Madrid Madness Gown

$63 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 18, 2013
Felt like a million buck...didn't spend close to it!
I had a black tie event with my husband and was 18 weeks pregnant at the time so I didn't want to spend on a dress that I knew I would for sure never wear again so I decided to give it a try with RTR. I originally ordered the Badgley Mischka Flora Chiffon Gown and the Barbuda Beach Gown but none of them fitted me nice. The first one just felt too tight on my rib cage (I had to wear it a bit higher than the waist line in order to be above the belly) and I couldn't fill the cups of the second one in the size I needed to wear to fit my belly. Now I'll be honest with you, the Caterine Malandrino wasn't even one that I looked at but the the stylist assured me I would love it and feel comfortable in it and she was 150% right! This dress is stunning, show your curves and is extremely comfortable (kept telling my husband I felt like I was wearing one of my cute summer dress!). The picture on the website doesn't do it justice, trust me! Go for it, pregnant or not, it's a gorgeous dress!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 23, 2013
Rented this for a Royal Wedding party and it was just perfect. I channeled my inner Duchess.
The fit was great, and the dress was so, so comfortable. Wish I had it in my closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2013
Black tie wedding and wasn't sure how to create a look without breaking the bank. Till this dress!
The dress was a perfect fit. I am 5'9" and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress did not touch the floor. It was comfortable. The stretchy material does show underwear and the gathering in the front felt a little weird at first. I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2013
Beautiful Color and Neckline
This dress has a beautiful, vibrant color and I was complimented on how it looked with my red hair. The neckline is really nice- not too low, but still sexy. I didn't care for the draping in front; it didn't look BAD, but I felt like it created curves where I didn't have them and didn't want them. Probably a plus if you want to camouflage "problem" areas, but not as flattering if you don't have anything to hide. That said, I DID love how long the skirt was, and how it fell. ( I am somewhere between "straight and narrow" and "hourglass"... probably a little more on the "straight & narrow" side.) I am 5'8, ~120 lbs, 32C, usually a dress size 0-2. I wore 3'' heels and the 0 Long was perfect.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 29, 2013
Beautiful color and super comfortable. Great first RTR experience!
Wore this to a black tie wedding and it was a great choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 8, 2013
A+++ Perfect for the gala I attended-- I got compliments all night and even days later!!
Beautiful fit, color, and comfortable stretchy material. For all the short girls out there--it was pretty long and I had to use double sided tape for a temporary hem. The draping is great to create shape and hide a tummy-- however still make sure to wear shapewear/spanx as the fabric is thin. It was an amazing coincidence that I had the PERFECT shoes to go with it-- the same blue in a satin with sparkles, peep toes slingback heels (from Shoedazzle, but RTR should look into shoes too!!)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2013
Comfortable & flattering
no complaints
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
November 6, 2013
Comfortable dress for awards program
This dress is very comfortable, but runs a little long--with 3 inch heels, I was hitching this dress up all night. I think it made me look a little "hippier" than I am, but the other dress I rented didn't work at all, so I went with this one. The color is beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2013
Can't go wrong!
I was 6 weeks post partum and this dress was perfect! I ordered a size larger than I would normally wear (given the recent baby) and the dress fit perfectly - I wore 3 inch heels and the long length was perfect. It was comfortable, flattering and I got so many compliments on the dress and the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
December 2, 2013
pretty, but..
got this dress for a formal affair and I never ended up wearing it. It is a great dress but definitely not for pear shaped gals. This dress makes your hips pop even more and it's something I wanted to avoid. Plus the front draping part hangs funny, like a oversize adult bib. However that could have been the fact that it just didn't work for my body. Overall the dress is beautiful and great color.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
January 6, 2014
This dress was simply amazing. the color was perfect against my skin tone
The fit was perfect. Wore my spanx underneath for a flawless look. I received tons of compliments and I truly felt sexy. kudos to Rent the Runway! This was my first time and I would do it again.......
JessicaJanuary 15, 2014
It's insane how much better this dress looks on you than the model. I'd legitimately scan right past this dress seeing the original photo, but seeing you in it makes it instantly become a to-die for piece. Love the look!
kynaJanuary 17, 2014
Thanks for the compliment. The dress is amazing on!
JessikaJanuary 31, 2014
You look amazing! The color and the fit...so flattering!
jessicaJune 13, 2014
I feel like because you look so good in it I'm not going to rent it because I'll look like a sack of potatoes compared to you lol. Gorgeous!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2014
It was nice, but not spectacular.
This dress is a beautiful dress, but other than the color it added no wow factor to the evening. I looked nice, it fit well, but it was not the type of dress people remember.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 25, 2014
The stylist gave great advice and I was complimented time and time again.
Beautiful color. Fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
July 21, 2014
This dress looked gorgeous without drawing attention away from the bride :)
Fit perfectly, true to size. Regular was not too long with 2" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
February 2, 2015
Stunning, comfortable and I felt gorgeous!
I LOVED this dress... It was extremely comfortable (considering I was 8 months pregnant) ... I got compliments all night long. I started off in heels but because the dress was 2 or 3" from the floor (I'm 5'11" and wore the Long) I switched to flats, which was more comfortable on my swollen feet anyway... The material was nice and light, it had plenty of stretch to it. There is a built-in tank which didn't fit me because of my larger bosom, and there wasn't an option to remove it, so you can see the lines of it (in photo #2)... I would rent this dress again -- prego or not!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2011
Having random people stop me and give me compliments from the moment i walked out of my door!
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding 7.5 months pregnant. Thanks to the jersey material, I was comfortable and stylish all night long. Dress was such a flattering and easy wear, i got tons of compliments!
kinzleyOctober 29, 2013
thanks for posting! did you need heels for this?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
I love this gown! It was perfect for the Gala, RTW made the planning and returning easy and fun!
