Smoking Shoulder Dress

$89 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sassy and sophisticated dress by Catherine Malandrino is so versatile. Work this sexy LBD at the cocktail party to turn heads. Silk ruffling ensures that any figure looks great. Stick to chic earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size - We recommend going one size up in your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching and ruffle detail covers abdomen and accentuates waistline
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 92% silk, 8% elastane stretch georgette. Asymmetric one shoulder with ruffle detail. Side Zip. 40" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size128
Small25
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Great Dress!! Very classy yet sexy.
I like the shoulder detail, but you need to use fashion tape in order to keep in the right place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Very pretty dress - a little sheer, though.
This dress was very sexy. It was shorter than I expected and I was wearing it to a wedding so I was a little nervous at first but...it turned out to be a hit! I did have to strategically place my purse in front of my dress since it was very sheer but by evening, all was good and I felt great in this beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2012
Didn't end up wearing this
It's a little too risque for a wedding, particularly one in a church and probably for a lot of more formal black tie events.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Loved the light, comfortable material!
I really liked how the dress would conform to my size, showing off the good and hiding the bad. Wore it to a formal date party with my boyfriend. Everyone was amazed when they saw me. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
HOLY 80's!!
When I ordered this dress, I was not expecting the ruffle on the dress to be so 80s! The ruffle is a sheer material that has a wire of some sort of the edges. I expected to be able to bend the wire to make the ruffle lay flat or go in a certain direction, but nope, so the ruffle was all over the place! One thing that may work if you do end up ordering this dress is steaming the ruffle; I never tried it, but hey its worth a shot! If the dress didn't have the ruffle, then it would be a flattering black dress, but the ruffle makes it a little odd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect Bachelorette Dress!
Had the best night on the town in this dress! It is so fun and is an awesome twist on the LBD! LOVE!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2012
This dress was my first rental! I loved the dress! I fell in love with the dress and RTR!
I rented the 2 and 4 just in case and glad I did so! The 4 was a little loose so I went for the 2 and it fit perfectly. It's longer that the picture shows though but on me I felt the length was perfect! I definitely reccomend this dress to anyone who's thinking about it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 24, 2012
I just adore this dress. If only I could make it my go to LBD!
The construction of this dress gave my 5'0'' petite frame the curves I've always wanted! The hem hit me just above the knee, which I loved and the one shoulder design made this a fun and unique LBD. I couldn't have asked for a better dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 23, 2012
Basic, comfortable and wedding appropriate.
It fit very well. The ruffled strap can be adjusted up or down which is a nice function. I would rent again when in a pinch. It was slightly longer than I'd prefer but overall a solid choice for formal wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 22, 2012
Nice dress!
This dress is very pretty. I loved how nice it looked on me. I ended up not wearring it because my bf loved my back up dress better on me for the wedding we were attending.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 20, 2012
gorgeous dress
perfect fit! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress was so flattering and such a hit!
The black is very flattering and the dress hugged curves in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Pretty but flimsy
This dress looks very pretty, but the material is thin, so be sure to wear something under it. Very flattering tho and gets lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 15, 2012
Flattering, Comfortable, Beautiful
Dear RTR, thank you for providing me with a dress that made me stand out among a crowd of polished, beautiful people. This dress was very comfortable and fun to wear. I received more complements than I could list. I felt the dress was slightly thin so I was worried about exposing myself, but that didn't happen. Considering how lightweight, this is a perfect dress for a hot summer night or a party where you know you will spend the time on the dance floor!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun party dress.
True to size; except the shoulder strap slipped a bit. Cute and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved it!
I received sooo many compliments on this dress! It fit true to size and made me look a little more curvy than I am (in a good way!). The material is a little more sheer/thin than I hoped, but not in an inconvenient way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2012
Thin fabric
Unfortunately the fabric of this dress was very thin and did not make me feel great about wearing it. I ended up returning the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Wedding
I read most of the reviews for this dress and decided to get it for a wedding. It is true that the fabric at the bottom of the dress is very shear and kind of cheap looking. But overall I felt great in it, very form fitting, and it is my boyfriends favorite dress that I have rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Great dress
I wore this to a holiday party at the four seasons. So chic and beautiful - a unique dress. Runs small and short and is slightly see thru but a beautiful dress ! Order a size up. Also I couldn't wear a bra with this but the chest was form fitting and held my boobs up! I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I can wear both and I wore the bigger size solely for the length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Very Sexy!
This dress is very flattering and ultra sexy! You will not regret this one if you want to look sexy. The fabric is thin, but not too thin that you can see through it. The fabric is puckered in all the right places so that you don't have to worry either!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Cute
Cute dress. Very thin fabric, so consider wearing spanx. Nevertheless the cut of the dress is quite flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because there was a very obvious tear in the 10 that had been repaired at the bottom of the skirt. I carry a little more weight around my middle, so the 8 didn't fit, and I could only wear the 10. Luckily, I received a refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Sexy little black dress
I got in a 4 and 6 I believe, and wore the smaller size. I got a lot of compliments at the wedding. The dress was quite short and the shoulder strap didn't really stay in place while dancing, but it was very comfortable and I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Everyone in my department and some of the other attendees thought my dress was one of the most stylish they'd seen that night. It felt great to look like a star without spending like one!
