Troublemaker Dress

$70 rental
$360 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this figure flattering Cut 25 dress. The perfect cocktail party style to strut your stuff in. Shown here with accessories like the Alexis Bittar's Triple Mosaic Necklace and Oscar de la Renta's Pave Bouquet Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8;L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and it very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8;L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and it very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aubergine Matte Jersey (100% Rayon). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Tulip skirt with ruching. Hidden side zipper. Unlined. 35” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(53)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 10, 2015
Great material (extra thick) and shape - folds in all the right places
Definitely runs small/tight. The thick material doesn't leave much stretch room
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 28, 2014
fabric is unforgiving
The arms on this dress were so tight I couldn't wear it and I'm petite. the fabric has absolutely no stretch. Although this dress is gorgeous unless you are extremely think and taller it is hard to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Sexy dress, but way too small
I had been dying to try this dress because I think it is absolutely gorgeous. I usually wear a size small or a 4 in department store dresses, so I thought I would be fine with a large (based on the reviews that said it ran small). It was WAY too tight for my liking. Even with Spanx, I felt like it was just not flattering at all. I'm very curvy and I think it just made my hips look too wide. I was so disappointed because it's a stunning color and perfect for the fall, when I was going to wear it. If you are very petite, or have a straight up and down figure, I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 11, 2014
Did not get to wear this dress
I ordered the XS and S in this dress but at the last minute the S became unavailable. I was nervous about the XS since all the reviews said it runs small. Not only does it run small but there is no stretch in the fabric. It was the most difficult dress ever to put on and take off. It felt like wearing a straight jacket. I was able to get the dress on but it looked horrible in the chest area because my chest was squished. I wear many different brands (Herve, BCBG, Bebe, DVF, Alice and Olivia and more) and I am always a 0, XS, or sometimes XXS and the XS in this dress was too small. So yes, the dress does run small. Do not rent with a larger backup size. This should have been made in a stretchy material. I think half the problem is the difficulty of getting the dress on and off. Poor design. Very disappointed. I probably wouldn't wear anything from this line again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2013
Too small
Usually a 4 in dresses I've rented in the past from RTR. Not sure why this dressing only comes in XS and S. Neither of them fit because they were way too small... had to return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2013
Almost great!
If you are a C or more I would not recommend it. Size S is damaged so I got the XS as a backup to another dress and it fit everywhere but my breasts where so squashed I couldn't wear it. Such a shame... The color also is not exactly what I expected and it photographs different than it looks in person. It's still a beautiful dress
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
November 18, 2013
A Classy and Sexy Statement!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments! I saw other reviewers commented that it runs small, but I disagree. The con is that the fabric has barely any give, so if you're somebody who goes in between sizes, you must order the size up! I'm consistently an XS/00 and it fit me like a glove! The color of the dress looks fantastic in person, and adding a chunky necklace really completed the look. Rent this dress! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2013
Couldn't even get on!
OMG this runs sooooo small! All my dresses sized S, M, L are either S or M. Again, I went up in size to be safe. This is so tight with no give, that I couldn't even get into it! Even with help! I'd say it runs two sizes small! Very disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 25, 2013
Truly form hugging!
I randomly found (and was able to try on) a few other dresses I had been considering prior to actually renting them. On me, the size 0's were enormous. So, I was doubtful that this dress would really "run small." But boy does it! The XS was a little tricky to get into, but once I did, it fit like a glove! Tight (in a good way) on the waist, arms, and bust -- which I never find without alterations. Definitely a good pick for petite women! Beautiful color for Fall. I wish I owned this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
October 24, 2013
Will dream about this dress.
I was not able to order the small, because it was all sold out-so I risked it and just got the XS. Very sad that I didn't fit, because it is just as pretty in person as it is online. Thank you go-to-girl Katie for helping me get two other dresses overnighted to replace this one for my event. Love this site. RTR is my go-to for all dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2013
RUNS SMALL!
I wish I would have paid more attention to the details of the reviews. This dress was way to small for me. I usually wear an XS or 0 but with this one I should have gotten a small. I was able to get the dress on and zip it up but it was entirely too tight and the front was way too high and continued to ride up. The color is pretty and the cut is flattering, but it is imperative that you order a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2013
Elegant but definitely sexy looking dress!
