Oscar Please Gown

$125 to buy
$995 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy Catherine Malandrino gown is truly red-carpet worthy. A halter neckline and all-over ruffle trim add a feminine touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk jersey. Halter neckline with double button closure. Smoking detail at waist. Diagonal ruffle trim on skirt. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size59
Small2
Size worn:
XSR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
February 12, 2015
Very sexy dress. Form fitting and comfortable.
I'm 4'11 and 105 pounds. Got the extra small and wore platform high heels (5 inch boost!) and the hem almost reached the floor. I rocked the hell out of it though!
Size worn:
MR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2015
Such an easy transaction
Absolutely stunning dress. Many compliments. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
December 29, 2014
It was so easy to rent a dress!
The dress fit like a glove. It was perfect for a formal Christmas party. I did wear four inch heels and it was still a little long. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
I got many compliments on this dress!
The dress was a hit, very sexy. My only "complaint", and it's not really even that, is the top was VERY snug. I am a 34 F and this dress had to work to cover the girls! I ordered an XS and S, based on reviews and the Small was the right size everywhere but the top. I think a Medium would have been too big everywhere, so maybe if I had ordered a Medium and Small I still would have worn the small, but who knows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 1, 2014
Didn't wear the dress because it was too short.
Luckily I ordered two different dresses because this one ran really short even though I ordered the long one. The size was fine but the length was too short even with flats. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone over 5'3".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2014
Amazing! So flattering!
Got this for a formal wedding 9 months after having a baby. I had lost most of my weight, but not all and was anxious getting dressed up for my first formal event in a while. This dress was hot stuff! I looked great and received compliments all night!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2014
The dress was so comfortable. The material was stretchy and breathable.
The straps were a little big, so I had to use a safety pin at my neck. I also bought the tape to go with it which took me a minute to get the hang of. I wore high heels since I am only 5'3.5. I would not have been able to wear shorter shoes with this.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 3, 2014
This dress is dazzling!
I didn't end up wearing this dress, because my sister and i, RANDOMLY ordered the same dress from RTR. However, this dress is gorgeous and fits like a glove. The halter top is a bit long however, and in both cases, needed to be hemmed up a bit and overlapped to hold everything in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 22, 2014
My husbands gave when he looked at me in it
Fit was perfect. The length couldn't have better. I'm 5'8" and wore 3.5" heels. I tried on the XS long and it was a little shorter. I got so many compliments in this dress and it was so comfortable! I didn't wear a bra and didn't need double-sided tape. Gorgeous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
A great fit and so comfortable!
This dress was perfect. It is stylish and comfortable and moves really well. I have 4 kids and the texture and stretchy fabric worked well for "mommy tummy". I am small chested but it complimented what I do have better than I even hoped. I am 5' 6" and with 3" heels the hem of the R was exactly at floor length. I bought the stick on bra that RTR recommended and it was perfect for this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Great dress for a hollywood themed event.
longer than expected, but otherwise it was comfortable and styish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2014
I loved this dress! Very simple and pretty.
The length was perfect and the top was great for my large chest:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 11, 2014
my fiance' kept telling me how beautiful I looked & kept swirling me around =)
this dress is heaven to wear.. soft, skims the lines of your body - definitely not a conservative neckline - you will command every eye in the room. the beading and delicate ruffle on the neckline is perfect. I will definitely rent this beauty again..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2014
Best dress so far!
I have rented quite a few dresses over the last few years and this is hands down my favorite so far. I loved everything about it; the fabric, the ruffles, the way it's cut, the plunging back... All of it. Sometimes I find black dresses to be boring but this one stands out. It is pretty low cut in the front but I didn't need any tape or anything; it stayed put nicely. And it's a dress you can dance in. I would wear longer earring with it bc of the plunging neckline. You can carry off big colorful earrings with this dress! Just loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2014
The dress fit so well. I received so many compliments on it. It's a very sexy and elegant dress.
It's a stretchy fabric so it's forgiving when it comes to fitting. It's definitely low cut, but I didn't mind. It really shows off a good figure. I was worried about the length, but with a decent heel, it's fine. Amazing dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
February 15, 2014
Great dress..sexy and sophisticated!
This was my first time ordering so I was skeptical on how the dress would fit, however It was perfect! I am petite and I didn't have to worry about the length at all with my 4 inch heels it was great. I did have to pin the top because it was a bit loose around the neck and I also used sticky tape so my cleavage was just right. Overall I was very pleased with the dress and the service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2013
I got so many compliments on how HOT this dress was!
