Black Bombshell Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Catherine Malandrino creates a delicate draping silhouette that flatters your curves. This chiffon style is definitely siren material.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with jersey waistband with some stretch
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted in hips with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - asymmetric hemline goes high up on upper left thigh, especially on very full hips/ backside or tall girls

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra though standard bra could be worn under sheer fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Crepe silk chiffon. Cowl neckline. Seamed skirt with asymmetric hemline. Tiered ruffle in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
Great dress. Felt wonderful wearing it. The asymmetry is fun.
Great dress. Got lots of compliments. Be prepared to show a lil leg on your left when wearing this. Sexy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2013
I actually never wore this dress.
If you are short like me, I would suggest choosing a different dress. I never wore it because when I tried it on, the asymmetrical hem just made my hips look bulky and my lower body look a lot heavier. Plus, it did nothing for my already lacking height. However, if you're tall and thin, this will definitely look nice!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Great dress!
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve dinner date and absolutely loved it. It definitely ran large on me--I almost always wear an 8, but the 8 in this dress was way too big at the top. The 6 fit perfectly. You'll almost certainly need the fashion tape that RTR sends for the top of the dress because it's loose and drapes pretty low, but with the tape it was perfect. Also, be aware of the cut on the higher side of the dress if you aren't planning on wearing tights. I personally thought it would have been fine without tights (I wore them because it was cold), but for others it may be cut too high. But aside from those caveats, I would definitely recommend this dress--it's so flattering and elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2014
perfect for y masquerade
perfect little black dress for my masquerade themed bday, the neckline was very free form so I opted to wear a bra that was matte black and more concealing, i know it peeked out in pics, but not so noticeable so it didnt bother me, if you are super modest you may want to be aware and take similar precaution
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2014
Fun and Flirty
Wore this for NYE party downtown. Dress runs true to size. No stretch. Overall I found the dress to be flattering. Even though I'm only 5'2", the length of the dress was fine and the short side was just right - showed plenty of leg, but not so much as to reveal anything else! It's quite low cut in the front, the draping does help to provide a little extra coverage, so you aren't overly exposed. I'm only giving it 4 out of 5 stars due to the hem on one of the flowy layers was quite frayed. Not really noticeable to anyone other than myself. I definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 18, 2014
Seeing my husband's face!
Dress was perfect for a friend's 50 th birthday party. Two warnings- neckline plunges. With a large chest, it therefore shows a lot of cleavage. I had to place some pins to stay even slightly covered. And the left side is shorter than I expected. I wore stockings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
May 17, 2014
Pretty, but probably not the best for petite girls.
This dress was really pretty--the asymmetrical bottom with the layers is just gorgeous and super fun--but the sizing was a little difficult for me. It's not great for really small busted ladies. I wore this to my husband's work event and the v-neck hung down way too low for the situation (I was able to secure it with fashion tape though). The arm holes were also too large and hung down kind of awkwardly, exposing the sides of my bra (glad I had a black one and it wasn't noticeable). It was also big around the waist, but I added a belt (a JCrew collection crystal belt I wore as part of my wedding dress) and it fixed that, as well as added some pizazz to the dress. A great dress, but probably for a girl with a different body type than mine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 15, 2014
The style was unique & very comfortable.
This is the second time I've rented this dress. Even though I love the dress, I think it' s time to retire it. The tulle looked as though it had been cut & was frayed along the edges. I thought it may have been just the one I wore, but the extra dress in a different size showed the same type of fraying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2014
Very comfortable, kinda basic
I wore this dress in a wedding. I originally had ordered a different RTR dress but that was unavailable at the last minute, so I chose this as a replacement. It was fine. I wore the 6 because it's all they had but I'm pretty sure I could have worn the 4. It wasn't noticeably big but I could feel that there was extra space. I was super comfortable in this dress, very lightweight material and a great fit. It just wasn't mind-blowing. I didn't receive as many compliments with this dress as I usually do with RTR dresses. Overall, great fit, can't go wrong, just not a WOW dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress! The fit was perfect & the asymmetrical hemline is striking!
The dress is slightly long on the longer side for me (I'm only 5'0" but the shorter side hit me flatteringly a few inches above the knee. I would not recommend this dress if you are very small chested as the neckline drape is very open, wide, and deep, and it might gape. On me (average) it was very flattering, without being too revealing. Worn as shown, with black hose and heels.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2015
compliments from both women & men - it was perfect for the Peju Harvest Party -
after reading other reviews, I had an 8 & 10 shipped to me....could have used a 6, I think as I'm small up top.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 14, 2010
Elegant dress. A little on the long side for shorter ladies, but quite beautiful. For the right event, I would rent again. Pretty flow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
August 27, 2012
Very Comfortable
I rented this dress for a friend's graduation ceremony. It was perfect for the semi-formal event and super comfortable all night. It did come quite low on me in the front, but nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. The bottom is not as poofy as my pic shows. It was windy that night, it was actually quite streamlined. I'd definitely recommend this dress for almost any occasion.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
Little Black Dress with Lots of Flexibility! This dress was a perfect fit for a night at the opera. I'm a little shorter, so the dress length was slightly longer on me in person than on the model online. Also, the neckline could be bustled with minimal dress tape to show little to lots of cleavage depending on the preference of the wearer. I received several compliments in this dress, and absolutely loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2010
A lovely dress. I'm a B cup/size 4 and it fit quite well, after some strategic taping in the cleavage area. I think it would look even better on someone taller though, so the ruffles fall above the knee. Proper styling is vital, because it could look witch-y with the wrong shoes and accessories, especially on someone short. It was great for the opera.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2010
This dress is so flattering! I paired it with nude hose, red patent pumps and bag. I have a full bust and it was just complimentary enough without overdoing the cleavage.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2011
I picked this dress for a formal event, but was unable to wear it because it was way shorter on me than I thought it would be. It also seemed to run a bit tighter in the rib cage area for me. Beautiful dress, just did not work for me.
RTR CustomerOctober 2, 2015
so it didnt fall down or slip? im thinking of adding straps, woul dthat look bad?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
May 2, 2012
no apple types here
If you are apples shaped this dress will not fit. I have no problem finding dresses in department stores but this site does not understand women with apple shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
nice twist on LBD
overall fit was great. had a nice formal feel to it for a dress that was not floor-length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress and so easy to dance in
The front came down a bit low but looked great with a long necklace and the short side of the dress was shorted than I expected but was totally appropriate with dark black tights. The style of the dress has a vintage flair that perfectly fit the feel of the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2013
I rented this as a second dress for a wedding. The slit was WAY too high.
I like the fit of this dress and that it's not cleavage-heavy (I was 5 months post partum when I wore it, and it hides any little lumpy bumpy bits), but the slit was too high--like show girl high. Probably better for a night out with friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 1, 2013
Fit well but did not like the fabric
This was a back up dress since my first choice didn't fit, bummer! This one fit much better but the draped fabric on the bottom made it seem cheap. The rest felt pretty comfortable and was great for a fancy wedding in AC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2013
Not my favorite
Cute dress but didn't fit me well. Ended up not wearing it because it was a little bit big and too long for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2014
N/A
The neckline is very low and baggy. I ended up not wearing this dress given the way it looks on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
Unique
This dress was very unique, not my style though (so did not wear). RTR sent me this as back up. It has a much stranger neckline than what appears on the model. Also, the only way the dress would flare out like it is on the model is if a fan was constantly blowing in that direction. It just did not work for my body type.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×