Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2014
Cute dress but really right in my arms and wasn't super flattering on my body type
Too tight in the arms and shorter than I expected
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
The dress fit perfect. i received a lot of compliments on it.
Its a tight fit. i felt that at the zipper it bunched a little bit. I also recommend using fashion tape at the shoulders. This dress was great for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
Funky asymmetric top, great look with tights and booties for winter partying!
Pretty LBD. VERY snug! My hips are pretty wide so I ended up wearing the medium so it would fit better over my hips but the small fit better on the top half. Wore with tights and booties for cold weather fun! Recommend spanx for a more slim silhouette.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
Wore this to my office holiday party & received so many compliments!
At first I was not sure if I liked the dress. The fit is a bit unusual, the bottom of the dress is very fitted, but stretchy. I would say almost a size S/M on bottom, but the shoulders are more a size L. I am a 32DD so I think that helped with the fit of the upper body, but even still I had to pin the shoulders to my bra straps. That bring said, once I fixed the shoulder issue, the dress fit absolutely perfectly, was a great length for an office party (slightly above knee, I am 5'2 and wore 2 1/2" heels) so it ended up being the perfect dress. I would highly recommend this dress especially of you are an hou-glass figure and/or larger on top and smaller on bottom. The ruching really slimmed my tummy area. I thought you could see the waistband of my nylons, but when I looked at photos later, you totally could not see them. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2015
This wasn't really a great dress.
If I had gotten home just an hour earlier, I would have called RTR to return this dress and see if I could get another one overnighted. The fit is just...odd. The sleeves are tight but not overly tight. The material is thinner than I expected; it feels pretty cheap. The ruching isn't flattering and the vertical seam is just bizarre. It didn't fit in a way that made sense. I ended up squeezing in to the P just because the zipper didn't pucker as much (that and the S had an odd, unpleasant smell). It took forever to take a semi-flattering picture in this dress. It can be done, but I'd skip this rental. The neckline was cool though. It looked good when I wore a jacket over it (which is pretty damning for a dress).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Stunning black dress with a lot of character
Fits true to size, really hugs the body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
February 16, 2014
Everyone LOVED my dress..
I got the large and extra large wasn't sure which one would fit. The XL was greaaatt!!! Fit perfect. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
October 15, 2010
I totally disagree with the last reviewer. I wear a size 6 and the medium is loose. I would order a size down as your backup in this style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2011
Very tight fitting dress all over. Not my favorite, but if you are looking for something very small, this is it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2011
It's not as sexy as it looks on the model - it made me look like I was going to a funeral. Immediate return...
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
CarolineAugust 11, 2013
What shoes are these?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 2, 2013
There were a couple fit issues, but it looked great!
I'm a petite gal who is also quite short-waisted. I rented this dress for an NYE dinner and rented both a Petite and a Small. The Petite was snug in the boob and waist area and the small was quite large in the shoulders. I decided to go with the Petite (and spanx), and some hollywood tape was required to keep the left shoulder up. The overall look was great, and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 25, 2013
FABULOUS Dress!
I wore this dress to a Mercedes Benz Fashion Week show. It travelled VERY well from DC to NY. It was comfortable and flattering. Its a very versatile dress also- could be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2015
I loved this dress!
I got both a M and a L, and ended up wearing the L because I felt so much more comfortable and confident in it. The picture isn't flattering, but the dress really was. It was a hit and so unique for a little black dress that I would love to purchase it! I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 25, 2010
I wore this for a fall wedding and was thrilled with my choice! This dress is classy, sexy, comfortable, and easy to wear. I am usually a size 2 in dresses, but based on the first review I ordered a S and M. The S fit perfectly and the M was much too big -- I'd say it runs true to size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It was one of my last choices because all the dresses I wanted we're unavailable in my size. When I initially was placing the order it was available in the size I needed and a backup size but when I actually selected to check out, the back up was unavailable. I was very uneasy about this but when the dress finally arrived, it fit nicely. The sleeves we're a little stretched out and the dress seemed 'worn' but overall, the dress was a good fit. The dress is very low maintenance and I didn't have to worry about wrinkles. I would not rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
I got this as my primary dress and didn't really care for it. It looked great on a hanger but I just couldn't find anything that I really loved about it. It seemed to emphasize all the wrong spots on my body and hide all the right ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 20, 2012
Great Dress, Super Flattering
I wore this dress for a friend's birthday out in Atlantic City. Loved the fit, very flattering. I am normally a size 6 or 8 and wore a small. The neckline is super cute, although it is hard to raise your arms up high over your head. I would recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2012
Ehh
I wasn't a big fan of the rouching. It was a bit combersome. However, I love the off the shoulder . Only down side is that the other should kept dropping too. Perhaps, I am too short for this dress? I loved the shirt portion and the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
September 26, 2012
looked like a diva!
