Madrid Madness Gown

$63 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing, vibrant colored gown by Catherine Malandrino for your prom or formal event. It will be the talk of the party! Pair with Slate & Willow's Platinum Record Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch jersey allows for larger cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - pleated waist and front draping conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretch jersey highlights backside
LENGTH: - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue jersey. V neckline with modesty inset. Pleated waist. Draped skirt. Sleeveless blue jersey gown with pleated waist and front draping. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size64
Small1
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 13, 2013
Looks better in person.
When I ordered this I thought I ordered a second size of a different length. Unfortunately somehow that didn't happen. When it arrived the dress definitiely fit but I would have loved it to be just a little longer. It fit my body really well and my husband loved it. This was my first Rent The Runway experience. I will definitely try it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 6, 2013
The color of the dress is beautiful -- stands out in a sea of black tie without sequins...classy!
Loved this dress! So comfortable. Beautiful color. Very flattering! Ran alittle large -- I ordered the 4 and 6, wore the 4....could have worn a two.....fabric has lots of stretch and the draping hides tummy bulge. Would get regular size and one size down next time.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
Perfect choice for a historical moment
I love this dress! I wish it were mine forever. It was the perfect choice for the official Presidential Inaugural Ball. The fit was great! I initially thought I should wear a larger size, but the small fit perfectly. I only wish it were slightly shorter, the regular was about 2 inch too long for anyone under 5'3.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 7, 2013
Lots of compliments!
I wore this to a black tie wedding. Very beautiful! So comfortable, would definitely rent again if I need a long gown. The material is so silky and soft and fit in all the right places. The pictures I have don't do it justice and wish I got better ones. I'm 5'4 and the length of the dress with 3 inch heels was perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2012
This gown was awesome, I wore it for a concert then to a party, great transition.
The fit was good and it was comfortable, material was stretch. The inner lining showed and as you can see in the pic, did not sit as I expected on my hip due to my long torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 53
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Great fit, Great color.
Always lookig for extra length and this defiitely had it. Fit well, maybe a little large for size. Would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2012
Very pretty, but ended up going with my other choice.
Beautiful color, and I loved the way the top looks. I liked the other dress I rented just a little bit more, so I didn't end up wearing this one, but it was still a very nice choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 5, 2012
So many compliment!
This gown is so very elegant, and comfortable! The blue is so rich, and the draping of the gown compliments the hour glass figure perfectly. I can't count how many compliments I got, and ladies asking where I got it! Thank you RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2012
The birthday coupon was so special.
Ended up wearing another dress but tried this one on anyway. Loved the way it draped my body and the gathering in the front was very pretty. Definitely need some reinforcement in the backside area if you are not super toned. The color was beautiful. I would rent this again.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 12, 2012
It was the best choice last minute and it ended up matching the bridal party!
The fit was true to size; very classy; a nice stretchy fit just the way I like it so it hugs my curves... Received so many compliments!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
Just ok
Fabric is very thin and just didn't seem dressy enough for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
I felt like a diva ! this dress was very classy yet sexy
absoloutely no issues for this dress. It was very comfortable and I didn't want to take it off. Definitely wear spanx if you have any bulges you don't want to be seen
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Great Dress for Black Tie
The fit is super flattering. I'm 5'11", and the long was the perfect length for heels. I'm also a DD, and this was great for large chests. Also really comfortable and forgiving in all the right places. I wish I could wear it for every black tie wedding!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2012
The dress was very lightweight, which was great because it was 95 degrees out!
The fit was great. I had a larger backup size, just in case the fabric was too clingy -- but it draped perfectly in all the right places. I got a lot of compliments on the color. It was nice not to be in predictable black!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
I love this gown! It was perfect for the Gala, RTW made the planning and returning easy and fun!
The dress is very easy to wear. Having it shipped in 2 sizes made the process worry free. The gown is simple yet flattering in all of the right places! I would even order the same dress again for a different event!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Super comfortable and stylish!
Loved the feel, color and overall fit. I'm renting for a second time, I loved it so much! The color blue is perfect for my skin tone (I have fair olive skin). I wore silver jewelry with it but I think it would go great with silver or gold. The rouching is perfect to hide any "problem" areas and the the full back allows me to wear a supportive bra which I need (I'm a 36 D).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Totally Glam!
