Catherine Malandrino

Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

114 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 81
Large 11
Photos 27
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Sep 7, 2011

Wore this to a bachie party - felt super sexy and sassy in it

Size worn: P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was extremely hot. I ended up buying it after. I rented a small and petite. The petite fitted best. I agree with the some of the other posts that it is very tight. The most flattering LBD I've had and extremely slimming.
Hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Nov 28, 2011

I wanted to look sophisticated to the event I attended and Rent the Runway helped me to feel just that!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I almost didn't wear this dress because it just didn't feel right at first and was longer that I had wanted, but I did receive many compliments and the dress was very flattering. I was looking for a classy dress to wear and this was perfect for that. Not my favorite rental though. Zipper puckered on the side a bit too.
Lane
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

I got compliments all night and felt great in this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. it was perfect with the long sleeves for winter and it was super comfortable. I was worried about the fit, thought it might be too tight but it was very flattering. Loved it!
Johanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
Johanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

This dress had everyone in awe! Got a lot of compliments and pictures taken.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am a size 5 (juniors) with wide hips and small fit perfect. I was expecting the dress to be a bit tighter around my thighs but the design of the dress complimented it enough. I was very comfortable and never found myself having to pull the dress down throughout the night.
Canice
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 2, 2012

When I saw this picture of me I was happy because I looked exactly how I wanted to.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my party it fit great and it was super comfortable.
Cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Super Hot, perfect for blacktie optional

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so easy to wear! Its October that time of year where you hate showing too much of you recently paled skin, and this dress showed that I had a body without showing too much of that body. Definitely size down, the medium was falling off of me.
LUVNLAF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Slimming but...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I actually have rented this dress before and loved it though I never wore it... When I ordered it this time I was SO excited becasue I remember feelign sleek and fabulous when I had originally tried it on... This past time I felt slightly self-conscious because I am all about clean lines if they're intended and the zipper DID pucler and ripple! I am a very regular medium. I suppose to avoid this next time order a slightly larger size. THAT BEING SAID! I got a lot of compliments from everyone, so likely my own fixation on the zipper didn't come across to the rest of the party, and I wowed em at work!
Jessica M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

There were a couple fit issues, but it looked great!

Size worn: P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm a petite gal who is also quite short-waisted. I rented this dress for an NYE dinner and rented both a Petite and a Small. The Petite was snug in the boob and waist area and the small was quite large in the shoulders. I decided to go with the Petite (and spanx), and some hollywood tape was required to keep the left shoulder up. The overall look was great, and I received many compliments!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2013

Very flattering fit, fits quite close to body.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits close to the body, very nice sleek fit. Rucching on sides helps conceal any potential flaws
Ronda
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

FABULOUS Dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a Mercedes Benz Fashion Week show. It travelled VERY well from DC to NY. It was comfortable and flattering. Its a very versatile dress also- could be dressed up or down.
Relly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2013

The best body slimming LBD!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented the L and M ended up wearing the M w/o Spanx too. My fave detail of the dress was the asymmetrical neckline. An easy LBD to accessorize. Wish I could have kept it in my closet. Thanks RTR for your help!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Not flattering or comfortable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited for this dress because the other reviews were mostly great. When I received the dress, though (in size small and medium), neither size fit at all. The dresses weren't necessarily too big or too small, but they were just awkwardly cut. The zipper on the side puckered and didn't lay flat. The material was scratchy. I ended up not wearing the dress. It's too bad because all of my other rentals have been perfect!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

LOVE this dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I owned this dress- it's amazing, I felt spectacular all night! TTS, didn't need spanx, tons of compliments- killer.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

FABULOUS!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very flattering. It hides your tummy and makes you look lean and curvy! I received lots of compliments!
SBI
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Sophisticated twist on the LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is sophisticated without being stuffy- the asymmetrical neckline makes the dress just that much more interesting and exciting. It's also a tad hard to tell in the pictures, but the ruching does a good job of showing off your figure while hiding any imperfections you may have. I found that because I am pretty curvy, the dress fell nicely above my knee. The only thing that made me knock a star off was really the fit of the neckline- I have small shoulders and found that the shoulders of the dress would slip off occasionally if I wasn't careful. But overall a great rental! As my husband put it- he wanted to know if I could "buy the runway" after he saw this on me : )
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Cute, but didn't work for me

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This looked great on, but the shoulders kept slipping off, so I didn't wind up wearing it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

This a great dress. It's sexy while at the same time classy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is also comfortable and easy to wear. It is a body-con dress, so I do recommend a little added help from Spanx or something similar. The ruching helps, but the side panel is smooth. My husband loved the dress and I felt very confident and comfortable in it - a definite recommend.
Gina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Husband loved this dress & I felt great in it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove! I ordered the S and P and ended up wearing the small- the ruching on this dress is what makes it incredibly flattering, you can bunch it up for a shorter skirt or pull it down for a more modest length. Loved this dress!!
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Super Cute!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really like this dress --it is super flattering on the waist, legs, bust, etc. The only cut that isn't flattering is side angle booty. Other than that, rent away!
Gisele
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Everyone LOVED my dress..

