Black Bombshell Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2012
Gorgeous and feminine!

This was my back-up dress and I got it in the 8 and 10. The 10 was really large, and the 8 was almost perfect - except the bust area was more loose than I had hoped. I wear 36C, so size shouldn't have been an issue. The dress tends to have some static, but it was really gorgeous. I felt comfortable and the length was great for me - I am only 5"2' though. I wore it with black sheer hose, but imagine it would've looked great with bare legs or nude hose as well. There is a soft fabric panel across the mid section, and on the size 10 that I received, the fabric was pilling. I didn't wear that one, but had I needed to wear that one, I would've been disappointed. Great first rental experience!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Great party dress

Loved the dress! I am quite busty and the dress as very large on the top. I think the 10 would have fit better, but I received the wrong back-up size. As mentioned in other reviews the short side is much shorter than it looks in the picture, but was fine with tights. I wore to a roaring 20's party and got tons of of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2012
Great Dress, Poor Fit

The dress was beautiful and I loved the side slit, but there was so much room in the bust! I had to return it without wearing it because I just couldn't even get close to filling it out.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 18, 2012
Fast easy service!

I chose the size 0 and 2 and went with the 0 because the drape at neck was too floppy and exposing on the size 2. Great fit... super comfy. Size 2 had a faint cig smell...

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2013
Disappointment

Both sizes I ordered were too large in the bust and didn't fit right. Also, they both smelled like moth balls! I'm very disappointed and now will have to go emergency shopping tomorrow and hope I find something.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2013
I actually never wore this dress.

If you are short like me, I would suggest choosing a different dress. I never wore it because when I tried it on, the asymmetrical hem just made my hips look bulky and my lower body look a lot heavier. Plus, it did nothing for my already lacking height. However, if you're tall and thin, this will definitely look nice!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Great dress!

I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve dinner date and absolutely loved it. It definitely ran large on me--I almost always wear an 8, but the 8 in this dress was way too big at the top. The 6 fit perfectly. You'll almost certainly need the fashion tape that RTR sends for the top of the dress because it's loose and drapes pretty low, but with the tape it was perfect. Also, be aware of the cut on the higher side of the dress if you aren't planning on wearing tights. I personally thought it would have been fine without tights (I wore them because it was cold), but for others it may be cut too high. But aside from those caveats, I would definitely recommend this dress--it's so flattering and elegant!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
May 17, 2014
Pretty, but probably not the best for petite girls.

This dress was really pretty--the asymmetrical bottom with the layers is just gorgeous and super fun--but the sizing was a little difficult for me. It's not great for really small busted ladies. I wore this to my husband's work event and the v-neck hung down way too low for the situation (I was able to secure it with fashion tape though). The arm holes were also too large and hung down kind of awkwardly, exposing the sides of my bra (glad I had a black one and it wasn't noticeable). It was also big around the waist, but I added a belt (a JCrew collection crystal belt I wore as part of my wedding dress) and it fixed that, as well as added some pizazz to the dress. A great dress, but probably for a girl with a different body type than mine.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2015
compliments from both women & men - it was perfect for the Peju Harvest Party -

after reading other reviews, I had an 8 & 10 shipped to me....could have used a 6, I think as I'm small up top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2013
Not my favorite

Cute dress but didn't fit me well. Ended up not wearing it because it was a little bit big and too long for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
N/A

The neckline is very low and baggy. I ended up not wearing this dress given the way it looks on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
Unique

This dress was very unique, not my style though (so did not wear). RTR sent me this as back up. It has a much stranger neckline than what appears on the model. Also, the only way the dress would flare out like it is on the model is if a fan was constantly blowing in that direction. It just did not work for my body type.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2010

I was a bit disapointed in this dress. It did not look as sophisticated as it does in the photo. I also think it is narrow through the rib cage area.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect for the Roaring 20's

I wore this to a murder mystery party that was set in the 20's. This dress was perfect with a long strand of pearls. I normally wear a 6, but the 8 fit better. It might have had something to do with the fact that I had the flu and was not feeling so hot.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
Love the look, but didn't quite work!

Cute dress on the hanger/in the picture, but didn't wear it. Too tight through the hips - not recommended for pear or hourglass figures. ;)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2013
This dress was just okay in my opinion.

Was tight around the waist. Also, the flowiness of the bottom made me look hippier. It was nice but wasn't what I expected.

Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2011

I picked this dress for a formal event, but was unable to wear it because it was way shorter on me than I thought it would be. It also seemed to run a bit tighter in the rib cage area for me. Beautiful dress, just did not work for me.

RTR CustomerJuly 13, 2011
so it didnt fall down or slip? im thinking of adding straps, woul dthat look bad?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012
no apple types here

If you are apples shaped this dress will not fit. I have no problem finding dresses in department stores but this site does not understand women with apple shapes.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 4, 2010

Very happy with this dress. I'm between a 10 & a 12 and went with the 12 because it zipped up just right through the waist & ribs. The dress really fit just right. Very fun & flirty layers, got lots of complimnets!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2010

I agree with the prior review - the dress is not as dressy or sophisticated as it appears in the photo. I wore it to a black-tie event and felt a bit underdressed. It fits well, however, and is flattering. Warning - the short side is very short - mid to upper thigh. But I am on the tall side, so that could account for some of that.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 21, 2011

This dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve! Flirty, great for dancing, I got so mny compliments. I was surprised at the lack of finish on the handkerchief edges and the left side was higher than I expected but overall, I would recommend it and rent it again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2011

I loved this dress, I wore it 8 weeks after having a baby and it looked great, hid the extra weight well. It is cut pretty high on the thigh which is hard to see from the picture.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2011

I rented this dress to go to the Opera... it is stunning. The neckline is gorgeous; great if you have a medium size chest :). The draping is very flattering and on my frame the length was about 3 inches longer (better as the side slit is high). I loved wearing it and felt amazing. My date's reaction when I opened the door? "Wow".

