Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 9, 2014
Formal Event in Southern CA
I ordered the small and should have definitely gotten the P. The dress ran a little big and it was just a bit too roomy but still looked ok. I got lots of compliments on the dress and it was sexy but still classy. Again, I wish I had gotten the smallest size because it could have fit a lot more snug but overall I was happy with the dress, however I wouldn't order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
This dress is absolutely beautiful. I felt very sexy for my date with my husband.
Fitted and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2014
bunches if you have a short abdomen
I don't have a long torso so this dress bunched in the most unflattering ways. It was so bad I couldnt wear it. Wasted rental
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
The small was too big and the Xs was too short
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
September 18, 2014
Great customer service
Eh didn't really like it . Didn't feel pretty in it . Thought it was going to be way sexier .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2014
Cute dress but really right in my arms and wasn't super flattering on my body type
Too tight in the arms and shorter than I expected
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
The dress fit perfect. i received a lot of compliments on it.
Its a tight fit. i felt that at the zipper it bunched a little bit. I also recommend using fashion tape at the shoulders. This dress was great for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
Funky asymmetric top, great look with tights and booties for winter partying!
Pretty LBD. VERY snug! My hips are pretty wide so I ended up wearing the medium so it would fit better over my hips but the small fit better on the top half. Wore with tights and booties for cold weather fun! Recommend spanx for a more slim silhouette.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
Wore this to my office holiday party & received so many compliments!
At first I was not sure if I liked the dress. The fit is a bit unusual, the bottom of the dress is very fitted, but stretchy. I would say almost a size S/M on bottom, but the shoulders are more a size L. I am a 32DD so I think that helped with the fit of the upper body, but even still I had to pin the shoulders to my bra straps. That bring said, once I fixed the shoulder issue, the dress fit absolutely perfectly, was a great length for an office party (slightly above knee, I am 5'2 and wore 2 1/2" heels) so it ended up being the perfect dress. I would highly recommend this dress especially of you are an hou-glass figure and/or larger on top and smaller on bottom. The ruching really slimmed my tummy area. I thought you could see the waistband of my nylons, but when I looked at photos later, you totally could not see them. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2015
This wasn't really a great dress.
If I had gotten home just an hour earlier, I would have called RTR to return this dress and see if I could get another one overnighted. The fit is just...odd. The sleeves are tight but not overly tight. The material is thinner than I expected; it feels pretty cheap. The ruching isn't flattering and the vertical seam is just bizarre. It didn't fit in a way that made sense. I ended up squeezing in to the P just because the zipper didn't pucker as much (that and the S had an odd, unpleasant smell). It took forever to take a semi-flattering picture in this dress. It can be done, but I'd skip this rental. The neckline was cool though. It looked good when I wore a jacket over it (which is pretty damning for a dress).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Stunning black dress with a lot of character
Fits true to size, really hugs the body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 20, 2010
Skin tight dress for fit girls
This dress is VERY tiny. I rented it in a medium and although it fit, it didn't fit properly. For some reason in the photo, it looks loose on the model but it's very tight. Would not rent again or recommend to a friend unless she was a size 00 or very fit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
November 20, 2010
Tried on the dress but decided against it since i rented another dress that I liked more. It fit pretty well except it gathered a little bit too much in the back, especially for someone with a butt. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2010
I'm 5'3, medium-sized bust (with padded bra), 128-130 pounds with curves and the size S fit perfectly. I usually wear a size 4-6 (sometimes 8). This is a great dress, at first I thought it would be too simple and got it as a back-up dress but it's perfect. Its the perfect black dress without being too simple. The asymetrical neck and ruching give the dress that extra umpf. I got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2010
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2011
I wore this dress for a NYE dinner and it was great for cold weather in Colorado with the sleeves. I usually wear a small (4) in dresses and the small fit in this case. I would have liked to try on the XS though, just to compare. (I rented the M as my backup size - this was my first RTR experience and I was trying to play it safe) I would recommend renting your true size and a size smaller. The ruching hides any flaws and it is a classy dress overall. I'm looking forward to renting from RTR again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2011
I typically wear a size 0 or XS and weigh 110 lbs. I ordered this dress in a P and S. The Small was a little loose esp in the arms and because of the neck line the shoudlers wouldn't stay in place. I ended up wearing the Petite, but if the arms would have stayed in place on the Small I probably would have worn that it just because I don't typically wear very tight, form-fitting clothes. I don't have a shaply back end and this dress made me look a little more "curvy". A good basic, but stylish black dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011
This dress is really nice, but clingy. I highly recommend wearing it with spanxs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2011
