Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $85 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
376 reviews
Fit
Large
(147)
True to Size
(179)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 64
September 20, 2017
Perfect dress...many compliments.
Exactly as described...fir perfect. I will use Rent the Runway again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2017
Great dress for a wedding
Fit was very flattering!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
August 21, 2017
Dress was gorgeous and return was seamless!!!
Runs a little big in the torso but nothing I couldn't deal with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2017
Excellent fit
This dress was a heavy fabric which was perfect for a cool evening formal wedding. I absolutely loved the navy color, and the silhouette of this dress is perfect for someone who is a little hippy with a smaller waist. The one shoulder was just enough, and I received plenty of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 38
August 14, 2017
The dress had a very noticeable flaw
There was a snag on the stomach area of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
August 12, 2017
Comfortable and elegant
I don't often wear long gowns since I don't like super high heels and I'm 5'3". This gown in 10p was the perfect length and the weight of the fabric allowed it to drape nicely. I was comfortable (very important to me) and I felt like I was dressed approximately for the gala I attended without drawing extraordinary attention to myself simply because of my attire (which is my preference.). I paired it with some drop earrings also from RTR and they marched beautifully. Dress was darker than I expected from the pictures - a deep navy color but I liked it a lot. I did feel plenty pretty in this dress and received a number of compliments. This is not my first RTR experience but after this one I did sign up for unlimited!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 4, 2017
Absolutely gorgeous dress!
I rented this for a gala and this dress did not disappoint! I am 5'3" and this was the perfect length for me; it cut just over the top of my heels. It is a very dark navy. The dress is slightly form fitting, but loose enough that you can walk, dance, and sit with no issue. The event I was at had a lot of stairs, and I had no issue going up and down in the dress. Would definitely rent again for another formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 29, 2017
Regular length was too long for 5'2"
I followed other reviewers suggestions and got the regular length gown even though I'm 5'2". Even with 3" heels, it was too long and dragging on the floor. I sent it back. It was a beautiful dress though with a nice fit in other aspects, bust, waist. I'm glad I had to send it back though because it turned out to be an outdoor wedding ceremony and this dress would have been too heavy for a warm day in the sun. Maybe for an indoor fall/winter event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 26, 2017
So pretty and elegant!
Everything about this dress was perfect, except I am 5'1 and could not get the petite size for my event. I ordered the regular with the hopes it wouldn't be too long with very high heels, but it still didn't work. I will definitely rent the petite size for another event... it fits like a glove and it so elegant!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 14, 2017
It was our Annual Black Tie Gala for work. I had so many compliments on this dress.
I was nervous it was going to be to long because I am only 5'3 but with my high heels it was perfect. I will order from Rent The Runaway again and again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 14, 2017
Beautiful dress, super flattering!!
This dress fit me like a glove. I am 5'3 and about 140 lbs, with athletic shoulders/arms, and curvy bust (36 C or 34 D) and curvy hips. The 6R fit perfectly. The 8R was too big in the chest for me. This dress was incredibly slimming and elegant. I got a million compliments all night long. I was a bridesmaid and this is the dress the bride chose for me. I couldn't have been happier! It was also very comfortable and fun to dance in. I did not wear a bra, but you easily could wear a strapless if you wanted too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
June 12, 2017
Glamour!
I loved this dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended. At the time I wore it I was closer to 180lbs. I have an athletic build with hour glass shape. The long is really long so I wore about a 4" heel. The fabric is heavy but that allows for a really nice and elegant lay of the dress. It's a deep navy color that doesn't come across in pictures but looks great in person. I did belt it because there was too much fabric in the waist and I wanted a better defined shape. Overall a very elegant dress. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
June 5, 2017
Glamor
Was happy that I fit into the back up size. I think that I could even go down to a 12. I really liked this dress and will rent again. Though it is not for girls with a curvy shape. More athletic build which I am not, but love it still, Is not a mermaid dress so you have a nice flair and a train! Small train.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
June 4, 2017
I needed a dress for a formal wedding. I wanted something simple, yet elegant. This hit the spot!