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2011

I wore this dress to a roaring 20s party, and it worked great. The fit was perfect. I was concerned beforehand because several reviews mentioned it ran narrow in the ribs, but I had no problem with it (and I'm a 34D). I would definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2011

I am a 10 with a full bust- I ordered both a 10 & 12 just in case. I am going to wear the 12. It is fitted in the waist & ribcage. The top looks really sloppy on me, not elegant like this photo. The sides (under the arms) seem loose as does the top fabric. I just would not suggest it for a busty figure like mine. I love the fabric, flow & feel of the dress from the waist down!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011

This dress was very flattering in the bust area but the slit was VERY high. It barely covered my butt. I felt the pitcures were misleading b/c it didn't show how high the slit went up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Asymmetric hemline

This was a fun and light dress I wore to a Christmas party. You will feel so beautiful. The asymmetric tulle is beautiful but very delicate. Don't step on it or it may tear. (Speaking from experience, ahem.)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 42DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
August 6, 2012
Perfect for Homecoming!

This was perfect for my daughter's HS Homecoming dance. She had a unique dress and because of the fabric, it fit perfectly.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
Great Party Dress

It fits pretty much to size, I'd recommend some dress tape along the bust line, it tended to slip around without it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2012
Better for taller girls

This dress was too long on me and did not flatter me like it does on the model. It was a back up dress that I did not end up wearing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Flattering, easy to wear, and comfortable. I got a ton of compliments on this dress.

The slit goes slightly high on the side - so if you're attending a more conservative event, you might want something different. But for the formal-but-fun party I went to, this dress was perfect.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
I this dress wore on a date with my boyfriend to a Broadway show. Very classy, made the night!

a little extra space in the bust, but nothing major. The neckline fell nicely.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2012
The compliments kept coming.

I only have a B-cup and I felt that that this dress needs a little bit bigger bust than that. There was lots of fabric just hanging around and I had to use a lot of fabric tape to keep it in place. It was impossible to find a bra that would not show under this dress. The neckline and under the arms is really deep cut, so I chose not to wear a bra at all. Now with my cup size I could get away with it and still keep the girls in place. After a few adjustments it was an overall fabulous dress that definitely turned some heads.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
very comfortable

i got this as my back up dress and wound up wearing it, i wish i got one size larger as it was a little short on the side/back, it looked great and got a lot of compliments all night.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 6, 2012
Flattering for any figure. Great, go-to LBD!

Slightly shorter (on the short side) than I thought, but so flattering it didn't matter. However, if you plan on wearing a spanx down onto your thigh this is not the dress for you. This dress is easy to wear. Good for any figure - shrinks the waistline of an hourglass, good to camo pear shapes or give volume to women with a smaller chest. Great find!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved the dress! It was fun and comfortable to wear

I loved the simple top and the textured bottom. I wore it with black printed tights, black shoes and silver and pearl jewelry. If I had a lighter pair of tights, I probably would have opted to wear that instead to highlight for of the bottom of the dress, but it wasn't a big deal. I did have to use the fashion tape that came with the order (thank you RTR!) for the top on both the top of the cups and straps. It was a great dress that was comfortable to wear all night. It was light and fun!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect formal little black dress!

I loved this dress and it ended up fitting perfectly! I'm 5'8" and the short side of the dress was definitely very short, I had planned to wear it with tights and I am very glad I had, because I would not have been very comfortable showing that much leg. I ended up using some fashion tape in the bust area on the side where the zipper was as that part seemed to hang a little bit looser somehow. Overall I was very happy with it and felt beautiful! Rent the Runway made the experience great and very easy!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
Wore this for a Mardi Gras ball and it was great! Got tons of compliments.

It fit me perfectly. I'd ordered the back-up a size up (8) from my usual (6) just in case, considering I'm 4 months pregnant. However, the 6 fit wonderfully and it has a little give around the tummy area to hide any of those potential problem areas! ( I tried to include pictures that show the overall dress, the way it angles at the bottom, and the bust of the dress ) Pros: -Fit VERY well -Was very comfortable -Would flatter most body types (would avoid if you need larger than a 10) -Perfect length (left side is a little shorter than finger tips and angles down to below knee on right) Cons: -If you're busty (like me) you will definitely need the fashion tape they so awesomely provide! -The straps kept moving to the side, but wouldn't have been a problem if I had used the tape. (and only a problem for me because I'm unable to go bra-less) so I'd suggest wearing a black bra as well.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 22, 2012
nice. elegant

It is not a show stopper but it was very elegant and I enjoyed wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun dress, revealing on the bust

Really cute dress that was perfect for a 1920's Speakeasy themed bachelorette party. Loved it but would caution against wearing it if you're smaller in the chest. I wore a black strapless bra and was comfortable with a little bit of it showing given the particular event I was at, but if you're going someplace more conservative or don't have a very full chest to fill it out, some fashion tape would probably be necessary.

See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×