Madrid Madness Gown

$63 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
December 2, 2013
pretty, but..
got this dress for a formal affair and I never ended up wearing it. It is a great dress but definitely not for pear shaped gals. This dress makes your hips pop even more and it's something I wanted to avoid. Plus the front draping part hangs funny, like a oversize adult bib. However that could have been the fact that it just didn't work for my body. Overall the dress is beautiful and great color.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
January 6, 2014
This dress was simply amazing. the color was perfect against my skin tone
The fit was perfect. Wore my spanx underneath for a flawless look. I received tons of compliments and I truly felt sexy. kudos to Rent the Runway! This was my first time and I would do it again.......
JessicaJanuary 15, 2014
It's insane how much better this dress looks on you than the model. I'd legitimately scan right past this dress seeing the original photo, but seeing you in it makes it instantly become a to-die for piece. Love the look!
kynaJanuary 17, 2014
Thanks for the compliment. The dress is amazing on!
JessikaJanuary 31, 2014
You look amazing! The color and the fit...so flattering!
jessicaJune 13, 2014
I feel like because you look so good in it I'm not going to rent it because I'll look like a sack of potatoes compared to you lol. Gorgeous!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
Great dress for showing off the baby bump
At 16.5 weeks pregnant, I was starting show, but still in that "is she fat or is she pregnant stage?". This dress was the perfect compliment to rocking the baby bump loud and proud. Paired with maternity spanx, I felt super comfy and beautiful in this dress. The draping in the front ended up stretching nicely to highlight the fact that I was pregnant, whereas other dresses I had tried at this stage felt like I was a whale in a circus tent, trying to cover up being overweight. I did feel that it ran large - I am usually a medium and with the little bit of extra weight I am carrying now, I did not expect a small to fit, but I am glad I got it! It paired perfectly with 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Great mix of elegant but not too formal. Perfect for a late afternoon outdoor wedding in San Diego.
I rented the small and xs long. The material looked like it was going to be very clingy and show panty lines, so I was going to wear the small to minimize lines. The small fit fine, but I tried on the xs just for fun and it fit better than the small. No panty lines, and had room where I need it (shoulders and hips). It was more fitted in the waist, but still room to eat a big wedding feast without showing a food baby. It was very comfortable and the color is really great, too. I received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2014
It was nice, but not spectacular.
This dress is a beautiful dress, but other than the color it added no wow factor to the evening. I looked nice, it fit well, but it was not the type of dress people remember.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 25, 2014
The stylist gave great advice and I was complimented time and time again.
Beautiful color. Fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
July 21, 2014
This dress looked gorgeous without drawing attention away from the bride :)
Fit perfectly, true to size. Regular was not too long with 2" heels.
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 8, 2015
Bump Friendly for sure!
Wore this to a local charity ball & got compliments all night. I was 27 weeks pregnant and the dress complimented my bump perfectly! The color is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2014
Endless compliments, gorgeous color, flattering shape!
I was 20 weeks pregnant and just starting to show, so I spent a lot of time on RTR finding a bump-friendly dress. This dress would have accommodated even a late term pregnant belly. All night people said "wow" when they saw me, and particularly complimented the color! It is a gorgeous royal blue and certainly stands out among the crowd. The material was relatively thick and stretchy, it was super comfortable. They did not have the regular length by the time I booked it, but I'm so glad I got the long because it skimmed the floor with 2 inch heels and did not cause any problems at all. Even when I switched to flats, I didn't feel that it was too long. I loved that you can wear a regular bra with it. This dress is super well-designed with its flattering V-cut, but has a clever layer to prevent cleavage issues. Stunning and I would look forward to renting again soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
February 2, 2015
Stunning, comfortable and I felt gorgeous!
I LOVED this dress... It was extremely comfortable (considering I was 8 months pregnant) ... I got compliments all night long. I started off in heels but because the dress was 2 or 3" from the floor (I'm 5'11" and wore the Long) I switched to flats, which was more comfortable on my swollen feet anyway... The material was nice and light, it had plenty of stretch to it. There is a built-in tank which didn't fit me because of my larger bosom, and there wasn't an option to remove it, so you can see the lines of it (in photo #2)... I would rent this dress again -- prego or not!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
LR
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
February 19, 2015
Thankful I could return for refund since this dress did not fit.
I was 35 weeks pregnant when I rented this dress. Only size available was either LR or SR. I knew a small wouldn't fit since I would normally wear a MR. LR fit a little loose on shoulders and did not flatter my bump....instead of hugging my shape, the dress sagged underneath by belly.
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Nice drape for maternity use, but too short.
I rented this dress for a black tie dinner, 30 weeks pregnant. The drape of the dress and stretch of the fabric accommodated my bump beautifully, and I'd highly recommend it for maternity use. However, the dress was far too short for me. I ordered a Small Long, and at 5'8" the hem fell mid-calf. Perhaps too much material was taken up by my belly, but renters should be aware of the possibility! I would also add that the fabric is very light weight - a stretchy jersey with sheen. It didn't feel quite as formal as I would have liked, and definitely requires seamless/smoothing undergarments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 23, 2015
Beautiful color
Wore this dress 6months pregnant and it was beautiful- comfortable and looked stunning- lots of compliments- great dress if your pregnant!!!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2014
The color was great for a holiday party.
I have been wearing L and had plenty of room in the M. It was very forgiving and slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2011
Having random people stop me and give me compliments from the moment i walked out of my door!
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding 7.5 months pregnant. Thanks to the jersey material, I was comfortable and stylish all night long. Dress was such a flattering and easy wear, i got tons of compliments!
kinzleyOctober 29, 2013
thanks for posting! did you need heels for this?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
I love this gown! It was perfect for the Gala, RTW made the planning and returning easy and fun!
