Rent the Runway

Cut 25

Troublemaker Dress

$70 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this figure flattering Cut 25 dress. The perfect cocktail party style to strut your stuff in. Shown here with accessories like the Alexis Bittar's Triple Mosaic Necklace and Oscar de la Renta's Pave Bouquet Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8;L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and it very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8;L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and it very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aubergine Matte Jersey (100% Rayon). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Tulip skirt with ruching. Hidden side zipper. Unlined. 35” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

71 reviews

Fit
Small 53
True to Size 18
Large 0
Photos 33
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 28, 2012

Loved how flattering it was!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am in love with this dress for fall! It is super fitted so I definitely recommend sizing up in backup. Since it is so fitted, I would recommend SPANX. I loved the asymmetric hem in the front of the dress. At its highest point it was about 4 inches above my knee, otherwise it was about 2 inches above my knee. Love this dress with a big statement necklace and a pair or nude pumps!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so perfect for a wedding because it's sexy but still conservative. I chose true to size because it fit, but the xs was a little more snug than I thought it would be. If you decide to rent this dress get a backup in a size up because the fabric does not stretch!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2012

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress.. Fits like a glove! It feels great on and the material is so comfortable! Looks classy and definitely can be used to dress up or dress down!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Made for beautiful engagement photos

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was very tight on me - I should have gotten the larger second size option. I could barely get it on... but when I did, it looked amazing. The dress hugs your curves and the cut is very flattering. The long sleeves are a great option for some chillier nights.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect for a mountain wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit! Not too tight, not too short, very comfortable!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Amazingly Fabulous!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress and received so many compliments! I rented this for an event we attended on my husband's birthday. I tried it on as soon as I received it and it seemed a little too snug (my backup size was unavailable so I took a chance with just the XS). But, when I put it back on before going out, it was perfect! I absolutely loved the color and the cut of the dress was very flattering.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Love this dress! Perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a Rehearsal Dinner and was so happy with my choice! I rented the Medium and felt like it was true to size. Many reviews claim that the dress was too tight, but I felt that the thick material actually hid imperfections and proved to be very flattering! I would highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

This dress had the perfect cover, fit, and coverage. I'd definitely rent it again, if not buy it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was absolutely perfect. I'd rent this again in a heartbeat. I wore it to an October evening wedding. I styled it pretty much like the model in the photo, with a gold medallion-y necklace and brownish-goldish high sandals. Perfect classy coverage but also very fitted which made it a great style for a wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

I loved this dress - perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color and style were perfect for a wedding on a chilly fall day. It was incredibly comfortable and appropriate cocktail attire. I normally wear a small but ordered a medium based on reviews that this dress runs small (it does), so the medium fit really well. Definitely would recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

nice Fall dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress does run small, order one size larger.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Super flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this dress as the $25 add on because I figured, "why not?" I wore it at a public relations conference where it was business casual to business professional. It was absolutely perfect! At first, I wasn't too sure because it seemed almost impossible to get on (it wouldn't go past my bust). Once I finally got it on, it actually fit amazingly. The ruching is super flattering and made my waist look really small. I highly recommend this dress for hourglass figures. It definitely accentuates the hourglass shape and just makes you look amazing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

LOVE this dress. Great color, perfect for a Fall wedding.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I do LOVE this dress, but the closest next size, Small, wasn't available so I stuck with XS. Based on other reviews, it seemd that would work, but due to my height, I found myself pulling the dress down all night, as it was a tad short. While it fit snug, I received a ton of compliments. Ultimately, I would definitely have been more comfortable in a size Small. If you're tall, go one size up!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Great dress, sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I actually didn't wear it (it was my back up choice) but what a great dress! A bit too sexy for the baby shower I was attending but my husband LOVED it. Pretty short, VERY form fitting. Love the color, great for fall. I will rent this again for a more appropriate event!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Everyone loved the dress as much as I did!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress has 0 (zero, zilch, nada, none) stretch. I ended up going with the larger size just to make sure I could breathe and get in and out of it. The ruching adds curves to any figure (including mine) that lacks hips, and hides those small lumps and bumps. The dress on the hanger doesn't do it justice! Once you put it on, you'll LOVE it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

