Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size82
Small19
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2011
disappointed
The waist was too loose compared to the other areas where it fit good, I think its due to prior uses of the dress by women of different body types. It was also a bit too long for my 5'4 statute. I had to use pins for the waist and shorten the length. Also one of the sides of the dress kept falling down the shoulder.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2011
Sexy Simple Black Dress
I wore this dress to an "All Black Party" on black Friday. I am a petite girl with a very curvy figure. I love how this dress accentuated my best assets. The length was a little too long for me but, I just wore a higher heel to elongate my legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Love the neckline
This is a cute little black dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it with a normal black bra even though the straps showed. I usually don't like that but I felt it worked here. Felt great wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 28, 2011
I wanted to look sophisticated to the event I attended and Rent the Runway helped me to feel just that!
I almost didn't wear this dress because it just didn't feel right at first and was longer that I had wanted, but I did receive many compliments and the dress was very flattering. I was looking for a classy dress to wear and this was perfect for that. Not my favorite rental though. Zipper puckered on the side a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
too long!
I'm 5'0" tall and even the petite version was too long. I would recommend this for taller people because it bunches if you're too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 14, 2011
Pretty but flawed
The dress fit and would have been perfect, BUT the zipper was damaged and had a ripple effect over my hip. This made the side of my body with the zipper on it look lumpy. So I sent it back.
RTR CustomerOctober 8, 2015
How tall are you? Does it come with a belt?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 10, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this for New Years eve last year. It was very comfortable and fit great. It was very classy, not too short. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
Loved it! Beautiful dress. I normally wear a size 4-6 depending on the brand. I ordered a small and medium for my back up. The medium almost fell off me, and the small was a tiny bit big but overall fit well.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
I thought the dress fit great! It's tight, but only in the right areas. I wore this to a work event and was complimented all night on the dress. It accentuates your curves without being too tight all around. My only suggestion would be to wear very thin underwear, since the fabric isn't ruched on one side and you can see the underwear line. Great dress! I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2011
This is a cute dress, very nicely form fitting. The one complaint I have is that I am 5'4" (not that short!) and it was awkwardly long on me considering my height. I wore a small and the XS would definitely have been too tight! Other than length thought pretty flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, but I was expecting it to run large based on other reviews I had read. Instead, I found the exact opposite -- my biceps did not fit in the sleeves! I do NOT have big arms by any means. Good thing I had also ordered the next size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
This dress is a show stopper and really makes your curves look good. I recently wore it in NYC during fashion week and felt that it did the job. I love her clothes in general she really understands a curvy body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
It looked dressier in the picture. The hem did not hold even and I did not end up wearing it. I also purchased earrings that were too loose and did not wear them as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2011
Wore this to a bachie party - felt super sexy and sassy in it
This dress was extremely hot. I ended up buying it after. I rented a small and petite. The petite fitted best. I agree with the some of the other posts that it is very tight. The most flattering LBD I've had and extremely slimming.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
AWESOME...very slimming, elegant, yet sexy! Catherine Malandrino seems to know how to dress a real woman's body well, and I had a great time in this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2011
Runs a little small - maybe a 1/2 size, which is common with Malandrino's dresses. I normally wear and XS and needs a S. Good thing for back-up sizes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2011
It's not as sexy as it looks on the model - it made me look like I was going to a funeral. Immediate return...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2011
Definitely. Needs spanx. Slightly short too, but fabulous
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2011
I LOOKED AMAZING. Iam a very shaply woman and I was worried that the dress was going to emphasize my mid-section...how wrong was I! I wore a pair of spanx and the dress was perfect. I think the dress would look good on anyone who wears it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2011
Very tight fitting dress all over. Not my favorite, but if you are looking for something very small, this is it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
March 8, 2011
Felt cheap and unfitted, material is thin.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2011
I thought the dress was a little lose and I usually wear a Large in everything. I never thought to get a smaller back up size but I wish I would have. Loved the dress though, just as I thought I would!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
I got this as my primary dress and didn't really care for it. It looked great on a hanger but I just couldn't find anything that I really loved about it. It seemed to emphasize all the wrong spots on my body and hide all the right ones.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2011
I was a little concerned when I first tried on the dress as it was a bit tight. I normally wear a 0 and am flat chested, so I ordered the PS. The dress is short and might have been inappropriate for the event I was wearing it to if not for tights. Also, the zipper creates bulges down the side of the dress. Thank gawd for spanx. It ended up looking cute though. It did have a faint odor of cigarette smoke.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2011
The neckline of this dress is eye catching and gorgeous; however, if you have an ounce of fat on your body, this dress exposes every bit of it -- which is also due to the fact that the seams are oddly placed. The model has her hands on her hip to hide the bulge that the dress creates. Cute dress, would not rent again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2011
I wore this dress to my fiance's birthday dinner and it was fantastic! I wear a size 6/8 and I got the medium and it worked perfectly! It was perfect for colder weather and I would recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011
This dress is really nice, but clingy. I highly recommend wearing it with spanxs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2011
I typically wear a size 0 or XS and weigh 110 lbs. I ordered this dress in a P and S. The Small was a little loose esp in the arms and because of the neck line the shoudlers wouldn't stay in place. I ended up wearing the Petite, but if the arms would have stayed in place on the Small I probably would have worn that it just because I don't typically wear very tight, form-fitting clothes. I don't have a shaply back end and this dress made me look a little more "curvy". A good basic, but stylish black dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2011
I wore this dress for a NYE dinner and it was great for cold weather in Colorado with the sleeves. I usually wear a small (4) in dresses and the small fit in this case. I would have liked to try on the XS though, just to compare. (I rented the M as my backup size - this was my first RTR experience and I was trying to play it safe) I would recommend renting your true size and a size smaller. The ruching hides any flaws and it is a classy dress overall. I'm looking forward to renting from RTR again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2010
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2010
I'm 5'3, medium-sized bust (with padded bra), 128-130 pounds with curves and the size S fit perfectly. I usually wear a size 4-6 (sometimes 8). This is a great dress, at first I thought it would be too simple and got it as a back-up dress but it's perfect. Its the perfect black dress without being too simple. The asymetrical neck and ruching give the dress that extra umpf. I got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
November 20, 2010
Tried on the dress but decided against it since i rented another dress that I liked more. It fit pretty well except it gathered a little bit too much in the back, especially for someone with a butt. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It was one of my last choices because all the dresses I wanted we're unavailable in my size. When I initially was placing the order it was available in the size I needed and a backup size but when I actually selected to check out, the back up was unavailable. I was very uneasy about this but when the dress finally arrived, it fit nicely. The sleeves we're a little stretched out and the dress seemed 'worn' but overall, the dress was a good fit. The dress is very low maintenance and I didn't have to worry about wrinkles. I would not rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 25, 2010
I wore this for a fall wedding and was thrilled with my choice! This dress is classy, sexy, comfortable, and easy to wear. I am usually a size 2 in dresses, but based on the first review I ordered a S and M. The S fit perfectly and the M was much too big -- I'd say it runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
October 15, 2010
I totally disagree with the last reviewer. I wear a size 6 and the medium is loose. I would order a size down as your backup in this style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2010
Skin tight dress for fit girls
This dress is VERY tiny. I rented it in a medium and although it fit, it didn't fit properly. For some reason in the photo, it looks loose on the model but it's very tight. Would not rent again or recommend to a friend unless she was a size 00 or very fit.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×