David Meister

Gold Lela Lace Dress

$30 rental
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine at the gala wearing this stunning David Meister gold lace sheath. Stack bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed slits in back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold metallic lace. Bateau neckline. Double cut-out back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
330 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(210)
Small
(78)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 20, 2013
Dress was on time; loved the option of a second size; return was made so easy.
Wore this dress for my engagement party. Absolutely loved how it looked. HOWEVER, about 2 hours in the dress had begun to scratch the underneath of arms. My engagement party was in August ... it is now January and I am still scarred. They say beauty is pain ... this is a perfect example. Beautiful dress but plan for some pain!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2013
I felt sexy without being too showy! I had complements all night!
I absolutely loved this dress and all of my friends did too! It fit as I thought it should, just a little tight in the chest, but I'm a little bigger in that area. I had a problem with finding a bra that would work with it, but ended up taping a regular bra under the center "strap" in the back. It was a wonderful wear!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 28, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a formal wedding!
This dress was the perfect choice for a formal wedding in Savannah, GA. It was the perfect length on me and the size was true to size. I have a slightly bigger bottom and this dress accentuated that perfectly! Not too much, but perfect for my shape. It did rub a tiny bit under the arms, but you forget it pretty quickly. Wish I owned this gorgeous dress! Also, I won the RTR Style Awards for this dress, so others must have loved it too! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2013
Pretty dress. Fits odd in some places
This dress is tight, stretchy material. So go up an extra size. Dressier than it looks in picture. It has little gold sequins. I ended up getting another dress because was uncomfortable and was too dressy for my event, that was cocktail casual. The lining also showed at the bottom of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 4, 2013
Great experience, rented for a charity event.
Fit well throughout, no obvious bunching. It was a little tight around the bust, but this allowed good support and fabric was thick enough that I was able to go without a strapless bra. The back is a little tricky to avoid bra strap show, so this was a plus. Got lots of compliments from friends on the dress, and the lace/sequins made it formal enough for the event. It is more sparkly than it appears in the model's pictures in person, but not overwhelmingly so. Only downside is there was some pilling of the fabric near the hem, so did not look perfectly new when it arrived.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
February 22, 2013
Great fit! I loved this dress! I would wear it again and again!
Fits a little large, I am normally a 6 and wore a 4. The detailing is beautiful and I received so many compliments about how expensive it looked!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Beautiful sparkly dress!
I wore this to my cousin's March wedding in SC. I was a little nervous when I first saw it, because I only ordered one size (and it looked tiny), but it fit like a glove! The back might be a little bit tricky if you're wearing a bra but I was fine without one. As other reviewers have said, the material is VERY scratchy - I was enjoying the open bar so I didn't really notice - but when I got home the inside of my arms were covered with scratches. Overall I would definitely rent this dress again - such a great experience! I got so many compliments and I told everyone about RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
March 7, 2013
Played up my best assets while hiding some of my flaws. Loved it!
This was a second look I ordered. The dress is much more beautiful in person. Online it looks as if it's a heavy fabric with a lace print on it. It's actually mesh material with sequins all over. It's gorgeous! It looks like a very expensive dress. I ordered the size 4 and size 6 and wish I had listened to the other reviewers when they said it runs small. I probably would have been better off in an 8. I'm usually a size 6, but this hugged my body a little too much for the conservative event I went to. It was fine and I received a ton of compliments on it. Another imporant point is the bra- I went and purchased a NuBra specially for this dress. It was a total waste and I couldn't use it. Instead, I ended up using a regular bra and used the tape provided to hold it all in place. Occasionally, a strap would poke out, but my husband was on alert to adjust at all times. This dress is a winner! I wouldn't hesitate to rent again-- only a size 8 this time ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This was my second choice dress for my daughter's sweet 16 birthday party. Had I ordered it in a size 6 (and not a size 4), I would have definitely worn this one instead of what I had rented as my first choice in two sizes.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
Love RTR - -even though this dress didnt work
VERY scratchy -- did not like look in person, photographed better than in real life
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
I wore this dress to a festive holiday wedding the weekend before Christmas
I loved the dress but the condition was a bit rough. It seemed like the slip underneath the dress had been seriously stretched out. But otherwise it was fun, festive and received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
March 22, 2013
AMAZING DRESS!
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was a huge hit! The wedding was black tie and I felt amazing all night! The ruching on the side is extremely flattering and the dress is cut so perfectly that you can easily wear a bra with it. The fabric did scratch around the arm holes but it wasn't terribly uncomfortable and I didn't even remember or feel it the next day. This dress really shows off your figure in the most flattering way. It's body conscious without leaving you feeling super exposed like a traditional bandage dress. Even after a full day of eating and drinking I put this on and felt fabulous. Beautiful, comfortable, and flattering dress!! And my husband loved it too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 24, 2013
Beautiful dress with just the right amount of sparkle
Wore this dress to a grad school formal. Got tons of compliments - the gold fabric was just beautiful and the cutout back made the dress! I ordered the sizes 4 and 6 (I am usually a true size 4), and found that even the 4 was a bit big. I think a 2 would have fit perfectly, but the 4 still looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 30, 2013
Great dress!! I received so many completements and will defintely rent again. Fits tightly.
