Catherine Malandrino

Sultry Body-Slimming Shift

$70 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Flatter your figure in this ruched style from Catherine Malandrino. With it's asymmetric neckline, you'll elongate your look and be ready for that special date night out. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Gold Chain Effect Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching fabric conceals midsection though consider wearing with SPANX for additional cinch around waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

116 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 82
Large 11
Photos 28
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

FABULOUS!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very flattering. It hides your tummy and makes you look lean and curvy! I received lots of compliments!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Not flattering or comfortable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited for this dress because the other reviews were mostly great. When I received the dress, though (in size small and medium), neither size fit at all. The dresses weren't necessarily too big or too small, but they were just awkwardly cut. The zipper on the side puckered and didn't lay flat. The material was scratchy. I ended up not wearing the dress. It's too bad because all of my other rentals have been perfect!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
.
P.J.
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

This is a great black dress! After wearing it I wanted to buy it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit true to size and was really flattering; it's simple yet chic. It was perfect for the November wedding in NYC I wore it to, but I likely wouldn't wear it during warmer months.
Alex
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Very flattering dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove! I got a lot of complements on it!
Deborah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 31, 2013

Great dress that I wouldn't buy on my own.

Size worn: P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The neckline is wide.
Jasmine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Sexy, yet sophisticated

Size worn: P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the dress in a Petite and a Small. The small was a little bit more loose on me and came right above my knee. The Petite hit mid thigh and was much more fitted to my body. They only complaint I have is that the zipper on the side puckered a little. I thought it was because maybe the dress was too small, but the Small also puckered on the zipper. It was conservative enough that I didn't stand out in a bad way, but it was sexy enough that I felt youthful and fun.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Love it so much...THAT I BOUGHT IT.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beyond obsessed with this dress. Loved it so much when I rented it that I ended up buying it when RTR did a sale.
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

Great fit!!!!!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fit of this dress, It runs true to size, I got tons of compliments and my hubby loved it as well....
Vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Great back up

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress I wanted didn't work out. So glad I picked this as a back up. Very flattering and forgiving!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

1st time I used RTR & I love it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I have Full D breasts & it did feel a bit tight there. Otherwise, hot dress!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Fantastic dress! Great fit, solid material.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress will probably fit well on MOST body types. The gathered sides are very slimming and comfortable. The material was light but not too thin, and the dressed moves well with you. Minimal skirt-pulling-down action. I have an athletic build, larger arms and thighs, and this still fit and looked great.
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 23, 2013

This is my 5th rental from RTR and the only time that I did not wear the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit fine but I did not wear it fo the following reasons. 1. The side zipper on this fitted dress tended to pucker when moving. 2. The material looked inexpensive. 3. Did not like the mix of smooth & ruched material, especially the ruching on the derriere.
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

It was a cute dress - not as forgiving as I had hoped

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
THe dress was cute, i love any long sleeved dress that isn't dowdy. Wasn't my favorite
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

My boyfriend loved the way I looked in this dress for Valentine's day. He told me I should buy it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved the neckline and the snug fit. The ruching helped cover any areas that needed some camouflage. My only negative would be the length. I wished it was a bit shorter, but I have short legs. I'm 5'3 and it hit right above the knee.
Anisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2013

LOVE IT!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing!
ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Just OK

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was adorable on the model, but for some reason the shape of the dress didn't flatter my top half. Smaller chested girls might find that this doesn't give them the curves they hope in this dress. The neckline was interesting, it was true to size, but just not my favorite.
kuta-san
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2012

Fits the curves just right

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
n/a
Coco
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 13, 2012

i didnt wear it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I LOVED THIS DRESS, however i didn't wear it because the medium was just too small for me. i think if i had had a large it might have fit my chest, an important note about this dress is that it has a kind of funky detail on the chest that runs across the middle of one boob and it flattened mine out, im going to try and rent it again in a larger size and see if it would fit better. it was the perfect size every where else except my chest.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

I wore a fabulous dress but not from you!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a going out clubbing dress, not an elegant affair dress, unless you are extremely tall & thin with amazing legs! I am 5'2" and 105 pounds. The Petite, was inappropriately short & tight, and the small was too big.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2012

