Rent the Runway

Catherine Malandrino

Oscar Please Gown

$125 to buy
$995 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy Catherine Malandrino gown is truly red-carpet worthy. A halter neckline and all-over ruffle trim add a feminine touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size P=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for medium bust sizes - halter top is difficult to wear with bra
WAIST: Fitted - smocking at waist allows comfortable room and conceals midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long) Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6."

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk jersey. Halter neckline with double button closure. Smoking detail at waist. Diagonal ruffle trim on skirt. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

72 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 59
Large 8
Photos 43
Cassy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a black tie wedding and felt gorgeous in it all night long. It's a bit shinier material than it looks in the picture, but in a way that makes the dress a bit more formal (not a cheap shine at all). Great for dancing! I am 5'6" and the regular length was perfect in my 31/2 inch heels. I would definitely rent this dress again!
berardi2
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Felt and looked like a starlet! This dress fit perfectly, and it moves very well. I used tape as I have a small bust and needed the straps to stay in place. Loved, loved, loved this dress. I'm 5'2 and wore 4 inch heels and it was maybe a cm off the floor or less.
Erika
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing!! The small fit like a glove (I'm somewhat petite and very curvy) and the lenghth was perfect. Very sexy yet still a classy, black dress.
Maggie
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Sep 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I didn't have the right size (I had a SR, and needed a XSR), but the dress was very slimming. My complaints, however, were that 1) the dress was too long (5'3" + 4 inch heels wasn't enough, but not a big deal), 2) the material felt kind of cheap, and 3) the ruffle trim stuck out weirdly, but that may have been because the whole skirt was just too big. If I had had the right size, it might've looked as good as on the model!
Katie R
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Oct 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Awesome Dress! Hugs the body in all the right places. Wore it with 4 inch heels and it did not touch the floor at all- absolutely perfect length! Needs a little double sided sticky tape to hold the dress in place in the chest area. Would highly reccomend it!
Blair
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is way too short. I am 5'6" and it didn't touch the ground. I would have had to wear flats with it so hence didn't wear it. If you are over 5'2" I would order a long.
Jer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Oct 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Best dress EVER! I wore it as a bridesmaid's dress in a wedding where the bride wanted us all in long black dresses. It was such a huge hit and it felt spectacular to wear. I have an athletic but thin build and small boobs and the low neckline was very flattering. I wore low-ish heels so the size small, regular fir perfectly. The detail on the dress is just beautiful and it felt great to be wearing a Catherine Malandrino to a black tie L.A. Wedding for $100!
Sonya
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2011

BEST DRESS EVER!!!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love, love, love this dress!!! The only thing bad about it was that I didn't get to keep it forever! I was a bridesmaid in my sister's wedding this weekend and I definitely had the best dress. It fit perfectly, I looked curvy in all the right places, the length was great, the neckline is very flattering on small boobs. Also, the included double sided tape was very helpful. I highly recommend this dress and if I have a black tie event to go to, I would want to rent this dress again.
ZEE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! The fit is very flattering - it's a jersey-like fabric that is snug yet comfortable. The neckline was perfect; I'm 34C and used a backless, strapless bra which I then glued to the dress with the enclosed double-sided tape - it stayed put all night. I'm 5'6, 125lbs, 35-27-37 and the Small fit perfectly. I did order the Regular and feel that with my height and using 4" heels, the Long would have been better, but no matter - this was a beautiful dress and my only regret was having to send it back!
Mae
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 14, 2012

Simple but elegant

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a black tie event, and it was great. Super comfortable, very flattering cut that accentuates curves. I am a very petite 5'1" and this dress was almost short on me. Fit great, but in 4 inch heels the dress was too short so definitely plan on shorter heels. Also, I am not busty so had to pin the very bottom of the v to prevent the bust area from bulging and revealing my bra, and also had to use some padding. It was a simply fix and worked fine.
Inga
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Stunning! tons of compliments!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is a stretch material that holds everything and is super comfortable. The only complaint was it was a little big around the neck.
Paulina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Classy and sexy!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for the charity ball my husband and I attended. It was sexy and classy on all in one! This runs true to size and highlights the positives and minimizes the negatives. Love RTR!
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 28, 2012

Fabulous!

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so flattering and so comfortable and I got tons of compliments. I would rent it again!!
Jojo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Sep 22, 2012

This dress is very beautiful!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding. Although it look really nice on me , I ended up not wearring it because the raffles made it look too casual for the wedding I was attending.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Quick and easy return when the dress didn't fit.

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very fitted, too long (being 5'7" even with heels) and didn't accentuate the right areas.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Stunning gown!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. I have a chest so I was nervous about it beign low cut and inappropriate, but I have one of those REALLY low bras leftover from my wedding so I wore that and some fashion tape and it worked perfectly. Just sexy enough. I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress still hit the ground, but it was workable.
elisabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

The look on my husbands face was priceless! He was so proud to have me on his arm.

