Catherine Malandrino

Modern Queen Elizabeth Dress

$75 rental
$525 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Perfect for the girl's night out or birthday celebration. Rent this bright and colorful Catherine Malandrino and pair with Ted Rossi's Python Drop Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Supernova Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - exposed slip is fitted in hips and backside - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - exposed slip is fitted in hips and backside - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Royal blue crinkle chiffon. V neckline. Off the shoulder sleeves. Ruched bodice. Tulip skirt. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

62 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 53
Large 1
Photos 26
Jess Z
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Wore this for my birthday and was perfect for dinner, then a night out dancing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This runs true to size but is also a little tight. It doesn't have any give at the upper waist band, so I'd rent two sizes just to be safe. Also, I wore a strapless bra with it and it kept peeking out at the top (annoying on the bra, not the dress), so I'd look for a lower cut strapless bra or a bandeau. Definitely needed a bra. The color is truly beautiful- favorite part of the dress.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Nov 23, 2012

Absolutely love and suggest this dress. Beautiful color and shapes, got so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am 6 feet tall so it's not a surprise when dresses run short on me so I went up a size just for length. In the actual dress, there was not too big of a difference between the two sizes which was nice. Everything else fit great and the dress was very complimenting. I suggest it to all!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2012

Gorgeous color and cut! Very romantic!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love love LOVED this dress and has an overall great experience from RTR. As a shorter woman with a larger chest, it is always a little difficult to hit the right balance of classy and sexy, but this dress was on the money. Fit was true to size, and I feel like the way the chiffon draped would be beautiful for several different body types. The only cons, and they were minor, was that the straps were a little long for me and the slip was a little on the sorter side of life. Also, I had to sew the hook on at the zipper because it was very loose when I received it. An easy fix to be sure, but something that I would have appreciated RTR fixing before sending the dress to me. I can't wait to order from RTR again and I have my eyes out on eBay to buy this one!
priscilla
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

The dress fits very comfortably. Its light weight, but looks like a brillant saffire!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was looking for a special dress for my bday. I felt like a celebrity and unique at the same time! I've very small, and was amazed at how it fit like a glove to my body! The dress wasnt to long or short. It was very classy and sexy at the same time.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

I received SO many compliments in this dress, and I felt like a rockstar.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was much shorter than I expected, as I am only 5 ft tall. It fit like a glove except for the shoulder straps. I have a pretty short torso so the straps kept sliding down and the chest support wasn't so great, but other than that it was very comfortable and flattering.
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

GREAT COLOR, GREAT FIT, LOVE THIS DRESS, NEW YEARS DRESS

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress. It fit great, the color looked amazing in photos and i received lots of compliments on it. i ended up tucking in the sleeves a bit so they didnt hang down and i liked that look better than the hanging sleeves. I had ordered a 2 and a 4 just in case and RTR ended up selling my size 4 for the same dates. RTR gave me the choice of any other dress any price on the site! Im just so glad the 2 fit perfectly! Since i definitely have a butt i was worried the 2 might be too tight around my butt and thighs but it really did end up fitting just right. LOVE RTR. Thank you.
Pippa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2011

Booze Cruise PERFECT!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress! I got tons of compliments! One thing is that the cups are a bit small. I am a size 2 but a 34D and I was 'popping out' a bit.
D
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

My favorite dress so far on this site.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The vibrant color stood out. The fit was perfect. Im 5'6 & it came a little below mid thigh. The neckline fit perfect. I was able to wear a bra with it. I would totally rent this dress again. I wore this to a wedding & everyone loved it.
Becca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

seeing double?

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm the one on the left wearing the size 4, while my friend is on the right in the size 6. Rented for my 22nd birthday, she got to wear it the following night and have a chance to appreciate men falling all over themselves. This dress received nonstop compliments, it was amazing.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

My best birthday yet! Everyone told me I looked great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt great in this dress and it fit very well. It balloons at the hips a little, but overall I was exceedingly satisfied with the dress.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

I actually had some trouble receiving my package. UPS dropped it off at another building in my apartment complex. I called RTR and they overnighed me another dress. I had it the next day by the time I was home from work. My first package was found, but really appreciated them sending a second, on them!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. It's a bit shorter than what it appears in the photo. Even though it's low cut, I was able to wear my deep-v strapless bra with it. I wore a size 4 and it fit like a glove. It was comfortable, and I got lots of compliments. Would definitely recommend renting, it's a 10!
Myra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Beautiful, fun, comfortable, perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress that got a lot of compliments! The straps were a tad big on me and I'm not as chesty but double stick tape helped to keep it from moving. Other than that, I had no problems. It was comfortable and was a great length even though I'm short.
Renee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

