Catherine Malandrino

Black Bombshell Dress

$49 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

64 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 47
Large 11
Photos 15
raining violets
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Little Black Dress with Lots of Flexibility! This dress was a perfect fit for a night at the opera. I'm a little shorter, so the dress length was slightly longer on me in person than on the model online. Also, the neckline could be bustled with minimal dress tape to show little to lots of cleavage depending on the preference of the wearer. I received several compliments in this dress, and absolutely loved it!
Steph
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 22, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I was a bit disapointed in this dress. It did not look as sophisticated as it does in the photo. I also think it is narrow through the rib cage area.
Nicole
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Very happy with this dress. I'm between a 10 & a 12 and went with the 12 because it zipped up just right through the waist & ribs. The dress really fit just right. Very fun & flirty layers, got lots of complimnets!
Jess
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I agree with the prior review - the dress is not as dressy or sophisticated as it appears in the photo. I wore it to a black-tie event and felt a bit underdressed. It fits well, however, and is flattering. Warning - the short side is very short - mid to upper thigh. But I am on the tall side, so that could account for some of that.
acorn
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Dec 5, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
A lovely dress. I'm a B cup/size 4 and it fit quite well, after some strategic taping in the cleavage area. I think it would look even better on someone taller though, so the ruffles fall above the knee. Proper styling is vital, because it could look witch-y with the wrong shoes and accessories, especially on someone short. It was great for the opera.
Rae
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Dec 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Elegant dress. A little on the long side for shorter ladies, but quite beautiful. For the right event, I would rent again. Pretty flow.
Carol1na
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is so flattering! I paired it with nude hose, red patent pumps and bag. I have a full bust and it was just complimentary enough without overdoing the cleavage.
Andie
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve! Flirty, great for dancing, I got so mny compliments. I was surprised at the lack of finish on the handkerchief edges and the left side was higher than I expected but overall, I would recommend it and rent it again.
jk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, I wore it 8 weeks after having a baby and it looked great, hid the extra weight well. It is cut pretty high on the thigh which is hard to see from the picture.
ljpj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress to go to the Opera... it is stunning. The neckline is gorgeous; great if you have a medium size chest :). The draping is very flattering and on my frame the length was about 3 inches longer (better as the side slit is high). I loved wearing it and felt amazing. My date's reaction when I opened the door? "Wow".
Lola
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I picked this dress for a formal event, but was unable to wear it because it was way shorter on me than I thought it would be. It also seemed to run a bit tighter in the rib cage area for me. Beautiful dress, just did not work for me.
Lani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a roaring 20s party, and it worked great. The fit was perfect. I was concerned beforehand because several reviews mentioned it ran narrow in the ribs, but I had no problem with it (and I'm a 34D). I would definitely rent it again.
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am a 10 with a full bust- I ordered both a 10 & 12 just in case. I am going to wear the 12. It is fitted in the waist & ribcage. The top looks really sloppy on me, not elegant like this photo. The sides (under the arms) seem loose as does the top fabric. I just would not suggest it for a busty figure like mine. I love the fabric, flow & feel of the dress from the waist down!
Jeanine
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was very flattering in the bust area but the slit was VERY high. It barely covered my butt. I felt the pitcures were misleading b/c it didn't show how high the slit went up.
Berlinessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 29, 2011

Asymmetric hemline

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a fun and light dress I wore to a Christmas party. You will feel so beautiful. The asymmetric tulle is beautiful but very delicate. Don't step on it or it may tear. (Speaking from experience, ahem.)
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 22, 2012

Gorgeous and feminine!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up dress and I got it in the 8 and 10. The 10 was really large, and the 8 was almost perfect - except the bust area was more loose than I had hoped. I wear 36C, so size shouldn't have been an issue. The dress tends to have some static, but it was really gorgeous. I felt comfortable and the length was great for me - I am only 5"2' though. I wore it with black sheer hose, but imagine it would've looked great with bare legs or nude hose as well. There is a soft fabric panel across the mid section, and on the size 10 that I received, the fabric was pilling. I didn't wear that one, but had I needed to wear that one, I would've been disappointed. Great first rental experience!
cm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2012

Great party dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! I am quite busty and the dress as very large on the top. I think the 10 would have fit better, but I received the wrong back-up size. As mentioned in other reviews the short side is much shorter than it looks in the picture, but was fine with tights. I wore to a roaring 20's party and got tons of of compliments.
rae4sunshine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 12, 2012

Great Dress, Poor Fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful and I loved the side slit, but there was so much room in the bust! I had to return it without wearing it because I just couldn't even get close to filling it out.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012

no apple types here

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you are apples shaped this dress will not fit. I have no problem finding dresses in department stores but this site does not understand women with apple shapes.
patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 6, 2012

Perfect for Homecoming!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was perfect for my daughter's HS Homecoming dance. She had a unique dress and because of the fabric, it fit perfectly.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Perfect for the Roaring 20's

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a murder mystery party that was set in the 20's. This dress was perfect with a long strand of pearls. I normally wear a 6, but the 8 fit better. It might have had something to do with the fact that I had the flu and was not feeling so hot.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

nice twist on LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
overall fit was great. had a nice formal feel to it for a dress that was not floor-length
Madison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Great Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fits pretty much to size, I'd recommend some dress tape along the bust line, it tended to slip around without it.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Better for taller girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was too long on me and did not flatter me like it does on the model. It was a back up dress that I did not end up wearing.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×