Cynthia Rowley

Lace Leather Chemise Dress

$40 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Romantic night ahead? Obsess over this flirty and fun Cynthia Rowley lace sheath. Pair with House of Harlow 1960's Crystal Sunburst Pendant, Lauren Merkin's Caroline Croc Clutch, and sky high heels to show off your curves.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra but bust area is very fitted, so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Verry fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black floral lace(100% cotton; lining: 100% silk). Crew neckline with leather trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(32)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2013
Size up!
I usually wear this in a size 4, which was the only size available in this dress for my occasion. Sadly, I needed at least a 6, so I wasn't able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 11, 2013
Dress is very pretty in person - but runs very slim through the hips.
The lace is cotton material - so not as fancy as other lace. Dress runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Perfect to throw in my suitcase for trip to Vegas!
I wore this to an annual awards ceremony for my company in Las Vegas. The dress fit the occasion - fun, but still classy. I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Being about 2.5 months pregnant, the 0 was a little snug, but still comfortable. Would definite rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
I wore this dress for my 40th birthday! LOVED the fit; very comfortable!
Fit was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
.
.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2013
Knock out dress!!!
This dress is awesome. It is very tight, but the lace makes you look smooth all over. I wore it to a bachelorette party and received so many compliments. It's very short so be careful if you are tall! Really fun to wear and I felt sexy and classy all at the same time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
Rehearsal Dinner Delight!
I just loved this dress so much! The fit was pretty right on to my true size, but there wasn't much room to breathe! I'm actually in between sizes and I went with the smaller size, which is why it may have been a tad snug! It was a very flattering dress & perfect for the occasion! I received a lot of compliments :) The length was perfect - definitely not as short as shown on the model. I paired it with a blue blazer earlier in the night, which was fun :) Overall - a success & would recommend it to anyone!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 30, 2013
Loved the dress. Lots of compliments, easy to dance in.
very tight, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
June 3, 2013
I really liked this dress, but unforutnately it was just a little too tight for my comfort.
Next time I'm looking for a sexy little black dress, I will definitely rent this one in a size 6 vs my regular size of a 2 or 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
Classy and a bit edgy
Beautiful dress. The zipper was a bit hard to manuever because of the lace on the dress. Very sexy without being revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
September 15, 2013
Easy to wear, very flattering little dress
I really liked the fit of this dress, which isn't always easy for me because clothing usually runs large on my small frame. It came a few inches above the knee, and was made me feel very comfortable. My only complaint is that some of the stitching was very worn, which thankfully wasn't too noticeable because of the pattern.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 1, 2013
The dress was just perfect for my sister in law's bridal shower.
It's dressy and conservative with a little sexiness in the length... you get to show your legs while being formal.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2013
So many compliments!!
This dress was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that there's no vent in the back, so its pretty tight on the thighs. Other than that it was a great fit and it got rave reviews!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2013
dress ran super small
not flattering for me at all, so I did not wear. RTR was great with my return though! Customer service is always tip top!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2013
Sadly didn't fit me but was AMAZING on my friend!
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding weekend hoping I could wear it to the rehearsal dinner if both dresses fit. However, there was no chance at all this was going to fit me. I wear either a 4 or 6 in dresses normally and ordered the 4 here because the 6 was not available. Like others have said this dress has no give whatsoever and is very narrow throughout the hips. I likely would have needed an 8 to fit just based on how small the 4 was. However, I have a friend who is smaller than me and was able to wear it and it looked SO GOOD on her. Definitely a beautiful and versatile dress - just be very cautious when chosing a size!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2013
The review said it ran small. It does.
I had rented 2 different dresses. I chose only one size in this style, a size 4 (usually wear a 4) knowning that the reviews said it ran small. It did. I could zip it up but couldn't breath. I ended up going with another dress I had rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Beautiful dress, runs small
Very form-fitting and doesn't have a lot of give, but once it's on, it looks good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
March 31, 2014
Was great - fit like a glove. Was nice and slim around the hips.
I'm short, which made the dress closer to knee length than mid-thigh, but it was perfect! I love the leather detail trim and the lace was very high quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2014
Elegant look for a Christmas dinner party.
Fit nicely - not too tight in any one place. Hit about mid-thigh. I wore it with tights...probably would've been too short on me without them, but it looked great against opaque black stockings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Great dress but not for the hourglass body type. It felt a bit too snug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 3, 2015
Pretty
This is a very simple, pretty dress. The leather accents make it a bit different than similar dresses. This dress has no stretch whatsoever and fits very snug around the bust area, so I would recommend going up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
February 2, 2012
Beautiful dress, great service and lots of compliments!
I rented this as a back up for a party and wore it to the daytime event instead. I dressed it down with black tights, boots and a sweater and it was perfect. Since I am pear shaped, it was more snug on the bottom, but I noticed that it loosened as the day wore on (like spandex in jeans!) I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
March 6, 2012
I felt like a princess wearing such a gorgeous, elegant dress, and it made my Valentine's Day extra special.