runs true to size, very comfortable and it makes your curves look nice. I loved the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
No go
Just wasn't the right dress for me. Pretty, but not me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
A bit vampy...
I had ordered the red version of this dress but since it was out of stock, this came as a replacement. I figured you can't go wrong with black, but it's a shiny, almost lycra-looking material. It looked very costume-y, and sort of matronly as well. I sent it back and was overnighted a new dress that I ended up loving even more than my original choice. No complaints from me, RTR has some of the best customer service around!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 26, 2012
Perfect fit!
Fits well, great quality AND its comfy -- people were hugging me all night and loved the feel of the dress. I was celebrating a very sentimental ocassion -- making it out of chemo. And although I wasn't feeling my best and had no hair, the dress helped me to look like I was the most beautiful woman in the room. Would highly recommend.
PKNovember 28, 2012
congrats Christina! I'm so happy for you- am glad you celebrated in style :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2012
Very comfy!
The zipper puckered on the side which made my hips look a lot wider than they should! It was a very comfy dress but chose to wear my back-up dress as I didn't find this one flattering.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2012
I wore a fabulous dress but not from you!
This is a going out clubbing dress, not an elegant affair dress, unless you are extremely tall & thin with amazing legs! I am 5'2" and 105 pounds. The Petite, was inappropriately short & tight, and the small was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2012
i didnt wear it
I LOVED THIS DRESS, however i didn't wear it because the medium was just too small for me. i think if i had had a large it might have fit my chest, an important note about this dress is that it has a kind of funky detail on the chest that runs across the middle of one boob and it flattened mine out, im going to try and rent it again in a larger size and see if it would fit better. it was the perfect size every where else except my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2013
Just OK
This dress was adorable on the model, but for some reason the shape of the dress didn't flatter my top half. Smaller chested girls might find that this doesn't give them the curves they hope in this dress. The neckline was interesting, it was true to size, but just not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 19, 2013
Great back up
The dress I wanted didn't work out. So glad I picked this as a back up. Very flattering and forgiving!
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 31, 2013
Great dress that I wouldn't buy on my own.
The neckline is wide.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 25, 2013
This is a great black dress! After wearing it I wanted to buy it.
It fit true to size and was really flattering; it's simple yet chic. It was perfect for the November wedding in NYC I wore it to, but I likely wouldn't wear it during warmer months.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 21, 2013
FABULOUS!
The dress is very flattering. It hides your tummy and makes you look lean and curvy! I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
Cute, but didn't work for me
This looked great on, but the shoulders kept slipping off, so I didn't wind up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 27, 2014
Ah-maz-ing
This dress is great if you are concerned about having a bit of a tummy. It's flattering and classy. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 5, 2014
felt very comfortable.
I wore this dress to a wedding. It was so comfortable and very slimming! It was so comfortable that I rented it a second time for another wedding I had several months later. This is definitely my go to dress for default.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 154lbs
May 13, 2014
Nice dress but a little too dressy for what I was renting it for.
It fit tight but not too uncomfortable. Runs a little small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
April 15, 2015
Really flattering dress
This dress was my backup dress and had I not been so in love with my first dress, I would have definitely worn it. If only I'd had another party the next day! The neckline and fit were really nice. It was flattering and feminine. The only negative I would have, and it's not too major, was that the fabric looked and felt a little cheap. Still a very pretty dress.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×