You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Charcoal Cocktail Sequin Dress
Rental $75 Retail $560
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Sequins meet sophistication. Rent this David Meister cocktail dress for all your holiday parties and you'll be the talk of the gathering. Add a pop of color by renting the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings and a blinged out cuff like the Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff.
Chat with a Stylist
Charcoal knit with sequins(65% polyester;35% rayon). Surplice neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos12

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Tamiko
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5544
Jan 13, 2014
Great dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress. I attended a small wedding dinner and this was perfect, just enough sparkle to make the night shine. The fit was true to size, I used a little double stick tape since its a faux wrap (as not to flash other guests) but it fit wonderfully.
Annalisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
May 12, 2013
Stylish, yet so easy to wear!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding reception, but think it could easily work for other formal occasions. Up close, the outer material looks and feels like a soft cotton tee, covered in a pattern or little silver sequins. Inside, nice and satiny smooth. Because the sequins are small, you don't outshine the bride or look gaudy - it glimmers beautifully! My soul mate couldn't keep his eyes off of me, and I was complimented by others on the look - but I didn't have to suffer for it (dress wise, anyway). Hooray! A few tips: if you have a modest bosom, a padded pushup bra is a must. With a size 2 top, and pear shaped 4/6 hips, I found the 4 just made it (very close to true). If you are unsure, size for your hips. This dress hangs beautifully, but take note- when taking photos in the dress, face forward or left side (where the neat dangle part is), otherwise it will artificially emphasize the appearance of your belly due to the way it drapes (see my two photos for a comparison). Don't let that one down side discourage you from getting this dress though - when you are in it, you'll love it and so will others!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4632
Mar 20, 2013
Stunning, FANTASTIC & Comfortable
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received so many compliments of this dress! It was stunning and comfortable. The material is jersey with a lining - so it was easy to wear, and the front faux wrap made it easy to hide any insecurities. The long sleeves were perfect for a March St. Patty's themed winter wedding in New England - was happy with it.... I would definitely re-rent! The V-neck is on the plunging side - as I'm petitie and small chested, it wasn't a big deal for me plus the necklace was a rental too (green for the Irish) and it fell appropriately with the neckline. Felt like a million dollars!!
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Feb 26, 2013
2 random women came up to me when I was out to let me know how amazing and beautiful the dress was!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought this dress was a wrap dress, but it isn't. It just looks like one. Luckily, the size fit perfectly. The material is very soft and it is very sparkly. I loved it. I actually want to buy this dress, it is amazing!!!
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Dec 5, 2012
Beautiful dress! Loved the sparkle and the design. Perfect for the symphony!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I tried the size 2 and 4. The 2 was snug in the shoulders, but the 4 was just right. It helped to wear a slightly padded bra.
AC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 8, 2012
Classy, elegant and eye catching
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a political fundraiser and loved everything about it! It was true to size and very comfortable. The fabric feels just like cotton, and the sequins really make the gray pop. The V cut a little deep which was just fine with me, but be sure to have the right bra. Also the sleeves were a little tight but not bothersome. I received many compliments and was a great event to dinner/cocktails dress. Highly recommend!
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 4, 2012
AWESOME DRESS!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was perfect, in every way. It was a lot more sparkly in person- and that is what I hoped for. I did not think it was over-the-top sparkly. It was a perfect dress for my occasion- I wore it for my brother's wedding. I am not sure I have ever receieved so many compliments about a dress before. So many people told me I should purchase it! Other reveiws said it showed a lot of cleavage- I did not have that problem. The fit was very true to size. This was my first experience with RTR and I will most definitely be back. It was absolutely perfect.
jodie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Feb 18, 2012
It's such a perfect idea to rent these dresses...Then I don't have to try to buy one for different occasions and they are modern. It's the bomb that you get 2 sizes to try and I think it's extremely helpful to read the comments
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress. Would consider buying it. A little low cut so I wore a cami under it. Loved that it's long sleeved!!! Does not have a ton of stretch under the arms so may not be great for big dancing!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5521
Mar 23, 2014
gorgeous!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So pretty in person, form fitting and complementary. Keeps you warm during a winter event!
Mindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 13, 2014
Great sparkly dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit exactly as sized, if a little large. It was comfortable and easy to move around in. The dress I got did show quite a bit of wear, with pilling on the arms and bodice. Working with RTR was very easy and straightforward even when my luggage was lost on the way home and return was delayed.
Madeleine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 9, 2013
I loved this dress...it was perfect for a holiday party. Got tons of compliments.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I expected to wear the size 2 as usual, but actually went with the 4 cause the sleeves on the 2 were so tight, and the butt was snug too. It was in perfect condition and really looked great.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2531
Nov 14, 2013
Fits well. Enjoyed wearing this dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
easy to wear. Can be dressed up or down.
Kym
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Nov 5, 2013
Stunning, comfortable & easy to wear
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a fall charity event and was thrilled with it! The cotton makes it comfortable & easy to wear, and the sequin detail adds sparkle. The sleeves run tight, so be sure to order your true size. Overall thrilled with the dress, as well as the order & return process.
Melanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Nov 3, 2013
This was my back up dress. Very pretty gray but the fabric is SUPER pill-y.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In a dark room you wouldn't notice the pills but it's very noticeable in better lighting. Don't wear this dress if it's outside in the daytime because the fabric is noticeably worn. That said, it was a very pretty dress. It was my back up dress and I didn't wear it. There was room in the hips, I probably would wear a 4 in this dress.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Oct 28, 2013
This dress is a head-turner. Great style for an hourglass figure!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fitted but not tight. Tried the 4, could've worn the 6 possibly.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Oct 10, 2013
I'm writing this review unfortunately almost a year after I wore it. Had a great time, compliments!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable, I wore my usual size, I felt very snazzy in it and danced the night away very easily in it. It was form fitting but not restrictive and bra friendly.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3634
Jul 17, 2013
Wish I could have worn it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous! The arms were a little tight and it required a "dressing buddy" in order to get it zipped. Because I was at a hotel by myself, I wasn't able to wear this dress.
Connie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Feb 27, 2013
Love The Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! I wore it for an evening wedding and it was just the right dress. It must have been the right dress for the occassion, because someone else there had the same dress!Length and fit we're both great. Lots of people have mentioned it's very sparkly and it is in person. Got a lot of compliments.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6431
Feb 16, 2013
Wasn't pleased.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress, while it fit well in the waist and bust, I could not move my arms in it at all, once zipped. I was not able to wear this dress. The material was nice, but it looked a bit worn around the cuffs.
Bobbi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5623
Feb 13, 2013
Very sexy party look!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fitted dress that really shows off your curves.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jan 13, 2013
This beats a LBD any day!!!!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is so beautiful and fun to wear. It looks great on and the fabric is soft and comfortable. I felt happy and festive wearing it. It is a bit hard to zip up, my husband had to zip me into it, but once I was in the dress I was very comfortable--I wore it with spanx and a light-weight black cami underneath because it is rather low cut. Overall I would recommend this dress for any shape or size. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 and in this dress, the 6 was perfect. This is a beautiful, comfortable dress!
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Jan 13, 2013
A little big in the top, but still looked good on.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very pretty for a cocktail party.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4622
Dec 28, 2012
First RTR experience was top notch.On time delivery,great product,easy return.Highly recommend!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the dress! Great fit, comfortable jersey fabric, got multiple complements. Unlike a lot of cocktail dresses, I didn't feel like I had to constantly adjust ior tug at it all night. The only minor downside is that the long sleeves do make it a little warm. Wish I could have kept it forever!
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3644
Dec 20, 2012
Feeling fantastic in the dress AND knowing I'd be comfortable all night.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Hides many figure flaws! Much sparklier than it appears in the photo.
Livonb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Dec 4, 2012
Didn't like feel of fabric...didn't feel like a cocktail quality dress...felt frumpy.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Not a bad dress just not for me...I also didn't like the extra hanging fabric in front...felt heavy. Ended up not wearing it.
WindyCity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 23, 2012
Good from afar, but far from good.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a lovely dress, but I did not wear it. The pictures do not truly reflect how sparkly this dress is. It would be fine for an evening cocktail party, but a little to much for an early evening wedding. I was disappointed in the fabric. With the European mills producing such beautiful fabrics that are also wearable, I see no reason to be uncomfortable. This dress is cut form fitting, and looks great when standing. It would be great if we were mannequins, but we ladies move. This dress is not for you if you want to raise your arms. There is absolutely no give to the fabric. So old school technology.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3531
Oct 20, 2012
Was my back-up dress and I ALMOST wore it, but loved my first choice dress too.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great and was super comfortable. The only downside was that it showed a little too much cleavage for the occasion (a slightly conservative wedding). This was my back-up dress so I never really intended to wear it but it was a tough choice. If I had a black camisole to wear underneath, I would definitely wear it in the future.
Lynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5641
Oct 17, 2012
Great Way To Add Some Sparkle
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress as a backup, to the Trina Trunk Tulip dress and thought it was flattering and fit true to size. In the end wore the other dress, because it was more festive, but would wear this on another occasion where ya needed more subdued sequence.
beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Sep 22, 2012
This was my first experience with RTR and I'm hooked already. What a seamless, positive experience!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. I have never received so many complements, most from strangers! I usually wear a two but ordered a four in case. The two was perfect.
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Sep 17, 2012
Super shiny
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wasn't prepared for how shiny this dress was -- it's not subtle at all, I felt like a disco ball.
Alise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5543
Sep 6, 2012
Choose Wisely
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, it was really cute and fun! Be warned it is far more "sparkly" in person than what shows on the photos. I picked this dress for a wedding and I had to go out and get a black cover to tone it down a bit. Really great dress for a night out with the girls or new years, I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3631
Sep 1, 2012
Dazzling!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was the perfect amount of sparkle for a fancy date night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6143
Aug 31, 2012
love it
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
rented it for wedding, perfect fit, perfect for the occation.
Jera at CreateSticksAndStones.com
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2532
Jul 21, 2012
Amazing! Perfection! Gorgeous!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the first time I've used the service and definitely not my last!!! My entire experience from start to finish was incredible! It is such an easy process! The selection is amazing! I loved my dress so much. I am going to look into buying it. I've already referred many friends. Even my husband was impressed with the process and product and he's difficult to please. Thank you for this service! I am so happy my friend introduced me to you!
Roxana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7633
May 17, 2012
Prettier on the hanger
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought I loved this dress in the picture and on the hanger it was stunning. When I put it on.... not so much. I am not busty so the top left me a bit deflated and it was just a tad short for a formal affair. I ended up wearing my backup dress (Nicole Miller black lace) that fit like a glove.
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3531
Jan 18, 2012
Fabulous
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this dress for a fancy wedding and received many compliments some from perfect strangers. The dress came with everything you need and fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent another dress.
Kristine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5524
Jan 5, 2012
Tight on Shoulder area!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress and so wanted to wear it the New Year's Eve wedding I rented it for (thank god I rented a back up style that workout perfectly), it looked great and fit like a size 6 should with one exception- the shoulder area. If I had my arms down the dress looked great, if I tried to pick up my arms (as I would do if I was dancing for a NYE wedding) the dress felt like it could rip and it was just too constricting in the upper arm shoulder area. The dress itself is really nice on and totally sliming with the design. I just couldn't see myself being comfortable for such a party night so I didn't wear it after all.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9444
Jan 3, 2012
Dress looks amazing, fit small
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE and was unfortunantly unable to wear it because it was too small. It was a stunning dress, but had very little stretch or give to it. The top was really where I had problems with fit, for a size 12 - I am also a D cup bust and it just would not accomidate that. I could zip this up to about my bra line. Again, very stunning dress!! But if you run at the higher end of the size scale this likely is not for you. It does look like a wrap dress which is usually a little more forgiving in that area but it is not - this dress zips up the back.
Stacee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Jan 2, 2012
Perfect!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress, beautiful earrings and handbag for a holiday charity event. I received so many compliments! It was gorgeous. I actually received two dresses from RTR and chose this one. The drape of this dress covers you perfectly in the belly area and make you looks slim and beautiful. I blogged about it (http://darlingkichaa.blogspot.com/2011/12/rent-runway.html) afterward. I highly recommend this dress.
Corporate Wife
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 22, 2011
Beautiful and Comfortable
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my husband's corporate holiday party. Absolutely stunning! I have blonde hair and fair skin so the charcoal looked amazing against my skin tone. The dress feels like a soft jersey material against your skin. The sequins give the dress a gorgeous sparkle. I received a lot of compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress