Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2015
I loved this dress!
I got both a M and a L, and ended up wearing the L because I felt so much more comfortable and confident in it. The picture isn't flattering, but the dress really was. It was a hit and so unique for a little black dress that I would love to purchase it! I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
April 15, 2015
Really flattering dress
This dress was my backup dress and had I not been so in love with my first dress, I would have definitely worn it. If only I'd had another party the next day! The neckline and fit were really nice. It was flattering and feminine. The only negative I would have, and it's not too major, was that the fabric looked and felt a little cheap. Still a very pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Stunning black dress with a lot of character
Fits true to size, really hugs the body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2015
This wasn't really a great dress.
If I had gotten home just an hour earlier, I would have called RTR to return this dress and see if I could get another one overnighted. The fit is just...odd. The sleeves are tight but not overly tight. The material is thinner than I expected; it feels pretty cheap. The ruching isn't flattering and the vertical seam is just bizarre. It didn't fit in a way that made sense. I ended up squeezing in to the P just because the zipper didn't pucker as much (that and the S had an odd, unpleasant smell). It took forever to take a semi-flattering picture in this dress. It can be done, but I'd skip this rental. The neckline was cool though. It looked good when I wore a jacket over it (which is pretty damning for a dress).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
Wore this to my office holiday party & received so many compliments!
At first I was not sure if I liked the dress. The fit is a bit unusual, the bottom of the dress is very fitted, but stretchy. I would say almost a size S/M on bottom, but the shoulders are more a size L. I am a 32DD so I think that helped with the fit of the upper body, but even still I had to pin the shoulders to my bra straps. That bring said, once I fixed the shoulder issue, the dress fit absolutely perfectly, was a great length for an office party (slightly above knee, I am 5'2 and wore 2 1/2" heels) so it ended up being the perfect dress. I would highly recommend this dress especially of you are an hou-glass figure and/or larger on top and smaller on bottom. The ruching really slimmed my tummy area. I thought you could see the waistband of my nylons, but when I looked at photos later, you totally could not see them. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
Funky asymmetric top, great look with tights and booties for winter partying!
Pretty LBD. VERY snug! My hips are pretty wide so I ended up wearing the medium so it would fit better over my hips but the small fit better on the top half. Wore with tights and booties for cold weather fun! Recommend spanx for a more slim silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
The dress fit perfect. i received a lot of compliments on it.
Its a tight fit. i felt that at the zipper it bunched a little bit. I also recommend using fashion tape at the shoulders. This dress was great for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2014
Cute dress but really right in my arms and wasn't super flattering on my body type
Too tight in the arms and shorter than I expected
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
September 18, 2014
Great customer service
Eh didn't really like it . Didn't feel pretty in it . Thought it was going to be way sexier .
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
The small was too big and the Xs was too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2014
bunches if you have a short abdomen
I don't have a long torso so this dress bunched in the most unflattering ways. It was so bad I couldnt wear it. Wasted rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
This dress is absolutely beautiful. I felt very sexy for my date with my husband.
Fitted and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 9, 2014
Formal Event in Southern CA
I ordered the small and should have definitely gotten the P. The dress ran a little big and it was just a bit too roomy but still looked ok. I got lots of compliments on the dress and it was sexy but still classy. Again, I wish I had gotten the smallest size because it could have fit a lot more snug but overall I was happy with the dress, however I wouldn't order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress, but needs accessories
I got this as a back up for a wedding and while I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great fit. I just didn't have the right accessories to take it from funeral to wedding. If you have curves, the ruching along the waist is VERY flattering (and forgiving) but I'd be sure you've got a fun pop of color in the shoes or necklace to avoid feeling too somber.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 154lbs
May 13, 2014
Nice dress but a little too dressy for what I was renting it for.
It fit tight but not too uncomfortable. Runs a little small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 5, 2014
felt very comfortable.
I wore this dress to a wedding. It was so comfortable and very slimming! It was so comfortable that I rented it a second time for another wedding I had several months later. This is definitely my go to dress for default.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2014
I wore the dress for a good friend's bachelorette party in NYC.
I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It hugged every curve perfectly!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2014
The dress is amazing, but you really need the spans undies with it!
Good fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 10, 2014
Not the dress for me!
