Black Bombshell Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2013
This has been my Favorite Dress so Far!!

This was my backup dress. I tried it on, and I just had to wear it. It fit like a glove, and it just flowed with me when I walked. I felt incredibly beautiful, and I got a ton of compliments. It was fun to dance in, and it was also extremely comfortable. It was slightly longer on me than the model, it probably came down to a little bit below my knees. Since I have a full bust, I did wear a black Spanx Cami underneath, otherwise it would have showed too much cleavage for a wedding. Another solution would have been fashion tape, but I liked the cami better.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 18, 2013
Fun flirty dress - not for the timid

I am a size 8-10 and the 8 fit well all lover (10 was too big) except: 1. It's cut high on the left side and rides up a bit when you sit down so takes some navigating. I wore Spanx and would have to make sure you couldn't see them when sitting. 2. The bust was a bit big so became too low cut - my tatas were more exposed than would have liked. I wore a black bra and it kept peeking out. The condition was excellent - no tears or rips. I think it would be great for someone a bit shorter and a fuller bust - 5'5 with a 36C would look terrific!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 220lbs
May 29, 2013
Loved this dress!

Really slimming and was great on the dance floor!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2013
Such a flattering style and perfect for a countryside evening wedding

I loved this dress!! I got it as my bridesmaid dress for a country wedding. The bride wanted us to have black dresses that were fancy but not full length and this was exactly perfect for the occasion. The fit could not have been better! For a full-figured hourglass girl like myself, it had a flattering waistline but enough room to move in the hips and a comfortable bust. The asymmetry makes it stand-out, the ruffles in the back make it flirty, and the cowl neck is undeniably sexy. Perfect for dancing and so elegant!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 26, 2013
Love this Dress!!

I wore this dress for my niece's wedding and got so many compliments on it. I even told a few people that it was a rental and they couldn't believe it! My boyfriend liked it so much he said he would buy it for me, but I told him it wasn't for sale. Since then I have been checking constantly to see if it is being offered for sale. Unfortunately, not yet. But I will keep checking until it is. It fit me perfectly and the slit was not too high at all. I wore black stockings and strappy black heels, along with a stack of bangle bracelets that I also rented from RTR. ( I wanted to buy them too! )

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 29, 2013
Backup dress, didn't wear it.

I think this dress would be more appropriate for a younger woman. I'm tall, and the dress was very, very short. It also looked like it might have seen better days (maybe time to pull this one from the rentals?)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
November 22, 2013
RTR sent both a 4 and a 2

This dress was perfect for my black swan costume for Halloween. The overall fit was true to size but since I have a pretty large chest it was a little hard to zip. Once I was in I had no problems all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2013
After I wore this dress to a business event, I tried to find it on-line to BUY.

In designer clothes I am a solid size 12 and this fit me perfectly. No fancy undergarments necessary. I wore underwear and a regular bra - not even tights or stockings. The fabric is textured, so it hides little bumps and lumps. I got complements all night!! I really did want to buy this dress, but couldn't find it on-line anywhere....I will keep looking! RTR offered me 'mystery' stylist selected accessories for $15, which I accepted and that was the amazing necklace that I am wearing. Loved that as well!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 12, 2013
Flattering! Fun! Flirty!!!

This was an excellent dress! I danced the night away, and got quite a few compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
Great dress. Felt wonderful wearing it. The asymmetry is fun.

Great dress. Got lots of compliments. Be prepared to show a lil leg on your left when wearing this. Sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2014
perfect for y masquerade

perfect little black dress for my masquerade themed bday, the neckline was very free form so I opted to wear a bra that was matte black and more concealing, i know it peeked out in pics, but not so noticeable so it didnt bother me, if you are super modest you may want to be aware and take similar precaution

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2014
Fun and Flirty

Wore this for NYE party downtown. Dress runs true to size. No stretch. Overall I found the dress to be flattering. Even though I'm only 5'2", the length of the dress was fine and the short side was just right - showed plenty of leg, but not so much as to reveal anything else! It's quite low cut in the front, the draping does help to provide a little extra coverage, so you aren't overly exposed. I'm only giving it 4 out of 5 stars due to the hem on one of the flowy layers was quite frayed. Not really noticeable to anyone other than myself. I definitely recommend this dress!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 18, 2014
Seeing my husband's face!

