Cynthia Rowley

Lace Leather Chemise Dress

$40 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Romantic night ahead? Obsess over this flirty and fun Cynthia Rowley lace sheath. Pair with House of Harlow 1960's Crystal Sunburst Pendant, Lauren Merkin's Caroline Croc Clutch, and sky high heels to show off your curves.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra but bust area is very fitted, so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Verry fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - narrow at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black floral lace(100% cotton; lining: 100% silk). Crew neckline with leather trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(32)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2011
Everything!
I rented this dress for Christmas Eve. Perfect for a family affair because it is conservative and classy without being too boring. I would defintely buy this dress! It fits perfectly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
The look on my fiance's face when he admitted that yeah, maybe I should try to buy this one...
I started looking to rent a NYE dress late, so pretty much everything I wanted was already gone in my size. This dress was probably my 7th or 8th choice - and they didnt even have my backup size (the 4 or the 8) - so I was a little nervous about the whole thing. This dress turned out to be my favorite RTR rental yet! I have J. Lo hips, so putting it on required some shimmying, but I felt so unbelievably sexy in this dress. If you're on the shorter side, I could see how the style might feel a little more formal, but at 5'7, the dress was just short enough to attract some serious attention, while still being classy. The leather trim is a fabulous detail, and I really really regretted having to mail this one back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2012
Favorite Dress Ever
I absolutely loved this dress. I felt incredibly hot and stylish in it, but still classy enough to be at a wedding. My only complaint was that the opening at the bottom was a little tight for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
Very cute
I really liked this dress. I wore it out for my birthday, and I got a lot of compliments! The only issue I have is that my figure is pretty straight, and it made me look like I had no figure. Definitely a better dress for someone with curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
February 12, 2012
RTR's customer service is the best!
I felt so sexy in this dress! It gives the illusion that you're just wearing black lace...my husband loved it and I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
February 15, 2012
I got compliments all night on my wonderful dress I will definitely be renting again soon!
Fit well and worked great for the night out, zipper is a little hard to get up but understandable considering all the thick lace!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2012
Beautiful and elegant
Very beautiful and appropriate dress for my boyfriend's awards ceremony. I have an athletic body type with narrow hips and the dress fit me just right, so I would definitely recommend sizing up if you have any curves whatsoever. The dress was great for socializing and dinner, but doesn't have much give for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 23, 2012
Perfect fit..received so many compliments all night!
I couldn't have been happier with this dress! Since I am petite, it is always difficult to find dresses that fit well. I was worried the dress would be too big but it fit perfectly! It was an appropriate length, not too short or too long, and very comfortable! I received so many compliments all night! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this to an induction ceremony, and I received many compliments. I felt so confident, and I would definitely recommend this dress. It sits about mid-thigh, so it wasn't too short or too long. The dress is form fitting, however, the textured lace hides any imperfections. 5/5 stars!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
gorgeous!
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. The details are amazing! The fabric is just as described, and is had no stretch. It is quite short, but is conservative on top. I received various compliments and will probably rent again! this would be great for a winter wedding or party with sheer black tights!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2012
Perfect fit!
What the title of this review says. Felt comfortable and beautiful all night long. Rented for a gala in DC and loved it so much, I rented again for the Manhattan Cocktail Classic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2012
Great for a fun night out!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress and got many compliments. It was a little tight on the top and if you have a bigger bust I would recommend going up a size. Overall a great dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 5, 2012
Fabulous
Wore this to a fashion show and got so many compliments! It was a perfect fit, I will rent for every event I attend in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 111lbs
September 7, 2012
Amazing
Fit like a glove, true to size. Conservative but short enough to be really fun, I wore it to vegas and it was wonderful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95lbs
September 18, 2012
Unfortunately there was a rip in the lace upon arrival, so I couldn't wear for the event.
Rip in dress lace.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 21
November 20, 2012
I wore this to homecoming and the uniqueness won lots of compliments!
It doesn't stretch at all, but there was enough extra room to dance! The neck line was almost choking, but I got used to it. Other than that it was very fitted and perfect for homecoming!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 27, 2012
The blush underlay made the lace really pop and set it apart from other black lace dresses.
I ordered this dress for a wedding, but once I found out the bridesmaids were wearing a similar dress, I ended up going with my backup instead. That doesn't mean I didn't like this dress - it was very pretty and fit perfectly, very true to size. The leather detail on the sleeves and hemline keep this dress from looking matronly, as lace sometimes does. I tried it on with both black and nude pumps and it looked great with both. The only tip I have is to be careful when zipping the dress - the lace is thick around the zipper so it's a little tough to get up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 13, 2013
Great fit, very sexy style
Ordered size 0 and 2, but wore the 0 since I felt it was pretty true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Perfect to throw in my suitcase for trip to Vegas!