Wore this for a work event and it was an excellent choice. Fabric has some give so it was comfortable all evening. The color is a bright, deep blue and very pretty. I paired it with drop earrings for a classic look. I felt totally sexy but also ladylike - a good dress for feeling pretty *and* professional. I didn't have the length issue other people have mentioned, and wore this with a very moderate 2" heel. One downside is that the fabric bunches just a little at the midsection, giving you a "pooch." I wore Spanx to get around this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I would normally consider myself a medium, and the medium fit perfectly! It is form-fitting, so make sure you have a good undergarments, I am about 5' 3", and it hit right at my foot. I wore about 4" heels and you could still see most of the shoes. This was an event with dancing, and I was able to dance without any problems.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 6, 2012
I felt like RuPaul, the most glamorous person alive!
I rented this dress for the Burlesque Hall of Fame Legends Event. The color is gorgeous- bright and vibrant cobalt blue. The fabric was stretchy and soft in a slinky way, and is very clingy. If you have concerns with smoothness, you might want spanx. I was able to wear a regular bra, which was nice. The dress was also quite long, I was surprised. With my shoes it was perfect. When I first tried this dress on, I didn't love the draping in the front. I felt it made me look rounder than I am, instead of camouflaging and concealing. I ended up wearing a small cincher to flatten my front a bit more and felt in the end, quite successful. I received many compliments and had perfect strangers asking to take my photo.
ElaineAugust 16, 2013
"a small cincher?" what was that? you look great
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2012
Beautiful color!
I ordered this dress as my back-up, but loved it so much I ended up wearing it. The color is beautiful and it photographs well. The draping is very figure flattering and I was able to dance all night without having to constantly adjust my dress. Only downside, there was another girl in the same dress and she ordered it from RTR too!
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2012
Wedding Affair
I rented this dress for a wedding in Philly this past weekend. While I did like the color, the slouching in the front of the dress gave it a maternity feel to me. Another part I did not like was that the zipper on the left side of the dress bunched up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2012
My dad got teary-eyed when he saw me, and it wasn't even the wedding day!
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal, because I wanted to feel stunning. First of all, I will say: I'm 5'2", and even with my tallest 5" heels, the dress was still touching the ground. I would say that you need to be at least 5'8" (whether by nature or heels) to wear this dress comfortably. The color is gorgeous, and the detail on the bodice is impeccable. The draping around the crotch and hips can be...a little strange? It photographs oddly at times, but the dress is very comfortable. It's large in the bust, so I used my padded push-up bra and it filled out the line nicely, but I think overall it runs small.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2012
Flattering for Curves
This was originally my back-up dress for a fundraiser, but I liked it so much I ended up wearing it over my first pick. I'm 5'10" and right between a size 10 and 12, but the size large in this dress was just perfect. The material is very stretchy so if you're in-between sizes like me this is a good choice. I loved that I could wear a regular bra with this dress. I highly recommend some SPANX, because the jersey fabric clings to everything. The seams at the waist and the draping are very flattering- it really helped to accentuate my waist without feeling constrictive at all. The color is the best part, it's very vibrant and I think it would look nice on all skin tones. Since I'm tall I usually struggle with dresses being long enough, but in the large long I was still able to wear 2-3" heels and have the hem graze the floor. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2012
not as I expected
This is a beautiful dress and I would have loved to have worn it, but the M was too tight in the bust and the L was too big. Also, the MR was really short ( I am 5' 4") If I ever see this dress for purchase, I would get the LR and have it altered. This is obviously a very popular rental. There were definite signs of wear and tear. Maybe time to retire !
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2012
i got soooo many compliments from all the guest..
it was my sisters wedding and i was the maid of honor. She told me she wanted me to wear this color, to look classy, yet fashionable. This dress is better in person then in pictures. The material, the overall fit is exceptional. This dress made my body look perfect. Im not a fan of long dresses, but this dress changed my mind. This dress is perfect for ALL body types.. DONT BE AFRAID LADIES.. if you like it, go for it. The other brides maid wore this dress as well, and we are very different in body's, she's thicker than me. But she looked just as beautiful, it complimented her body perfectly. she felt so sexy and comfortable. I RECOMMED THIS DRESS FOR EVERY WOMEN IN ALL SIZES... Make sure to wear spanx ladies, it makes the dress look even more beautfiul!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2011
Having random people stop me and give me compliments from the moment i walked out of my door!