Dress was perfect for a friend's 50 th birthday party. Two warnings- neckline plunges. With a large chest, it therefore shows a lot of cleavage. I had to place some pins to stay even slightly covered. And the left side is shorter than I expected. I wore stockings.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 15, 2014
The style was unique & very comfortable.

This is the second time I've rented this dress. Even though I love the dress, I think it' s time to retire it. The tulle looked as though it had been cut & was frayed along the edges. I thought it may have been just the one I wore, but the extra dress in a different size showed the same type of fraying.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2014
Very comfortable, kinda basic

I wore this dress in a wedding. I originally had ordered a different RTR dress but that was unavailable at the last minute, so I chose this as a replacement. It was fine. I wore the 6 because it's all they had but I'm pretty sure I could have worn the 4. It wasn't noticeably big but I could feel that there was extra space. I was super comfortable in this dress, very lightweight material and a great fit. It just wasn't mind-blowing. I didn't receive as many compliments with this dress as I usually do with RTR dresses. Overall, great fit, can't go wrong, just not a WOW dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress! The fit was perfect & the asymmetrical hemline is striking!

The dress is slightly long on the longer side for me (I'm only 5'0" but the shorter side hit me flatteringly a few inches above the knee. I would not recommend this dress if you are very small chested as the neckline drape is very open, wide, and deep, and it might gape. On me (average) it was very flattering, without being too revealing. Worn as shown, with black hose and heels.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 14, 2010

Elegant dress. A little on the long side for shorter ladies, but quite beautiful. For the right event, I would rent again. Pretty flow.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
August 27, 2012
Very Comfortable

I rented this dress for a friend's graduation ceremony. It was perfect for the semi-formal event and super comfortable all night. It did come quite low on me in the front, but nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. The bottom is not as poofy as my pic shows. It was windy that night, it was actually quite streamlined. I'd definitely recommend this dress for almost any occasion.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010

Little Black Dress with Lots of Flexibility! This dress was a perfect fit for a night at the opera. I'm a little shorter, so the dress length was slightly longer on me in person than on the model online. Also, the neckline could be bustled with minimal dress tape to show little to lots of cleavage depending on the preference of the wearer. I received several compliments in this dress, and absolutely loved it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2010

A lovely dress. I'm a B cup/size 4 and it fit quite well, after some strategic taping in the cleavage area. I think it would look even better on someone taller though, so the ruffles fall above the knee. Proper styling is vital, because it could look witch-y with the wrong shoes and accessories, especially on someone short. It was great for the opera.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2010

This dress is so flattering! I paired it with nude hose, red patent pumps and bag. I have a full bust and it was just complimentary enough without overdoing the cleavage.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
nice twist on LBD

overall fit was great. had a nice formal feel to it for a dress that was not floor-length

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress and so easy to dance in

The front came down a bit low but looked great with a long necklace and the short side of the dress was shorted than I expected but was totally appropriate with dark black tights. The style of the dress has a vintage flair that perfectly fit the feel of the event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2013
I rented this as a second dress for a wedding. The slit was WAY too high.

I like the fit of this dress and that it's not cleavage-heavy (I was 5 months post partum when I wore it, and it hides any little lumpy bumpy bits), but the slit was too high--like show girl high. Probably better for a night out with friends.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 1, 2013
Fit well but did not like the fabric

This was a back up dress since my first choice didn't fit, bummer! This one fit much better but the draped fabric on the bottom made it seem cheap. The rest felt pretty comfortable and was great for a fancy wedding in AC.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×