I do mcing at wedding parties so can't be too sexy or too boring. This dress definitely speaks both language. BE AWARE IT RUNS SMALL! I'm a average medium girl but for this one noway medium for me. Thanks to RentRunway free second size option, I nailed the night once again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
September 17, 2013
Too tight...back in the bag
Too tight to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2013
Very flattering dress in a great fall/winter color!
This is a great dress for fall/winter events. The fabric is such that it can be dressed up or down. I chose to wear it to a wedding with some metallic heels and a silver necklace. The dress was very comfortable to dance in and was not too short for the occasion. The sleeves are quite tight, so I would not recommend for someone with larger arms. Can be worn with any type of bra. I ordered the XS and S, but ended up going with the S. Normally I wear a 0-2 in dresses.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 21, 2013
Runs Small!
I thought this was so cute on the site but when i got it in person I could not wear it. The fabric has no stretch at all and runs small. The large would not work and I ended up not wearing it all but thankfully ordered another dress from RTR that worked very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
July 7, 2013
oh... no!
This dress was for my Mom, so Measurements are Usually Wears Size 6 Body Type:Full Bust Weight :135 My mom tried the large with no success and then the Large which, with help she got on, but it was WAY small and incredibly unflattering. This dress is NOT the curvier girls dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding!
The picture of the dress did not do it justice. The color was gorgeous and it hugged my curves making me feel so sexy! I felt very comfortable and did not want to give this dress back. Overall would recommend this dress for everyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
Flattering cut and fun color! Great dress to punch up a daytime or casual event.
Overall fit was true to size but I found it to be deceptively short. I rented it for my own rehearsal brunch and had to place an emergency morning-of call to my mom to run out and get me tights to wear underneath. Without them it was pretty scandalous (not safe for Grandma). Aside from that it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2013
Unfortunately I couldn't wear either dress - but I am going to try it out again:)
This dress was very cute. The fabric was a little thicker than I was expecting - but not in a bad way. However, I could not wear it. I am 5' 11" and it was way too short in the front. Maybe if i were going clubbing our out in vegas it would have been ok, but it was way too short for me for my sister's engagement party. It also runs small. I weigh 145lbs and usually wear a 8 (sometimes can fit 6s) and the Large just fit, was almost too tight over the boobs. All in all this would be a perfect dress for someone shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2013
The dress was everything I imagined and the medium fit like a glove!
The dress was perfect for our 'purple' themed bridal shower on a brisk 60 degree day. The color is a gorgeous red wine color and the length was just short (and long) enough. Like other reviewers stated, the dress runs small and the material does not have a lot of give. I would highly suggest renting your size and one size larger, to be safe. I received tons of compliments on the dress and I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 5, 2013
This is a really cute idea for a dress, but it runs incredibly small - couldn't wear it!
I normally wear a 6, and am 5'7" and athletically built (small waist, but muscular legs and shoulders/arms) so I rented this in a small and a medium. I could barely struggle into the medium, and the sleeves felt really tight and a little short on my arms. The waist was okay, but the skirt also seemed too short for a woman my height in size medium (the middle of the inverted V was just a few inches below my hoohah). Loved the idea of this dress, but there was no way I could wear it. If you rent it, maybe order 1 size up and 2 sizes up just in case. Luckily, I had ordered a RTR backup dress too, and that one was perfecto.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
April 5, 2013
I wore this for my wedding rehearsal and it was the absolute perfect dress for my special night!
I felt sexy, but still very classy. It was quite comfortable and in my opinion, very figure flattering. You can't go wrong with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
April 3, 2013
The dress even in large was too small
This dress is no doubt beautiful. But not a good fit for women with my shape. NO elasticity in this dress what so ever. But still beautiful none the less!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2013
LOVE this dress- great blend of conservative and sexy.
One of my favorite RTR rentals. I almost always wear an XS/0 and rented both the XS and S in this dress, both fit, but I chose the small since the draping hung better and the arms were not quite as tight. You may want to consider sizing up as this ran smaller than I expected. The dress was a great fit on me and the perfect length for me 5'4" frame. The color was amazing.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 25, 2013
The color was so different than what I usually wear. I loved it.
Loved the dress, the larger size fit me EXACTLY as I would have liked it to. Was complimented multiple times in the night, great color too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2013
Great fitting & Classy
Rented this dress for my friends bridal shower. Defiantly runs small!!!! I rented the medium and large and wore the large. I could of probably worn the medium but it is very hard to get the dress on and I was scared of ripping it. The dress isn't too fancy but isn't too casual either. Overall though I loved the look and a detail of the dress in front. Would totally recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
Can't wait to rent this again and actually wear it!