My most unforgettable RTR moment was when months later my friends and family saw the dress in a movie.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! i received so many compliments. I would say the dress was true to size although if you have a larger bust do not rent this dress. I am an average B and at times felt I was spilling out, other than that I would highly recommend!
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 8, 2012

Numerous people said I looked stunning!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning. I wore it to an evening wedding with gold accessories and gold shoes. I am typically a size 6 or 8 in dresses with a decent size bust. I was able to wear a bra with this dress, but used a lot of safety pins to make sure the bra straps didn't show, and a LOT of fashion tape to tone down the amount of cleavage. It is pretty short, and I didn't feel all that comfortable "getting down" on the dance floor b/c of this. It's a great dress, but I think it might be best for a smaller build with small chest. Maybe better for a girl's night out rather than a formal event? Overall, beautiful dress though.
Sue
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 14, 2012

Showstopper. This dress makes you feel amazing.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding over Memorial Weekend. It was perfect! I'm 5'2" and 110 pounds, so I ordered a size 0 and 2. The 0 fit, but because this dress is super short and low cut, I opted to wear the 2. Above all, this dress is amazing. I received multiple compliments and it certainly was a stunner. I highly recommend it, especially if you want to be a showstopper.
Aleksandra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2012

I caught everyone's attention the second I walked into ANY room.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first experience with RTR, and I think I'm hooked. The dress was a show-stopper - I got more compliments than I could count. The only issue was that it was a bit too small and I wish I got the second size up. Word to the wise, always take advantage of ordering that free second size. All in all, everyone loved it, I loved it. I'll DEFINITELY back for more! Check out my blog entry here: http://wearhausonline.tumblr.com/post/21239299268/rented-the-runway-for-my-birthday-rent-the
Lindsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 21, 2012

I got so many amazing compliments, and best of all, NO ONE HAD MY DRESS! I felt amazing all night long :). By far, the best I have ever looked.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is by far the best thing I have ever worn. I was nervous about the fit after reading reviews since I have a good size chest and am curvier than some who had ordered it. But to my surprise, this covered all my insecure areas and highlighted the best parts of me. I only wish I had figured out a bra situation beforehand. You can for sure wear your own bra but I recommend sticky boobs so you wont have to worry about it showing. I styled this look with silver jewelry, and a bold purple peep toe heel.
brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 16, 2011

Rent the Runway made my night! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
rented the 0 and it was perfect, except couldve been just a tiny bit tighter in the waist. This dress looks gorgeous on a slim figure! SO flattering. I got tons of compliments. Everyone commented on how pretty I was and how they had never seen a dress like it. Perfect!
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 3, 2011

This could possibly be my favorite dress on RTR - I have worn it twice now (to a bday party and on a date with my fiancee). I wish i had a better picture to share, this doesn't do it justice!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE this dress! Smallish bust needed to make it work (super flattering on A cup) and will be REALLY short if you're 5'7 or taller!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

flying into NYC from a tiny town in Kentucky knowing that my fashion would be right on par with all of the big-city girls...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you are slender and on the shorter side, this dress is a dream. Definitely the top pick of the 6 dresses I've rented from RTR!!! The underslip is quite short as previous reviewers have mentioned, but for me it was only a minor issue when I was seated. The chest is plunging- I would not recommend this dress for those over a B-cup, as bust coverage is rather scant. VERY appropriate for the gala Manhattan wedding I wore it to!!! If you are self conscious about your hips this may not be the dress for you, as the drapes do add some volume, but I thought it looked lovely. What a gorgeous dress, I highly recommend it for petites.
Karma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Really stood out at wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit like a glove. Perfect for narrow bodies. Dress is very short. Picture shows it to be longer.
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 20, 2013

wanted to buy it, but couldn't find it online.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
obsessed. color was amazing, and defines the waist well.
Siobhan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

not for tall girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very cute, but if you are tall it will not work. Its is way too short. The middle part barely covered my but.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Loved this dress. Received so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. Great material, great fit, true to size and really comfortable. I would definitely rent this dress again. Although the picture shows that the dress is cut pretty low; you are able to wear a strapless bra with it. Rented it for a wedding and it was perfect. Can definitely wear it to many different types of occasions.
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2013

