Catherine Malandrino

Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

113 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 80
Large 11
Photos 26
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2010

Skin tight dress for fit girls

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is VERY tiny. I rented it in a medium and although it fit, it didn't fit properly. For some reason in the photo, it looks loose on the model but it's very tight. Would not rent again or recommend to a friend unless she was a size 00 or very fit.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Oct 15, 2010

Overall fit: Large
I totally disagree with the last reviewer. I wear a size 6 and the medium is loose. I would order a size down as your backup in this style.
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 25, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this for a fall wedding and was thrilled with my choice! This dress is classy, sexy, comfortable, and easy to wear. I am usually a size 2 in dresses, but based on the first review I ordered a S and M. The S fit perfectly and the M was much too big -- I'd say it runs true to size.
Kim
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It was one of my last choices because all the dresses I wanted we're unavailable in my size. When I initially was placing the order it was available in the size I needed and a backup size but when I actually selected to check out, the back up was unavailable. I was very uneasy about this but when the dress finally arrived, it fit nicely. The sleeves we're a little stretched out and the dress seemed 'worn' but overall, the dress was a good fit. The dress is very low maintenance and I didn't have to worry about wrinkles. I would not rent this dress again.
SNG1
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Nov 20, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Tried on the dress but decided against it since i rented another dress that I liked more. It fit pretty well except it gathered a little bit too much in the back, especially for someone with a butt. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress!
Buffy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Nov 29, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'3, medium-sized bust (with padded bra), 128-130 pounds with curves and the size S fit perfectly. I usually wear a size 4-6 (sometimes 8). This is a great dress, at first I thought it would be too simple and got it as a back-up dress but it's perfect. Its the perfect black dress without being too simple. The asymetrical neck and ruching give the dress that extra umpf. I got a ton of compliments.
RW
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 29, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress for a NYE dinner and it was great for cold weather in Colorado with the sleeves. I usually wear a small (4) in dresses and the small fit in this case. I would have liked to try on the XS though, just to compare. (I rented the M as my backup size - this was my first RTR experience and I was trying to play it safe) I would recommend renting your true size and a size smaller. The ruching hides any flaws and it is a classy dress overall. I'm looking forward to renting from RTR again!
renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I typically wear a size 0 or XS and weigh 110 lbs. I ordered this dress in a P and S. The Small was a little loose esp in the arms and because of the neck line the shoudlers wouldn't stay in place. I ended up wearing the Petite, but if the arms would have stayed in place on the Small I probably would have worn that it just because I don't typically wear very tight, form-fitting clothes. I don't have a shaply back end and this dress made me look a little more "curvy". A good basic, but stylish black dress.
Angel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really nice, but clingy. I highly recommend wearing it with spanxs.
Meggy
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my fiance's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I wear a size 6/8 and I got the medium and it worked perfectly! It was perfect for colder weather and I would recommend it to anyone!
joya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The neckline of this dress is eye catching and gorgeous; however, if you have an ounce of fat on your body, this dress exposes every bit of it -- which is also due to the fact that the seams are oddly placed. The model has her hands on her hip to hide the bulge that the dress creates. Cute dress, would not rent again.
Em
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Feb 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I was a little concerned when I first tried on the dress as it was a bit tight. I normally wear a 0 and am flat chested, so I ordered the PS. The dress is short and might have been inappropriate for the event I was wearing it to if not for tights. Also, the zipper creates bulges down the side of the dress. Thank gawd for spanx. It ended up looking cute though. It did have a faint odor of cigarette smoke.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got this as my primary dress and didn't really care for it. It looked great on a hanger but I just couldn't find anything that I really loved about it. It seemed to emphasize all the wrong spots on my body and hide all the right ones.
KT
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I thought the dress was a little lose and I usually wear a Large in everything. I never thought to get a smaller back up size but I wish I would have. Loved the dress though, just as I thought I would!
Chicago
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Mar 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Felt cheap and unfitted, material is thin.
berardi2
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 29, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Very tight fitting dress all over. Not my favorite, but if you are looking for something very small, this is it.
Apryl W.
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOOKED AMAZING. Iam a very shaply woman and I was worried that the dress was going to emphasize my mid-section...how wrong was I! I wore a pair of spanx and the dress was perfect. I think the dress would look good on anyone who wears it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!
Margz
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Definitely. Needs spanx. Slightly short too, but fabulous
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: Large
It's not as sexy as it looks on the model - it made me look like I was going to a funeral. Immediate return...
TarteandParcel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 16, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Runs a little small - maybe a 1/2 size, which is common with Malandrino's dresses. I normally wear and XS and needs a S. Good thing for back-up sizes!
Jan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
AWESOME...very slimming, elegant, yet sexy! Catherine Malandrino seems to know how to dress a real woman's body well, and I had a great time in this dress!
emmy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
It looked dressier in the picture. The hem did not hold even and I did not end up wearing it. I also purchased earrings that were too loose and did not wear them as well.
Penny4Prada
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is a show stopper and really makes your curves look good. I recently wore it in NYC during fashion week and felt that it did the job. I love her clothes in general she really understands a curvy body.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Gorgeous dress, but I was expecting it to run large based on other reviews I had read. Instead, I found the exact opposite -- my biceps did not fit in the sleeves! I do NOT have big arms by any means. Good thing I had also ordered the next size up.
Sam, NY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a cute dress, very nicely form fitting. The one complaint I have is that I am 5'4" (not that short!) and it was awkwardly long on me considering my height. I wore a small and the XS would definitely have been too tight! Other than length thought pretty flattering.
Kelly
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I thought the dress fit great! It's tight, but only in the right areas. I wore this to a work event and was complimented all night on the dress. It accentuates your curves without being too tight all around. My only suggestion would be to wear very thin underwear, since the fabric isn't ruched on one side and you can see the underwear line. Great dress! I highly recommend it!
LF
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it! Beautiful dress. I normally wear a size 4-6 depending on the brand. I ordered a small and medium for my back up. The medium almost fell off me, and the small was a tiny bit big but overall fit well.
CT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Great LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for New Years eve last year. It was very comfortable and fit great. It was very classy, not too short. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Pretty but flawed

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit and would have been perfect, BUT the zipper was damaged and had a ripple effect over my hip. This made the side of my body with the zipper on it look lumpy. So I sent it back.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 15, 2011

too long!

Size worn: P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'0" tall and even the petite version was too long. I would recommend this for taller people because it bunches if you're too short!
Berlinessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 29, 2011

Love the neckline

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a cute little black dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it with a normal black bra even though the straps showed. I usually don't like that but I felt it worked here. Felt great wearing it.
Kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 1, 2011

Sexy Simple Black Dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an "All Black Party" on black Friday. I am a petite girl with a very curvy figure. I love how this dress accentuated my best assets. The length was a little too long for me but, I just wore a higher heel to elongate my legs.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×