Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2011
Amazing surprise!
I rented this dress as a backup to a floor length gown for a black tie preferred wedding in NYC. When I received my rentals I was so surprised by how much I loved this dress! I wound up wearing this instead of my initial choice. It flatters curves and hides any problem areas. It was sexy and classy. The fabric is thin and comfortable, great for dancing. I received so many compliments! Considering renting again for a December wedding in DC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Slightly see-through
This was a romantic and beautiful dress I wore for a more formal fashion event. I wore it with a stick-on "bra" as it didn't really work with my strapless one. It's slightly see-through at the bottom so try and wear it with a skirt slip.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2011
Beautiful dress, runs a little small, very tight, I recommend a larger size. Received a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2011
AMAZING DRESS
This dress is so hot, I want to own it and tried to find it online after I wore it(unsuccessful). It was a show stopper for sure. I wore the 4, the 2 was too short, the 4 was almost perfect. I wouldn't have minded if it was a little snugger in the trunk, but to be fair, I just wasn't filling it out as well as others. It was perfect for my work Christmas party. I wanted to live in this dress for all 4 days. It was really amazing, I highly recommend it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 19, 2011
Even before I left home, I felt amazing.
I wore this for a night out to the Theater and fancy schmany dinner with my man... I felt like a million bucks! The material is very thin, it's silk, so make sure you wear a long coat. I wore the shoulder piece with the ruffles up, unlike the picture. Also I normally wear a size 10, it fit, but I just felt more comfortable in the 12 and there is overall stretch, so it still hugged in the right places. There is rouching on the butt, so it kinda gives room for your butt when you sit down. The ruffles help hide any flaws. Loved the dress!! It was my first RTR dress and won't be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
I received so many compliments on how flattering this dress was! How could I really choose one over another!
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2011
My favorite little black dress
I wore this black dress for my company's Holiday party. As soon as I put this dress on I knew it was AMAZING! It was flattering in all areas and so comfortable. There is some bunching in the belly area that hides any tummy troubles and the bunching in the back hides any booty insecurities. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a little black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2012
NYE dress simple and beautiful
This dress is great on a curvy body but it's definitely not stretchy. I was limited in my range of walking movement and bending over but it was not big deal, I could still dance. It looks great, better with spanx as its definitely form fitting. It's not the most comfortable dress but it did the job!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 5, 2012
STUNNING!
This dress really turns heads. It's classy, extremely flattering, and comfortable. Like many other reviewers said, the picture does not do this dress justice. On me, the dress was a little shorter than in the photograph, and it was fine with a strapless bra. Because of the placement of the ruffles and ruching, the dress really enhances your curves. I would recommend it for almost any body type.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2012
Classy
This was my first RTR rental. I wore it to a NYE wedding and felt beautiful and classy. The dress was a little shorter on me than it appears in the photograph but overall a great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 6, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I rented this dress as my back up for new year's eve & didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful on. My husband was very torn about which I should wear, but this one, although nice & short, was more on the "pretty" side and the other one I rented was more "sexy." The fabric of this dress is soft and super comfortable. This could easiely be worn for a more casual evening out or black tie wedding. I will definitely rent this one again to wear out!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 31, 2012
This dress and Emily saved me!
guys, so i had rented the Nicole miller lace dress, which was stolen from my building door (crazy super scary, UPS left it outside) and from days to my event and full residency duties there was no way i would have time to go get another dress. Ive called RTR and one of the stylist Emily (she was amazing!) was able to overnight me this amazing dress and the party was saved and my reputation for fabulous designs when not in scrubs :-) heads up: make sure to ask for a signature delivery if u r ordering thru ups, is the only way to protect yourself. about the dress - amazing looks, totally cool. about RTR - will definitely use it again. love the experience. about help from the stylist Emily - she ROCKED! enjoy ur fashion, C
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2012
My husband loved the dress so much, he asked if there was an option to buy.
