David Meister

Gold Lela Lace Dress

$30 rental
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine at the gala wearing this stunning David Meister gold lace sheath. Stack bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed slits in back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold metallic lace. Bateau neckline. Double cut-out back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
330 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(210)
Small
(78)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2013
Love this dress! My best choice yet!
This dress truly is gorgeous, I received so many compliments throughout the night. I was worried about the sequins bothering me never my arms, but I hardly felt them. The only negative was you really couldn't wea a regular bra with it due to the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2013
This dress was fantastic. I received so many compliments which made me feel confident!! Thanks RTR!
The fit was pretty spot on! It did irritate my arms by the end of the night...but its the price you pay for such a beautiful dress. The lining on the inside had a tendency to stick out as well as you can see in the picture. I would absolutely rent this one again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2013
Perfect sparkle for rehearsal dinner!
This dress was AWESOME! It was stunning... I put it on and my fiancé (now husband!) said, "now THAT is a dress!" Everyone loved it, and I felt amazing in it. Very comfortable - I didn't have any issues with the scratchiness around the armholes that other people mentioned. I did have to use hem tape on the bottom as the lining peeped out all the way around, but this was an easy fix. I really wish I owned this dress... it's a knockout.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 13, 2013
Fun dress
Fits well, pretty snug, overall nice dress for a party in Miami
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2013
Great fit, comfortable and perfect for a cocktail party!
Would recommend to any one looking for a comfortable special occasion dress. I received lots of complements on this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
November 18, 2013
Stunning dress! I loved it!
Great fit, very fun color, loved the open back. Lots of compliments, hubby was impressed! Could have worn sz 2 or 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2013
Fun!! The glitz keeps it fun, but the cut keeps it from looking immature.
The dress is flattering in all the right areas, although I did need to go up a size in order to see the gathered detail near the waste line. Received loads of compliments. The armpit area was a tad irritating by the end of the night, but nothing to put a damper on the day. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 1, 2013
Runs very small Uncomfortable fabric
Not for busty ladies; I had a hard time getting it on and it flattened my chest. I loved the color of this dress but that's about it. Just trying it on and taking off, the sequin/rough material really irritated my skin. I had red blotches where the fabric scratched me, can't imagine wearing this dress for any length of time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 2, 2013
awesome dress but the lining had a tendency to show along the hem line
great looking dress but a bit scratchy around the arms of the cap sleeve
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it -- but a great fun holiday dress
This dress is sparkly in a very classy formal sort of way (not covered in sequins, just the right amount of sparkle). I ordered both the 6 and the 4 and both fit well -- the dress has a bit of stretch. I would have gone up an worn the six for a little extra room. I actually ended up wearing my back up dress as I thought this was not as flattering over the hips on me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
Endless compliments made me feel like a star!
I rented this for a work gala and as my first RTR experience, I absolutely loved it. I uploaded two pictures to show how different it looks in different lights. It's really gorgeous and sparkly in every light, but with flash it will look more like the second picture. The dress was a size four. I am 125 pounds and 5' 9. The dress fit well, but I think I would have preferred size two (they didn't have it available for my rental dates) The dress was very comfortable except at the end of the night my arms were pretty scratched up. All in all the dress made me feel like a star!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
It was glamorous and it sparkled like crazy on my birthday night!
Loved how it fit like a glove. It is also not stiff like most glittery dresses. The only downside is that the glitter scratches your skin, especially if you're dancing all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2013
Great Dress for a Formal
This dress was perfect for my black tie optional event. It has some stretch and the shimmer/sparkle detailing is much more prominent than the model photo shows--Most of the reviewer photos show it more accurately. I am usually between a 4 and 6 and the 6 was unavailable so I wore the 4. I probably would have preferred the fit of the 6 since this was a tad snug, but it worked. The only negative I noticed is that the lining tends to hang down about a quarter inch longer than the lace layer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Great Holiday dress!
I rented this dress for my work Christmas party. It was very cute! I usually wear a 4, but decided to wear the 6...the 4 was just a little to tight and short. The fabric is great..very festive! Although the sequins did rub on my arms, I didn't mind because the dress was so cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
First rental I've returned for fit...
I was excited about this dress, but I found the overall fit to be too tight, especially around the hips (even when wearing an 8 rather than my normal 6). The armpits were also scratchy and the nude slip was poking out at the bottom. I probably could have made it work, but would have been uncomfortable all night. Thanks God for RTR's helpful staff - got a much better-fitting dress the next day!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Great dress! I got several compliments.
Overall, it fit well. It made me look like I had a very small waist, which I appreciated. The fabric is pretty scratchy though, so my arms (only place where it rubbed) were irritated by the end of the night. The slip was also probably 1/2-1 inch longer than the fabric, which I did not like.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2013
Great Dress! Was perfect for the Great Gatsby event we attended!
The dress was a little snug around the bust and the sequins would get caught on the sheath underneath. Other than that it was a nice dress! I would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Awesome, awesome dress!
Fit perfectly, totally gorgeous, can't say enough good things about how fun this dress was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2013
Wonderful sparkly dress for a Christmas-time wedding. Pictures don't do it justice!
Beautiful, elegant dress. Fit is snug throughout, tightest around the ribs right below the bust. There is a ton of sparkle on this dress. PERFECT length (not too short), especially for someone who is tall. Everyone loved the unique back of the dress. My arms were slightly irritated from the sequins the next day, but I didn't notice it at all while I was wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it, both sizes were too large for me.
None.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2014
Perfect dress for New Years Eve
Like other reviewers have said, this dress is so much more beautiful in person. It's very stretchy material and was fitted while still looking elegant and classy. Everywhere we went, people were coming up to me to tell me how much they loved the dress. The lining hung way down in the dress I wore (an inch in the front and almost two in the back) but with the fashion tape sample I received, it was easily fixed. Also, I wore a regular bra with clear straps and it was fine. Again, I just used some fashion tape to secure the dress to the band on my bra and I was good to go! I ordered a 4 and a 6 and was glad I ordered up from my usual size because the four was too small. I could've worn it in a pinch, but the 6 definitely looked better. This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be doing this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2014
Gorgeous Dress!
Wore this dress for a formal NYE event. The lace and sparkle were fantastic - pictures of it really don't do it any justice. The size 2 fit really well. I just had to hem the lining with double sided tape so it didn't show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2014
Pretty gold fabric
Unfortunately, I didn't get the wear the dress out because of shipping delays (weather-related issues @ UPS). I can say the material looked beautiful once it did arrive!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2014
Show Stopper
I worn this dress to my boyfriends opening night on Broadway and it was a HIT! I was very comfy and I felt like a star in it all evening. I am a bit busty and this dress was very flattering to my chest and curves. I love RTR and use it for everything now! I was worried about the dress getting to me in time so I called and they were so helpful and had it to me by that evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
Gorgeous gleaming fabric, sophisticated cut.
The fabric has no give & hugs curves. The color is heavenly, gold sheen in the lace, but not over the top. I wore to a winter wedding, was perfect! Sophisticated & feminine.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
fun dress for a party or wedding.
this dress fit perfectly. i wore this dress to an engagement party and received tons of compliments on it. even though a portion of the back is exposed in this dress, you can still wear a bra with it, as long as you have some fashion tape. the dress had a slip that was longer than the dress and i had to use fashion tape to hide it, but it was not a problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
Classic dress, loved wearing it!
Pros: 1. Classic, timeless dress with the perfect hemline, not too short and I little sexiness in the back. Although I had a tough time zipping it up, it really was comfortable, maybe that is just the way the dress is made... 3. This dress had a conservative feel to it without being frumpy; I felt comfortable in it all night! Cons: 1. the sequins are a little irritating but not a deal breaker at all; 2. the slip is longer than the dress so it shows; 3) Runs small. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and the 8 barely fit. I had to get someone to help zip me up but the fabric has so much going on that the tightness wasn't noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
March 9, 2014
A little small.
Pretty dress but was a little right in the busy area for me. Also definitely a little scratchy from the sequins. Would be nice for a New Years or holiday party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2014
It was such a gorgeous dress! As soon as I put it on I loved it and I got so many compliments!
It was very fitted and snug, but that's how I would have wanted it. It scratched under the arms a bit but not terribly. It was comfortable to dance and sit in, it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2014
It was snug! It will hug your curves! It came right above my knees and fit like a glove.
After reading so many reviews on other women about my size I figured a size 2 would fit. I was wrong! I immediately called and had a size 4 over nighted in time for my event. The size 4 fit perfectly. I received so many compliments on this dress. The only thing I didn't like was the itchy sequins rubbing up against my shoulders by the end of the evening. Overall the dress was fantastic. It hugged my curves in all the right places. I don't recommend renting this dress if you plan on dancing the night away. It doesn't give very much. All in all I can't wait to rent another dress in a month or so for another event I have to attend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 19, 2014
Beautiful dress....figure flattering.