This dress fit like a glove...the perfect combo of classy and sexy.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my brothers wedding rehearsal and it was a hit. The color is true to the model's picture (my picture just came out more purple in the lighting). I ordered the xs and S. I'm typically an xs at places like Bebe but I definitely went with the small for this dress. It fit beautifully but if you have a larger bust be prepared to wear a bra with no padding whatsoever because there isn't an inch to spare. I would wear this dress again and recommend it to others.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

perfect dress for a fall wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
wowee...this dress ran super snug. i was able to get it zipped up with the help of spanx! the dress does run tight but as the night wore on i either got skinnier or the dress was slowly stretching out. the dress really showed off my curves like they had never been shown off before. the color was beautiful and went perfectly with the nude heels i had. overall amazing dress!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Perfect for a fall rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
My backup size became unavailable, so I had to squeeze in to the XS. It was a little tight, but it worked out! RTR was amazing and overnighted me a new dress, pictured on my friend to the far left, lol. I ended up sticking with the small size because I loved the color, I just channeled my inner Hedi Klum...so if you're tall...size up! All three of us in this pic are outfitted in RTR, our most favorite accessory!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

cute dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Believe everyone when they say it runs small!! I am a 0, often times a 00, I would have ordered the small for a backup but it wasn't available so i was stuck with an XS. It fit but it was TIGHT. Loved the dress though. Very flattering cut.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Wow factor!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress runs small. The sleeves were not long enough for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Sexy and work appropriate at the same time!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my company Christmas party and could not have been more happy with it! I felt sexy in the dress while still feeling like I was dressed appropriately for a work function. A little warning for future renters the fabric doesn't have much give and I felt the dress ran small so size up! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

So Sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was anxious and scared to get this in the mail because of the reviews I'd read regarding the fit. I really wanted to wear this to a February wedding and thought iId play it safe with a medium... of course it wasn't available, so I prayed the small would fit. It did! PERFECTLY. I had trouble getting it over my head, but once on, it was like a second skin. The dress does have some stretch in the torso, but the arms are snug. I wore some Spanx for stomach and booty control. A thong was noticeable in this... and I wanted to pig out at the wedding without having to worry about a bulge in my belly. This dress doesn't hide much. I loved it and wanted to wear it forever. I would definitely rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

I wore this for my wedding rehearsal and it was the absolute perfect dress for my special night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt sexy, but still very classy. It was quite comfortable and in my opinion, very figure flattering. You can't go wrong with this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

The dress was everything I imagined and the medium fit like a glove!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for our 'purple' themed bridal shower on a brisk 60 degree day. The color is a gorgeous red wine color and the length was just short (and long) enough. Like other reviewers stated, the dress runs small and the material does not have a lot of give. I would highly suggest renting your size and one size larger, to be safe. I received tons of compliments on the dress and I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The picture of the dress did not do it justice. The color was gorgeous and it hugged my curves making me feel so sexy! I felt very comfortable and did not want to give this dress back. Overall would recommend this dress for everyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

oh... no!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was for my Mom, so Measurements are Usually Wears Size 6 Body Type:Full Bust Weight :135 My mom tried the large with no success and then the Large which, with help she got on, but it was WAY small and incredibly unflattering. This dress is NOT the curvier girls dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Runs Small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this was so cute on the site but when i got it in person I could not wear it. The fabric has no stretch at all and runs small. The large would not work and I ended up not wearing it all but thankfully ordered another dress from RTR that worked very well.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Very flattering dress in a great fall/winter color!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great dress for fall/winter events. The fabric is such that it can be dressed up or down. I chose to wear it to a wedding with some metallic heels and a silver necklace. The dress was very comfortable to dance in and was not too short for the occasion. The sleeves are quite tight, so I would not recommend for someone with larger arms. Can be worn with any type of bra. I ordered the XS and S, but ended up going with the S. Normally I wear a 0-2 in dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Too tight...back in the bag

