Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(82)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2011
The neckline of this dress is eye catching and gorgeous; however, if you have an ounce of fat on your body, this dress exposes every bit of it -- which is also due to the fact that the seams are oddly placed. The model has her hands on her hip to hide the bulge that the dress creates. Cute dress, would not rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
March 8, 2011
Felt cheap and unfitted, material is thin.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2011
I LOOKED AMAZING. Iam a very shaply woman and I was worried that the dress was going to emphasize my mid-section...how wrong was I! I wore a pair of spanx and the dress was perfect. I think the dress would look good on anyone who wears it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2011
Definitely. Needs spanx. Slightly short too, but fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
AWESOME...very slimming, elegant, yet sexy! Catherine Malandrino seems to know how to dress a real woman's body well, and I had a great time in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2011
Wore this to a bachie party - felt super sexy and sassy in it
This dress was extremely hot. I ended up buying it after. I rented a small and petite. The petite fitted best. I agree with the some of the other posts that it is very tight. The most flattering LBD I've had and extremely slimming.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
This dress is a show stopper and really makes your curves look good. I recently wore it in NYC during fashion week and felt that it did the job. I love her clothes in general she really understands a curvy body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2011
This is a cute dress, very nicely form fitting. The one complaint I have is that I am 5'4" (not that short!) and it was awkwardly long on me considering my height. I wore a small and the XS would definitely have been too tight! Other than length thought pretty flattering.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
I thought the dress fit great! It's tight, but only in the right areas. I wore this to a work event and was complimented all night on the dress. It accentuates your curves without being too tight all around. My only suggestion would be to wear very thin underwear, since the fabric isn't ruched on one side and you can see the underwear line. Great dress! I highly recommend it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
Loved it! Beautiful dress. I normally wear a size 4-6 depending on the brand. I ordered a small and medium for my back up. The medium almost fell off me, and the small was a tiny bit big but overall fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 10, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this for New Years eve last year. It was very comfortable and fit great. It was very classy, not too short. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
too long!
I'm 5'0" tall and even the petite version was too long. I would recommend this for taller people because it bunches if you're too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
November 28, 2011
I wanted to look sophisticated to the event I attended and Rent the Runway helped me to feel just that!
I almost didn't wear this dress because it just didn't feel right at first and was longer that I had wanted, but I did receive many compliments and the dress was very flattering. I was looking for a classy dress to wear and this was perfect for that. Not my favorite rental though. Zipper puckered on the side a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Love the neckline
This is a cute little black dress. The fit was perfect. I wore it with a normal black bra even though the straps showed. I usually don't like that but I felt it worked here. Felt great wearing it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2011
Sexy Simple Black Dress
I wore this dress to an "All Black Party" on black Friday. I am a petite girl with a very curvy figure. I love how this dress accentuated my best assets. The length was a little too long for me but, I just wore a higher heel to elongate my legs.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2011
disappointed
The waist was too loose compared to the other areas where it fit good, I think its due to prior uses of the dress by women of different body types. It was also a bit too long for my 5'4 statute. I had to use pins for the waist and shorten the length. Also one of the sides of the dress kept falling down the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2011
Very nice
Wore it for an office party. Sexy but appropriate for the event. Wore a small and it was a little tight - I had a little bunching on the sides - but the medium just looked awful. I usually wear between a 4-6. would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 29, 2011
Great for Large Busts
This dress was perfect for my trip to Vegas. I'm a 36DD and it was perfect for my bustline. Usually, I'm frantically searching for a dress that doesn't make me look larger. This was actually flattering. Someone else in a posting mentioned that the zipper doesn't lay flat on your body and they were correct. Keep that in mind because I was pulling the pucker down all night.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
I got compliments all night and felt great in this dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. it was perfect with the long sleeves for winter and it was super comfortable. I was worried about the fit, thought it might be too tight but it was very flattering. Loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2012
Pretty, but worn
Got many compliments on this dress, but the length was longer than expected. I'm 5' 9", and the dress was knee length - much longer than I expected based on the description. This may just have been because it was slightly worn out. Also, the small back-up dress had a tattered hem. Overall, pretty, even tough not exactly what I was expecting.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2012
This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 30, 2012
Flattering Fit
The cut and fit were flattering, and it was true to size. I wore it for my friends bachelorette party and even after a long night it was still comfortable at the end of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2012
Stunning dress
This dress is amazingly flattering and sexy. The neckline is striking and glamorous. The dress is VERY form-fitting though, and although it is flattering the material is not very forgiving so spanx may be necessary to smooth out any bumps. The zipper puckers a lot which I didn't like but at an evening event or in dim lighting I doubt anyone would notice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Very flattering!