This was my first rental and I was nervous, but very pleasantly surprised with how well the dress fit and how positive the entire experience was. This dress was beautiful and sexy and fit like a glove... my husband asked if there was an option to buy :) I am short (5'2") and curvy, and wear b/t an 8-10. After reading the very helpful reviews I ordered a 10 and 12 in this dress, and the 12 fit perfectly. The bottom hit about 2 inches above my knee so I was able to still wear spanx. Spent under $100 and felt like a million bucks! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 12, 2012
All of the compliments on recieved on the dress and how affordable it was to rent the dress + accessories
I wore this dress to a formal black tie dinner. I received many compliments on the dress! I decided to wear it as a one shoulder instead of pulling the ruffles and material down as shown in the RTR picture. The ruffles flowed together perfectly and I felt much more comfortable with it up. The dress runs VERY true to size! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 23, 2012
Overall, a nice dress
I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4. Honestly, the only difference between the two (that I noticed) was that on the 2 the shoulder strap was a bit tighter, so I figured I would be able to move my arm more comfortably in the larger size. Getting the shoulder strap to look right was also a little challenging.....but all in all I was happy with this dress. The entire rental experience was seamless and I would DEFINITELY rent from them again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2012
Didn't love
I wore this dress to a black tie event, but I wouldn't recommend it for even a cocktail party. The dress felt really cheap and thin. I can't imagine why this dress would ever retail for as much as it does. I felt really cheap and kind of trashy. I'm not a modest person and love showing off my figure, but this dress looked like it came from Forever 21. It is true to size, but if you have a large chest proportional to your figure you might want to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
Lot's of complements
I wore it to a bacherolette party and received lot's of complements. This is a very sexy dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 16, 2012
great dress
Great dress. Very comfortable and not too short. Top is a little tricky and might have worn it the wrong way now that I see the other reviews and pictures.. . but maybe this is one of the good features about this dress that it can be worn in different ways.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2012
Fantastic Dress!
LOVED this dress. I rented it for a wedding, and received compliments all night. The fabric is stretchy enough to fit comfortably, and snug enough to pull you in, in all the right places. (I am a B/C cup and was fine without a bra - even on the dancefloor). This dress would be flattering on everyone - I was so happy I chose this one! I wore the size 2, but could also have probably worn the size 0. Size 4 (the 2nd option I chose) was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
All the compliments I got... this dress turned heads!
I LOVE this dress! I rented it for my birthday - dinner and the symphony with my fiance - and judging by the "WOW!" when I came out, he liked it ;) The 0 arrived with a pretty significant tear along one of the seams, but luckily the 2 also fit me. I'm a huge fan of the ruching, especially along the rear end area.. I feel like it gave me curves where there normally are none, haha. It just fit very well and was super flattering. However, I didn't really feel like I was wearing a $600 dress... like previous reviewers stated, the fabric is VERY thin along the bottom, almost chintzy looking, but as long as you're wearing a slip and/or tights underneath it's not that big of a deal. All in all, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2012
Love love love this dress!
I had a black-tie event (awards dinner) and this dress was perfect. I felt like a million bucks in it. It fit like a dream and was also super comfy. Gorgeous!! The ruching is fabulous and all the details are just so great. I paired it with red heels, like the model, and hair up, to show off the one-shoulder thing. I also chose the "suprise me" styling, which was a good choice. The earrings RtR sent me were fab. I had lots of compliments that night but who cares...I felt fabulous and that's what really matters.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2012
This dress was a great dress for my birthday/xmas!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 6 was a little longer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2012
Amazing take on the LBD
I rented this for my birthday dinner at a formal restaurant. Absolutely. Loved. It. It was so incredibly flattering, and sexy while still being classy. My boyfriend loved it, and he doesn't usually like ruffles. The off the shoulder ruffle detail thing is beautiful and lay perfectly...and it makes it a very unique LBD. I'd say this dress is pretty true to size, but might run a tiny bit small. So if you are between sizes, pick the larger size (I'm normally between a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6). I love this dress so much that I recently searched for it at a RTR sample sale...no luck though :( Anyways, definitely rent this dress!!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2012
Easiest ever!! There is no point for me anymore in buying expensive dresses that I know I will only wear once. RTR is my new best friend!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I am normally a 2 but I have always had issues because I have a 35 inch bust. The 2 fit, but the 4 was much more comfortable. The dress was just as I pictured it would be. Paired with a pair of Badgley Mischka Randee heels, it was a hit! Loved it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Loved! I ended up buying it!