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was PERFECTION. So many compliments, so many turned heads! Came off very elegantly b/c of my lack of cleavage (!). The deep v neckline would be too vulgar for larger breasted women, but since I am petite it still maintained a level of class due to the function I was attending. I loved the stretch, no bothering with closures or zippers. Hugged all the right places and with 4.5 inch heels the length was perfect. You can't miss with this one.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 7, 2012

This dress was absolutely amazing. I would wear it everyday if I could!

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only thing about this dress is that t is super long! I am 5'8 and had 4 inch heels on and it was still to long. Next time I would get the regular and not the long. Otherwise it fits like a glove!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very pretty but it was my backup so I never actually wore it besides when I tried it on. It definitely hugged all the right places and was extremely comfy.
karen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Loved the fit!

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great, very stretchy material and long enough for me. I really liked this dress and would definitely recommend it!
christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Jan 21, 2013

Stunning dress !

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering cut, material is gorgeous !
EP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Easy to wear, comfortable and elegant.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress to an inaugural ball, and unfortunately I booked late and unfortunately black tie dresses left in my size were somewhat limited. The good: This dress is a dressy jersey material so it's insanely comfortable and forgiving-- I'd say it's a good choice for those whose weight fluctuates or aren't sure what size they wear in a given designer dress. The ruffled texture dressed it up a bit and added some visual interest and the ruching at the waist was insanely slimming. The length was also good. I'm 5'5 and I wore flats to navigate the DC street closures. It dragged a bit, but with heels it would have been perfect. The plunging neckline was sexy but tasteful, without being over the top (that said, I have a modest bust-- 34B-- so I didn't need a bra. I think on larger busted girls the look is totally different. That's evident from some of the reviews here). This leads me to the not so good... The less good: I got the feeling that this dress had been rented a lot. There were some minor pulls in the material, which were not really noticeable. More importantly, the bust was *totally* stretched out. I think some of my better endowed sisters had rented this dress and permanently stretched the top. I had to use a ton of fashion tape AND a padded cup AND chicken cutlets to get the top to even remotely work. And the cups of the dress still puckered and gaped like a bra that was too big. Fortunately because the dress was black it was only noticeable, but I was self conscious about it, especially since the neckline really does make the dress. Overall this dress was exactly as represented and worked well for the event-- I wouldn't say it's a show stopper by any means and definitely blended into a sea of black dresses. That said, it's a flattering choice that's overall easy to wear, but may require some tinkering depending on who wore the dress before you.
CA
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Great service

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7 and normally wear a size 2. I love to wear 3 inch heels so I ordered the long dress to accommodate the heels. I am glad I got the xs because it fit perfectly. I am a 32c and the dress really can be worn without a bra. The low back is very sexy. The material is very nice and held everything in without spanx. It looked great with gold heels and gold pearl Chanel earrings.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2013

Gorgeous dress. Picture doesn't accurately reflect the details.

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a fabulous LBD. Perfect for a formal event. Comfortable, stylish, fantastic.
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

Flawless, easy elegance!

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is one of THE most flattering gowns I've ever worn! It's very forgiving and hugs in all the right places. I'm 5'9" and wore 5" heels with this and the LL was perfect. It doesn't wrinkle, just slip it over your head, add some fun bling and you're ready to go! If you're curvy like me, don't forget the spanx. You can't wear a bra with this, so you should wear either the silicone self stick pads or nip covers. It's crazy easy and you WILL get a ton of compliments! Stretchy jersey so you can walk, sit and dance all night without a care.
Mookie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 25, 2013

Great First Pick!

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed something for a huge televised event in LA and was a little nervous picking a dress from RTR for the first time that I'd be stuck scrambling for a dress last minute. The RTR staff was extremely helpful in allaying my fears about the size of the dress and how it would fit around the bust line. On the night of the event, I felt pretty and comfortable AND the bonus was that I could eat BREAD in this dress and still look thin! Thanks RTR!
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

The look when I walked into the room!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect! I am petite so it was a bit long, but nothing some heels can't fix.
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2013

lots of complements

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
very low cut must have proper bra
Dallas
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this, because I rented two and chose the other one.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! The fabric is thick and stretchy, so very forgiving. It's almost like a "spanx" dress.
Chic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Was my first time ordering and I was extremely impressed!

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress!! It was my backup. Should have ordered the Regular length. Love it though!!
JOY W
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Didn't end up wearing this one... It was a little too big for me

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think best for the hourglass figure you need curves to fill this dress out.
Kristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Loved the dress!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a XSL and SR - I ended up going with the XSL because it fit the best. It was a little long, however I'd rather have longer than too short. I accented it with red...red clutch, bracelets, earrings and shoes. Do make sure to have double stick tape for the breast to hold in place....I'm very small on top, so I wanted to be sure there was no slippage. This dress is very forgiving and comfortable all at the same time. Would definitely consider renting it again. This was my second time ordering from rent the runway and I absolutely LOVE RTR!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×