Charcoal Cocktail Sequin Dress

$98 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sequins meet sophistication. Rent this David Meister cocktail dress for all your holiday parties and you'll be the talk of the gathering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charcoal knit with sequins(65% polyester;35% rayon). Surplice neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size52
Small7
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2012
Prettier on the hanger
I thought I loved this dress in the picture and on the hanger it was stunning. When I put it on.... not so much. I am not busty so the top left me a bit deflated and it was just a tad short for a formal affair. I ended up wearing my backup dress (Nicole Miller black lace) that fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2012
It's such a perfect idea to rent these dresses...Then I don't have to try to buy one for different occasions and they are modern. It's the bomb that you get 2 sizes to try and I think it's extremely helpful to read the comments
Absolutely loved this dress. Would consider buying it. A little low cut so I wore a cami under it. Loved that it's long sleeved!!! Does not have a ton of stretch under the arms so may not be great for big dancing!
CarolNovember 19, 2012
Rocked it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2012
Fabulous
i rented this dress for a fancy wedding and received many compliments some from perfect strangers. The dress came with everything you need and fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent another dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Tight on Shoulder area!
I loved the dress and so wanted to wear it the New Year's Eve wedding I rented it for (thank god I rented a back up style that workout perfectly), it looked great and fit like a size 6 should with one exception- the shoulder area. If I had my arms down the dress looked great, if I tried to pick up my arms (as I would do if I was dancing for a NYE wedding) the dress felt like it could rip and it was just too constricting in the upper arm shoulder area. The dress itself is really nice on and totally sliming with the design. I just couldn't see myself being comfortable for such a party night so I didn't wear it after all.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2012
Dress looks amazing, fit small
I rented this dress for NYE and was unfortunantly unable to wear it because it was too small. It was a stunning dress, but had very little stretch or give to it. The top was really where I had problems with fit, for a size 12 - I am also a D cup bust and it just would not accomidate that. I could zip this up to about my bra line. Again, very stunning dress!! But if you run at the higher end of the size scale this likely is not for you. It does look like a wrap dress which is usually a little more forgiving in that area but it is not - this dress zips up the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2012
Perfect!
Rented this dress, beautiful earrings and handbag for a holiday charity event. I received so many compliments! It was gorgeous. I actually received two dresses from RTR and chose this one. The drape of this dress covers you perfectly in the belly area and make you looks slim and beautiful. I blogged about it (http://darlingkichaa.blogspot.com/2011/12/rent-runway.html) afterward. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
December 22, 2011
Beautiful and Comfortable
I wore this to my husband's corporate holiday party. Absolutely stunning! I have blonde hair and fair skin so the charcoal looked amazing against my skin tone. The dress feels like a soft jersey material against your skin. The sequins give the dress a gorgeous sparkle. I received a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 72
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 21, 2011
Stunning
Very comfortable fit, I would have liked just an inch or 2 more in the length, but that is because I like knee length or just below. Received many complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 14, 2011
Great looking dress
Fits true to size, though VERY low cut. I'm small yet big busted so will need a camisole or people will see more than just cleavage! Comfy as the material is stretchy. Only negative is the ruching on the side which gives you a bit of a tummy bump. Its not bad enough that I won't wear it, and I probably notice it more than the next person, but...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 7, 2011
Spectacular dress
This dress fit perfectly. The fabric was amazing. It moved beautifully and had a shine/shimmer to it that was intriguing under muted lighting. Being middle-aged, I am beginning to develop a little belly fat so I needed to wear shapewear and use the enclosed fabric tape for the deep V neck. Thanks to RTR for that! I received many compliments and I felt like I looked terrific. The dress is not black but more of a charcoal dark gray. Wish I owned this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2011
Perfect for Holiday Party
Beautiful and very flattering. I am large busted and have a booty and it minimized in all the right places. More charcoal than looks in photo. Does not have stretch through arms and chest so was a little more binding but still comfortable. Lots of compliments!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2011
Great dress!
The dress fit great, but was snug around. I have a rather petite frame, but I think it would look good on any body type. The V is cut pretty low, so you might need to get a low cut bra. I thought the material would have stretch to it, but it did not. It zips up the back, and has no give. The color is more dark gray, then black, when you see it in the light. It's really sparkly, but not tacky looking. I received compliments at the gala we attended. I will be using this service for my next big event!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
November 28, 2011
Amazing Dress
This dress was perfect for the occasion! It was beautiful and fit well. I received multiple compliments on it (even from random strangers)! I had such a great expeirence. I would definitely order another dress for my next formal event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2011
Amazing
Dress fit like a glove. Could not have been happier!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2011
Great dress
I have absolutely no complaints about this dress. It fit well,was comfortable & I got tons of compliments. The sleeves are slightly longer than the picture - certainly not a detriment.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2011
great fit!
I got tons of compliments on this gown, which I wore to a black tie dinner event. The shape is really flattering and the sequins catch the light in just the right way.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 188lbs
November 3, 2011
This dress is fantastic. I wore it for a family event and it was stunning.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
Attractive dress and striking sparkle, but didn't fit well. Both sizes (2 and 4) were too big through the waist/bust, but too small through the hips. I am hippy, but small waisted. I'd hoped there would be some give/stretch through the hips (which is usually how I get dresses to fit), but the material of this dress didn't stretch much at all.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
This dress is perfection! The fit was wonderful and very forgiving. It's a bit more sparkly than the photo indicates, but it is very sophisticated. The fabric drapes perfectly to hide any flaws. This is one dress I was tempted to keep!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2011
This is an amazing dress. The fabric is an incredibly soft cotton, and slightly stretchy, so it's forgiving. You can move, dance, etc. I was worried about the v-neck, but it hits in the perfect place for a regular bra. I am small chested, so even with push-up bra and cutlets I had some extra fabric, but no gaping. It is very flattering on the body, and especially forgiving across the tummy, as the side note covers and distracts.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×