Oscar Please Gown

$125 to buy
$995 retail
Stylist Notes

This sexy Catherine Malandrino gown is truly red-carpet worthy. A halter neckline and all-over ruffle trim add a feminine touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk jersey. Halter neckline with double button closure. Smoking detail at waist. Diagonal ruffle trim on skirt. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(59)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2014
The dress fit so well. I received so many compliments on it. It's a very sexy and elegant dress.
It's a stretchy fabric so it's forgiving when it comes to fitting. It's definitely low cut, but I didn't mind. It really shows off a good figure. I was worried about the length, but with a decent heel, it's fine. Amazing dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 11, 2014
my fiance' kept telling me how beautiful I looked & kept swirling me around =)
this dress is heaven to wear.. soft, skims the lines of your body - definitely not a conservative neckline - you will command every eye in the room. the beading and delicate ruffle on the neckline is perfect. I will definitely rent this beauty again..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2014
I loved this dress! Very simple and pretty.
The length was perfect and the top was great for my large chest:)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Great dress for a hollywood themed event.
longer than expected, but otherwise it was comfortable and styish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
A great fit and so comfortable!
This dress was perfect. It is stylish and comfortable and moves really well. I have 4 kids and the texture and stretchy fabric worked well for "mommy tummy". I am small chested but it complimented what I do have better than I even hoped. I am 5' 6" and with 3" heels the hem of the R was exactly at floor length. I bought the stick on bra that RTR recommended and it was perfect for this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 22, 2014
My husbands gave when he looked at me in it
Fit was perfect. The length couldn't have better. I'm 5'8" and wore 3.5" heels. I tried on the XS long and it was a little shorter. I got so many compliments in this dress and it was so comfortable! I didn't wear a bra and didn't need double-sided tape. Gorgeous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2014
Amazing! So flattering!
Got this for a formal wedding 9 months after having a baby. I had lost most of my weight, but not all and was anxious getting dressed up for my first formal event in a while. This dress was hot stuff! I looked great and received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 1, 2014
Didn't wear the dress because it was too short.
Luckily I ordered two different dresses because this one ran really short even though I ordered the long one. The size was fine but the length was too short even with flats. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone over 5'3".
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
I got many compliments on this dress!
The dress was a hit, very sexy. My only "complaint", and it's not really even that, is the top was VERY snug. I am a 34 F and this dress had to work to cover the girls! I ordered an XS and S, based on reviews and the Small was the right size everywhere but the top. I think a Medium would have been too big everywhere, so maybe if I had ordered a Medium and Small I still would have worn the small, but who knows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
LOVE this dress!!
We were invited to a Black Tie Gala and my husband said" We can go but you can't buy a new dress' so I said " OK- no problem." ( I RENTED ONE !!!!!) This dress is AMAZING. I love Catherine Maladrino anyway but this was superb. It is very well constructed , the fabric is very good quality that is heavy enough to lay without being bulky.It has a slight amount of stretch to it so it moves with you. The details don't show in the picture. ( there are tiny ruffles going diagonally across the bottom that give a slendering effect). I loved this so much I inquired about purchasing it. I would rent this again. Just an FYI ~ I loved this dress SO much I rented it again. They didn't have the 4R so I ordered the 4L ~ I am 5'8 with Long legs so thought the tall would be fine. I could just wear higher heels. WRONG. It was HUGE ! The waist was wider , and looked awful. I was unable to wear the dress. So keep in mind a 4 is not a 4 - The 4L is bigger everywhere. Lesson learned.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2015
Such an easy transaction
Absolutely stunning dress. Many compliments. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
May 23, 2011
This dress was amazing!! The small fit like a glove (I'm somewhat petite and very curvy) and the lenghth was perfect. Very sexy yet still a classy, black dress.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 30, 2013
Overall, great fit
I wore this dress for a black tie event. I am very petite (usually wear a 00P/0P) and the stretch material of the dress was a perfect fit in flattering curves. Also, the dress was super comfortable. My one complaint is that the dress was a little big around the torso and neck area. I had to pin the area that goes around the neck to make it tighter. Thankfully, my hair covered this up. And, I used fashion tape to close in the a portion of the bust area to not show my bra. Overall, simple fixes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
April 18, 2013
Beautiful and Comfortable
I got both the MR and LR. The MR fit better but the length wasn't long enough. So I wore the LR mostly for the lenght. And as the dress is made entirely of stretchy fabric, very forgiving on minor size differences.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 24, 2013
Beyond YUMMY - fit wonderfully, material felt amazing on and was a perfect choice for the evening!