I wore this to an annual awards ceremony for my company in Las Vegas. The dress fit the occasion - fun, but still classy. I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Being about 2.5 months pregnant, the 0 was a little snug, but still comfortable. Would definite rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
I wore this dress for my 40th birthday! LOVED the fit; very comfortable!
Fit was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
.
.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
Rehearsal Dinner Delight!
I just loved this dress so much! The fit was pretty right on to my true size, but there wasn't much room to breathe! I'm actually in between sizes and I went with the smaller size, which is why it may have been a tad snug! It was a very flattering dress & perfect for the occasion! I received a lot of compliments :) The length was perfect - definitely not as short as shown on the model. I paired it with a blue blazer earlier in the night, which was fun :) Overall - a success & would recommend it to anyone!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 30, 2013
Loved the dress. Lots of compliments, easy to dance in.
very tight, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
Classy and a bit edgy
Beautiful dress. The zipper was a bit hard to manuever because of the lace on the dress. Very sexy without being revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
September 15, 2013
Easy to wear, very flattering little dress
I really liked the fit of this dress, which isn't always easy for me because clothing usually runs large on my small frame. It came a few inches above the knee, and was made me feel very comfortable. My only complaint is that some of the stitching was very worn, which thankfully wasn't too noticeable because of the pattern.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 1, 2013
The dress was just perfect for my sister in law's bridal shower.
It's dressy and conservative with a little sexiness in the length... you get to show your legs while being formal.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2013
So many compliments!!
This dress was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that there's no vent in the back, so its pretty tight on the thighs. Other than that it was a great fit and it got rave reviews!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
March 31, 2014
Was great - fit like a glove. Was nice and slim around the hips.
I'm short, which made the dress closer to knee length than mid-thigh, but it was perfect! I love the leather detail trim and the lace was very high quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2014
Elegant look for a Christmas dinner party.
Fit nicely - not too tight in any one place. Hit about mid-thigh. I wore it with tights...probably would've been too short on me without them, but it looked great against opaque black stockings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
February 2, 2012
Beautiful dress, great service and lots of compliments!
I rented this as a back up for a party and wore it to the daytime event instead. I dressed it down with black tights, boots and a sweater and it was perfect. Since I am pear shaped, it was more snug on the bottom, but I noticed that it loosened as the day wore on (like spandex in jeans!) I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2012
Walking the red carpet with the Real Housewives of Miami...too fun!
I rented this dress to wear to a film festival premier/party while on vacation. It is a very simple dress but the leather detail, body hugging fit and nude lining really give it some edge. I am 5'8 and normally wear a Med/8. When I first tried on the dress it felt a bit snug, but did stretch just a bit and fit great! It is short on a taller girl, but I liked the length!
sgaMarch 27, 2012
awesome shoes! looks like Sam Edelmans
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks great on!
Great dress - fit well, albeit it's a snug fit so not a ton of room to move around to dance. Wore it for my birthday party, and got a lot of compliments. Special thanks to RTR for getting this dress to me so quickly after I didn't like the first one I rented (should've just gone with my instincts and gotten this one!) Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2012
Fun Lace
I rented this dress for a fall date function. I was a little worried about the leather around the neckline and arms, but I ended up loving it! It was super fun and very appropriate for a cocktail party. I would definitely rent this dress again!
TamiOctober 24, 2012
Where are these shoes from that you're wearing with the dress? They are so great! I want them if I rent this dress. :)
MorganOctober 24, 2012
They're Jessica Simpson!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2012
So hard to send back ....
I loved this dress!! I wore it to my best friends wedding! I received so many compliments on it and it truly made me feel beautiful! My finace was so adament about me not sending it back, but sadly I had too! The fit was great! I ordered the 6 as well and it looked good too, I loved how tight the 4 was and accentuated every curve (yet still comforatble) I chose to were the 4! Im a 34 C and the only issue was that there is no room for the bust (regardless of the 4 or the 6 it was the same) so it squished the boobies a bit, nevertheless - Love RTR, Loved the dress, Hated sending it back :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106lbs
December 3, 2012
Dress fit perfect!
I received so many compliments on this dress! It fit absolutely perfect. I referred 3 different people to RTR - it'd be nice if you had some sort of referral incentive :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2013
Loved it! Classy and sexy all rolled into one.
Fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2013
Great Dress-fit was snug- also note that it is difficult to zip. I really loved the leather details!
Also note lace was ripped on the size 4 in some places- but really could not tell from far away.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2013
SO comfortable and stylish
I LOVED this dress. I actually got engaged the night I wore it. It is very comfortable and stylish, albeit a little short (I'm 5'3"). I would definitely rent this again!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2013
Perfect for an End of the Summer Event
I usually wear a 0P or 00P. The size 0 fit well. It wasn't loose at all, but I did add a belt to give me a waist. Otherwise, the dress hugged in all the right places. Length wise, it hit right above my knees (a bit longer than the model's picture). This dress was perfect for an outdoor afternoon wedding that transitioned into the night.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×