Loved wearing this dress. My only issue was the sequins rubbed my under side of my arms and down the side where the seam was. Otherwise, I got a lot of complements and enjoyed wearing it!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
April 9, 2013
Fun dress.
Loved this dress. I wore it to a black tie wedding in PR.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 15, 2013
I never wanted to take it off!
Oh, how I adored this dress. It was so sparkly without being trashy. And so tight without looking too small. Just a great fit and a stunning dress. I had a necklace on with it and then realized I didn't even need that. I wear a 4 and this 4 fit like it was tailor made for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2013
Cocktail Turn Up
the 4 fit, but since I was attempting go for a cocktail look and not club i wore the 6. I won't say it runs small, cause I'd been eating all day and the 4 DID fit, i just wanting it looser look. Great dress. Really cute and classy and the back gives it some extra fun. Got lots of compliments from women of all ages.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 21, 2013
First time using RTR and it was a great experience! I will do this again!
This dress fit like a glove, no gaping in the back or at arms- perfect! The length was great- it hit me a few inches above the knee. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the sequins at the arm opening rub against your skin which was very uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 26, 2013
SPARKLE!
I wore this dress to my sorority's annual formal. The picture does not show the level of sparkly it is but it looks great with any skin tone! I got compliments all night. It worked really well with the Kendra Scott Maxine Earrings. The only bad things were that it itched a little, the bra situation is awkward and it ran a little small. Everyone LOVED this dress and so did I!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 10, 2013
It was a very pretty dress but a little too sparkly for a wedding in my opinion.
I liked the fit a lot, it hugged the body well. However, the sequins (which I didn't expect, I thought it was more of a lace overlay) definitely scratched my underarms when taking it off and on. I went with the other dress that I had rented but this would be a great choice for a new years or holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
What an amazing dress!
I wore this to a wedding in South Carolina. I received so many compliments about this dress. I loved the back of it. It was a tight fitting dress that shows off your curves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2013
gorgeous dress, different than it appears in photo
it was a really pretty dress but the picture made the dress look like it had subtle, more matte colored sequins to render a more champagne/muted gold color, but when I got in the mail they were bright gold. I had ordered for a wedding that I was in so unfortunately I could not wear it bc the color was not right. had it been any other occasion that I didn't need a specific color, i would have definitely worn it. Just a note that it's much more bedazzled in person than it appears in the photo
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 31, 2013
It was a beautiful dress that was easy to move around in. I got several compliments.
I loved the overall look of this dress. It was fitted but not too tight to be uncomfortable. I was able to dance and enjoy myself without worrying. I also did not need to wear a bra with this dress which was necessary for the cutout back. It was a tiny bit snug through the chest (I am a 36B) which surprised me. But overall I loved this dress and I will RENT AGAIN!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2013
Beautiful fabric
Beautiful fabric and style; unfortunately, I won't be able to wear the dress - it is quite fitted and the liner is hanging out the bottom, since it is less fitted than the over-layer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
June 12, 2013
Lovely dress. Very flattering and super comfortable!
Others mentioned that the sequence was irritating, but it didn't bother me at all. The back is very sexy and the dress can be worn with a strapless bra. Other mentioned that a regular bra can be worn. That wasn't working for me. The side straps were still showing. You will love this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2013
I wore this to a black tie wedding and felt extremely glamorous!
I usually wear a 4 but I'm pretty curvy (and wear a 34D) so ended up wearing the 6 to the event. The 4 fit but the 6 still hugged curves and I thought looked a little... classier. Especially if you're curvy, I recommend going up a size for your backup. I wish I had a full length photo front and back because the dress was so pretty and flattering (and comfortable since the material is a little stretchy). I am on the shorter side and it hit just at the top of my knees which I liked since the dress was gold and it was a black tie wedding. Like other girls have said, I was able to wear a normal bra and just got someone to pin the straps so they didn't show. Little gold safety pins did the trick and weren't noticeable in the textured material. I was sad to send the dress back. My boyfriend loved it too. I wore gold jewelry and black strappy heels (I liked black better than gold).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 12, 2013
So many compliments!
Great dress! You will get complimented! It's surprisingly forgiving once it's on, but you'll need a different bra solution (I wore the NuBra Lite). It also scratched me pretty fiercely around the arm holes. The zipper is hard to get up at the top - definitely thought it was going to get stuck or I was going to zip my skin up. Luckily, neither happened. Overall, I was super happy with it - danced all night and had a great time at my friend's wedding!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 16, 2013
Another great RTR experience!
