Charcoal Cocktail Sequin Dress

$98 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Sequins meet sophistication. Rent this David Meister cocktail dress for all your holiday parties and you'll be the talk of the gathering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charcoal knit with sequins(65% polyester;35% rayon). Surplice neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
love it
rented it for wedding, perfect fit, perfect for the occation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2012
Dazzling!
It was the perfect amount of sparkle for a fancy date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2012
Choose Wisely
I loved this dress, it was really cute and fun! Be warned it is far more "sparkly" in person than what shows on the photos. I picked this dress for a wedding and I had to go out and get a black cover to tone it down a bit. Really great dress for a night out with the girls or new years, I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
October 17, 2012
Great Way To Add Some Sparkle
Rented this dress as a backup, to the Trina Trunk Tulip dress and thought it was flattering and fit true to size. In the end wore the other dress, because it was more festive, but would wear this on another occasion where ya needed more subdued sequence.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 20, 2012
Was my back-up dress and I ALMOST wore it, but loved my first choice dress too.
This dress fit great and was super comfortable. The only downside was that it showed a little too much cleavage for the occasion (a slightly conservative wedding). This was my back-up dress so I never really intended to wear it but it was a tough choice. If I had a black camisole to wear underneath, I would definitely wear it in the future.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 4, 2012
AWESOME DRESS!!
I thought this dress was perfect, in every way. It was a lot more sparkly in person- and that is what I hoped for. I did not think it was over-the-top sparkly. It was a perfect dress for my occasion- I wore it for my brother's wedding. I am not sure I have ever receieved so many compliments about a dress before. So many people told me I should purchase it! Other reveiws said it showed a lot of cleavage- I did not have that problem. The fit was very true to size. This was my first experience with RTR and I will most definitely be back. It was absolutely perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2012
Classy, elegant and eye catching
I wore this dress to a political fundraiser and loved everything about it! It was true to size and very comfortable. The fabric feels just like cotton, and the sequins really make the gray pop. The V cut a little deep which was just fine with me, but be sure to have the right bra. Also the sleeves were a little tight but not bothersome. I received many compliments and was a great event to dinner/cocktails dress. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 23, 2012
Good from afar, but far from good.
This is a lovely dress, but I did not wear it. The pictures do not truly reflect how sparkly this dress is. It would be fine for an evening cocktail party, but a little to much for an early evening wedding. I was disappointed in the fabric. With the European mills producing such beautiful fabrics that are also wearable, I see no reason to be uncomfortable. This dress is cut form fitting, and looks great when standing. It would be great if we were mannequins, but we ladies move. This dress is not for you if you want to raise your arms. There is absolutely no give to the fabric. So old school technology.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
December 4, 2012
Didn't like feel of fabric...didn't feel like a cocktail quality dress...felt frumpy.
Not a bad dress just not for me...I also didn't like the extra hanging fabric in front...felt heavy. Ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2012
Beautiful dress! Loved the sparkle and the design. Perfect for the symphony!
I tried the size 2 and 4. The 2 was snug in the shoulders, but the 4 was just right. It helped to wear a slightly padded bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2012
Feeling fantastic in the dress AND knowing I'd be comfortable all night.
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Hides many figure flaws! Much sparklier than it appears in the photo.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 28, 2012
First RTR experience was top notch.On time delivery,great product,easy return.Highly recommend!!!
LOVED the dress! Great fit, comfortable jersey fabric, got multiple complements. Unlike a lot of cocktail dresses, I didn't feel like I had to constantly adjust ior tug at it all night. The only minor downside is that the long sleeves do make it a little warm. Wish I could have kept it forever!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
A little big in the top, but still looked good on.
Very pretty for a cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
January 13, 2013
This beats a LBD any day!!!!
