Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
Lot's of complements
I wore it to a bacherolette party and received lot's of complements. This is a very sexy dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2012
Didn't love
I wore this dress to a black tie event, but I wouldn't recommend it for even a cocktail party. The dress felt really cheap and thin. I can't imagine why this dress would ever retail for as much as it does. I felt really cheap and kind of trashy. I'm not a modest person and love showing off my figure, but this dress looked like it came from Forever 21. It is true to size, but if you have a large chest proportional to your figure you might want to size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 23, 2012
Overall, a nice dress
I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4. Honestly, the only difference between the two (that I noticed) was that on the 2 the shoulder strap was a bit tighter, so I figured I would be able to move my arm more comfortably in the larger size. Getting the shoulder strap to look right was also a little challenging.....but all in all I was happy with this dress. The entire rental experience was seamless and I would DEFINITELY rent from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 12, 2012
All of the compliments on recieved on the dress and how affordable it was to rent the dress + accessories
I wore this dress to a formal black tie dinner. I received many compliments on the dress! I decided to wear it as a one shoulder instead of pulling the ruffles and material down as shown in the RTR picture. The ruffles flowed together perfectly and I felt much more comfortable with it up. The dress runs VERY true to size! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2012
My husband loved the dress so much, he asked if there was an option to buy.
This was my first rental and I was nervous, but very pleasantly surprised with how well the dress fit and how positive the entire experience was. This dress was beautiful and sexy and fit like a glove... my husband asked if there was an option to buy :) I am short (5'2") and curvy, and wear b/t an 8-10. After reading the very helpful reviews I ordered a 10 and 12 in this dress, and the 12 fit perfectly. The bottom hit about 2 inches above my knee so I was able to still wear spanx. Spent under $100 and felt like a million bucks! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
February 4, 2012
Great dress
This was a very elegant black dress. I rented for a formal black tie event and felt great in it. The dress is pure silk and very thin. You may consider spanx or something similar to wear underneath for support if needed and to function as a slip. It was slightly see through at the skirt. Great dress overall!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 2, 2012
Hum, just looking fabulous.
The dress fit like a glove. I added a little flare with a belt and it enhanced my look. I received a great deal of compliments and did recommend your site. I absolutely love your site and glad I came across this. I love buying dresses and also taking pictures but I won't wear the dress again if I've taken a picture. Your site helps with that. I can wear the dress, take a picture, send it back and not waste any money. Thanks a bunch, I will definitely rent again.
KathrynNovember 6, 2012
That belt sets it off! Gorgeous--where did you find it?
lilaAugust 23, 2013
Thanks, belt came from express
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 31, 2012
This dress and Emily saved me!
guys, so i had rented the Nicole miller lace dress, which was stolen from my building door (crazy super scary, UPS left it outside) and from days to my event and full residency duties there was no way i would have time to go get another dress. Ive called RTR and one of the stylist Emily (she was amazing!) was able to overnight me this amazing dress and the party was saved and my reputation for fabulous designs when not in scrubs :-) heads up: make sure to ask for a signature delivery if u r ordering thru ups, is the only way to protect yourself. about the dress - amazing looks, totally cool. about RTR - will definitely use it again. love the experience. about help from the stylist Emily - she ROCKED! enjoy ur fashion, C
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 6, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I rented this dress as my back up for new year's eve & didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful on. My husband was very torn about which I should wear, but this one, although nice & short, was more on the "pretty" side and the other one I rented was more "sexy." The fabric of this dress is soft and super comfortable. This could easiely be worn for a more casual evening out or black tie wedding. I will definitely rent this one again to wear out!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2012
Classy
This was my first RTR rental. I wore it to a NYE wedding and felt beautiful and classy. The dress was a little shorter on me than it appears in the photograph but overall a great rental.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 5, 2012
STUNNING!
This dress really turns heads. It's classy, extremely flattering, and comfortable. Like many other reviewers said, the picture does not do this dress justice. On me, the dress was a little shorter than in the photograph, and it was fine with a strapless bra. Because of the placement of the ruffles and ruching, the dress really enhances your curves. I would recommend it for almost any body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2012
NYE dress simple and beautiful
This dress is great on a curvy body but it's definitely not stretchy. I was limited in my range of walking movement and bending over but it was not big deal, I could still dance. It looks great, better with spanx as its definitely form fitting. It's not the most comfortable dress but it did the job!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
My favorite little black dress
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
I received so many compliments on how flattering this dress was! How could I really choose one over another!
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 21, 2011
I want to buy this dress!!!
I wore this to our company holiday party and received compliments left and right! It accentuates curves and was neither too short or too long. It is a bit sheer though, which is fine around this time of the year since I wore it with tights. My husband wanted me to buy it!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2011
I loved how easy renting can be! I didn't have to deal with a trip to the cleaners or the post office. The fact that you are given two dress sizes make second guessing less of a stressor.
I wore this dress to a holiday party and everyone kept telling me how much they loved the it! I am 5'2 and weigh about 105lbs and the Size 2 had a form fit and hugged my curves while still being forgiving enough in the abdominal area to endulge in the food at the party. I had two dresses to choose from and the five people I asked, unanimously chose this one. I honestly felt like the best dressed girl at the party. You can't go wrong with this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 19, 2011
Even before I left home, I felt amazing.