This dress runs true to size and is definitely figure flattering. The cut-out back gives it a little something extra. Being 5'2" I am always worried about dresses being too long but in my opinion, this was the perfect length because it was still comfortable while I was sitting down. Some people said that the sequins scratched their arms -- the only time I had this problem was when I was dancing! Overall, it was another great RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
June 30, 2013
Pretty Dress, Annoying Slip.
I wore this dress to a wedding and thought the fit and shine were fantastic. Loved the back cut outs, sexy but not too much skin showing. But I was nothing but frustrated all night because of the slip. The fabric with the sequins wasn't long enough and the slip kept showing all night, no matter what I did. The sequins definitely do scratch, but it only happened getting the dress on and off. Received great compliments and it fit perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 15, 2013
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress for a medical school prom and it's is gorgeous. The color, fabric, everything. The dress was very snug on me and I typically wear less form-fitting clothing so I didn't love the way it looked on me personally. I did receive compliments and would recommend the dress. The fabric was itchy/rough like other reviewers said but overall a pretty dress for a formal event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
July 17, 2013
The shimmer of the dress was beautiful and the back of it added a bit of sexiness.
The dress fit great. I was able to wear a strapless bra as the strap in the back of the dress covered it. I received a ton of compliments on this dress! Would definitely recommend wearing this dress for a fancy occasion as the shimmer adds that wow factor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2013
a sparkly dress for my 30th birthday!
This dress is so eye-catching! It's literally the stuff of cat-calls. It scratches a little under the arms, but the material is surprisingly forgiving and movable. The back is a real showstopper, and I even found it pretty easy to find a standard bra to wear with the unique cutouts. There's a subtle gather at the midsection that's a little forgiving as well. Gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2013
Best rental yet!
This is an amazing dress! I am 5'5", 115 lbs and the 2 was a perfect fit. If you have a smaller bust like me, you probably won't have to wear a bra either (the back of the dress makes it hard to wear one). I got compliments all night long! Even the bride made mention of how much she loved my dress. Little did they know that the $600 gown was rented for far less. Thanks so much, RTR! This dress was another winner :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 11, 2013
Received compliments all night!
Loved the dress. The only minor issue I had was with the material rubbing against my inner arm. It was a little rough and left a little red mark, but you could guess that would happen as soon as you put the dress on. I loved the dress and received compliments on it all night. Perfect for a wedding.
MaggieJuly 3, 2014
Hey Kelly, how badly did the fabric irritate your inner arm? I just rented the dress, but I'm nervous about that...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2013
Elegant
I love this dress, it fit perfectly! Very elegant all around. The cut-out back adds a lot of character. Wore with diamond studs and nude heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
I had such high hopes. I am normally a size 10 but could not even zip up the 12. Returned unworn.
Dress was very narrow and fitted. If you have a wider back and wear a 10 or 12 don't order this dress unless you get a 14.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 23, 2013
lots of compliments!
At first I was unsure about this dress. I rented it for a more conservative look for a wedding of one of my husbands coworkers. At home, I thought it was just blah. Once I got to the hotel, did my hair/makeup, and added the heels, i felt much better. The random wedding guests complimenting the dress made it even better. =) I will add though, that the sequins were super scratchy by the end of the night and I even had marks the next day and i didnt even dance! BUT sometimes, beauty is pain ;-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
Great Dress for a Formal Affair!
This was my first rental from RTR and I was a bit nervous because I had no backup dresses. The rental came the day before the wedding I was going to attend and looked even better than the picture. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and to be honest, I could have worn both, but the 2 just fit better overall so I went with that. It was a bit tough zipping up, but once I got it, it felt comfortable. I didn't end up wearing a bra with it and it was fine because it was so snug. My only two complaints are the sequins irritated my arms at first, but then I got used to it. And the other is the lining that was too long, so it kept peeking out at the bottom of the dress. Other than that, I got tons of compliments all night - even from the bride!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 8, 2013
Perfect holiday, wedding or black tie dress! Perfect amount of shimmer.
I was nervous about the dress’s fit because I can fall anywhere from a 0 to 6 depending on the designer but average 2 or 4. At first I wasn’t as excited about it, but when I put the dress on after I was dolled up for the wedding I was absolutely in LOVE with it!! My boyfriend kept commenting on how great it looked. I ended up going with a 4 which was perfect, not too snug or loose, although I imagine the 2 would have fit as well since there is a little give. I was able to wear a regular bra and pinned the straps . Also used dress tape to fold the back hem in which was peeking out beyond the lace. Sequins we’re not irritating, found it super comfortable and great for dancing! Only downside was that the lace looked a bit worn since its delicate, nothing greatly obvious. I paired it with black pumps, black clutch and delicate gold and crystal earrings. It was my first time renting and I cannot wait for a reason to do it again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2013
Lots of great feedback! Sexy!
I'm glad I rented this dress -- it was a lot of fun, and I got a lot of compliments. That said, it was getting a little worn down -- and the lining often hung down below the sequins which really sucked. Thankfully no one seemed to notice except for me.
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×