Madrid Madness Gown

$63 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(1)
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 8, 2015
Bump Friendly for sure!
Wore this to a local charity ball & got compliments all night. I was 27 weeks pregnant and the dress complimented my bump perfectly! The color is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Rented for:
Party
Age: 37
February 19, 2015
Thankful I could return for refund since this dress did not fit.
I was 35 weeks pregnant when I rented this dress. Only size available was either LR or SR. I knew a small wouldn't fit since I would normally wear a MR. LR fit a little loose on shoulders and did not flatter my bump....instead of hugging my shape, the dress sagged underneath by belly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 23, 2015
Beautiful color
Wore this dress 6months pregnant and it was beautiful- comfortable and looked stunning- lots of compliments- great dress if your pregnant!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 7, 2013
Love this dress. It was a showstopper!!!
I ordered a size 6R, it was a little big, I think that the 4R would have fit perfectly. Notwithstanding, I recieved so many compliments on the gown I felt like royalty. I would recommend this gown to anyone who has a formal event they are attending and needs a classy elegant look. This is it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2013
Didn't get to wear it... loved the color though... too long.
It was pretty - but the 0 Long was VERY long. I am 5'4" and even with 4.5" heels, I felt that the dress was too long (couldn't walk in it). Also - the back bunched up a around the waist - not as flattering/fitted. Really wanted to rock it - but ended up going with the back up dress..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 15, 2013
Going to a military ball with my husband almost 8 months pregnant and had compliments all night!
Because of my baby belly I ordered a medium long and large regular. Both fit relatively the same, the large provided more fabric in the nether regions for draping so nothing was skin tight. The only problem I had was the way the dress is finished on the sides at the top under the armpit. The way it's cut makes it look as if the dress is coming unzipped. The great thing is you can wear a regular bra with this. I'm 5'4" and wore four inch heels which were perfect with my belly and the length. Just barely scraped the ground so it was wonderful. The color is timeless and stands out. I got compliments all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
Great dress for showing off the baby bump
At 16.5 weeks pregnant, I was starting show, but still in that "is she fat or is she pregnant stage?". This dress was the perfect compliment to rocking the baby bump loud and proud. Paired with maternity spanx, I felt super comfy and beautiful in this dress. The draping in the front ended up stretching nicely to highlight the fact that I was pregnant, whereas other dresses I had tried at this stage felt like I was a whale in a circus tent, trying to cover up being overweight. I did feel that it ran large - I am usually a medium and with the little bit of extra weight I am carrying now, I did not expect a small to fit, but I am glad I got it! It paired perfectly with 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Great mix of elegant but not too formal. Perfect for a late afternoon outdoor wedding in San Diego.
I rented the small and xs long. The material looked like it was going to be very clingy and show panty lines, so I was going to wear the small to minimize lines. The small fit fine, but I tried on the xs just for fun and it fit better than the small. No panty lines, and had room where I need it (shoulders and hips). It was more fitted in the waist, but still room to eat a big wedding feast without showing a food baby. It was very comfortable and the color is really great, too. I received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2014
Endless compliments, gorgeous color, flattering shape!
I was 20 weeks pregnant and just starting to show, so I spent a lot of time on RTR finding a bump-friendly dress. This dress would have accommodated even a late term pregnant belly. All night people said "wow" when they saw me, and particularly complimented the color! It is a gorgeous royal blue and certainly stands out among the crowd. The material was relatively thick and stretchy, it was super comfortable. They did not have the regular length by the time I booked it, but I'm so glad I got the long because it skimmed the floor with 2 inch heels and did not cause any problems at all. Even when I switched to flats, I didn't feel that it was too long. I loved that you can wear a regular bra with it. This dress is super well-designed with its flattering V-cut, but has a clever layer to prevent cleavage issues. Stunning and I would look forward to renting again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2014
The color was great for a holiday party.
I have been wearing L and had plenty of room in the M. It was very forgiving and slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
Just ok
Fabric is very thin and just didn't seem dressy enough for this occasion.
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Nice drape for maternity use, but too short.
I rented this dress for a black tie dinner, 30 weeks pregnant. The drape of the dress and stretch of the fabric accommodated my bump beautifully, and I'd highly recommend it for maternity use. However, the dress was far too short for me. I ordered a Small Long, and at 5'8" the hem fell mid-calf. Perhaps too much material was taken up by my belly, but renters should be aware of the possibility! I would also add that the fabric is very light weight - a stretchy jersey with sheen. It didn't feel quite as formal as I would have liked, and definitely requires seamless/smoothing undergarments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2011
It fit me a little long, but i blame that on MY height, not the dress. It does fit true to size. I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2011
Loved this dress! I am around 5'7, 130lbs, and I ordered the SR. The dress came right above my toes in my heels, and dragged just a little on the floor without shoes. The color was slightly richer than in the picture which I LOVED, and everything about it fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to my prom, it was stretchy and comfortable, and really easy to dance in! From the picture, I was a little worried about the front draping looking a little funny, but it ended up being very slimming and it looked great. It was such a beautiful dress, I hated having to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 6, 2011
I felt comfortable and beautiful at the same time. Thanks RTR!