Very comfy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The zipper puckered on the side which made my hips look a lot wider than they should! It was a very comfy dress but chose to wear my back-up dress as I didn't find this one flattering.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Perfect fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits well, great quality AND its comfy -- people were hugging me all night and loved the feel of the dress. I was celebrating a very sentimental ocassion -- making it out of chemo. And although I wasn't feeling my best and had no hair, the dress helped me to look like I was the most beautiful woman in the room. Would highly recommend.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

A bit vampy...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had ordered the red version of this dress but since it was out of stock, this came as a replacement. I figured you can't go wrong with black, but it's a shiny, almost lycra-looking material. It looked very costume-y, and sort of matronly as well. I sent it back and was overnighted a new dress that I ended up loving even more than my original choice. No complaints from me, RTR has some of the best customer service around!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

This dress was tight but very flattering!

Size worn: P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved it
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

No go

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Just wasn't the right dress for me. Pretty, but not me.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Not quite what I was hoping for

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was nice, but not for me. The material was more shiny, and a bit cheaper feeling that I expected. The rouching did not help hide anything, but rather accentuated some parts I did not want accentuated. I am shorter with an athletic/curvy shape, so perhaps on someone taller and longer the dress would have been better. The dress itself, though, was in excellent shape, so well done RTR!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

looked like a diva!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
runs true to size, very comfortable and it makes your curves look nice. I loved the dress
Amanda E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Poorly placed zipper...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party, and I was really hoping it would have fit better than it did :( It's beautiful in the photos, but the zipper is placed on the side of the dress, causing a strange ripple to occur on one side. It makes you appear to have a roll on one side of your body, and bunched up with the slightest movement. It went straight back to RTR...I'm glad I rented a backup!
holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Gorgeous.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My friend wore this...unique neckline and short length balanced out the 3/4 length sleeves...ruching was so flattering!
Jen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Almost perfect

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The side zipper puckered at the waist and made it look like I had a fat roll on one side, but otherwise the dress was extremely flattering, fit well, and didn't ride up.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2012

Looked good, but I did not like the sleeves or ruching

Size worn: P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fits tight, ruching was a bit uncomfortable.
dressmepretty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 2, 2012

feel short of expectations

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually adore every dress that I rent, but this wasn't my cup of tea. I don't think the cut was flattering for my body type and the fabric wasn't what I expected. Overall I was a little disappointed. I found the dress to run narrow across bust which made it impossible for me to wear.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Ehh

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wasn't a big fan of the rouching. It was a bit combersome. However, I love the off the shoulder . Only down side is that the other should kept dropping too. Perhaps, I am too short for this dress? I loved the shirt portion and the length.
Skylar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 17, 2012

Very flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is great for any body type. Thr rouching gives smaller girls great curves while giving curvier girls smooth lines. It is the perfect LBD! It is simple enough for dinner but sassy enough for a crazy night out, Very comfortable, and everything stays in place!
Julianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Mar 25, 2012

Stunning dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazingly flattering and sexy. The neckline is striking and glamorous. The dress is VERY form-fitting though, and although it is flattering the material is not very forgiving so spanx may be necessary to smooth out any bumps. The zipper puckers a lot which I didn't like but at an evening event or in dim lighting I doubt anyone would notice.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 30, 2012

Fantastic dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I've rented this dress twice. I am a large 38 DD and this dress has plenty of room. It is very comfortable to wear and very slimming. I love this dress.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jan 30, 2012

Flattering Fit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The cut and fit were flattering, and it was true to size. I wore it for my friends bachelorette party and even after a long night it was still comfortable at the end of the night.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 20, 2012

Great Dress, Super Flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a friend's birthday out in Atlantic City. Loved the fit, very flattering. I am normally a size 6 or 8 and wore a small. The neckline is super cute, although it is hard to raise your arms up high over your head. I would recommend renting this dress!
Nora
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Pretty, but worn

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got many compliments on this dress, but the length was longer than expected. I'm 5' 9", and the dress was knee length - much longer than I expected based on the description. This may just have been because it was slightly worn out. Also, the small back-up dress had a tattered hem. Overall, pretty, even tough not exactly what I was expecting.
GeauxGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Great for Large Busts

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was perfect for my trip to Vegas. I'm a 36DD and it was perfect for my bustline. Usually, I'm frantically searching for a dress that doesn't make me look larger. This was actually flattering. Someone else in a posting mentioned that the zipper doesn't lay flat on your body and they were correct. Keep that in mind because I was pulling the pucker down all night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×