Loved the stretchy fabric. Made it so comfortable to wear! Fit perfectly and I had on platform shoes. Would definitely rent this one again for another formal event. Absolutely Loved my first Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2013
Loved the dress!
I ordered a XSL and SR - I ended up going with the XSL because it fit the best. It was a little long, however I'd rather have longer than too short. I accented it with red...red clutch, bracelets, earrings and shoes. Do make sure to have double stick tape for the breast to hold in place....I'm very small on top, so I wanted to be sure there was no slippage. This dress is very forgiving and comfortable all at the same time. Would definitely consider renting it again. This was my second time ordering from rent the runway and I absolutely LOVE RTR!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 25, 2013
Felt like a movie Star! This dress is so beautiful in person, the pictures do not do it justice.
I ordered a xsl and a sl and ended up wearing the xsl. I had on HUGE shoes; platform 5 inch pump style, and it was still a bit long. I am not sure if the regular would have been too short or not for 4-5inch shoes. It has this beautiful ruffle detail swirling the skirt and it swings out at your feet. The neckline is very plunging,not a good pick for those who do not like low cut dresses. The fabric was also amazing- very pretty with a satiny sheen to it. It was a very comfortable dress too as the material has stretch to it. Very flattering, it cinches your waist and hugs your hips and gradually getting roomier to the floor. I would definitely rent this dress again. I rented the Ben-Amun Deco Crystal Statement Necklace and it complimented it perfectly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 23, 2013
Didn't end up wearing this one... It was a little too big for me
I think best for the hourglass figure you need curves to fill this dress out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 16, 2013
Was my first time ordering and I was extremely impressed!
Great dress!! It was my backup. Should have ordered the Regular length. Love it though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress!!
This was my first RTR experience, and I am beyond thrilled. Love having two sizes to choose from. I went with the XSR because there was less of a chance of a wardrobe malfunction on the top and because the length was shorter so that I could wear flats (as I am recovering from a hip surgery). The fabric was forgiving, and it showed off my curves while still seeming classy and age-appropriate. My husband thought the dress was unbelievable and asked if I could buy it, and I got compliments from women of all ages. It was also extremely comfortable, and I did not feel warm, even on a crowded dance floor. Highly recommend this for someone looking for an elegant, comfortable simple black dress with a little WOW factor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this, because I rented two and chose the other one.
Loved this dress! The fabric is thick and stretchy, so very forgiving. It's almost like a "spanx" dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
lots of complements
very low cut must have proper bra
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2013
The look when I walked into the room!
Fit was perfect! I am petite so it was a bit long, but nothing some heels can't fix.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 24, 2013
Beyond YUMMY - fit wonderfully, material felt amazing on and was a perfect choice for the evening!
This dress was my second choice but as soon as I put it on I knew. I was attending the Oscars and this dress was perfect. Sexy, fit great (stretchy material) and had a bit of a train. Undergarments are a bit tricky....used a unique bra. Everything with RTR went perfect - I'll be back!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
June 25, 2013
Great First Pick!
I needed something for a huge televised event in LA and was a little nervous picking a dress from RTR for the first time that I'd be stuck scrambling for a dress last minute. The RTR staff was extremely helpful in allaying my fears about the size of the dress and how it would fit around the bust line. On the night of the event, I felt pretty and comfortable AND the bonus was that I could eat BREAD in this dress and still look thin! Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Flawless, easy elegance!
This is one of THE most flattering gowns I've ever worn! It's very forgiving and hugs in all the right places. I'm 5'9" and wore 5" heels with this and the LL was perfect. It doesn't wrinkle, just slip it over your head, add some fun bling and you're ready to go! If you're curvy like me, don't forget the spanx. You can't wear a bra with this, so you should wear either the silicone self stick pads or nip covers. It's crazy easy and you WILL get a ton of compliments! Stretchy jersey so you can walk, sit and dance all night without a care.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Picture doesn't accurately reflect the details.
This dress is a fabulous LBD. Perfect for a formal event. Comfortable, stylish, fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
April 18, 2013
Beautiful and Comfortable
I got both the MR and LR. The MR fit better but the length wasn't long enough. So I wore the LR mostly for the lenght. And as the dress is made entirely of stretchy fabric, very forgiving on minor size differences.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2013
Great service
I am 5'7 and normally wear a size 2. I love to wear 3 inch heels so I ordered the long dress to accommodate the heels. I am glad I got the xs because it fit perfectly. I am a 32c and the dress really can be worn without a bra. The low back is very sexy. The material is very nice and held everything in without spanx. It looked great with gold heels and gold pearl Chanel earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 13, 2013
Nicely constructed, divinely stretchy!