I wore this for a night out to the Theater and fancy schmany dinner with my man... I felt like a million bucks! The material is very thin, it's silk, so make sure you wear a long coat. I wore the shoulder piece with the ruffles up, unlike the picture. Also I normally wear a size 10, it fit, but I just felt more comfortable in the 12 and there is overall stretch, so it still hugged in the right places. There is rouching on the butt, so it kinda gives room for your butt when you sit down. The ruffles help hide any flaws. Loved the dress!! It was my first RTR dress and won't be my last!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2011
AMAZING DRESS
This dress is so hot, I want to own it and tried to find it online after I wore it(unsuccessful). It was a show stopper for sure. I wore the 4, the 2 was too short, the 4 was almost perfect. I wouldn't have minded if it was a little snugger in the trunk, but to be fair, I just wasn't filling it out as well as others. It was perfect for my work Christmas party. I wanted to live in this dress for all 4 days. It was really amazing, I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Slightly see-through
This was a romantic and beautiful dress I wore for a more formal fashion event. I wore it with a stick-on "bra" as it didn't really work with my strapless one. It's slightly see-through at the bottom so try and wear it with a skirt slip.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2011
I want to buy this dress
I love it! It fits true to size. I wear a 4 in "street clothes" and the 6 was perfect. Seriously, though... when can I buy this dress from RTR?
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2011
Amazing surprise!
I rented this dress as a backup to a floor length gown for a black tie preferred wedding in NYC. When I received my rentals I was so surprised by how much I loved this dress! I wound up wearing this instead of my initial choice. It flatters curves and hides any problem areas. It was sexy and classy. The fabric is thin and comfortable, great for dancing. I received so many compliments! Considering renting again for a December wedding in DC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2011
Definitely go a size up
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but the 4 was much more flattering and the hem hit at the knee. The 2 fit around my body but the hem was a little bit hoochie. Glad I ordered a size up instead of a size down, just in case. Got a few compliments and felt very elegant all night. Loved the curve enhancing ruffle.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2011
loved it!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and received tons of compliments. The length was perfect for someone my height. The material is pretty stretchy and the dress was easy to dance in all night long! I did have to keep pulling the shoulder part down - probably should have used some fashion tape to keep it in place. This was my first rental and I will definitely be renting again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2011
perfect for black tie!
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it fit perfect. It looks so much more amazing in person. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 31, 2011
Although I am a fan of Catherine Malindrino I was very disapointed in this dress. I ordered it for a fall wedding. When the dress arrived although it says it is silk it felt more like a thin polyester. I put it on and it seemed more like a club dress skin tight and hitting mid thigh. I am usually a 0 or 2 and most of the reviews say true to size. Perhaps I should have went a size up to make it look more like the model on the left. If you are very curvy perhaps chat with a stylist before you rent to make sure it will fit. Had to return!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2011
This dress is so flattering and comfortable! I ordered it in a size 4 and 6, ended up wearing the 4 because it fit better across the shoulders. It was perfect for a destination fall wedding!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 13, 2011
I am a size 0, and this dress fit perfectly! It was absolutely stunning, and extremely comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and it was a huge hit!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress! Very true to size and perfect length... I ordered the 0 and 2 and both fit well... I ended up going with the smaller one so that it was a bit more fitted through the waist... only negative thing was that the size 2 dress (backup size) looked very worn (i.e., several pulls and stitching was coming out on the back). Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2011
Stunning!!!
This dress in a no brainer! It's HOT, classy, and an attention grabber!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 28, 2011
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It has a lot of stretch and is very comfortable. I'm very petite and only weigh 99 lbs but this dress was a perfect fit. I got the smallest size and it wasn't quite as long as it was on the model but was still long enough to be elegant and appropriate for the event which was black tie. I wore it with pearls and diamonds and a beautiful pair of silk peep toe pumps with red toes. Loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2011
I had tried this dress on in the store so was very comfortable renting it - great fit, true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2011
GREAT dress! We went to a Cuban themed party and it was beautiful without looking like a costume. Fit was perfect!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2011
LOVED IT! Fit perfectly! Looked elegant and classy, but sexy. You can't tell with the picture, but the material of the dress is really thin and delicate, but nothing showed through!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 26, 2011
Beautiful and flattering, perfect for when you want to stand out...but not too much! I am 5'2" 110 pounds and the size 2 was perfect. A little warning for the taller girls though- definitely shorter than in the picture. It was a perfect and appropriate length for me, but may be a bit short for anyone over 5'6"
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 15, 2011
Someone came up and told me I won the prize for best dress in the room.
Wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. I thought I ordered both a 0 and a 2 but the 2 was unavailable at the time. The 0 was pretty snug and short but I felt classy. There's more ruching than it looks like. Great dress! Felt like a million bucks !! Someone came up and told me I won the prize for best dress in the room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to my best friend's wedding and felt so gorgeous in it. I agree with the previous reviewer, the picture really doesn't do it justice.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2011
I felt like a million dollars in this dress. It hugs you in the right places and the ruching hides any undesirables. Best quote of the evening, "I don't think you're allowed to look more beautiful than the bride on her wedding day."
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
August 29, 2011
This dress is amazing, I wore it to a wedding recently and received many compliments. I was a little surprised at how sheer the fabric is, though, especially at the bottom. I would rent it again for another event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2011
I adore this dress. I got in a 2 and 4, but the 2 fit much better. It's a beautiful dress and I received many compliments. Would love to rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2011
This is a pretty dress, although all of the ruffling and ruching was not nearly as dramatic as it appears on the model. On me it looked like your average (although very nice) little black dress. For narrow body types you might wear your usual size, but for hourglass shapes I recommend sizing up. I am almost always a 4 (and sometimes a 2) in dresses, and I ended up wearing a 6 in this style.
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×