Sapphire Sophisticate dress

$75 rental
$675 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This body conscious Christian Siriano dress is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is fitted throughout with ruched detail that conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch fabric highlights backside so wear with SPANX to cinch in backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Royal silk jersey. Cowl neckline. Long sleeves with ruching at wrist. Draped skirt with side ruching. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size88
Small3
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2011
Smart, comfy, sexy. Hem hit just a little higher than then on the model. The color just popped. It felt like a dream, all shimmy and shimmer. Great value. Go down a size for your alternate...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 22, 2011
Absolutely love this dress. I've rented it twice and really want to purchase it so I can wear it all the time. Roll the sleeves up and/or throw on a denim jacket and it gets casual. Make it dressier with jewelry. Ruching hides imperfections and Spanx underneath will solve all your problems.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2011
This dress is very flattering and photographs well. It hides imperfections and is very slenderizing. My only negative comment is that upclose you can tell the fabric is cheap and not couture quality at all. However if you have a night time event that you will be photographed at I would recommend it. Also, I agree with the previous comment - the dress is made for someone with long arms and legs if you are petite it might not look right on you. I'm 5'6 and 125 lbs and the size 2 fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 1, 2011
GREAT dress! It fit well, was comfortable and I received a ton of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
I agree with other reviews that this dress was very comfortable. The ruching helps you feel at ease while wearing it over the course of an entire evening without having to worry about constantly sucking in. Unlike the other reviewers though I actually felt that the dress could be a little short. The side seams that have the ruching are elasticized and tend to ride up when walking or dancing, which was a little unfortunate seeing as I wore this to a wedding. Also I have to admit that I was a little surprised at at how thin the fabric was considering that this dress runs for $675. With all that said I have to admit that my husband loved me in it and I did receive another compliment and the long sleeves were definitely a good choice for an early spring wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2011
I have never received so many compliments as I did wearing this dress. Its amazing. I could have slept in it, it was so comfortable. I'll rent it many more times, so I should probably just buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2011
Being compared to the beautiful Kate Middleton was an amazing compliment that I heard throughout the night.
This was a knockout! Runs true to size but is a bit longer than pictured. Wore this to a fundraising gala and received numerous compliments - many compared to Kate Middleton's signature 'blue dress'. Was perfect for dinner, dancing and of course the afterparty. If you are thinking about renting - go for it - its a great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2011
I usually love tight dresses that show off my curves and fit body but this was not very flattering. Super long nad ruched in the wrong places. I wouldn't rent it again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2011
Gorgeous dress. I am 5'10 and 150 lbs and the 6 fit perfectly. I got many compliments at a holiday party.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2011
This dress was even more impressive than the pic. It was extremely slimming and comfortable and I got tons of compliments that it looked just like Kate Middleton's engagement dress! I would definitely reccommend it. It was true to size for me and fit very well
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2011
LOVED this dress! It was super comfortable and made my legs and butt look great! I wore it to a corporate event and got compliments all night from men AND women! It was a bit shorter on me because of my height and body shape - if you have a small waist, a lot of material will scrunch up there, and it will sit a little shorter than it would on someone less curvy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2011
When my orthodox family said I looked perfect.
This dress is GORGEOUS! Looks exactly like the picture. It is long - the hem hit about an inch below my knees. However, I was at a conservative affair, so it was perfect. It's silky and hugs in all the right places without being skanky. It is also very comfortable and easy to wear. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2011
I wore this to the RTR Chanel launch event with the RTR team! All the ladies in this photo are wearing RTR :)
I loved this dress so much I'm considering buying it. Incredibly comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2011
I have a shorter torso and this dress didn't look quite right on me because of that, so my roommate (who has a longer torso) wore it and it looked beautiful on her. Also there was the same issue with length that others have mentioned.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
This was my back up rental for NYE. I ended up wearing it and was completely satisfied. Very comfortable but still a sexy fit.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2010
I wore this to a winter wedding, and it was perfect. The length was just right and actually felt shorter with all the dancing I was doing, but I never had to worry that it was innappropriate. The rouching made me feel more comfortable with my post-baby belly and I received tons of compliments on how great I looked from people I hadn't seen in years.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
December 14, 2010
Beautiful color, comfortable dress, timeless styling but with a little edge. This dress looks exactly as it does in the picture and photographs beautifully. I received many compliments in this dress and it was very comfortable to wear. It hugs your body but in a very flattering way. I am 5'5" and 132 and the small fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again for as a sure options.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2010
I wore this dress to a holiday house party and received a lot of compliments! My date was still talking about it a few days later :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2010
I wore this as Maid of Honor for my Maid of Honor's wedding! It was very slimming and just overall flattering. It fit true to size and I didn't feel it was too long, but maybe because the occasion required something more demure. I wore a necklace similar to the one shown in the pic, but it would have looked great with a number of accessory options. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 22, 2010
This dress was super comfortable, and it fit me almost exactly like it looks in the photo.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2010
Absolutely loved this dress! It was comfortable, stylish and the most amazing shade of blue. I wore it to the National Book Awards House Party and received lots of compliments on it. Would highly recommend for a corporate function, cocktail party, or wedding. I didn't want to give it back!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2010
Beautiful dress! I wore this to a fall wedding. My husband said I looked hot & sexy in it. The rouching helped hide my tummy pouch and I felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2010
I loved this dress! I was worried about the length after reading the last review, but for the event, it was more appropriate longer. This was the most comfortable and completely flattering dress - I highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2010
Very Comfortable. I wore this to an outdoor wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2010
The dress was super comfortable, however it was VERY long and I had to false hem it with double-sided tape about 6 inches for it to hit me in the same spot as it does on the model. If I didn't do that, it would have looked like a nightgown. However, when all was said and done, I felt very confident in the dress. I wore it to a work event. I would caution those that have a butt to make sure you don't feel self conscious in something body hugging or feel like something that tight would be inappropriate for your event. It definitely showed off my curves and my boyfriend LOVED it!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×