I loved this dress. It was very stretchy, so happily very forgiving. I did use fashion tape to avoid being too boobalicious (closer-up picture is BEFORE fashion tape, FYI), but just a little bit, and I didn't think about cleavage once I was taped. Seriously, this was very, very comfy -- and I tend to live in denim and sweats -- but looked elegant and was awesome for my extremely formal black-tie event. Even though it's a simple black dress, there's lots of detailing. I'm generally between a size 6 and 8, I've had two babies so I have a slightly rounded tummy. Because the "girls" hang lower than they did pre-baby, I used adhesive bra cups - but honestly, someone younger might be able to rock this dress without them. I tried both the SL and the M reg (they were out of the M long). Everyone agreed that the S fit better, and with 3 or 4 inch heels (forget which), I definitely needed that length. Recommend spanx because it hugs the rump and hips a little.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
February 20, 2013
Beautiful dress very comfortable and sexy. I want to keep it!
If you wear 4 inch heels and you're around 5'6 you will want the MR It fit everywhere perfectly and length was just right.
SherylFebruary 20, 2013
SR fit but was too short but MR length was perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2013
My daughter said I was beautiful.
The dress was comfortable, flattering, and easy to wear. Perfect for larger bust sizes I'd say.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
February 13, 2013
My dress!
This dress was amazing!!! I am very petite and was worried about the overall size and length. This dress fit me perfectly. I wore about 4 inch heels. The material was very flattering. I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball for 10 hours and was super comfortable the entire time! The neckline was a little too low on me, so I pinned it and it worked out perfectly. Would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2013
Easy to wear, comfortable and elegant.
I rented this dress to an inaugural ball, and unfortunately I booked late and unfortunately black tie dresses left in my size were somewhat limited. The good: This dress is a dressy jersey material so it's insanely comfortable and forgiving-- I'd say it's a good choice for those whose weight fluctuates or aren't sure what size they wear in a given designer dress. The ruffled texture dressed it up a bit and added some visual interest and the ruching at the waist was insanely slimming. The length was also good. I'm 5'5 and I wore flats to navigate the DC street closures. It dragged a bit, but with heels it would have been perfect. The plunging neckline was sexy but tasteful, without being over the top (that said, I have a modest bust-- 34B-- so I didn't need a bra. I think on larger busted girls the look is totally different. That's evident from some of the reviews here). This leads me to the not so good... The less good: I got the feeling that this dress had been rented a lot. There were some minor pulls in the material, which were not really noticeable. More importantly, the bust was *totally* stretched out. I think some of my better endowed sisters had rented this dress and permanently stretched the top. I had to use a ton of fashion tape AND a padded cup AND chicken cutlets to get the top to even remotely work. And the cups of the dress still puckered and gaped like a bra that was too big. Fortunately because the dress was black it was only noticeable, but I was self conscious about it, especially since the neckline really does make the dress. Overall this dress was exactly as represented and worked well for the event-- I wouldn't say it's a show stopper by any means and definitely blended into a sea of black dresses. That said, it's a flattering choice that's overall easy to wear, but may require some tinkering depending on who wore the dress before you.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 30, 2013
Overall, great fit
I wore this dress for a black tie event. I am very petite (usually wear a 00P/0P) and the stretch material of the dress was a perfect fit in flattering curves. Also, the dress was super comfortable. My one complaint is that the dress was a little big around the torso and neck area. I had to pin the area that goes around the neck to make it tighter. Thankfully, my hair covered this up. And, I used fashion tape to close in the a portion of the bust area to not show my bra. Overall, simple fixes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
January 21, 2013
Stunning dress !
Very flattering cut, material is gorgeous !
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 14, 2013
Loved the fit!
The fit was great, very stretchy material and long enough for me. I really liked this dress and would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
I wore this dess for a New Years Eve Masquerade party. This was the most comfortable dress!! The material was soft and just the right weight. I received compliments all night long. I usually wear a 10 or medium...I ordered the MR. It was a bit long but with heels it was fine. I would order this again and again...I wish I owned it! :-)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×