Button Me Up Dress

$76 to buy
$360 retail
Stylist Notes

Dance, dance, dance in this sexy Cynthia Rowley button sleeve dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Long sleeves with button closure cut-outs. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2014
Comfortable and pretty.
I wore this to my fiance's holiday party. The dress fit well, I'm glad I got a size up. I usually wear a 0 or a 2, but the 4 fit me the best. The arms are a little tight. It also feels like a wetsuit almost, so it was perfect for the winter (-6 at the event!), but I would be too hot to wear this in spring. Besides that, it was a classy, nice dress. I wish that the necklace they show with it was available to rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
February 6, 2014
I wore this for my birthday dinner and loved it!
I agree with everyone that the sleeves are ridiculously tight! I'm semi-okay with my arms, and I felt like they were being squeezed to death in this dress-- not comfortable or cute! I don't think it looked that bad, but I thought about it more than I'd have liked to. Otherwise, though, the dress is super flattering - perfect length and the material is really nice. So, I'd say if you're very self-conscious about your arms - do NOT get this dress. Otherwise, go for it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Versatile, flattering, warm and cute!
I rented this dress for my birthday...didn't really need a dress but it was included in my RTR pro membership so I decided why not?! I wore it on a date with my husband. It can be dressed up or down and is extremely versatile. I decided to pair it with tights and boots for a more casual look but you could easily wear it to a winter holiday party or wedding. I thought it was warm and comfortable -great for a New England winter evening. I was sad to part with it because I could see it becoming a go-to dress in the wintertime. Thanks RTR for a great first experience and bday to remember!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
Blah
This dress was blah... Don't think it photographed well & the sleeves were super tight compared to the size. I am a yoga instructor so I have some tone to my arms & I was uncomfortable all night long.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 18, 2014
Beautiful material and gorgeous dress!
I ordered this dress in a size 2 originally. Unfortunately it did not fit for the event and the next size up was not available for my event. However, I will be ordering this dress again, maybe in the fall but in a bigger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2014
Hot dress
Felt so sexy
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 22, 2014
Wore it for a Xmas party and got rave reviews!
Pros: stretchy and not too form fitting in my not so nice areas. Cons: I work out a lot and tend to have bigger arms. The sleeves were a little tight but not unmanageable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2014
sooo comfortable
the dress itself was the most comfortable i have rented from rtr. the size 0 fit well in the body, but the arms were way too tight, the buttons were overstretched. I ended up wearing the size 2 and had a great night!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2014
Simple and sexy
Did not have available in size 4, otherwise it would have fit perfectly
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 66
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2014
routine
the sleeves were extremely tight and I have thin arms
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Great dress for a night out
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner. I loved the weight of the fabric because it was thick enough to not show any imperfections and it also kept me warm (it was a yucky cold and rainy night). The arms are quite tiny, so I did hesitate to wear it because I felt a bit like a stuff sausage in my arms, but my husband talked me into wearing it and I am glad I did overall, though I did spend a good bit of my evening adjusting the arms so that my arms weren't squishing out! It worked for me, but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2014
Just a classic dress
Clean lines no frills
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 15, 2014
Not for petite women
I took a big risk ordering this dress knowing that no one with my body type left a review. Unfortunately, it fit the way I feared it would… but I had to try! For the short, flat, petite women out there… expect the dress to be long and saggy in stomach and back. It's interesting because while every area seemed large, the sleeves were SO tight, so tight that they hurt my arms. My skin was sticking out of the holes. It's a very nice, thick material. It's pretty plain so you can dress it up with jewelry however you want.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
October 30, 2014
Awful! Unless you're a stick figure, don't bother trying to squeeze into this dress!
