Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Looked good, but I did not like the sleeves or ruching
Fits tight, ruching was a bit uncomfortable.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 19, 2012
Almost perfect
The side zipper puckered at the waist and made it look like I had a fat roll on one side, but otherwise the dress was extremely flattering, fit well, and didn't ride up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous.
My friend wore this...unique neckline and short length balanced out the 3/4 length sleeves...ruching was so flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Poorly placed zipper...
I rented this dress for a party, and I was really hoping it would have fit better than it did :( It's beautiful in the photos, but the zipper is placed on the side of the dress, causing a strange ripple to occur on one side. It makes you appear to have a roll on one side of your body, and bunched up with the slightest movement. It went straight back to RTR...I'm glad I rented a backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 17, 2012
Super Hot, perfect for blacktie optional
This dress was so easy to wear! Its October that time of year where you hate showing too much of you recently paled skin, and this dress showed that I had a body without showing too much of that body. Definitely size down, the medium was falling off of me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Not quite what I was hoping for
The dress was nice, but not for me. The material was more shiny, and a bit cheaper feeling that I expected. The rouching did not help hide anything, but rather accentuated some parts I did not want accentuated. I am shorter with an athletic/curvy shape, so perhaps on someone taller and longer the dress would have been better. The dress itself, though, was in excellent shape, so well done RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was tight but very flattering!
I loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 14, 2012
Slimming but...
I actually have rented this dress before and loved it though I never wore it... When I ordered it this time I was SO excited becasue I remember feelign sleek and fabulous when I had originally tried it on... This past time I felt slightly self-conscious because I am all about clean lines if they're intended and the zipper DID pucler and ripple! I am a very regular medium. I suppose to avoid this next time order a slightly larger size. THAT BEING SAID! I got a lot of compliments from everyone, so likely my own fixation on the zipper didn't come across to the rest of the party, and I wowed em at work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Fits the curves just right
n/a
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
Very flattering fit, fits quite close to body.
Fits close to the body, very nice sleek fit. Rucching on sides helps conceal any potential flaws
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved the way I looked in this dress for Valentine's day. He told me I should buy it!
I loved the neckline and the snug fit. The ruching helped cover any areas that needed some camouflage. My only negative would be the length. I wished it was a bit shorter, but I have short legs. I'm 5'3 and it hit right above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 20, 2013
It was a cute dress - not as forgiving as I had hoped
THe dress was cute, i love any long sleeved dress that isn't dowdy. Wasn't my favorite
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
This is my 5th rental from RTR and the only time that I did not wear the dress.
The dress fit fine but I did not wear it fo the following reasons. 1. The side zipper on this fitted dress tended to pucker when moving. 2. The material looked inexpensive. 3. Did not like the mix of smooth & ruched material, especially the ruching on the derriere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2013
Fantastic dress! Great fit, solid material.
This dress will probably fit well on MOST body types. The gathered sides are very slimming and comfortable. The material was light but not too thin, and the dressed moves well with you. Minimal skirt-pulling-down action. I have an athletic build, larger arms and thighs, and this still fit and looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 20, 2010
Skin tight dress for fit girls
This dress is VERY tiny. I rented it in a medium and although it fit, it didn't fit properly. For some reason in the photo, it looks loose on the model but it's very tight. Would not rent again or recommend to a friend unless she was a size 00 or very fit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
November 20, 2010
Tried on the dress but decided against it since i rented another dress that I liked more. It fit pretty well except it gathered a little bit too much in the back, especially for someone with a butt. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2010
I'm 5'3, medium-sized bust (with padded bra), 128-130 pounds with curves and the size S fit perfectly. I usually wear a size 4-6 (sometimes 8). This is a great dress, at first I thought it would be too simple and got it as a back-up dress but it's perfect. Its the perfect black dress without being too simple. The asymetrical neck and ruching give the dress that extra umpf. I got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2010
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2011
I wore this dress for a NYE dinner and it was great for cold weather in Colorado with the sleeves. I usually wear a small (4) in dresses and the small fit in this case. I would have liked to try on the XS though, just to compare. (I rented the M as my backup size - this was my first RTR experience and I was trying to play it safe) I would recommend renting your true size and a size smaller. The ruching hides any flaws and it is a classy dress overall. I'm looking forward to renting from RTR again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2011
I typically wear a size 0 or XS and weigh 110 lbs. I ordered this dress in a P and S. The Small was a little loose esp in the arms and because of the neck line the shoudlers wouldn't stay in place. I ended up wearing the Petite, but if the arms would have stayed in place on the Small I probably would have worn that it just because I don't typically wear very tight, form-fitting clothes. I don't have a shaply back end and this dress made me look a little more "curvy". A good basic, but stylish black dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011
This dress is really nice, but clingy. I highly recommend wearing it with spanxs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2011
I wore this dress to my fiance's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I wear a size 6/8 and I got the medium and it worked perfectly! It was perfect for colder weather and I would recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2011
The neckline of this dress is eye catching and gorgeous; however, if you have an ounce of fat on your body, this dress exposes every bit of it -- which is also due to the fact that the seams are oddly placed. The model has her hands on her hip to hide the bulge that the dress creates. Cute dress, would not rent again.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2011
I was a little concerned when I first tried on the dress as it was a bit tight. I normally wear a 0 and am flat chested, so I ordered the PS. The dress is short and might have been inappropriate for the event I was wearing it to if not for tights. Also, the zipper creates bulges down the side of the dress. Thank gawd for spanx. It ended up looking cute though. It did have a faint odor of cigarette smoke.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2011
I thought the dress was a little lose and I usually wear a Large in everything. I never thought to get a smaller back up size but I wish I would have. Loved the dress though, just as I thought I would!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
March 8, 2011
Felt cheap and unfitted, material is thin.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2011
I LOOKED AMAZING. Iam a very shaply woman and I was worried that the dress was going to emphasize my mid-section...how wrong was I! I wore a pair of spanx and the dress was perfect. I think the dress would look good on anyone who wears it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2011
Definitely. Needs spanx. Slightly short too, but fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2011
Runs a little small - maybe a 1/2 size, which is common with Malandrino's dresses. I normally wear and XS and needs a S. Good thing for back-up sizes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
AWESOME...very slimming, elegant, yet sexy! Catherine Malandrino seems to know how to dress a real woman's body well, and I had a great time in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2011
Wore this to a bachie party - felt super sexy and sassy in it
This dress was extremely hot. I ended up buying it after. I rented a small and petite. The petite fitted best. I agree with the some of the other posts that it is very tight. The most flattering LBD I've had and extremely slimming.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
This dress is a show stopper and really makes your curves look good. I recently wore it in NYC during fashion week and felt that it did the job. I love her clothes in general she really understands a curvy body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, but I was expecting it to run large based on other reviews I had read. Instead, I found the exact opposite -- my biceps did not fit in the sleeves! I do NOT have big arms by any means. Good thing I had also ordered the next size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2011
This is a cute dress, very nicely form fitting. The one complaint I have is that I am 5'4" (not that short!) and it was awkwardly long on me considering my height. I wore a small and the XS would definitely have been too tight! Other than length thought pretty flattering.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
I thought the dress fit great! It's tight, but only in the right areas. I wore this to a work event and was complimented all night on the dress. It accentuates your curves without being too tight all around. My only suggestion would be to wear very thin underwear, since the fabric isn't ruched on one side and you can see the underwear line. Great dress! I highly recommend it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
Loved it! Beautiful dress. I normally wear a size 4-6 depending on the brand. I ordered a small and medium for my back up. The medium almost fell off me, and the small was a tiny bit big but overall fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 10, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this for New Years eve last year. It was very comfortable and fit great. It was very classy, not too short. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 14, 2011
Pretty but flawed
The dress fit and would have been perfect, BUT the zipper was damaged and had a ripple effect over my hip. This made the side of my body with the zipper on it look lumpy. So I sent it back.
RTR CustomerOctober 8, 2015
How tall are you? Does it come with a belt?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
too long!
I'm 5'0" tall and even the petite version was too long. I would recommend this for taller people because it bunches if you're too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 28, 2011
I wanted to look sophisticated to the event I attended and Rent the Runway helped me to feel just that!
I almost didn't wear this dress because it just didn't feel right at first and was longer that I had wanted, but I did receive many compliments and the dress was very flattering. I was looking for a classy dress to wear and this was perfect for that. Not my favorite rental though. Zipper puckered on the side a bit too.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×