Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2012
Didn't love
I wore this dress to a black tie event, but I wouldn't recommend it for even a cocktail party. The dress felt really cheap and thin. I can't imagine why this dress would ever retail for as much as it does. I felt really cheap and kind of trashy. I'm not a modest person and love showing off my figure, but this dress looked like it came from Forever 21. It is true to size, but if you have a large chest proportional to your figure you might want to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
Lot's of complements
I wore it to a bacherolette party and received lot's of complements. This is a very sexy dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 16, 2012
great dress
Great dress. Very comfortable and not too short. Top is a little tricky and might have worn it the wrong way now that I see the other reviews and pictures.. . but maybe this is one of the good features about this dress that it can be worn in different ways.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2012
Fantastic Dress!
LOVED this dress. I rented it for a wedding, and received compliments all night. The fabric is stretchy enough to fit comfortably, and snug enough to pull you in, in all the right places. (I am a B/C cup and was fine without a bra - even on the dancefloor). This dress would be flattering on everyone - I was so happy I chose this one! I wore the size 2, but could also have probably worn the size 0. Size 4 (the 2nd option I chose) was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
All the compliments I got... this dress turned heads!
I LOVE this dress! I rented it for my birthday - dinner and the symphony with my fiance - and judging by the "WOW!" when I came out, he liked it ;) The 0 arrived with a pretty significant tear along one of the seams, but luckily the 2 also fit me. I'm a huge fan of the ruching, especially along the rear end area.. I feel like it gave me curves where there normally are none, haha. It just fit very well and was super flattering. However, I didn't really feel like I was wearing a $600 dress... like previous reviewers stated, the fabric is VERY thin along the bottom, almost chintzy looking, but as long as you're wearing a slip and/or tights underneath it's not that big of a deal. All in all, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2012
Love love love this dress!
I had a black-tie event (awards dinner) and this dress was perfect. I felt like a million bucks in it. It fit like a dream and was also super comfy. Gorgeous!! The ruching is fabulous and all the details are just so great. I paired it with red heels, like the model, and hair up, to show off the one-shoulder thing. I also chose the "suprise me" styling, which was a good choice. The earrings RtR sent me were fab. I had lots of compliments that night but who cares...I felt fabulous and that's what really matters.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2012
This dress was a great dress for my birthday/xmas!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 6 was a little longer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2012
Amazing take on the LBD
I rented this for my birthday dinner at a formal restaurant. Absolutely. Loved. It. It was so incredibly flattering, and sexy while still being classy. My boyfriend loved it, and he doesn't usually like ruffles. The off the shoulder ruffle detail thing is beautiful and lay perfectly...and it makes it a very unique LBD. I'd say this dress is pretty true to size, but might run a tiny bit small. So if you are between sizes, pick the larger size (I'm normally between a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6). I love this dress so much that I recently searched for it at a RTR sample sale...no luck though :( Anyways, definitely rent this dress!!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2012
Easiest ever!! There is no point for me anymore in buying expensive dresses that I know I will only wear once. RTR is my new best friend!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I am normally a 2 but I have always had issues because I have a 35 inch bust. The 2 fit, but the 4 was much more comfortable. The dress was just as I pictured it would be. Paired with a pair of Badgley Mischka Randee heels, it was a hit! Loved it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Loved! I ended up buying it!
This was a perfect dress for a black-tie formal event and wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute but...
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress. It was super flattering on, I loved the rouching. BUT you have to buy a slip. The dress is SUPER see-through. I wore it to a charity gala and got tons of compliments on it. I just hated having to keep pulling down my slip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
I always love wearing something I'm almost positive no one else will be!
This dress is fully forgiving. And it photographs even better than it looks in person. The neckline is classy and the ruching is perfect to hide flaws. I usually wear a 2 but it was too short. The 4 ended up being perfect though. I don't wear earrings but a statement pair would look great! I chose a large bracelet. A huge cocktail ring also would have been great. Shoes are a little tricky with this dress. Something strappy or nude works best. Platforms and shoes that have prints can make this dress feel a little bit 80's
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous
I felt chic and thin and beautiful. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
Loved this dress. Looked so beautiful. I should have got a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Renting this dress was so easy. I was able to get a second size since this was my first rental with this designer. RTR also gives you other items you may need, even a cloth to wipe away deodorant marks (great for black dresses!). Everyone loved this dress and still remembers it.
I wore this dress to an October wedding in Florida at the Ritz Carlton (not usually where I attend weddings! This was a once-in-a-lifetime event), and this dress was perfect. It's different without being odd or wacky. In fact, it's memorable and classy. It fit well and has some stretch. I would not say that I'm exactly hourglass figure (that was the closet choice for Body Type), but I do have hips. This dress hugged the hips and accentuated the waist. Also, I'm tall, so this dress was not too short, which is often a problem for me. Seems like it would be flattering for most figures! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone in my department and some of the other attendees thought my dress was one of the most stylish they'd seen that night. It felt great to look like a star without spending like one!
