Cynthia Rowley

Button Me Up Dress

$76 to buy
$360 retail
Stylist Notes

Dance, dance, dance in this sexy Cynthia Rowley button sleeve dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Long sleeves with button closure cut-outs. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Last minute replacement

I didn't get my Kate Spade and the dress they sent instead wasn't my style, so this was a rush replacement. Actually love the style, but the fabric was very thick for such a mild evening. Having said that, I felt great in the dress and received many compliments. This was my first RTR experience...it was a bit stressful, but customer service was wonderful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2012
I want to own this dress

Perfect fit. Nice thick, quality fabric

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2013
Comfortable and cute!

Was a little long... I'm only 5'1" so I would usually wear something shorter. But very cute and classy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2013
It was very comfortable and slimming!!

This dress was true to size but ran a little small in the arms. However, it shaped my body well and made me feel good all night. I received many compliments on the dress. Very cute!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 26, 2013
Fast delivery and amazing customer service!

Overall, I loved this dress. It runs true to size and the fabric was great because it was so form fitting and I felt "held in" and confident in it. I thought I'd need to wear Spanx but the control top on my nylons ended up being enough. My only complaint about the dress is that I was constantly pulling it down. I'm not sure why but whenever I walked in it, it would hike up my legs. That said, I got sooooo many compliments on it and I would definitely rent it again. I accessorized with the DVF leopard clutch and a gold cuff bracelet, and the whole outfit was perfect! This was my first experience with RTR and I can't wait to do it again. So fun!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 2, 2013
Comfortable, easy basic knit black dress with a twist.

The dress had plenty of room through the body (was actually a little baggy through the back), but a touch tight under my arms and through the sleeves. I was on the verge of bulging out of the arm cut outs and I had always considered myself to have thin (even scrawny!) arms. Was more of a 3/4 sleeve on me. It was a basic round neck thicker knit long sleeved black dress, but the cut outs on the sleeves made it interesting. The dress was thick enough to not show any underwear lines, etc.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2013
Classically beautiful without looking like you are trying!

This dress is perfect for almost any occasion. I especially loved the detail on the sleeves. Makes for a great party dress if you are looking to dance the night away!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2013
Compliments and comfort!

I enjoyed both how comfortable this dress was and the number of compliments I received. I was unhappy that the dress was ripped in a few places at the seams, but the backup dress was fine. As expected, RTR made it right by refunding some of the price, so the experience was great.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2013
The ease of renting from RTR is truly indescribable - such a worry-free process!

This was my very first experience with RTR. I needed to find a long-sleeved dress at the beginning of spring to cover a tattoo on my arm for a work sponsored charity event. I could not find anything in the stores (all spring styles, sleeveless/strapless, etc) so I turned to RTR at the suggestion of a friend who has used the service on many occasions. I picked out this dress and chose the size due to the very helpful customer reviews and photos. It is really nice to see what it looks like on real people. I did get the free back-up size but did not end up needing it. The extra touches that were in the bag upon it's delivery were indeed a surprise and a treat. I loved the sample products and thought that the "fit kit" with Hollywood and accessory tape were such a great complimentary addition that just added to the overall positive experience I had with RTR. The dress was lovely on and I received many compliments that evening. The morning after the event, I just placed both dresses back in the pre-paid UPS envelope and dropped it off at a drop box in my office - could not have been easier! It is also very nice that you get to keep the garment bag - I'm sure that will come in handy for me. I will definitely use RTR again and recommend it to my friends!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2013
Great for a daytime/lunch fall or winter event

This dress had a great fit to it, and the button detailing was a beautiful touch. The body fit perfectly and easily, which I sometimes have trouble with in a sheath/straight style. The arms however, are fitted rather tight. If you're at all afraid of having sausage arm syndrome, consider sizing up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
My favorite RTR dress to date!

I love this little number. The fit is wonderful. If Spanx had a dress line this would be what it would look and feel like. The dress makes you look super thin and hugs in all the right places.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2013
Translated on Camera amazingly, the small detailed buttons are so cute and chic!