The dress is very easy to wear. Having it shipped in 2 sizes made the process worry free. The gown is simple yet flattering in all of the right places! I would even order the same dress again for a different event!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
April 10, 2013
beautiful gown. Light and forgiving with the pleating. color is gorgeous
A little short for me, but I'm 5'11. The medium long was long enough but a bit too lose.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2013
Comfortable, elegant and sexy.
It was a little long on me, but I am 5'1" so most things are. I had 6 iinch heels and still needed to be careful walking not to trip, so if you need to move fast and have short legs maybe not. Otherwise this dress was perfect. The blue color is vibrant and the fabric is super comfortable and silky without wrinkling and the cut is very flattering and hides all the insecurities. Plus you can wear a normal bra which is a huge plus. I felt incredible for the award show I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 29, 2013
So happy I chose this dress!
After just having my second child 4 months ago, I was not looking forward to trying on a bunch of dresses for this year's Marine Corps ball. I needed something forgiving that still made me feel pretty. This dress was it. I ordered both the Small Regular and the Extra Small Long, I ended up wearing the Extra small because the length was better for the high shoes I had my heart set on wearing and the bust held me in tighter than the regular. The color is amazing, bright, rich cobalt I received a ton of compliments. I didn't want to give this dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2014
Very pretty
I wore this dress to a military ball and it looked beautiful. The only comment I have is that it had a bit of a static issue. The dress kept clinging to my legs, and was continuously getting caught inbetween my legs as I walked. I'd recommed this dress only if you have static-guard handy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Flop
Didn't wear the dress, color was fantastic, the 8 fit well in the bust and hips however it was about 6 inches to long with heels. I tried the hem tape but it showed through the fabric. Sadly, I wore and old dress I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2014
Comfortable dress & fit my baby bump!
Thanks to all the previous reviews, I was able to figure out a size that would work with my baby bump (35 weeks). I usually wear a 2 pre pregnancy and the S fit. The material is stretchy so was comfortable to wear all day. Only downside was my bump filled out all the fabric so at 5' 7, even with the SL I had to wear flats - which I was totally fine with. Received lots of compliments and can't wait for my next rental.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
July 5, 2011
this is a hot dress, i recommend it, however it clings when it gets around your legs when you walk. over all it was a lovely wear!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2011
I rented this dress for an out of town event because I didn't want to buy something to wear one time only. The color was remarkable. The fit fabulous. It was elegant, classy & sexy all at once. I was complimented many times over. I was very much red carpet ready. I will use this service time & time again. Get your dress! Note the fit is long but was perfect with 4 inch heels. Wear Higher heels if you are average height.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2011
I wore this dress to a ball and loved it! It fit great and was very flattering with my curves. I received a lot of compliments. The regular was a perfect length with heels.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2012
Flattering for Curves
This was originally my back-up dress for a fundraiser, but I liked it so much I ended up wearing it over my first pick. I'm 5'10" and right between a size 10 and 12, but the size large in this dress was just perfect. The material is very stretchy so if you're in-between sizes like me this is a good choice. I loved that I could wear a regular bra with this dress. I highly recommend some SPANX, because the jersey fabric clings to everything. The seams at the waist and the draping are very flattering- it really helped to accentuate my waist without feeling constrictive at all. The color is the best part, it's very vibrant and I think it would look nice on all skin tones. Since I'm tall I usually struggle with dresses being long enough, but in the large long I was still able to wear 2-3" heels and have the hem graze the floor. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2012
Beautiful color!
I ordered this dress as my back-up, but loved it so much I ended up wearing it. The color is beautiful and it photographs well. The draping is very figure flattering and I was able to dance all night without having to constantly adjust my dress. Only downside, there was another girl in the same dress and she ordered it from RTR too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Totally Glam!
Wore this for a work event and it was an excellent choice. Fabric has some give so it was comfortable all evening. The color is a bright, deep blue and very pretty. I paired it with drop earrings for a classic look. I felt totally sexy but also ladylike - a good dress for feeling pretty *and* professional. I didn't have the length issue other people have mentioned, and wore this with a very moderate 2" heel. One downside is that the fabric bunches just a little at the midsection, giving you a "pooch." I wore Spanx to get around this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2012
The birthday coupon was so special.
Ended up wearing another dress but tried this one on anyway. Loved the way it draped my body and the gathering in the front was very pretty. Definitely need some reinforcement in the backside area if you are not super toned. The color was beautiful. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 5, 2012
So many compliment!
This gown is so very elegant, and comfortable! The blue is so rich, and the draping of the gown compliments the hour glass figure perfectly. I can't count how many compliments I got, and ladies asking where I got it! Thank you RTR!!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering. Previously viewed comments were correct, it runs short.
The L was the perfect length.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178lbs
September 7, 2013
I hate
filling these things out. The dress is made of a stretchy material. Fit just fine. Needed to wear heels with it though
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 13, 2013
Great dress and perfect for my baby bump
I am 6 months pregnant and the dress fit great around my belly. The fabric was soft and strechy so it kept me comfortable all night.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 1, 2014
Gorgeous blue, fit well and service was excellent! Having a back-up size was a PLUS!!
Had to wear HIGH heels with the regular length it was a bit long but overall the dress was wonderful!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 26, 2015
I felt very glamorous and elegant despite being 6 months pregnant!
I was 6 months pregnant during Mardi Gras and needed something comfortable yet beautiful. This dress was exactly what I wanted! The size 4R accented my bump perfectly and I was able to wear a strapless bra for added support. I received several complements throughout the night as well. Beautiful blue color that photographs nicely. Definitely recommend this dress whether pregnant or not!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×