This dress is for someone looking for a sexy clubbing dress as opposed to attending a classy event. I ordered the xs which was way too small in the sleeves and too short and also the small which was falling off on the top. I had to return. This would look great on someone with a fuller figure which is not me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 5, 2014
The style was great and I wanted to love it but it just wore too tight
It seemed a little cheap for the event I was wearing it to. Overall too fitted and not in a classy structured way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 27, 2014
Ah-maz-ing
This dress is great if you are concerned about having a bit of a tummy. It's flattering and classy. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
February 16, 2014
Everyone LOVED my dress..
I got the large and extra large wasn't sure which one would fit. The XL was greaaatt!!! Fit perfect. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
December 27, 2013
Super Cute!
I really like this dress --it is super flattering on the waist, legs, bust, etc. The only cut that isn't flattering is side angle booty. Other than that, rent away!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2013
Husband loved this dress & I felt great in it!
Fit like a glove! I ordered the S and P and ended up wearing the small- the ruching on this dress is what makes it incredibly flattering, you can bunch it up for a shorter skirt or pull it down for a more modest length. Loved this dress!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2013
This a great dress. It's sexy while at the same time classy.
This dress is also comfortable and easy to wear. It is a body-con dress, so I do recommend a little added help from Spanx or something similar. The ruching helps, but the side panel is smooth. My husband loved the dress and I felt very confident and comfortable in it - a definite recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
Cute, but didn't work for me
This looked great on, but the shoulders kept slipping off, so I didn't wind up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2013
Sophisticated twist on the LBD!
This dress is sophisticated without being stuffy- the asymmetrical neckline makes the dress just that much more interesting and exciting. It's also a tad hard to tell in the pictures, but the ruching does a good job of showing off your figure while hiding any imperfections you may have. I found that because I am pretty curvy, the dress fell nicely above my knee. The only thing that made me knock a star off was really the fit of the neckline- I have small shoulders and found that the shoulders of the dress would slip off occasionally if I wasn't careful. But overall a great rental! As my husband put it- he wanted to know if I could "buy the runway" after he saw this on me : )
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 21, 2013
FABULOUS!
The dress is very flattering. It hides your tummy and makes you look lean and curvy! I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
LOVE this dress
I wish I owned this dress- it's amazing, I felt spectacular all night! TTS, didn't need spanx, tons of compliments- killer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2013
Not flattering or comfortable
I was so excited for this dress because the other reviews were mostly great. When I received the dress, though (in size small and medium), neither size fit at all. The dresses weren't necessarily too big or too small, but they were just awkwardly cut. The zipper on the side puckered and didn't lay flat. The material was scratchy. I ended up not wearing the dress. It's too bad because all of my other rentals have been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2013
.
.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 25, 2013
This is a great black dress! After wearing it I wanted to buy it.
It fit true to size and was really flattering; it's simple yet chic. It was perfect for the November wedding in NYC I wore it to, but I likely wouldn't wear it during warmer months.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Very flattering dress!
Fit like a glove! I got a lot of complements on it!
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 31, 2013
Great dress that I wouldn't buy on my own.
The neckline is wide.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2013
The best body slimming LBD!!!
Rented the L and M ended up wearing the M w/o Spanx too. My fave detail of the dress was the asymmetrical neckline. An easy LBD to accessorize. Wish I could have kept it in my closet. Thanks RTR for your help!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2013
Sexy, yet sophisticated
I ordered the dress in a Petite and a Small. The small was a little bit more loose on me and came right above my knee. The Petite hit mid thigh and was much more fitted to my body. They only complaint I have is that the zipper on the side puckered a little. I thought it was because maybe the dress was too small, but the Small also puckered on the zipper. It was conservative enough that I didn't stand out in a bad way, but it was sexy enough that I felt youthful and fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
Love it so much...THAT I BOUGHT IT.
Beyond obsessed with this dress. Loved it so much when I rented it that I ended up buying it when RTR did a sale.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
Great fit!!!!!!!
I loved the fit of this dress, It runs true to size, I got tons of compliments and my hubby loved it as well....
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 25, 2013
FABULOUS Dress!
I wore this dress to a Mercedes Benz Fashion Week show. It travelled VERY well from DC to NY. It was comfortable and flattering. Its a very versatile dress also- could be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 19, 2013
Great back up
The dress I wanted didn't work out. So glad I picked this as a back up. Very flattering and forgiving!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×