I liked it alright...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to prom. I am very tall so the dress was really short on me; I would have picked something else if I'd had enough time. It didn't have a lot of give, which was fine, but it did bunch/roll a little bit. I do think the dress is very pretty even though it didn't work out great for me.
KGR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2013

Its a great color but the fit was off.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like my crotch was on display constantly! My hips are wide and pulled at the material so that I felt self conscious about walking in it.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Fiery, Seductive & Fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a dressy cocktail party and absolutely loved it. But I think it is one of those dresses that does not fit everyone well. The dress is very short and the front's V is extremely wide, and low. I am 5'4" with 34B - I love a classy yet sexy amount of cleavage but I had to strategically place tape on my bra to make sure the dress didn't show "the girls". The dress is also super short in the bottom middle and when the drapery opens up, it does show. So if you're very tall it may verge on "too short"... and if you have a bigger chest then this will definitely show too much cleavage. But otherwise - I suggest it all the way! It's beautiful and so comfortable. I received compliments on it all night and had a great time wearing it!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

loved the color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not for busty ladies! I had to buy a gigantic necklace to conceal my cleavage.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Wow, this dress is ahh-mazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits perfectly, true to size. I was worried about the bust but it wasn't a problem, wore it with a regular bra. Received many compliments, and the dress looks amazing in pictures! Definitely my favorite dress on the website.
Fallon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 6, 2012

the perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a 4 and a 6 for my 25th birthday and both fit me, but the 4 ended up fitting me better. I have green eyes, so the color of the dress made them pop! The neckline is very low, so you have to go braless or wear a low cut strapless.
CC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

It was a glamorous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The way this dress drapes over your body is just amazing. The low cut worked perfectly for me because it brought out my small chest, the draping at the shoulders hides arm fat haha, it fits nicely at the waist and the draping at the hips creates a feminine figure. The material seemed kind of thin, but necessary for the soft look. And no, I didn't think it was too short.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 20, 2012

Pretty!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a new years eve party in atlantic city. It fit perfectly and was really pretty, but my favorite thing was the vibrant blue color!
Jasiel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Love Love Love

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for my Birthday last year and I received so many compliments! Only issue was the cup size fit on the dress is small and it is really short so beware; but overall I would rent this dress again.
Bella Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made me feel like a princess. I loved it. I got tons of compliments throughout the evening. I especially love the sleeves, which really add to the effect. It was a bit short when I sat down, but the material covers you in the most important areas.
Andrea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

C. Malandrino Modern Queen E

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the dress. True to size. I am kind of in between a 2 and a 4 sometimes, but the 2 worked perfectly. I didn't wear a bra and it was fine! Wore it to a sorority formal. Amazing color (the color in the picture is true in person) and got tons of complements.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Too short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is made well however it is very very short. The center of the skirt is shorter than pictured. The skirt was puffy and made me look wider than I am. I ended up sending this dress back.
gg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 31, 2012

OMGEEEEEEEE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Seriously, this dress gave me the prize for best dressed at my BFF's wedding last year. The cut is so romantic, but the blue really pops and is seriously sexy. I got a 4 and i have tiny boobs (34B) and a bubbly butt so the tulip skirt was really flattering and my tiny rack looked amazing. If i could buy this dress , i would! Rent it, you wont be sorry!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
May 7, 2012

Perfect Prom Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress so much! The one downside is that there really isn't any sort of bra you can wear with it. I used the adhesive pads but jiggling was a little bit of an issue... also I found that the shoulder straps were a little long and tended to slip and the underslip rode up a bit, but despite these things I would buy this dress in a second if I had that kind of money lying around!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Great Party Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and received so many compliments, it is a little bit unique and a great color. I kind of ignored the other reviews saying how short the dress is, I am short so dresses that are short on others aren't usually all that short on me, but this dress was short!! It's not so bad when you are standing, but when you sit it could get dangerous for sure. I wore it with black tights, I'm glad I had tights or else I would have felt too naked for a wedding. If I had worn it to something other than a wedding, going out or to a cocktail party, I wouldn't have been as concerned w/it being as short as it was. Overall really comfy/easy to wear and I would def recommend it. I am usually a 2 or 4, I think more often a size 4, I ordered it in both sizes and wore the 2. Also I wore it w/a regular bra which was nice! I didn't need to use a strapless one.
maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 18, 2012

Adorable, but boobilicious!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love love loved this dress! Was a little more revealing and shorter than I expected, but it still looked great, and I received compliments throughout the night! Rent this dress!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×