I am usually a size 6...but the size 6 wouldn't zip up over my bust. So I tried on the size 8....and still needed help zipping the dress...seems that side zippers always pose a problem for single-person zip-ups. The dress fit like a glove and hid all of the bad areas. By the end of the night I had a little chaffing under my arms from the sequins, but I didn't notice until the very end of the evening....and by that time I had been wearing the dress for 7 hours. I would definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2014
Gorgeous dress...but, didn't fit!
This dress is BEAUTIFUL! Unfortunately, it is very small in the chest area and it refused to zip up! I was disappointed that RTW was unable to send me a larger size overnight (due to unavailability); however, customer service was great and they sent me a fabulous backup dress to wear instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 4, 2014
The dress was the perfect combination of sexiness, sophistication, and elegance!
The dress had a good fit. It was curve-hugging yet comfortable. The dress is beautiful on its own so I kept my jewelry simple (I ordered the wave bangle the model is wearing and some diamond-stud earrings). The dress stayed put and I didn't have to do any adjusting throughout the night, and I was able to wear a regular bra with it. On the model it looks like the dress has a slight draping effect on the top, but I wear a 32DD so the top was pretty tight, though not uncomfortable and it still looked fine. The only issue was the inside hem was longer than the outside layer of the dress, but I bought some fashion tape and tape the inside hem up a couple inches and it worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 8, 2014
great sparkle
Wore for a black tie wedding in November. Got compliments all night! Great fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2014
I wore it to a James Bond themed party, and was told i was the "best dressed bond girl"!
The fit is pretty snug, in a nice form-fitting way. If you are between sizes, I might recommend the larger of the 2. I usually wear between a 4-6, but there wasn't a 6 available when I needed so I took a chance on a 4. The holes for my arms seemed a little small, so this may have been solved by choosing the size 6. Otherwise, the dress was great! I have long legs and typically find that dresses run a little short on me, but this dress was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
Love this dress! Will rent again!
This dress is more sparkly than it looks, but it is awesome. It's conservative in the front, but the back detail and the sparkle give it a little something extra. From other reviews I thought I would be able to wear a normal bra, but I am long in the torso and I think that affected the fit a little bit so I had to wear a NuBra, which was less than ideal, but not terrible. The picture does not do it justice. I definitely plan to rent this dress again I loved it so much!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2014
Bachelorette Party Dress
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I'm really tall, so I was hoping to find a little bit of a longer dress and this was the perfect length (still short enough on me). I ordered the 2 as my original size and the 4 as my backup size, and I ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 pulled. Like other girls said - you can see the liner in the dress. This is true only if the dress is too small. Lots of liner showed with the size 2, but the 4 did not show the liner at all. The 4 was the perfect size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2014
Dress was beautiful and got so many complements on it. Sparkly and perfect for a wedding.
I normally wear a size 4 and was surprised that the bust on the 4 was so small I couldn't zip it (when that area is never an issue for me) but the 6 fit well. Super pretty and otherwise cute. Liner kept sticking out on bottom and the fabric was irritating on my underarm. All in all great rent for an event and worth it for the night!
MaggieJuly 3, 2014
Hey Colleen, how badly did the fabric irritate your underarm? Just rented it, but am concerned about that...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
This was my first RTR dress & I loved it!! I rented this dress for a wedding & got many compliments!
The dress runs a tiny bit small and similar to other reviews, I did notice that the liner hangs out a little. Nothing that would take away from the beautiful sparkle of the dress. I got so many compliments wearing this dress I would definitely recommend renting it! Very comfortable as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 25, 2014
This dress was disappointingly too tight.
Unfortunately, I never got to wear this dress. The back-up size was not available on the date I needed it, so it did not come with the chosen size. I usually wear an 8-10 in most dresses, and this 10 was just a little to tight. The lining was also showing under the hem and the material irritated my skin under my arms for the 10 minutes I had it on. It actually left a bit of a rash. Even if it did come with the larger size, I don't think I could have gone out all night without the material annoying me. FORTUNATELY, customer service was incredible and shipped another style and size (with backup size) overnight to my destination hotel! I was a very happy customer.
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×