This dress was perfect. I felt a hint of glamour, sexy but not overtly and above all, I was comfortable dancing in it! I'm 5'6"ish, not quite 5'7", and the length was just great. I wore the small (regular) to a black tie summer wedding and even though I'd rather not wear the same dress twice, I'd wear this one in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 1, 2011
I was the first woman receiving the Maverick Award at the Action On Film Festival 2011 for being a filmmaker---and this dress brought the whole experience home for me at this Red Carpet Event. I needed a dress that could be flexible to my body type and that could make me feel "sexy" and "powerful" -- this was the dress! I had so many compliments. Thank you Rent the Runway! I tell everyone about you!
This dress fitted me fabulously at a major Red Carpet event in Hollywood! I had so many compliments. This dress is true to size. As a mother of two, what I love about the structure of this dress is that it camouflages my small pouch from my previous pregnancy--wore 3 inch heels. I recommend wearing "spanx" shapewear for a smoother silhouette and for those that stated in earlier reviews that this dress clings--all you have to do is wear lotion on your legs and/ or spray static cling on your shapewear. All the clinging and static was gone. I realize that Rent the Runway is becoming more and more a popular option for women, so I am going to recommend that customers consider renting a second dress ( the $25 extra) for a second option. I saw a woman at the event that I was at and she was wearing the dress that would have been my third option to rent. Luckily I stuck with this dress. But, in case someone has the same dress at the same event you're at, it's good to have that standby dress as an another option, waiting in a car or at home. $25 dollars is worth the investment.
JenAugust 27, 2012
Any recommendations on "types" of Spanx to wear with this dress? There are so many! Thanks :) You look lovely in this one.
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Jen! We suggest the Nude Simplicity Girl Short or the Nude Super High Power Boy Short!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2011
This dress ran long on me, but fit my curves perfectly. I wasn't expecting the material to be like it was though, so I had to use a dryer sheet to get the static cling off of my legs. This is a good dress if you're in shape, but if you're not, it's going to show off everything you'd rather not show. Loved the dress :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
October 6, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! I received both the XS and S and ended up wearing the XS. I'm just a tad under 5'7" and both sizes were actually a bit short on me. You could see my shoes and they were probably only 2.5 inches high. The color on this dress is stunning, great choice for an event where you don't want to be the center of attention but you want some color on you!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2011
Amazing dress
This dress is perfect for a semi formal event. I am so pleased with this dress which Is very elegant but not over the top. I am a mother of 4 and this dress did hide my belly pooch :). Just wear spanks and let me tell u for my straight not perfect figure this dress gave me great shape. Length is also perfect, I'm a little over 5'3 and wore 3.5 in heels and it hits just right above the bottom of the heel of my shoe so my toe only peaks out and I don't have to hold the dress when I walk. Color is so rich and vibrant that will look good with any skin tone.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2012
i got soooo many compliments from all the guest..
it was my sisters wedding and i was the maid of honor. She told me she wanted me to wear this color, to look classy, yet fashionable. This dress is better in person then in pictures. The material, the overall fit is exceptional. This dress made my body look perfect. Im not a fan of long dresses, but this dress changed my mind. This dress is perfect for ALL body types.. DONT BE AFRAID LADIES.. if you like it, go for it. The other brides maid wore this dress as well, and we are very different in body's, she's thicker than me. But she looked just as beautiful, it complimented her body perfectly. she felt so sexy and comfortable. I RECOMMED THIS DRESS FOR EVERY WOMEN IN ALL SIZES... Make sure to wear spanx ladies, it makes the dress look even more beautfiul!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2012
not as I expected
This is a beautiful dress and I would have loved to have worn it, but the M was too tight in the bust and the L was too big. Also, the MR was really short ( I am 5' 4") If I ever see this dress for purchase, I would get the LR and have it altered. This is obviously a very popular rental. There were definite signs of wear and tear. Maybe time to retire !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2012
My dad got teary-eyed when he saw me, and it wasn't even the wedding day!
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal, because I wanted to feel stunning. First of all, I will say: I'm 5'2", and even with my tallest 5" heels, the dress was still touching the ground. I would say that you need to be at least 5'8" (whether by nature or heels) to wear this dress comfortably. The color is gorgeous, and the detail on the bodice is impeccable. The draping around the crotch and hips can be...a little strange? It photographs oddly at times, but the dress is very comfortable. It's large in the bust, so I used my padded push-up bra and it filled out the line nicely, but I think overall it runs small.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2012
Wedding Affair
I rented this dress for a wedding in Philly this past weekend. While I did like the color, the slouching in the front of the dress gave it a maternity feel to me. Another part I did not like was that the zipper on the left side of the dress bunched up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 6, 2012
I felt like RuPaul, the most glamorous person alive!