The material is like a wet suit. It's thick and hardly has any stretch to it. The sleeves are so ridiculously small that a childs arm most likely couldn't even fit. It's cute on the model, but I have no clue how she managed to get into the dress. If you really want to try this dress out, go for at least two sizes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 4, 2014
Simple and Sexy
This dress was a bit of a challenge to get into. It's like putting on a cat suit, and I'll admit I needed help pulling it off. It ran true to size and fit great. The fabric has just enough stretch to be comfy all night long but was right enough to hold everything in the right place. It does tend to sneak up throughout the night and I found myself pulling it down repeatedly to maintain some modesty. It is a very thick fabric, I would recommend for a fall evening or winter event, definitely nothing in the summer. I paired it with a plain black pump and, a black and gold statement necklace. It looked fantastic and is one I would rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 11, 2014
Great LBD, but beware of tight sleeves! I received lots of compliments.
I rented this to wear to my company holiday party. This dress was simple and has just the right amount of sexy. It is a thicker material so it is perfect for wearing during the fall or winter months. The dress was fitted but not body-hugging tight. I love the button detailing on the sleeves, but like most of the other reviews mentioned - they were too darn tight! My arms are not big but I felt like the buttons were going to bust. The dress looks best with a statement necklace or a long chain necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2013
Very nice, thick material... great for winter parties.
Runs small!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 20, 2015
GREAT dress, will rent again!
I wore this for a business event that was in between business attire and cocktail. It was perfect! Loved the material and it fit snug in all the right places. The sleeves are a little constricting but overall it's such a great fit tha it didn't bother me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2015
This dress fit perfectly. I wish I owned it!
I've had my eye on this dress for over a year and I'm so happy I finally got to wear it. It's the perfect cold weather dress and is probably best for a party or another less formal event. The material is super thick and therefore very form fitting but forgiving. I read all the reviews and some said it was too long and the sleeves were too tight, but I thought the mid-thigh length was great and the sleeves, while snug, fit well. The dress is sexy in a discreet way, and is perfect for we older women who don't want to show too much skin, I wore black tights and black booties and had an excellent night at dinner and the theater. I wish I owned this one- Thanks again RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 30D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2015
Really cool material that was stiff enough to smooth things out.
As a pear shape, it was a little tight in the hips so I opted for the bigger size. Also because there's so zipper it can be hard to get on. Make sure to do the pillowcase trick if you do your makeup before putting on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2015
Sexy without showing too much. Great for date night at nice restaurant in cold Chicago weather!
I thought the dress was true to size and I really liked the 4. However, there was a rip in the arm of the 4. I wore the 6, which was a little bigger than I'd like, and contacted RTR. They helped rectify the situation right away, the customer service is great! I would wear it again for sure, but in the 4. The material was thick and of good quality, so it was warm enough for walking by the lake. You can wear a regular bra and the material is thick enough (in my opinion) to hide the bra lines. I would've worn some spanx undies, but they were in the wash, and again there were no VPL. The tightness and open arms made the dress sexy, but I'm always freezing so the warmth was important to me, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 2, 2015
Cute but small
I didn't wear this dress because the sleeves were super tight and uncomfortable. Very disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 5, 2015
Rented this as part of unlimited.
This dress is very warm, the sleeves are kind of tight. It's a tight dress and the fabric is thick, would be great for work during the fall. It comes to just above the knee for me, and since the fabric is thick and tight it can ride up when you're sitting down. Would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 62
December 2, 2015
beautiful, simple dress that can be accesorized
Fit was true to size and comfy except for the very tight sleeves, already mentioned by other reviewers. My arms are skeletal so it wasn't a problem, but may have been if I had worn the dress longer than the 5 hours I was at the party! A beautiful, well made dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2015
The arms are impossibly tight!
I am a small gall. I have small arms. Even in a 2 my arms were literally bulging out of the sleeves. Unsightly and extremely uncomfortable. Renter beware! I ended up not wearing it and sending it back because of this. Shame. Could have been cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
February 17, 2016
Heavy fabric is great for a winter party, arms are tight!
I wore this to an NYE party and was warm and comfortable. The arms are as tight as the other reviews say and I have "noodle arms" and didn't expect my skin to pudge out! Overall a nice, sleek, classic look--I'd rent this again for a cooler-weather party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2016
Cute dress!
Like the sleeves although they were a little on the tight side. Overall a super cute dress. It's definitely short, but felt appropriate given the long sleeves and modest neckline.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 19, 2011
such a sassy look!
