Catherine Malandrino

Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

155 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 125
Large 4
Photos 42
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Very Sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is very flattering and ultra sexy! You will not regret this one if you want to look sexy. The fabric is thin, but not too thin that you can see through it. The fabric is puckered in all the right places so that you don't have to worry either!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a holiday party at the four seasons. So chic and beautiful - a unique dress. Runs small and short and is slightly see thru but a beautiful dress ! Order a size up. Also I couldn't wear a bra with this but the chest was form fitting and held my boobs up! I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I can wear both and I wore the bigger size solely for the length!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read most of the reviews for this dress and decided to get it for a wedding. It is true that the fabric at the bottom of the dress is very shear and kind of cheap looking. But overall I felt great in it, very form fitting, and it is my boyfriends favorite dress that I have rented.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Thin fabric

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately the fabric of this dress was very thin and did not make me feel great about wearing it. I ended up returning the dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received sooo many compliments on this dress! It fit true to size and made me look a little more curvy than I am (in a good way!). The material is a little more sheer/thin than I hoped, but not in an inconvenient way.
Vaughn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

Fun party dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size; except the shoulder strap slipped a bit. Cute and sexy.
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Flattering, Comfortable, Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dear RTR, thank you for providing me with a dress that made me stand out among a crowd of polished, beautiful people. This dress was very comfortable and fun to wear. I received more complements than I could list. I felt the dress was slightly thin so I was worried about exposing myself, but that didn't happen. Considering how lightweight, this is a perfect dress for a hot summer night or a party where you know you will spend the time on the dance floor!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Pretty but flimsy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks very pretty, but the material is thin, so be sure to wear something under it. Very flattering tho and gets lots of compliments.
Kelte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

This dress was so flattering and such a hit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The black is very flattering and the dress hugged curves in all the right places!
essa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Sep 20, 2012

gorgeous dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfect fit! :)
Jojo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Sep 22, 2012

Nice dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very pretty. I loved how nice it looked on me. I ended up not wearring it because my bf loved my back up dress better on me for the wedding we were attending.
Seneca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Basic, comfortable and wedding appropriate.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit very well. The ruffled strap can be adjusted up or down which is a nice function. I would rent again when in a pinch. It was slightly longer than I'd prefer but overall a solid choice for formal wear.
Dana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I just adore this dress. If only I could make it my go to LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The construction of this dress gave my 5'0'' petite frame the curves I've always wanted! The hem hit me just above the knee, which I loved and the one shoulder design made this a fun and unique LBD. I couldn't have asked for a better dress :)
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Perfect Bachelorette Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had the best night on the town in this dress! It is so fun and is an awesome twist on the LBD! LOVE!
Mckenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

HOLY 80's!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I ordered this dress, I was not expecting the ruffle on the dress to be so 80s! The ruffle is a sheer material that has a wire of some sort of the edges. I expected to be able to bend the wire to make the ruffle lay flat or go in a certain direction, but nope, so the ruffle was all over the place! One thing that may work if you do end up ordering this dress is steaming the ruffle; I never tried it, but hey its worth a shot! If the dress didn't have the ruffle, then it would be a flattering black dress, but the ruffle makes it a little odd.
Sonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Nov 1, 2012

Didn't end up wearing this

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a little too risque for a wedding, particularly one in a church and probably for a lot of more formal black tie events.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 11, 2012

Very pretty dress - a little sheer, though.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very sexy. It was shorter than I expected and I was wearing it to a wedding so I was a little nervous at first but...it turned out to be a hit! I did have to strategically place my purse in front of my dress since it was very sheer but by evening, all was good and I felt great in this beautiful dress.
Brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

I wore this for my sisters rehearsal dinner and got compliments on my great dress throughout night !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size, but a bit slim.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2012

The dress fit perfectly and is so stylish.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've rented this dress twice now for weddings and have gotten tons of compliments. The fit is fantastic and while it's black, the ruffle makes the dress visually interesting. The material is thin enough that I've felt more comfortable wearing spanx underneath, but you could go either way.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
Nov 21, 2012

This dress was more upscale than many of the ones that the wedding guests wore.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt that I had the 2nd best dress in the room. The bride was #1 of course. I should have used the adhesive that was included because the rufffles rolled in the wrong direction all night, but I still felt sexy and beautiful. My dress was sent to the hotel due to time constraints and it worked out perfectly.
snow
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I worn it to my rehearsal dinner and received lots of compliments. Fit perfectly.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

