on me and it didn't drape properly. I didn't need to wear a bra which was great - but If you are bigger through the chest and arms, I recommend sizing up as it its pretty tight through that area. It is much more sparkly than the picture of the model and is gorgeous. I would absolutely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 18, 2012
Three different girls that I didn't know came up to me and said "that's a GREAT dress!"
I wore this dress to a party with some old friends from high school and my boyfriend at a country club in NYC. It was stretchy on the inside, so it was wonderful to dance in. It was the perfect length on me (a little longer than on the model) and it was so much fun to be in sequens all night. The sequens scratched me a little bit on the back, but I'd say it was worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 23, 2012
Pretty but scratchy
I received many compliments on the dress through out the night, but the dress scratched my forearms from the sequins.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress...
I loved this dress. Great overall fit but was a little loose in the tummy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2012
Classic & Beautiful
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding in Manhattan. I am typically between a 4 and a 6, and the 4 fit perfectly. I'm 5'8' and it wasn't too short on me either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 29, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I absolutely loved this dress! I got compliments on it all night! The only problem is I thougt it ran a little big. It still looked beatiful though! The back was the highlight?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2012
Disappointed, but ended up ok
It is a beautiful dress! The sequence on dress is more concentrated & sparkly than it looks in the picture. The dress I received looked like it had been worn a bunch before me, and the lining under the dress was hanging below the dress- I had to tack it up. I would have worn my back up dress but it was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2012
Favorite Dress ever!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party. Unfortunately, I broke my arm the week before and had to wear a sling, which regrettably hid the beauty of this dress. I could have easily gone down to size 4, but found that my swollen arm would only fit through the arm socket of a 6. I would enthusiastically suggest this dress to anyone considering it. The detail is amazing. I felt beautiful in it even though I was broken and bruised.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 10, 2012
Super fun dress
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments, especially on the back! Great for dancing. The sequins rubbed a bit under my arms, but not enough to be painful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Sitting in the Eiffel Tower Restaurant in Vegas looking out over the Bellagio water show
I rented this for a weekend trip to Vegas. The dress looks stunning and received many complements - BUT - the sequins are very scratchy. After trying it on I looked I was malled by an animal. The night I wore it out I used runners body glide on my back and arms to protect my skins against the cutouts.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Too Itchy
Ordered this for a cocktail party. A little more glittery than expected. Very scratchy/itchy too the point I decided not to wear. My skin is not overly sensitve but this was too much. Dress was cute just not enough to suffer through.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2012
My brother told me how pretty I looked!
I'm pretty sure my brother hasn't looked away from college football since 1989, but even he said how pretty the dress was. I wore this to an evening semi formal wedding in Birmingham AL. It was VERY hot outside but the dress was breezy. I wore no bra and yes, it was FINE. (And I ALWAYS wear a bra!) I am about a 34 C but the dress was fitted enough that it looked great. It was a little scratchy, as dresses in the material tend to be. My one complaint, you could definitely tell it had been worn, since it was picked a little. I called RTR just to let them know, and I wore it anyway because it didn't take away from the dress at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress!
Reviews were accurate, and I would definitely recommend. It's true to size, but does scratch a bit. I was also able to wear a normal bra (with a thin back), which was an added bonus.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Very elegant, the back of it makes it sexy but classy!
Pretty long, hit almost the knee. Definitely wear with heels. Otherwise fits perfectly to size... And you get to wear a regular bra!
laurie May 28, 2013
I love your necklace with it, gorgeous color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2012
Glamorous!
This is by far the best dress I have ever worn! I felt stunning, and received so many compliments all night long! Even the bride told me she loved my dress :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
Nice for the price- sparkely!
The dress was nice, but the sequins were scratchy, i scratched my arms pretty badly trying to get it on and off. The sample i got seemed a little shop worn, like it had been rented frequently, a bit worn out around the armholes and stuff. I did receive many compliments however in a sea of black dresses, because it was so sparkely and unique. Its a pretty clingy fit, I maybe would have wanted some spanx to smooth it out but i was out of town and that wasnt an option. I was very glad to rent it, not one of my favorites but was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 1, 2012
This was THE perfect dress for a formal garden wedding.
I am glad I got a size up because it seemed to fit a little better. The length was perfect, and the back was sassy. I was able to wear a normal bra with it despite the openings in the back. The dresses I received in the mail were obviously "well-loved" because some of the sequins was starting to pull away from the fabric. I would be happy to wear this fabulous dress again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the dress I ended up wearing! So many compliments on my dress!
I actually ended up wearing my back up dress because I didn't feel like this dress looked the way I thought it did from the picture. My overall experience was great and I got a ton of compliments on the dress I did wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
LOVED this dress!
The only downfall to this dress is that the delicate lace sometime would get caught and ride up a bit so it would show the slip underneath above my knees. Otherwise, this dress was incredibly beautiful. The back cut-out design totally made the dress! You might not be able to tell but the dress has sewn in sequins into the lace. I initially thought it was a shiny lace. In any case, the elaborate detail was simply beautiful. I felt elegant and sexy at the same time! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
October 9, 2012
The dress fit really well and I got several compliments on it throughout the night.
Like others have said, it has a lot more sparkle to it than you see in the photos. I ordered a 10 and an 8 after seeing that it can run large, but the 10 fit me perfectly. I did not wear a bra with the dress and I was very comfortable. You could tell when you wore it that the dress had been worn many times and was beginning to be worn out, but the nature of the design hides all of that. My arms were a little scratched up from the sequins, but totally worth it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
The dress was flattering and photo graphed very well.