This dress is so beautiful and fun to wear. It looks great on and the fabric is soft and comfortable. I felt happy and festive wearing it. It is a bit hard to zip up, my husband had to zip me into it, but once I was in the dress I was very comfortable--I wore it with spanx and a light-weight black cami underneath because it is rather low cut. Overall I would recommend this dress for any shape or size. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 and in this dress, the 6 was perfect. This is a beautiful, comfortable dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2011
This is an amazing dress. The fabric is an incredibly soft cotton, and slightly stretchy, so it's forgiving. You can move, dance, etc. I was worried about the v-neck, but it hits in the perfect place for a regular bra. I am small chested, so even with push-up bra and cutlets I had some extra fabric, but no gaping. It is very flattering on the body, and especially forgiving across the tummy, as the side note covers and distracts.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
Attractive dress and striking sparkle, but didn't fit well. Both sizes (2 and 4) were too big through the waist/bust, but too small through the hips. I am hippy, but small waisted. I'd hoped there would be some give/stretch through the hips (which is usually how I get dresses to fit), but the material of this dress didn't stretch much at all.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2011
great fit!
I got tons of compliments on this gown, which I wore to a black tie dinner event. The shape is really flattering and the sequins catch the light in just the right way.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2011
Great dress
I have absolutely no complaints about this dress. It fit well,was comfortable & I got tons of compliments. The sleeves are slightly longer than the picture - certainly not a detriment.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2011
Amazing
Dress fit like a glove. Could not have been happier!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
November 28, 2011
Amazing Dress
This dress was perfect for the occasion! It was beautiful and fit well. I received multiple compliments on it (even from random strangers)! I had such a great expeirence. I would definitely order another dress for my next formal event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2011
Great dress!
The dress fit great, but was snug around. I have a rather petite frame, but I think it would look good on any body type. The V is cut pretty low, so you might need to get a low cut bra. I thought the material would have stretch to it, but it did not. It zips up the back, and has no give. The color is more dark gray, then black, when you see it in the light. It's really sparkly, but not tacky looking. I received compliments at the gala we attended. I will be using this service for my next big event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2011
Perfect for Holiday Party
Beautiful and very flattering. I am large busted and have a booty and it minimized in all the right places. More charcoal than looks in photo. Does not have stretch through arms and chest so was a little more binding but still comfortable. Lots of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 7, 2011
Spectacular dress
This dress fit perfectly. The fabric was amazing. It moved beautifully and had a shine/shimmer to it that was intriguing under muted lighting. Being middle-aged, I am beginning to develop a little belly fat so I needed to wear shapewear and use the enclosed fabric tape for the deep V neck. Thanks to RTR for that! I received many compliments and I felt like I looked terrific. The dress is not black but more of a charcoal dark gray. Wish I owned this!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 73
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 21, 2011
Stunning
Very comfortable fit, I would have liked just an inch or 2 more in the length, but that is because I like knee length or just below. Received many complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 131lbs
December 22, 2011
Beautiful and Comfortable
I wore this to my husband's corporate holiday party. Absolutely stunning! I have blonde hair and fair skin so the charcoal looked amazing against my skin tone. The dress feels like a soft jersey material against your skin. The sequins give the dress a gorgeous sparkle. I received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2012
Perfect!
Rented this dress, beautiful earrings and handbag for a holiday charity event. I received so many compliments! It was gorgeous. I actually received two dresses from RTR and chose this one. The drape of this dress covers you perfectly in the belly area and make you looks slim and beautiful. I blogged about it (http://darlingkichaa.blogspot.com/2011/12/rent-runway.html) afterward. I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2012
Dress looks amazing, fit small
I rented this dress for NYE and was unfortunantly unable to wear it because it was too small. It was a stunning dress, but had very little stretch or give to it. The top was really where I had problems with fit, for a size 12 - I am also a D cup bust and it just would not accomidate that. I could zip this up to about my bra line. Again, very stunning dress!! But if you run at the higher end of the size scale this likely is not for you. It does look like a wrap dress which is usually a little more forgiving in that area but it is not - this dress zips up the back.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Tight on Shoulder area!