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding 7.5 months pregnant. Thanks to the jersey material, I was comfortable and stylish all night long. Dress was such a flattering and easy wear, i got tons of compliments!
kinzleyOctober 29, 2013
thanks for posting! did you need heels for this?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2011
Amazing dress
This dress is perfect for a semi formal event. I am so pleased with this dress which Is very elegant but not over the top. I am a mother of 4 and this dress did hide my belly pooch :). Just wear spanks and let me tell u for my straight not perfect figure this dress gave me great shape. Length is also perfect, I'm a little over 5'3 and wore 3.5 in heels and it hits just right above the bottom of the heel of my shoe so my toe only peaks out and I don't have to hold the dress when I walk. Color is so rich and vibrant that will look good with any skin tone.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2011
I wore this dress to a ball and loved it! It fit great and was very flattering with my curves. I received a lot of compliments. The regular was a perfect length with heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2011
I rented this dress for an out of town event because I didn't want to buy something to wear one time only. The color was remarkable. The fit fabulous. It was elegant, classy & sexy all at once. I was complimented many times over. I was very much red carpet ready. I will use this service time & time again. Get your dress! Note the fit is long but was perfect with 4 inch heels. Wear Higher heels if you are average height.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 6, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! I received both the XS and S and ended up wearing the XS. I'm just a tad under 5'7" and both sizes were actually a bit short on me. You could see my shoes and they were probably only 2.5 inches high. The color on this dress is stunning, great choice for an event where you don't want to be the center of attention but you want some color on you!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2011
This dress ran long on me, but fit my curves perfectly. I wasn't expecting the material to be like it was though, so I had to use a dryer sheet to get the static cling off of my legs. This is a good dress if you're in shape, but if you're not, it's going to show off everything you'd rather not show. Loved the dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 1, 2011
I was the first woman receiving the Maverick Award at the Action On Film Festival 2011 for being a filmmaker---and this dress brought the whole experience home for me at this Red Carpet Event. I needed a dress that could be flexible to my body type and that could make me feel "sexy" and "powerful" -- this was the dress! I had so many compliments. Thank you Rent the Runway! I tell everyone about you!
This dress fitted me fabulously at a major Red Carpet event in Hollywood! I had so many compliments. This dress is true to size. As a mother of two, what I love about the structure of this dress is that it camouflages my small pouch from my previous pregnancy--wore 3 inch heels. I recommend wearing "spanx" shapewear for a smoother silhouette and for those that stated in earlier reviews that this dress clings--all you have to do is wear lotion on your legs and/ or spray static cling on your shapewear. All the clinging and static was gone. I realize that Rent the Runway is becoming more and more a popular option for women, so I am going to recommend that customers consider renting a second dress ( the $25 extra) for a second option. I saw a woman at the event that I was at and she was wearing the dress that would have been my third option to rent. Luckily I stuck with this dress. But, in case someone has the same dress at the same event you're at, it's good to have that standby dress as an another option, waiting in a car or at home. $25 dollars is worth the investment.
JenAugust 27, 2012
Any recommendations on "types" of Spanx to wear with this dress? There are so many! Thanks :) You look lovely in this one.
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Jen! We suggest the Nude Simplicity Girl Short or the Nude Super High Power Boy Short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 6, 2011
I felt comfortable and beautiful at the same time. Thanks RTR!
This dress was perfect. I felt a hint of glamour, sexy but not overtly and above all, I was comfortable dancing in it! I'm 5'6"ish, not quite 5'7", and the length was just great. I wore the small (regular) to a black tie summer wedding and even though I'd rather not wear the same dress twice, I'd wear this one in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
July 5, 2011
this is a hot dress, i recommend it, however it clings when it gets around your legs when you walk. over all it was a lovely wear!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2011
Loved this dress! I am around 5'7, 130lbs, and I ordered the SR. The dress came right above my toes in my heels, and dragged just a little on the floor without shoes. The color was slightly richer than in the picture which I LOVED, and everything about it fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to my prom, it was stretchy and comfortable, and really easy to dance in! From the picture, I was a little worried about the front draping looking a little funny, but it ended up being very slimming and it looked great. It was such a beautiful dress, I hated having to send it back!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2011
It fit me a little long, but i blame that on MY height, not the dress. It does fit true to size. I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×