This dress is great for any body type. Thr rouching gives smaller girls great curves while giving curvier girls smooth lines. It is the perfect LBD! It is simple enough for dinner but sassy enough for a crazy night out, Very comfortable, and everything stays in place!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
When I saw this picture of me I was happy because I looked exactly how I wanted to.
This dress was perfect for my party it fit great and it was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Looked good, but I did not like the sleeves or ruching
Fits tight, ruching was a bit uncomfortable.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 19, 2012
Almost perfect
The side zipper puckered at the waist and made it look like I had a fat roll on one side, but otherwise the dress was extremely flattering, fit well, and didn't ride up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous.
My friend wore this...unique neckline and short length balanced out the 3/4 length sleeves...ruching was so flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Poorly placed zipper...
I rented this dress for a party, and I was really hoping it would have fit better than it did :( It's beautiful in the photos, but the zipper is placed on the side of the dress, causing a strange ripple to occur on one side. It makes you appear to have a roll on one side of your body, and bunched up with the slightest movement. It went straight back to RTR...I'm glad I rented a backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 215lbs
October 22, 2012
Not quite what I was hoping for
The dress was nice, but not for me. The material was more shiny, and a bit cheaper feeling that I expected. The rouching did not help hide anything, but rather accentuated some parts I did not want accentuated. I am shorter with an athletic/curvy shape, so perhaps on someone taller and longer the dress would have been better. The dress itself, though, was in excellent shape, so well done RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was tight but very flattering!
I loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Fits the curves just right
n/a
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
Very flattering fit, fits quite close to body.
Fits close to the body, very nice sleek fit. Rucching on sides helps conceal any potential flaws
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved the way I looked in this dress for Valentine's day. He told me I should buy it!
I loved the neckline and the snug fit. The ruching helped cover any areas that needed some camouflage. My only negative would be the length. I wished it was a bit shorter, but I have short legs. I'm 5'3 and it hit right above the knee.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
This is my 5th rental from RTR and the only time that I did not wear the dress.
The dress fit fine but I did not wear it fo the following reasons. 1. The side zipper on this fitted dress tended to pucker when moving. 2. The material looked inexpensive. 3. Did not like the mix of smooth & ruched material, especially the ruching on the derriere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2013
Fantastic dress! Great fit, solid material.
This dress will probably fit well on MOST body types. The gathered sides are very slimming and comfortable. The material was light but not too thin, and the dressed moves well with you. Minimal skirt-pulling-down action. I have an athletic build, larger arms and thighs, and this still fit and looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
Great fit!!!!!!!
I loved the fit of this dress, It runs true to size, I got tons of compliments and my hubby loved it as well....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
Love it so much...THAT I BOUGHT IT.
Beyond obsessed with this dress. Loved it so much when I rented it that I ended up buying it when RTR did a sale.
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2013
Sexy, yet sophisticated
I ordered the dress in a Petite and a Small. The small was a little bit more loose on me and came right above my knee. The Petite hit mid thigh and was much more fitted to my body. They only complaint I have is that the zipper on the side puckered a little. I thought it was because maybe the dress was too small, but the Small also puckered on the zipper. It was conservative enough that I didn't stand out in a bad way, but it was sexy enough that I felt youthful and fun.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Very flattering dress!
Fit like a glove! I got a lot of complements on it!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×