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the large and extra large wasn't sure which one would fit. The XL was greaaatt!!! Fit perfect. Thanks RTR
FashionAddict
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Ah-maz-ing

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is great if you are concerned about having a bit of a tummy. It's flattering and classy. Loved it.
Al
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 5, 2014

The style was great and I wanted to love it but it just wore too tight

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It seemed a little cheap for the event I was wearing it to. Overall too fitted and not in a classy structured way.
Dorothy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Not the dress for me!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is for someone looking for a sexy clubbing dress as opposed to attending a classy event. I ordered the xs which was way too small in the sleeves and too short and also the small which was falling off on the top. I had to return. This would look great on someone with a fuller figure which is not me.
Cheri
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

The dress is amazing, but you really need the spans undies with it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Good fit!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

I wore the dress for a good friend's bachelorette party in NYC.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It hugged every curve perfectly!
a.k
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
May 5, 2014

felt very comfortable.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. It was so comfortable and very slimming! It was so comfortable that I rented it a second time for another wedding I had several months later. This is definitely my go to dress for default.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 13, 2014

Nice dress but a little too dressy for what I was renting it for.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It fit tight but not too uncomfortable. Runs a little small
Whit
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 29, 2014

Great dress, but needs accessories

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as a back up for a wedding and while I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great fit. I just didn't have the right accessories to take it from funeral to wedding. If you have curves, the ruching along the waist is VERY flattering (and forgiving) but I'd be sure you've got a fun pop of color in the shoes or necklace to avoid feeling too somber.
GG
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Formal Event in Southern CA

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the small and should have definitely gotten the P. The dress ran a little big and it was just a bit too roomy but still looked ok. I got lots of compliments on the dress and it was sexy but still classy. Again, I wish I had gotten the smallest size because it could have fit a lot more snug but overall I was happy with the dress, however I wouldn't order it again.
Janette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

This dress is absolutely beautiful. I felt very sexy for my date with my husband.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fitted and very comfortable!
lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

bunches if you have a short abdomen

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I don't have a long torso so this dress bunched in the most unflattering ways. It was so bad I couldnt wear it. Wasted rental
RTR Customer
Aug 12, 2014

Didn't get to wear it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The small was too big and the Xs was too short
RTR Customer
Sep 18, 2014

Great customer service

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Eh didn't really like it . Didn't feel pretty in it . Thought it was going to be way sexier .
Ericka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Cute dress but really right in my arms and wasn't super flattering on my body type

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too tight in the arms and shorter than I expected
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

The dress fit perfect. i received a lot of compliments on it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Its a tight fit. i felt that at the zipper it bunched a little bit. I also recommend using fashion tape at the shoulders. This dress was great for the occasion.
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Funky asymmetric top, great look with tights and booties for winter partying!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
Pretty LBD. VERY snug! My hips are pretty wide so I ended up wearing the medium so it would fit better over my hips but the small fit better on the top half. Wore with tights and booties for cold weather fun! Recommend spanx for a more slim silhouette.
Valerie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Wore this to my office holiday party & received so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
At first I was not sure if I liked the dress. The fit is a bit unusual, the bottom of the dress is very fitted, but stretchy. I would say almost a size S/M on bottom, but the shoulders are more a size L. I am a 32DD so I think that helped with the fit of the upper body, but even still I had to pin the shoulders to my bra straps. That bring said, once I fixed the shoulder issue, the dress fit absolutely perfectly, was a great length for an office party (slightly above knee, I am 5'2 and wore 2 1/2" heels) so it ended up being the perfect dress. I would highly recommend this dress especially of you are an hou-glass figure and/or larger on top and smaller on bottom. The ruching really slimmed my tummy area. I thought you could see the waistband of my nylons, but when I looked at photos later, you totally could not see them. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

This wasn't really a great dress.

Size worn: P
Rented for: Party
If I had gotten home just an hour earlier, I would have called RTR to return this dress and see if I could get another one overnighted. The fit is just...odd. The sleeves are tight but not overly tight. The material is thinner than I expected; it feels pretty cheap. The ruching isn't flattering and the vertical seam is just bizarre. It didn't fit in a way that made sense. I ended up squeezing in to the P just because the zipper didn't pucker as much (that and the S had an odd, unpleasant smell). It took forever to take a semi-flattering picture in this dress. It can be done, but I'd skip this rental. The neckline was cool though. It looked good when I wore a jacket over it (which is pretty damning for a dress).
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Stunning black dress with a lot of character

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, really hugs the body
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×