Carmen Marc Valvo

Pom Pom Peplum Sheath

$77 to buy
$565 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear and fall in love with this Carmen Marc Valvo vivacious peplum dress. This style will bring in your waist line while accentuating your lady curves in the right place! Go with a nude clutch like the Lauren Merkin Eve Clutch and a colorful necklace like kate spade new york accessories' Clean Break Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for your backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes –fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee-(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal metallic jacquard (90% Polyester 10% Acrylic) Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt with peplum at waist. Hidden side zipper. 42" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
Beautiful material but I wish the peplum was more dramatic!
What really makes this dress exceptional is the material - it's gorgeous! It photographs well and is very comfortable to wear. I did find that the dress as loose however in the chest area. I am a 32C and I felt like it was "baggy" (see photo). Also, the peplum part of the dress wasn't as drastic as it is in the photo. I almost wish that the peplum had some boning in it to make it stand on it's own. Even though the dress had some fitting issues, I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
Beautiful dress, but sadly not for me!
When the dress arrived the fabric has alot more sheen than expected. Unfortunately this style of peplum did not work for my body type and was later returned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
Stunning!
Absolutely stunning dress. Unfortunately, both sizes I rented were too large and I didn't have any time before the event to rent a smaller size. So pretty, classic and stunning - I just wish I rented the correct size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 11, 2013
This dress is classy, classic perfection.
A little bit roomy, but not to the point of being "too large" at all. If you want a more defined waist, though, maybe take a size down. I could move freely and bend comfortably in the thick, well-constructed material. The color is so beautiful in person, and I wished I could keep this one!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2015
Downtown Chicago wedding!
The dress runs large on top. The size 4 was huge at the chest. The size 2 was too small at the hips. I am long waisted and the dress had no give. I think that if my waist would have been shorter--and my hips would have hit higher in the dress--the size 2 may have fit. I sent both dresses back and RTR provided an awesome substitute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2015
Beautiful dress for black tie optional charity event
This was form-fitting and very snug, but I felt beautiful... which is key post-baby! I'm glad I ordered the extra size up. I'm a pretty true size 12, and I barely got the 14 over my hips. I received many compliments throughout the evening, though. Lovely dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
I felt so festive!
This dress is LOVELY and CLASSIC. Pairing it with the Kate Spade Clean Break Necklace really took it to another level. With my red hair and fair skin, the color was perfect. All of that being said, the fit was a little strange but still worth a shot. I normally wear an 8 in dresses. I have more of an athletic build and have had two children, so fit can sometimes be all over the place. I was sent the 10 in this, and while it worked, it was a little uncomfortable to wear during my evening out. The top of the dress fit well and I would say it was even a little large. It more than accommodated my 36C chest with room to spare. I don't think it looked TOO big, though I was aware that it was a bit on the larger side as I was wearing it. This fabric is heavy and will provide zero stretch, so I'd say that the top will be a good fit for anyone moderately well-endowed in the chest. If you are below a C and above a D cup, I'm not sure this would be a good fit. The bottom is where I had more problems. The waist was nice and tight so it definitely did a good job of cinching in any 'tummy problems'. However, the skirt was RIDICULOUSLY tight! I almost never have this problem because my legs are pretty slim, but I was shocked at how packed into this dress I was (on the bottom). It was a little uncomfortable to sit at first. After a few glasses of wine, I didn't really notice as much. Either it was the wine or perhaps the dress was being broken in a bit? Hard to tell. I did receive the dress brand new with the tags still on, so it's possible that it just needed a little 'wear' time. Overall, I think this was a gorgeous dress and I was happy to be able to wear it. I think the fit will be tricky for lots of people, though. I would highly recommend it to ladies who are more straight and narrow as it will give you the illusion of lots of beautiful curves. I would recommend going up a size simply for the bottom even if the top might feel a little too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2012
It's the perfect dress for the holidays, esp. a holiday party!
Color, fabric, cut = amazing. Stunning in a very classy, work-appropriate way. Narrow waist and peplum flatter, even big bootie gals :) Con, runs a little small, especially in the hip region. Very fitted, so I dont know if that's the dress or my delusions, but I'm very petite on top (size 0/2) and usually a 2/4 on bottom, but 4 was definitely the way to go... still a big snug though. Had to let some gents help me instead of scrambling for things that fell to the floor. No bother... I looked amazing! Everybody was willing to support this fashion-must!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful but tight
I would size up on this dress. The dress has no give at all, it was even hard to sit down let alone walk around. Beautiful color, nice cut, and photographed nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2013
Mad Men Engagement Shoot + This Dress = Perfect!