Hot Dress! The V in front makes it short and sexy but still gives you coverage. Rented 2 for a wedding and the wedding was outside on a warm day, so I wore the other one, but I will rent this again for sure!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 18, 2013
Gorgeous color, very flattering!
The dress is really tight, but the material is very forgiving and holds you in pretty well. The ruching on the side and tulip skirt give it a great look. The deep purple and long sleeves made it perfect for an end-of-winter wedding. Loved it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 27, 2013
So Sexy!
I was anxious and scared to get this in the mail because of the reviews I'd read regarding the fit. I really wanted to wear this to a February wedding and thought id play it safe with a medium... of course it wasn't available, so I prayed the small would fit. It did! PERFECTLY. I had trouble getting it over my head, but once on, it was like a second skin. The dress does have some stretch in the torso, but the arms are snug. This dress doesn't hide anything. I loved it and wanted to wear it forever. I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 19, 2013
Sexy and work appropriate at the same time!
I wore this for my company Christmas party and could not have been more happy with it! I felt sexy in the dress while still feeling like I was dressed appropriately for a work function. A little warning for future renters the fabric doesn't have much give and I felt the dress ran small so size up! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2013
Didn't work for me!
This dress is pretty but it runs SO incredibly small. I saw that others had written that in their reviews, but only the small was available, so I chanced it - to no avail! I am almost always a true size, and I couldn't even breathe when I had it on. Had to return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2013
Great color and style
Didn't end up wearing this dress. I actually rented two different styles and went with the other one. It did run small
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 22, 2013
AMAZAINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
Love love love this dress, hugs your curves, defiantly gets a lot of attention
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 21, 2013
Wanted to love this dress..
I wanted to love this dress for my engagement party, rented it months in advance. I wasn't a fan of the fabric, by the seam it had started to come undone and I couldn't wear it. My engagement party was on a Sunday on a holiday weekend, so I couldn't get any help from RTR. I wore a dress I rented for a wedding the next day on NYE. Cute dress in photographs online, wasn't a fan in person sadly :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2012
Wow factor!
The dress runs small. The sleeves were not long enough for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 10, 2012
Great fall/winter dress
I liked this dress and in the end am glad that only the medium was available, because there is no way the small would have fit, even though I am usually between a 4 and a 6. Even in the medium, this dress was very tight, and could be a little short in the front wrap section depending on how you were standing/sitting (for someone tall like me, at least). The dress was very flattering and versatile enough to be worn to lots of different types of ocassions.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 3, 2012
cute dress for a winter wedding
Believe everyone when they say it runs small!! I am a 0, often times a 00, I would have ordered the small for a backup but it wasn't available so i was stuck with an XS. It fit but it was TIGHT. Loved the dress though. Very flattering cut.
JenniferJanuary 7, 2013
you're wearing one of my favorite necklaces! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Perfect for a fall rehearsal dinner!
My backup size became unavailable, so I had to squeeze in to the XS. It was a little tight, but it worked out! RTR was amazing and overnighted me a new dress, pictured on my friend to the far left, lol. I ended up sticking with the small size because I loved the color, I just channeled my inner Hedi Klum...so if you're tall...size up! All three of us in this pic are outfitted in RTR, our most favorite accessory!
LainaOctober 6, 2014
What dress is your friend wearing? I'd like to check it out.
MeganOctober 8, 2014
The Blue one on the right is a David Meister, the middle one is also an RTR but I'm not sure of the designer, I'd sort by color. All three were great, good luck!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
November 27, 2012
perfect dress for a fall wedding!
wowee...this dress ran super snug. i was able to get it zipped up with the help of spanx! the dress does run tight but as the night wore on i either got skinnier or the dress was slowly stretching out. the dress really showed off my curves like they had never been shown off before. the color was beautiful and went perfectly with the nude heels i had. overall amazing dress!!
StashaFebruary 15, 2013
You look great! Love the necklace
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
Did not wear it as it was too small.
I ordered what I thought was my size. One size larger was not available. I could not get into it. I would suggest ordering a size up. It has very little stretch. Looked super cute! Too bad I couldn't wear it.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×