Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 12, 2013
Not flattering or comfortable
I was so excited for this dress because the other reviews were mostly great. When I received the dress, though (in size small and medium), neither size fit at all. The dresses weren't necessarily too big or too small, but they were just awkwardly cut. The zipper on the side puckered and didn't lay flat. The material was scratchy. I ended up not wearing the dress. It's too bad because all of my other rentals have been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
LOVE this dress
I wish I owned this dress- it's amazing, I felt spectacular all night! TTS, didn't need spanx, tons of compliments- killer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2013
Sophisticated twist on the LBD!
This dress is sophisticated without being stuffy- the asymmetrical neckline makes the dress just that much more interesting and exciting. It's also a tad hard to tell in the pictures, but the ruching does a good job of showing off your figure while hiding any imperfections you may have. I found that because I am pretty curvy, the dress fell nicely above my knee. The only thing that made me knock a star off was really the fit of the neckline- I have small shoulders and found that the shoulders of the dress would slip off occasionally if I wasn't careful. But overall a great rental! As my husband put it- he wanted to know if I could "buy the runway" after he saw this on me : )
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2013
This a great dress. It's sexy while at the same time classy.
This dress is also comfortable and easy to wear. It is a body-con dress, so I do recommend a little added help from Spanx or something similar. The ruching helps, but the side panel is smooth. My husband loved the dress and I felt very confident and comfortable in it - a definite recommend.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2013
Husband loved this dress & I felt great in it!
Fit like a glove! I ordered the S and P and ended up wearing the small- the ruching on this dress is what makes it incredibly flattering, you can bunch it up for a shorter skirt or pull it down for a more modest length. Loved this dress!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
LOVE IT!
This dress was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2013
.
.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
December 27, 2013
Super Cute!
I really like this dress --it is super flattering on the waist, legs, bust, etc. The only cut that isn't flattering is side angle booty. Other than that, rent away!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2014
The dress is amazing, but you really need the spans undies with it!
Good fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 30, 2014
I wore the dress for a good friend's bachelorette party in NYC.
I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It hugged every curve perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress, but needs accessories
I got this as a back up for a wedding and while I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great fit. I just didn't have the right accessories to take it from funeral to wedding. If you have curves, the ruching along the waist is VERY flattering (and forgiving) but I'd be sure you've got a fun pop of color in the shoes or necklace to avoid feeling too somber.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
This dress is absolutely beautiful. I felt very sexy for my date with my husband.
Fitted and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
The small was too big and the Xs was too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
The dress fit perfect. i received a lot of compliments on it.
Its a tight fit. i felt that at the zipper it bunched a little bit. I also recommend using fashion tape at the shoulders. This dress was great for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
Wore this to my office holiday party & received so many compliments!
At first I was not sure if I liked the dress. The fit is a bit unusual, the bottom of the dress is very fitted, but stretchy. I would say almost a size S/M on bottom, but the shoulders are more a size L. I am a 32DD so I think that helped with the fit of the upper body, but even still I had to pin the shoulders to my bra straps. That bring said, once I fixed the shoulder issue, the dress fit absolutely perfectly, was a great length for an office party (slightly above knee, I am 5'2 and wore 2 1/2" heels) so it ended up being the perfect dress. I would highly recommend this dress especially of you are an hou-glass figure and/or larger on top and smaller on bottom. The ruching really slimmed my tummy area. I thought you could see the waistband of my nylons, but when I looked at photos later, you totally could not see them. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
February 16, 2014
Everyone LOVED my dress..
I got the large and extra large wasn't sure which one would fit. The XL was greaaatt!!! Fit perfect. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
CarolineAugust 11, 2013
What shoes are these?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 25, 2013
FABULOUS Dress!
I wore this dress to a Mercedes Benz Fashion Week show. It travelled VERY well from DC to NY. It was comfortable and flattering. Its a very versatile dress also- could be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2015
I loved this dress!
I got both a M and a L, and ended up wearing the L because I felt so much more comfortable and confident in it. The picture isn't flattering, but the dress really was. It was a hit and so unique for a little black dress that I would love to purchase it! I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 25, 2010
I wore this for a fall wedding and was thrilled with my choice! This dress is classy, sexy, comfortable, and easy to wear. I am usually a size 2 in dresses, but based on the first review I ordered a S and M. The S fit perfectly and the M was much too big -- I'd say it runs true to size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It was one of my last choices because all the dresses I wanted we're unavailable in my size. When I initially was placing the order it was available in the size I needed and a backup size but when I actually selected to check out, the back up was unavailable. I was very uneasy about this but when the dress finally arrived, it fit nicely. The sleeves we're a little stretched out and the dress seemed 'worn' but overall, the dress was a good fit. The dress is very low maintenance and I didn't have to worry about wrinkles. I would not rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
I got this as my primary dress and didn't really care for it. It looked great on a hanger but I just couldn't find anything that I really loved about it. It seemed to emphasize all the wrong spots on my body and hide all the right ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 20, 2012
Great Dress, Super Flattering
I wore this dress for a friend's birthday out in Atlantic City. Loved the fit, very flattering. I am normally a size 6 or 8 and wore a small. The neckline is super cute, although it is hard to raise your arms up high over your head. I would recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2012
Ehh
I wasn't a big fan of the rouching. It was a bit combersome. However, I love the off the shoulder . Only down side is that the other should kept dropping too. Perhaps, I am too short for this dress? I loved the shirt portion and the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
September 26, 2012
looked like a diva!
runs true to size, very comfortable and it makes your curves look nice. I loved the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
No go
Just wasn't the right dress for me. Pretty, but not me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
A bit vampy...
I had ordered the red version of this dress but since it was out of stock, this came as a replacement. I figured you can't go wrong with black, but it's a shiny, almost lycra-looking material. It looked very costume-y, and sort of matronly as well. I sent it back and was overnighted a new dress that I ended up loving even more than my original choice. No complaints from me, RTR has some of the best customer service around!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 26, 2012
Perfect fit!
Fits well, great quality AND its comfy -- people were hugging me all night and loved the feel of the dress. I was celebrating a very sentimental ocassion -- making it out of chemo. And although I wasn't feeling my best and had no hair, the dress helped me to look like I was the most beautiful woman in the room. Would highly recommend.
PKNovember 28, 2012
congrats Christina! I'm so happy for you- am glad you celebrated in style :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2012
Very comfy!
The zipper puckered on the side which made my hips look a lot wider than they should! It was a very comfy dress but chose to wear my back-up dress as I didn't find this one flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2013
Just OK
This dress was adorable on the model, but for some reason the shape of the dress didn't flatter my top half. Smaller chested girls might find that this doesn't give them the curves they hope in this dress. The neckline was interesting, it was true to size, but just not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 19, 2013
Great back up
The dress I wanted didn't work out. So glad I picked this as a back up. Very flattering and forgiving!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 25, 2013
This is a great black dress! After wearing it I wanted to buy it.
It fit true to size and was really flattering; it's simple yet chic. It was perfect for the November wedding in NYC I wore it to, but I likely wouldn't wear it during warmer months.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 21, 2013
FABULOUS!
The dress is very flattering. It hides your tummy and makes you look lean and curvy! I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
Cute, but didn't work for me
This looked great on, but the shoulders kept slipping off, so I didn't wind up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 27, 2014
Ah-maz-ing
This dress is great if you are concerned about having a bit of a tummy. It's flattering and classy. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 5, 2014
felt very comfortable.
I wore this dress to a wedding. It was so comfortable and very slimming! It was so comfortable that I rented it a second time for another wedding I had several months later. This is definitely my go to dress for default.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×