The dress was very flattering. The ruching on the side is great to cover a little bit of a tummy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2012
Nice but not AMAZING
Pretty dress - more golden color in person. Not the most forgiving (wear your spanx!) I was able to wear this with a strapless bra, no problem. I wore the smaller of the two sizes I ordered mostly because it was a better length for me. I did scratching on my arms from the sequins and I was pretty happy to get the dress off at the end of the day (wore it for about 7 hours). It's pretty but I didn't LOVE it. I received a lot of compliments but mostly because I think it helped that I stood out (in a good way) since so many people were wearing dark colors.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Amazing dress, great for any occasion!
The dress fit and looked great! I received lots of compliments throughout the night, thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
This was my first RTR dress and I loved it. I will use RTR from now on.
This dress looked amazing and the fit was great! I got tons of compliments all night long. The only issue was that the sequins around the shoulders rubbed my skin raw.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 24, 2012
Great dancing dress
This was my back up option for a black tie optional wedding. While I did not end up wearing it, it was definitely very comfortable. The fabric has quite a bit of stretch to it, so it would be great to dance in. I did not select to wear this dress because I thought the cut and stretchiness of the fabric was not too flattering in the hip area, though my friends disagreed and wanted me to go for it! Definitely a very sexy choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2012
I sparkled!
The fit was great minus how the sequins scratched my skin around my arms!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 29, 2012
Gorgeous, classy, sexy, super-sparkly dress that is perfect for any occasion.
This dress was perfect for my fiancé’s sister's wedding. The model's picture doesn't do this dress enough justice - it has more sparkle than any of the pictures are able to show which results in you getting compliments on your dress all night long! I have a large chest and this dress helped minimize it elegantly since the fabric has just the right amount of "give" to it. The back cut out is gorgeous but will only work if you have a 2-hook bra and wider set straps. I wore the size 4 which fit perfectly - but I should note that the size 6 I received was extremely worn and should have been retired from renting because there were sequins missing on the back part that made it look almost black in some sections and the nude slip was stretched out and hanging out the back. Besides that, I will definitely be renting again. What a great experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Strange fit in back, but beautiful dress otherwise
I ordered a size 2 and a size 4 to wear to a black-tie-optional wedding. I loved the dress overall, but I found that the strip across the open back was strangely tight on both sizes -- odd since both fit fine otherwise (the 4 was even a little loose across the midsection). The tight strap made the dress bunch up in the back, which made it fall strangely in the front, so I didn't end up wearing either size. Disappointing, since it's so pretty otherwise! I would echo other comments about the sequins being slightly scratchy on my arms, and the zipper being hard to zip, but I still would have worn it if the fit across the back hadn't been an issue. But I was very impressed with RTR overall, especially with customer service and the flexibility in response to my fit issue. I will definitely rent again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2012
Not what I expected from the pictures, but liked it even more on!
This was my first rental, although I have been looking for a few years now. We had a black tie optional event to go to and I did not want to buy anything, and was bored with what I had. So this rental was perfect, it is a dress that will be remembered, so I do not have to worry about wearing it again (although my husband wants to buy it!). It was beautiful, comfortable (danced all night). Only thing that did not get it 5 stars was the lining was longer than the dress, but a little bit of the tape provided did the trick.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
I received compliments from strangers all night
The dress was definitely true to size, and exactly what I expected after reading other reviews. The only con was that my back up size was not available. This is great for ladies with a larger bust. I anticipated some discomfort and scratching from the sequins near the armpits, but was pleasantly surprised when this wasn't an issue. I would recommend this dress for girls who, like me, wouldn't normally ear...well...a shimmery, gold, sequins dress. The sequins are very small and the lace detail also shows through, so while it's definitely not a modest dress, it is by no means flashy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
December 20, 2012
The material was not great at all. I would not recommend this dress!
The dress does not look the way it does on the site. In person, the material looks very cheap, and can easily get caught in your jewelry. Would not recommend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved it!
I wore this to a formal holiday party and absolutely loved it. Great cut and fit. True to size. Very flattering. Many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2013
Pretty but uncomfortable dress.
The dress was sparkly and great for the wedding, however the sequins are killer on this dress and left deep red scratches wherever the dress touched for days. Made dancing a little challenging.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2013
The mother of the bride told me I looked like a movie star!
The dress was beautiful and flattering. My boyfriend LOVED it as did everyone else- i received compliments from everyone from my friends to the bridal party to random other people. One of my guy friends told me that people approached HIM commenting on how gorgeous my dress was. I paired it with nude pumps and a nude shawl. My backup size was a 10 and I wish I had sized down to a 6 instead, the 8 looked fine (my normal size) but I would have liked to see how it looked a little tighter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2013
Everyone loved the dress. Strangers came up to me to tell me that they loved it.
I usually wear a 4 but needed the 6 to be comfortable. The fabric is a little itchy under the arms especially because I kept putting my clutch between my arm and my side. The fabric also got caught on itself so it was helpful to wrap it with tissue paper when traveling so as to prevent snags.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 17, 2013
Perfect for my Engagement Party!
The dress was great!!! I wore it at my engagement party this past December and got compliments from EVERYONE! It was a beautiful dress and the design/sparkles hid any flaws that existed so that the dress looked new. I ordered both and 8 and 10 but ended up going with the 8. By using some fashion tape that came with my order I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress as well which was a big plus for me since I have a large bust. The only issues I had with the dress were that it was a little hard to zip up given the material. I had to have my fiance help me zip it. The only other problem I had was that the lining stuck out (as visible in the picture) but was easily overlooked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2013
This was the first time that I rented from RTR and it was an awesome experience.
The dress was absolutely beautiful. I got compliments all night long. I will definitely rent another dress from RTR.
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×