Nice thicker fabric with great stretch that hugs the body just enough. Received lots of compliments at the company holiday party. There is no zipper or buttons at neckline so you have to be careful when putting dress on. Had to do makeup and finish hair after dressed. I would keep this dress if I went to events regularly.
AlexandraDecember 20, 2011
Hi Grace, I'm a bit taller than you are but have the same bust size and have hips.. did you find the dress pulled in any area? I'm debating what size to order.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 5, 2012
Looks better on the model
I ordered this dress as my backup and I was glad it was my backup. The dress was much longer on me than it appears on the model, coming almost to my knees. The arms are pretty tight, so if your arms are muscular I wouldn't recommend this dress. Would be ideal for a conservative affair. The fabric was very thick so it would be great during the winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2012
Over the head and tight
I wore this for a work even on a weeknight in NYC. It's thicker, unforgiving material, which is fine for some body types, but it's a tight-fitting, over the head dress, which can make hair/makeup a little difficult. It's not easy to find work-appropriate dresses with a long sleeve, so this really worked. Just beware of the over the head, tight fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 28, 2012
Not for a Pear
Did not work on my pear shaped body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 12, 2012
Sleeves very small - beware
I am 5'7" and 142 lbs. I have an hourglass figure, with large breasts and buttocks. However, my arms are average sized and toned and this dress didn't fit there at all. I even tried the size up (8 - I am usually a 6) and every time my arms were popping out of the slits in the arms like I was a sausage in a too-small casing. This was the most hideous look. If you have ultra-skinny arms, this is the dress for you. The fabric is sturdy and comfortable and it is a well crafted dress. I just had the problem with the arms making it unwearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
perfect for many occasions- not sure about dress quality though
perfect dress for casual or dressy night out. Looked really nice and wasn't too tight. It was very comfortable. The only downfall was that it seemed like the stitching was coming loose in the sleeves. Also, the size 2 that was sent was missing a button.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 19, 2013
Nice blank slate to add accessories
I loved how the dress looked online but was left unsatisfied. Mostly, II wasn't thrilled with the fit of this dress. The arms were super tight and yet it was baggie and very loose throughout the body of the dress. It was also past my knee (5'1), which wasn't the look I was going for that night. Still, the dress was cute and fun, but more appropriate for a holiday event or to wear to work than for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2013
Classy and beautiful!
I ordered this dress to wear to a family dinner event during my cousin's wedding weekend. I wanted something that was simple, classic, and a bit conservative. This was definitely the dress. I ordered the 6, which could have fit a bit tighter and looked better. The only reason I stayed with my normal size was due to the arms, which fit but would have looked a bit too tight if I had gone down to the 4. If it weren't for the mismatch between the arm size and the rest of the dress's size, this dress would have received a 5.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2013
I have always loved the option of being able to rent more than one dress!
I ordered a 4 and a 6 in this dress just in case and when they came in the mail neither fit. It was a gorgeous dress but the material is what made the fit not my normal size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress
The dress I got had some defaults at the seams that my mom was able to fix. RTR gave the option to get another dress (which I couldn't because of time), but I did get a $25 coupon for my next order. Now, the dress is so beautiful. Fitting to body and warm. Very warm so I don't recommend for warm weather. I wore it to a wedding and now I wish I owned it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
March 11, 2014
Fun dress!
The sleeves are very tight - but the dress is super stretchy and fit well in the waist, rear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 14, 2014
The dress was fun. Loved the sleeves!
The material was very thick...not clingy... just heavy. Otherwise it was a great LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2014
Body of the dress is very flattering.
The body of the dress fits fantastic. I am typically a 4/6 and the 6 wasn't available so I ordered the 4. The 4 fit great and was very flattering on my torso, however be aware that the arms fit very tight. Unusually tight in the arms and the buttons made it very unattractive, like my arms were trying to break free from the buttons. I normally love all dresses Cynthia R, but this one just didn't work for me. Also pretty heavy material, would be better in the fall.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×