We did a Mad Men Engagement shoot, and this dress was the perfect thing for it! It runs a little small, especially if you are curvy in the bust and hips/butt. However, with some Spanx, I felt confident and ready to bring out my inner Joan. :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2013
Gorgeous fabric and color and flattering silhouette
It was a gorgeous dress and I felt great in it. Only note is to curvier girls: I am smaller in the waist and larger in the butt, so it fit very snug in my butt and was loose in my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
November 18, 2013
Very pretty but too small
The fabric is stunning- pictures cannot capture how iridescent and elegant it is. Cut is flattering for both curvy woman and boy figures due to the peplum. Unfortunately, it was torn in the back so I didn't wear it but I tried it on anyway and the ten was pretty tight. Go up a size if you're curvy or athletic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Runs small, the lining is tight... Stunning dress!
Great dress for a wedding.... but, was small in the hips... Had to wear the 6, also ordered the 4 which was way to small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
loved this dress fabric was exquisite, really looked one of a kind & high end!
really faltering and slimming work s well if you have a larger bust like me.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
January 31, 2014
Great unique look for fall wedding!
Unique style was why I picked this out for a fall wedding. ran very small in the rib cage area for me so I had to wear a size up (usually I am a size 8) which made the hips little be loose than I would preferred. Overall a fun unique dress. Wear heels though otherwise you will look too frumpy / short with such a long hemline!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2014
Beautiful but didn't fit and wasn't able to wear it.
Size up if you have any hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2014
Really terrible for anyone with thighs or hips
This dress did not fit me at all. It was way too tight on my legs and hips and was huge on top. I probably should have known better than to try peplum, but it definitely does not work with anyone with hips or thighs! I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
March 18, 2014
This dress is beautiful in person, unfortunately I didn't get to wear it because it was so tight.
This dress runs small, it has no stretch in it. I decided to not wear it for the fear of having to be uncomfortable all night. I would recommend this dress to women who are not as curvy in the hips and bum area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 8, 2014
The dress is elegant and comfortable
The size I choose (10) was too tight in the chest so I wore the 12 and taped up a hem of a few inches. The dress allows a bra and doesn't require tight undergarments, making it very comfortable to wear for a long evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 11, 2014
Color was beautiful!
I really wanted an emerald dress for symbolization at this event and I thought the color and pattern of this dress was perfect. It was really flattering for the most part but the thigh area was so tight it almost created more volume on the tummy area since it was hugging my thighs so tight. Overall loved the dress but if you have thick thighs, I would rent a size up :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2014
Stunning dress! Great quality and beautiful pattern. I received lots of compliments on this dress.
This is a very beautiful dress. It runs small so I had to size up for it. Though this was my replacement dress I am glad I had the chance to wear it. It was a much better choice than my original dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2014
Ran small in hips but large up top.
It is a pretty dress (shinier in person than the picture shows) but unfortunately I was not able to wear either size. Usually wear a 6 and the 6 was tight in hips but too large up top. Probably not a good choice for people with wider hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2014
The green pattern was very pretty
I have an hourglass figure, the dress was a little tight in the hip area. Otherwise it was very pretty.
LorraineMay 22, 2014
Laura, I see some vertically challenged ladies have rented this. How was the length on you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2014
So pretty, just just didn't fit right!
I ordered the 10 and the 12 for my brother's wedding. I'm 5'7 and have an hourglass figure but it just didn't fit right. The 10 was too tight in the hips and the 12 was too big in the waist and bust. Gorgeous dress, wish it would have worked!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2014
Wedding at the Texas Discovery Gardens, complete with a butterfly exhibit!
This was my backup option for a wedding. This dress is very pretty, but made out of heavy material, and would be better for a winter event, like a holiday party. Also, the size 12 was very narrow in the hips, but the size 14 was far too large in the bust. If I had to wear this dress to the wedding, I would have went with the 14 for comfort. Not a bad dress, but I doubt I would rent this look again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
Beautiful dress, weird fit
I really wanted to love this dress. The fabric and style were great, but the fit was completely off. I had to wear the size 4 to get the top to fit, but then it was super tight around the hips - making it almost impossible to sit down! I was able to make it work at a cocktail party where I was standing the whole time, but if you plan to dance I would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 25, 2015
Amazing but too small.