This was the first dress I rented from RTR, and I loved it! I wore the dress on Valentine's Day, when my boyfriend took me out for a fancy dinner followed by a movie. I received many compliments on the dress, and I especially loved the juxtaposition between the pretty lace fabric and the edgier leather trim. When it first arrived, it looked longer than I expected it to, but once I put the dress on, it was the perfect length - sexy yet classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2012
Walking the red carpet with the Real Housewives of Miami...too fun!
I rented this dress to wear to a film festival premier/party while on vacation. It is a very simple dress but the leather detail, body hugging fit and nude lining really give it some edge. I am 5'8 and normally wear a Med/8. When I first tried on the dress it felt a bit snug, but did stretch just a bit and fit great! It is short on a taller girl, but I liked the length!
sgaSeptember 9, 2013
awesome shoes! looks like Sam Edelmans
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks great on!
Great dress - fit well, albeit it's a snug fit so not a ton of room to move around to dance. Wore it for my birthday party, and got a lot of compliments. Special thanks to RTR for getting this dress to me so quickly after I didn't like the first one I rented (should've just gone with my instincts and gotten this one!) Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2012
Fun Lace
I rented this dress for a fall date function. I was a little worried about the leather around the neckline and arms, but I ended up loving it! It was super fun and very appropriate for a cocktail party. I would definitely rent this dress again!
TamiDecember 21, 2012
Where are these shoes from that you're wearing with the dress? They are so great! I want them if I rent this dress. :)
MorganJanuary 22, 2013
They're Jessica Simpson!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2013
Perfect little cocktail dress!
I ordered the dress in a size 2 and 4. I have a small waist but fairly large hips. The 2 was impossible to get into and the 4 was still a little tight. I think that a 6 would have been perfect. The dress doesn't have much give so I suggest ordering one size larger then you normally wear. When I received the dress it was ripped. I emailed RTR and they were very nice and incredibly helpful. There wasn't enough time to ship another one but they said they would reimburse me if I took it to get it repaired. This was my first time renting a dress and I will definitely be doing it again! It's a little nerve wracking ordering a dress with out a back-up option but it ended up working out very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2012
Cute LBD
Loved this LBD for date night in NYC. Personally, I found that it ran slightly small - I usually wear a size 6. The leather detailing is subtle and the dress is made beautifully. I wore with opaque black tights and it looked awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2012
So hard to send back ....
I loved this dress!! I wore it to my best friends wedding! I received so many compliments on it and it truly made me feel beautiful! My finace was so adament about me not sending it back, but sadly I had too! The fit was great! I ordered the 6 as well and it looked good too, I loved how tight the 4 was and accentuated every curve (yet still comforatble) I chose to were the 4! Im a 34 C and the only issue was that there is no room for the bust (regardless of the 4 or the 6 it was the same) so it squished the boobies a bit, nevertheless - Love RTR, Loved the dress, Hated sending it back :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 13, 2012
Great dress, which I received SO many compliments on, but a bit tight in the bust.
I loved the leather trim on this dress--it was a great way of taking away some of the sweetness of the lace. I'm not a true 8, and I usually go down in high end dresses to a 6, but this dress doesn't have a lot of give and bust was too tight for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 20, 2012
Beautiful lace dress without being little girly
I loved this dress but only order the size 4. I am curvy and I could not get it on, let alone zipped up. Might be true to size if you have average hips/bust, but just didn't work for me. I might rent it again in a six because it was truly a gorgeous dress. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106lbs
December 3, 2012
Dress fit perfect!
I received so many compliments on this dress! It fit absolutely perfect. I referred 3 different people to RTR - it'd be nice if you had some sort of referral incentive :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2013
Loved it! Classy and sexy all rolled into one.
Fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2013
Great Dress-fit was snug- also note that it is difficult to zip. I really loved the leather details!
Also note lace was ripped on the size 4 in some places- but really could not tell from far away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2013
I was perfectly comfortable all evening long. and looked beautiful in this classic dress.
It definitely runs small, and I wore a much larger size than I usually do. The dress is a classic piece, but the underlay is the same color as my skintone and I did feel like I looked a little nude under the lace. Very comfortable, though!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2013
SO comfortable and stylish
I LOVED this dress. I actually got engaged the night I wore it. It is very comfortable and stylish, albeit a little short (I'm 5'3"). I would definitely rent this again!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2013
Perfect for an End of the Summer Event
I usually wear a 0P or 00P. The size 0 fit well. It wasn't loose at all, but I did add a belt to give me a waist. Otherwise, the dress hugged in all the right places. Length wise, it hit right above my knees (a bit longer than the model's picture). This dress was perfect for an outdoor afternoon wedding that transitioned into the night.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
October 10, 2013
My husband complimented me right away!
It was fairly short, and pretty tight... it looked great, but was difficult to dance in..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2013
trendy dress
Fit was definitely a little snug. I recommend sizing up. Overall I liked this dress and received lots of compliments on it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×