I did love the dress but it came with a hole in it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The hole was stitched up poorly and never should have been sent to me. It's great dress but I think a little cheaply made. I got compliments though.
VBT
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Felt stylish, comfortable, and received many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 4 and 6 and decided to wear the 6 for a bit more length, since I wore this to an engagement party for my sister in law.
Farah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Nov 26, 2012

Looked nice, but the material was very flimsy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear at a good friend's wedding. I was still in between sizes after having a baby and I was desparate for something sexy and fun to make me feel my age. The dress was a little bit big, but I managed to make it work.This dress looked really cute in the picture,but when I got it I was so disapointed with the material. It was super flimsy. This was my back up dress, and I'm glad I had it b/c the other dress I ordered fit oddly. However, I probably would recommend trying to find something thats a little sturdier. I had allover shapewear that I could wear under it, but if I didn't I would have been in big trouble. It was so shear that I'm sure you could have seen right through it otherwise. All in all a very cute dress that runs a little large and is a bit shearer than expected.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

See through

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was fine but I couldn't wear the dress because you could see right through it!
Madeline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Smokin is Right

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to an event for New Years Eve in Miami and also at formal recruitment for my sorority. The fabric is thin, but the ruching is constructed expertly and it flatters. Due to the ruching and the thin fabric though, the bottom portion of the dress is a bit tighter than you might expect - it stretches obviously, but if you are self conscious about your bottom half you might steer clear of this dress. I loved it though! Thanks RTR!
claudia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Beautiful dress, i got lots of complements at the wedding and very comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
A little tight but flexible, very sexy and no need to use collar , just some bold earrings.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Beautiful dress, but a little sheer in the back.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I went with the back up dress instead, but this dress was still really gorgeous! THe only issue is that the dress is thin and a tad sheer in the back. I recommend wearing panty hose with this dress.
ramona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Beautiful dress but wrong material!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and was unable to wear it because the material was not flattering at all! It is very thin, so it made me appear bigger than I was since it sat on the body very poorly. It was difficult to wear a strapless bra or any undies with it because it showed throught so much and it was not the kind of dress you could go pantyless in! I was very disappointed and sent the dress back right away and got credit to rent a different one!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Beautiful twist on a classic LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was lightweight, form-fitting but not overly tight, and I loved the way the twist of the single strap. Beautiful dress that I would consider renting again.
Brea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

I'm 5'1 and 105lbs. I wore a size 2 and loved the way it fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black time ball and got a bunch of complements. The dress fit awesome and the way it kind of bunched over the stomach hid anything I was not very proud of.
Bunny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Fit perfectly and was very flattering while being comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress, very classy. Only downside was that the shoulder strap tended to move around and I had to adjust it every so often.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 2, 2013

Once again arrived on time!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'9 and wore this with 4 inch heels. It was very short on me with the heels on!!! I also found the size 10 to be very tight in the hips. I had to go up a size to 12, and then the strap was too big and kept falling down. Gorgeous dress, but I did some creative pinning to keep it in place.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Loved the dress! Comfy, too!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a very easy dress to manage and it worked so well all through the night! Would wear again for sure!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 24, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress wasn't in great condition... was uncomfortable too. Maybe I could have used a bigger size. It ran a little small. Didn't wear it
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 11, 2013

One of the stylists recommended this dress to me, it was fabulous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly, I would never have chosen from the picture, but it is so much more exciting in person. You really need to see it for yourself. The only complaint i have is the trim around the bottom feels constrictive, but it looks so cute on you don't really care.
Rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

One of the most beautiful dresses I ever wore.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not too short. Covered everything I needed it to for a formal party. I was caught under dressed for it last year but not this year!
Susi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Perfect fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally have a difficult time finding a dress to fit like a glove but this one certainly did the job! Its beautiful and elegant, the fabric offers a slight stretch and good quality fabric. It is a little sheer but not obvious. It's the perfect dress for an elegant night.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Pretty Black Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great spin on a LBD. I wore it to a wedding and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 4, but had to go a size up to be more comfortable in the bust area. If you are large busted I would suggest sizing up.
Ayetea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Incredibly flattering and comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Received compliments all night (sometimes multiple times from the same person)! The side/elastic shoulder worked particularly well for a petite person, and the ruching/rufflling really flatters curves - and gives the impression of more.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×