I rented this dress for my RTR On Campus video and my model was OBSESSED! The material is thick enough to wear with tights and boots for a cool winter day and thin enough to wear during early summer. The fit was perfect and we easily dressed it up or down for casual to semi-formal dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 16, 2013
Great dress! Fits like a glove. Felt gorgeous!

The 2 fit perfectly... a little bit of stretch, but not a lot. Felt absolutely beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 16, 2013
Classic dress!

I didn't end up wearing this dress because the size 2 was a little tight in the arms and I had a back-up dress. This can be worn for almost any occasion. Love the arm detail but probably needed a 4.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 25, 2013
Loved it! Fit like a glove and so comfy!

The arms were a little tight but the dress still fit great! The fabric is really soft and thick which was great for my winter formal. I got so many compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 9, 2014
Great fit

Very slimming, received numerous compliments, very warm for a winter event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 6, 2014
I wore this for my birthday dinner and loved it!

I agree with everyone that the sleeves are ridiculously tight! I'm semi-okay with my arms, and I felt like they were being squeezed to death in this dress-- not comfortable or cute! I don't think it looked that bad, but I thought about it more than I'd have liked to. Otherwise, though, the dress is super flattering - perfect length and the material is really nice. So, I'd say if you're very self-conscious about your arms - do NOT get this dress. Otherwise, go for it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Versatile, flattering, warm and cute!

I rented this dress for my birthday...didn't really need a dress but it was included in my RTR pro membership so I decided why not?! I wore it on a date with my husband. It can be dressed up or down and is extremely versatile. I decided to pair it with tights and boots for a more casual look but you could easily wear it to a winter holiday party or wedding. I thought it was warm and comfortable -great for a New England winter evening. I was sad to part with it because I could see it becoming a go-to dress in the wintertime. Thanks RTR for a great first experience and bday to remember!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 18, 2014
Beautiful material and gorgeous dress!

I ordered this dress in a size 2 originally. Unfortunately it did not fit for the event and the next size up was not available for my event. However, I will be ordering this dress again, maybe in the fall but in a bigger size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2014
Hot dress

Felt so sexy

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 22, 2014
Wore it for a Xmas party and got rave reviews!

Pros: stretchy and not too form fitting in my not so nice areas. Cons: I work out a lot and tend to have bigger arms. The sleeves were a little tight but not unmanageable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2014
sooo comfortable

the dress itself was the most comfortable i have rented from rtr. the size 0 fit well in the body, but the arms were way too tight, the buttons were overstretched. I ended up wearing the size 2 and had a great night!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2014
Simple and sexy

Did not have available in size 4, otherwise it would have fit perfectly

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Great dress for a night out

I rented this dress for my birthday dinner. I loved the weight of the fabric because it was thick enough to not show any imperfections and it also kept me warm (it was a yucky cold and rainy night). The arms are quite tiny, so I did hesitate to wear it because I felt a bit like a stuff sausage in my arms, but my husband talked me into wearing it and I am glad I did overall, though I did spend a good bit of my evening adjusting the arms so that my arms weren't squishing out! It worked for me, but I probably wouldn't rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2014
Just a classic dress

Clean lines no frills

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 4, 2014
Simple and Sexy

This dress was a bit of a challenge to get into. It's like putting on a cat suit, and I'll admit I needed help pulling it off. It ran true to size and fit great. The fabric has just enough stretch to be comfy all night long but was right enough to hold everything in the right place. It does tend to sneak up throughout the night and I found myself pulling it down repeatedly to maintain some modesty. It is a very thick fabric, I would recommend for a fall evening or winter event, definitely nothing in the summer. I paired it with a plain black pump and, a black and gold statement necklace. It looked fantastic and is one I would rent again!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 11, 2014
Great LBD, but beware of tight sleeves! I received lots of compliments.

I rented this to wear to my company holiday party. This dress was simple and has just the right amount of sexy. It is a thicker material so it is perfect for wearing during the fall or winter months. The dress was fitted but not body-hugging tight. I love the button detailing on the sleeves, but like most of the other reviews mentioned - they were too darn tight! My arms are not big but I felt like the buttons were going to bust. The dress looks best with a statement necklace or a long chain necklace.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 20, 2015
GREAT dress, will rent again!