I wore this dress to The Joffrey Ballet's Couture & Cocktail event in Fall of 2011. It was a great fit and the perfect dress for this event. Easy. Comfortable. Fancy and very stylish (which is great for an event focused on fashion). And renting with RTR was so easy! In love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Sexy little black dress
I got in a 4 and 6 I believe, and wore the smaller size. I got a lot of compliments at the wedding. The dress was quite short and the shoulder strap didn't really stay in place while dancing, but it was very comfortable and I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Cute
Cute dress. Very thin fabric, so consider wearing spanx. Nevertheless the cut of the dress is quite flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because there was a very obvious tear in the 10 that had been repaired at the bottom of the skirt. I carry a little more weight around my middle, so the 8 didn't fit, and I could only wear the 10. Luckily, I received a refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Sexy!
This dress is very flattering and ultra sexy! You will not regret this one if you want to look sexy. The fabric is thin, but not too thin that you can see through it. The fabric is puckered in all the right places so that you don't have to worry either!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Great dress
I wore this to a holiday party at the four seasons. So chic and beautiful - a unique dress. Runs small and short and is slightly see thru but a beautiful dress ! Order a size up. Also I couldn't wear a bra with this but the chest was form fitting and held my boobs up! I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I can wear both and I wore the bigger size solely for the length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Wedding
I read most of the reviews for this dress and decided to get it for a wedding. It is true that the fabric at the bottom of the dress is very shear and kind of cheap looking. But overall I felt great in it, very form fitting, and it is my boyfriends favorite dress that I have rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2012
Thin fabric
Unfortunately the fabric of this dress was very thin and did not make me feel great about wearing it. I ended up returning the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved it!
I received sooo many compliments on this dress! It fit true to size and made me look a little more curvy than I am (in a good way!). The material is a little more sheer/thin than I hoped, but not in an inconvenient way.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved the dress! Comfy, too!
It was a very easy dress to manage and it worked so well all through the night! Would wear again for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2013
Beautiful!
The dress wasn't in great condition... was uncomfortable too. Maybe I could have used a bigger size. It ran a little small. Didn't wear it
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 11, 2013
One of the stylists recommended this dress to me, it was fabulous!
The dress fit perfectly, I would never have chosen from the picture, but it is so much more exciting in person. You really need to see it for yourself. The only complaint i have is the trim around the bottom feels constrictive, but it looks so cute on you don't really care.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2013
One of the most beautiful dresses I ever wore.
Not too short. Covered everything I needed it to for a formal party. I was caught under dressed for it last year but not this year!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Perfect fit
I normally have a difficult time finding a dress to fit like a glove but this one certainly did the job! Its beautiful and elegant, the fabric offers a slight stretch and good quality fabric. It is a little sheer but not obvious. It's the perfect dress for an elegant night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2013
Such a comfortable, flattering, classic dress! I didn't want to ever take it off!
The 8 fit well but was a little bit short on me w/ 4 inch heels. The 10 was slightly longer and more comfortable for dancing! I would highly recommend this dress. I got so many compliments all night! Seriously, this is my favorite dress I've ever worn. RENT IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2013
Pretty Black Dress
This is a great spin on a LBD. I wore it to a wedding and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 4, but had to go a size up to be more comfortable in the bust area. If you are large busted I would suggest sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
November 11, 2013
Incredibly flattering and comfortable
Received compliments all night (sometimes multiple times from the same person)! The side/elastic shoulder worked particularly well for a petite person, and the ruching/rufflling really flatters curves - and gives the impression of more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2013
My first rental and can't wait for the next one. What a service!
Slightly sheer and definitely short. I ended up wearing opaque black tights with it, to make it less hoochy. Definitely a fun party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2014
Looked gorgeous on the model, not so much in person!
I was expecting a bit more class from this dress when I rented it for a semi-formal outdoor evening summer party... not so much. It looks great on the model but it was pretty much see-through when I put it on. I was a smaller 2 at the time I ordered and it fit me like a glove – a very inappropriate glove. The ruching from the side to front is a bit more obvious in person and you'd really need a specific body type to pull it off I think. If you have a slip to wear under this and are more of a straight and narrow girl, you could definitely rock it, but for anyone with a bigger bust or hips, you'd need to a) size up and b) be attending an event were you can be a bit risque. That being said, it could be something really sassy for a night out in Vegas or something!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2014
Wore it for my best friend's bachelorette party. The perfect LBD! Wish I owned it.
None! May even rent again sometime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 8, 2014
A review in retrospect
Eep, I wore this dress two years ago. Not sure if it's still cycling through RTR, but it was fantastic (from what I remember). I wanted to buy it, it was so great. Sadly, that is all I remember about the dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2011
I had tried this dress on in the store so was very comfortable renting it - great fit, true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2014
Form fitting and hugs all the right places! perfect dress for any occasion
loved the fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 13, 2014
It was a New Years wedding so perfect for the occasion!
More fitted than expected but very flattering on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
August 18, 2010
Gorgeous dress worn to a wedding in NYC. I received a ton of compliments. Loved it, thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
August 25, 2010
I LOVE this dress. I wore the strap off the shoulder (not up and twisted, as shown) and it is stunning. Compliments left and right. This dress was so flattering I felt comfortable despite always being self-conscious of my tummy/hip area.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×