Incredible dress. The fabric was amazing the I loved the color. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear the dress because it didn't fit. I have pretty big hips and it was just too tight. Fit perfect on top but just couldn't fit around my rear :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 12, 2015
Indoor summer time wedding
This dress was beautiful. The green was so vibrant and had a vintage feel to it. Regretfully the dress didn't fit my hips in the size 12 and there was not a 14 available for back up. I will attempt to order this dress again in the 14 because it was a really nice looking dress. There was enough room in the 12 for my 36DD chest but I couldn't sit down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
June 29, 2014
Great color and dress!!
I am a true pear shape and this dress is not made for people with hips and backside like me. I had to get a size bigger to fit that are but was a little small on the upper area. It has great color and received several compliments! The dress was great!!
RTR CustomerJune 29, 2014
Lycia Loo......Tell me about the dress. I think it quite lovely and have asked Andrea to rent it for me to wear to your wedding. What do you think?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
October 13, 2015
Dress was a pretty color and nice for a fall wedding.
The dress was very pretty - the color is more of a jewel tone dark blue green than emerald - however the brocade has NO give at all. Tough for someone with normal sized hips/thighs...literally had to take it off when I went to the ladies room!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
November 12, 2015
The dress was beautiful. I wear a 12 and it tight. I was able to get the dress on but didn't wear it
Go for the next size up when renting this item.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2015
Perfect for a Book Signing/Cocktail Party at the former Gov. of Georgia's home
The dress was gorgeous! I loved the material...it is better suited for a holiday party although you can certainly wear it during the summer like I did. Like other reviewers mentioned it is a bit tight around the thighs but it won't prevent you from wearing the dress comfortably in my opinion. I received many compliments including from the former Gov. of Georgia Roy Barnes and his wife Marie. I definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2015
Classy dress
This dress was super cute on, very flattering, but has absolutely no give in the hips. I have been wearing a 10 lately and this was super tight in my hips. It seemed to fit true to size in the bust. I would recommend sizing up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
December 13, 2015
This dress was definitely a hit! Lots of people loved my outfit and accessories.
I normally wear a size four, I had to wear the size six because the fabric won't give. I'm smaller up top, so the six was a little loose, but perfect for my hips and thighs. All in all, it was great! Thanks, Rent the Runway!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2016
Wore this to a formal downtown DC Club for a winter engagement party
The dress was just eh. Certainly sophisticated and a nice color palette for a March event in DC but the material was exceedingly stiff and the pencil skirt was very tight and uncomfortable the entire night. I do have hips but even I felt uncomfortable sitting and standing in this dress for fear of ripping it up the back. I didn't feel like the circumference of the skirt matched the fit of the top of the dress. It was certainly pretty- just size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 20, 2015
Great Dress! ... If you plan on standing all night.
The fabric, color and shape are all fabulous and when standing it's an A+ look. But...the second I sat down I realized its short comings. The neckline choked me, the hemline has no stretch and the bust became loose and unflattering. As gorgeous as the peplum looks on the model, in real life it is far more limp, I kept trying to fluff it up to no avail. Great dress, terrible functionality. Also, way to heavy and not breathable for a summertime party. (My bad!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2012
Perfect party dress!
I rented this dress for an office holiday party. Received so many compliments on it! The brocade pattern and jewel green color are stunning, but the dress does run a little on the smaller side (especially around the neckline). It was especially snug through my hips and thigh area. This dress would be absolutley perfect for someone with a larger bust and slim bottom area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
March 18, 2013
I wore this to a friends wedding and I got so many compliments on it, esp the color- its gorgeous!
The 4 fit me very well but it was a little tight in the bust. The 6 was too large so I went with the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2014
Perfect for a formal but professional event
I am usually a size 4, and sometimes a size 2, but I found the 4 to be a little snug in the hips. I didn't look it, but when I was seated during dinner, I definitely felt uncomfortable. I don't think the 6 would have fit in other places. But the material/color is super luxe, and it looked very sophisticated. I would recommend this dress for a work party or another event where you need to look timeless and modest but don't want to settle for a boring black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
May 26, 2015
Danced into the night under the stars!
This dress was beautiful- great color and a gorgeous texture, but unfortunately it didn't fit me at all! I am on the hippy side and I couldn't zip it. Would love to try it again in the future in a different size!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×