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too tight to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Elegant but definitely sexy looking dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I do mcing at wedding parties so can't be too sexy or too boring. This dress definitely speaks both language. BE AWARE IT RUNS SMALL! I'm a average medium girl but for this one noway medium for me. Thanks to RentRunway free second size option, I nailed the night once again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

RUNS SMALL!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I would have paid more attention to the details of the reviews. This dress was way to small for me. I usually wear an XS or 0 but with this one I should have gotten a small. I was able to get the dress on and zip it up but it was entirely too tight and the front was way too high and continued to ride up. The color is pretty and the cut is flattering, but it is imperative that you order a size up!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Will dream about this dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was not able to order the small, because it was all sold out-so I risked it and just got the XS. Very sad that I didn't fit, because it is just as pretty in person as it is online. Thank you go-to-girl Katie for helping me get two other dresses overnighted to replace this one for my event. Love this site. RTR is my go-to for all dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

Truly form hugging!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I randomly found (and was able to try on) a few other dresses I had been considering prior to actually renting them. On me, the size 0's were enormous. So, I was doubtful that this dress would really "run small." But boy does it! The XS was a little tricky to get into, but once I did, it fit like a glove! Tight (in a good way) on the waist, arms, and bust -- which I never find without alterations. Definitely a good pick for petite women! Beautiful color for Fall. I wish I owned this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Couldn't even get on!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
OMG this runs sooooo small! All my dresses sized S, M, L are either S or M. Again, I went up in size to be safe. This is so tight with no give, that I couldn't even get into it! Even with help! I'd say it runs two sizes small! Very disappointed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

A Classy and Sexy Statement!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments! I saw other reviewers commented that it runs small, but I disagree. The con is that the fabric has barely any give, so if you're somebody who goes in between sizes, you must order the size up! I'm consistently an XS/00 and it fit me like a glove! The color of the dress looks fantastic in person, and adding a chunky necklace really completed the look. Rent this dress! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Almost great!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
If you are a C or more I would not recommend it. Size S is damaged so I got the XS as a backup to another dress and it fit everywhere but my breasts where so squashed I couldn't wear it. Such a shame... The color also is not exactly what I expected and it photographs different than it looks in person. It's still a beautiful dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Usually a 4 in dresses I've rented in the past from RTR. Not sure why this dressing only comes in XS and S. Neither of them fit because they were way too small... had to return.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 11, 2014

Did not get to wear this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered the XS and S in this dress but at the last minute the S became unavailable. I was nervous about the XS since all the reviews said it runs small. Not only does it run small but there is no stretch in the fabric. It was the most difficult dress ever to put on and take off. It felt like wearing a straight jacket. I was able to get the dress on but it looked horrible in the chest area because my chest was squished. I wear many different brands (Herve, BCBG, Bebe, DVF, Alice and Olivia and more) and I am always a 0, XS, or sometimes XXS and the XS in this dress was too small. So yes, the dress does run small. Do not rent with a larger backup size. This should have been made in a stretchy material. I think half the problem is the difficulty of getting the dress on and off. Poor design. Very disappointed. I probably wouldn't wear anything from this line again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Sexy dress, but way too small

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I had been dying to try this dress because I think it is absolutely gorgeous. I usually wear a size small or a 4 in department store dresses, so I thought I would be fine with a large (based on the reviews that said it ran small). It was WAY too tight for my liking. Even with Spanx, I felt like it was just not flattering at all. I'm very curvy and I think it just made my hips look too wide. I was so disappointed because it's a stunning color and perfect for the fall, when I was going to wear it. If you are very petite, or have a straight up and down figure, I would definitely recommend it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

fabric is unforgiving

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The arms on this dress were so tight I couldn't wear it and I'm petite. the fabric has absolutely no stretch. Although this dress is gorgeous unless you are extremely think and taller it is hard to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 10, 2015

Great material (extra thick) and shape - folds in all the right places

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs small/tight. The thick material doesn't leave much stretch room
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×