I loved the dress and so wanted to wear it the New Year's Eve wedding I rented it for (thank god I rented a back up style that workout perfectly), it looked great and fit like a size 6 should with one exception- the shoulder area. If I had my arms down the dress looked great, if I tried to pick up my arms (as I would do if I was dancing for a NYE wedding) the dress felt like it could rip and it was just too constricting in the upper arm shoulder area. The dress itself is really nice on and totally sliming with the design. I just couldn't see myself being comfortable for such a party night so I didn't wear it after all.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2012
Fabulous
i rented this dress for a fancy wedding and received many compliments some from perfect strangers. The dress came with everything you need and fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2012
It's such a perfect idea to rent these dresses...Then I don't have to try to buy one for different occasions and they are modern. It's the bomb that you get 2 sizes to try and I think it's extremely helpful to read the comments
Absolutely loved this dress. Would consider buying it. A little low cut so I wore a cami under it. Loved that it's long sleeved!!! Does not have a ton of stretch under the arms so may not be great for big dancing!
CarolNovember 19, 2012
Rocked it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2012
Prettier on the hanger
I thought I loved this dress in the picture and on the hanger it was stunning. When I put it on.... not so much. I am not busty so the top left me a bit deflated and it was just a tad short for a formal affair. I ended up wearing my backup dress (Nicole Miller black lace) that fit like a glove.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
July 21, 2012
Amazing! Perfection! Gorgeous!
This is the first time I've used the service and definitely not my last!!! My entire experience from start to finish was incredible! It is such an easy process! The selection is amazing! I loved my dress so much. I am going to look into buying it. I've already referred many friends. Even my husband was impressed with the process and product and he's difficult to please. Thank you for this service! I am so happy my friend introduced me to you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2013
Wasn't pleased.
This dress, while it fit well in the waist and bust, I could not move my arms in it at all, once zipped. I was not able to wear this dress. The material was nice, but it looked a bit worn around the cuffs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Very sexy party look!
Fitted dress that really shows off your curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 26, 2013
2 random women came up to me when I was out to let me know how amazing and beautiful the dress was!!
I thought this dress was a wrap dress, but it isn't. It just looks like one. Luckily, the size fit perfectly. The material is very soft and it is very sparkly. I loved it. I actually want to buy this dress, it is amazing!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
Love The Dress!
This dress fit perfectly! I wore it for an evening wedding and it was just the right dress. It must have been the right dress for the occassion, because someone else there had the same dress!Length and fit we're both great. Lots of people have mentioned it's very sparkly and it is in person. Got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2013
Stunning, FANTASTIC & Comfortable
Received so many compliments of this dress! It was stunning and comfortable. The material is jersey with a lining - so it was easy to wear, and the front faux wrap made it easy to hide any insecurities. The long sleeves were perfect for a March St. Patty's themed winter wedding in New England - was happy with it.... I would definitely re-rent! The V-neck is on the plunging side - as I'm petitie and small chested, it wasn't a big deal for me plus the necklace was a rental too (green for the Irish) and it fell appropriately with the neckline. Felt like a million dollars!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 12, 2013
Stylish, yet so easy to wear!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding reception, but think it could easily work for other formal occasions. Up close, the outer material looks and feels like a soft cotton tee, covered in a pattern or little silver sequins. Inside, nice and satiny smooth. Because the sequins are small, you don't outshine the bride or look gaudy - it glimmers beautifully! My soul mate couldn't keep his eyes off of me, and I was complimented by others on the look - but I didn't have to suffer for it (dress wise, anyway). Hooray! A few tips: if you have a modest bosom, a padded pushup bra is a must. With a size 2 top, and pear shaped 4/6 hips, I found the 4 just made it (very close to true). If you are unsure, size for your hips. This dress hangs beautifully, but take note- when taking photos in the dress, face forward or left side (where the neat dangle part is), otherwise it will artificially emphasize the appearance of your belly due to the way it drapes (see my two photos for a comparison). Don't let that one down side discourage you from getting this dress though - when you are in it, you'll love it and so will others!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
July 17, 2013
Wish I could have worn it!
This dress was gorgeous! The arms were a little tight and it required a "dressing buddy" in order to get it zipped. Because I was at a hotel by myself, I wasn't able to wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
I'm writing this review unfortunately almost a year after I wore it. Had a great time, compliments!
This dress was very comfortable, I wore my usual size, I felt very snazzy in it and danced the night away very easily in it. It was form fitting but not restrictive and bra friendly.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×