I wore this dress to my fiance's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I wear a size 6/8 and I got the medium and it worked perfectly! It was perfect for colder weather and I would recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2011
The neckline of this dress is eye catching and gorgeous; however, if you have an ounce of fat on your body, this dress exposes every bit of it -- which is also due to the fact that the seams are oddly placed. The model has her hands on her hip to hide the bulge that the dress creates. Cute dress, would not rent again.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2011
I was a little concerned when I first tried on the dress as it was a bit tight. I normally wear a 0 and am flat chested, so I ordered the PS. The dress is short and might have been inappropriate for the event I was wearing it to if not for tights. Also, the zipper creates bulges down the side of the dress. Thank gawd for spanx. It ended up looking cute though. It did have a faint odor of cigarette smoke.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2011
I thought the dress was a little lose and I usually wear a Large in everything. I never thought to get a smaller back up size but I wish I would have. Loved the dress though, just as I thought I would!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
March 8, 2011
Felt cheap and unfitted, material is thin.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2011
I LOOKED AMAZING. Iam a very shaply woman and I was worried that the dress was going to emphasize my mid-section...how wrong was I! I wore a pair of spanx and the dress was perfect. I think the dress would look good on anyone who wears it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2011
Definitely. Needs spanx. Slightly short too, but fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2011
Runs a little small - maybe a 1/2 size, which is common with Malandrino's dresses. I normally wear and XS and needs a S. Good thing for back-up sizes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
AWESOME...very slimming, elegant, yet sexy! Catherine Malandrino seems to know how to dress a real woman's body well, and I had a great time in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2011
Wore this to a bachie party - felt super sexy and sassy in it
This dress was extremely hot. I ended up buying it after. I rented a small and petite. The petite fitted best. I agree with the some of the other posts that it is very tight. The most flattering LBD I've had and extremely slimming.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
This dress is a show stopper and really makes your curves look good. I recently wore it in NYC during fashion week and felt that it did the job. I love her clothes in general she really understands a curvy body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, but I was expecting it to run large based on other reviews I had read. Instead, I found the exact opposite -- my biceps did not fit in the sleeves! I do NOT have big arms by any means. Good thing I had also ordered the next size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2011
This is a cute dress, very nicely form fitting. The one complaint I have is that I am 5'4" (not that short!) and it was awkwardly long on me considering my height. I wore a small and the XS would definitely have been too tight! Other than length thought pretty flattering.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
I thought the dress fit great! It's tight, but only in the right areas. I wore this to a work event and was complimented all night on the dress. It accentuates your curves without being too tight all around. My only suggestion would be to wear very thin underwear, since the fabric isn't ruched on one side and you can see the underwear line. Great dress! I highly recommend it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
Loved it! Beautiful dress. I normally wear a size 4-6 depending on the brand. I ordered a small and medium for my back up. The medium almost fell off me, and the small was a tiny bit big but overall fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 10, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this for New Years eve last year. It was very comfortable and fit great. It was very classy, not too short. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 14, 2011
Pretty but flawed
The dress fit and would have been perfect, BUT the zipper was damaged and had a ripple effect over my hip. This made the side of my body with the zipper on it look lumpy. So I sent it back.
RTR CustomerOctober 8, 2015
How tall are you? Does it come with a belt?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
too long!
I'm 5'0" tall and even the petite version was too long. I would recommend this for taller people because it bunches if you're too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 28, 2011
I wanted to look sophisticated to the event I attended and Rent the Runway helped me to feel just that!
I almost didn't wear this dress because it just didn't feel right at first and was longer that I had wanted, but I did receive many compliments and the dress was very flattering. I was looking for a classy dress to wear and this was perfect for that. Not my favorite rental though. Zipper puckered on the side a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Love the neckline
This is a cute little black dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it with a normal black bra even though the straps showed. I usually don't like that but I felt it worked here. Felt great wearing it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2011
Sexy Simple Black Dress
I wore this dress to an "All Black Party" on black Friday. I am a petite girl with a very curvy figure. I love how this dress accentuated my best assets. The length was a little too long for me but, I just wore a higher heel to elongate my legs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
It looked dressier in the picture. The hem did not hold even and I did not end up wearing it. I also purchased earrings that were too loose and did not wear them as well.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×