I wore this dress to The Joffrey Ballet's Couture & Cocktail event in Fall of 2011. It was a great fit and the perfect dress for this event. Easy. Comfortable. Fancy and very stylish (which is great for an event focused on fashion). And renting with RTR was so easy! In love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Renting this dress was so easy. I was able to get a second size since this was my first rental with this designer. RTR also gives you other items you may need, even a cloth to wipe away deodorant marks (great for black dresses!). Everyone loved this dress and still remembers it.
I wore this dress to an October wedding in Florida at the Ritz Carlton (not usually where I attend weddings! This was a once-in-a-lifetime event), and this dress was perfect. It's different without being odd or wacky. In fact, it's memorable and classy. It fit well and has some stretch. I would not say that I'm exactly hourglass figure (that was the closet choice for Body Type), but I do have hips. This dress hugged the hips and accentuated the waist. Also, I'm tall, so this dress was not too short, which is often a problem for me. Seems like it would be flattering for most figures! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 19, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
Loved this dress. Looked so beautiful. I should have got a 0.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 17, 2012
The dress fit so well I had no worries of a wardrobe malfunction! I received tons of compliments....belle of the ball!
I needed a dress for a charity cocktail event and at the last minute was able to snag this gorgeous dress. The fit was right on the money and I received lots of compliments.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Super sexy
This was too sexy for me to wear to the particular wedding I rented it for but I loved it! Fit beautifully and snug. My only complaint would be that it fit so snug around my legs that it wouldn't have been comfortable for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous
I felt chic and thin and beautiful. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
I always love wearing something I'm almost positive no one else will be!
This dress is fully forgiving. And it photographs even better than it looks in person. The neckline is classy and the ruching is perfect to hide flaws. I usually wear a 2 but it was too short. The 4 ended up being perfect though. I don't wear earrings but a statement pair would look great! I chose a large bracelet. A huge cocktail ring also would have been great. Shoes are a little tricky with this dress. Something strappy or nude works best. Platforms and shoes that have prints can make this dress feel a little bit 80's
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute but...
I read all of the reviews before renting this dress. It was super flattering on, I loved the rouching. BUT you have to buy a slip. The dress is SUPER see-through. I wore it to a charity gala and got tons of compliments on it. I just hated having to keep pulling down my slip!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Loved! I ended up buying it!
This was a perfect dress for a black-tie formal event and wedding!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2012
Easiest ever!! There is no point for me anymore in buying expensive dresses that I know I will only wear once. RTR is my new best friend!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I am normally a 2 but I have always had issues because I have a 35 inch bust. The 2 fit, but the 4 was much more comfortable. The dress was just as I pictured it would be. Paired with a pair of Badgley Mischka Randee heels, it was a hit! Loved it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2012
Amazing take on the LBD
I rented this for my birthday dinner at a formal restaurant. Absolutely. Loved. It. It was so incredibly flattering, and sexy while still being classy. My boyfriend loved it, and he doesn't usually like ruffles. The off the shoulder ruffle detail thing is beautiful and lay perfectly...and it makes it a very unique LBD. I'd say this dress is pretty true to size, but might run a tiny bit small. So if you are between sizes, pick the larger size (I'm normally between a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6). I love this dress so much that I recently searched for it at a RTR sample sale...no luck though :( Anyways, definitely rent this dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2012
This dress was a great dress for my birthday/xmas!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 6 was a little longer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2012
Love love love this dress!
I had a black-tie event (awards dinner) and this dress was perfect. I felt like a million bucks in it. It fit like a dream and was also super comfy. Gorgeous!! The ruching is fabulous and all the details are just so great. I paired it with red heels, like the model, and hair up, to show off the one-shoulder thing. I also chose the "suprise me" styling, which was a good choice. The earrings RtR sent me were fab. I had lots of compliments that night but who cares...I felt fabulous and that's what really matters.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
All the compliments I got... this dress turned heads!
I LOVE this dress! I rented it for my birthday - dinner and the symphony with my fiance - and judging by the "WOW!" when I came out, he liked it ;) The 0 arrived with a pretty significant tear along one of the seams, but luckily the 2 also fit me. I'm a huge fan of the ruching, especially along the rear end area.. I feel like it gave me curves where there normally are none, haha. It just fit very well and was super flattering. However, I didn't really feel like I was wearing a $600 dress... like previous reviewers stated, the fabric is VERY thin along the bottom, almost chintzy looking, but as long as you're wearing a slip and/or tights underneath it's not that big of a deal. All in all, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 30, 2012
I had more compliments on this dress than anything in my closet!
Fantastic dress!!!!!! I wore this to my film premiere and it was perfect. It fits like a glove and is truly a comfortable dress! Don't hesitate- rent it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2012
Fantastic Dress!
LOVED this dress. I rented it for a wedding, and received compliments all night. The fabric is stretchy enough to fit comfortably, and snug enough to pull you in, in all the right places. (I am a B/C cup and was fine without a bra - even on the dancefloor). This dress would be flattering on everyone - I was so happy I chose this one! I wore the size 2, but could also have probably worn the size 0. Size 4 (the 2nd option I chose) was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2012
LOVED this dress
This dress was beautiful! So unique and pretty. Normally wear a size 8 but only the 10 was available, but it was actually a perfect fit. Only con I can say about the dress is the material was very thin and I was pretty nervous about ripping it or catching it on something. Otherwise it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 16, 2012
great dress
Great dress. Very comfortable and not too short. Top is a little tricky and might have worn it the wrong way now that I see the other reviews and pictures.. . but maybe this is one of the good features about this dress that it can be worn in different ways.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×