I wore this for a business event that was in between business attire and cocktail. It was perfect! Loved the material and it fit snug in all the right places. The sleeves are a little constricting but overall it's such a great fit tha it didn't bother me.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2015
This dress fit perfectly. I wish I owned it!

I've had my eye on this dress for over a year and I'm so happy I finally got to wear it. It's the perfect cold weather dress and is probably best for a party or another less formal event. The material is super thick and therefore very form fitting but forgiving. I read all the reviews and some said it was too long and the sleeves were too tight, but I thought the mid-thigh length was great and the sleeves, while snug, fit well. The dress is sexy in a discreet way, and is perfect for we older women who don't want to show too much skin, I wore black tights and black booties and had an excellent night at dinner and the theater. I wish I owned this one- Thanks again RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 30DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2015
Really cool material that was stiff enough to smooth things out.

As a pear shape, it was a little tight in the hips so I opted for the bigger size. Also because there's so zipper it can be hard to get on. Make sure to do the pillowcase trick if you do your makeup before putting on the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2015
Sexy without showing too much. Great for date night at nice restaurant in cold Chicago weather!

I thought the dress was true to size and I really liked the 4. However, there was a rip in the arm of the 4. I wore the 6, which was a little bigger than I'd like, and contacted RTR. They helped rectify the situation right away, the customer service is great! I would wear it again for sure, but in the 4. The material was thick and of good quality, so it was warm enough for walking by the lake. You can wear a regular bra and the material is thick enough (in my opinion) to hide the bra lines. I would've worn some spanx undies, but they were in the wash, and again there were no VPL. The tightness and open arms made the dress sexy, but I'm always freezing so the warmth was important to me, too!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 5, 2015
Rented this as part of unlimited.

This dress is very warm, the sleeves are kind of tight. It's a tight dress and the fabric is thick, would be great for work during the fall. It comes to just above the knee for me, and since the fabric is thick and tight it can ride up when you're sitting down. Would definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 63
December 2, 2015
beautiful, simple dress that can be accesorized

Fit was true to size and comfy except for the very tight sleeves, already mentioned by other reviewers. My arms are skeletal so it wasn't a problem, but may have been if I had worn the dress longer than the 5 hours I was at the party! A beautiful, well made dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2016
Cute dress!

Like the sleeves although they were a little on the tight side. Overall a super cute dress. It's definitely short, but felt appropriate given the long sleeves and modest neckline.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 19, 2011
such a sassy look!

Nice thicker fabric with great stretch that hugs the body just enough. Received lots of compliments at the company holiday party. There is no zipper or buttons at neckline so you have to be careful when putting dress on. Had to do makeup and finish hair after dressed. I would keep this dress if I went to events regularly.

AlexandraDecember 19, 2011
Hi Grace, I'm a bit taller than you are but have the same bust size and have hips.. did you find the dress pulled in any area? I'm debating what size to order.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 5, 2012
Looks better on the model

I ordered this dress as my backup and I was glad it was my backup. The dress was much longer on me than it appears on the model, coming almost to my knees. The arms are pretty tight, so if your arms are muscular I wouldn't recommend this dress. Would be ideal for a conservative affair. The fabric was very thick so it would be great during the winter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2012
Over the head and tight

I wore this for a work even on a weeknight in NYC. It's thicker, unforgiving material, which is fine for some body types, but it's a tight-fitting, over the head dress, which can make hair/makeup a little difficult. It's not easy to find work-appropriate dresses with a long sleeve, so this really worked. Just beware of the over the head, tight fit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
perfect for many occasions- not sure about dress quality though

perfect dress for casual or dressy night out. Looked really nice and wasn't too tight. It was very comfortable. The only downfall was that it seemed like the stitching was coming loose in the sleeves. Also, the size 2 that was sent was missing a button.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress

The dress I got had some defaults at the seams that my mom was able to fix. RTR gave the option to get another dress (which I couldn't because of time), but I did get a $25 coupon for my next order. Now, the dress is so beautiful. Fitting to body and warm. Very warm so I don't recommend for warm weather. I wore it to a wedding and now I wish I owned it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 14, 2014
The dress was fun. Loved the sleeves!

The material was very thick...not clingy... just heavy. Otherwise it was a great LBD.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×