The dress runs a little big, but it made me feel good to wear a smaller size than usual. It fit like a charm! I was able to move around easily. I danced and received compliments all night long. This was my first time using Rent the Runway. Now, I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2017
I wore this for a black-tie wedding and felt wonderful. It was very comfortable and light.
At 5'5", I ordered the regular length and expected to wear heels at least a couple of inches high. I ended up having to wear flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 111lbs
May 30, 2017
Dress was excellent quality and perfect fit!
Dress was beautiful and I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2017
Perfect fit, so comfortable and gorgeous!
Wore this to a military gala and loved wearing this dress! You can't tell by the photo but when you walk in this gown, it flows so beautifully. You feel like you're walking down a runway. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 felt better. It was form fitting and I didn't need to wear a bra. I thought about getting a petite bc I'm only 5'4, but my heels were 2-3inches so the regular was the better choice. I danced a ton at this gala and this dress held up in comfort :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2017
Felt wonderful in this dress
Loved the fit and style, very comfortable and elegant #runwaytohope2017
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
May 17, 2017
so great for second trimester at a formal event
comfortable material and forgiving for a maternity dress alternative
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2017
Bridesmaid dress for brothers wedding
I'm a true size 6 and felt I could have worn the 4 but the one should sleeve was very tight around my arm in both dresses. I wouldn't consider my arms large for my body frame. I went with the larger dress because it was more comfortable on the arm but the 4 fit better everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2017
Elegant dress that was perfect for a black tie event! A ton of complements!
The dress is perfect! The dress does run bigger in the waist and top - the arm hole or one shoulder part is true to size so it doesn't fall down or slip off. The waist is cut a little bigger than usual.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2017
The dress was very comfy and easy for me to move in!
The stomach area was loose which made me photograph like I had a pooch but it was so comfortable I didn't mind it to much. The main cons were the strings that are on it for the hangers!! I was constantly having to tuck them back in...also the dress I ordered was navy but it was basically black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
May 2, 2017
Black tie ready!
This dress was stunning, and wish that it had not been so hot so i could wear this one to a wedding. Definitely perfect for a formal or black tie affair.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2017
It was a black tie charity gala. Fun evening with dinner and dancing.
This dress was beautiful in person! Fit like a glove. I'm 5'7 and with regular size heels wasn't too long. Loved it!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 30, 2017
Compliments all night long!!
This dress was beautiful!! The length was perfect with 3.5 inch shoes - didn't need to hold it up when walking. Fit okay around the top, but there was definitely some forgiving fabric around the waist. Could have used a belt to give it a bit more shape, but I ended up going without. Blue color was beautiful, and the shoulder gave it a sophisticated touch. Definitely will rent again!
IritJune 29, 2017
with 3.5 inch heels, did the dress hit the floor or was it shorter than that? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2017
NYS Police Gala
Love love this dress. The material is wonderful and doesn't cling. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 27, 2017
Very comfortable dress!
Although it was a perfect fit in the bust, it was a bit baggy in the abdomen area, which was great for me! (I didn't have to wear my shapewear!) It was very comfortable as a whole, although it was a bit long in the back with only wearing 2 inch heals; I'm 5'4". Photographs more as a black than navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
April 26, 2017
Great dress! Is navy in color. Wore the 4P versus 4R as I am 5-2" and wore 3 inch wedge heels.
Was a little loose in the waist but I preferred it that way. It was a very comfortable dress. Loved it and received a lot of compliments. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 174lbs
April 23, 2017
I didn't love it.
This dress wasn't bad. But I just didn't feel like it did anything for me. I also felt like the zipper fell kind of funny on the side, and as a result the dress wasn't smooth. I chose not to wear the dress, but think that it could look better on someone else.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 18, 2017
Made me feel like a queen 4 months postpartum.