This dress was my second choice but as soon as I put it on I knew. I was attending the Oscars and this dress was perfect. Sexy, fit great (stretchy material) and had a bit of a train. Undergarments are a bit tricky....used a unique bra. Everything with RTR went perfect - I'll be back!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2014
The dress was so comfortable. The material was stretchy and breathable.
The straps were a little big, so I had to use a safety pin at my neck. I also bought the tape to go with it which took me a minute to get the hang of. I wore high heels since I am only 5'3.5. I would not have been able to wear shorter shoes with this.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous and Sexy (yet comfortable) Dress - a definite showstopper!
I ordered this dress because it looked gorgeous on the model and I liked that it was stretch jersey...I hoped that would increase the odds that it would fit. I am very curvy at the hips and have wide shoulders and rib cage, so I often have difficulty zipping into formal gowns. This gown did not disappoint! I ordered the SL and ML and the Small fit perfectly. It stretched where I needed it to and it made me feel so sexy. The length was perfect with tall heels. The back of the dress is a bit longer than the front, so even with tall heels I had to pick it up when I was walking around. But otherwise the fit was perfect and the dress made me feel like a movie star. If I could purchase this dress I would!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
December 29, 2014
It was so easy to rent a dress!
The dress fit like a glove. It was perfect for a formal Christmas party. I did wear four inch heels and it was still a little long. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 14, 2012
Simple but elegant
Wore this to a black tie event, and it was great. Super comfortable, very flattering cut that accentuates curves. I am a very petite 5'1" and this dress was almost short on me. Fit great, but in 4 inch heels the dress was too short so definitely plan on shorter heels. Also, I am not busty so had to pin the very bottom of the v to prevent the bust area from bulging and revealing my bra, and also had to use some padding. It was a simply fix and worked fine.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
Stunning! tons of compliments!
The dress is a stretch material that holds everything and is super comfortable. The only complaint was it was a little big around the neck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 28, 2012
Fabulous!
This dress was so flattering and so comfortable and I got tons of compliments. I would rent it again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2012
Quick and easy return when the dress didn't fit.
Very fitted, too long (being 5'7" even with heels) and didn't accentuate the right areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2012
Stunning gown!
This dress was amazing. I have a chest so I was nervous about it beign low cut and inappropriate, but I have one of those REALLY low bras leftover from my wedding so I wore that and some fashion tape and it worked perfectly. Just sexy enough. I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress still hit the ground, but it was workable.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2013
Great dress
The dress was very pretty but it was my backup so I never actually wore it besides when I tried it on. It definitely hugged all the right places and was extremely comfy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
January 21, 2013
Stunning dress !
Very flattering cut, material is gorgeous !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Flawless, easy elegance!
This is one of THE most flattering gowns I've ever worn! It's very forgiving and hugs in all the right places. I'm 5'9" and wore 5" heels with this and the LL was perfect. It doesn't wrinkle, just slip it over your head, add some fun bling and you're ready to go! If you're curvy like me, don't forget the spanx. You can't wear a bra with this, so you should wear either the silicone self stick pads or nip covers. It's crazy easy and you WILL get a ton of compliments! Stretchy jersey so you can walk, sit and dance all night without a care.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2013
The look when I walked into the room!
Fit was perfect! I am petite so it was a bit long, but nothing some heels can't fix.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
lots of complements
very low cut must have proper bra
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this, because I rented two and chose the other one.
Loved this dress! The fabric is thick and stretchy, so very forgiving. It's almost like a "spanx" dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2014
Best dress so far!
I have rented quite a few dresses over the last few years and this is hands down my favorite so far. I loved everything about it; the fabric, the ruffles, the way it's cut, the plunging back... All of it. Sometimes I find black dresses to be boring but this one stands out. It is pretty low cut in the front but I didn't need any tape or anything; it stayed put nicely. And it's a dress you can dance in. I would wear longer earring with it bc of the plunging neckline. You can carry off big colorful earrings with this dress! Just loved it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 3, 2014
This dress is dazzling!
I didn't end up wearing this dress, because my sister and i, RANDOMLY ordered the same dress from RTR. However, this dress is gorgeous and fits like a glove. The halter top is a bit long however, and in both cases, needed to be hemmed up a bit and overlapped to hold everything in place.
Size worn:
XSR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
February 12, 2015
Very sexy dress. Form fitting and comfortable.
I'm 4'11 and 105 pounds. Got the extra small and wore platform high heels (5 inch boost!) and the hem almost reached the floor. I rocked the hell out of it though!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×