I rented this dress for the Burlesque Hall of Fame Legends Event. The color is gorgeous- bright and vibrant cobalt blue. The fabric was stretchy and soft in a slinky way, and is very clingy. If you have concerns with smoothness, you might want spanx. I was able to wear a regular bra, which was nice. The dress was also quite long, I was surprised. With my shoes it was perfect. When I first tried this dress on, I didn't love the draping in the front. I felt it made me look rounder than I am, instead of camouflaging and concealing. I ended up wearing a small cincher to flatten my front a bit more and felt in the end, quite successful. I received many compliments and had perfect strangers asking to take my photo.
ElaineAugust 16, 2013
"a small cincher?" what was that? you look great
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I would normally consider myself a medium, and the medium fit perfectly! It is form-fitting, so make sure you have a good undergarments, I am about 5' 3", and it hit right at my foot. I wore about 4" heels and you could still see most of the shoes. This was an event with dancing, and I was able to dance without any problems.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Super comfortable and stylish!
Loved the feel, color and overall fit. I'm renting for a second time, I loved it so much! The color blue is perfect for my skin tone (I have fair olive skin). I wore silver jewelry with it but I think it would go great with silver or gold. The rouching is perfect to hide any "problem" areas and the the full back allows me to wear a supportive bra which I need (I'm a 36 D).
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2012
The dress was very lightweight, which was great because it was 95 degrees out!
The fit was great. I had a larger backup size, just in case the fabric was too clingy -- but it draped perfectly in all the right places. I got a lot of compliments on the color. It was nice not to be in predictable black!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Great Dress for Black Tie
The fit is super flattering. I'm 5'11", and the long was the perfect length for heels. I'm also a DD, and this was great for large chests. Also really comfortable and forgiving in all the right places. I wish I could wear it for every black tie wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
I felt like a diva ! this dress was very classy yet sexy
absoloutely no issues for this dress. It was very comfortable and I didn't want to take it off. Definitely wear spanx if you have any bulges you don't want to be seen
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 12, 2012
It was the best choice last minute and it ended up matching the bridal party!
The fit was true to size; very classy; a nice stretchy fit just the way I like it so it hugs my curves... Received so many compliments!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2012
Very pretty, but ended up going with my other choice.
Beautiful color, and I loved the way the top looks. I liked the other dress I rented just a little bit more, so I didn't end up wearing this one, but it was still a very nice choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 54
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Great fit, Great color.
Always lookig for extra length and this defiitely had it. Fit well, maybe a little large for size. Would rent it again.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2012
This gown was awesome, I wore it for a concert then to a party, great transition.
The fit was good and it was comfortable, material was stretch. The inner lining showed and as you can see in the pic, did not sit as I expected on my hip due to my long torso.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 7, 2013
Lots of compliments!
I wore this to a black tie wedding. Very beautiful! So comfortable, would definitely rent again if I need a long gown. The material is so silky and soft and fit in all the right places. The pictures I have don't do it justice and wish I got better ones. I'm 5'4 and the length of the dress with 3 inch heels was perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
Perfect choice for a historical moment
I love this dress! I wish it were mine forever. It was the perfect choice for the official Presidential Inaugural Ball. The fit was great! I initially thought I should wear a larger size, but the small fit perfectly. I only wish it were slightly shorter, the regular was about 2 inch too long for anyone under 5'3.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 6, 2013
The color of the dress is beautiful -- stands out in a sea of black tie without sequins...classy!
Loved this dress! So comfortable. Beautiful color. Very flattering! Ran alittle large -- I ordered the 4 and 6, wore the 4....could have worn a two.....fabric has lots of stretch and the draping hides tummy bulge. Would get regular size and one size down next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 13, 2013
Looks better in person.
When I ordered this I thought I ordered a second size of a different length. Unfortunately somehow that didn't happen. When it arrived the dress definitiely fit but I would have loved it to be just a little longer. It fit my body really well and my husband loved it. This was my first Rent The Runway experience. I will definitely try it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 13, 2013
Beautiful in person. Fabric was light weight.
The dress had enough stretch to make a comfortable fit. The color was splendid. The draping in the front of the gown hides any flaws.
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
December 30, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
Perfect formal dress for someone who is pregnant! Super comfortable and flattering on my 5+ month belly. I got a lot of compliments and felt fabulous! Beautiful color and style. Perfect length with 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2013
I got tons of compliments, and it was comfortable for the entire night.
The fit was true to size, it was easy to walk and dance in, and it complemented by pear shaped body type wonderfully. I wish I had gotten it in regular length because at 5'4" with four inch heels on, the dress did drag a bit. Otherwise, I had a wonderful time in it.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×