This was a perfect dress for a black-tie formal event and wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute but...
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress. It was super flattering on, I loved the rouching. BUT you have to buy a slip. The dress is SUPER see-through. I wore it to a charity gala and got tons of compliments on it. I just hated having to keep pulling down my slip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
I always love wearing something I'm almost positive no one else will be!
This dress is fully forgiving. And it photographs even better than it looks in person. The neckline is classy and the ruching is perfect to hide flaws. I usually wear a 2 but it was too short. The 4 ended up being perfect though. I don't wear earrings but a statement pair would look great! I chose a large bracelet. A huge cocktail ring also would have been great. Shoes are a little tricky with this dress. Something strappy or nude works best. Platforms and shoes that have prints can make this dress feel a little bit 80's
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous
I felt chic and thin and beautiful. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
Loved this dress. Looked so beautiful. I should have got a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Renting this dress was so easy. I was able to get a second size since this was my first rental with this designer. RTR also gives you other items you may need, even a cloth to wipe away deodorant marks (great for black dresses!). Everyone loved this dress and still remembers it.
I wore this dress to an October wedding in Florida at the Ritz Carlton (not usually where I attend weddings! This was a once-in-a-lifetime event), and this dress was perfect. It's different without being odd or wacky. In fact, it's memorable and classy. It fit well and has some stretch. I would not say that I'm exactly hourglass figure (that was the closet choice for Body Type), but I do have hips. This dress hugged the hips and accentuated the waist. Also, I'm tall, so this dress was not too short, which is often a problem for me. Seems like it would be flattering for most figures! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone in my department and some of the other attendees thought my dress was one of the most stylish they'd seen that night. It felt great to look like a star without spending like one!
I wore this dress to The Joffrey Ballet's Couture & Cocktail event in Fall of 2011. It was a great fit and the perfect dress for this event. Easy. Comfortable. Fancy and very stylish (which is great for an event focused on fashion). And renting with RTR was so easy! In love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Sexy little black dress
I got in a 4 and 6 I believe, and wore the smaller size. I got a lot of compliments at the wedding. The dress was quite short and the shoulder strap didn't really stay in place while dancing, but it was very comfortable and I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Cute
Cute dress. Very thin fabric, so consider wearing spanx. Nevertheless the cut of the dress is quite flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because there was a very obvious tear in the 10 that had been repaired at the bottom of the skirt. I carry a little more weight around my middle, so the 8 didn't fit, and I could only wear the 10. Luckily, I received a refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Sexy!
This dress is very flattering and ultra sexy! You will not regret this one if you want to look sexy. The fabric is thin, but not too thin that you can see through it. The fabric is puckered in all the right places so that you don't have to worry either!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Great dress
I wore this to a holiday party at the four seasons. So chic and beautiful - a unique dress. Runs small and short and is slightly see thru but a beautiful dress ! Order a size up. Also I couldn't wear a bra with this but the chest was form fitting and held my boobs up! I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I can wear both and I wore the bigger size solely for the length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Wedding
I read most of the reviews for this dress and decided to get it for a wedding. It is true that the fabric at the bottom of the dress is very shear and kind of cheap looking. But overall I felt great in it, very form fitting, and it is my boyfriends favorite dress that I have rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2012
Thin fabric
Unfortunately the fabric of this dress was very thin and did not make me feel great about wearing it. I ended up returning the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved it!
I received sooo many compliments on this dress! It fit true to size and made me look a little more curvy than I am (in a good way!). The material is a little more sheer/thin than I hoped, but not in an inconvenient way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun party dress.
True to size; except the shoulder strap slipped a bit. Cute and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Pretty but flimsy
This dress looks very pretty, but the material is thin, so be sure to wear something under it. Very flattering tho and gets lots of compliments.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×