The dress is very easy to wear. Having it shipped in 2 sizes made the process worry free. The gown is simple yet flattering in all of the right places! I would even order the same dress again for a different event!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
April 10, 2013
beautiful gown. Light and forgiving with the pleating. color is gorgeous
A little short for me, but I'm 5'11. The medium long was long enough but a bit too lose.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2013
Comfortable, elegant and sexy.
It was a little long on me, but I am 5'1" so most things are. I had 6 iinch heels and still needed to be careful walking not to trip, so if you need to move fast and have short legs maybe not. Otherwise this dress was perfect. The blue color is vibrant and the fabric is super comfortable and silky without wrinkling and the cut is very flattering and hides all the insecurities. Plus you can wear a normal bra which is a huge plus. I felt incredible for the award show I wore it to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 29, 2013
So happy I chose this dress!
After just having my second child 4 months ago, I was not looking forward to trying on a bunch of dresses for this year's Marine Corps ball. I needed something forgiving that still made me feel pretty. This dress was it. I ordered both the Small Regular and the Extra Small Long, I ended up wearing the Extra small because the length was better for the high shoes I had my heart set on wearing and the bust held me in tighter than the regular. The color is amazing, bright, rich cobalt I received a ton of compliments. I didn't want to give this dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2014
Very pretty
I wore this dress to a military ball and it looked beautiful. The only comment I have is that it had a bit of a static issue. The dress kept clinging to my legs, and was continuously getting caught inbetween my legs as I walked. I'd recommed this dress only if you have static-guard handy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Flop
Didn't wear the dress, color was fantastic, the 8 fit well in the bust and hips however it was about 6 inches to long with heels. I tried the hem tape but it showed through the fabric. Sadly, I wore and old dress I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2014
Comfortable dress & fit my baby bump!
Thanks to all the previous reviews, I was able to figure out a size that would work with my baby bump (35 weeks). I usually wear a 2 pre pregnancy and the S fit. The material is stretchy so was comfortable to wear all day. Only downside was my bump filled out all the fabric so at 5' 7, even with the SL I had to wear flats - which I was totally fine with. Received lots of compliments and can't wait for my next rental.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
July 5, 2011
this is a hot dress, i recommend it, however it clings when it gets around your legs when you walk. over all it was a lovely wear!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2011
I rented this dress for an out of town event because I didn't want to buy something to wear one time only. The color was remarkable. The fit fabulous. It was elegant, classy & sexy all at once. I was complimented many times over. I was very much red carpet ready. I will use this service time & time again. Get your dress! Note the fit is long but was perfect with 4 inch heels. Wear Higher heels if you are average height.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2011
I wore this dress to a ball and loved it! It fit great and was very flattering with my curves. I received a lot of compliments. The regular was a perfect length with heels.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2012
Flattering for Curves
This was originally my back-up dress for a fundraiser, but I liked it so much I ended up wearing it over my first pick. I'm 5'10" and right between a size 10 and 12, but the size large in this dress was just perfect. The material is very stretchy so if you're in-between sizes like me this is a good choice. I loved that I could wear a regular bra with this dress. I highly recommend some SPANX, because the jersey fabric clings to everything. The seams at the waist and the draping are very flattering- it really helped to accentuate my waist without feeling constrictive at all. The color is the best part, it's very vibrant and I think it would look nice on all skin tones. Since I'm tall I usually struggle with dresses being long enough, but in the large long I was still able to wear 2-3" heels and have the hem graze the floor. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2012
Beautiful color!
I ordered this dress as my back-up, but loved it so much I ended up wearing it. The color is beautiful and it photographs well. The draping is very figure flattering and I was able to dance all night without having to constantly adjust my dress. Only downside, there was another girl in the same dress and she ordered it from RTR too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Totally Glam!
Wore this for a work event and it was an excellent choice. Fabric has some give so it was comfortable all evening. The color is a bright, deep blue and very pretty. I paired it with drop earrings for a classic look. I felt totally sexy but also ladylike - a good dress for feeling pretty *and* professional. I didn't have the length issue other people have mentioned, and wore this with a very moderate 2" heel. One downside is that the fabric bunches just a little at the midsection, giving you a "pooch." I wore Spanx to get around this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
Just ok
Fabric is very thin and just didn't seem dressy enough for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2012
The birthday coupon was so special.
Ended up wearing another dress but tried this one on anyway. Loved the way it draped my body and the gathering in the front was very pretty. Definitely need some reinforcement in the backside area if you are not super toned. The color was beautiful. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 5, 2012
So many compliment!
This gown is so very elegant, and comfortable! The blue is so rich, and the draping of the gown compliments the hour glass figure perfectly. I can't count how many compliments I got, and ladies asking where I got it! Thank you RTR!!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering. Previously viewed comments were correct, it runs short.
The L was the perfect length.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178lbs
September 7, 2013
I hate
filling these things out. The dress is made of a stretchy material. Fit just fine. Needed to wear heels with it though
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 13, 2013
Great dress and perfect for my baby bump
I am 6 months pregnant and the dress fit great around my belly. The fabric was soft and strechy so it kept me comfortable all night.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 1, 2014
Gorgeous blue, fit well and service was excellent! Having a back-up size was a PLUS!!
Had to wear HIGH heels with the regular length it was a bit long but overall the dress was wonderful!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 26, 2015
I felt very glamorous and elegant despite being 6 months pregnant!
I was 6 months pregnant during Mardi Gras and needed something comfortable yet beautiful. This dress was exactly what I wanted! The size 4R accented my bump perfectly and I was able to wear a strapless bra for added support. I received several complements throughout the night as well. Beautiful blue color that photographs nicely. Definitely recommend this dress whether pregnant or not!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×