First time renting the Runway. Can't believe how easy and beautiful the gown was. Came to the rescue for my dad's wedding. True to size, wore w/o bra and with shape wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
April 17, 2017
Wearing this dress at a NYC Wedding was great!
Pros: Very comfortable and flattering Cons: Should have gotten petite as the dress dragged a bit for me because I dont like to wear high heels
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2017
Having a dress delivered right to me in time for the event was a life-saver!
I ordered this dress as a backup after the first two dresses I ordered didn't work out. It arrived exactly when they said it would arrive the day of the event so I had no idea if this would work out. To my surprise it fit like a glove! Added benefit - I unfortunately got a sunburn on my right arm earlier in the day that this dress perfect covered up! Being only 5'2" I needed to make sure I wasn't tripping over my dress all night and this was a great length for me. I only had 2.5" shoes so the dress came about 3" off the ground which was a little higher than I wanted but it wasn't detrimental to the whole outfit. I got so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
April 12, 2017
It was a beautiful wedding
This was my back up dress for a wedding I planned to attend. I did not wear this dress for a number of reasons. I'm 5'8", 36C, 166 lbs, and a pear shape. Unfortunately, this did not drape across my hips the way I would have preferred as there were creases and a horrible side zip seam that distorted the appearance of my hips. The dress was also too big in the top. I also found the dress to be a little too short (without shoes on). I imagine this flatters more straight body types. I wouldn't recommend this for pear shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 9, 2017
The perfect dress!
This dress was a back up to my back up, which was unavailable at the last minute. I picked this dress on a whim, and I'm so glad I did! It fit like a glove! The cut of the mid section is very flattering. I ended up wearing a corset underneath to give me a better profile, but honestly it would have been fine with regular spanx. I'm a little small up top, but a VS bombshell bra filled it out fine. If you're very chesty, this may not be the dress for you. I loved the color, which is a dark navy. My only very minor complaint is that I wish it were slightly longer. I'm 5'6" and wore a 1 1/2 inch heel and it was about an inch too short in the front. Very comfortable, no slipping on the top. Was able to mingle and dance all night without having to constantly readjust the dress. Overall, great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2017
Showing up in this dress to an Oscar Gala was an unforgettable experience!
This dress is gorgeous on and off the hanger. It's elegant and comfortable. It's a deep, rich navy color. I normally wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 4 with no problems. It definitely fits a little looser through the mid section. I have that mom tummy and this dress was very flattering. I'm 5'1" and with 2.5 inch heels, the dress hung perfectly. The fabric has a silky feel so it feels as luxurious as it looks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
March 31, 2017
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable!
I'm 43 years old and wore this dress to a black-tie gala for a charity. The dress was so comfortable and I received so many compliments. I loved the color too. I would definitely rent this dress again. I ordered the 8R and wore the back-up size 6R. I'm 144 lbs, 34DDD and 5'6" tall. I wore 3.5 inch heels and the length was perfect. I thought the dress was slimming too. The specialist I worked with too was very helpful in helping me choose the right size dress to order and the previous reviews that I read through. Thank you for a great experience!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 207lbs
March 26, 2017
Great dress: Simple and Stylish
I received many compliments in this dress. More importantly, I felt comfortable and very at ease in it. It does run large but while the top was big it stayed up beautifully! The dress runs large so if you're ordering a second size, go down a size. I danced all night with no concerns and very happy....so happy that I didn't even notice I didn't take a single photo until this morning!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
Stunning dress. Received tons of comments.
Wore this to a NYC ballet gala, and received compliments from everyone. Super slim and fitting. Really shows off curves. I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4" heels with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2017
Fancy
Too fitted for me around my hips and stomach area but cute dress
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 20, 2017
Perfect for the occasion
This dress was so pretty and I'm perfect condition. I ordered the 6 and 8 regular. The 6 fit great, just a little roomy in the waist. I wore this to a St. Patrick's Day ball. I got compliments all night. Great first experience and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×